DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4, 7, 8, 11-14 and 21-30 have been considered but are moot on grounds of new rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103(a)
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Li et al. (Li) (US 2015/0001701 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Li (Figs. 2-10 and associated text) discloses a package structure (Figs. 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 or 10), comprising: a substrate (item 210); a semiconductor package (item 208 on the left or right) disposed over the substrate (item 210); a first lid structure (item 202) disposed over the substrate (item 210), wherein the first lid structure (item 202) comprises an outer peripheral portion (outer peripheral portion item 202) and an inner peripheral portion (innermost portion of item 202) connected to the outer peripheral portion (outer peripheral portion item 202), and the inner peripheral portion (innermost portion of item 202) has a ring-shape to define an opening exposing a region of the semiconductor package (item 208 on the left or right); and a second lid structure (item 204) disposed over the semiconductor package (item 208 on the left or right) and the first lid structure (item 202), wherein a thermal interface material (item 206) is disposed over the semiconductor package (item 208 on the left or right), over the second lid structure (item 204), and between the second lid structure (item 204) and the semiconductor package (item 208 on the left or right), and a phase change adhesive (item 308) is disposed between the second lid structure (item 204) and the first lid structure (item 202), and the inner peripheral portion (innermost portion of item 202) is contactless with the thermal interface material (item 206) and the semiconductor package (item 208).
Examiner notes that these teachings could be used in a single chip/package module as well, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art (Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (Li) (US 2015/0001701 A1) in view of Park et al. (Park) (US 2022/0013496 A1).
In regards to claim 12, Li (Figs. 2-10 and associated text) discloses a structure (Figs. 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 or 10), comprising: a package substrate (item 210); a package (item 208 on the left or right) disposed on the package substrate (item 210), wherein the package comprises a first device die (item 208 on the left or right) or a second device die (item 208 on the left or right) adjacent to the first device die (item 208 on the left or right); a lower lid (item 202) disposed on the package substrate (item 210); an upper lid (item 204) disposed on the package (item 208 on the left and/or right) and the lower lid (item 202), wherein the upper lid (item 204) comprises a first portion at least over the first device die (item 208 on the left or right) and a second portion over the lower lid (item 202); a thermal interface material (item 206) disposed over the package (item 208 on the left and/or right) and between the first portion of the upper lid (item 204) and the package (item 208 on the left and/or right), wherein the whole lower lid (item 202) is contactless with the thermal interface material (item 206) and the package (item 208 on the left and/or right); and a phase change material (item 308) disposed between the second portion of the upper lid (item 204) and the lower lid (item 202).
Examiner notes that these teachings could be used in a single chip/package module as well, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art (Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179).
Lie does not specifically disclose the package comprises a first device die and a second device die.
Park (Figs. 3, 6 and associated text) discloses a package comprising a first device die (items 122 or 124) and a second device die (items 122 or 124).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Park for the purpose of device density.
In regards to claim 28, Li (Figs. 2-10 and associated text) discloses a structure (Figs. 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 or 10), comprising: a package substrate (item 210); a package (item 208 on the left or right) disposed on the package substrate (item 210), wherein the package comprises a first device die (item 208 on the left or right) or a second device die (item 208 on the left or right) adjacent to the first device die (item 208 on the left or right); a lower lid (item 202) disposed on the package substrate (item 210); an upper lid (item 204) disposed on the package (item 208 on the left and/or right) and the lower lid (item 202), wherein the upper lid (item 204) comprises a first portion at least over the first device die (item 208 on the left or right) and a second portion over the lower lid (item 202); and a material of the upper lid (item 204, paragraph 26, [e.g. copper, nickel, stainless steel, titanium, aluminum, etc.]) is different from a material of the lower lid (item 202, paragraph 23, [e.g. copper, nickel, stainless steel, titanium, aluminum, molded plastics, ceramics, composites or combinations of each, etc.]); a thermal interface material (item 206) disposed over the package (item 208 on the left and/or right) and between the first portion of the upper lid (item 204) and the package (item 208 on the left and/or right), wherein the whole lower lid (item 202) is contactless with the thermal interface material (item 206) and the package (item 208 on the left and/or right); and a phase change material (item 308) disposed between the second portion of the upper lid (item 204) and the lower lid (item 202).
