DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ok et al. (US 2023/0105007 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ok discloses a memory cell (Fig. 10), comprising:
a bottom electrode (combination of 203, 211, and 215 in Fig. 3), comprising a first electrode (203) and a second electrode (215) spatially separated from the first electrode;
a thermal preservation layer (213; 213 is understood as being a thermal preservation layer as it is composed of the same material as Applicant’s thermal preservation layer) only partially sandwiched between the first electrode and the second electrode; wherein the thermal preservation layer is in physical contact with the first electrode and the second electrode (see Fig. 10);
a first dielectric layer (combination of 201 and 205) laterally surrounding the bottom electrode and the thermal preservation layer;
a variable resistance layer (225 in Fig. 9) disposed on the second electrode, the thermal preservation layer, and the first dielectric layer; and
a top electrode (233) disposed on the variable resistance layer.
Regarding claim 2, Ok further discloses wherein the first electrode is in physical contact with the first dielectric layer (see Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 3, Ok further discloses wherein the thermal preservation layer is partially sandwiched between the second electrode and the first dielectric layer (see Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 4, Ok further discloses wherein a width of the first electrode is larger than a width of the second electrode (see Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 5, Ok further discloses wherein the first electrode and the second electrode are made of a same material (¶ 0027).
Regarding claim 6, Ok further discloses wherein the bottom electrode and the thermal preservation layer are made of different materials (¶ 0027).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ok et al. (US 2023/0105007 A1) as applied to claim 1, above, and further in view of Hsu et al. (US 2016/0225986 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Ok further discloses a hard mask layer (235 in Fig. 9) disposed on the top electrode;
a pair of spacers (255’ in Fig. 9) disposed aside the variable resistance layer, the top electrode, and the hard mask layer;
a second dielectric layer (263 in Fig. 10); and
a conductive contact (259) penetrating through the second dielectric layer and the hard mask layer to be in physical contact with the top electrode (see Fig. 10).
Ok does not disclose an etch stop layer as claimed.
Hsu, in the same field of endeavor, discloses forming an etch stop layer over a hard mask (¶ 0035). There was a benefit to forming an etch stop layer as such in that it provides added protection to the underlying components during later processing steps. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the Application's effective filing date to form an etch stop layer as taught by Hsu over the hard mask of Ok for this benefit.
In the resulting configuration, the etch stop layer covers the first dielectric layer, the pair of spacers, and the hard mask layer; the second dielectric layer is disposed on the etch stop layer; and the conductive contact will penetrate the etch stop layer.
Regarding claim 8, Ok does not disclose wherein a bottom surface of the conductive contact is located at a level height lower than that of a topmost surface of the top electrode.
Hsu discloses forming a top contact (1200 in Fig. 2Q) such that a bottom surface of the conductive contact is located at a level height lower than that of a topmost surface of a top electrode (600). There was a benefit to such a configuration in that it increases the contact area between the conductive contact and the top electrode which increases the electric conductivity. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the Application's effective filing date to form the conductive contact of Ok such that a bottom surface of the conductive contact is located at a level height lower than that of a topmost surface of a top electrode for this benefit.
Regarding claim 9, Ok further discloses that the sidewalls of the hard mask layer, sidewalls of the top electrode, and sidewalls of the variable resistance layer (see Fig. 9).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the thermal preservation layer of Ok is not in physical contact with both the first electrode and the second electrode. This argument is not persuasive as claim 1 does not require direct contact and physical contact allows for intervening components.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER A CULBERT/ Examiner, Art Unit 2815