DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Office acknowledges receipt on 5 September 2025 of Applicants’ amendments in which claims 1-3, 5, 6, 8-14, 16-19, and 21-23 are amended. The Office withdraws the section 112(a) rejections, and section 112(b) rejections identified in the Office Communication dated 11 July 2025 in view of the amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed 5 September 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argue in the last paragraph of page 12 and with respect to claim 1 that Chen does not appear to disclose that a center of the alleged first color part 132 is offset from a center of the alleged first emission area 260 in a plan view. Amended claim 1 recites “a center of the first color part is offset from a center of the first emission area in a plan view.” During patent examination, the pending claims must be given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification. MPEP §2111. As this principle applies to the present circumstance, Chen teaches in Figs. 1 and 5 a center of the first color part (1st one of (all 132 and/or 172)/(all 136 and/or 150)) is offset from a center of the first emission area (first emission area of one 260 corresponding to first color part) in a plan view {first emission area may be broadly interpreted as a subset area of the total area where emission may be seen}.
Applicants argue in the paragraph bridging pages 13 and 14 and with respect to amended dependent claim 12 that with respect to the newly recited subject matter whereby “at least a portion of the first emission area does not overlap the first color part,” that Chen appears to disclose that its LEDs (260) are entirely contained within the color filter layer in a plan view. During patent examination, the pending claims must be given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification. MPEP §2111. As this principle applies to the present circumstance, Chen teaches in Figs. 1 and 5 that at least a portion of the first emission area (first emission area of one 260 corresponding to first color part) does not overlap the first color part (1st one of (all 132 and/or 172)/(all 136 and/or 150)) {first emission area may be broadly interpreted as a subset area of the total area where emission may be seen}.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following subject matter must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim 1, lines 19-22, recites “a closest distance between color parts of adjacent subpixels between the first panel and the second panel in the second direction is the same as a closest distance between color parts of adjacent subpixels of a first pixel of the pixels in the first panel in the second direction,” which is not illustrated by the drawings because the drawings do not illustrate “adjacent subpixels between the first panel and the second panel in the second direction.” Instead, Applicants’ Figs. 3 and 9 and paragraphs [0237, 0238] disclose adjacent subpixels SPXA1-SPXA3 in a first panel (PNL1) of a first display device (DD1) and adjacent subpixels SPXA1-SPXA3 in a second panel (PNL2) of a second display device (DD2) in a second direction (DR2).
Claim 23, lines 25-27, recites “a closest distance between adjacent subpixel areas of a single pixel in the second direction is the same as a closest distance between adjacent subpixel areas between the first and second substrate in the second direction,” which is not illustrated by the drawings because the drawings do not illustrate “adjacent subpixel areas between the first and second substrate in the second direction.” Instead, Applicants’ Figs. 3 and 9 and paragraphs [0237, 0238] disclose adjacent subpixels SPXA1-SPXA3 in a first substrate (SUB1) of a first display device (DD1) and adjacent subpixels SPXA1-SPXA3 in a second substrate (SUB2) of a second display device (DD2) in a second direction (DR2).
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 8, lines 2 and 3, recites “the second display element layer includes a second light emitting element is the emission area,” which should read “the second display element layer includes a second light emitting element in the emission area” for proper composition.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, lines 19-22, recites “a closest distance between color parts of adjacent subpixels between the first panel and the second panel in the second direction is the same as a closest distance between color parts of adjacent subpixels of a first pixel of the pixels in the first panel in the second direction,” which is indefinite because the original application does not disclose “adjacent subpixels between the first panel and the second panel in the second direction.” Instead, Applicants’ Figs. 3 and 9 and paragraphs [0237, 0238] disclose adjacent subpixels SPXA1-SPXA3 in a first panel (PNL1) of a first display device (DD1) and adjacent subpixels SPXA1-SPXA3 in a second panel (PNL2) of a second display device (DD2) in a second direction (DR2). For the purpose of compact prosecution and to better comport with the original application, this subject matter will be interpreted to recite “a closest distance between color parts corresponding to adjacent subpixels, disposed respectively in the first panel and the second panel, in the second direction is the same as a closest distance between color parts corresponding to adjacent subpixels of a first pixel of the pixels in the first panel in the second direction.” Claims 2-21 are rejected due to their dependence from base claim 1.
Claim 23, lines 25-27, recites “a closest distance between adjacent subpixel areas of a single pixel in the second direction is the same as a closest distance between adjacent subpixel areas between the first and second substrate in the second direction,” which is indefinite because the original application does not disclose “adjacent subpixel areas between the first and second substrate in the second direction.” Instead, Applicants’ Figs. 3 and 9 and paragraphs [0237, 0238] disclose adjacent subpixels SPXA1-SPXA3 in a first substrate (SUB1) of a first display device (DD1) and adjacent subpixels SPXA1-SPXA3 in a second substrate (SUB2) of a second display device (DD2) in a second direction (DR2). For the purpose of compact prosecution and to better comport with the original application, this subject matter will be interpreted to recite “a closest distance between adjacent subpixel areas of a single pixel in the second direction is the same as a closest distance between adjacent subpixel areas of the first and second substrate in the second direction.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US20240332342A1) in view of Brackley et al. (US20200163233A1), Freidhoff et al. (US20020173215A1), and Ghosh et al. (US20160322434A1).
