DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to Applicant’s reply filed 1/15/2026.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
Claims 1 and 3-19 are pending.
Claim 2 is cancelled.
Claims 12, 14, and 16 are withdrawn.
Claims 1 and 3-10 are currently amended.
Claims 18-19 are new.
Claim Interpretation
Applicant has amended various claims to properly recite functional language as a structural element (programming) within the claimed controller. As such, the previous interpretations as intended use no longer apply unless otherwise stated in the body of the rejection.
As before, the Examiner notes that the “at least one high-frequency power supply” and the “at least one bias power supply” are not positively recited in any claim as elements of the plasma apparatus- they merely exist as the target of the claimed controller programming.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to as lacking a proper status identifier. The Examiner believes claim 13 to be (Original).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-10 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 7-10, the claims are indefinite due to the limitation: “when the thickness of the edge ring is smaller than the predetermined value”, which conflicts with the following limitation of claim 3: “wherein the thickness of the edge ring is larger than a predetermined value” (penultimate limitation). As such, the scope of the claims are unclear whether the edge ring is intended to be larger or smaller than the predetermined value, whether only the “larger” edge ring is required and additional programming is required if the “smaller” edge ring is substituted, or vice versa. In the interest of compact and expedited prosecution, the Examiner interprets the added limitations of the claims as contingent upon the condition that a smaller edge ring is present. See MPEP 2111.04(II).
Regarding claim 18, the claim appears to be incomplete such that the intended scope cannot be reasonably determined. In the interest of compact and expedited prosecution, the Examiner interprets the claim as not adding any additional limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 11, 15, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuyama (US Pub. 2019/0088523) in view of Fushimi (US Pub. 2018/0204757) and Fairbairn (US Pub. 2019/0157040).
Regarding claims 1 and 18, Matsuyama teaches a plasma processing apparatus ([0024] and Fig. 1, plasma processing apparatus #1) comprising: a chamber ([0025] and Fig. 1, chamber #10); a substrate support provided in the chamber ([0025] and Fig. 1, susceptor #11), and configured to support a substrate and an edge ring ([0029] and Fig. 1, wafer W and edge ring #30); a controller ([0033]-[0034] and Fig. 1, control unit #43 embodied as a computer with memory) configured to operate: at least one high-frequency power supply configured to generate first high-frequency power coupled to plasma above the substrate via the substrate ([0027] and Fig. 1, HF power supply #22a for plasma generation); and at least one bias power supply configured to generate first electric bias energy supplied to the substrate and second electric bias energy supplied to the edge ring ([0027] and Fig. 1, power supply #22b providing bias power of varying magnitudes).
Matsuyama does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one high-frequency power supply is configured to generate a second high-frequency power coupled to the plasma above the edge ring via the edge ring (Matsuyama appears to disclose wherein only one power is provided by #22a).
However, Fushimi teaches a first and second high frequency power supply, wherein the second high-frequency power supply is configured to generate a second high-frequency power coupled to the plasma above the edge ring via the edge ring (Fushimi – [0030] and Fig. 1, fourth high frequency power supply #28 is coupled to second electrode #14, which resides under focus ring #16).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to include first and second high frequency power supplies similar to Fushimi in order to allow for control over edge plasma density relative to central plasma density (Fushimi – [0062]).
Modified Matsuyama does not appear to explicitly teach wherein each of the first electric bias energy and the second electric bias energy has a waveform repeatedly at a cycle having a time length of an inverse number of a bias frequency, wherein the cycle includes a first period in which voltage of each of the first electric bias energy and the second electric bias energy has a positive level with respect to an average value of voltage within the cycle, and a second period in which the voltage of each of the first electric bias energy and the second electric bias energy has a negative level with respect to the average value, and wherein in the first period, a power level of the first high-frequency power or a power level of the second high-frequency power is set so as to reduce a difference between a top location of a sheath on the substrate and a top location of the sheath on the edge ring.
