DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “the second interface material has the thickness smaller than 10µm.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for “the thickness” in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-7, and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shah et al. (“Shah” US 2023/0093924), Wu et al. (“Wu” US 2019/0148261), Zheng et al. (“Zheng” US 2023/0037617), Maeda et al. (“Maeda” US 2022/0285254), and Chen et al. (“Chen” US 2015/0162307).
Regarding claim 1, Shah teaches a 3D semiconductor package (Figures 1, 2) comprising:
a package substrate (108);
a semiconductor package (110) bonded to the package substrate (108, see Figure 1);
a heat dissipation unit (106/206) attached to the semiconductor package (110), wherein the heat dissipation unit (106/206) comprises a first heat dissipation component (106) and a second heat dissipation component (206) attached to the first heat dissipation component (106, see Figure 2 and para. [0029] teaches an adhesive between surfaces 132 and 208 of the first and second heat dissipation components 106/206, respectively), the second heat dissipation component includes a first portion (protrusion 210) and a second portion (upper plate-like portion of 206) the first portion protrudes from a bottom surface of the second portion (see Figure 2) towards the semiconductor package (110, see Figure 2), wherein the second portion (upper plate-like portion of 206) of the second heat dissipation component laterally extend from the first portion (protrusion 210, see Figure 2); and
a first interface material (adhesive between surfaces 132 and 208, see para. [0029]) disposed between the first heat dissipation component (106) and the second heat dissipation component (206, see Figure 2 and para. [0029]);
a second interface material (214) disposed between the second heat dissipation component (206) and the semiconductor package (110, see Figure 2); and
a third interface material (138) disposed between the first heat dissipation component (106) and the semiconductor package (110, see Figure 2), wherein the first interface material (adhesive between surfaces 132 and 208) is of a material different from the second interface material (214, may be an indium material, see para. [0029]) and the third interface material (“adhesive-type TIM” in para. [0027], thus is a different material second and third interface materials laterally extend outwardly from opposite sides of the first interface material. Shah’s first interface material (adhesive not shown) is located between surfaces 208 and 132, and the second and third interface materials (214 and 138 respectively) are not located on opposite sides of the first thermal interface material.
Wu teaches, however, a first interface material (TIM, 400) located between a heat spreader (300) and a die stack (110/120/130/140), the structure of which is analogous to the first heat dissipation component (106) and the protrusion (210) of the second heat dissipation component (206) of Shah, respectively. The incorporation of the first interface material (400) of Wu into the teachings of Shah results in a configuration where the first interface material of Shah (the adhesive not shown, between surfaces 208 and 132) would be further interposed laterally between the protrusion (210) of the second heat dissipation component (206) and the first heat dissipation component (106), thereby arriving at the claimed configuration where the second and third interface materials laterally extend outwardly from opposite sides of the first interface material. This is demonstrated visually in the annotated Figure 2 of Shah below.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the first interface material as taught by Wu into the teachings of Shah to include the claim elements above for the purpose of further improving heat dissipation (Wu, para. [0035]). Additionally, the combination would have been obvious because it would result in the predictable result to a person having ordinary skill in the art of improving adhesion between package parts. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Shah and Wu do not explicitly teach the material of the first interface material, wherein the first interface material is a phase change material having a soft state at a temperature of 40°C to 60°C and having a rigid state at a room temperature.
Zheng teaches using a indium/tin/bismuth metal material for a thermal interface material (40, para. [0085]).
The instant specification (and proceeding claim 2) teaches that the phase change material with a soft state at a temperature of 40°C to 60°C and a rigid state at a room temperature can be a thermal plastic material, a polymer-based get, a thin metallic alloy pad formed by indium, bismuth, and tin, a polymer based elastomer with thermally conductive filler, or a silicone based polymer matrix, or a combination thereof (see para. [0038]). Zheng’s indium/tin/bismuth interface material would inherently have the property as recited for the first interface material in claim 1 because the composition of the instant application’s first interface material is physically the same as Zheng’s interface material (see MPEP 2112.01(II)). Further, while Zheng does not explicitly teach that the interface material 40 is a phase change material having a soft state at a temperature of 40°C to 60°C and having a rigid state at a room temperature, this inherent feature need not be recognized at the relevant time (see MPEP 2112(II)). Additionally, the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.07.
