Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Kakegawa (US 20090104351).
Regarding claim 1. Kakegawa teaches in the drawings a showerhead (shower head 4 [51-53]) comprising: a base portion (spacer unit 51 [51-57] serving as a lower/base part of the showerhead, commensurate to applicant’s 202); a backplate (base portion 41 serving as the upper/backing part of the showerhead, commensurate to applicant’s 204) extending from the base portion (the central/thicker part of 41 extends in the thickness direction upwards/away from 51, fig. 2, commensurate to applicant’s fig. 6); and a plurality of pillars (only the elongated bosses 55 [56] that do not have holes, fig. 2, 3) arranged in a plenum (55 in the space between 41/51 fig. 2, 3) defined between a first region of the base portion and a second region of the backplate (fig. 2, said space in which 55 are located is between opposing central regions of 41, 51) within sidewalls of the base portion (fig. 2, said space is within left/right sidewall portions of 51 in the x-section view, commensurate to applicant fig. 6) and the second region of the backplate (said space’s lateral span is also within the lateral span of the said central region of 41 bounding upper part of said space, fig. 2), the pillars extending vertically between the base portion and the second region of the backplate (fig. 2, 55 extending between said central regions of 51, 41), wherein each of the plurality of pillars do not include a central hole (fig. 3, the multiple 55s without holes).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 9-11, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Umotoy (US 20060021703) in view of Kakegawa (US 20090104351).
Below is an alternate rejection of claim 1 using Umotoy in combination with Kakegawa to better account for certain dependent claims.
Regarding claim 1. Umotoy teaches in the drawings a showerhead (showerhead 114 [36]) comprising: a base portion (lower gas distribution plate 148 [37]); a backplate (upper gas distribution plate 150 [37]) extending from the base portion (150 extends upwards from 148, fig. 1; fig. 9); and a plurality of pillars (columns/islands 212 [44], shown in detail fig. 2-5, 9) arranged in a plenum (the columns protrude inside the central hollow/recess formed between 150/148 into which the columns/islands protrude fig. 1, 3, 5, 7-9) defined between a first region of the base portion and a second region of the backplate (between an upper part of 148 and lower part of 150, fig. fig. 1, 3, 5, 7-9, consistent w/ applicant’s fig. 6) within sidewalls of the base portion (fig. 1, recess is within the outermost vertical side portions of 148) and the second region of the backplate (as discussed, recess is bounded/below the lower/bottom portion of 150), the pillars extending vertically between the base portion and the second region of the backplate (fig. 1, the columns extend vertically upward between an upper surface of 148 and bottom of 150) but does not teach wherein each of the plurality of pillars do not include a central hole. However, Kakegawa teaches in fig. 2 3 wherein each of the plurality of pillars do not include a central hole (fig. 3, there are multiple bosses 55s without holes). It would be obvious to those skilled in the art at the time of invention to facilitate thermal transfer [56].
Regarding claim 2. Umotoy, in view of Kakegawa, teaches the showerhead of claim 1 wherein: the base portion is cylindrical (fig. 2-5, 148 is a cylindrical/circular plate shape, consistent w/ applicant’s circular plate 202 fig. 2-6); and the backplate comprises a cylindrical base and a conical portion (fig. 9, showing an alternate cross-section of 150 w/ upper cylindrical base, since 150 is circular fig. 6 and lower conical/tapering portion, similar to applicant 204 fig. 6 albeit reversed), the cylindrical base is attached to the base portion (fig. 9, upper part of 150 is indirectly connected/attached to 148), and the conical portion extends from the cylindrical base (as disc, the lower tapered part of 150 extends down from the upper part of 150 fig. 9).
Regarding claim 3. Umotoy, in view of Kakegawa, teaches the showerhead of claim 2 wherein the backplate comprises a recess in a bottom region abutting the base portion and wherein the cylindrical base comprises the pillars that extend through the recess and contact the base portion (fig. 9, 150 has extended recess at bottom that touches/abuts at the top to the cylindrical base/upper part of 148 at the sides, and 150’s upper part/cylin base has the columns extending down thru said recess to contact 148 facing 150).
