Detailed Action
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Remarks
Newly submitted claim amendments directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons: the method as claimed can be used to make another and materially different device, e.g., the device claimed does not require the claimed order to form the claimed layers.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, the claim amendment related to the process order to form the claimed layers is not entered as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03. The Applicant cannot file an RCE on claims independent of the elected invention. Amendments that expand the scope to a different invention after an election and action on merits are generally not allowed.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claims 11-13, 15 and 17-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2023/0005962) of record, in view of Kaneko (CN 101359139) of record.
Regarding Claim 11
FIG. 7 of Lee discloses a method of fabricating a display device comprising: preparing a base layer (111) including a first surface and a second surface that is opposite to the first surface; forming a planarization layer (112+118) directly on the second surface; forming a pixel circuit layer (120) on a first surface; forming a display element layer (130) on the pixel circuit layer on the first surface; forming a first insulating layer (117) directly on the planarization layer; and forming a rear line (180B) and a rear pad electrode (between 180B and 151) directly on the first insulating layer; forming a second insulating layer (172) disposed on the rear line and the rear pad electrode, wherein the planarization layer includes organic material [0078], wherein the planarization layer is disposed to be spaced apart from the rear pad electrode (separated by 190B), and wherein the second insulating layer covers the rear pad electrode such that at least a portion of an upper surface of the rear pad electrode is exposed.
Lee is silent with respect to “the rear pad electrode covers side walls of the rear line in a direction perpendicular to a direction the rear line extending”.
FIG. 33E of Kaneko discloses a similar method of fabricating a display device, comprising a rear pad electrode (41) disposed on the rear line (38) and covering side walls of the rear line in a direction perpendicular to a direction the rear line extending.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lee, as taught by Kaneko. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Lee in the above manner for purpose of reducing contact resistance.
Regarding Claim 12
FIG. 7 of Lee discloses forming a pixel circuit layer (120) disposed on the first surface; and a display element layer (130) disposed on the pixel circuit layer.
Regarding Claim 13
Kaneko discloses the first insulating layer includes transparent inorganic insulating material (silicon nitride or silicon oxide).
Regarding Claim 15
FIG. 33E of Kaneko discloses the rear pad electrode includes transparent conductive oxide (ITO or IZO).
Regarding Claim 17
FIG. 33E of Kaneko discloses the rear line extends on the second surface in a first direction.
Regarding Claim 18
FIG. 33E of Kaneko discloses the rear pad electrode covers the rear line such that the rear pad electrode overlaps at least a portion of the rear line.
Regarding Claim 19
FIG. 7 of Lee discloses forming the pixel circuit layer comprises forming a first transistor (120) on the first surface.
Regarding Claim 20
FIG. 7 of Lee discloses forming the display element layer comprises disposing a light emitting element (130) on the pixel circuit layer.
Claims 11 and 14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kajiyama (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2018/0138260) of record, in view of Tsuruoka (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2015/0187807), in view of Ahn (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2017/0176798) of record.
Regarding Claim 11
FIG. 3 of Kajiyama discloses a method of fabricating a display device comprising: preparing a base layer (61) including a first surface and a second surface that is opposite to the first surface; forming a planarization layer (72) directly on the second surface; forming a pixel circuit layer (10) on a first surface; forming a display element layer (41) on the pixel circuit layer on the first surface; forming a first insulating layer (61) directly on the planarization layer; and forming a rear line (81) and a rear pad electrode directly on the first insulating layer, wherein the planarization layer is formed of organic material [0031], wherein the planarization layer is disposed to be spaced apart from the rear pad electrode.
FIG. 5 of Tsuruoka discloses a similar display device, comprising a first insulating layer (2) disposed on the second surface; a rear line (12) disposed between the first insulating layer and the second insulating layer (13) on the first insulating layer; a rear line (12) directly disposed on the first insulating layer; and a rear pad electrode (14) disposed on the rear line, wherein the second insulating layer covers the rear pad electrode such that at least a portion of an upper surface of the rear pad electrode is exposed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kajiyama, as taught by Tsuruoka. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Kajiyama in the above manner for purpose of improving reliability of the device ([0005] of Tsuruoka).
Kajiyama as modified by Tsuruoka is silent with respect to “a rear pad electrode disposed between the first insulating layer and the second insulating layer on the rear line and covering side walls of the rear line in a direction perpendicular to a direction the rear line extending”.
FIG. 19 of Yang discloses a similar display device, comprising a first insulating layer (INS1) disposed on the second surface; a rear line (RL) disposed between the first insulating layer and the second insulating layer (INS2) on the first insulating layer; and a rear pad electrode (RPD) disposed on the rear line and covering side walls of the rear line in a direction perpendicular to a direction the rear line extending, wherein the second insulating layer covers the rear pad electrode such that at least a portion of an upper surface of the rear pad electrode is exposed.
FIG. 7 of Ahn discloses a similar display device, comprising a first insulating layer (GI) disposed on the second surface; a rear line (124) disposed between the first insulating layer and the second insulating layer on the first insulating layer; and a rear pad electrode (128) disposed on the rear line and covering side walls of the rear line in a direction perpendicular to a direction the rear line extending, wherein the second insulating layer (PAS2) covers the rear pad electrode such that at least a portion of an upper surface of the rear pad electrode is exposed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kajiyama, as taught by Ahn. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Kajiyama in the above manner for purpose of forming transparent electrode with improved corrosion resistance ([0082] of Ahn).
Regarding Claim 14
FIG. 3 of Kajiyama discloses a similar display device, wherein the base layer comprises a rigid substrate [0032].
Pertinent Art
Tsuruoka (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2015/0187807) discloses a base layer including a first surface and a second surface that is opposite to the first surface; a first insulating layer disposed on the second surface; a planarization layer disposed between the second surface and the first insulating layer; a rear line disposed on the first insulating layer; and a rear pad electrode disposed on the rear line. Okada (KR 20070049211) discloses the base layer comprises a rigid substrate (glass). Mitarai (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2015/0021081) discloses a base layer including a first surface and a second surface that is opposite to the first surface; a rear line on the second surface; a rear pad electrode on the rear line; a pixel circuit layer on the first surface; a display element layer on the pixel circuit layer, wherein the pixel circuit layer includes a first transistor disposed on the first surface. KR 20050092934 discloses a second insulating layer (227) disposed on the first insulating layer (200b); a rear line (225b) disposed between the first insulating layer and the second insulating layer on the first insulating layer; and a rear pad electrode disposed on the rear line. Cheng (CN 112750883) discloses a planarization layer (13) disposed between the second surface and the first insulating layer (14), wherein the planarization layer includes organic material (PI). Imamura (CN 101140942) discloses an organic planarization layer. US 20080203392.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claim 11 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
/SHENG-BAI ZHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897