DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-5, 7-13, and 15-20 are pending.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 7-13, and 15-20 are amended.
Claims 6 and 14 are cancelled.
Claim 20 is withdrawn.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Specification
The amendment filed 08/12/2026 and entered 08/27/2026 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because it introduces new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. The added material which is not supported by the original disclosure is as follows:
Replacement Fig. 4 introduces new matter into the disclosure. Replacement Fig. 4 appears to show two side-by-side built-in temperature sensors, only one of which was pictured in any of the prior figures. Additionally, where all prior figures have only shown a single horizontal wiring line across the top and bottom of the temperature sensing device, the replacement figure shows two horizontal wiring lines across both the top and bottom of the device. Additionally, over the right-most and left-most wiring lines (24h), a new feature has been added in the center of the source/drain area that is not present in any previously presented figures. Additionally, replacement Fig. 4 appears to change the right-most and left-most “floating gate structures” 24a, which previously directly connected to the force line, sensing line, current supply, and current discharge with a vertical wiring line 24h disposed to connect 24a’ to the force line, sensing line, current supply, and current discharge. These amendments are not found nor supported by the prior disclosure of the invention.
Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action.
Drawings
The drawing objections of the final rejection mailed 06/15/2026 are maintained. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show metal wiring lines as described in the specification. The metal wiring line terminals (shown in Fig. 4 as 24c) of the figures appear to be visually obstructed by the wiring lines (for example, 24e and 24d of Figs. 1-4). Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Amendment of claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7-13, and 15-19 to remove the term “floating” overcomes the rejection of claims 1-5, 7-13, and 15-19 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) of 06/15/2026. The rejection is withdrawn.
Claims 1-5, 7-13, and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). The term “gate structures” in claims 1 and 10 are used by the claim to mean “polysilicon or conductive material used for a resistive temperature sensor,” while the accepted meaning is “conductive material formed above the channel of a transistor which controls current flow through a transistor, allowing transistors to function as electronic switches.” The term is indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the term. The specification of the instant application reads, paragraph 0016, wherein optional floating gate structures may be planar structures and/or finFET structures using bulk substrate or SOI technologies, however these do not refer to the “floating gate structures” which are used to form the temperature sensor. Paragraph 0018 reads that those floating gate structures 24a, which refer to the gate structures used to form the temperature sensor “may comprise polysilicon material and may be fabricated during the fabrication processes of the active gate structures 12 and optional floating gate structures 22,” but no disclosure is made which would lead one of ordinary skill in the art to the conclusion that the “gate structures” (24a) are, in any way, gates. Additionally, no further disclosure is made to appropriately redefine the term from its known meaning in the art.
For the purposes of examination, the temperature-sensing “gate structures” will be interpreted as polysilicon or otherwise conductive structures formed on a same device level as the active and optional floating gate structures, as disclosed by at least paragraph 0018 of the specification.
Response to Arguments/Amendments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/12/2026 and entered 08/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specifically, amendment of the independent claims 1 and 10 to include the claim limitation “to provide an electrical current path through the multiple temperature-sensing gate structures” and “electrically separated from the at least one active gate structure” fails to overcome the prior art rejection of record. Mahon (US PGPub 2019/0028065) in view of Feng (2018/0038742) teach wherein width-spanning temperature sensing structures would be electrically connected in order to measure temperature across the length of a device at desired intervals. Connection by wiring lines of the sensors of Mahon would not create an unexpected result, and one of ordinary skill would be motivated to connect them in this way to achieve the serpentine structure of Feng in order to enable measurement of the heating effect of the entire device, as described by Feng. Additionally, Mahon teaches wherein the temperature sensing gate structure is separated from the active gate by an insulating layer. The rejections of 06/15/2026 are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8-12, 16, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mahon et al. (US PGPub 2019/0028065), herein Mahon, and further in view of Feng et al. (US PGPub 2018/0038742), herein Feng.
Regarding claim 1, Mahon teaches (Fig. 2B) a structure comprising: at least one active gate structure (145); and a built-in temperature sensor (147) adjacent to and on a same device level as the at least one active gate structure (145, [0060]), the built-in temperature sensor further comprising force lines (210a, 210b) and sensing lines (212a, 212b), wherein the built-in temperature sensor comprises temperature-sensing gate structures (147, [0062]) electrically separated from the at least one active gate structure (separated by insulating layer 122, [0060]) surrounding multiple active gate structures (145, [0062]), and wiring lines (210a, 210b, 212a, 212b, [0063]) connecting to the multiple temperature-sensing gate structures to provide an electrical current path through the multiple temperature-sensing gate structures and the wiring line ([0066]). Mahon does not explicitly teach in a serpentine configuration.