Regarding claim 4. Umotoy, in view of Kakegawa, teaches the showerhead of claim 2 wherein the base portion comprises a recess in the first region (fig. 1, 3, 148 has a recess formed at its upper surface bounded by outermost side/lateral walls) abutting the cylindrical base (as disc previously, fig 1, 9, the recess extends upwards to touch the upper part of 150) and wherein the base portion comprises the pillars that extend through the recess and contact the cylindrical base (148 has the said columns/pillars that extend upward from its upper surface and extend thru the recess, contact the upper part of 150, fig. 1, 9).
Regarding claim 5. Umotoy, in view of Kakegawa, teaches the showerhead of claim 2 further comprising a stem portion (fig. 1, the central nozzle extending down from 146) attached to the conical portion of the backplate (attached/connected to top of 150 fig. 1, hence also being connected to the lower/tapered or conical part of 150 fig. 9) wherein: the stem portion comprises a gas inlet (fig. 1 has central upper opening/gas inlet connected to 116); and the conical portion comprises a plurality of bores (fig. 9, has multiple gas holes 604) in fluid communication with the gas inlet (fig. 1, 9 they are connected to said inlet and flow the gas from 116), the bores extending towards the base portion and connecting to the plenum (fig. 1, 9, the bores and the pillars extend down toward 148 and connect to/thru the recess/plenum).
Regarding claim 9. Umotoy, in view of Kakegawa, teaches the showerhead of claim 2 wherein the base portion comprises a plurality of through holes extending vertically from a bottom surface of the base portion to the plenum and wherein the through holes are arranged interstitially with the pillars (fig. 1-5, 9 148 has gas holes, eg 204 fig. 2-5, and those between the columns, fig. 1, 9, that extend vertically upward from bottom of 148 up towards the recess/plenum and staggered/alternate amongst/interstitially the columns/pillars).
Regarding claim 10. Umotoy, in view of Kakegawa, teaches the showerhead of claim 9 wherein the pillars are arranged in a first pattern (fig. 2, general staggered circular pattern, but these can be arbitrarily defined/imagined into a wide variety of other patterns) and wherein each of the pillars is surrounded by a set of the through holes arranged in a second pattern (fig. 2, each of 212 is surrounded by also a wide variety of patterns such as a square pattern, but not necessarily by holes directly adjacent).
Regarding claim 11. Umotoy, in view of Kakegawa, teaches the showerhead of claim 10 wherein the first and second patterns are triangular (as discussed, these patterns can be arbitrarily defined, eg we can draw a large triangle among the 212 in fig. 2 that encompasses multiple 212 and for each of the 212 in the large triangle, we can draw smaller triangles formed by 204 that surround each, a few examples drawn below).
Regarding claim 13. Umotoy, in view of Kakegawa, teaches the showerhead of claim 2 wherein diameters of the base portion and the cylindrical base are equal (it is noted the diameter can be interpreted as any diameter, not necessarily the entire span diameter, eg fig. 9 the overlapping/common diameters of 148 and upper portion of 150).
Claim(s) 2, 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kakegawa (US 20090104351) in view of Umotoy (US 20060021703).
Regarding claim 2. Kakegawa teaches the showerhead of claim 1 wherein: the base portion is cylindrical (fig. 2, 3, showing the circular 51 having thickness/height, commensurate to applicant’s 202); and the backplate comprises a cylindrical base (41 is circular, fig. 5, and has a lower/base portion w/ thickness fig. 2, hence being cylindrical) but does not teach it has a conical portion; however, Umotoy teaches a conical portion (fig. 9, showing an alternate cross-section of 150 w/ upper cylindrical base, since 150 is circular fig. 6 and lower conical/tapering portion, similar to applicant 204 fig. 6 albeit reversed). It would be obvious to those skilled in the art at the time of invention to modify Kakegawa to provide an alternate showerhead backplate shape to the straight/cylindrical shape, shown in fig. 13 [52]. Further, it has been held that changes in shape did not render claims patentable, MPEP 2144.04; Kakegawa further teaches, via said Umotoy modification fig. 9, the cylindrical base is attached to the base portion (fig. 9, upper part of 150 is indirectly connected/attached to 148), and the conical portion extends from the cylindrical base (as disc, the lower tapered part of 150 extends down from the upper part of 150 fig. 9).