Regarding claim 1, as interpreted in view of the indefiniteness rejection, Chen teaches in Figs. 1 and 5 a tiled display device comprising:
a first panel (201C) including a first display element layer (leftmost layer containing 260s) {¶0054};
a second panel (202C) including a second display element layer (rightmost layer containing 260s) {¶0054};
a shared layer (100C) including a color conversion part ((132, 172)/(134, 174)/(136, 150) or (132, 172), (134, 174), (136, 150)) comprising a first color part (1st one of (all 132 and/or 172)/(all 136 and/or 150)) for providing light of a first color (e.g., red/blue) {¶0055, 0056, 0058}; and
an emission area (emission area including first emission area) comprising a first emission area (first emission area of one 260 corresponding to first color part) in which a first light emitting element (one 260 corresponding to first color part) of the first display element layer (leftmost layer containing 260s) is disposed {Fig. 5; ¶0027},
wherein the first panel (201C) and the second panel (202C) are adjacent to each other along the second direction (horizontal) {Fig. 5},
wherein the shared layer (100C) includes a first portion (portion to left of GP) and a second portion (portion to right of GP) {Fig. 5},
wherein the first portion (portion to left of GP) overlaps the first panel (201C) in a plan view {Fig. 5},
wherein the second portion (portion to right of GP) overlaps the second panel (202C) in a plan view {Fig. 5},
wherein the color conversion part ((132, 172)/(134, 174)/(136, 150) or (132, 172), (134, 174), (136, 150)) changes a wavelength of light provided from the first panel (201C) and the second panel (202C) {¶0056, 0057}, and
wherein a center of the first color part (1st one of (all 132 and/or 172)/(all 136 and/or 150)) is offset from a center of the first emission area (first emission area of one 260 corresponding to first color part) in a plan view {first emission area may be broadly interpreted as a subset area of the total area where emission may be seen}.
Chen does not teach:
the first display element layer including pixels arranged in a first direction and a second direction crossing the first direction, each of the pixels including sub-pixels arranged in the second direction;
the second display element layer including pixels arranged in the first direction and the second direction, each of the pixels including sub-pixels arranged in the second direction.
In an analogous art, Brackley teaches in Fig. 15C and paragraphs [0029] and [0072] a first display element layer (750a) including pixels (44) arranged in a first direction (vertical) and a second direction (horizontal) crossing the first direction (vertical), each of the pixels (44) including sub-pixels {¶0030} arranged in the second direction (horizontal) {real-world objects (e.g., sub-pixels) are implicitly arranged in three dimensions}; a second display element layer (750b) including pixels (44) arranged in the first direction (vertical) and the second direction (horizontal), each of the pixels (44) including sub-pixels {¶0030} arranged in the second direction {real-world objects (e.g., sub-pixels) are implicitly arranged in three dimensions}. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen’s tiled display device based on the teachings of Brackley – such that the first display element layer includes pixels arranged in a first direction and a second direction crossing the first direction, each of the pixels including sub-pixels arranged in the second direction; and the second display element layer includes pixels arranged in the first direction and the second direction, each of the pixels including sub-pixels arranged in the second direction – so the tiled display maintains the uniform pixel pitch at the tile seams. Brackley ¶0008.
Chen as modified by Brackley does not teach wherein in the shared layer, a closest distance between color parts corresponding to adjacent subpixels, disposed respectively in the first panel and the second panel, in the second direction is the same as a closest distance between color parts corresponding to adjacent subpixels of a first pixel of the pixels in the first panel in the second direction.
In an analogous art, Freidhoff teaches in Figs. 6 and 7 and paragraph [0035] in a shared layer (layer of 42), a closest distance between color parts (42) corresponding to adjacent light-emitting elements (300), disposed respectively in the first panel (e.g., 22k) and the second panel (e.g., 22h/22l), in the second direction (horizontal/vertical) is the same as a closest distance between color parts (42) corresponding to adjacent light-emitting elements (300) in the first panel (e.g., 22k) in the second direction (horizontal when orientation of drawing is rotated 90 degrees). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen’s tiled display device as modified by Brackley based on the teachings of Freidhoff – such that in the shared layer, a closest distance between color parts corresponding to adjacent light-emitting elements, disposed respectively in the first panel and the second panel, in the second direction is the same as a closest distance between color parts corresponding to adjacent light-emitting elements in the first panel in the second direction – for pixel pitch integrity from tile to tile. Freidhoff ¶0013.
