DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/08/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Claim 1: Applicant argues that the prior art cited in the USC 35 § 103 rejection does not disclose a hard mask layer on the low-k dielectric. Examiner respectfully disagrees. As disclosed below, Yu ‘234 discloses a hard mask layer on the dielectric substrate that protects the substrate during etching. Ben-Tzur ‘033 teaches that a hard mask layer of TiN provides good resistance to common etchants and advantageously help protect lower oxide layers. It would have been motivating, for a person of ordinary skill in the art, with a high expectation of success, then to use the well-known hard mask material TiN as the etch stop layer of Yu ‘234. Therefore, Yu’234 as modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 discloses all limitations of the hard mask layer (220) of claim 1 of the instant application.
Applicant further argues that the silicon oxide layer of Yu ‘234 is not disposed on a hard mask layer based on the above arguments that the hard mask layer of Yu ‘234 is not a hard mask layer. Examiner respectfully disagrees. As stated above Yu ‘234 as modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 meets the limitations of Claim 1 for the hard mask. Therefore the silicon oxide layer (20) of Yu ‘234 is directly disposed on the hard mask layer.
Applicant further argues that the bottom layer is not taught by Yu ‘234 in view of Chen ‘711 in view of Ben-Tzur ‘033 and in further view of Mignot ‘334 because Yu ‘234 discloses (Para [0013]) the bottom layer (30) of SiN or SiC as mask layer to aid in the further etching of the lower layers. As described below, Mignot ;344 teaches a bottom layer of diamond like carbon. The teaching of Mignot ‘334 of a bottom layer of diamond like carbon. As described below, the person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the diamond like carbon taught by Mignot ‘334 as the bottom layer, and have a high expectation for success, as these are both well-known materials for achieving the well-known advantage of being masking materials to enable patterning of lower layers in an euv process. Therefore the bottom layer 30 of Yu ‘234 as modified by Mignot ‘334 meets the limitations of claim 1.
Applicant argues that Yu ‘234 in view of Chen ‘711 in view of Ben-Tzur ‘033 and in further view of Mignot ‘334 does not teach the middle layer. Examiner notes that the limitations of the middle layer have been amended in the Applicant’s Arguments of 05/08/2026. These amended limitations are treated in the USC 35 § 103 rejection below.
Applicant argues that Yu ‘234 in view of Chen ‘711 in view of Ben-Tzur ‘033 and in further view of Mignot ‘334 does not teach the recited thickness of the photoresist layer of Claim 1. Examiner respectfully disagrees. As described in the USC 35 § 103 rejection below Yu ‘234 discloses a photoresist thickness of 700Å to 1200Å. As it is well known to a person of ordinary skill in the art that the composition and thickness of a photoresist impact photolithographic results, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to the recited thickness through routine experimentation to achieve the desired lithography characteristics of the patterned photoresist layer having a thickness less than or equal to about 280Å. MPEP 2144.05 (II)(A).
Applicant argues that Yu ‘234 in view of Chen ‘711 in view of Ben-Tzur ‘033 and in further view of Mignot ‘334 does not teach the recited limitation of the dielectric is a low-k dielectric because Chen ‘711 does not teach the other limitations of the claim. Examiner respectfully disagrees. As described below, Chen ‘711 teaches the use of a low-k dielectric layer. Chen ‘711 is relied on here to teach low-k dielectric structures, not all the limitations of the claim 1. The teaching of Chen ‘711 of a low-k dielectric structure is incorporated into the dielectric layer of Yu ‘234 ; one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to incorporate this teaching as the low-k dielectric would provide good protection against parasitic capacitance.
Applicant argues that Yu ‘234 in view of Chen ‘711 in view of Ben-Tzur ‘033 and in further view of Mignot ‘334 does not teach the recited thickness of the hard mask because Ben-Tzur ‘033 does not disclose all the limitations of the claim. Examiner respectfully disagrees with this. Ben-Tzur ‘033 is relied on here to teach a thickness of the hard mask, not all the limitations of the claim 1. The teaching of Ben-Tzur ‘033 of a hard mask in a range that overlaps the cited value of the hard mask thickness of the instant application is incorporated as the thickness of hard mask layer (15) of Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711.
Applicant argues that Yu ‘234 in view of Chen ‘711 in view of Ben-Tzur ‘033 and in further view of Mignot ‘334 does not teach the recited thickness of the bottom layer because Mignot ‘334 does not disclose all the limitations of the claim. Examiner respectfully disagrees with this. Mignot '334 is relied on here to teach a thickness of the hard mask, not all the limitations of the claim 1. The teaching of Mignot ‘334 of a bottom layer of a diamond like carbon materials with a thickness less than 300Å. That teaching is incorporated into the bottom layer (30) of Yu ‘234 in view of Chen ‘711 in view of Ben-Tzur ‘033 as described below.
Regarding Claim 3, Applicant argues that Yu ‘234 in view of Chen ‘711 in view of Ben-Tzur ‘033 in view of Mignot ‘334 and in further view of Chang ‘280 does not disclose the limitations of the claim as Yu ‘234 does not teach the structure of the claim 1, nor, they claim, does Yu ‘234 in view of Chen ‘711 in view of Ben-Tzur ‘033 in view of Mignot ‘334 and in further view of Chang ‘280 teach the recited thickness limitation of the photoresist. Examiner respectfully disagrees. As described in the USC 35 § 103 rejections below and the response to arguments above Yu ‘234 in view of Chen ‘711 in view of Ben-Tzur ‘033 in view of Mignot ‘334 does disclose all limitations of claim 1.
Regarding Claim 10, Applicant argues that Yu ‘234 in view of Chen ‘711 in view of Ben-Tzur ‘033 in view of Mignot ‘334 and in further view of Brigg ‘325 does not teach the structure of claim 1, nor, they claim, does Yu ‘234 in view of Chen ‘711 in view of Ben-Tzur ‘033 in view of Briggs ‘325 teach the recited thickness limitation of the middle layer. Examiner respectfully disagrees. As described in the USC 35 § 103 rejections below and the response to arguments above Yu ‘234 in view of Chen ‘711 in view of Ben-Tzur ‘033 in view of Brigg ‘325 does disclose all limitations of claim 1.