Shah, Wu, and Zheng do not teach a plurality of second heat dissipation components, wherein the second portions of the second heat dissipation components laterally extend from the first portions toward each other by a first distance and laterally extend from the first portions away from each other by a second distance greater than the first distance.
Maeda teaches a plurality of first and second heat dissipation components (8A, 8B, see Figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a plurality of heat dissipation components in the teachings above of Shah, Wu, and Zhang, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378. See MPEP 2144.04. Further, a person having ordinary skill in the art may be motivated to include a plurality of second heat dissipation components to address specific hot spots of the semiconductor package below.
Chen teaches a second heat dissipation component (72) wherein a second portion (plate-like upper portion) of the second heat dissipation component laterally extend from the first portion (downward protrusion, see Figure 5A) by a first distance (length of portion 72a, see Figure 5A) and laterally extend from the first portions by a second distance (length of portion 72b, see Figure 5A) greater than the first distance (see Figure 5A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to have the second heat dissipation components of the combination of Shah, Wu, Zheng, and Maeda with the shape as taught by Chen, since it has been held that adjusting the shape of an article involves only routine skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). See MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 2, Zheng teaches the first interface material (40) comprises a polymer-based gel, a thin metallic alloy pad formed by indium, bismuth and tin alloy metal, a polymer based elastomer with thermally conductive filler or a silicone based polymer matrix (indium/tin/bismuth material for interface material 40, para. [0085]).
it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Zheng into the teachings of Maeda to include Zheng’s interface material (40, indium/tin/bismuth material, para. [0085]) for the first interface material of Maeda (12) for the purpose of using a material with high thermal conductivity (Zheng, para. [0085]). Further, the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.07.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of teachings above teaches wherein the first heat dissipation component (106) has through structures (see Figure 1, with plurality of heat dissipation components of Maeda in Figure 2) and are attached to the semiconductor package (110) through the third interface material (138, see Figure 2), and the second heat dissipation components (206) are inserted in the through structure (see Figures 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Shah and Maeda teaches wherein the first heat dissipation component (106) includes structure surfaces (inner side surfaces above the package 110 of the first heat dissipation component 106) defining the through structures (see Figure 1, see also Figure 2 of Maeda), the second heat dissipation components (206) respectively include an embedded surface (lateral side surfaces of the protrusion part 110 of the second heat dissipation component 206, see Figure 2) and the embedded surface conforms to the structure surfaces (see Figure 2 of Shah and Figure 2 of Maeda).
Regarding claim 6, Shah teaches wherein the first portion (protrusion 210) is more adjacent to the semiconductor package (110) than the first heat dissipation component (106, the first portion 210 covers a greater surface area of the semiconductor package than the first heat dissipation component, thus is considered as being “more adjacent” thereto).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Shah, Wu, Zheng, Maeda, and Chen teaches wherein the third interface material (138) laterally extends between the first portions of the second heat dissipation components (210 protrusions, with incorporation of a plurality of the heat dissipation components, the third interface material would laterally extend between the first portions of the second heat dissipation components).
Regarding claim 9, Shah teaches wherein the first heat dissipation component (106) comprises a plate portion (128, see Figure 1) attached to the semiconductor package (110) and a peripheral portion (124/126) attached to the package substrate (108) through an adhesive (134, see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 10, Shah further teaches a peripheral component (124/126) attached to the package substrate (108) and laterally surrounding the semiconductor package (110, see Figure 1).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shah, Wu, Zheng, Maeda, and Chen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Campbell et al. (“Campbell” US 2017/0130993) as evidenced by Malouin et al. (“Malouin” US 2023/0284421).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of teachings above teaches wherein the second heat dissipation components (206) are attached to the semiconductor package (110) through the second interface material (214) of a thermal conductivity greater than the third interface material (138, para. [0027] teaches the third interface material 138 as an adhesive which is known in the art to have low thermal conductivity, and para. [0029] teaches the second interface material 214 may be a metal material such as indium which is thermally conductive, thus the thermal conductivity of the second interface material 214 is greater than that of the third interface material 138).
The combination above does not teach that the second interface material has the thickness smaller than 10µm.
Campbell teaches, however, a second interface material (TIM 202b, para. [0034]) having a thickness smaller than 10µm (less than 2µm, para. [0034]).
