DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amended title overcomes the previous rejection.
The amendment to claim 7 overcomes the previous 112 rejection.
See the new rejections below.
Notes on Interpretation
The terms “quadrangular plane”, “rectangular plane”, etc., are interpreted to refer to structures that have a cross-sectional plane with the claimed shape.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamazaki, US 2023/0309364 A1, in view of Kim, US 2016/0225834 A1.
Claim 1: Yamazaki discloses
a substrate (11-12); and
a plurality of unit pixels provided in the substrate, and comprising a plurality of sub-pixels (21, FIG. 1A) each having a light-emitting element configured to emit light, and a plurality of photo-sensing pixels (22) each having a light-receiving element that outputs a sensing signal corresponding to the light,
wherein each of the plurality of sub-pixels comprises an emission area that emits the light, and each of the plurality of photo-sensing pixels comprises a light-receiving area that receives the light, wherein the emission area and the light-receiving area are provided in the substrate to be spaced apart from each other (FIG. 3A), and
wherein each of the emission area and the light-receiving area has a shape of a quadrangular plane (FIG. 3A),
wherein the plurality of sub-pixels comprises:
a first sub-pixel (B) configured to emit light of a first color;
and a second sub-pixel (R) configured to emit light of second color different from the first color.
Yamazaki does not disclosed the claimed comparative widths and lengths. However, these were known in the art. See e.g. Kim FIG. 5, which discloses that wherein a width of the first sub-pixel (B) along a first direction is greater than that of the second sub-pixel (R) and that of a photo-sensing pixel of the plurality of photo-sensing pixels, and a width of the first sub-pixel along a second direction (vertical) intersecting the first direction is less than that of the second sub-pixel and that of the photo-sensing pixel.
It would have been obvious to have had such an arrangement as known in the art.
As the photo-sensing pixel of Yamazaki has squarish dimension like the light emitting pixels, it would have been expected that the long, thin blue subpixel would have the same dimensional relationship as it would to the red subpixel.
Note that Kim discloses the same general arrangement as Yamazaki: a BGBG direction, a perpendicular RBRB direction, and a diagonal to those two RGRG direction:
Note that the entire purpose of Kim is to deal with the different orientations of the blue subpixels, and thus the different orientations and thus different relative dimensions as shown in FIG. 5 would be disclosed or suggested to those in the art.
Claim 2: the emission area has a shape of a rectangular plane, and the light-receiving area has a shape of a square plane (FIG. 3A).
Claim 3: Yamazaki discloses
the emission area of each of the plurality of sub-pixels is spaced apart from the emission area of an adjacent sub-pixel (FIG. 3A), and
each of a distance between the emission areas and a distance between the emission area and the light-receiving area is 16.5 µm or more: “the distance M between the adjacent devices is preferably greater than or equal to 10 μm, further preferably greater than or equal to 20 μm, still further preferably greater than or equal to 30 μm and preferably less than or equal to 200 μm, further preferably less than or equal to 100 μm.” [0081]).
Claim 4: one of the plurality of unit pixels of Yamazaki comprises:
one first sub-pixel positioned in a first column of the substrate;
a first pair of second sub-pixels positioned in a second column adjacent to the first column in the first direction (horizontal in the annotated figure below);
one third sub-pixel positioned in a third column adjacent to the second column in the first direction;
a second pair of second sub-pixels positioned in a fourth column adjacent to the third column in the first direction;
two first photo-sensing pixels positioned in the first column;
and a two second photo-sensing pixels positioned in the third column.
(Note that the bottom of the second pair of second subpixels, although not shown, is clearly apparent from the repeating pattern.)
Claim 5: the first pair of second sub-pixels and the second pair of second sub-pixels emit light of an identical color (green).
Claim 6:
the first pair of second sub-pixels and the second pair of second sub-pixels emit green light (see the annotated figure above), and
either of the one first sub-pixel and the one third sub-pixel emits red light (first subpixel), and a remaining one emits blue light (second subpixel).
