DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4, 7, 8, 11-14 and 21-30 have been considered but are moot on grounds of new rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 8 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (Li) (US 2015/0001701 A1) in view of Chen et al. (Chen) (US 2015/0162307 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Li (Figs. 2-10 and associated text) discloses a package structure (Figs. 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 or 10), comprising: a substrate (item 210); a semiconductor package (item 208 on the left or right) disposed over the substrate (item 210); a first lid structure (item 202) disposed over the substrate (item 210), wherein the first lid structure (item 202) comprises an outer peripheral portion (outer peripheral portion item 202) and an inner peripheral portion (innermost portion of item 202) connected to the outer peripheral portion (outer peripheral portion item 202), and the inner peripheral portion (innermost portion of item 202) has a ring-shape to define an opening (item 212) exposing a region of the semiconductor package (item 208 on the left or right); and a second lid structure (item 204) disposed over the semiconductor package (item 208 on the left or right) and the first lid structure (item 202), wherein a thermal interface material (item 206) is disposed on the semiconductor package (item 208 on the left or right), and between the second lid structure (item 204) and the semiconductor package (item 208 on the left or right), and a phase change adhesive (item 308) is disposed between the second lid structure (item 204) and the first lid structure (item 202), and the inner peripheral portion (innermost portion of item 202) is contactless with the thermal interface material (item 206) and the semiconductor package (item 208).
Examiner notes that these teachings could be used in a single chip/package module as well, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art (Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179).
Li does not specifically disclose a bottom surface of the inner peripheral portion is entirely exposed and offset vertically from a bottom surface of the outer peripheral portion.
Chen (Figs. 5A, 6A and associated text) discloses a bottom surface of the inner peripheral portion (item 66 on the right, Fig. 6A, horizontal portion of item 62/66 on the right, Fig. 5A) is entirely exposed and offset vertically from a bottom surface of the outer peripheral portion (item 62 on the right, Fig. 6A, vertical portion of item 62/66 on the right, Fig. 5A).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Chen for the purpose of heat dissipation (paragraph 24), since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of
ordinary skill in the art (In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955)).
In regards to claim 2, Li (Figs. 2-10 and associated text) discloses wherein an orthogonal projection of the opening (item 212) is overlapped with the semiconductor package (item 208 on the left or right) and the thermal interface material (item 206) located on the semiconductor package (item 208 on the left or right).
In regards to claim 3, Li (Figs. 2-10 and associated text) discloses wherein a top surface of the second lid structure (item 204) is higher than a top surface of the first lid structure (item 202).
In regards to claim 4, Li (Figs. 2-10 and associated text) as modified by Chen (Figs. 5A, 6A and associated text) discloses wherein a thickness of the inner peripheral portion (innermost portion of item 202, Li, item 66 on the right, Fig. 6A, horizontal portion of item 62/66 on the right, Fig. 5A, Chen) is less than a thickness of the outer peripheral portion (outermost portion of item 202, Li, item 62 on the right, Fig. 6A, vertical portion of item 62/66 on the right, Fig. 5A, Chen).
In regards to claim 7, Li (Figs. 2-10 and associated text) discloses wherein the second lid structure (item 204) comprises: a central portion (central portion of item 204); and an outer portion (outer portion of item 204) connecting to the central portion (central portion of item 204), wherein the central portion (central portion of item 204) is fitted into the opening (item 212) of the first lid structure (item 202), wherein the second lid structure (item 204) is in contact with the thermal interface material (item 206) and the phase change adhesive (item 308), and the first lid structure (item 202) is only in contact with the phase change adhesive (item 308) and is contactless with the thermal interface material (item 206).
In regards to claim 8, Li (Figs. 2-10 and associated text) as modified by Chen (Figs. 5A, 6A and associated text) discloses wherein the phase change adhesive (item 308, Li, item 60’, Chen) is disposed between the outer portion of the second lid structure (item 204, Li, item 72, 72a, Chen) and the first lid structure (item 202, Li, items 66, 62/66 on the right, Chen).
In regards to claim 11, Li (Figs. 2-10 and associated text) as modified by Chen (Figs. 5A, 6A and associated text) does not specifically disclose wherein the phase change adhesive has a phase change temperature ranging from about 40°C to about 60°C. Rather than claiming characteristics of the phase change adhesive, the Applicant should claim the structure that gives rise to these characteristics. The Applicant does not have ownership of all phase change adhesives having a temperature range from about 40°C to about 60°C.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the invention to include a phase change adhesive having a phase change temperature ranging from about 40°C to about 60°C for the purpose adhering/curing at lower/desired temperatures, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)).
