DETAILED ACTION
This OA is in response to the amendment filled on 12/3/2025 that has been entered, wherein claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 9 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2020/0043976 A1) herein Kim ‘976 of record.
Regarding claim 1, Kim ‘976 teaches display device(Fig. 2) comprising:
sub-pixels(PX1, PX2, PX3, Fig. 1, ¶0049) comprising a light emitting part(please see examiner annotated Fig. 2), and sub-areas(please see examiner annotated Fig. 2) on respective sides of the light emitting part in a first direction(D1);
a first electrode(340, ¶0055) in the light emitting part and extending in the first direction(D1), and a second electrode(330, ¶0055) extending in the first direction(D1) and spaced apart from the first electrode(340, ¶0055) in a second direction(D2) crossing the first direction(D1);
a first insulating layer(385, ¶0136) on the first electrode(340, ¶0055) and the second electrode(330, ¶0055); and
a light emitting element(350, ¶0055) on the first electrode(340, ¶0055) and the second electrode(330, ¶0055) in the light emitting part,
wherein the second electrode(330, ¶0055) comprises an electrode stem part(330S, ¶0067) extending(lengthwise) in the first direction(D1), and electrode branch parts(330B, ¶0067) branched from the electrode stem part(330S, ¶0067) and extending(widthwise) in the first direction(D1).
Regarding claim 2, Kim ‘976 teaches the display device of claim 1, further comprising a bank layer(420, 410, 411, 412, Fig. 1, ¶0057, ¶0100-101) separating adjacent ones of the sub-pixels(PX1, PX2, PX3, Fig. 1, ¶0049), wherein the sub-pixels(PX1, PX2, PX3, Fig. 1, ¶0049) are arranged along the first direction(D1) and the second direction(D2).
Regarding claim 3, Kim ‘976 teaches the display device of claim 2, wherein the bank layer(420, 410, 411, 412, Fig. 1, ¶0057, ¶0100-101) is in a lattice shape(¶0057) along the first direction(D1) and the second direction(D2).
Regarding claim 4, Kim ‘976 teaches the display device of claim 3, wherein the light emitting part and a corresponding one of the sub-areas are surrounded by portions of the bank layer(420, 410, 411, 412, Fig. 1, ¶0057, ¶0100-101) extending(¶0057, ¶0049) in the first direction(D1) and the second direction(D2).
Regarding claim 5, Kim ‘976 teaches the display device of claim 4, wherein the first electrode(340, ¶0055) is over the corresponding one of the sub-areas sub-area, and defines an opening hole(CNTD, ¶0077) in the corresponding one of the sub-areas sub-area(please see examiner annotated Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 9, Kim ‘976 teaches the display device of claim 2, wherein the electrode stem part(330S, ¶0067) overlaps a portion of the bank layer(420, 410, 411, 412, Fig. 1, ¶0057, ¶0100-101) extending in the first direction(D1), and is on one side of a corresponding one of the sub-areas in the second direction(D2).
Regarding claim 14, Kim ‘976 teaches the display device of claim 1, further comprising a first bank pattern(412, Fig. 1, ¶0100-101) at a central portion of the light emitting part, and second bank patterns(411, Fig. 1, ¶0100) spaced apart from the first bank pattern(412, Fig. 1, ¶0100-101) with the first bank pattern(412, Fig. 1, ¶0100-101) interposed therebetween,
wherein the first bank pattern(412, Fig. 1, ¶0100-101) and the second bank patterns(411, Fig. 1, ¶0100) are alternately arranged along the second direction(D2), and
wherein the light emitting element(350, ¶0055) is between the first bank pattern(412, Fig. 1, ¶0100-101) and one of the second bank patterns(411, Fig. 1, ¶0100) .