Regarding Claims 13-14 and 16-20, Applicant argues that Yu ‘234 in view of Chen ‘711 in view of Ben-Tzur ‘033 in view of Mignot ‘334 and in further view of Briggs ‘325 do not discloses the limitations of the claims as Yu ‘234 does not disclose the structure of the claim as argued above regarding claim 1. Applicant further argues that Briggs ‘325 does not disclose the thickness of the middle layer because Briggs ‘325 does not disclose the rest of the limitations of the claim. Examiner respectfully disagrees. As described in the USC 35 § 103 rejections below and the response to arguments of claim 1 above, Yu ‘234 in view of Chen ‘711 in view of Ben-Tzur ‘033 in view of Mignot ‘334 and in further view of Briggs ‘325 teaches all limitations of the claims 13-14 and 16-20.
Regarding Claim 15, Applicant argues that Yu ‘234 in view of Chen ‘711 in view of Ben-Tzur ‘033 in view of Mignot ‘334 in view of Briggs ‘325 in further view of Chang ‘280 does not disclose the limitations of the claim as Yu ‘234 does not disclose the structure of the claim as argued above regarding claim 1. Applicant further argues that Chang ‘280 does not disclose the thickness of the photoresist layer because Chang ‘280 does not disclose the rest of the limitations of the claim. Examiner respectfully disagrees. As described in the USC 35 § 103 rejections below and the response to arguments of claim 1 above, Yu ‘234 in view of Chen ‘711 in view of Ben-Tzur ‘033 in view of Mignot ‘334 in view of Briggs ‘325 and in further view of Chang ‘280 teaches all limitations of the claims 13. Further, as described below, Chang ‘280 is relied upon for teaching the thickness of the photoresist layer, not all the limitations of said claim.
Regarding Claim 21, Applicant argues that Yu ‘234 in view of Chen ‘711 in view of Ben-Tzur ‘033 in view of Mignot ‘334 in view of Briggs ‘325 in further view of Bae ‘790 does not disclose the limitations of the claim as Yu ‘234 does not disclose the structure of the claim as argued above regarding claim 1. Applicant further argues that Bae ‘790 does not disclose the middle layer comprises doped amorphous silicon because it does not disclose all other limitations of the claim. Examiner respectfully disagrees. As described in the USC 35 § 103 rejections below and the response to arguments of claim 1 above, Yu ‘234 in view of Chen ‘711 in view of Ben-Tzur ‘033 in view of Mignot ‘334 in view of Briggs ‘325 and in further view of Bae ‘790 teaches all limitations of the claims 13. Further, as described below, Bae ‘790 is relied upon for teaching of a middle layer comprises doped amorphous silicon, and that teaching is incorporated into the middle layer of Yu ‘234 in view of Chen ‘711 in view of Ben-Tzur ‘033 in view of Mignot ‘334 in view of Briggs ‘325 as described above.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amendments made to claims 1 and 12-13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The amendments of Claim 12 overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112 rejections of the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 02/09/2026. Therefore Examiner withdraws the 35 U.S.C. 112 rejections objection of Claim 12.
Claims 1 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1, the claim cites the limitation, “the middle layer having a thickness less than or equal to about 200 A, the middle layer comprising selected from the group consisting of one or more of a bottom anti-reflective coating (BARC), a dielectric anti-reflective coating (DARC), silicon, boron, a doped silicon, or a doped boron, the middle layer configured to be converted to a modified middle layer consisting essentially of silicon oxide”. It is unclear how the non-silicon containing materials listed in the group of potential materials that comprise the middle layer could be converted to “a modified middle layer consisting essentially of silicon oxide”. Examiner notes that the specification of the instant application, Para [0029] defines the term “consists essentially of” to mean “that the subject film is greater than or equal to about 90%, 95%, 98%, 99% or 99.5% of the stated material”. It is unclear how all of the listed materials could converted to meet these values of silicon oxide; therefore it is unclear how the listed materials define the metes and bounds of the claimed invention. For purposes of examination, examiner interprets “the group consisting of one or more of one or more of a bottom anti-reflective coating (BARC), a dielectric anti-reflective coating (DARC), silicon, boron, a doped silicon, or a doped boron” as “the group consisting of one or more of one or more of a bottom anti-reflective coating (BARC), a dielectric anti-reflective coating (DARC), silicon, a doped silicon”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al (US 2010/0279234 A1, hereinafter Yu ‘234), in view of Chen et al. (US 2017/0256711 A1, hereinafter Chen ‘711), in view of Ben-Tzur et al. (US 6,774,033 B1, hereinafter Ben-Tzur ‘033), in view of Mignot et al. (US 2016/0372334 A1, hereinafter Mignot ‘334) and in further view of Clevenger et al. (US 2011/0020753 A1, hereinafter Clevenger ‘753), in view of the following arguments.
With respect to Claim 1 Yu ‘234 discloses a film stack for EUV patterning (Fig 1-10), the film stack comprising:
a dielectric layer (10, Fig 1, Para [0009] discloses substrate 10 includes dielectric layers);
a hard mask (15, Fig 1, Para [0010]) directly disposed (disclosed in Fig 1 and Para [0010]) on the dielectric (10), the hard mask (15);
a silicon oxide layer (20, Fig 1, Para [0011]) optionally directly disposed (disclosed in Fig 1 and Para [0011]) on the hard mask (15);
a bottom layer (30, Fig 1, Para [0013]) directly disposed on the hard mask, or if the silicon oxide layer (20) is directly disposed on the hard mask (15) then the bottom layer (30) directly disposed (Para [0012] discloses layer 25, shown in Fig 1, as optional so not applying that layer results in 30 directly disposed on 20) on the silicon oxide layer (20), the bottom layer (30);
a middle layer (35, Fig 1, Para [0014]) directly disposed (disclosed in Fig 1 and Para [0014]) on the bottom layer (30); and
a patterned photoresist (40, Fig 1, Para [0015]) directly disposed on the middle layer (35), the patterned photoresist (40) comprising an organic resist (Para [0015] discloses 40 as chemical amplified resist) or a metal oxide photoresist with a thickness less than or equal to about 130 Å.
But Yu ‘234 fails to explicitly disclose the dielectric layer(10) is a low-k dielectric.
Nevertheless, in a related endeavor, (Fig 1A of Chen ‘711), Chen ‘711 teaches a substrate (101, Fig 1A of Chen ‘711, Para [0019]) containing a low-k dielectric layer (103, Fig 1A of Chen ‘711, Para [0019]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Chen ‘711’s teaching of a substrate containing a low-k dielectric into Yu ‘234’s device. Yu ‘234 teaches a silicon carbide substrate containing dielectric layers but is silent on the composition of the dielectric layers. Chen ‘711 teaches a silicon carbide substrate containing a dielectric structure and further teaches the dielectric is a low-k dielectric. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated then, to modify Yu ‘234 in the manner set forth above, at least, because using a low-k dielectric layer would provide good protection against parasitic capacitance in the device.