Claim(s) 12-14 and 21-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (Li) (US 2015/0001701 A1) in view of Chen et al. (Chen) (US 2015/0162307 A1) in view of Park et al. (Park) (US 2022/0013496 A1).
In regards to claim 12, Li (Figs. 2-10 and associated text) discloses a structure (Figs. 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 or 10), comprising: a package substrate (item 210); a package (item 208 on the left or right) disposed on the package substrate (item 210), wherein the package comprises a first device die (item 208 on the left or right) or a second device die (item 208 on the left or right) adjacent to the first device die (item 208 on the left or right); a lower lid (item 202) disposed on the package substrate (item 210), wherein the lower lid (item 202) comprises a first portion (horizontal or vertical portion of item 202) and a second portion (horizontal or vertical portion of item 202) connecting to the first portion (horizontal or vertical portion of item 202), the first portion (horizontal or vertical portion of item 202) is disposed on the package substrate (item 210), and the second portion (horizontal or vertical portion of item 202) is non-overlapping with the package (item 208 on the left or right); an upper lid (item 204) disposed on the package (item 208 on the left and/or right) and the lower lid (item 202), wherein the upper lid (item 204) comprises a third portion (middle portion of item 204) at least over the first device die (item 208 on the left or right) and a fourth portion (outer left and right portions of item 204) over the lower lid (item 202); a thermal interface material (item 206) disposed on the package (item 208 on the left and/or right) and between the third portion (middle portion of item 204) of the upper lid (item 204) and the package (item 208 on the left and/or right), wherein the whole lower lid (item 202) is contactless with the thermal interface material (item 206) and the package (item 208 on the left and/or right); and a phase change material (item 308) disposed between the fourth portion (outer left and right portions of item 204) of the upper lid (item 204) and the lower lid (item 202),
Examiner notes that these teachings could be used in a single chip/package module as well, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art (Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179).
Li does not specifically disclose the first portion is disposed on the package substrate, and the second portion is spaced apart from the package substrate and non-overlapping with the package.
Chen (Figs. 5A, 6A and associated text) discloses the first portion (item 62 on the right, Fig. 6A, vertical portion of item 62/66 on the right, Fig. 5A) is disposed on the package substrate (item 18), and the second portion (item 66 on the right, Fig. 6A, horizontal portion of item 62/66 on the right, Fig. 5A) is spaced apart from the package substrate (item 18) and non-overlapping with the package (items 10, 12).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Chen for the purpose of heat dissipation (paragraph 24), since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of
ordinary skill in the art (In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955)).
Li as modified by Chen does not specifically disclose the package comprises a first device die and a second device die.
Park (Figs. 3, 6 and associated text) discloses a package comprising a first device die (items 122 or 124) and a second device die (items 122 or 124).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Park for the purpose of device density.
In regards to claim 13, Li (Figs. 2-10 and associated text) discloses wherein the whole lower lid (item 202) encircles the package (item 208) and is disposed outside a lateral footprint of the package (item 208, L).
In regards to claim 14, Li (Figs. 2-10 and associated text) as modified by Chen (Figs. 5A, 6A and associated text) discloses an adhesive (item 306, Li, item 60, Chen) between the bottom surface of the first portion (outermost portion of item 202, Li, vertical portion of item 66, 62/66 on the right, Chen) of the lower lid (item 202, Li, item 66, 62/66 on the right, Chen) and the package substrate (item 210, Li, item 18, Chen), wherein the bottom surface of the second portion (item 66 on the right, Fig. 6A, horizontal portion of item 62/66 on the right, Fig. 5A) is contactless with the adhesive (item 306, Li, item 60, Chen).
In regards to claim 21, Li (Figs. 2-10 and associated text) as modified by Chen (Figs. 5A, 6A and associated text) discloses wherein a bottom surface of the inner peripheral portion (innermost portion of item 202, Li, horizontal portion of item 66, 62/66 on the right, Chen) of the first lid structure (item 202, Li, item 66, 62/66 on the right, Chen) is higher than a top surface (top surface of item 208 Li, top surface of items 10, 12, Chen) of the semiconductor package (item 208 Li, items 10, 12, Chen), and the phase change adhesive (item 308, Li, item 60’, Chen) extends along a top surface of the first lid structure (item 202, Li, item 66, 62/66 on the right, Chen). Examiner notes that both Li and Chen discloses various configurations, therefore the structure of the lids are merely a design choice. Applicant has not shown any criticality to the structure of the lids to where it yields and unexpected result or advantage.
