Detailed Action
Remarks
The claim limitation “at least a portion of an upper surface of the rear pad electrode is exposed” is understood as at least a portion of an upper surface of the rear pad electrode is not covered by the second insulating layer.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claims 1-3, 5-13, 15 and 17-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2023/0005962) of record, in view of Kaneko (CN 101359139) of record, in view of Ida (CN 101582416) of record.
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 7 of Lee discloses a display device comprising: a base layer (111) including a first surface and a second surface that is opposite to the first surface; a pixel circuit layer (120) dispose on the first surface; a display element layer (130) disposed on the pixel circuit layer; a first insulating layer (112) disposed on the second surface; a second insulating layer (117) disposed on the first insulating layer; a planarization layer (118) disposed between the second surface and the first insulating layer and capable of bonding the second surface and the first insulating layer [0088]; a rear line (180B) disposed between the first insulating layer and the second insulating layer on the first insulating layer; and a rear pad electrode (between 180B and 151) disposed on the rear line: wherein the planarization layer is disposed to be spaced apart from the rear pad electrode, and wherein the second insulating layer covers the rear pad electrode such that at least a portion of an upper surface of the rear pad electrode is exposed.
Lee is silent with respect to “a rear pad electrode disposed on the rear line and covering side walls of the rear line in a direction perpendicular to a direction the rear line extending” and “the planarization layer includes organic material”.
FIG. 33E of Kaneko discloses a similar display device, comprising a rear line (38) disposed between the first insulating layer (11) and the second insulating layer (23) on the first insulating layer; and a rear pad electrode (41) disposed on the rear line and covering side walls of the rear line in a direction perpendicular to a direction the rear line extending, wherein the second insulating layer covers the rear pad electrode such that at least a portion of an upper surface of the rear pad electrode is exposed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lee, as taught by Kaneko. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Lee in the above manner for purpose of reducing contact resistance.
Lee as modified by Kaneko is silent with respect to “the planarization layer includes organic material”.
FIG. 29 (annotated below) of Ida discloses a similar display device, comprising a planarization layer (PLL) disposed between the second surface and the first insulating layer (INS1), the second insulating layer (INS2) covering the rear pad electrode such that at least a portion of an upper surface of the rear pad electrode (RPE) is exposed, wherein the planarization layer includes organic material (resin).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lee, as taught by Ida. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Lee in the above manner for purpose of providing bonding (text of Ida).
Regarding Claim 3
Kaneko discloses the first insulating layer includes transparent inorganic insulating material (silicon nitride or silicon oxide).
Regarding Claim 5
FIG. 33E of Kaneko discloses the rear line extends on the second surface in a first direction.
Regarding Claim 6
FIG. 33E of Kaneko discloses the rear pad electrode (41) covers the rear line (38) such that the rear pad electrode overlaps at least a portion of the rear line.
Regarding Claim 7
FIG. 33E of Kaneko discloses the rear pad electrode includes transparent conductive oxide (ITO or IZO).
Regarding Claim 8
FIG. 7 of Lee discloses a pixel circuit layer (120) disposed on the first surface; and a display element layer (130) disposed on the pixel circuit layer.
Regarding Claim 9
FIG. 7 of Lee discloses the pixel circuit layer includes a first transistor disposed on the first surface.
Regarding Claim 10
FIG. 7 of Lee discloses the display element layer comprises a light emitting element (130), and wherein the light emitting element comprises: a first semiconductor layer (133); a second semiconductor layer (135) different from the first semiconductor layer; and an active layer (134) disposed between the first semiconductor layer and the second semiconductor layer.
