DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Office acknowledges receipt on 10 June 2025 of Applicants’ amendments in which claims 1, 12-14, and 21-23 are amended. The Office withdraws the section 112(b) rejections identified in the Office Communication dated 11 March 2025 in view of the amendments.
The Office kindly requests Applicants to use the proper underlining and strikethrough markings for indicating any future amendments to the claims, which was not done for some of the amendments made in Applicants’ Amendment dated 10 June 2025 (see, e.g., claim 13).
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1, lines 17-19, recites “a closest distance between color conversion parts of adjacent subpixels of a first pixel of the pixels in the first panel in the second direction.” The original application does not provide adequate written description support for this subject matter. Instead, Applicants’ Fig. 8 and paragraph [0264] disclose that a color conversion part CCL comprises a first color part corresponding to a first sub-pixel, a second color part corresponding to a second sub-pixel, and a third color part corresponding to a third sub-pixel. And Applicants’ Fig. 9 and paragraphs [0238] and [0239] disclose a distance between sub-pixels, not a distance between two color conversion parts CCL that each comprises a first color part corresponding to a first sub-pixel, a second color part corresponding to a second sub-pixel, and a third color part corresponding to a third sub-pixel. Claims 2-21 are rejected due to their dependence from base claim 1.
Claim 5, lines 2-5, recites “the color conversion part comprises: a first color part providing light of a first color; a second color part providing light of a second color; and a third color part providing light of a third color” whereas claim 1, lines 16-19, recites “a closest distance between color conversion parts of adjacent subpixels between the first panel and the second panel in the second direction is the same as a closest distance between color conversion parts of adjacent subpixels of a first pixel of the pixels in the first panel in the second direction.” The original application does not provide adequate written description support for the recited subject matter whereby a closest distance between color conversion parts – each of which has three color parts (e.g., corresponding to three sub-pixels) – of adjacent subpixels between the first panel and the second panel in the second direction is the same as a closest distance between color conversion parts – each of which has three color parts (e.g., corresponding to three sub-pixels) – of adjacent subpixels of a first pixel of the pixels in the first panel in the second direction. Instead, Applicants’ Fig. and paragraph [0265] disclose that a color conversion part CCL comprises the first color part, the second color part, and the third color part corresponds to a distinct sub-pixel.
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, lines 17-19, recites “a closest distance between color conversion parts of adjacent subpixels of a first pixel of the pixels in the first panel in the second direction,” which is indefinite for the reason identified with respect to the section 112(a) rejection applied to this claim. For the purpose of compact prosecution, lines 16-19 of claim 1 will be interpreted to recite “in the shared layer, a closest distance between color parts corresponding to adjacent subpixels, disposed respectively in the first panel and the second panel, in the second direction is the same as a closest distance between color parts corresponding to adjacent subpixels of a first pixel of the pixels in the first panel in the second direction.” Claims 2-21 are rejected due to their dependence from base claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US20240332342A1) in view of Freidhoff et al. (US20020173215A1), Brackley et al. (US20200163233A1), and Ghosh et al. (US20160322434A1).
Regarding claim 1, as interpreted in view of the indefiniteness rejection, Chen teaches in Figs. 1 and 5 a tiled display device comprising:
a first panel (201C) including a first display element layer (leftmost layer containing 260s) {¶0054};
a second panel (202C) including a second display element layer (rightmost layer containing 260s) {¶0054}; and
a shared layer (100C) including a plurality of color conversion parts ((132, 172)/(134, 174)/(136, 150) or (132, 172), (134, 174), (136, 150)) {¶0055, 0056, 0058}, wherein
the first panel (201C) and the second panel (202C) are adjacent to each other along a second direction (horizontal) {Fig. 5},
the shared layer (100C) includes a first portion (portion to left of GP) and a second portion (portion to right of GP) {Fig. 5};
the first portion (portion to left of GP) overlaps the first panel (201C) in a plan view {Fig. 5},
the second portion (portion to right of GP) overlaps the second panel (202C) in a plan view {Fig. 5},
the plurality of color conversion parts ((132, 172)/(134, 174)/(136, 150) or (132, 172), (134, 174), (136, 150)) changes a wavelength of light provided from the first panel (201C) and the second panel (202C) {¶0056, 0057}.