It would have been obvious to modify the invention to include an inner peripheral portion of the first lid being higher than a top surface of the package if so desired for the purpose of protection and heat dissipation, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape/size of a component. A change in shape/size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955)).
In regards to claim 22, Li (Figs. 2-10 and associated text) as modified by Chen (Figs. 5A, 6A and associated text) discloses further comprising an adhesive (item 306, Li, item 60, Chen) disposed between a bottom surface of the outer peripheral portion of the first lid structure (item 202, Li, item 66, 62/66 on the right, Chen) and the substrate (item 210, Li, item 18, Chen), wherein a material of the adhesive (item 308, Li, item 60, Chen) is different from that of the thermal interface material (item 206, Li, item 58a, 58b, Chen) and different from that of the phase change adhesive (item 308, Li, item 60’, Chen).
It would have been obvious to modify the invention to include a material of the adhesive being different from the thermal interface material and the phase change adhesive for the purpose of heat dissipation, thermal conductivity and a physical/mechanical bond, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use (In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416).
In regards to claim 23, Li (Figs. 2-10 and associated text) as modified by Chen (Figs. 5A, 6A and associated text) discloses wherein the phase change adhesive (item 308, Li, item 60’, Chen) has a thermal conductivity larger than that of the adhesive (item 308, Li, item 60, Chen) and smaller than that of the thermal interface material (item 206, Li, item 58a, 58b, Chen).
It would have been obvious to modify the invention to include a phase change adhesive having a thermal conductivity larger than that of the adhesive and smaller than that of the thermal interface material for the purpose of heat dissipation, thermal conductivity and a physical/mechanical bond, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use (In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416).
In regards to claim 24, Li (Figs. 2-10 and associated text) as modified by Chen (Figs. 5A, 6A and associated text) discloses wherein a bottom surface of the second portion (innermost portion of item 202, Li, horizontal portion of item 66, 62/66 on the right, Chen) of the lower lid (item 202, Li, item 66, 62/66 on the right, Chen) is higher than a top surface of the package (item 208 Li, items 10, 12, Chen).
In regards to claim 25, Li (Figs. 2-10 and associated text) as modified by Chen (Figs. 5A, 6A and associated text) discloses comprising an adhesive (item 308, Li, item 60, Chen) disposed between the first portion (outermost portion of item 202, Li, vertical portion of item 66, 62/66 on the right, Chen) of the lower lid (item 202, Li, item 66, 62/66 on the right, Chen) and the package substrate (item 210, Li, item 18, Chen), wherein a material of the adhesive (item 308, Li, item 60, Chen) is different from that of the thermal interface material (item 206, Li, item 58a, 58b, Chen) and different from that of the phase change material (item 308, Li, item 60’, Chen).
It would have been obvious to modify the invention to include a material of the adhesive being different from the thermal interface material and the phase change adhesive for the purpose of heat dissipation, thermal conductivity and a physical/mechanical bond, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use (In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416).
In regards to claim 26, Li (Figs. 2-10 and associated text) as modified by Chen (Figs. 5A, 6A and associated text) discloses wherein the phase change adhesive (item 308, Li, item 60’, Chen) has a thermal conductivity larger than that of the adhesive (item 308, Li, item 60, Chen) and smaller than that of the thermal interface material (item 206, Li, item 58a, 58b, Chen).
It would have been obvious to modify the invention to include a phase change adhesive having a thermal conductivity larger than that of the adhesive and smaller than that of the thermal interface material for the purpose of heat dissipation, thermal conductivity and a physical/mechanical bond, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use (In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416).
In regards to claim 27, Li (Figs. 2-10 and associated text) as modified by Chen (Figs. 5A, 6A and associated text) discloses wherein the fourth portion (innermost portion of item 202, Li, horizontal portion of item 66, 62/66 on the right, Chen) of the lower lid (item 202, Li, item 66, 62/66 on the right, Chen) is spaced apart from the first portion (central portion of item 204, Li, middle portion of 72) of the upper lid (item 204, Li, item 72, Chen), and a top surface of the third portion (outermost portion of item 202, Li, vertical portion of item 66, 62/66 on the right, Chen) and a top surface of the fourth portion (innermost portion of item 202, Li, horizontal portion of item 66, 62/66 on the right, Chen)are levelled.