It would have been obvious to incorporate the teachings of Campbell into the teachings of Shah and Wu above to include the thickness of the second interface material being less than 10µm for the purpose of increasing heat transfer efficiency as evidenced by Malouin (Malouin, para. [0066]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shah, Wu, Zheng, Maeda, and Chen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jewram et al. (“Jewram” US 2022/0151108).
Regarding claim 8, Maeda teaches second heat dissipation components (8B) having a thermal conductivity greater than the first heat dissipation component (8A, para. [0028], [0029] disclose that 8A and 8B can be formed of copper or aluminum, which have different thermal conductivities, copper being greater than that of aluminum, thus in the embodiment where the second heat dissipation component 8B is formed of copper and the first heat dissipation component 8A is formed of aluminum, the second heat dissipation component 8B will have a greater thermal conductivity than the first heat dissipation component 8A).
Maeda teaches a finite number of materials used to form the heat dissipation components 8A and 8B, copper or aluminum. One having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the finite number of predictable solutions for thermally conductive materials as evidenced by Maeda. Absent unexpected results, it would have been obvious to try each of the four different combinations (1. 8A is aluminum, 8B is aluminum 2. 8A is aluminum, 8B is copper 3. 8A is copper, 8B is aluminum 4. 8A is copper, 8B is copper) to yield a thermal conductivity difference suitable for heat dissipation components. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Maeda into the teachings above, the combination resulting in the predictable result to a person having ordinary skill in the art of optimizing heat dissipation. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
In the event that it would not have been obvious to try 8A as aluminum and 8B as copper, which the Examiner does not concede, Jewram teaches tuning thermal conductivities of a heat dissipation arrangement for a semiconductor device, where a second heat dissipation component 30 has a greater thermal conductivity than a first heat dissipation component 32 (Jewram, para. [0030]) for the purpose of maximizing thermal conductance capacity. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Jewram into the teachings of Shah, Wu, and Maeda to include the different thermal conductivities of the heat dissipation components. Additionally, the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.07.
Claims 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shah et al. (“Shah” US 2023/0093924), Wu et al. (“Wu” US 2019/0148261), Maeda et al. (“Maeda” US 2022/0285254), Jewram et al. (“Jewram” US 2022/0151108), and Chen et al. (“Chen” US 2015/0162307).
Regarding claim 12, Shah teaches a 3D semiconductor package (Figures 1 and 2), comprising:
a package substrate (204);
a semiconductor package (110/108) bonded to the package substrate (204, see Figure 1);
a heat dissipation unit (106/206) attached to the semiconductor package (110/108), wherein the heat dissipation unit (106/206) comprises a first heat dissipation component (106) and a second heat dissipation component (206) extending through a thickness of the first heat dissipation component (106, see Figure 2);
a first interface material (adhesive not shown between surfaces 208 and 132, see para. [0029]) between the first heat dissipation component (106) and the second heat dissipation component (206);
a second interface material (138) disposed between and in contact with the first heat dissipation component (106) and the semiconductor package (110/108, see Figure 1); and
a third interface material (214) disposed between and in contact with the second heat dissipation component (206) and the semiconductor package (110/108, see Figure 2), wherein the third interface material (214) [is] disposed in an opening of the second interface material (138, see Figure 2) at a level of a top surface of the semiconductor package (110/108, see Figure 2).
Shah does not teach that the first interface material (adhesive not shown between surfaces 208 and 132) is disposed in an opening of the second interface material at a level of a top surface of the semiconductor package, since the adhesive is located between surfaces 208 and 132, see para. [0029] of Shah.
Wu teaches, however, a first interface material (TIM, 400) located between a heat spreader (300) and a die stack (110/120/130/140), the structure of which is analogous to the first heat dissipation component (106) and the protrusion (210) of the second heat dissipation component (206) of Shah, respectively. The incorporation of the first interface material (400) of Wu into the teachings of Shah results in a configuration where the first interface material of Shah (the adhesive not shown, between surfaces 208 and 132) would be further interposed laterally between the protrusion (210) of the second heat dissipation component (206) and the first heat dissipation component (106), thereby arriving at the claimed configuration where the first interface material is disposed in an opening of the second interface material (138) at a level of a top surface of the semiconductor package (110/108). This is demonstrated further, visually, in the annotated Figure 2 of Shah below.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the first interface material as taught by Wu into the teachings of Shah to include the first interface material being disposed in an opening of the second interface material at a top level of the package for the purpose of further improving heat dissipation (Wu, para. [0035]). Additionally, the combination would have been obvious because it would result in the predictable result to a person having ordinary skill in the art of improving adhesion between package parts. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Shah and Wu do not teach wherein the second heat dissipation component has a thermal conductivity greater than the first heat dissipation component.