As incorporated, the substrate (102) containing a low-k dielectric (103) as taught by Chen ‘711 would be used as the dielectric layer (10) of Yu ‘234.
Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 fails to explicitly disclose the hard mask comprising one or more of titanium nitride (TiN) or tungsten carbide (WC) and having a thickness less than or equal to about 200 A.
Nevertheless, in a related endeavor (Fig 1-6 of Ben-Tzur ‘033), Ben-Tzur ‘033 teaches the hard mask (103, Fig 1 of Ben-Tzur ‘033, Col 4, Lines 5-6) comprising one or more of titanium nitride (TiN) (Col 4, Lines 5-6 of Ben-Tzur ‘033 disclose 103 as TiN) or tungsten carbide (WC) and having a thickness less than or equal to about 200 A (Col 3, Lines 1-3 of Ben-Tzur ‘033 discloses the thickness of TiN layer 103 as 200Å to 300Å).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Ben-Tzur ‘033’s teaching of a hard mask comprising one or more of titanium nitride (TiN) or tungsten carbide (WC) and having a thickness less than or equal to about 200 A into Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711’s device. Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 teaches an etch stop layer in the euv stack. Ben-Tzur ‘033 also teaches and etch stop layer in an euv stack and teaches that TiN used in that material provides good resistance to common etchants and advantageously helps protect lower oxide layers. Further Ben-Tzur ‘033 teaches a thickness of TiN layer 103 as 200Å to 300Å. MPEP 2144.05 I states “in cases where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists”. Therefore, the ordinary artisan would have been motivated, to modify Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 in the manner set forth above, at least, because using the TiN would provide the advantage taught by Ben-Tzur ‘033 to protect lower layers of the stack against common etchants.
As incorporated, the TiN (103) taught by Ben-Tzur ‘033 would be used as the hard mask (15) of Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 such that the hard mask is directly disposed on the low-k dielectric layer (10 of Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711).
But Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 and further modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 fails to explicitly disclose a silicon oxide layer having a thickness less than or equal to about 200 Å.
Nevertheless, Yu ‘234 teaches a silicon oxide layer having a thickness ranging between about 600 angstroms and about 2,000 angstroms (Para [0011] of Yu ‘234). Yu ‘234 also teaches in Para [0011], “It is understood by those skilled in the art that the thickness of dielectric layer 20 is dependent upon the process node”. Therefore, because thicknesses are known to affect photolithography results, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to the recited thicknesses through routine experimentation to achieve desired characteristics of the formed device with a silicon oxide layer having a thickness less than or equal to about 200 Å.
As incorporated, the thickness of silicon oxide layer (20) of less than or equal to 200Å would be used as the silicon oxide layer (20) of Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 and further modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033.
But Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 and further modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 fails to explicitly disclose the bottom layer comprising diamond-like carbon and having a thickness less than or equal to about 300 Å.
Nevertheless, in a related endeavor (Figs 1-2 of Mignot ‘334), Mignot ‘334 teaches the bottom layer (72L, Fig 1 of Mignot ‘334, Para [0033]) comprising diamond-like carbon (Para [0033] of Mignot ‘334 discloses 72L as diamond-like-carbon) and having a thickness less than or equal to about 300 A (Para [0033] discloses 72L as 100 angstrom).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Mignot ‘334’s teaching of the bottom layer comprising diamond-like carbon and having a thickness less than or equal to about 300 Å into Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 and further modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033’s device. Yu ‘234 teaches the function of layer 30 is to act as a hard mask in the patterning of lower layers and that one skilled in the art would understand the thickness of that layer would be a thickness suitable to allow 30 to perform (Para [0013]). Mignot ‘033 teaches diamond like carbon with a thickness of 100Å as a known material for a hard mask in an euv stack. Therefore, the ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 and further modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 in the manner set forth above, at least, because diamond like carbon provides a well-known material for achieving the well-known advantage of being a good material for patterning lower layers of an euv stack.
As incorporated, the diamond like carbon and thickness of the diamond like carbon taught by Mignot ‘334 would be used as the bottom layer (30) and the thickness of (30) of Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 and further modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033.
But Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 as modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 and further modified by Mignot ‘334 fails to explicitly disclose the middle layer selected from the group consisting of a bottom anti-reflective coating (BARC), a dielectric anti-reflective coating (DARC), silicon, boron, a doped silicon, or a doped boron the middle layer configured to be converted to a modified middle layer consisting essentially of silicon dioxide.
Nevertheless, in a related endeavor (Fig 1a-1c of Clevenger ‘753), Clevenger ‘753 teaches the middle layer selected from the group consisting of (Note: Examiner’s above interpretation of the group consisting of one or more of one or more of a bottom anti-reflective coating (BARC), a dielectric anti-reflective coating (DARC), silicon, boron, a doped silicon, or a doped boron” as “the group consisting of one or more of one or more of a bottom anti-reflective coating (BARC), a dielectric anti-reflective coating (DARC), silicon, a doped silicon”) a bottom anti-reflective coating (BARC), a dielectric anti-reflective coating (DARC), a doped silicon, silicon boron, or a doped boron the middle layer configured to be converted to a modified middle layer consisting essentially of silicon dioxide. (Clevenger ‘753 teaches in Para [0035] and Fig 1a-1c of Clevenger ‘753 of a silicon layer (112) that can be modified by an oxidation process to a modified layer of silicon oxide).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Clevenger ‘753’s teaching of the middle layer selected from the group consisting of a bottom anti-reflective coating (BARC), a dielectric anti-reflective coating (DARC), silicon, a doped silicon the middle layer configured to be converted to a modified middle layer consisting essentially of silicon dioxide into Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 as modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 and further modified by Mignot ‘334’s device. Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 as modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 and further modified by Mignot ‘334 teaches an euv stack as disclosed above and further teaches a middle layer directly disposed on a bottom layer. Clevenger ‘753 teaches a stack for photolithography and further teaches that a silicon layer can be oxidized (modified). Therefore, the ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 as modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 and further modified by Mignot ‘334’s device. as modified by Chen ‘711 as modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 and further modified by Mignot ‘334 in the manner set forth above, at least, because as Clevenger ‘753 teaches in Para [0035] modifying the silicon layer impact the speed of the photolithographic process which, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize, allows finer features to be developed.