Chen does not teach:
the first display element layer including pixels arranged in a first direction and a second direction crossing the first direction, each of the pixels including sub-pixels arranged in the second direction;
the second display element layer including pixels arranged in the first direction and the second direction, each of the pixels including sub-pixels arranged in the second direction; and
in the shared layer, a closest distance between color parts corresponding to adjacent subpixels, disposed respectively in the first panel and the second panel, in the second direction is the same as a closest distance between color parts corresponding to adjacent subpixels of a first pixel of the pixels in the first panel in the second direction.
In an analogous art, Freidhoff teaches in Figs. 6 and 7 and paragraph [0035] in a shared layer (layer of 42), a closest distance between color parts (42) corresponding to adjacent light-emitting elements (300), disposed respectively in the first panel (e.g., 22k) and the second panel (e.g., 22h/22l), in the second direction (horizontal/vertical) is the same as a closest distance between color parts (42) corresponding to adjacent light-emitting elements (300) in the first panel (e.g., 22k) in the second direction (horizontal when orientation of drawing is rotated 90 degrees). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen’s tiled display device based on the teachings of Freidhoff – such that in the shared layer, a closest distance between color parts corresponding to adjacent light-emitting elements, disposed respectively in the first panel and the second panel, in the second direction is the same as a closest distance between color parts corresponding to adjacent light-emitting elements in the first panel in the second direction – for pixel pitch integrity from tile to tile. Freidhoff ¶0013.
In an analogous art, Brackley teaches in Fig. 15C and paragraphs [0029] and [0072] a first display element layer (750a) including pixels (44) arranged in a first direction (vertical) and a second direction (horizontal) crossing the first direction (vertical), each of the pixels (44) including sub-pixels {¶0030} arranged in the second direction (horizontal) {real-world objects (e.g., sub-pixels) are implicitly arranged in three dimensions}; a second display element layer (750b) including pixels (44) arranged in the first direction (vertical) and the second direction (horizontal), each of the pixels (44) including sub-pixels {¶0030} arranged in the second direction {real-world objects (e.g., sub-pixels) are implicitly arranged in three dimensions}. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen’s tiled display device as modified by Freidhoff based on the teachings of Brackley – such that the first display element layer includes pixels arranged in a first direction and a second direction crossing the first direction, each of the pixels including sub-pixels arranged in the second direction; and the second display element layer includes pixels arranged in the first direction and the second direction, each of the pixels including sub-pixels arranged in the second direction – so the tiled display maintains the uniform pixel pitch at the tile seams. Brackley ¶0008.
In an analogous art, Ghosh teaches in Fig. 7 and paragraph [0050] that each of the pixels (702) including sub-pixels (704, 706, 708) arranged in the second direction (e.g., horizontal) {a conventional RGB color pixel arrangement is patterned consistently across the entire display}. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen’s tiled display device as modified by Freidhoff and Brackley based on the teachings of Ghosh – such that sub-pixels in each pixel are patterned consistently across the entire display – to reduce visual artifacts/discontinuities at the seams of adjacent tiles. Ghosh ¶0056, 0057.
Consequences of Ghosh’s modification on the combined teachings of Chen, Freidhoff, and Brackley identified above are: (1) each of the pixels/light-emitting elements, in each of the first display element layer and the second display element layer, includes sub-pixels arranged in the second direction and (2) in the shared layer, a closest distance between color parts corresponding to adjacent subpixels, disposed respectively in the first panel and the second panel, in the second direction is the same as a closest distance between color parts corresponding to adjacent subpixels of a first pixel of the pixels in the first panel in the second direction.
Regarding claim 2, Chen as modified by Freidhoff, Brackley, and Ghosh teaches the tiled display device according to claim 1, and Chen further teaches wherein
the first panel (201C) and the second panel (202C) form a lower panel (200) of the tiled display device {¶0054; viewed from an orientation rotated 180 degrees}, and
the shared layer (100C) forms an upper panel of the tiled display device {¶0055; viewed from an orientation rotated 180 degrees}.