Examiner notes that these teachings could be used in a single chip/package module as well, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art (Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179).
Li does not specifically disclose the package comprises a first device die and a second device die adjacent to the first device and an encapsulant wrapping and covering sidewalls of the first device die and the second device die.
Park (Figs. 3, 6 and associated text) discloses a package comprising a first device die (items 122 or 124) and a second device die (items 122 or 124) adjacent to the first device die (items 122 or 124) and an encapsulant (item 130) wrapping and covering sidewalls of the first device die (items 122 or 124) and the second device die (items 122 or 124).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Park for the purpose of device density and protection.
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 8, 11-14 and 21-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hung et al. (Hung) (US 2015/0035134 A1 now US 9,082,743 B2) in view of Shah et al. (Shah) (US 2023/0093924 A1) as evidenced by or in view of Chen et al. (Chen) (US 2015/0162307 A1) and/or Li et al. (Li) (US 2015/0001701 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Hung (Figs. 3-5, 11B and associated text) discloses a package structure (Figs. 4, 5), comprising: a substrate (item 14); a semiconductor package (item 100) disposed over the substrate (item 14); a first lid structure (item 20) disposed over the substrate (item 14), wherein the first lid structure (item 20) comprises an outer peripheral portion (outermost portions of item 20 to the far left and/or far right) and an inner peripheral portion (innermost portions of item 20 on the left and/or right), and the inner peripheral portion has a ring-shape (paragraph 17, item 20, Fig. 11B, item 20) to define an opening (shown but not labeled) exposing a region of the semiconductor package (item 100); and a second lid structure (item 24) disposed over the semiconductor package (item 100) and the first lid structure (item 20), wherein a thermal interface material (item 16) is disposed over the semiconductor package (item 100), over the second lid structure (item 24), and between the second lid structure (item 24) and the semiconductor package (item 100), and a phase change adhesive (item 26) is disposed between the second lid structure (item 24) and the first lid structure (item 20). Examiner takes the position that the broad teaching of adhesive encompasses all adhesives (phase change adhesives, pressure sensitive adhesives, etc.) Examiner all notes that most adhesives undergo phase change.
It would have been obvious to modify the invention to include a phase change adhesive for the purpose of heat dissipation and a physical/mechanical bond, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use (In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416).
Hung does not specifically disclose the inner peripheral portion is physically separate from the thermal interface material.
Shah (Figs. 1, 2, 6 and associated text and items) discloses wherein the first lid structure (items 106, 606) comprises an outer peripheral portion (outermost portions of items 106, 606, items 124, 626) and an inner peripheral portion (innermost portions of items 106 and 606 on the left and/or right, items 128, 628), and the inner peripheral portion (innermost portions of items 106 and 606 on the left and/or right, items 128, 628) has a ring-shape (Fig. 1) to define an opening (items 136, 636) exposing a region of the semiconductor package (items 110, 610); and a second lid structure (item 206) disposed over the semiconductor package (items 110, 610) and the first lid structure (items 106, 606), wherein a thermal interface material (item 214) is disposed over the semiconductor package (items 110, 610), over the second lid structure (item 206) and between the second lid structure (item 206) and the semiconductor package (item 110), and the inner peripheral portion (innermost portions of items 106 and 606 on the left and/or right, items 128, 628) is physically separate from the thermal interface material (item 214).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Shah for the purpose of heat dissipation.
As evidence by Chen (Fig. 5A and associated text), an inner peripheral portion (innermost portion of item 62/66 on the right) of a first lid (item 62/66 on the right) can be contactless with the thermal interface material (item 58a) and the semiconductor package (item 10).
As evidence by Li (Figs. 2-10 and associated text), an inner peripheral portion (innermost portion of item 202) of a first lid (item 202 on the left and right of each item 204) can be contactless with the thermal interface material (item 206) and the semiconductor package (item 208).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Chen and/or Li for the purpose of heat dissipation.
In regards to claim 2, Hung (Figs. 4, 5, 7-9 and associated text) as modified by Shah (Figs. 1, 2, 6 and associated text and items) both disclose wherein an orthogonal projection of the opening (shown but not labeled, Hung, items 136, 636, Shah) is overlapped with the semiconductor package (item 100, Hung, items 110, 610, Shah) and the thermal interface material (item 16/16A, Hung, item 214, Shah) on the semiconductor package (item 100, Hung, items 110, 610, Shah).