As incorporated, the teaching of using a silicon middle layer that can be modified to silicon oxide of Clevenger ‘753 would be used as the middle layer (35) of Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 as modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 and further modified by Mignot ‘334.
But Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 as modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 and modified by Mignot ‘334 and further modified by Clevenger ‘753 fails to explicitly teach the middle layer having a thickness less than or equal to about 200 Å.
Nevertheless, Yu ‘234 teaches the middle layer (35) having a thickness “ranging from about 300 angstroms to about 900 angstroms” (Para [0014] of Yu ‘234). And Yu ‘234 further teaches, “the thickness of the second liner layer 35 varies according to the process node in which the semiconductor device 5 is being manufactured”. Therefore, because layer thicknesses are known to affect photolithography results, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to the recited thicknesses through routine experimentation to achieve desired characteristics of the formed semiconductor device with the middle layer having a thickness less than or equal to about 200 Å.
As incorporated, the thickness of middle layer (35) of less than or equal to 200Å would be used as the middle layer thickness (35) of Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 as modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 and modified by Mignot ‘334 and further modified by Clevenger ‘753.
But Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 as modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 and modified by Mignot ‘334 and further modified by Clevenger ‘753 fails to explicitly disclose an organic resist (Para [0015] discloses 40 as chemical amplified resist) having a thickness less than or equal to about 280 Å.
Nevertheless, Yu ‘234 teaches the organic resist (40) having a thickness “a thickness ranging between about 700 angstroms to about 1,200 angstroms” (Para [0015] of Yu ‘234). Therefore, because the specific composition and thicknesses of photoresists are known to affect photolithography results, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to the recited thicknesses through routine experimentation to achieve desired lithography characteristics of the patterned photoresist layer having a thickness less than or equal to about 280 Å.
As incorporated, the thickness of the organic patterned photoresist (40) of less than or equal to 280Å would be used as the patterned photoresist thickness (40) of Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 as modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 and modified by Mignot ‘334 and further modified by Clevenger ‘753.
With respect to Claim 2 Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 as modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 and modified by Mignot ‘334 and further modified by Clevenger ‘753 discloses all limitations of the film stack of claim 1, and Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 as modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 and modified by Mignot ‘334 and further modified by Clevenger ‘753 further discloses wherein the photoresist (40) comprises an organic resist (Para [0015] of Yu ‘334 discloses 40 as chemical amplified resist) having a thickness less than or equal to about 280 Å (as described above, the incorporated resulting thickness of photoresist layer 40 would be less than or equal to about 280Å).
With respect to Claim 4 Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 as modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 and modified by Mignot ‘334 and further modified by Clevenger ‘753 discloses all limitations of the film stack of claim 1, and Mignot ‘334 further discloses diamond-like carbon (Para [0033] of Mignot ‘334 discloses 72L as diamond-like-carbon) and Mignot ‘334 also teaches wherein the diamond-like carbon has a density greater than 1.8 g/cc, a modulus greater than 150 GPa, and a stress less than -500 MPa. (Examiner Note: “the diamond-like carbon has a density greater than 1.8 g/cc, a modulus greater than 150 GPa, and a stress less than -500 MPa” is a functional property of the diamond-like-carbon.) (Para [0033] of Mignot ‘334 discloses diamond-like carbon which is the same material disclosed in the instant application in Para [0008] of the specification. Therefore the diamond-like carbon of Mignot ‘334 must behave the same as the diamond-like carbon of the instant application).
With respect to Claim 5 Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 as modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 and modified by Mignot ‘334 and further modified by Clevenger ‘753 discloses all limitations of the film stack of claim 1, and Mignot ‘334 further discloses the diamond-like carbon (Para [0033] of Mignot ‘334 discloses 72L as diamond-like-carbon) and Mignot ‘334 also teaches wherein the diamond-like carbon has an sp3 carbon content in a range of from 50 percent to 90 percent. (Examiner Note: “the diamond-like carbon has an sp3 carbon content in a range of from 50 percent to 90 percent” is a functional property of the diamond-like-carbon.) (Paragraph [0033] of Mignot ‘334 discloses diamond-like carbon which is the same material disclosed in the instant application in Para [0008] of the specification. Therefore the diamond-like carbon of Mignot ‘334 must behave the same as the diamond-like carbon of the instant application).
With respect to Claim 6 Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 as modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 and modified by Mignot ‘334 and further modified by Clevenger ‘753 discloses all limitations of the film stack of claim 1, and Mignot ‘334 further teaches wherein the low-k dielectric layer (30L, Fig 1 of Mignot’334, Para [0026]) comprises SiCOH (Para [0028] of Mignot’334 discloses 30L as SiCOH).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Mignot ‘334’s teaching of the low-k dielectric comprises SiCOH into Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 as modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 and modified by Mignot ‘334 and further modified by Clevenger ‘753’s device. Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 as modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 and modified by Mignot ‘334 and further modified by Clevenger ‘753 teaches the use of a low-k dielectric, as described above, but Chen ‘711 is not specific on the material of the low-k dielectric (Para [0019] of Chen ‘711. Mignot ‘334 teaches (Para [0028]) SiCOH as a low-k dielectric. Therefore the ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 as modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 and modified by Mignot ‘334 and further modified by Clevenger ‘753, at least, because the use of SiCOH provides a well-known low-k dielectric (taught by Mignot ‘334 in Para [0028]) for the use in an euv stack. Therefore the teaching of the use of SiCOH as the low-k dielectric will save the person of ordinary skill in the art R&D time to determine an appropriate low-k material and will provide good dielectric properties to the final device.
As incorporated, the use of SiCOH as the low-k dielectric layer as taught by Mignot ‘334 would be used as the low-k dielectric (10) of Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 as modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 and modified by Mignot ‘334 and further modified by Clevenger ‘753’s device.
With respect to Claim 7 Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 as modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 and modified by Mignot ‘334 and further modified by Clevenger ‘753 discloses all limitations of the film stack of claim 1, and Yu ‘234 further teaches wherein the silicon oxide layer (20) is not optional (Yu ‘234 does not cite the layer 20 as optional) and is directly disposed (disclosed in Fig 1 and Para [0011]) on the hard mask (15), and the bottom layer (30) is directly disposed on the silicon oxide layer (20) (Para [0012] discloses layer 25, shown in Fig 1, as optional so not applying that layer results in 30 directly disposed on 20).