Regarding claim 3, Chen as modified by Freidhoff, Brackley, and Ghosh teaches the tiled display device according to claim 1, and Chen further teaches wherein
the first panel (201C) and the second panel (202C) are disposed on a same layer {¶0054},
the first panel (201C) and the second panel (202C) are spaced apart from each other {¶0054}, and
a bonding area (GP) is disposed between the first panel (201C) and the second panel (202C) {¶0032}.
Regarding claim 4, Chen as modified by Freidhoff, Brackley, and Ghosh teaches the tiled display device according to claim 3, and Chen further teaches wherein the bonding area (GP) overlaps the shared layer (100C) in a plan view {Fig. 5}.
Regarding claim 5, Chen as modified by Freidhoff, Brackley, and Ghosh teaches the tiled display device according to claim 1, and Chen further teaches wherein
the color conversion part ((132, 172)/(134, 174)/(136, 150) or (132, 172), (134, 174), (136, 150)) comprises:
a first color part (1st of (132, 172), (134, 174), (136, 150)) providing light of a first color (1st of red, green, blue) {¶0057};
a second color part (2nd of (132, 172), (134, 174), (136, 150)) providing light of a second color (2nd of red, green, blue) {¶0057}; and
a third color part (3rd of (132, 172), (134, 174), (136, 150)) providing light of a third color (3rd of red, green, blue) {¶0058}, and
the first color part (1st of (132, 172), (134, 174), (136, 150), the second color part (2nd of (132, 172), (134, 174), (136, 150), and the third color part (3rd of (132, 172), (134, 174), (136, 150) overlap the first panel (201C) and the second panel (202C) in a plan view {Fig. 5; 172, 174, and 150 in each of 210C and 202C}.
Regarding claim 6, Chen as modified by Freidhoff, Brackley, and Ghosh teaches the tiled display device according to claim 5, and Chen further teaches further comprising:
a first sub-pixel area (area directly beneath a 1st of 150, 172, 174) emitting the light of the first color (1st of red, green, blue) and overlapping the first color part (1st of (132, 172), (134, 174), (136, 150) in a plan view {¶0057};
a second sub-pixel area (area directly beneath a 2nd of 150, 172, 174) emitting the light of the second color (2nd of red, green, blue) and overlapping the second color part (2nd of (132, 172), (134, 174), (136, 150) in a plan view {¶0057}; and
a third sub-pixel area (area directly beneath a 3rd of 150, 172, 174) emitting the light of the third color (3rd of red, green, blue) and overlapping the third color part (3rd of (132, 172), (134, 174), (136, 150) in a plan view {¶0058}.
Regarding claim 7, Chen as modified by Freidhoff, Brackley, and Ghosh teaches the tiled display device according to claim 6, and Chen further teaches wherein the shared layer further comprises:
a first color filter (1st of 132, 134, 136) overlapping the first sub-pixel area (area directly beneath a 1st of 150, 172, 174) in a plan view {¶0057};
a second color filter (2nd of 132, 134, 136) overlapping the second sub-pixel area (area directly beneath a 2nd of 150, 172, 174) in a plan view {¶0057}; and
a third color filter (3rd of 132, 134, 136) overlapping the third sub-pixel area (area directly beneath a 3rd of 150, 172, 174) in a plan view {¶0058}.
Regarding claim 8, Chen as modified by Freidhoff, Brackley, and Ghosh teaches the tiled display device according to claim 6, and Chen further teaches wherein
the first display element layer (leftmost layer containing 260s) includes a first light emitting element (260) {¶0054},
the second display element layer (rightmost layer containing 260s) includes a second light emitting element (260) {¶0054},
the tiled display device further comprises an emission area (area of 260s) in which the first light emitting element (260) and the second light emitting element (260) are disposed {Fig. 5}, and
the emission area (area of 260s) is defined by components included in the first display element layer (leftmost layer containing 260s) and the second display element layer (rightmost layer containing 260s) {Fig. 5}.
Regarding claim 9, Chen as modified by Freidhoff, Brackley, and Ghosh teaches the tiled display device according to claim 8, and Chen further teaches wherein
each of the first display element layer (leftmost layer containing 260s) and the second display element layer (rightmost layer containing 260s) includes a bank (240) protruding in a display direction of the tiled display device {¶0038}, and
the bank (240) has a shape enclosing the emission area (area of 260s) {¶0038}.