However, Fairbairn teaches this function (Fairbairn – [0091]: first and second bias sources are synchronized; Fig. 20 depicts a bias waveform with positive/negative values relative to an average; [0067]: describes how sheath characteristics are affected by disclosed techniques; the Examiner also notes that frequency is, by definition, equal to inverse time:
F
=
1
t
; where time is a measure of duration or “period”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to further modify the modified Matsuyama apparatus to comprise the functionality of Fairbairn in order to adjust the ions of a generated plasma sheath to affect processing performance (Fairbairn – [0067]).
Regarding claim 11, Matsuyama teaches wherein the at least one high-frequency power supply comprises a first high-frequency power supply configured to generate the first high-frequency power ([0027] and Fig. 1, HF power supply #22a for plasma generation).
Matsuyama does not teach a second high-frequency power supply configured to generate the second high-frequency power.
However, Fushimi teaches a first and second high frequency power supply, wherein the second high-frequency power supply is configured to generate a second high-frequency power coupled to the plasma above the edge ring via the edge ring (Fushimi – [0030] and Fig. 1, fourth high frequency power supply #28 is coupled to second electrode #14, which resides under focus ring #16).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to include first and second high frequency power supplies similar to Fushimi in order to allow for control over edge plasma density relative to central plasma density (Fushimi – [0062]).
Regarding claim 15, Matsuyama teaches wherein the controller comprises a central processing unit ([0034]), a memory ([0034]), and a connection interface ([0034]: reads out a recipe, thus provides some sort of interface device- the claim does not require any specific type of connection interface).
Regarding claim 17, Matsuyama teaches wherein the controller comprises a central processing unit ([0034]), a memory ([0034]), and a connection interface ([0034]: reads out a recipe, thus provides some sort of interface device- the claim does not require any specific type of connection interface).
Regarding claim 19, the claim is regarded as an intended use of the apparatus as it is not recited as part of the controller of claim 1. The modified Matsuyama apparatus is regarded as capable of performing the intended use since a PHOSITA would recognize that any high frequency power supplied to a plasma will necessarily affect the plasma sheath, thus could be set to achieve the stated result.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuyama (US 2019/0088523), Fushimi (US 2018/0204757), and Fairbairn (US Pub. 2019/0157040), as applied to claims 1, 11, 15, and 17-19 above, further in view of Chen (US 2006/0175015).
The limitations of claims 1, 11, 15, and 17-19 are set forth above.
Regarding claim 13, Matsuyama teaches wherein the at least one bias power supply comprises a first bias power supply configured to generate the first electric bias energy ([0027] and Fig. 1, power supply #22b providing bias power).
Modified Matsuyama does not teach a second bias power supply configured to generate the second electric bias energy.
However, Chen teaches first and second bias power supplies (Chen – [0030] and Fig. 1, first/second power supplies #150/#154).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to provide two of the bias power supplies of Matsuyama since Chen teaches such a configuration provides enhanced control over plasma density and a wider processing window (Chen – [0007]).
Claims 3-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuyama (US Pub. 2019/0088523) in view of Fushimi (US Pub. 2018/0204757), Fairbairn (US Pub. 2019/0157040), and Negishi (US Pub. 2010/0025369).
Regarding claim 3, Matsuyama teaches a plasma processing apparatus ([0024] and Fig. 1, plasma processing apparatus #1) comprising: a chamber ([0025] and Fig. 1, chamber #10); a substrate support provided in the chamber ([0025] and Fig. 1, susceptor #11), and configured to support a substrate and an edge ring ([0029] and Fig. 1, wafer W and edge ring #30); a controller ([0033]-[0034] and Fig. 1, control unit #43 embodied as a computer with memory) configured to operate: at least one high-frequency power supply configured to generate first high-frequency power coupled to plasma above the substrate via the substrate ([0027] and Fig. 1, HF power supply #22a for plasma generation); and at least one bias power supply configured to generate first electric bias energy supplied to the substrate and second electric bias energy supplied to the edge ring ([0027] and Fig. 1, power supply #22b providing bias power of varying magnitudes).
Matsuyama does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one high-frequency power supply is configured to generate a second high-frequency power coupled to the plasma above the edge ring via the edge ring (Matsuyama appears to disclose wherein only one power is provided by #22a).
