DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over US 2020/0058727 A1 to Kim et al. (hereinafter “Kim” – previously cited reference).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a display device (display device; Fig. 1; paragraph [0041]), comprising:
a display area (display area DA; Fig. 1; paragraph [0043]);
a non-display area (non-display area NA; Fig. 1; paragraph [0043]); and
a pad part in the non-display area and exposed to outside the display device (pad portion PP disposed in the non-display area NA and exposed in top view of display device as shown in Fig. 1; paragraph [0046]), wherein the pad part includes: a conductive layer at which the pad part is exposed to outside the display device (pad portion PP includes a conductive part having conductors p1, p2 of which conductor p2 is exposed in top view of display device as shown in Figs. 1-2; paragraph [0052]); and an insulating part on the conductive layer and defining an opening exposing an upper surface of the conductive layer to outside the display device (insulating portion comprising insulating layers 142, 160, 180 disposed upon conductors p1, p2 of the conductive part and exposing the upper surface of the conductor p2 in the top view of the display device as shown in Figs. 1-2; paragraph [0052]), the insulating part including in order along a thickness direction of the conductive layer: a first insulating layer defining a first opening of the opening (insulating portion comprises insulating layer 142 having a first opening within which conductive part is disposed as shown in Fig. 2; paragraph [0052]); and a second insulating layer facing the first insulating layer and defining a second opening of the opening which is wider than the first opening (insulating layer 160 disposed upon insulating layer 142 and having a second opening larger than the first opening as shown in Fig. 2; paragraph [0052]), wherein a part of an upper surface of the first insulating layer is furthest from the conductive layer along the thickness direction and exposed through the second opening of the second insulating layer (any portion of the upper surface of insulating layer 142 within the region shown in the annotated Fig. 2 below is the furthest from the conductive part in the vertical thickness direction and exposed through the second opening to be in contact with conductor p2 as shown in Fig. 2; paragraph [0052]).
This first interpretation of Kim fails to explicitly disclose the insulating part including in order along a thickness direction from the upper surface of the conductive layer: a first insulating layer contacting the upper surface of the conductive layer and defining a first opening of the opening, wherein a part of an upper surface of the first insulating layer is furthest from the conductive layer along the thickness direction and exposed to outside the display device through the second opening of the second insulating layer.
However, a second interpretation of Kim discloses the insulating part including in order along a thickness direction from the upper surface of the conductive layer: a first insulating layer contacting the upper surface of the conductive layer and defining a first opening of the opening (insulating layer 180 contacting upper surface of conductor p2 of conductive part and defining first opening thereover; Fig. 2; paragraph [0052]); and a second insulating layer facing the first insulating layer and defining a second opening of the opening which is wider than the first opening (insulating layer 160 facing layer 180 which, together with layer 180, defines a second opening, wider than the first opening, within which side surface portions of conductor p2 are disposed; see annotated Fig. 2; paragraph [0052]), wherein a part of an upper surface of the first insulating layer is furthest from the conductive layer along the thickness direction and exposed to outside the display device through the second opening of the second insulating layer (left and right top ridges of upper surface of insulating layer 180 furthest from conductor p2 of conductive part in the vertical direction above conductor p2 and exposed to outside the display device through the left and right extent of the second opening defined in part by insulating layer 160; Fig. 2; paragraph [0052]).
The only difference between the first interpretation and the second interpretation of Kim is the directional reference point from which the order of the insulating layers is determined. Merely changing a virtual reference point defining the order of the insulating layers would require only routine skill in the art. Further, changing the order that the insulating layers are arranged to be the exact opposite order is a mere rearrangement of parts already disclosed by Kim. It would have been further obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first interpretation of Kim with the second interpretation of Kim in order to potentially provide an exposed insulating layer as a structural support or spacer around the conductive part in order to control a height or step profile at the pad interface.
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein: a side surface of the first insulating layer defines the first opening, and the upper surface of the first insulating layer extends from the side surface and towards the second insulating layer to define the part which is exposed (side surface of insulating layer 142 defines the first opening and upper surface extends from side surface and towards insulating layer 160 which is the portion exposed through the second opening to be in contact with conductor p2 as shown in Fig. 2; paragraph [0052]).
Kim fails to explicitly disclose wherein a part of an upper surface of the first insulating layer is exposed to outside the display device.
However, at least paragraph [0088] of Kim contemplates selective etching of conductive layers in the pad P.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim in this manner in order to potentially provide enhanced thermal stability by mitigating delamination risks, improved reliability under stress, and better structural integrity.