Regarding claim 10, Chen as modified by Freidhoff, Brackley, and Ghosh teaches the tiled display device according to claim 8, and Chen further teaches wherein the emission area (area of 260s) comprises:
a first emission area (area of 1st of 260s) overlapping the first sub-pixel area (area directly beneath a 1st of 150, 172, 174) in a plan view {Fig. 5};
a second emission area (area of 2nd of 260s) overlapping the second sub-pixel area (area directly beneath a 2nd of 150, 172, 174) in a plan view {Fig. 5}; and
a third emission area (area of 3rd of 260s) overlapping third sub-pixel area (area directly beneath a 3rd of 150, 172, 174) in a plan view {Fig. 5}.
Regarding claim 11, Chen as modified by Freidhoff, Brackley, and Ghosh teaches the tiled display device according to claim 10, and Chen further teaches wherein
the first color part (1st of (132, 172), (134, 174), (136, 150) is disposed to be misaligned from the first emission area (area of 1st of 260s) in a plan view {Fig. 5; respective edges are not aligned},
the second color part (2nd of (132, 172), (134, 174), (136, 150) is disposed to be misaligned from the second emission area (area of 2nd of 260s) in a plan view {Fig. 5; respective edges are not aligned}, and
the third color part (3rd of 150, (132, 172), (134, 174), (136, 150) is disposed to be misaligned from the third emission area (area of 3rd of 260s) in a plan view {Fig. 5; respective edges are not aligned}.
Regarding claim 12 Chen as modified by Freidhoff, Brackley, and Ghosh teaches the tiled display device according to claim 10, and Chen further teaches wherein
at least part (centermost part) of the first color part (1st of (132, 172), (134, 174), (136, 150) overlaps the first emission area (area of 1st of 260s) in a plan view {Fig. 5}, and
another part (leftmost/rightmost part) of the first color part (1st of (132, 172), (134, 174), (136, 150) does not overlap the first emission area (area of 1st of 260s) in a plan view {Fig. 5; respective edges are not aligned}.
Regarding claim 13 Chen as modified by Freidhoff, Brackley, and Ghosh teaches the tiled display device according to claim 10, and Chen further teaches wherein
the first panel (201C) and the first portion (portion to left of GP) of the shared layer (100C) form a first display device (201C & portion of 100C to left of GP) {Fig. 5},
the second panel (202C) and the second portion (portion to right of GP) of the shared layer (100C) form a second display device (202C & portion of 100C to right of GP) {Fig. 5}.
Chen does not teach:
in the first display device, two areas adjacent in the second direction among the first sub-pixel area, the second sub-pixel area, and the third sub-pixel area are separated spaced apart from each other by a first separation distance,
in the second display device, two areas adjacent in the second direction among the first sub-pixel area, the second sub-pixel area, and the third sub-pixel area are spaced apart from each other by the first separation distance,
a first adjacent sub-pixel area of the first display device and a second adjacent sub-pixel area of the second display device are spaced apart from each other in the second direction by a second separation distance,
the first adjacent sub-pixel area is a sub-pixel area in the first display device closest to the second display device,
the second adjacent sub-pixel area is a sub-pixel area in the second display device closest to the first display device, and
the first separation distance is equal to the second separation distance.
Freidhoff teaches in Figs. 6 and 7 that:
in a first display device (e.g., 22k), two areas (e.g., areas of 306s) adjacent in the second direction (e.g., horizontal/vertical) among a first sub-pixel area (area of a 1st 306), a second sub-pixel area (area of a 2nd 306), and a third sub-pixel area (area of a 3rd 306) are separated spaced apart from each other by a first separation distance (36 less width of 306),
in the second display device (e.g., 22l), two areas (e.g., areas of 306s) adjacent in the second direction (e.g., horizontal/vertical) among a first sub-pixel area (area of a 1st 306), a second sub-pixel area (area of a 2nd 306), and a third sub-pixel area (area of a 3rd 306) are spaced apart from each other by the first separation distance (36 less width of 306),
a first adjacent sub-pixel area (e.g., area of bottom-rightmost 306) of the first display device (e.g., 22k) and a second adjacent sub-pixel area (e.g., area of bottom-leftmost 306) of the second display device (e.g., 22l) are spaced apart from each other in the second direction (e.g., horizontal/vertical) by a second separation distance (36 less width of 306),
the first adjacent sub-pixel area (e.g., area of bottom-rightmost 306) is a sub-pixel area in the first display device (e.g., 22k) closest to the second display device (e.g., 22l),
the second adjacent sub-pixel area (e.g., area of bottom-leftmost 306) is a sub-pixel area in the second display device (e.g., 22l) closest to the first display device (e.g., 22k), and
the first separation distance (36 less width of 306) is equal to the second separation distance (36 less width of 306).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen’s tiled display device as modified by Freidhoff, Brackley, and Ghosh based on the further teachings of Freidhoff to achieve the above-identified features so as to achieve pixel pitch integrity from tile to tile. Freidhoff ¶0013.