In an analogous art, Ghosh teaches in Fig. 7 and paragraph [0050] that each of the pixels (702) includes sub-pixels (704, 706, 708) arranged in the second direction (e.g., horizontal) {a conventional RGB color pixel arrangement is patterned consistently across the entire display}. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen’s tiled display device as modified by Brackley and Freidhoff based on the teachings of Ghosh – such that sub-pixels in each pixel are patterned consistently across the entire display – to reduce visual artifacts/discontinuities at the seams of adjacent tiles. Ghosh ¶0056, 0057.
Consequences of Ghosh’s modification on the combined teachings of Chen, Brackley, and Freidhoff identified above are: (1) each of the pixels/light-emitting elements, in each of the first display element layer and the second display element layer, includes sub-pixels arranged in the second direction and (2) in the shared layer, a closest distance between color parts corresponding to adjacent subpixels, disposed respectively in the first panel and the second panel, in the second direction is the same as a closest distance between color parts corresponding to adjacent subpixels of a first pixel of the pixels in the first panel in the second direction.
Regarding claim 2, Chen as modified by Brackley, Freidhoff, and Ghosh teaches the tiled display device according to claim 1, and Chen further teaches
wherein the first panel (201C) and the second panel (202C) form a lower panel (200) of the tiled display device {¶0054; viewed from an orientation rotated 180 degrees}, and
wherein the shared layer (100C) forms an upper panel of the tiled display device {¶0055; viewed from an orientation rotated 180 degrees}.
Regarding claim 3, Chen as modified by Brackley, Freidhoff, and Ghosh teaches the tiled display device according to claim 1, and Chen further teaches wherein
the first panel (201C) and the second panel (202C) are disposed on a same layer {¶0054},
wherein the first panel (201C) and the second panel (202C) are spaced apart from each other {¶0054}, and
wherein a bonding area (GP) is disposed between the first panel (201C) and the second panel (202C) {¶0032}.
Regarding claim 4, Chen as modified by Brackley, Freidhoff, and Ghosh teaches the tiled display device according to claim 3, and Chen further teaches wherein the bonding area (GP) overlaps the shared layer (100C) in a plan view {Fig. 5}.
Regarding claim 5, Chen as modified by Brackley, Freidhoff, and Ghosh teaches the tiled display device according to claim 1, and Chen further teaches wherein
the color conversion part ((132, 172), (134, 174), (136, 150)) further comprises:
a second color part (2nd one of (all 132 and/or 172)/(all 134 and/or 174)/(all 136 and/or 150)) for providing light of a second color (2nd of red, green, blue) {¶0057}; and
a third color part (3rd one of (all 132 and/or 172)/(all 134 and/or 174)/(all 136 and/or 150)) for providing light of a third color (3rd of red, green, blue) {¶0058}, and
wherein the first color part (1st one of (all 132 and/or 172)/(all 136 and/or 150)), the second color part (2nd one of (all 132 and/or 172)/(all 134 and/or 174)/(all 136 and/or 150)), and the third color part (3rd one of (all 132 and/or 172)/(all 134 and/or 174)/(all 136 and/or 150)) overlap the first panel (201C) and the second panel (202C) in a plan view {Fig. 5; 172, 174, and 150 in each of 210C and 202C}.
Regarding claim 6, Chen as modified by Brackley, Freidhoff, and Ghosh teaches the tiled display device according to claim 5, and Chen further teaches further comprising:
a first sub-pixel area (area directly beneath a 1st of 150, 172) for emitting the light of the first color (1st of red, green, blue) and overlapping the first color part (1st one of (all 132 and/or 172)/(all 136 and/or 150)) in a plan view {¶0057};
a second sub-pixel area (area directly beneath a 2nd of 150, 172, 174) for emitting the light of the second color (2nd of red, green, blue) and overlapping the second color part (2nd one of (all 132 and/or 172)/(all 134 and/or 174)/(all 136 and/or 150)) in a plan view {¶0057}; and
a third sub-pixel area (area directly beneath a 3rd of 150, 172, 174) for emitting the light of the third color (3rd of red, green, blue) and overlapping the third color part (3rd one of (all 132 and/or 172)/(all 134 and/or 174)/(all 136 and/or 150)) in a plan view {¶0058}.
Regarding claim 7, Chen as modified by Brackley, Freidhoff, and Ghosh teaches the tiled display device according to claim 6, and Chen further teaches wherein the shared layer further comprises:
a first color filter (1st of 132, 136) overlapping the first sub-pixel area (area directly beneath a 1st of 150, 172) in a plan view {¶0057};
a second color filter (2nd of 132, 134, 136) overlapping the second sub-pixel area (area directly beneath a 2nd of 150, 172, 174) in a plan view {¶0057}; and
a third color filter (3rd of 132, 134, 136) overlapping the third sub-pixel area (area directly beneath a 3rd of 150, 172, 174) in a plan view {¶0058}.