Regarding claim 15, Kim ‘976 teaches the display device of claim 14, wherein the first electrode(340, ¶0055) is at a center of a corresponding one of the sub-pixels(PX1, PX2, PX3, Fig. 1, ¶0049), wherein a portion of the first electrode(340, ¶0055) in the light emitting part is on the first bank pattern(412, Fig. 1, ¶0100-101) , and wherein the first electrode(340, ¶0055) extends in the first direction(D1) from a corresponding one of the sub-areas to an adjacent one of the sub-areas of an adjacent sub-pixel(please see examiner annotated Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Kim et al. (US 2020/0043976 A1) herein Kim ‘976 of record in view of Xu et al. (US 2018/0190712 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Kim ‘976 teaches a display device(Fig. 2) comprising:
sub-pixels(PX1, PX2, PX3, Fig. 1, ¶0049) comprising a light emitting part(please see examiner annotated Fig. 2), and sub-areas(please see examiner annotated Fig. 2) on respective sides of the light emitting part in a first direction(D1);
a first electrode(340, ¶0055) in the light emitting part and extending in the first direction(D1), and a second electrode(330, ¶0055) extending in the first direction(D1) and spaced apart from the first electrode(340, ¶0055) in a second direction(D2) crossing the first direction(D1);
a first layer(550, Fig. 1, ¶0244) above the first electrode(340, ¶0055) and the second electrode(330, ¶0055);
a light emitting element(350, ¶0055) above the first electrode(340, ¶0055) and the second electrode(330, ¶0055) in the light emitting part;
a first bank pattern(412, Fig. 1, ¶0100-101) at a central portion of the light emitting part below the first electrode(340, ¶0055) and the second electrode(330, ¶0055);
second bank patterns(411, Fig. 1, ¶0100) spaced apart from the first bank pattern(412, Fig. 1, ¶0100-101) with the first bank pattern(412, Fig. 1, ¶0100-101) interposed therebetween; and
a bank layer(BM, Fig. 1, ¶0244) above the first layer(550, Fig. 1, ¶0244), and separating adjacent ones of the sub-pixels(PX1, PX2, PX3, Fig. 1, ¶0049),
wherein the light emitting element(350, ¶0055) is between the first bank pattern(412, Fig. 1, ¶0100-101) and one of the second bank patterns(411, Fig. 1, ¶0100) , and
wherein the first layer(550, Fig. 1, ¶0244) defines an opening pattern(opening in 550 with BM , Fig. 1) overlapping the bank layer(BM, Fig. 1, ¶0244).
Kim ‘976 does not explicitly state a the first layer(550, Fig. 1, ¶0244) is a first insulating layer. Kim ‘976 does teach the first layer(550, Fig. 1, ¶0244) is a color filter(¶0244).
Xu teaches a display device(Fig. 1) comprising a first insulating layer(45, 46, 47, ¶0026). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kim ‘976, to make the first layer a first insulating layer, as taught by Xu, filter the incoming light to red, green and blue transmission via absorption or reflection of the rejected colors(¶0026).
Regarding claim 19, Kim ‘976 teaches the display device of claim 18, wherein the sub-pixels(PX1, PX2, PX3, Fig. 1, ¶0049) are arranged along the first direction(D1) and the second direction(D2), wherein the bank layer(420, Fig. 1, ¶0057, ¶0100-101) is in a lattice shape(¶0057) along the first direction(D1) and the second direction(D2), and wherein the opening pattern(opening in R above 420, Fig. 1) is arranged along the bank layer(420, Fig. 1, ¶0057), and extends in the first direction(D1) in plan view(Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 20, Kim ‘976 teaches the display device of claim 19, wherein the second electrode(330, ¶0055) comprises an electrode stem part(330S, ¶0067) extending in the first direction(D1), and electrode branch parts(330B, ¶0067) branched from the electrode stem part(330S, ¶0067), and wherein the opening pattern(opening in R above 420, Fig. 1) is between the electrode branch parts(330B, ¶0067) in plan view(Fig. 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-13 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 10 has been rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Please see the office action of 9/3/2025 for reasons for allowance.
Claim 11-13 depend on claim 10 and are allowed.
Claims 6-8 and 16-17 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding dependent claim 6, the prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious the claimed subject matter of the instant application as a whole either taken alone or in combination, in particular, prior art of record does not teach “a second insulating layer on the first insulating layer; and separation parts respectively in the sub-areas, the first insulating layer and the second insulating layer not being therein, wherein the first electrode contacts adjacent ones of the separation parts of adjacent ones of the sub-areas”
Claims 7-8 depend on claim 6 and inherit it’s allowable subject matter.
Please see the office action of 9/3/2025 for reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter of claims 16-17.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/3/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant’s argue as can be seen in FIG. 2 of Kim, Kim does not appear to disclose both the alleged electrode stem part 330S and the alleged electrode branch parts 330B extending in a same first direction.
The examiner respectfully submits that Kim discloses the electrode stem part 330S extends lengthwise in the first direction while the electrode branch parts 330B extends widthwise in the same first direction. Thus Kim teaches “the second electrode(330, ¶0055) comprises an electrode stem part(330S, ¶0067) extending(lengthwise) in the first direction(D1), and electrode branch parts(330B, ¶0067) branched from the electrode stem part(330S, ¶0067) and extending(widthwise) in the first direction(D1)”.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 4, paragraph , filed 12/3/25, with respect to obligation of assignment to Samsung Display Co., Ltd. of Jin have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 6-8 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection are based on a new interpretation of the first insulating layer and bank layer of Kim.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAURA M DYKES/Examiner, Art Unit 2892
/NORMAN D RICHARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2892