Regarding claim 14 Chen as modified by Freidhoff, Brackley, and Ghosh teaches the tiled display device according to claim 13, and Chen further teaches wherein
in the first display device (201C & portion of 100C to left of GP), the first emission area (area of 1st of 260s) and the second emission area (area of 2nd of 260s) are adjacent and are spaced apart from each other in the second direction (horizontal) by a first emission separation distance (distance between adjacent 260s), and the second emission area (area of 2nd of 260s) and the third emission (area of 3rd of 260s) area are adjacent and are spaced apart from each other in the second direction (horizontal) by the first emission separation distance (distance between adjacent 260s) {Fig. 5},
in the second display device (202C & portion of 100C to right of GP), the first emission area (area of 1st of 260s) and the second emission area (area of 2nd of 260s) are adjacent and are spaced apart from each other in the second direction by the first emission separation distance (distance between adjacent 260s), and the second emission area (area of 2nd of 260s) and the third emission area (area of 3rd of 260s) are adjacent and are spaced apart from each other in the second direction by the first emission separation distance (distance between adjacent 260s) {Fig. 5},
a first adjacent emission area (e.g., rightmost 260) of the first display device (201C & portion of 100C to left of GP) and a second adjacent emission area (e.g., leftmost 260) of the second display device (202C & portion of 100C to right of GP) are spaced apart from each other in the second direction by a second emission separation distance (distance between adjacent 260s across gap GP) {Fig. 5},
the first adjacent emission area (e.g., rightmost 260) is an emission area in the first display device (201C & portion of 100C to left of GP) closest to the second display device (202C & portion of 100C to right of GP) {Fig. 5},
the second adjacent emission area (e.g., leftmost 260) is an emission area in the second display device (202C & portion of 100C to right of GP) closest to the first display device (201C & portion of 100C to left of GP) {Fig. 5}, and
the first emission separation distance (distance between adjacent 260s) is different from the second emission separation distance (distance between adjacent 260s across gap GP) {Fig. 5}.
Regarding claim 15, Chen as modified by Freidhoff, Brackley, and Ghosh teaches the tiled display device according to claim 14, and Chen further teaches wherein the second emission separation distance (distance between adjacent 260s across gap GP) is greater than the second separation distance (distance between adjacent 150 and 172 (as modified by Freidhoff and Ghosh) across gap GP) {e.g., each of 150 and 172 is wider than each of 260} }.
Regarding claim 16, Chen as modified by Freidhoff, Brackley, and Ghosh teaches the tiled display device according to claim 14, and Chen further teaches wherein, when viewed from an outside,
the light of the first color (1st of red, green, blue) is observed in the first sub-pixel area (area directly beneath a 1st of 150, 172, 174) {¶0057, 0058},
the light of the second color (2nd of red, green, blue) is observed in the second sub-pixel area (area directly beneath a 2nd of 150, 172, 174) {¶0057, 0058}, and
the light of the third color (3rd of red, green, blue) is observed in the third sub-pixel area (area directly beneath a 3rd of 150, 172, 174) {¶0057, 0058}.
Regarding claim 17, Chen as modified by Freidhoff, Brackley, and Ghosh teaches the tiled display device according to claim 14, and Chen further teaches wherein
the first panel (201C) and the second panel (202C) are disposed on a same layer (layer of 201C and 202C) {¶0054},
the first panel (201C) and the second panel (202C) are spaced apart from each other (spaced apart by GP) {Fig. 5},
a bonding area (area of 300 in GP) is disposed between the first panel (201C) and the second panel (202C) {¶0028}.