Regarding Claim 11
FIG. 7 of Lee discloses a method of fabricating a display device comprising: preparing a base layer (111) including a first surface and a second surface that is opposite to the first surface; forming a planarization layer (112) on the second surface; forming a pixel circuit layer (120) on a first surface; forming a display element layer (130) on the pixel circuit layer; forming a first insulating layer (117) on the planarization layer; and forming a rear line (180B) and a rear pad electrode (between 180B and 151) on the first insulating layer; forming a second insulating layer (172) disposed on the rear line and the rear pad electrode, wherein the planarization layer includes organic material [0078], wherein the planarization layer is disposed to be spaced apart from the rear pad electrode (separated by 190B), and wherein the second insulating layer covers the rear pad electrode such that at least a portion of an upper surface of the rear pad electrode is exposed.
Lee is silent with respect to “the rear pad electrode covers side walls of the rear line in a direction perpendicular to a direction the rear line extending”.
FIG. 33E of Kaneko discloses a similar method of fabricating a display device, comprising a rear pad electrode (41) disposed on the rear line (38) and covering side walls of the rear line in a direction perpendicular to a direction the rear line extending.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lee, as taught by Kaneko. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Lee in the above manner for purpose of reducing contact resistance.
Regarding Claim 12
FIG. 7 of Lee discloses forming a pixel circuit layer (120) disposed on the first surface; and a display element layer (130) disposed on the pixel circuit layer.
Regarding Claim 13
Kaneko discloses the first insulating layer includes transparent inorganic insulating material (silicon nitride or silicon oxide).
Regarding Claim 15
FIG. 33E of Kaneko discloses the rear pad electrode includes transparent conductive oxide (ITO or IZO).
Regarding Claim 17
FIG. 33E of Kaneko discloses the rear line extends on the second surface in a first direction.
Regarding Claim 18
FIG. 33E of Kaneko discloses the rear pad electrode covers the rear line such that the rear pad electrode overlaps at least a portion of the rear line.
Regarding Claim 19
FIG. 7 of Lee discloses forming the pixel circuit layer comprises forming a first transistor (120) on the first surface.
Regarding Claim 20
FIG. 7 of Lee discloses forming the display element layer comprises disposing a light emitting element (130) on the pixel circuit layer.
Claims 1, 4, 11 and 14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kajiyama (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2018/0138260) of record, in view of Ahn (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2017/0176798) of record.
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 3 of Kajiyama discloses a display device comprising: a base layer (61) including a first surface and a second surface that is opposite to the first surface; a pixel circuit layer (10) dispose on the first surface; a display element layer (41) disposed on the pixel circuit layer; a first insulating layer (71) disposed on the second surface; a planarization layer (72) disposed between the second surface and the first insulating layer; a rear line (81) disposed on the first insulating layer; and a rear pad electrode (50) disposed on the rear line, wherein the planarization layer includes organic material [0031], wherein the planarization layer is disposed to be spaced apart from the rear pad electrode.
Kajiyama is silent with respect to “the rear line and the rear pad electrode”; “a rear pad electrode disposed between the first insulating layer and the second insulating layer on the rear line and covering side walls of the rear line in a direction perpendicular to a direction the rear line extending” and “the second insulating layer covers the rear pad electrode such that at least a portion of an upper surface of the rear pad electrode is exposed.
FIG. 7 of Ahn discloses a similar display device, comprising a first insulating layer (GI) disposed on the second surface; a rear line (124) disposed between the first insulating layer and the second insulating layer on the first insulating layer; and a rear pad electrode (128) disposed on the rear line and covering side walls of the rear line in a direction perpendicular to a direction the rear line extending, wherein the second insulating layer (PAS2) covers the rear pad electrode such that at least a portion of an upper surface of the rear pad electrode is exposed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kajiyama, as taught by Ahn. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Kajiyama in the above manner for purpose of forming transparent electrode with improved corrosion resistance ([0082] of Ahn).
Regarding Claim 4
FIG. 3 of Kajiyama discloses the base layer comprises a rigid substrate [0032].