In regards to claim 3, Hung (Figs. 4, 5, 7-9 and associated text) as modified by Shah (Figs. 1, 2, 6 and associated text and items) discloses wherein a top surface of the second lid structure is higher than wherein the first lid structure (item 20).
In regards to claim 4, Hung (Figs. 4, 5, 7-9 and associated text) as modified by Shah (Figs. 1, 2, 6 and associated text and items) both disclose wherein a thickness of the inner peripheral portion (innermost peripheral portion of item 20, Hung, item 628, Shah) is less than a thickness of the outer peripheral portion (outermost peripheral portion of item 20, Hung, item 626, Shah).
In regards to claim 7, Hung (Figs. 4, 5, 7-9 and associated text) discloses wherein the second lid structure (item 24) comprises: a central portion (central portion of item 24 where 24A resides); and an outer portion (outer portion item 24) connecting to the central portion (item 24 where 24A resides), wherein the central portion (item 24 where 24A resides) is fitted into the opening (shown but not labeled) of the first lid structure (item 20). Chen discloses this as well.
As evidence by Li (Figs. 2-10 and associated text), a second lid structure (item 204) is in (direct) contact with the thermal interface material (item 206) and the phase change adhesive (item 308), and the first lid structure (item 202) can be only in (direct) contact with phase change adhesive (item 308) and can be contactless with the thermal interface material (item 206).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Li for the purpose of heat dissipation.
In regards to claim 8, Hung (Figs. 4, 5, 7-9 and associated text) discloses wherein the phase change adhesive (item 26) is disposed between the outer portion (outer portion item 24) of the second lid structure (item 24) and the first lid structure (item 20).
In regards to claim 11, Hung (Figs. 4, 5, 7-9 and associated text) as modified by Shah does not specifically disclose wherein the phase change adhesive (item 26) has a phase change temperature ranging from about 40°C to about 60°C. Rather than claiming characteristics of the phase change adhesive, the Applicant should claim the structure that gives rise to these characteristics. The Applicant does not have ownership of all phase change adhesives having a temperature range from about 40°C to about 60°C.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the invention to include a phase change adhesive having a phase change temperature ranging from about 40°C to about 60°C for the purpose adhering/curing at lower/desired temperatures, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)).
In regards to claim 12, Hung (Figs. 4, 5, 7-9 and associated text) discloses a structure (Figs. 4, 5), comprising: a package substrate (item 14); a package (item 100) disposed on the package substrate (item 14), wherein the package (item 100) comprises a first device die (items 10 or 12) and a second device die (items 10, 12 or 17) adjacent to the first device die (items 10 or 12); a lower lid (item 20) disposed on the package substrate (item 14); an upper lid (item 24) disposed on the package (item 100) and the lower lid (item 20), wherein the upper lid (item 24) comprises a first portion (central portion of item 24) at least over the first device die (items 10 or 12) and a second portion over the lower lid (item 20); a thermal interface material (item 16) disposed over the package (item 100) and between the first portion of the upper lid (item 24) and the package (item 100); and a phase change material (item 26) disposed between the second portion (outer portion of item 24) of the upper lid (item 24) and the lower lid (item 20), but does not specifically disclose wherein the whole lower lid is contactless with the thermal interface material.
Shah (Figs. 1, 2, 6 and associated text and items) discloses wherein the whole lower lid (items 106, 606) is contactless with the thermal interface material (item 214).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Shah for the purpose of heat dissipation.
As evidence by Li (Figs. 2-10 and associated text), a whole lower lid (item 202 on the left and right of each item 204) can be contactless with the thermal interface material (item 206) and the package (item 208).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Li for the purpose of heat dissipation.
In regards to claim 13, Hung (Figs. 4, 5, 7-9 and associated text) as modified by Shah (Figs. 1, 2, 6 and associated text and items) and Li (Figs. 2-10 and associated text) discloses wherein the whole lower lid (item 20, Hung, item 106, Shah, item 202, Li) encircles the package (item 100, Hung, item 110, Shah, item 208, Li) and is disposed outside a lateral footprint of the package (item 100, Hung, item 110, Shah, item 208, Li).
