DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al (US Pub No. 20180374884), in view of Chou et al (US Patent No. 9437645), in view of DO (US Pub No. 20210066369).
With respect to claim 21, Cheng et al discloses a semiconductor substrate (104,Fig.4); a plurality of image sensing elements (106) formed in the semiconductor substrate; and a composite grid structure over the semiconductor substrate (306,308,310), wherein the composite grid structure comprises a tungsten grid (306 para 50), an adhesion enhancement grid over the tungsten grid (308, Para 55), and an oxide grid over the adhesion enhancement grid (310, para 57), and the composite grid structure is devoid of an oxide/metal interface (Para 50,55,57). However, Fig.4 does not explicitly disclose a grid structure. On the other hand, Fig.6 discloses the top view of the device in Fig.3H which is similar to Fig.4 and it shows the composite grid structure over the light sensing pixels (Fig.6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Fig.4 according to Fig.6 to have composite grid structure separating pixels from each other, in order to improve the picture quality. Furthermore, Cheng et al does not explicitly disclose an interconnect structure formed on the semiconductor substrate. On the other hand, Chou et al discloses an interconnect structure (142,Fig.1B) formed on the semiconductor substrate (104). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Cheng et al according to the teachings of the Chou et al such that interconnect structure is formed over the substrate in order to turn on and turn of the transistors on the substrate to operate the photosensors. However, the arts cited above do not explicitly disclose and a barrier grid between the tungsten grid and the semiconductor substrate. On the other hand, DO discloses a barrier grid (141,Fig.5F) between the tungsten grid (142,para 40) and the semiconductor substrate (110). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the arts cited above according to the teachings of the DO, such that a barrier grid is formed under the tungsten grid, in order to prevent diffusion of the tungsten into the pixel region, thereby increasing the lifetime of the device.
With respect to claim 22, Cheng et al discloses wherein the adhesion enhancement grid spaces the tungsten grid from the oxide grid (Fig.4).
With respect to claim 23, Cheng et al discloses wherein the adhesion enhancement grid is formed from a nitride material (SIN, Para 55).
With respect to claim 24, Cheng et al discloses wherein the adhesion enhancement grid forms a nitride/metal interface with a top surface of the tungsten grid (Fig.4).
With respect to claim 25, Cheng et al discloses wherein the adhesion enhancement grid forms a nitride/oxide interface with a bottom surface of the oxide grid (Fig.4).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 21-25 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-7,9-11,26-30 are allowed.
The following is the reason for allowance of the claim 1, pertinent arts do not alone or in combination disclose: a semiconductor substrate; a plurality of image sensing elements formed in the semiconductor substrate; an interconnect structure formed on the semiconductor substrate; and a composite grid structure over the semiconductor substrate, wherein the composite grid structure comprises a tungsten grid, an oxide grid over the tungsten grid, and an adhesion enhancement grid spacing the tungsten grid from the oxide grid, wherein the adhesion enhancement grid has a sheet resistance in a range from about 80 ) per unit square area to about 120 ) per unit square area.
The following is the reason for allowance of the claim 26, pertinent arts do not alone or in combination disclose: a semiconductor substrate; a plurality of image sensing elements formed in the semiconductor substrate; an interconnect structure formed on the semiconductor substrate; and a composite grid structure over the semiconductor substrate, wherein the composite grid structure comprises a tungsten grid, an adhesion enhancement grid over the tungsten grid, and an oxide grid over the adhesion enhancement grid, and the adhesion enhancement grid is formed from a nitride material, and wherein the adhesion enhancement grid has a sheet resistance in a range from about 80 C) per unit square area to about 120 S) per unit square area.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALI NARAGHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817