Regarding claim 8, Chen as modified by Brackley, Freidhoff, and Ghosh teaches the tiled display device according to claim 6, and Chen further teaches wherein
the second display element layer (rightmost layer containing 260s) includes a second light emitting element (one 260 corresponding to second color part) is (sic) the emission area (emission area including first emission area and emission area of second light emitting element) {¶0054}, and
wherein the emission area (emission area including first emission area and emission area of second light emitting element) is defined by components included in the first display element layer (leftmost layer containing 260s) and the second display element layer (rightmost layer containing 260s) {Fig. 5}.
Regarding claim 9, Chen as modified by Brackley, Freidhoff, and Ghosh teaches the tiled display device according to claim 8, and Chen further teaches wherein
each of the first display element layer (leftmost layer containing 260s) and the second display element layer (rightmost layer containing 260s) includes a bank (240) protruding in a display direction of the tiled display device {¶0038}, and
wherein the bank (240) has a shape enclosing the emission area (emission area including first emission area) {¶0038}.
Regarding claim 10, Chen as modified by Brackley, Freidhoff, and Ghosh teaches the tiled display device according to claim 8, and Chen further teaches wherein the emission area (emission area including first emission area) comprises:
the first emission area (first emission area of one 260 corresponding to first color part) overlapping the first sub-pixel area (area directly beneath a 1st of 150, 172) in a plan view {Fig. 5};
a second emission area (second emission area of one 260 corresponding to second color part) overlapping the second sub-pixel area (area directly beneath a 2nd of 150, 172, 174) in a plan view {Fig. 5}; and
a third emission area (third emission area of one 260 corresponding to third color part) overlapping third sub-pixel area (area directly beneath a 3rd of 150, 172, 174) in a plan view {Fig. 5}.
Regarding claim 11, Chen as modified by Brackley, Freidhoff, and Ghosh teaches the tiled display device according to claim 10, and Chen further teaches wherein
the first color part (1st one of (all 132 and/or 172)/(all 136 and/or 150)) is disposed to be misaligned from the first emission area (first emission area of one 260 corresponding to first color part) in a plan view {Fig. 5; respective edges are not aligned},
wherein the second color part (2nd one of (all 132 and/or 172)/(all 134 and/or 174)/(all 136 and/or 150)) is disposed to be misaligned from the second emission area (second emission area of one 260 corresponding to second color part) in a plan view {Fig. 5; respective edges are not aligned}, and
wherein the third color part (3rd one of (all 132 and/or 172)/(all 134 and/or 174)/(all 136 and/or 150)) is disposed to be misaligned from the third emission area (third emission area of one 260 corresponding to third color part) in a plan view {Fig. 5; respective edges are not aligned}.
Regarding claim 12 Chen as modified by Brackley, Freidhoff, and Ghosh teaches the tiled display device according to claim 10, and Chen further teaches wherein
at least part of the first color part (1st one of (all 132 and/or 172)/(all 136 and/or 150)) overlaps the first emission area (first emission area of one 260 corresponding to first color part) in a plan view {Fig. 5},
wherein another part of the first color part (1st one of (all 132 and/or 172)/(all 136 and/or 150)) does not overlap the first emission area (first emission area of one 260 corresponding to first color part) in a plan view {Fig. 5; respective edges are not aligned; first emission area may be broadly interpreted as a subset area of the total area where emission may be seen}, and
wherein at least a portion of the first emission area (first emission area of one 260 corresponding to first color part) does not overlap the first color part (1st one of (all 132 and/or 172)/(all 136 and/or 150)) {first emission area may be broadly interpreted as a subset area of the total area where emission may be seen}.
Regarding claim 13 Chen as modified by Brackley, Freidhoff, and Ghosh teaches the tiled display device according to claim 10, and Chen further teaches wherein
the first panel (201C) and the first portion (portion to left of GP) of the shared layer (100C) form a first display device (201C & portion of 100C to left of GP) {Fig. 5},
wherein the second panel (202C) and the second portion (portion to right of GP) of the shared layer (100C) form a second display device (202C & portion of 100C to right of GP) {Fig. 5}.
Chen does not teach:
wherein in the first display device, two areas adjacent in the second direction among the first sub-pixel area, the second sub-pixel area, and the third sub-pixel area are separated spaced apart from each other by a first separation distance,
wherein in the second display device, two areas adjacent in the second direction among the first sub-pixel area, the second sub-pixel area, and the third sub-pixel area are spaced apart from each other by the first separation distance,
wherein a first adjacent sub-pixel area of the first display device and a second adjacent sub-pixel area of the second display device are spaced apart from each other in the second direction by a second separation distance,
wherein the first adjacent sub-pixel area is a sub-pixel area in the first display device closest to the second display device,
wherein the second adjacent sub-pixel area is a sub-pixel area in the second display device closest to the first display device, and
wherein the first separation distance is equal to the second separation distance.