With respect to Claim 8 Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 as modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 and modified by Mignot ‘334 and further modified by Clevenger ‘753 discloses all limitations of the film stack of claim 1, but Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 as modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 and modified by Mignot ‘334 and further modified by Clevenger ‘753 fails to explicitly discloses wherein the middle layer (35) has a thickness of less than or equal to about 160 Å.
Nevertheless, Yu ‘234 teaches the middle layer (35) having a thickness “ranging from about 300 angstroms to about 900 angstroms” (Para [0014] of Yu ‘234). And Yu ‘234 further teaches, “the thickness of the second liner layer 35 varies according to the process node in which the semiconductor device 5 is being manufactured”. Therefore, because layer thicknesses are known to affect photolithography results, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to the recited thicknesses through routine experimentation to achieve desired characteristics of the formed semiconductor device wherein the middle layer has a thickness of less than or equal to about 160 Å.
As incorporated, the thickness of middle layer (35) of less than or equal to 160Å would be used as the middle layer thickness (35) of Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 as modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 and modified by Mignot ‘334 and further modified by Clevenger ‘753.
With respect to Claim 9 Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 as modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 and modified by Mignot ‘334 and further modified by Clevenger ‘753 discloses all limitations of the film stack of claim 1, wherein the doped silicon comprises phosphorus doped silicon. (Claim 1 allows a selection of multiple coatings, for this examination a silicon layer has been selected. Therefore since Claim 9 depends to a selection in claim 1, Claim 9 is automatically satisfied as we have selected a silicon layer in Claim 1).
With respect to Claim 12 Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 as modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 and modified by Mignot ‘334 and further modified by Clevenger ‘753 discloses all limitations of the film stack of claim 1,
but Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 as modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 and modified by Mignot ‘334 and further modified by Clevenger ‘753 fails to explicitly disclose wherein the middle layer, has a higher etch selectivity relative to the patterned photoresist and has a first etch selectivity relative to the bottom layer, and wherein the modified middle layer has a second etch selectivity relative to the bottom layer, the second etch selectivity being greater than the first etch selectivity.
However, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in setting up a material stack for photolithography have lower materials in the stack to have a higher etch selectivity relative to upper layers. Having lower layers with higher etch selectivity than upper layers will achieve the well-known result of forming patterns in the lower layers using the pattern of the upper layer as a mask. Further, it would be obvious to a person with skill in the art that process conditions (etchant type, temperature, etc.) can be changed to manipulate the process so that the desired etched pattern can be achieved. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select materials for the euv stack with relative etch selectivity’s to achieve the desired etch pattern. Further it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust process conditions so that layers are etched relative to one another to achieve the desired etch patterns.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu ‘234 in view of Chen ‘711 in view of Ben-Tzur ‘033, in view of Mignot ‘334 in view of Clevenger ‘753 and in further view of Chang et al. (US 7,482,280 B2, hereinafter Chang ‘280) in view of the following arguments.
With respect to Claim 3 Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 as modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 and modified by Mignot ‘334 and further modified by Clevenger ‘753 discloses all limitations of the film stack of claim 1, but Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 as modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 and further modified by Mignot ‘334 fails to explicitly disclose wherein the photoresist is a metal oxide photoresist with a thickness less than or equal to about 130 Å.
Nevertheless, in a related endeavor (Fig 4 of Chang ‘280), Chang ‘280 teaches wherein the photoresist (140, Fig 4 of Chang ‘280, Col 4, Lines 20-22) is a metal oxide photoresist (disclosed in Col 4, Lines 20-22 of Chang ‘280) with a thickness less than or equal to about 130 Å (Col 3, Lines 39-41 of Chang ‘280 discloses layer 140 as 5-100Å).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Chang ‘280’s photoresist is a metal oxide photoresist with a thickness less than or equal to about 130 Å into Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 as modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 and modified by Mignot ‘334 and further modified by Clevenger ‘753’s film stack. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 as modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 and modified by Mignot ‘334 and further modified by Clevenger ‘753 in the manner set forth above, at least, because this metal oxide photoresist layer provides etching resistance as taught by Chang ‘280 in Col 4, Lines 34-35.
As incorporated, the metal oxide photoresist layer (140) of Chang ‘280 would be used in the patterned photoresist (40) of Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 as modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 and modified by Mignot ‘334 and further modified by Clevenger ‘753.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu ‘234 in view of Chen ‘711 in view of Ben-Tzur ‘033, in view of Mignot ‘334, in view of Clevenger ;753 and in further view of Briggs et al. (US 2019/0198325 A1, hereinafter Briggs ‘325), in view of the following arguments.
With respect to Claim 10 Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 as modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 and modified by Mignot ‘334 and further modified by Clevenger ‘753 discloses all limitations of the film stack of claim 1, but Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 as modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 and modified by Mignot ‘334 and further modified by Clevenger ‘753 fails to explicitly disclose wherein the middle layer (35) consists essentially of amorphous silicon.
Nevertheless, in a related endeavor (Fig 1-5 of Briggs ‘325), Briggs ’325 teaches the middle layer (160, Fig 1 of Briggs ‘325, Para [0020]) consists essentially of amorphous silicon (disclosed in Para [0020] of Briggs ‘325).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Briggs ‘325’s teaching of the middle layer consists essentially of amorphous silicon into Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 as modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 and modified by Mignot ‘334 and further modified by Clevenger ‘753’s device. Yu ‘234 teaches a middle layer comprising an anti-reflective coating (Para [0014] of Yu ‘234) in an euv stack. Briggs ‘325 teaches an amorphous silicon as an antireflective material in an euv stack. Therefore, the ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 as modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 and modified by Mignot ‘334 and further modified by Clevenger ‘753 in the manner set forth above, at least, because this amorphous silicon layer provides a well-known hard mask material in etch processes.
As incorporated, the teaching of using an amorphous silicon of Briggs ‘325 would be used in the middle layer (35) of Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 as modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 and modified by Mignot ‘334 and further modified by Clevenger ‘753`’s device.
Claims 13-14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu ‘234 in view of Chen ‘711 in view of Ben-Tzur ‘033 in view of Mignot ‘334 in view of Briggs ‘325 in further view of Clevenger ‘753, in view of the following arguments.