In regards to claim 28, Li (Figs. 2-10 and associated text) discloses a structure (Figs. 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 or 10), comprising: a package substrate (item 210); a package (item 208 on the left or right) disposed on the package substrate (item 210), wherein the package comprises a first device die (item 208 on the left or right) or a second device die (item 208 on the left or right) adjacent to the first device die (item 208 on the left or right); a lower lid (item 202) disposed on the package substrate (item 210), wherein the lower lid (item 202) comprises an outer portion (outer portion item 202) and an inner portion (inner portion of item 202) joined to the outer portion (outer portion item 202), the inner portion (inner portion of item 202) is non-overlapping with the package (item 208); an upper lid (item 204) disposed on the package (item 208 on the left and/or right) and the lower lid (item 202), wherein the upper lid (item 204) comprises a first portion at least over the first device die (item 208 on the left or right) and a second portion over the lower lid (item 202); and a material of the upper lid (item 204, paragraph 26, [e.g. copper, nickel, stainless steel, titanium, aluminum, etc.]) is different from a material of the lower lid (item 202, paragraph 23, [e.g. copper, nickel, stainless steel, titanium, aluminum, molded plastics, ceramics, composites or combinations of each, etc.]); a thermal interface material (item 206) disposed over the package (item 208 on the left and/or right) and between the first portion of the upper lid (item 204) and the package (item 208 on the left and/or right), wherein the whole lower lid (item 202) is contactless with the thermal interface material (item 206) and the package (item 208 on the left and/or right); and a phase change material (item 308) disposed between the second portion of the upper lid (item 204) and the lower lid (item 202).
Examiner notes that these teachings could be used in a single chip/package module as well, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art (Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179).
Li does not specifically disclose the inner portion is spaced apart from the package substrate and non-overlapping with the package, and a bottom surface of the inner portion facing the package substrate is fully exposed.
Chen (Figs. 5A, 6A and associated text) discloses the inner portion (item 66 on the right, Fig. 6A, horizontal portion of item 62/66 on the right, Fig. 5A) is spaced apart from the package substrate (item 18) and non-overlapping with the package (items 10, 12), and a bottom surface of the inner portion (item 66 on the right, Fig. 6A, horizontal portion of item 62/66 on the right, Fig. 5A) facing the package substrate (item 18) is fully exposed.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Chen for the purpose of heat dissipation (paragraph 24), since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of
ordinary skill in the art (In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955)).
Li as modified by Chen does not specifically disclose the package comprises a first device die and a second device die adjacent to the first device and an encapsulant wrapping and covering sidewalls of the first device die and the second device die.
Park (Figs. 3, 6 and associated text) discloses a package comprising a first device die (items 122 or 124) and a second device die (items 122 or 124) adjacent to the first device die (items 122 or 124) and an encapsulant (item 130) wrapping and covering sidewalls of the first device die (items 122 or 124) and the second device die (items 122 or 124).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Park for the purpose of device density and protection.
In regards to claim 29, Li (Figs. 2-10 and associated text) discloses wherein the upper lid (item 204, paragraph 26) has a thermal conductivity higher than that of the lower lid (item 202, paragraph 23).
In regards to claim 30, Li (Figs. 2-10 and associated text) as modified by Chen (Figs. 5A, 6A and associated text) discloses comprising an adhesive (item 306, Li, item 60, Chen) disposed between the outer portion of the lower lid (item 202, Li, items 66, 62/66 on the right, Chen) and the package substrate (item 210, Li, item 18, Chen), and the phase change material (item 308, Li, item 60’, Chen) has a thermal conductivity larger than that of the adhesive (item 308, Li, item 60, Chen) and smaller than that of the thermal interface material (item 206, Li, item 58a, 58b, Chen).
It would have been obvious to modify the invention to include a phase change material having a thermal conductivity larger than that of the adhesive and smaller than that of the thermal interface material for the purpose of heat dissipation and a physical/mechanical bond, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use (In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Shah et al. (US 2023/0093924 A1, Figs. 6, 7) could have been used as a primary reference. Shah could have also been used as further evidence that the lower lid (item 606, Fig. 6) can have the same shape as the Applicant.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
TELLY D. GREEN
Examiner
Art Unit 2898
/TELLY D GREEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898 June 6, 2026