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses the display device of claim 2, wherein: the display area includes a pixel including a light emitting element (each pixel PX includes a light-emitting element such as an OLED; paragraphs [0058], [0095]), an encapsulation layer covering the light emitting element (encapsulation layer 400 protecting OLED; Fig. 6; paragraph [0096]), and a touch sensing part on the encapsulation layer (touch area TA having touch electrode 270 disposed adjacent encapsulation layer 400; Fig. 1; paragraphs [0045], [0095]-[0096]); and the encapsulation layer includes a first inorganic encapsulation layer, an organic encapsulation layer and a second inorganic encapsulation layer (encapsulation layer 400 may comprise a plurality of inorganic encapsulation layers and an organic encapsulation layer; paragraph [0096]).
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses the display device of claim 3, wherein: the first insulating layer of the pad part, and the first inorganic encapsulation layer in the display area, are respective portions of a same first inorganic layer (insulating layer 142 made from inorganic material and inorganic encapsulation layer may in part define a first inorganic layer; paragraphs [0083], [0096]); and the second insulating layer of the pad part, and the second inorganic encapsulation layer in the display area, are respective portions of a same second inorganic layer (insulating layer 160 made from inorganic material and inorganic encapsulation layer may in part define a second inorganic layer; paragraphs [0084], [0096]).
Regarding claim 5, Kim discloses the display device of claim 3, wherein the touch sensing part in the display area includes in order from the encapsulation layer: a lower sensing insulating layer (insulating layer 141; Fig. 3; paragraphs [0052], [0081]-[0083]); a lower sensing electrode (conductor electrode p1 disposed upon insulating layer 141 as shown in Fig. 3); an intermediate sensing insulating layer (insulating layer 142 disposed upon conductor electrode p1 as shown in Fig. 3; paragraphs [0081]-[0085]); an upper sensing electrode (conductor electrode p2 disposed upon insulating layer 142 as shown in Fig. 3; paragraph [0086]); and an upper sensing insulating layer (insulating layer 180 disposed upon conductor electrode p2 as shown in Fig. 3; paragraphs [0087]-[0088]).
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses the display device of claim 5, wherein: the first insulating layer of the pad part, and the first inorganic encapsulation layer in the display area, are respective portions of a same first material layer (insulating layer 142 made from inorganic material and inorganic encapsulation layer may in part define a first inorganic layer; paragraphs [0083], [0096]); and the second insulating layer of the pad part, and at least one of the second inorganic encapsulation layer, the lower sensing insulating layer and the intermediate sensing insulating layer in the display area, are respective portions of a same second material layer (insulating layer 160 made from inorganic material and inorganic encapsulation layer may in part define a second inorganic layer; paragraphs [0084], [0096]).
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses the display device of claim 5, wherein: the first insulating layer of the pad part, and the second inorganic encapsulation layer in the display area, are respective portions of a same first material layer (insulating layer 142 made from inorganic material and inorganic encapsulation layer may in part define a first inorganic layer; paragraphs [0083], [0096]); and the second insulating layer of the pad part, and at least one of the lower sensing insulating layer and the intermediate sensing insulating layer in the display area, are respective portions of a same second material layer (insulating layer 160 made from inorganic material and insulating layer 141 made from inorganic material may in part define a second inorganic layer; paragraphs [0084], [0096]).
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses the display device of claim 5, wherein: the pad part which is exposed to outside the display device connects the display device to an external member (pad portion PP connects the display device to signals from an external device; paragraph [0046]), and the external member which is connected to the display device at the pad part includes a printed circuit board or a driver (flexible printed circuit film may transmit signals from external device to display device; paragraph [0046]).
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses the display device of claim 6, wherein: the pad part which is exposed to outside the display device receives a touch input from outside the display device and defines a pad part for the touch sensing part which is connected to the touch sensing part (pad portion PP may receive touch input signals from outside the display device via touch area TA; paragraphs [0045]-[0046]); and the pad part for the touch sensing part includes: a touch sensing conductive part (touch electrode TE; paragraph [0045]), a touch sensing insulating part defining a third opening exposing the touch sensing conductive part to outside the touch sensing insulating part (insulating layer 500 defining opening for exposing touch electrodes TE formed on display panel 10; Fig. 3; paragraphs [0045], [0055]); and the touch sensing insulating part of the pad part for the touch sensing part in the non-display area, and the upper sensing insulating layer of the touch sensing part in the display area, are respective portions of a same material layer (insulating layer 500 and insulating layer 180 may define a layer; Fig. 3; paragraph [0055]).
Regarding claim 10, Kim discloses the display device of claim 9, wherein: the touch sensing conductive part of the pad part for the touch sensing part includes: a first conductive part and the lower sensing electrode as respective portions of a same first material layer (conductor electrode p1 and first touch electrode TE in matrix formed on display panel 10 may in part define a layer; Fig. 3; paragraphs [0045], [0055]); and a second conductive part and the upper sensing electrode as respective portions of a same second material layer (conductor electrode p2 and second touch electrode TE in matrix formed on display panel 10 may in part define a layer; Fig. 3; paragraphs [0045], [0055]), the intermediate sensing insulating layer defines a touch opening exposing the first conductive part to outside the intermediate sensing insulating layer (insulating layer 142 defines an opening within which first touch electrode TE in matrix formed on display panel 10 may be exposed to a user touch as shown in Fig. 3), and the first conductive part and the second conductive part are connected to each other at the touch opening (each of the touch electrodes TE are in a matrix disposed upon display panel 10 within the opening as shown in Fig. 3; paragraph [0045]).