With respect to Claim 13 Yu ‘234 discloses a film stack for EUV patterning (Fig 1-10), the film stack comprising:
a dielectric layer (10, Fig 1, Para [0009] discloses substrate 10 includes dielectric layers);
a hard mask (15, Fig 1, Para [0010]) directly disposed (disclosed in Fig 1 and Para [0010]) on the dielectric (10), the hard mask (15);
a silicon oxide layer (20, Fig 1, Para [0011]) optionally directly disposed (disclosed in Fig 1 and Para [0011]) on the hard mask (15);
a bottom layer (30, Fig 1, Para [0013]) directly disposed on the hard mask, or if the silicon oxide layer (20) is directly disposed on the hard mask (15) then the bottom layer (30) directly disposed (Para [0012] discloses layer 25, shown in Fig 1, as optional so not applying that layer results in 30 directly disposed on 20) on the silicon oxide layer (20), the bottom layer (30);
a middle layer (35, Fig 1, Para [0014]) directly disposed (disclosed in Fig 1 and Para [0014]) on the bottom layer (30), the middle layer (35), the middle layer (35); and
a patterned photoresist (40, Fig 1, Para [0015]) directly disposed on the middle layer (35), the patterned photoresist (40) comprising an organic resist (Para [0015] discloses 40 as chemical amplified resist) or a metal oxide photoresist with a thickness less than or equal to about 130 Å.
But Yu ‘234 fails to explicitly disclose the dielectric layer (10) is a low-k dielectric.
Nevertheless, in a related endeavor, (Fig 1A of Chen ‘711), Chen ‘711 teaches a substrate (101, Fig 1A of Chen ‘711, Para [0019]) containing a low-k dielectric layer (103, Fig 1A of Chen ‘711, Para [0019]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Chen ‘711’s teaching of a substrate containing a low-k dielectric into Yu ‘234’s device. Yu ‘234 teaches a silicon carbide substrate containing dielectric layers but is silent on the composition of the dielectric layers. Chen ‘711 teaches a silicon carbide substrate containing a dielectric structure and further teaches the dielectric is a low-k dielectric. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated then, to modify Yu ‘234 in the manner set forth above, at least, because using a low-k dielectric would provide good protection against parasitic capacitance in the device.
As incorporated, the substrate (102) containing a low-k dielectric (103) as taught by Chen ‘711 would be used as the dielectric layer (10) of Yu ‘234.
Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 fails to explicitly disclose the hard mask comprising one or more of titanium nitride (TiN) or tungsten carbide (WC) and having a thickness less than or equal to about 200 A.
Nevertheless, in a related endeavor (Fig 1-6 of Ben-Tzur ‘033), Ben-Tzur ‘033 teaches the hard mask (103, Fig 1 of Ben-Tzur ‘033, Col 4, Lines 5-6) comprising one or more of titanium nitride (TiN) (Col 4, Lines 5-6 of Ben-Tzur disclose 103 as TiN) or tungsten carbide (WC) and having a thickness less than or equal to about 200 A (Col 3, Lines 1-3 of Ben-Tzur ‘033 discloses the thickness of TiN layer 103 as 200Å to 300Å).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Ben-Tzur ‘033’s teaching of a hard mask comprising one or more of titanium nitride (TiN) or tungsten carbide (WC) and having a thickness less than or equal to about 200 A into Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711’s device. Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 teaches an etch stop layer in the euv stack. Ben-Tzur ‘033 also teaches an etch stop layer in an euv stack and teaches that TiN used in that material functions as an etch stop as it provides good resistance to common etchants and advantageously helps protect lower oxide layers. Further Ben-Tzur ‘033 teaches a thickness of TiN layer 103 as 200Å to 300Å. MPEP 2144.05 I states “in cases where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists”. Therefore, the ordinary artisan would have been motivated, to modify Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 in the manner set forth above, at least, because using the TiN would provide the advantage taught by Ben-Tzur ‘033 to protect lower layers of the stack against common etchants.
As incorporated, the TiN (103) taught by Ben-Tzur ‘033, with the thickness taught by Ben-Tzur ‘033 would be used as the hard mask and thickness (15) of Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 such that the hard mask is directly disposed on the low-k dielectric layer (10 of Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711).
But Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 and further modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 fails to explicitly disclose a silicon oxide layer having a thickness less than or equal to about 200 Å.
Nevertheless, Yu ‘234 teaches a silicon oxide layer having a thickness ranging between about 600 angstroms and about 2,000 angstroms (Para [0011] of Yu ‘234). Yu ‘234 also teaches in Para [0011], “It is understood by those skilled in the art that the thickness of dielectric layer 20 is dependent upon the process node”. Therefore, because thicknesses are known to affect photolithography results, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to the recited thicknesses through routine experimentation to achieve desired characteristics of the formed device with a silicon oxide layer having a thickness less than or equal to about 200 Å.
As incorporated, the thickness of silicon oxide layer (20) of less than or equal to 200Å would be used as the silicon oxide layer (20) of Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 and further modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033.
But Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 and further modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 fails to explicitly disclose the bottom layer comprising diamond-like carbon and having a thickness less than or equal to about 300 Å.
Nevertheless, in a related endeavor (Figs 1-2 of Mignot ‘334), Mignot ‘334 teaches the bottom layer (72L, Fig 1 of Mignot ‘334, Para [0033]) comprising diamond-like carbon (Para [0033] of Mignot ‘334 discloses 72L as diamond-like-carbon) and having a thickness less than or equal to about 300 A (Para [0033] of Mignot ‘334 discloses 72L as 100 angstrom).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Mignot ‘334’s teaching of the bottom layer comprising diamond-like carbon and having a thickness less than or equal to about 300 Å into Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 and further modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033’s device. Yu ‘234 teaches the function of layer 30 is to act as a hard mask in the patterning of lower layers and that one skilled in the art would understand the thickness of that layer would be a thickness suitable to allow 30 to perform (Para [0013]). Mignot ‘033 teaches diamond like carbon with a thickness of 100Å as a well-known material for a hard mask in an euv stack. Therefore, the ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 and further modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 in the manner set forth above, at least, because diamond like carbon provides a well-known material for achieving the well-known advantage of being a good material for patterning lower layers of an euv stack.
As incorporated, the diamond like carbon and thickness of the diamond like carbon taught by Mignot ‘334 would be used as the bottom layer (30) and the thickness of (30) of Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 and further modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033.
But Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 as modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 and further modified by Mignot ‘334 fails to explicitly disclose the middle layer (35) comprising amorphous silicon.