However, Fushimi teaches a first and second high frequency power supply, wherein the second high-frequency power supply is configured to generate a second high-frequency power coupled to the plasma above the edge ring via the edge ring (Fushimi – [0030] and Fig. 1, fourth high frequency power supply #28 is coupled to second electrode #14, which resides under focus ring #16).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to include first and second high frequency power supplies similar to Fushimi in order to allow for control over edge plasma density relative to central plasma density (Fushimi – [0062]).
Modified Matsuyama does not appear to explicitly teach wherein each of the first electric bias energy and the second electric bias energy has a waveform repeatedly at a cycle having a time length of an inverse number of a bias frequency, wherein the cycle includes a first period in which voltage of each of the first electric bias energy and the second electric bias energy has a positive level with respect to an average value of voltage within the cycle, and a second period in which the voltage of each of the first electric bias energy and the second electric bias energy has a negative level with respect to the average value, and wherein in the first period, a power level of the first high-frequency power or a power level of the second high-frequency power is set so as to reduce a difference between a top location of a sheath on the substrate and a top location of the sheath on the edge ring, wherein the level of the second electric bias energy is set to increase with a decrease in thickness of the edge ring.
However, Fairbairn teaches this function (Fairbairn – [0091]: first and second bias sources are synchronized; Fig. 20 depicts a bias waveform with positive/negative values relative to an average; [0067]: describes how sheath characteristics are affected by disclosed techniques including substrate perimeter; the Examiner also notes that frequency is, by definition, equal to inverse time:
F
=
1
t
; where time is a measure of duration or “period”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to further modify the modified Matsuyama apparatus to comprise the functionality of Fairbairn in order to adjust the ions of a generated plasma sheath to affect processing performance (Fairbairn – [0067]).
Modified Matsuyama does not teach wherein the thickness of the edge ring is larger than a predetermined value, and wherein the power level of the second high-frequency power supplied in the first period is to a power level lower than a reference power level of the second high-frequency power to be set in the first period when the thickness of the edge ring is the predetermined value.
However, Negishi teaches wherein edge ring thickness is considered when determining the application of high-frequency power to an edge ring (Negishi – [0043] and Figs. 7-8: S2 and S12 provide information for S3 to determine sheath profile similar to Fig. 5A, which allows for recipe modifications in S1 including focus ring power values).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to further modify the modified Matsuyama apparatus to comprise the Negishi power feedback system in order to prevent tilting of the plasma sheath that detracts from processing quality (Negishi – [0007]-[0011]).
Regarding claims 4-10, modified Matsuyama does not teach the added limitations of the claim.
However, Negishi teaches wherein edge ring thickness is considered when determining the application of high-frequency power to an edge ring (Negishi – [0043] and Figs. 7-8: S2 and S12 provide information for S3 to determine sheath profile similar to Fig. 5A, which allows for recipe modifications in S1 including focus ring power values; [0010] states an “optimal value” of electric power can be applied; [0015] describes an amount of RF power supplied; [0041] provides additional details).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to further modify the modified Matsuyama apparatus to comprise the Negishi power feedback system in order to prevent tilting of the plasma sheath that detracts from processing quality (Negishi – [0007]-[0011]).
For clarity, the Examiner notes that claims 4-10 require raising or lowering RF power in response to a smaller or larger edge ring, which is taught by Negishi. The “predetermined value” of the edge ring thickness and the “reference power level” are not structurally recited in claim 3, thus are not present in the controller. The Examiner posits that a human operator using the claimed apparatus could also be tasked with remembering the predetermined/reference values and inputting them into the controller algorithm. Even considering the above, Negishi teaches both raising and lowering RF power application such that the actual numerical quantities of the predetermined/reference values above is encompassed- any value can be achieved by the range of raised/lowered RF power application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments concerning the §103 rejections have been carefully considered but are moot in light of the new grounds of rejection as presented herein.
The Examiner notes no claims were rejected in the previous Office action under §102(a)(1), thus Applicant’s traversal (Remarks, pg. 9) appears to be erroneous.
Applicant’s request for rejoinder (Remarks, pg. 10) of withdrawn claims 12, 14, and 16 is noted, but is moot until such time as a claim is found to be allowable.
Conclusion
/Kurt Sweely/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718