Freidhoff teaches in Figs. 6 and 7 that:
in a first display device (e.g., 22k), two areas (e.g., areas of 306s) adjacent in the second direction (e.g., horizontal/vertical) among a first sub-pixel area (area of a 1st 306), a second sub-pixel area (area of a 2nd 306), and a third sub-pixel area (area of a 3rd 306) are separated spaced apart from each other by a first separation distance (36 less width of 306),
in the second display device (e.g., 22l), two areas (e.g., areas of 306s) adjacent in the second direction (e.g., horizontal/vertical) among a first sub-pixel area (area of a 1st 306), a second sub-pixel area (area of a 2nd 306), and a third sub-pixel area (area of a 3rd 306) are spaced apart from each other by the first separation distance (36 less width of 306),
a first adjacent sub-pixel area (e.g., area of bottom-rightmost 306) of the first display device (e.g., 22k) and a second adjacent sub-pixel area (e.g., area of bottom-leftmost 306) of the second display device (e.g., 22l) are spaced apart from each other in the second direction (e.g., horizontal/vertical) by a second separation distance (36 less width of 306),
the first adjacent sub-pixel area (e.g., area of bottom-rightmost 306) is a sub-pixel area in the first display device (e.g., 22k) closest to the second display device (e.g., 22l),
the second adjacent sub-pixel area (e.g., area of bottom-leftmost 306) is a sub-pixel area in the second display device (e.g., 22l) closest to the first display device (e.g., 22k), and
the first separation distance (36 less width of 306) is equal to the second separation distance (36 less width of 306).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen’s tiled display device as modified by Brackley, Freidhoff, and Ghosh based on the further teachings of Freidhoff to achieve the above-identified features so as to achieve pixel pitch integrity from tile to tile. Freidhoff ¶0013.
Regarding claim 14 Chen as modified by Brackley, Freidhoff, and Ghosh teaches the tiled display device according to claim 13, and Chen further teaches wherein
in the first display device (201C & portion of 100C to left of GP), the first emission area (first emission area of one 260 corresponding to first color part) and the second emission area (second emission area of one 260 corresponding to second color part) are adjacent and are spaced apart from each other in the second direction (horizontal) by a first emission separation distance (distance between adjacent 260s), and the second emission area (second emission area of one 260 corresponding to second color part) and the third emission area (third emission area of one 260 corresponding to third color part) are adjacent and are spaced apart from each other in the second direction (horizontal) by the first emission separation distance (distance between adjacent 260s) {Fig. 5},
wherein in the second display device (202C & portion of 100C to right of GP), the first emission area (first emission area of one 260 corresponding to first color part) and the second emission area (second emission area of one 260 corresponding to second color part) are adjacent and are spaced apart from each other in the second direction by the first emission separation distance (distance between adjacent 260s), and the second emission area (second emission area of one 260 corresponding to second color part) and the third emission area (third emission area of one 260 corresponding to third color part) are adjacent and are spaced apart from each other in the second direction by the first emission separation distance (distance between adjacent 260s) {Fig. 5},
wherein a first adjacent emission area (e.g., rightmost 260) of the first display device (201C & portion of 100C to left of GP) and a second adjacent emission area (e.g., leftmost 260) of the second display device (202C & portion of 100C to right of GP) are spaced apart from each other in the second direction by a second emission separation distance (distance between adjacent 260s across gap GP) {Fig. 5},
wherein the first adjacent emission area (e.g., rightmost 260) is in the first display device (201C & portion of 100C to left of GP) closest to the second display device (202C & portion of 100C to right of GP) {Fig. 5},
wherein the second adjacent emission area (e.g., leftmost 260) is in the second display device (202C & portion of 100C to right of GP) closest to the first display device (201C & portion of 100C to left of GP) {Fig. 5}, and
wherein the first emission separation distance (distance between adjacent 260s) is different from the second emission separation distance (distance between adjacent 260s across gap GP) {Fig. 5}.
Regarding claim 15, Chen as modified by Brackley, Freidhoff, and Ghosh teaches the tiled display device according to claim 14, and Chen further teaches wherein the second emission separation distance (distance between adjacent 260s across gap GP) is greater than the second separation distance (distance between adjacent 150 and 172 (as modified by Freidhoff and Ghosh) across gap GP) {e.g., each of 150 and 172 is wider than each of 260} }.
Regarding claim 16, Chen as modified by Brackley, Freidhoff, and Ghosh teaches the tiled display device according to claim 14, and Chen further teaches wherein, when viewed from an outside:
the light of the first color (1st of red, green, blue) is observed in the first sub-pixel area (area directly beneath a 1st of 150, 172) {¶0057, 0058};
the light of the second color (2nd of red, green, blue) is observed in the second sub-pixel area (area directly beneath a 2nd of 150, 172, 174) {¶0057, 0058}; and
the light of the third color (3rd of red, green, blue) is observed in the third sub-pixel area (area directly beneath a 3rd of 150, 172, 174) {¶0057, 0058}.