Claim 7: the one of the plurality of unit pixels and an adjacent unit pixel positioned in a same column as that of the one of the of the plurality of unit pixels which extends in second direction (vertical) share the two first photo-sensing pixels or the two second photo-sensing pixels.
Claim 8: Yamazaki discloses that
in the first column, the two first photo-sensing pixels face each other with the one first sub-pixel interposed therebetween,
and in the third column, the two second photo-sensing pixels face each other with the one third sub-pixel interposed therebetween. See the annotated figure of claim 4.
Claim 9: Yamazaki discloses that
the one first sub-pixel and the one third sub-pixel are positioned in an identical row (see the annotated figure of claim 4);
and a distance between the one first sub-pixel and the one third sub-pixel in the row is different from a distance between the one first sub-pixel and one of the two first photo-sensing pixels in the first column. Yamazaki discloses at [0081] that there is “distance M between the adjacent devices”, which suggests that the pixels are laid out in a grid with equal spacing. Since the first subpixel and the photo-sensing pixel are right next to each other, and the first sub-pixel and the third sub-pixel are two rows apart, the distances would be different (M vs 2M).
Claim 10: Yamazaki discloses that
each of the one first sub-pixel, the first pair of second sub-pixels, the second pair of second sub-pixels, and the one third sub-pixel comprises an emission area having a shape of a rectangular plane (Yamazaki FIG. 3A),
and each of the first and second photo-sensing pixels comprises a light-receiving area having a shape of a square plane (FIG. 3A).
Claim 11: Yamazaki discloses that
each of the one first sub-pixel and the one third sub-pixel comprises an emission area having a shape of a rectangular plane (Yamazaki FIG. 3A),
each of the first pair of second sub-pixels and the second pair of second sub-pixels comprises an emission area having a shape of a square plane (Yamazaki FIG. 3A),
and each of the first and second photo-sensing pixels comprises a light-receiving area having a shape of a square plane (Yamazaki FIG. 3A).
Claim 20: Yamazaki discloses
a substrate (11-12);
a first sub-pixel (21B, FIG. 1A) comprising a pixel circuit that includes at least one transistor (132, FIG. 2B) provided on the substrate, and a light-emitting element (192) electrically connected to the pixel circuit;
a second sub-pixel (21R) configured to emit light of a color different from that of the first sub-pixel;
and a photo-sensing pixel comprising a sensor circuit that includes at least one sensor transistor (131) provided on the substrate, and a light-receiving element (112) electrically connected to the sensor circuit,
wherein the sub-pixel comprises an emission area (121) configured to emit light from the light-emitting element, wherein the photo-sensing pixel comprises a light-receiving area (122) configured to receive the light, wherein the emission area and the light-receiving area are provided in the substrate to be spaced apart from each other (FIG. 2A),
and wherein the emission area has a shape of a rectangular plane, and the light-receiving area has a shape of a square plane (FIG. 2A).
Yamazaki does not disclosed the claimed comparative widths and lengths. However, these were known in the art. See e.g. Kim FIG. 5, which discloses that wherein a width of the first sub-pixel (B) along a first direction is greater than that of the second sub-pixel (R) and that of a photo-sensing pixel of the plurality of photo-sensing pixels, and a width of the first sub-pixel along a second direction (vertical) intersecting the first direction is less than that of the second sub-pixel and that of the photo-sensing pixel.
It would have been obvious to have had such an arrangement as known in the art.
As the photo-sensing pixel of Yamazaki has squarish dimension like the light emitting pixels, it would have been expected that the long, thin blue subpixel would have the same dimensional relationship as it would to the red subpixel.
Note that Kim discloses the same general arrangement as Yamazaki: a BGBG direction, a perpendicular RBRB direction, and a diagonal to those two RGRG direction:
Note that the entire purpose of Kim is to deal with the different orientations of the blue subpixels, and thus the different orientations and thus different relative dimensions as shown in FIG. 5 would be disclosed or suggested to those in the art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER BRADFORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897