Chen does not expressly teach a thickness of the bonding area is smaller than the second separation distance.
However, Chen teaches in paragraph [0037] the thickness of the gap GP may be determined according to the user's design and requirements, for example, 0 μm to 200 μm, but is not limited thereto. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to discover the optimal or workable ranges of the gap thickness – such that a thickness of the bonding area is smaller than the second separation distance – because where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. MPEP §2144.05(II)(A).
Regarding claim 18, Chen as modified by Freidhoff, Brackley, and Ghosh teaches the tiled display device according to claim 5, and Chen further teaches wherein
the first color part (172) comprises a first quantum dot (QD material emitting red light) converting the light of the third color (blue) into the light of the first color (red) {¶0057}, and
the second color part (174) comprises a second quantum dot (QD material emitting green light) converting the light of the third color (blue) into the light of the second color (green) {¶0057}.
Regarding claim 19, Chen as modified by Freidhoff, Brackley, and Ghosh teaches the tiled display device according to claim 18, and Chen further teaches wherein
the first display element layer (leftmost layer containing 260s) includes a first light emitting element (rightmost 260 in 201C) {¶0054},
the second display element layer (rightmost layer containing 260s) includes a second light emitting element (rightmost 260 in 202C) {¶0054}, and
each of the first light emitting element (rightmost 260 in 201C) and second light emitting element (rightmost 260 in 202C) emits the light of the third color (blue) {¶0054}.
Regarding claim 20, Chen as modified by Freidhoff, Brackley, and Ghosh teaches the tiled display device according to claim 13, and Chen further teaches wherein a color (red) provided by the first adjacent sub-pixel area (area directly beneath rightmost 172) and a color (green) provided by the second adjacent sub-pixel area (area directly beneath rightmost 174) are different from each other {¶0057}.
Regarding claim 21 Chen as modified by Freidhoff, Brackley, and Ghosh teaches the tiled display device according to claim 1, and Chen further teaches wherein
the first display element layer (leftmost layer containing 260s) includes a first light emitting element (rightmost 260 in 201C) {¶0054},
the second display element layer (rightmost layer containing 260s) includes a second light emitting element (rightmost 260 in 202C) {¶0054}, and
each of the first light emitting element (rightmost 260 in 201C) and the second light emitting element (rightmost 260 in 202C) is an organic light emitting diode or a light emitting diode (260, LED) having a size in a range of a nanoscale to a microscale {¶0054; each LED implicitly has a size of e.g., Y x 10±n micrometers/nanometers, where Y and n are values greater than 0}.
Regarding claim 22, Chen teaches in Fig. 5 a tiled display device comprising:
a first display device (201C & portion of 100C to left of GP) {¶0054} including:
a first substrate (210 in 201C) {¶0051};
a first display element layer (layer containing 260s in 201C) disposed on the first substrate (210 in 201C) {¶0054, orientation of device illustrated by Fig. 5 may be changed}; and
a first upper layer (portion of 140 to left of GP) disposed on the first display element layer (layer containing 260s in 201C) {¶0057; orientation of device illustrated by Fig. 5 may be changed}; and
a second display device (202C & portion of 100C to right of GP) {¶0054} including:
a second substrate (210 in 202C) adjacent to the first substrate (210 in 201C) in the second direction (horizontal) {¶0051};
a second display element layer (layer containing 260s in 202C) disposed on the second substrate (210 in 202C) {¶0057; orientation of device illustrated by Fig. 5 may be changed}; and
a second upper layer (portion of 140 to right of GP) disposed on the second display element layer (layer containing 260s in 202C) {orientation of device illustrated by Fig. 5 may be changed} {¶0057; orientation of device illustrated by Fig. 5 may be changed}, wherein
the first upper layer (portion of 140 to left of GP) and the second upper layer (portion of 140 to right of GP) are integral with each other {Fig. 5}, and
each of the first upper layer (portion of 140 to left of GP) and the second upper layer (portion of 140 to right of GP) comprises:
a first color part (1st of 172, 174) including a first quantum dot (QD material emitting red light) {¶0057}; and
a second color part (2nd of 172, 174) including a second quantum dot (QD material emitting green light) {¶0057}.