Regarding claim 17, Chen as modified by Brackley, Freidhoff, and Ghosh teaches the tiled display device according to claim 14, and Chen further teaches wherein
the first panel (201C) and the second panel (202C) are disposed on a same layer (layer of 201C and 202C) {¶0054},
wherein the first panel (201C) and the second panel (202C) are spaced apart from each other (spaced apart by GP) {Fig. 5},
wherein a bonding area (area of 300 in GP) is disposed between the first panel (201C) and the second panel (202C) {¶0028}.
Chen does not expressly teach wherein a thickness of the bonding area is smaller than the second separation distance.
However, Chen teaches in paragraph [0037] the thickness of the gap GP may be determined according to the user's design and requirements, for example, 0 μm to 200 μm, but is not limited thereto. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to discover the optimal or workable ranges of the gap thickness – such that a thickness of the bonding area is smaller than the second separation distance – because where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. MPEP §2144.05(II)(A).
Regarding claim 18, Chen as modified by Brackley, Freidhoff, and Ghosh teaches the tiled display device according to claim 5, and Chen further teaches wherein
the first color part (1st one of (all 132 and/or 172)/(all 136 and/or 150)) comprises a first quantum dot (QD material emitting red light) converting the light of the third color (blue) into the light of the first color (red) {¶0057}, and
wherein the second color part (2nd one of (all 132 and/or 172)/(all 134 and/or 174)/(all 136 and/or 150)) comprises a second quantum dot (QD material emitting green light) converting the light of the third color (blue) into the light of the second color (green) {¶0057}.
Regarding claim 19, Chen as modified by Brackley, Freidhoff, and Ghosh teaches the tiled display device according to claim 18, and Chen further teaches wherein
the first display element layer (leftmost layer containing 260s) includes the first light emitting element (one 260 corresponding to first color part) {¶0054},
wherein the second display element layer (rightmost layer containing 260s) includes a second light emitting element (one 260 corresponding to second color part) {¶0054}, and
wherein each of the first light emitting element (one 260 corresponding to first color part) and second light emitting element (one 260 corresponding to second color part) emits the light of the third color (blue) {¶0054}.
Regarding claim 20, Chen as modified by Brackley, Freidhoff, and Ghosh teaches the tiled display device according to claim 13, and Chen further teaches wherein a color (red) provided by the first adjacent sub-pixel area (area directly beneath rightmost 172) and a color (green) provided by the second adjacent sub-pixel area (area directly beneath rightmost 174) are different from each other {¶0057}.
Regarding claim 21 Chen as modified by Brackley, Freidhoff, and Ghosh teaches the tiled display device according to claim 1, and Chen further teaches wherein
the first display element layer (leftmost layer containing 260s) includes the first light emitting element (one 260 corresponding to first color part) {¶0054},
wherein the second display element layer (rightmost layer containing 260s) includes a second light emitting element (one 260 corresponding to second color part) {¶0054}, and
wherein each of the first light emitting element (one 260 corresponding to first color part) and the second light emitting element (one 260 corresponding to second color part) is an organic light emitting diode or a light emitting diode (260, LED) having a size in a range of a nanoscale to a microscale {¶0054; each LED implicitly has a size of e.g., Y x 10±n micrometers/nanometers, where Y and n are values greater than 0}.
Regarding claim 22, Chen teaches in Fig. 5 a tiled display device comprising:
a first display device (201C & portion of 100C to left of GP) {¶0054} including:
a first substrate (210 in 201C) {¶0051};
a first display element layer (layer containing 260s in 201C) disposed on the first substrate (210 in 201C), the first display element layer (layer containing 260s in 201C) including a first light emitting element (one 260 corresponding to first color part) in a first emission area (first emission area of one 260 corresponding to first color part) {¶0054, orientation of device illustrated by Fig. 5 may be changed}; and
a first upper layer (portion of 140 to left of GP) disposed on the first display element layer (layer containing 260s in 201C) {¶0057; orientation of device illustrated by Fig. 5 may be changed}; and
a second display device (202C & portion of 100C to right of GP) {¶0054} including:
a second substrate (210 in 202C) adjacent to the first substrate (210 in 201C) in the second direction (horizontal) {¶0051};
a second display element layer (layer containing 260s in 202C) disposed on the second substrate (210 in 202C) {¶0057; orientation of device illustrated by Fig. 5 may be changed}; and
a second upper layer (portion of 140 to right of GP) disposed on the second display element layer (layer containing 260s in 202C) {orientation of device illustrated by Fig. 5 may be changed} {¶0057; orientation of device illustrated by Fig. 5 may be changed}, wherein
the first upper layer (portion of 140 to left of GP) and the second upper layer (portion of 140 to right of GP) are integral with each other {Fig. 5},
wherein each of the first upper layer (portion of 140 to left of GP) and the second upper layer (portion of 140 to right of GP) comprises:
a first color part (1st one of (all 132 and/or 172)/(all 136 and/or 150)) including a first quantum dot (QD material emitting red light) {¶0057}; and
a second color part (2nd one of (all 132 and/or 172)/(all 134 and/or 174)/(all 136 and/or 150)) including a second quantum dot (QD material emitting green light) {¶0057}, and
wherein a center of the first color part (1st one of (all 132 and/or 172)/(all 136 and/or 150)) is offset from a center of the first emission area (first emission area of one 260 corresponding to first color part) in a plan view {first emission area may be broadly interpreted as a subset area of the total area where emission may be seen}.