Regarding Claim 11
FIG. 3 of Kajiyama discloses a method of fabricating a display device comprising: preparing a base layer (61) including a first surface and a second surface that is opposite to the first surface; forming a planarization layer (72) on the second surface; forming a pixel circuit layer (10) on a first surface; forming a display element layer (41) on the pixel circuit layer; forming a first insulating layer (41) on the planarization layer; and forming a rear line (81) and a rear pad electrode on the first insulating layer, wherein the planarization layer is formed of organic material [0031], wherein the planarization layer is disposed to be spaced apart from the rear pad electrode.
Kajiyama is silent with respect to “a second insulating layer disposed on the rear line and the rear pad electrode”; “the rear pad electrode covers side walls of the rear line in a direction perpendicular to a direction the rear line extending” and “the second insulating layer covers the rear pad electrode such that at least a portion of an upper surface of the rear pad electrode is exposed”.
FIG. 7 of Ahn discloses a similar display device, comprising a rear pad electrode (128) disposed on the rear line (124) and covering side walls of the rear line in a direction perpendicular to a direction the rear line extending; and a second insulating layer (PAS2) disposed on the rear line and the rear pad electrode, wherein the second insulating layer (PAS2) covers the rear pad electrode such that at least a portion of an upper surface of the rear pad electrode is exposed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kajiyama, as taught by Ahn. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Kajiyama in the above manner for purpose of forming transparent electrode with improved corrosion resistance ([0082] of Ahn).
Regarding Claim 14
FIG. 3 of Kajiyama discloses a similar display device, wherein the base layer comprises a rigid substrate [0032].
Pertinent Art
Tsuruoka (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2015/0187807) discloses a base layer including a first surface and a second surface that is opposite to the first surface; a first insulating layer disposed on the second surface; a planarization layer disposed between the second surface and the first insulating layer; a rear line disposed on the first insulating layer; and a rear pad electrode disposed on the rear line. Okada (KR 20070049211) discloses the base layer comprises a rigid substrate (glass). Mitarai (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2015/0021081) discloses a base layer including a first surface and a second surface that is opposite to the first surface; a rear line on the second surface; a rear pad electrode on the rear line; a pixel circuit layer on the first surface; a display element layer on the pixel circuit layer, wherein the pixel circuit layer includes a first transistor disposed on the first surface. KR 20050092934 discloses a second insulating layer (227) disposed on the first insulating layer (200b); a rear line (225b) disposed between the first insulating layer and the second insulating layer on the first insulating layer; and a rear pad electrode disposed on the rear line. Cheng (CN 112750883) discloses a planarization layer (13) disposed between the second surface and the first insulating layer (14), wherein the planarization layer includes organic material (PI). Imamura (CN 101140942) discloses an organic planarization layer. US 20080203392.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Ida have been considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). The Examiner respectfully submits that FIG. 7 of Lee discloses a display device comprising: a base layer (111) including a first surface and a second surface that is opposite to the first surface; a pixel circuit layer (120) dispose on a first surface; a display element layer (130) disposed on the pixel circuit layer; a first insulating layer (112) disposed on the second surface; a second insulating layer (117) disposed on the first insulating layer; a planarization layer (118) disposed between the second surface and the first insulating layer and capable of bonding the second surface and the first insulating layer [0088]; a rear line (180B) disposed between the first insulating layer and the second insulating layer on the first insulating layer; and a rear pad electrode (between 180B and 151) disposed on the rear line: wherein the planarization layer is disposed to be spaced apart from the rear pad electrode, and wherein the second insulating layer covers the rear pad electrode such that at least a portion of an upper surface of the rear pad electrode is exposed. Kaneko is used to modify Lee such that a rear line (38) disposed between the first insulating layer (11) and the second insulating layer (23) on the first insulating layer; and a rear pad electrode (41) disposed on the rear line and covering side walls of the rear line in a direction perpendicular to a direction the rear line extending. Ida is used to modify Lee such that the planarization layer includes organic material (material substitution or replacement). For clarification, annotated FIG. 29 of Ida is provided.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHENG-BAI ZHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897