Nevertheless, in a related endeavor (Fig 1-5 of Briggs ‘325), Briggs ’325 teaches the middle layer (160, Fig 1 of Briggs ‘325, Para [0020]) comprising amorphous silicon (disclosed in Para [0020] of Briggs ‘325).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Briggs ‘325’s teaching of the middle layer comprising amorphous silicon into Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 as modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 and further modified by Mignot ‘334’s device. Yu ‘234 teaches a middle layer comprising an anti-reflective coating (Para [0014] of Yu ‘234) in an euv stack. Briggs ‘325 teaches an amorphous silicon as an antireflective material in an euv stack. Therefore, the ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 as modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 and further modified by Mignot ‘334 in the manner set forth above, at least, because this amorphous silicon layer provides a well-known hard mask material in etch processes.
As incorporated, the teaching of using an amorphous silicon of Briggs ‘325 would be used in the middle layer (35) of Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 as modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 and further modified by Mignot ‘334’s device.
But Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 as modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 and modified by Mignot ‘334 and further modified by Briggs ‘325 fails to explicitly disclose the middle layer configured to be converted to a modified middle layer consisting essentially of silicon oxide.
Nevertheless, in a related endeavor (Fig 1a-1c of Clevenger ‘753), Clevenger ‘753 teaches the middle layer configured to be converted to a modified middle layer consisting essentially of silicon oxide. (Clevenger ‘753 teaches in Para [0035] and Fig 1a-1c of Clevenger ‘753 of a silicon layer (112) that can be modified by an oxidation process to a modified layer of silicon oxide).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Clevenger ‘753’s teaching of the middle layer configured to be converted to a modified middle layer consisting essentially of silicon oxide into Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 as modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 and modified by Mignot ‘334 and further modified by Briggs ‘325’s device. Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 as modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 and modified by Mignot ‘334 and further modified by Briggs ‘325 teaches an euv stack as disclosed above and further teaches a middle layer directly disposed on a bottom layer. Clevenger ‘753 teaches a stack for photolithography and further teaches that a silicon layer can be oxidized (modified). Therefore, the ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 as modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 and modified by Mignot ‘334 and further modified by Briggs ‘325’s device in the manner set forth above, at least, because as Clevenger ‘753 teaches in Para [0035] modifying the silicon layer impacts the speed of the photolithographic process which, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize, allows finer features to be developed.
As incorporated, the teaching of using a silicon middle layer that can be modified to silicon oxide of Clevenger ‘753 would be used as the middle layer (35) of Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 as modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 and modified by Mignot ‘334 and further modified by Briggs ‘325.
But Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 as modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 as modified by Mignot ‘334 as modified by Briggs ‘325 and further modified by Clevenger ‘753 fails to explicitly disclose an organic resist (Para [0015] discloses 40 as chemical amplified resist) having a thickness less than or equal to about 280 Å.
Nevertheless, Yu ‘234 teaches the organic resist (40) having a thickness “a thickness ranging between about 700 angstroms to about 1,200 angstroms” (Para [0015] of Yu ‘234). Therefore, because the specific composition and thicknesses of photoresists are known to affect photolithography results, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to the recited thicknesses through routine experimentation to achieve desired lithography characteristics of the patterned photoresist layer having a thickness less than or equal to about 280 Å.
As incorporated, the thickness of the organic patterned photoresist (40) of less than or equal to 280Å would be used as the patterned photoresist thickness (40) of Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 as modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 as modified by Mignot ‘334 as modified by Briggs ‘325 and further modified by Clevenger ‘753.
With respect to Claim 14 Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 as modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 as modified by Mignot ‘334 as modified by Briggs ‘325 and further modified by Clevenger ‘753 discloses all limitations of the film stack of claim 13, and Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 as modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 as modified by Mignot ‘334 as modified by Briggs ‘325 and further modified by Clevenger ‘753 further discloses wherein the photoresist (40) comprises an organic resist (Para [0015] of Yu ‘334 discloses 40 as chemical amplified resist) having a thickness less than or equal to about 280 Å (as described above, the incorporated resulting thickness of photoresist layer 40 would be less than or equal to about 280Å).
With respect to Claim 16 Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 as modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 as modified by Mignot ‘334 as modified by Briggs ‘325 and further modified by Clevenger ‘753 discloses all limitations of the film stack of claim 13, and Mignot ‘334 discloses diamond-like carbon (Para [0033] of Mignot ‘334 discloses 72L as diamond-like-carbon) and Mignot ‘334 also teaches wherein the diamond-like carbon has a density greater than 1.8 g/cc, a modulus greater than 150 GPa, and a stress less than -500 MPa. (Examiner Note: “the diamond-like carbon has a density greater than 1.8 g/cc, a modulus greater than 150 GPa, and a stress less than -500 MPa” is a functional property of the diamond-like-carbon.) (Para [0033] of Mignot ‘334 discloses diamond-like carbon which is the same material disclosed in the instant application in Para [0008] of the specification. Therefore the diamond-like carbon of Mignot ‘334 must behave the same as the diamond-like carbon of the instant application).
With respect to Claim 17 Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 as modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 as modified by Mignot ‘334 as modified by Briggs ‘325 and further modified by Clevenger ‘753 discloses all limitations of the film stack of claim 13, and Mignot ‘334 discloses the diamond-like carbon (Para [0033] of Mignot ‘334 discloses 72L as diamond-like-carbon) and Mignot ‘334 also teaches wherein the diamond-like carbon has an sp3 carbon content in a range of from 50 percent to 90 percent. (Examiner Note: “the diamond-like carbon has an sp3 carbon content in a range of from 50 percent to 90 percent” is a functional property of the diamond-like-carbon.) (Paragraph [0033] of Mignot ‘334 discloses diamond-like carbon which is the same material disclosed in the instant application in Para [0008] of the specification. Therefore the diamond-like carbon of Mignot ‘334 must behave the same as the diamond-like carbon of the instant application).
With respect to Claim 18 Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 as modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 as modified by Mignot ‘334 as modified by Briggs ‘325 and further modified by Clevenger ‘753 discloses all limitations of the film stack of claim 13, and Mignot ‘334 further teaches wherein the low-k dielectric layer (30L, Fig 1 of Mignot’334, Para [0026]) comprises SiCOH (Para [0028] of Mignot’334 discloses 30L as SiCOH).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Mignot ‘334’s teaching of the low-k dielectric comprises SiCOH into Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 as modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 as modified by Mignot ‘334 as modified by Briggs ‘325 and further modified by Clevenger ‘753’s device. Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 as modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 as modified by Mignot ‘334 as modified by Briggs ‘325 and further modified by Clevenger ‘753 teaches the use of a low-k dielectric, as described above, but Chen ‘711 is not specific on the material of the low-k dielectric (Para [0019] of Chen ‘711). Mignot ‘334 teaches (Para [0028]) SiCOH as a low-k dielectric. Therefore the ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 as modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 as modified by Mignot ‘334 as modified by Briggs ‘325 and further modified by Clevenger ‘753 with the further teaching of Mignot ‘334, at least, because the use of SiCOH provides a well-known low-k dielectric (taught by Mignot ‘334 in Para [0028]) for the use in an euv stack. Therefore the teaching of the use of SiCOH as the low-k dielectric will save the person of ordinary skill in the art R&D time to determine an appropriate low-k material and will provide good dielectric properties to the final device.