Chen does not teach:
the first display element layer including pixels arranged in a first direction and a second direction crossing the first direction, each of the pixels including sub-pixels arranged in the second direction,
the second display element layer including pixels arranged in the first direction and the second direction, each of the pixels including sub-pixels arranged in the second direction, and
in the first upper layer and the second upper layer, a closest distance between a first color part and an adjacent second color part of a single pixel in the second direction is the same as a closest distance between a first color part of the first display element layer and an adjacent second color part of the second display element layer in the second direction.
Freidhoff teaches in Figs. 6 and 7 and paragraph [0035] in a first upper layer (e.g., portion of layer comprising 42 disposed in 22k) and a second upper layer (e.g., portion of layer comprising 42 disposed in 22h/22l), a closest distance between a first color part (1st one 42) and an adjacent second color part (2nd one 42) within either the first display element layer (e.g., 22k) or the second display element layer (e.g., 22k/22l) in the second direction (vertical/horizontal) is the same as a closest distance between a first color part (1st one 42) of the first display element layer (e.g., 22k) and an adjacent second color part (2nd one 42) of the second display element layer (e.g., 22k/22l) in the second direction (vertical/horizontal). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen’s tiled display device based on the teachings of Freidhoff – such that in a first upper layer and a second upper layer, a closest distance between a first color part and an adjacent second color part within either the first display element layer or the second display element layer in the second direction is the same as a closest distance between a first color part of the first display element layer and an adjacent second color part of the second display element layer in the second direction – for pixel pitch integrity from tile to tile. Freidhoff ¶0013.
Brackley teaches in Fig. 15C and paragraphs [0029] and [0072] a first display element layer (750a) including pixels (44) arranged in a first direction (vertical) and a second direction (horizontal) crossing the first direction (vertical), each of the pixels (44) including sub-pixels {¶0030} arranged in the second direction (horizontal) {real-world objects (e.g., sub-pixels) are implicitly arranged in three dimensions}; a second display element layer (750b) including pixels (44) arranged in the first direction (vertical) and the second direction (horizontal), each of the pixels (44) including sub-pixels {¶0030} arranged in the second direction {real-world objects (e.g., sub-pixels) are implicitly arranged in three dimensions}. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen’s tiled display device as modified by Freidhoff based on the teachings of Brackley – such that the first display element layer includes pixels arranged in a first direction and a second direction crossing the first direction, each of the pixels including sub-pixels arranged in the second direction; and the second display element layer includes pixels arranged in the first direction and the second direction, each of the pixels including sub-pixels arranged in the second direction – so the tiled display maintains the uniform pixel pitch at the tile seams. Brackley ¶0008.
Ghosh teaches in Fig. 7 and paragraph [0050] that each of the pixels (702) including sub-pixels (704, 706, 708) arranged in the second direction (e.g., horizontal) {a conventional RGB color pixel arrangement is patterned consistently across the entire display}. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen’s tiled display device as modified by Freidhoff and Brackley based on the teachings of Ghosh – such that sub-pixels in each pixel are patterned consistently across the entire display – to reduce visual artifacts/discontinuities at the seams of adjacent tiles. Ghosh ¶0056, 0057.
Consequences of Ghosh’s modification on the combined teachings of Chen, Freidhoff, and Brackley identified above are: (1) each of the pixels/light-emitting elements, in each of the first display element layer and the second display element layer, includes sub-pixels arranged in the second direction and (2) in the first upper layer and the second upper layer, a closest distance between a first color part and an adjacent second color part of a single pixel in the second direction is the same as a closest distance between a first color part of the first display element layer and an adjacent second color part of the second display element layer in the second direction.