Maeda teaches, however, a second heat dissipation component (8B) having a thermal conductivity greater than the first heat dissipation component (8A, para. [0028], [0029] disclose that 8A and 8B can be formed of copper or aluminum, which have different thermal conductivities, copper being greater than that of aluminum, thus in the embodiment where the second heat dissipation component 8B is formed of copper and the first heat dissipation component 8A is formed of aluminum, the second heat dissipation component 8B will have a greater thermal conductivity than the first heat dissipation component 8A).
Maeda teaches a finite number of materials used to form the heat dissipation components 8A and 8B, copper or aluminum. One having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the finite number of predictable solutions for thermally conductive materials as evidenced by Maeda. Absent unexpected results, it would have been obvious to try each of the four different combinations (1. 8A is aluminum, 8B is aluminum 2. 8A is aluminum, 8B is copper 3. 8A is copper, 8B is aluminum 4. 8A is copper, 8B is copper) to yield a thermal conductivity difference suitable for heat dissipation components. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Maeda into the teachings of Shah and Wu above, the combination resulting in the predictable result to a person having ordinary skill in the art of optimizing heat dissipation. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
In the event that it would not have been obvious to try 8A as aluminum and 8B as copper, which the Examiner does not concede, Jewram teaches tuning thermal conductivities of a heat dissipation arrangement for a semiconductor device, where a second heat dissipation component 30 has a greater thermal conductivity than a first heat dissipation component 32 (Jewram, para. [0030]) for the purpose of maximizing thermal conductance capacity. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Jewram into the teachings of Shah, Wu, and Maeda to include the different thermal conductivities of the heat dissipation components. Additionally, the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.07.
Shah, Wu, Maeda, and Jewram do not teach wherein the second heat dissipation component comprises a first portion and a second portion further away from the semiconductor package than the first portion, the second portion is laterally protruded from the first portion by a first distance at a first side and laterally protruded from the first portion by a second distance at a second side, and the first distance and the second distance are different.
Chen teaches a second heat dissipation component (72) comprising a first portion (downward protrusion portion) and a second portion (upper plate-like portion, see Figure 5A) further away from the semiconductor package (chips 10/12 and substrate 18) than the first portion (see Figure 5A), the second portion is laterally protruded from the first portion by a first distance (length of portion 72b, see Figure 5A) at a first side and laterally protruded from the first portion by a second distance (length of portion 72a, see Figure 5A) at a second side, and the first distance and the second distance are different (see Figure 5A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to have the second heat dissipation component of Shah with the shape as taught by Chen, since it has been held that adjusting the shape of an article involves only routine skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). See MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 13, Shah teaches wherein the first heat dissipation component (106) has a through structure (see hole in Figure 1) and the second heat dissipation component (206) is inserted in the through structure (see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 14, The combination of Shah and Wu teaches wherein the first heat dissipation component (106) includes a structure surface (inner side surfaces above the package portion 110 of the first heat dissipation component 106) defining the through structure (see Figure 1), the second heat dissipation component includes an embedded surface (lateral side surfaces of the protrusion part 110 of the second heat dissipation component 206, see Figure 2) and the embedded surface conforms to the structure surface (see Figure 2), and the first interface material (adhesive between surfaces 208 and 132, further extending along edges of the protrusion 110, i.e. the structure surface, as incorporated by Wu) extends along the structure surface (as incorporated by Wu) to be in contact with the semiconductor package (110/108).
Regarding claim 15, Shah teaches wherein a top surface of the second heat dissipation component (206) is higher than or coplanar to a top surface of the first heat dissipation component (106, see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 16, Shah teaches wherein a bottom surface of the first portion (protrusion 210) overlaps the semiconductor package (110/108) by a first area (see Figure 1, area of opening 136 where protrusion is inserted), a bottom surface of the first heat dissipation component (106) overlaps the semiconductor package (110/108) by a second area (see Figure 1, area occupied by 106) greater than the first area (see Figure 1) and having an opening (opening 136), and the first area is located at the opening of the second area (see Figures 1 and 2, the first area of the opening 136 is the opening of the first area occupied by 106).