As incorporated, the use of SiCOH as the low-k dielectric layer as taught by Mignot ‘334 would be used as the low-k dielectric (10) of Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 as modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 as modified by Mignot ‘334 and further modified by Briggs ‘325’s device.
With respect to Claim 19 Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 as modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 as modified by Mignot ‘334 as modified by Briggs ‘325 and further modified by Clevenger ‘753 discloses all limitations of the film stack of claim 13, and Yu ‘234 further teaches wherein the silicon oxide layer (20) is not optional (Yu ‘234 does not cite the layer 20 as optional) and is directly disposed (disclosed in Fig 1 and Para [0011]) on the hard mask (15), and the bottom layer (30) is directly disposed on the silicon oxide layer (20) (Para [0012] discloses layer 25, shown in Fig 1, as optional so not applying that layer results in 30 directly disposed on 20).
With respect to Claim 20 Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 as modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 as modified by Mignot ‘334 as modified by Briggs ‘325 and further modified by Clevenger ‘753 discloses all limitations of the film stack of claim 13, but Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 as modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 as modified by Mignot ‘334 as modified by Briggs ‘325 and further modified by Clevenger ‘753 fails to explicitly teach the middle layer having a thickness less than or equal to about 200 Å.
Nevertheless, Yu ‘234 teaches the middle layer (35) having a thickness “ranging from about 300 angstroms to about 900 angstroms” (Para [0014] of Yu ‘234). And Yu ‘234 further teaches, “the thickness of the second liner layer 35 varies according to the process node in which the semiconductor device 5 is being manufactured”. Therefore, because layer thicknesses are known to affect photolithography results, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to the recited thicknesses through routine experimentation to achieve desired characteristics of the formed semiconductor device with the middle layer having a thickness less than or equal to about 200 Å.
As incorporated, the thickness of middle layer (35) of less than or equal to 200Å would be used as the middle layer thickness (35) of Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 as modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 as modified by Mignot ‘334 as modified by Briggs ‘325 and further modified by Clevenger ‘753.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu ‘234 in view of Chen ‘711 in view of Ben-Tzur ‘033 in view of Mignot ‘334 in view of Briggs ‘325 in view of Clevenger ‘753 and in further view of Chang ‘280, in view of the following arguments.
With respect to Claim 15 Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 as modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 as modified by Mignot ‘334 as modified by Briggs ‘325 and further modified by Clevenger ‘753 discloses all limitations of the film stack of claim 13, but Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 as modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 as modified by Mignot ‘334 as modified by Briggs ‘325 and further modified by Clevenger ‘753 fails to explicitly disclose wherein the photoresist is a metal oxide photoresist with a thickness less than or equal to about 130 Å.
Nevertheless, in a related endeavor (Fig 4 of Chang ‘280), Chang ‘280 teaches wherein the photoresist (140, Fig 4 of Chang ‘280, Col 4, Lines 20-22) is a metal oxide photoresist (disclosed in Col 4, Lines 20-22 of Chang ‘280) with a thickness less than or equal to about 130 Å (Col 3, Lines 39-41 of Chang ‘280 discloses layer 140 as 5-100Å)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Chang ‘280’s photoresist is a metal oxide photoresist with a thickness less than or equal to about 130 Å into Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 as modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 as modified by Mignot ‘334 as modified by Briggs ‘325 and further modified by Clevenger ‘753’s film stack. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 as modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 as modified by Mignot ‘334 as modified by Briggs ‘325 and further modified by Clevenger ‘753 in the manner set forth above, at least, because this metal oxide photoresist layer provides etching resistance as taught by Chang ‘280 in Col 4, Lines 34-35.
As incorporated, the metal oxide photoresist layer (140) of Chang ‘280 would be used in the patterned photoresist (40) of Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 as modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 as modified by Mignot ‘334 as modified by Briggs ‘325 and further modified by Clevenger ‘753.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu ‘234 in view of Chen ‘711 in view of Ben-Tzur ‘033 in view of Mignot ‘334 in view of Briggs ‘325 in view of Clevenger ‘753 and in further view of Bae et al. (US 2011/0117490 A1, hereinafter Bae ‘790), in view of the following arguments.
With respect to Claim 21 Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 as modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 as modified by Mignot ‘334 as modified by Briggs ‘325 and further modified by Clevenger ‘753 discloses all limitations of the film stack of claim 13, but Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 as modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 as modified by Mignot ‘334 as modified by Briggs ‘325 and further modified by Clevenger ‘753 fails to explicitly disclose wherein the middle layer comprises doped amorphous silicon.
Nevertheless, in a related endeavor (Fig 1 of Bae ‘490), Bae ‘490 teaches wherein the middle layer (103, Fig 1 of Bae ‘490, Para [0020]) comprises doped amorphous silicon. (Para [0019 and 0020] of Bae ‘490 disclose hard mask layer 103 as doped amorphous silicon).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Bae ‘490’s teaching of wherein the middle layer comprises doped amorphous silicon into Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 as modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 as modified by Mignot ‘334 as modified by Briggs ‘325 and further modified by Clevenger ‘753’s device. Yu ‘234 teaches a middle layer comprising an anti-reflective coating (Para [0014] of Yu ‘234) in an euv stack. Bae ‘325 teaches a doped amorphous silicon as an antireflective material in an euv stack. Therefore, the ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 as modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 as modified by Mignot ‘334 as modified by Briggs ‘325 and further modified by Clevenger ‘753 in the manner set forth above, at least, because this doped amorphous silicon layer provides a well-known hard mask material in etch processes.
As incorporated, the teaching of using a doped amorphous silicon of Bae ‘490 would be used in the middle layer (35) of Yu ‘234 as modified by Chen ‘711 as modified by Ben-Tzur ‘033 as modified by Mignot ‘334 as modified by Briggs ‘325 and further modified by Clevenger ‘753’s device.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAUL A BERRY/Examiner, Art Unit 2898 /JULIO J MALDONADO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898