DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claims 1 and 3-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Lin et al. (US 2020/0343315; hereinafter Lin).
Regarding claim 1, Lin, in fig. 14, discloses a display panel comprising an emission area (130/132/134) and a non- emission area adjacent to the emission area, the display panel comprising: a light emitting element comprising a first electrode 130, an emission layer 132 disposed on the first electrode 130, and a second electrode 134 disposed on the emission layer 132; a pixel defining layer PDS including a first opening defined therein, the first opening exposes at least a portion of the first electrode 130; and a first encapsulation layer 140/150 disposed on the second electrode 134 to overlap the light emitting element, wherein the first encapsulation layer comprises: a first inorganic layer 140 disposed on the second electrode 134, the first inorganic layer 140 including a first portion overlapping an entirety of the first opening; and a second inorganic layer 150 disposed on the first inorganic layer 140, the second inorganic layer 150 including a first portion directly contacting an entirety of the first portion of the first inorganic layer 140, a top surface of the second electrode 134 overlapping the first opening comprises at least one first stepped portion, and a bottom surface of the second inorganic layer 150 directly contacts a top surface of the first inorganic layer 140, and an entirety of a top surface of the first portion of the second inorganic layer 150 is a flat surface.
Regarding claim 3, Lin discloses wherein: the first inorganic layer 140 covers the first stepped portion; and the top surface of the first inorganic layer 140 is a flat surface on the emission area (fig. 14)
Regarding claim 4, Lin discloses wherein a first height from a bottom surface of the first electrode 130 to the top surface of the first inorganic layer 140 on the emission area is the same as a second height from a bottom surface of the pixel defining layer PDS to the top surface of the first inorganic layer 140 on the non-emission area (fig. 14).
Regarding claim 5, Lin discloses wherein the top surface of the first inorganic layer 140 comprises a second stepped portion corresponding to the first stepped portion (fig. 14).
Regarding claim 6, Lin discloses wherein: the second inorganic layer 150 covers the second stepped portion; and the top surface of the second inorganic layer 150 is a flat surface on the emission area (fig. 14).
Regarding claim 7, Lin discloses wherein an arithmetic mean roughness of the top surface of the first inorganic layer 140 is greater than an arithmetic mean roughness of the top surface of the second inorganic layer 150 ([0059]).
Regarding claim 8, Lin discloses wherein the first encapsulation layer further comprises a third inorganic layer 210 disposed on the second inorganic layer 150 (fig. 14).
Regarding claim 9, Lin discloses further comprising: a division partition wall 180 disposed on the first encapsulation layer 140/150 and including a second opening defined therein, the second opening corresponding to the first opening; a light control pattern 170_2 disposed inside the second opening; a second encapsulation layer disposed on the division partition wall 180 to overlap the light control pattern 170; and a color filter 170_2 disposed on the second encapsulation layer to overlap the light control pattern 170_2 ([0059]).
Regarding claim 10, Lin discloses wherein the second encapsulation layer has a thickness in a range of about 1.0 µm to about 5.0 µm ([0059]).
Regarding claim 11, Lin discloses wherein the second encapsulation layer comprises: a first encapsulation inorganic layer disposed on the division partition wall; and a second encapsulation inorganic layer disposed on the first encapsulation inorganic layer, wherein a bottom surface of the second encapsulation inorganic layer directly contacts a top surface of the first encapsulation inorganic layer ([0059]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claims 2, 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (US 2020/0343315) in view of Choi et al. (US 2016/0124557; hereinafter Choi).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Lin, in fig. 14, discloses a display panel comprising: a light emitting element (130/132/134) comprising a first electrode 130, an emission layer 132 disposed on the first electrode 130, and a second electrode 134 disposed on the emission layer 132; a pixel defining layer PDS including a first opening defined therein, the first opening exposes at least a portion of the first electrode 130; and a first encapsulation layer 140/150 disposed on the second electrode 134 to overlap the light emitting element (130/132/134), wherein the first encapsulation layer comprises: a first inorganic layer 140 disposed on the second electrode 134, the first inorganic layer 140 including a first portion overlapping an entirety of the first opening; and a second inorganic layer 150 disposed on the first inorganic layer 140, the second inorganic layer 150 including a first portion directly contacting an entirety of the first portion of the first inorganic layer 140, and wherein an entirety of a top surface of the first portion of the second inorganic layer 150 is a flat surface.
Lin discloses a semiconductor device as above but fails to disclose the first encapsulation layer has a thickness in a range of about 1.0 µm to about 5.0 µm.
However, Choi, fig. 1A, discloses the thickness of encapsulation layer 50 comprises:
50a (400-600 Å), 50b (3-10 µm), and 50c (400-600 Å) ([0061]).
Although the thickness of the first encapsulation layer is not exactly as claimed (1.0-5.0 µm), this claim is prima facie obvious without showing that the claimed ranges achieve unexpected results relative to the prior art range. In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1935, 1937 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See also In re Huang, 40 USPQ2d 1685, 1688(Fed. Cir. 1996) (claimed ranges of a result effective variable, which do not overlap the prior art ranges, are unpatentable unless they produce a new and unexpected result which is different in kind and not merely in degree from the results of the prior art). See also In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA) (discovery of optimum value of result effective variable in known process is ordinarily within skill of art) and In re Aller,105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955) (selection of optimum ranges within prior art general conditions is obvious).
Regarding claim 14, Choi discloses wherein: the first encapsulation layer further comprises an organic layer 50b disposed between the first inorganic layer 50a and the second inorganic layer 50c; and the organic layer 50b has a thickness in a range of about 3-10 µm (fig. 1A and [0061]).
Allowable Subject Matter
3. Claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant's arguments with respect to the pending claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
5. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
6. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to David Vu whose telephone number is (571) 272-1798. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday from 8:00am to 5:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempt to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Steven Loke H can be reached on (571) 272-1657. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
/DAVID VU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818