In regards to claim 14, Hung (Figs. 4, 5, 7-9 and associated text) as modified by Shah (Figs. 1, 2, 6 and associated text and items) discloses wherein the lower lid (item 20, Hung, items 106, 606, Shah) comprises a third portion (outermost portion of item 20, Hung, items 124, 626, Shah) and a fourth portion (innermost portion of item 20, Hung, items 128, 628, Shah) connecting to the third portion (outermost portion of item 20, Hung, items 124, 626, Shah), and the third portion (outermost portion of item 20, Hung, items 124, 626, Shah) is disposed on the package substrate (item 14, Hung, items 108, 608, Shah) and the fourth portion (innermost portion of item 20, Hung, items 128, 628, Shah) is spaced apart from the package substrate (item 14, Hung, items 108, 608, Shah).
In regards to claim 21, Hung (Figs. 4, 5, 7-9 and associated text) as modified by Shah (Figs. 1, 2, 6 and associated text and items) discloses wherein a bottom surface of the inner peripheral portion (inner peripheral portion of item 20, Hung, innermost portions of items 106 and 606 on the left and/or right, items 128, 628, Shah) of the first lid structure (item 20, Hung, items 106, 206, Shah) is higher than a top surface (top surface of item 12 which is one of the top surfaces of package 100, top surface of items 110, 610, Shah) of the semiconductor package (item 100, Hung, items 110, 610, Shah), and the phase change adhesive (item 26) extends along a top surface of the first lid structure (item 20). Examiner notes that both Hung and Shah discloses various configurations, therefore the structure of the lids are merely a design choice. Applicant has not shown any criticality to the structure of the lids to where it yields and unexpected result or advantage.
It would have been obvious to modify the invention to include an inner peripheral portion of the first lid being higher than a top surface of the package if so desired for the purpose of protection and heat dissipation, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape/size of a component. A change in shape/size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955)).
In regards to claim 22, Hung (Figs. 4, 5, 7-9 and associated text) discloses further comprising an adhesive (item 22) disposed between a bottom surface of the outer peripheral portion of the first lid structure (item 20) and the substrate (item 14), wherein a material of the adhesive (item 22) is different from that of the thermal interface material (item 16) and different from that of the phase change adhesive (item 26). Chen discloses this as well.
It would have been obvious to modify the invention to include a material of the adhesive being different from the thermal interface material and the phase change adhesive for the purpose of heat dissipation, thermal conductivity and a physical/mechanical bond, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use (In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416).
In regards to claim 23, Hung (Figs. 4, 5, 7-9 and associated text) discloses wherein the phase change adhesive (item 26) has a thermal conductivity larger than that of the adhesive (item 22) and smaller than that of the thermal interface material (item 16).
It would have been obvious to modify the invention to include a phase change adhesive having a thermal conductivity larger than that of the adhesive and smaller than that of the thermal interface material for the purpose of heat dissipation, thermal conductivity and a physical/mechanical bond, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use (In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416).
In regards to claim 24, Hung (Figs. 4, 5, 7-9 and associated text) as modified by Shah (Figs. 1, 2, 6 and associated text and items) discloses wherein a bottom surface of the fourth portion (innermost portion of item 20, Hung, items 128, 628, Shah) of the lower lid (item 20, Hung, items 106, 206, Shah) is higher than a top surface of the package (item 100, Hung, items 110, 610, Shah).
In regards to claim 25, Hung (Figs. 4, 5, 7-9 and associated text) discloses comprising an adhesive (item 22) disposed between the third portion of the lower lid (item 20) and the package substrate (item 14), wherein a material of the adhesive (item 22) is different from that of the thermal interface material (item 16) and different from that of the phase change material (item 26).
It would have been obvious to modify the invention to include a material of the adhesive being different from the thermal interface material and the phase change adhesive for the purpose of heat dissipation, thermal conductivity and a physical/mechanical bond, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use (In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416).
In regards to claim 26, Hung (Figs. 4, 5, 7-9 and associated text) discloses wherein the phase change adhesive (item 26) has a thermal conductivity larger than that of the adhesive (item 22) and smaller than that of the thermal interface material (item 16).
It would have been obvious to modify the invention to include a phase change adhesive having a thermal conductivity larger than that of the adhesive and smaller than that of the thermal interface material for the purpose of heat dissipation, thermal conductivity and a physical/mechanical bond, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use (In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416).