Chen does not teach:
the first display element layer including pixels arranged in a first direction and a second direction crossing the first direction, each of the pixels including sub-pixels arranged in the second direction;
the second display element layer including pixels arranged in the first direction and the second direction, each of the pixels including sub-pixels arranged in the second direction.
In an analogous art, Brackley teaches in Fig. 15C and paragraphs [0029] and [0072] a first display element layer (750a) including pixels (44) arranged in a first direction (vertical) and a second direction (horizontal) crossing the first direction (vertical), each of the pixels (44) including sub-pixels {¶0030} arranged in the second direction (horizontal) {real-world objects (e.g., sub-pixels) are implicitly arranged in three dimensions}; a second display element layer (750b) including pixels (44) arranged in the first direction (vertical) and the second direction (horizontal), each of the pixels (44) including sub-pixels {¶0030} arranged in the second direction {real-world objects (e.g., sub-pixels) are implicitly arranged in three dimensions}. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen’s tiled display device based on the teachings of Brackley – such that the first display element layer includes pixels arranged in a first direction and a second direction crossing the first direction, each of the pixels including sub-pixels arranged in the second direction; and the second display element layer includes pixels arranged in the first direction and the second direction, each of the pixels including sub-pixels arranged in the second direction – so the tiled display maintains the uniform pixel pitch at the tile seams. Brackley ¶0008.
Chen as modified by Brackley does not teach wherein in the first upper layer and the second upper layer, a closest distance between a first color part and an adjacent second color part of a single pixel in the second direction is the same as a closest distance between a first color part of the first display element layer and an adjacent second color part of the second display element layer in the second direction.
Freidhoff teaches in Figs. 6 and 7 and paragraph [0035] in a first upper layer (e.g., portion of layer comprising 42 disposed in 22k) and a second upper layer (e.g., portion of layer comprising 42 disposed in 22h/22l), a closest distance between a first color part (1st one 42) and an adjacent second color part (2nd one 42) within either the first display element layer (e.g., 22k) or the second display element layer (e.g., 22k/22l) in the second direction (vertical/horizontal) is the same as a closest distance between a first color part (1st one 42) of the first display element layer (e.g., 22k) and an adjacent second color part (2nd one 42) of the second display element layer (e.g., 22k/22l) in the second direction (vertical/horizontal). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen’s tiled display device as modified by Brackley based on the teachings of Freidhoff – such that in a first upper layer and a second upper layer, a closest distance between a first color part and an adjacent second color part within either the first display element layer or the second display element layer in the second direction is the same as a closest distance between a first color part of the first display element layer and an adjacent second color part of the second display element layer in the second direction – for pixel pitch integrity from tile to tile. Freidhoff ¶0013.
Ghosh teaches in Fig. 7 and paragraph [0050] that each of the pixels (702) including sub-pixels (704, 706, 708) arranged in the second direction (e.g., horizontal) {a conventional RGB color pixel arrangement is patterned consistently across the entire display}. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen’s tiled display device as modified by Brackley and Freidhoff based on the teachings of Ghosh – such that sub-pixels in each pixel are patterned consistently across the entire display – to reduce visual artifacts/discontinuities at the seams of adjacent tiles. Ghosh ¶0056, 0057.
Consequences of Ghosh’s modification on the combined teachings of Chen, Brackley, and Freidhoff identified above are: (1) each of the pixels/light-emitting elements, in each of the first display element layer and the second display element layer, includes sub-pixels arranged in the second direction and (2) in the first upper layer and the second upper layer, a closest distance between a first color part and an adjacent second color part of a single pixel in the second direction is the same as a closest distance between a first color part of the first display element layer and an adjacent second color part of the second display element layer in the second direction.