Regarding claim 3. Kakegawa in view of Umotoy teaches the showerhead of claim 2 wherein the backplate comprises a recess (said space, see claim 1, whose upper part is at 41’s central region, fig. 2, commensurate to applicant’s fig. 6) in a bottom region abutting the base portion (said central region of 41 abuts into 51, via at least central screws 40 fig. 2) and wherein the cylindrical base comprises the pillars (fig. 2, said 55 can be viewed as extending from the base/lower part of 41, consistent w/ applicant’s fig. 6) that extend through the recess and contact the base portion (fig. 2, 55 extends through said space and connects w/ top of 51).
Claim(s) 6-8, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Umotoy (US 20060021703) in view of Kakegawa (US 20090104351) and Leeser (US 20130316094).
Regarding claim 6. Umotoy, in view of Kakegawa, teaches the showerhead of claim 2 further comprising a stem portion attached to the conical portion of the backplate (as disc in claim 5) but does not teach wherein the backplate comprises a plurality of bores extending from the stem portion towards the base portion for receiving a plurality of heaters, respectively. However Leeser teaches in the drawings, the backplate (comprising 80 connected to plates 29ab, commensurate to applicant’s 204) comprises a plurality of bores (fig. 1-6, bores from top of 25 extending thru 80 and into 29ab for passing 36, 40, 32) extending from the stem portion towards the base portion (fig. as disc, the bores extend up from 25/stem down towards 29c base portion) for receiving a plurality of heaters (heater electrodes 36 [34-38]). It would be obvious to those skilled in the art at the time of the invention to modify Umotoy to provide active thermal control to mitigate thermal fluctuations inherent in deposition processes as well as to achieve precise temperature set-points that yield optimal process results Leeser [5, 6].
Regarding claim 7. Umotoy, in view of Kakegawa, teaches the showerhead of claim 2 further comprising a stem portion attached to the conical portion of the backplate (as disc in claim 5) but does not teach wherein the backplate comprises one or more bores extending from the stem portion towards the base portion for receiving one or more temperature sensors, respectively. However, Leeser teaches in the drawings the backplate comprises one or more bores extending from the stem portion towards the base portion (see claim 6) for receiving one or more temperature sensors (there is one bore for thermocouple 40 [35] figs. 4-7), respectively. It would be obvious to those skilled in the art at the time of the invention to modify Umotoy to provide active thermal control to mitigate thermal fluctuations inherent in deposition processes as well as to achieve precise temperature set-points that yield optimal process results Leeser [5, 6].
Regarding claim 8. Umotoy, in view of Kakegawa, teaches the showerhead of claim 2 further comprising a stem portion attached to the conical portion of the backplate (claim 5) wherein: the stem portion comprises a gas inlet (claim 5); and the backplate comprises: a first plurality of bores in fluid communication with the gas inlet (fig. 1, 150 has multiple holes fluidly connected to the inlet flowing gas from 134), the first plurality of bores extending towards the base portion and connecting to the plenum (fig. 1 6-8, the holes eg 604 extending downwards towards 148 and fluidly connected to the plenum/recess in which the columns extend); but does not teach a second plurality of bores extending from the stem portion towards the base portion for receiving a plurality of heaters, respectively; and one or more bores extending from the stem portion towards the base portion for receiving one or more temperature sensors, respectively; wherein the first and second pluralities of bores and the one or more bores are interstitial to each other. However, Leeser teaches, as disc in claims 6, 7 a second plurality of bores extending from the stem portion towards the base portion for receiving a plurality of heaters, respectively (claim 6); and one or more bores extending from the stem portion towards the base portion for receiving one or more temperature sensors, respectively (claim 7); wherein the first and second pluralities of bores and the one or more bores are interstitial to each other (fig. 1-5, the holes for 36 and the one for 40 have intervals between them/separated). It would be obvious to those skilled in the art at invention time to modify Umotoy to provide active thermal control to mitigate thermal fluctuations inherent in deposition processes as well as to achieve precise temperature set-points that yield optimal process results Leeser [5, 6].
Regarding claim 12. Umotoy in view of Kakegawa and Leeser, teaches the showerhead of claim 8 wherein the base portion comprises a plurality of through holes extending vertically from a bottom surface of the base portion to the plenum and wherein the through holes are arranged interstitially with the pillars (see claim 9).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to newly amended claim 1 and the previous rejection using only Umotoy have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kakegawa, both alone and in combination with Umotoy as necessitated by the amendments. Since the argument to the dependent claims is the same made against amended claim 1 above, it is addressed by the response and rejections above. The previous 112 rejection is also withdrawn in view of the amendments.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YUECHUAN YU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718