In regards to claim 27, Hung (Figs. 4, 5, 7-9 and associated text) as modified by Shah (Figs. 1, 2, 6 and associated text and items) discloses wherein the fourth portion (innermost portion of item 20, Hung, items 128, 628, Shah) of the lower lid (item 20, Hung, items 106, 206, Shah) is spaced apart from the first portion (items 208 or 210, Shah) of the upper lid (item 24, Hung, item 206, Shah), and a top surface of the third portion (outermost portion of item 20, Hung, items 124, 626, Shah) and a top surface of the fourth portion (innermost portion of item 20, Hung, items 128, 628, Shah) are levelled.
Claim(s) 28-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hung et al. (Hung) (US 2015/0035134 A1 now US 9,082,743 B2) in view of Shah et al. (Shah) (US 2023/0093924 A1) as evidenced by or in Li et al. (Li) (US 2015/0001701 A1) in view of Park et al. (Park) (US 2022/0013496 A1).
In regards to claim 28, Hung (Figs. 4, 5 and associated text) discloses a structure (Figs. 4, 5), comprising: a package substrate (item 14); a package (item 100) disposed on the package substrate (item 14), wherein the package (item 100) comprises a first device die (items 10 or 12) and a second device die (items 10, 12 or 17) adjacent to the first device die (items 10 or 12); a lower lid (item 20) disposed on the package substrate (item 14); an upper lid (item 24) disposed on the package (item 100) and the lower lid (item 20), wherein the upper lid (item 24) comprises a first portion (central portion of item 24) at least over the first device die (items 10 or 12) and a second portion (outer portion of item 24) over the lower lid (item 20), and a material of the upper lid (item 24, paragraph 19) is different from a material of the lower lid (item 20, paragraph 18); a thermal interface material (item 16) disposed over the package (item 100) and between the first portion (central portion of item 24) of the upper lid (item 24) and the package (item 100); and a phase change material (item 26) disposed between the second portion (outer portion of item 24) of the upper lid (item 24) and the lower lid (item 20). Examiner takes the position that the broad teaching of adhesive encompasses all adhesives (phase change adhesives, pressure sensitive adhesives, etc.) Examiner all notes that most adhesives undergo phase change, thus a phase change material.
It would have been obvious to modify the invention to include a phase change material for the purpose of heat dissipation and a physical/mechanical bond and lids of different materials for the purpose of thermal conductivity and heat dissipation (paragraphs 18, 19), since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use (In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416).
Hung does not specifically disclose wherein the whole lower lid is space apart from and contactless with the thermal interface material.
Shah (Figs. 1, 2, 6 and associated text and items) discloses wherein the whole lower lid (items 106, 606) is spaced apart and contactless with the thermal interface material (item 214).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Shah for the purpose of heat dissipation.
As evidence by Li (Figs. 2-10 and associated text), a whole lower lid (item 202 on the left and right of each item 204) can be spaced apart from and contactless with the thermal interface material (item 206) and the package (item 208).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Li for the purpose of heat dissipation.
Hung as modified by Shah and Li does not specifically disclose an encapsulant wrapping and covering sidewalls of the first device die and the second device die.
Park (Figs. 3, 6 and associated text) discloses an encapsulant (item 130) wrapping and covering sidewalls of the first device die (items 122 or 124) and the second device die (items 122 or 124).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Park for the purpose of protection.
In regards to claim 29, Hung (paragraphs 18, 19, Figs. 4, 5 and associated text) discloses wherein the upper lid (item 24) has a thermal conductivity higher than that of the lower lid (item 20).
In regards to claim 30, Hung (paragraphs 18, 19, Figs. 4, 5 and associated text) discloses comprising an adhesive (item 22) disposed between the lower lid (item 20) and the package substrate (item 14), and the phase change material (item 26) has a thermal conductivity larger than that of the adhesive (item 22) and smaller than that of the thermal interface material (item 16).
It would have been obvious to modify the invention to include a phase change material having a thermal conductivity larger than that of the adhesive and smaller than that of the thermal interface material for the purpose of heat dissipation and a physical/mechanical bond, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use (In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416).
Conclusion
TELLY D. GREEN
Examiner
Art Unit 2898
/TELLY D GREEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898 January 15, 2026