Regarding claim 17, Shah teaches wherein a lateral dimension of the first portion (protrusion 210) is smaller than a lateral dimension of the second portion (wider, upper portion of 206, see Figure 2).
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shah et al. (“Shah” US 2023/0093924), Wu et al. (“Wu” US 2019/0148261), and Chen et al. (“Chen” US 2015/0162307).
Regarding claim 18, Shah teaches a 3D semiconductor package (Figures 1 and 2), comprising:
a package substrate (108);
a semiconductor package (110) bonded to the package substrate (108, see Figure 1);
a heat dissipation unit (106/206) attached to the semiconductor package (110, see Figure 2), wherein the heat dissipation unit (106/206) comprises a first heat dissipation component (106) having a through structure penetrating through a thickness of the first heat dissipation component (106, see Figure 1 which shows the hole in the center of the first heat dissipation structure 106) and a second heat dissipation component (206) inserted in the through structure (see Figure 2);
a first interface material (138) disposed between and in contact with the first heat dissipation component (106) and the semiconductor package (110, see Figure 2);
a second interface material (214) disposed between and in contact with the second heat dissipation component (206) and the semiconductor package (110, see Figure 2); and
a third interface material (adhesive between surfaces 208 and 132, see para. [0029] and Figure 2) [disposed between the first interface material and the second interface material and] in contact with the first heat dissipation component (106, see para. [0029] and Figure 2)[and] the second heat dissipation component (206, see para. [0029] and Figure 2).
Shah does not teach that the third interface material (adhesive not shown between surfaces 208 and 132) is disposed between the first interface material (138) and the second interface material (214, see Figure 2) and is in contact with the semiconductor package.
Wu teaches, however, a third interface material (TIM, 400) located between a heat spreader (300) and a die stack (110/120/130/140), the structure of which is analogous to the first heat dissipation component (106) and the protrusion (210) of the second heat dissipation component (206) of Shah, respectively. The incorporation of the third interface material (400) of Wu into the teachings of Shah results in a configuration where the third interface material of Shah (the adhesive not shown, between surfaces 208 and 132) would be further interposed laterally between the protrusion (210) of the second heat dissipation component (206) and the first heat dissipation component (106), thereby arriving at the claimed configuration where the third interface material is disposed in an between the first interface material (138) and the second interface material (214) and is in contact with the semiconductor package (110). This is demonstrated further, visually, in the annotated Figure 2 of Shah below.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the first interface material as taught by Wu into the teachings of Shah to include the third interface material being between the first and second interface materials and contacting the semiconductor package for the purpose of further improving heat dissipation (Wu, para. [0035]). Additionally, the combination would have been obvious because it would result in the predictable result to a person having ordinary skill in the art of improving adhesion between package parts. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Shah and Wu do not teach wherein the second heat dissipation component comprises a first portion and a second portion further away from the semiconductor package than the first portion, the second portion is laterally protruded from the first portion by a first distance at a first side and laterally protruded from the first portion by a second distance at a second side, and the first distance and the second distance are different.
Chen teaches a second heat dissipation component (72) comprising a first portion (downward protrusion portion) and a second portion (upper plate-like portion, see Figure 5A) further away from the semiconductor package (chips 10/12 and substrate 18) than the first portion (see Figure 5A), the second portion is laterally protruded from the first portion by a first distance (length of portion 72b, see Figure 5A) at a first side and laterally protruded from the first portion by a second distance (length of portion 72a, see Figure 5A) at a second side, and the first distance and the second distance are different (see Figure 5A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to have the second heat dissipation component of Shah with the shape as taught by Chen, since it has been held that adjusting the shape of an article involves only routine skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). See MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 19, Shah teaches wherein the through structure (hole in first heat dissipation component 106, see Figure 1) has a lateral dimension gradually increased from a bottom end to a top end further away from the semiconductor package (110) than the bottom end (see Figure 2).
The instant specification discloses in para. [0032] that a gradual increase in the lateral dimension of the through structure is accomplished by a “step change.” Shah teaches a step change as seen in Figure 2.
Regarding claim 20, Shah teaches wherein the second heat dissipation component (206) has a structure (protrusion 210) compensating the through structure (see Figure 2, the parts of the heat dissipation components fit into each other).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art rejections have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/Genevieve G Bullard-Connor/Examiner, Art Unit 2899 /DALE E PAGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899