Feng teaches (Fig. 2) a built-in temperature sensor (208, [0026]) in a serpentine configuration ([0030]), wherein force and sensing lines (2091, 2091, [0049]) are located at end points of the serpentine structure (4-point Kelvin detection is described as an appropriate embodiment, [0049]).
Because Mahon and Feng are both directed toward built-in temperature sensing of semiconductor devices, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Mahon and Feng to include a serpentine configuration, in order to allow for resistive temperature measurement across extended device features (i.e. the gate lines of Feng, [0030]).
Regarding claim 2, Mahon in view of Feng teaches (Mahon, Fig. 2B) the structure of claim 1, wherein the built-in temperature sensor comprises temperature-sensing gate structures (147, [0060]) which are connected to the force lines (210a, 210b, [0063]) and sensing lines (212a, 212b, [0063]).
Regarding claim 3, Mahon in view of Feng teaches (Mahon, Fig. 2B) the structure of claim 1, wherein the built-in temperature sensor (147) is parallel to the at least one active gate structure (145, [0054]).
Regarding claim 8, Mahon in view of Feng teaches the structure of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the built-in temperature sensor comprises multiple temperature-sensing gate structures surrounding inner active gate structures.
Mahon teaches a further embodiment wherein multiple temperature-sensing gate structures (147) may be formed along an array of a few transistors in a device ([0062]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further combine the teachings of Mahon to include wherein the built-in temperature sensor comprises multiple temperature-sensing gate structures surrounding inner active gate structures for the purpose of sampling more representative temperatures across the gate array ([0062]).
Regarding claim 9, Mahon in view of Feng teaches the structure of claim 8, wherein the force lines (210a, 210b) and the sense lines (212a, 212b) connect to a single (147) of the multiple temperature-sensing gate structures ([0062]).
Regarding claim 10, Mahon teaches (Fig. 2B, adjacent structures not pictured) a structure comprising: a plurality of adjacent active gate structures (145, [0062]); and a built-in temperature sensor comprising a plurality of temperature-sensing gate structures (147, [0062]) electrically separated from the at least one active gate structure (separated by insulating layer 122, [0060]) within source/drain regions (162, 160, [0054]) of selective active gates of the plurality of active gate structures, and wiring lines (210a, 210b, 212a, 212b, [0063]) connecting to the multiple temperature-sensing gate structures to provide an electrical current path through the multiple temperature-sensing gate structures and the wiring line ([0066]). Mahon does not explicitly teach in a serpentine configuration.
Feng teaches (Fig. 2) a built-in temperature sensor (208, [0026]) in a serpentine configuration ([0030]), wherein force and sensing lines (2091, 2091, [0049]) are located at end points of the serpentine structure (4-point Kelvin detection is described as an appropriate embodiment, [0049]).
Because Mahon and Feng are both directed toward built-in temperature sensing of semiconductor devices, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Mahon and Feng to include a serpentine configuration, in order to allow for resistive temperature measurement across extended device features (i.e. the gate lines of Feng, [0030]).
Regarding claim 11, Mahon in view of Feng teaches (Mahon, Fig. 2B) the structure of claim 10, wherein at least one of the temperature-sensing gate structures (147) connect to the force lines (210a, 210b) and sensing lines (212a, 212b, [0063]).
Regarding claim 12, Mahon in view of Feng teaches (Mahon, Fig. 2B, adjacent structures not pictured) the structure of claim 10, wherein the plurality of temperature-sensing gate structures (147, [0062]) are parallel to and surround the plurality of adjacent active gate structures (145, [0062]).
Regarding claim 16, Mahon in view of Feng teaches (Mahon, Fig. 2A, cross-section of Fig. 2B) the structure of claim 10, wherein the plurality of temperature-sensing gate structures (147, [0060]) and the plurality of active gate structures (145, [0060]) are on a same device level ([0060]).
Regarding claim 17, Mahon in view of Feng teaches (Mahon, Fig. 2B) the structure of claim 10, wherein the force lines (210a, 210b, [0063]) and sensing lines (212a, 212b, [0063]) extend from a same temperature-sensing gate structure (147, [0062]) of the plurality of temperature-sensing gate structures ([0062]).
