DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the rejection of Claim 11 under 35 U.S.C. 103 set forth in the previous Office Action filed 27 January 2026, on page 5 of the previous reply filed 8 April 2026, Applicant asserts:
Udrea however fails to disclose that the electrode (8) is on and directly contacting top surfaces of the barrier layer (1) and the buffer layer (3).
Applicant’s assertion has been fully considered but is not found persuasive, as the Examiner is able to provide a new and clear item-to-item mapping for the rejection of this amended claim below via the use of a proper broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language as necessitated by Applicant’s amendment. Therefore, amending Claim 11 as provided by Applicant in the aforementioned reply is not deemed to patentably distinguish Applicant’s claimed invention from the known invention of the prior art of record.
Further regarding the rejection of Claim 11 under 35 U.S.C. 103 set forth in the previous Office Action filed 27 January 2026, on page 6 of the previous reply filed 8 April 2026, Applicant asserts:
Marinella however still fails to disclose that the electrode is on and directly contacting top surfaces of the barrier layer and the buffer layer.
Applicant’s assertion and associated argument have been fully considered but are moot in light of the fact that MARINELLA is no longer used for the associated rejection.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: ALGAN/GAN HEMT RESISTOR STRUCTURE AND METHOD FOR FABRICATING THE SAME.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11 – 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by UDREA (US 20200168599 A1).
Regarding Claim 11,
UDREA discloses:
A resistor structure (Fig. 14), comprising:
a buffer layer (2) on a substrate (4);
(Note, 2 clearly provides a physical buffer between 3 and 1. Therefore, under a broadest reasonable interpretation, 2 may be construed as a “buffer layer”.)
a barrier layer (1) on the buffer layer (2);
a p-type semiconductor layer (11) on the barrier layer (1); and
an electrode (8) on and directly contacting top surfaces of the barrier layer (1) and the buffer layer (2);
(Note, Fig. 14 shows the top surface of 1 meets the sidewall of 8 at a point. At this point, 8 directly contacts the top surface of 1.)
Regarding Claim 12,
UDREA discloses:
The resistor structure of claim 11,
wherein a width of the barrier layer (1) is less than a width of the buffer layer (2).
(The width of 1 between 8 & 9 in the horizontal direction is less than the full width of 2 in the same direction.)
Regarding Claim 13,
UDREA discloses:
The resistor structure of claim 11,
wherein the electrode (8) comprises a source electrode (Par. 116).
Regarding Claim 14,
UDREA discloses:
The resistor structure of claim 11, further comprising
forming the electrode (8) on a top surface and sidewalls of the barrier layer (1).
(Fig. 14 shows 8 on a top surface of 1--indirectly--and on sidewalls of 1--directly.)
Regarding Claim 15,
UDREA discloses:
The resistor structure of claim 11,
wherein the electrode (8) comprises a reverse U-shape.
(Fig. 15 shows 8 comprises a reverse U-shape between two given "source fingers" 8 and a connecting portion of "source pad" 18, which is construed to be a part of 8.)
Regarding Claim 16,
UDREA discloses:
The resistor structure of claim 11,
wherein the buffer layer (2) comprises gallium nitride (GaN) (Par. 6).
Regarding Claim 17,
UDREA discloses:
The resistor structure of claim 11,
wherein the barrier layer (1) comprise AlxGa1-xN (Par. 115).
Regarding Claim 18,
UDREA discloses:
The resistor structure of claim 11,
wherein the p-type semiconductor layer (11) comprises p-type gallium nitride (pGaN) (Par. 6).
Conclusion
/K.S.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2898 /JULIO J MALDONADO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898