Regarding claim 23, Chen teaches in Fig. 5 a tiled display device including:
a pixel that includes:
a first sub-pixel area (area directly beneath a 1st of 150, 172, 174) emitting light of a first color (1st of 150, 172, 174) {¶0057};
a second sub-pixel area (area directly beneath a 2nd of 150, 172, 174) emitting light of a second color (2nd of 150, 172, 174) {¶0057}, the second sub-pixel area (area directly beneath a 2nd of 150, 172, 174) adjacent to the first sub-pixel area (area directly beneath a 1st of 150, 172, 174) in a second direction (horizontal);
a third sub-pixel area (area directly beneath a 3rd of 150, 172, 174) emitting light of a third color (3rd of 150, 172, 174) {¶0058}, the third sub-pixel area (area directly beneath a 3rd of 150, 172, 174) adjacent to the second sub-pixel area (area directly beneath a 2nd of 150, 172, 174) in the second direction (horizontal);
a first panel (201C) {¶0054} including:
a first substrate (210 in 201C) {¶0051}; and
a first display element layer (layer containing 260s in 201C) disposed on the first substrate (210 in 201C) and including a first light emitting element (any of 260s in 201C) emitting the light of the third color (blue) {¶0057};
a second panel (202C) adjacent to the first panel (201C) in the second direction (horizontal) {¶0054}, the second panel (202C) including:
a second substrate (210 in 202C) {¶0051}; and
a second display element layer (layer containing 260s in 202C) disposed on the second substrate (210 in 202C) and including a second light emitting element (any of 260s in 202C) emitting the light of the third color (blue) {¶0057}; and
a shared layer (100C) {¶0055} including:
a first area (area of 100C to left of GP) overlapping the first panel (201C) in a plan view {Fig. 5}; and
a second area (area of 100C to right of GP) overlapping the second panel (202C) in a plan view {Fig. 5},
wherein the first sub-pixel area (area directly beneath a 1st of 150, 172, 174), the second sub-pixel area (area directly beneath a 2nd of 150, 172, 174), and the third sub-pixel area (area directly beneath a 3rd of 150, 172, 174) are defined (e.g., delineated) by the shared layer (110C) {Fig. 5}.
Chen does not teach:
in the shared layer, a closest distance between adjacent subpixel areas of a single pixel in the second direction is the same as a closest distance between adjacent subpixel areas between the first and second substrate in the second direction.
Freidhoff teaches in Figs. 6 and 7 and paragraph [0035] in a shared layer (layer of 42), a closest distance between color conversion parts (42) of adjacent light-emitting elements (300) within either the first panel (e.g., 22k) or the second panel (e.g., 22h) in the second direction (horizontal/vertical) is the same as a closest distance between color conversion parts (42) of adjacent light-emitting elements (300) in the first panel (e.g., 22k) and the second panel (e.g., 22h/22l) in the second direction (horizontal/vertical). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen’s tiled display device based on the teachings of Freidhoff – such that in a shared layer, a closest distance between color conversion parts of adjacent light-emitting elements within either the first panel or the second panel in the second direction is the same as a closest distance between color conversion parts of adjacent light-emitting elements in the first panel and the second panel in the second direction – for pixel pitch integrity from tile to tile. Freidhoff ¶0013.
Brackley teaches in Fig. 15C and paragraphs [0029] and [0072] that each of multiple pixels (44) in each of multiple tiles (e.g., 750) are arranged uniformly in the vertical and horizontal directions and include sub-pixels {¶0030}. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen’s tiled display device as modified by Freidhoff based on the teachings of Brackley – such that each of multiple pixels in each of multiple tiles are arranged uniformly in the vertical and horizontal directions and include sub-pixels – so the tiled display maintains the uniform pixel pitch at the tile seams. Brackley ¶0008. Moreover, [t]he selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use [is] … prima facie obviousness. MPEP §2144.07.
Ghosh teaches in Fig. 7 and paragraph [0050] that each of the pixels (702) including sub-pixels (704, 706, 708) arranged in the second direction (e.g., horizontal) {a conventional RGB color pixel arrangement is patterned consistently across the entire display}. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen’s tiled display device as modified by Freidhoff and Brackley based on the teachings of Ghosh – such that sub-pixels in each pixel are patterned consistently across the entire display – to reduce visual artifacts/discontinuities at the seams of adjacent tiles. Ghosh ¶0056, 0057.
Consequences of Ghosh’s modification on the combined teachings of Chen, Freidhoff, and Brackley identified above are: (1) each of the pixels includes sub-pixels arranged in the second direction and (2) in the shared layer, a closest distance between adjacent subpixel areas (e.g., color conversion elements) of a single pixel in the second direction is the same as a closest distance between adjacent subpixel areas (e.g., color conversion elements) between the first and second substrate in the second direction.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.W.W./Examiner, Art Unit 2891
/MATTHEW C LANDAU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2891