Regarding claim 19, Mahon in view of Feng teaches (Mahon, Fig. 2B) the structure of claim 10, wherein the built-in temperature sensor comprises multiple temperature-sensing gate structures (147, [0062]) surrounding inner active gate structures (145, [0062]).
Claims 4, 5, 13, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mahon in view of Feng as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Pihet et al. (US PGPub 2003/0210507), herein referred to as Pihet.
Regarding claim 4, Mahon in view of Feng teaches the structure of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the built-in temperature sensor comprises two temperature-sensing gate structures surrounding a single active gate structure.
Pihet teaches (Fig. 5) wherein the built-in temperature sensor comprises two temperature-sensing gate structures (Ga, Gc, [0044]) surrounding a single active gate structure (Gb, [0044]).
Because Mahon in view of Feng and Pihet are both directed toward resistive temperature sensing of a memory device, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Mahon in view of Feng and of Pihet in order to allow for temperature sensing at temperature-critical locations of the transistor (Pihet, [0044]).
Regarding claim 5, Mahon in view of Feng and Pihet teaches the structure of claim 4, and further teaches (Mahon, Fig. 2B) wherein the two temperature-sensing gate structures are located between source/drain regions (162, 160, [0054]) of the single active gate structure (145, [0062]).
Regarding claim 13, Mahon in view of Feng teaches the structure of claim 10, but does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of temperature-sensing gate structures surround a single active gate structure.
Pihet teaches (Fig. 5) wherein the plurality of temperature-sensing gate structures (Ga, Gb, Gd, Ge, [0044]) surrounds a single active gate structure (Gc, [0044]). Pihet teaches wherein the number and position of temperature-sensing gate structures surrounding an active gate can be chosen for appropriate temperature measurement ([0044]). A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that this would include a configuration in which multiple temperature-sensing gates surrounded an single active gate structure.
Because Mahon in view of Feng and Pihet are both directed toward resistive temperature measurement of memory devices it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Mahon in view of Feng and of Pihet to include wherein the plurality of temperature-sensing gate structures surround a single active gate structure in order to provide temperature sensing at particularly temperature-critical locations of the transistor (Pihet, [0044]).
Regarding claim 18, Mahon in view of Feng teaches the structure of claim 10, but does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of temperature-sensing gate structures are provided at opposing ends of the plurality of active gate structures.
Pihet teaches (Fig. 5) wherein the plurality of temperature-sensing gate structures (Ga, Gn, [0044]) are provided at opposing ends of the plurality of active gate structures (Gb, Gc, Gd, Ge [0044]). Pihet teaches wherein the number and position of temperature-sensing gate structures surrounding an active gate can be chosen for appropriate temperature measurement ([0044]). A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that this would include a configuration in which temperature-sensing gate structures are provided at opposing ends of a plurality of active gate structures.
Because Mahon in view of Feng and Pihet are both directed toward resistive temperature measurement of memory devices it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Mahon in view of Feng and of Pihet to include wherein the plurality of temperature-sensing gate structures surround a single active gate structure in order to provide temperature sensing at particularly temperature-critical locations of the transistor (Pihet, [0044]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mahon in view of Feng as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Steinmann et al. (US PGPub 2019/0319180), herein referred to as Steinmann.
Regarding claim 15, Mahon in view of Feng teaches the structure of claim 10, but does not explicitly teach further comprising wiring lines connecting the plurality of temperature-sensing gate structures. Mahon in view of Feng also teaches (Mahon, Fig. 3, a circuit view of the embodiments of Fig. 2B), the temperature-sensing gate structure (147) in electrical series with resistive elements for temperature sensing. Mahon in view of Feng teaches wherein multiple temperature-sensing gate structures can be arranged on a single device for temperature sensing and shows in Fig. 3 where only one input/output line is provided for temperature-sensing gates, but does not explicitly depict wiring lines connecting the plurality of temperature-sensing gate structures.
Steinmann teaches (Fig. 2) use of conductive strips or connections (24, [0023]) for electrical connection of conductive silicon elements (16, 18, [0023]) in a transistor device (22, [0023]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the conductive strips of Steinmann to provide electrical connections to the multiple temperature-sensing gate structures of Mahon in view of Feng for the predictable result of creating electrical bridging between multiple conductive structures.
Conclusion
/EMILY FARMER/Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/DAVIENNE N MONBLEAU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812