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses the display device of claim 10, wherein within the touch sensing conductive part of the pad part for the touch sensing part, at least one of the first conductive part and the second conductive part is a triple layer structure (touch electrodes TE having data conductor structure may utilize a three-layered structure such as Ti/Al/Ti; paragraph [0086]).
Regarding claim 12, Kim discloses the display device of claim 11, wherein within the touch sensing conductive part of the pad part for the touch sensing part: the triple layer structure includes a lower layer facing an upper layer with an intermediate layer therebetween (three-layered structure may include a lower layer, main layer, and upper layer; paragraph [0086]), and the lower layer of the triple layer includes titanium (Ti), the intermediate layer thereof includes aluminum (Al), and the upper layer thereof includes titanium (Ti) (three-layered structure may be Ti/Al/Ti; paragraph [0086]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in further view of US 2020/0335570 A1 to Long (hereinafter “Long” – previously cited reference).
Regarding claim 13, Kim discloses the display device of claim 11, wherein within the pad part for the touch sensing part: the second conductive part is a triple layer (touch electrodes TE having data conductor structure may utilize a three-layered structure such as Ti/Al/Ti; paragraph [0086]). Kim fails to disclose an upper layer of the second conductive part defines a recess of the second conductive part.
However, Long discloses an upper layer of the second conductive part defines a recess of the second conductive part (multi-layer metal thin film having Ti/Al/Ti structure is etched to form signal line pattern 193 having a recess formed into outer surface as shown in Figs. 4 & 5; paragraphs [0053]-[0054]).
Kim and Long are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of display devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim to incorporate the teaching of Long in order to provide improved contact reliability, reduced risk of delamination, enhanced etching control during fabrication, prevention of short circuits, optimized electrical performance, and compatibility with encapsulation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-20 are allowed given that in independent claim 14, the prior art does not teach or render obvious the limitation “provide an opening in the first insulating layer which is smaller than the opening in the second insulating layer and a remaining portion of the additional layer which is in the opening of the second insulating layer and in which an opening of the remaining portion is defined” and in the combination as claimed, given that it is not obvious to provide an opening in the first insulating layer smaller than a remaining portion of the additional layer in the opening of the second insulating layer and in which an opening of the remaining portion is defined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 10, 2025 have been fully considered. Applicant submitted substantive amendments to claim 1 and corresponding arguments. Regarding the first argument presented, Applicant expresses confusion as to how the stated obviousness rationale relates to the first insulating layer 142 being exposed to outside the display device. Examiner provided a motivation for why selective etching of the conductors p1, p2 of the pad part PP (i.e. related to exposing layer 142 to outside the display device) would be obvious to perform. Therefore, the provided potential benefits of enhanced thermal stability by mitigating delamination risks (e.g. bonding interface of pad part with anisotropic conductive film), improved reliability under stress (e.g. reduced stress concentration in flexible and foldable designs), and better structural integrity (e.g. defect reduction and electrical stability) are related in the context of Kim to exposing the layer 142 to outside the display device. Therefore, Applicant requested documentary evidence of something Examiner was not asserting in relation to a limitation (exposing the first insulating layer to outside the display device) that Applicant’s Remarks do not support with any stated advantages or benefits, which leaves as default the assumption that this feature is a circumstantial design choice. It is noted that this line of argument is now moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments. Regarding the second and third arguments, Applicant questions the relevance of Examiner’s citation to paragraph [0088] and adjacent disclosure of Kim. As noted by Applicant, paragraphs [0088]-[0089] of Kim disclose etching of the conductor p2 and provides motivation/benefits for doing so, which would similarly apply if additional etching were performed as an alternative to the surface etching. Applicant further asserts that the opening in layer 500 is not wider than the opening in layer 180. Examiner agrees and does not rely upon this interpretation of Kim. Regarding the fourth argument, Applicant asserts that Kim does not disclose the limitations amended into claim 1 because conductor p2 is disposed on layers 142 and 160. Examiner maps ‘insulating part’ to all of layers 142, 160, 180. Therefore, a portion of the insulating part of Kim (i.e. layer 180) is disposed upon the conductor p2. Further, Examiner agrees that the original first interpretation of Kim does not disclose amended claim 1, but provides a new ground of rejection using an alternative second interpretation of Kim. The only difference between the first interpretation and the second interpretation of Kim is the directional reference point from which the order of the insulating layers is determined, which renders amended claim 1 obvious in view of Kim.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/IAN DEGRASSE/Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/JEFF W NATALINI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2818