Regarding claim 23, as interpreted in view of the indefiniteness rejection, Chen teaches in Fig. 5 a tiled display device including:
a pixel that includes:
a first sub-pixel area (area directly beneath a 1st of 150, 172) comprising a first color part (1st one of (all 132 and/or 172)/(all 136 and/or 150)) for emitting light of a first color (1st of 150, 172) {¶0057};
a second sub-pixel area (area directly beneath a 2nd of 150, 172, 174) for emitting light of a second color (2nd of 150, 172, 174) {¶0057}, the second sub-pixel area (area directly beneath a 2nd of 150, 172, 174) adjacent to the first sub-pixel area (area directly beneath a 1st of 150, 172) in a second direction (horizontal);
a third sub-pixel area (area directly beneath a 3rd of 150, 172, 174) for emitting light of a third color (3rd of 150, 172, 174) {¶0058}, the third sub-pixel area (area directly beneath a 3rd of 150, 172, 174) adjacent to the second sub-pixel area (area directly beneath a 2nd of 150, 172, 174) in the second direction (horizontal);
a first panel (201C) {¶0054} including:
a first substrate (210 in 201C) {¶0051}; and
a first display element layer (layer containing 260s in 201C) disposed on the first substrate (210 in 201C) and including a first light emitting element (one 260 corresponding to first color part) in a first emission area (first emission area of one 260 corresponding to first color part) for emitting the light of the third color (blue) {¶0057};
a second panel (202C) adjacent to the first panel (201C) in the second direction (horizontal) {¶0054}, the second panel (202C) including:
a second substrate (210 in 202C) {¶0051}; and
a second display element layer (layer containing 260s in 202C) disposed on the second substrate (210 in 202C) and including a second light emitting element (one 260 corresponding to second color part) for emitting the light of the third color (blue) {¶0057}; and
a shared layer (100C) {¶0055} including:
a first area (area of 100C to left of GP) overlapping the first panel (201C) in a plan view {Fig. 5}; and
a second area (area of 100C to right of GP) overlapping the second panel (202C) in a plan view {Fig. 5},
wherein the first sub-pixel area (area directly beneath a 1st of 150, 172), the second sub-pixel area (area directly beneath a 2nd of 150, 172, 174), and the third sub-pixel area (area directly beneath a 3rd of 150, 172, 174) are defined (e.g., delineated) by the shared layer (110C) {Fig. 5}, and
wherein a center of the first color part (1st one of (all 132 and/or 172)/(all 136 and/or 150)) is offset from a center of the first emission area (first emission area of one 260 corresponding to first color part) in a plan view {first emission area may be broadly interpreted as a subset area of the total area where emission may be seen}.
Chen does not teach wherein in the shared layer, a closest distance between adjacent subpixel areas of a single pixel in the second direction is the same as a closest distance between adjacent subpixel areas of the first and second substrate in the second direction.
Freidhoff teaches in Figs. 6 and 7 and paragraph [0035] in a shared layer (layer of 42), a closest distance between color parts (42) of adjacent light-emitting elements (300) within either the first panel (e.g., 22k) or the second panel (e.g., 22h) in the second direction (horizontal/vertical) is the same as a closest distance between color parts (42) of adjacent light-emitting elements (300) in the first panel (e.g., 22k) and the second panel (e.g., 22h/22l) in the second direction (horizontal/vertical). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen’s tiled display device based on the teachings of Freidhoff – such that in a shared layer, a closest distance between color parts of adjacent light-emitting elements within either the first panel or the second panel in the second direction is the same as a closest distance between color parts of adjacent light-emitting elements in the first panel and the second panel in the second direction – for pixel pitch integrity from tile to tile. Freidhoff ¶0013.
Brackley teaches in Fig. 15C and paragraphs [0029] and [0072] that each of multiple pixels (44) in each of multiple tiles (e.g., 750) are arranged uniformly in the vertical and horizontal directions and include sub-pixels {¶0030}. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen’s tiled display device as modified by Freidhoff based on the teachings of Brackley – such that each of multiple pixels in each of multiple tiles are arranged uniformly in the vertical and horizontal directions and include sub-pixels – so the tiled display maintains the uniform pixel pitch at the tile seams. Brackley ¶0008. Moreover, [t]he selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use [is] … prima facie obviousness. MPEP §2144.07.
Ghosh teaches in Fig. 7 and paragraph [0050] that each of the pixels (702) including sub-pixels (704, 706, 708) arranged in the second direction (e.g., horizontal) {a conventional RGB color pixel arrangement is patterned consistently across the entire display}. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen’s tiled display device as modified by Freidhoff and Brackley based on the teachings of Ghosh – such that sub-pixels in each pixel are patterned consistently across the entire display – to reduce visual artifacts/discontinuities at the seams of adjacent tiles. Ghosh ¶0056, 0057.
Consequences of Ghosh’s modification on the combined teachings of Chen, Freidhoff, and Brackley identified above are: (1) each of the pixels includes sub-pixels arranged in the second direction and (2) in the shared layer, a closest distance between adjacent subpixel areas (e.g., color elements) of a single pixel in the second direction is the same as a closest distance between adjacent subpixel areas (e.g., color elements) of the first and second substrate in the second direction.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Xi et al. (US20210217806A1) teaches a display panel includes a substrate, pad structures, and openings. The substrate has a first and second surface opposite to each other. The pad structures are disposed on the first surface of the substrate. Each pad structure has a connection pad, a conductive pattern layer, and an auxiliary conductive layer electrically connected to each other. The auxiliary conductive layer is overlapped with the conductive pattern layer and the connection pad along a normal direction of the first surface. The openings are disposed on the substrate and penetrate the first and second surfaces of the substrate. The openings and the pad structures are alternately arranged. The substrate also has a third surface defining each opening and connected to the first and second surfaces. The third surface is not conductive.
Conclusion
/D.W.W./Examiner, Art Unit 2891
/MATTHEW C LANDAU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2891