DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
An Amendment filed on 06/152026, responding to the Office Action mailed on 03/13/2026, has been acknowledged and entered into the record. The present Final Rejection is made with all the suggested amendments being fully considered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-13 and 15-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Rejection note: Italicized claim limitations are limitations not explicitly disclosed in the primary
reference but disclosed in the secondary reference.
Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eom et al. (US 20200285338 A1), in view of Yang et al. (US 20230056588 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Eom et al. teaches a display device comprising:
a display panel 80 including pixels disposed in a display area DAR and a non-display area DDR adjacent to at least a side of the display area DAR (Fig. 1: DAR, DDR, paragraph 0044, 0045, 0053);
a circuit board 40 bonded to at least a surface of the display panel 80 that overlaps the non- display area DDR in a plan view, the circuit board 40 being electrically connected to the pixels (Fig. 1: 40, Fig. 2: 40, paragraph 0041);
and an optical layer 50 disposed on the display panel 80 (see annotated Fig. 2: 50, 80, paragraph 0046, 0043, 0092),
wherein the optical layer 50 includes:
a first region TAR having a first thickness t1 (Fig. 8: TAR, t1, paragraph 0112);
and a second region TDR having a second thickness t2 less than the first thickness t1 of the first region TAR of the optical layer 50 (see Fig. 8: TAR, TDR, t1, t2, paragraph 0112),
and a step between the first region TAR and the second region TDR (see Fig. 8: TAR, TDR, paragraph 0124),
and wherein the second region TDR of the optical layer 50 overlaps the bonded portion of the circuit board 40 in a plan view (see Fig. 1: 50, 40, TDR, Fig. 2: 50, 40, TDR).
wherein the circuit board 40 extends into the step between the first region TAR and the second region TDR of the optical layer 50 (Fig. 2: 50, 40, TDR, paragraph 0124),
wherein the second region TDR of the optical layer 50 is spaced apart from the circuit board 40 (see annotated Fig. 8: TDR, 50, 40).
wherein the circuit board 40 is folded along a side surface of the display panel 80 from an upper surface of the display panel 80 and extends to a rear surface of the display panel 80 (Fig. 2: 40, 80, paragraph 0072),
wherein the display area DAR of the display panel 80 overlaps the first region TAR of the optical layer 50 and the non-display area DDR of the display panel overlaps the second region TDR of the optical layer 50 (see Fig. 2: DAR, DDR, TAR, TDR),
and wherein the circuit board 40 extends into a gap between a surface of the non-display area DDR of the display panel 80 facing the second region TDR of the optical layer 50 and a surface of the second region TDR of the optical layer 50 facing the non-display area DDR of the display panel 80 (Fig. 8: 40, 50, 80, TAR, TDR, DAR, DDR, paragraph 0124).
Yang et al. teaches a display device comprising the following limitation not disclosed in Eom et al.:
wherein the second region P2 of the optical layer 01, 204 is spaced apart from the circuit board 05, 06 (see annotated Fig. 8: 01, 204, 05, 06, P2).
Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have combined the teachings of Eom et al. with the teachings of Yang et al. in order to have the second region of the optical layer spaced apart from the circuit board. Doing so would reduce mechanical damage to the optical layer during bending of the circuit board, as well as prevent contact, scratching or deformation of the optical layer, thereby improving the reliability and durability of the display device.
Regarding Claim 2, Eom et al. fails to teach the display device according to claim 1, further comprising: a light blocking pattern disposed on a surface of the optical layer facing the circuit board in the second region of the optical layer.
However, Yang et al. teaches a display device comprising: a light blocking pattern 207 disposed on a surface of the optical layer 203 facing the circuit board 05, 06 in the second region P2 of the optical layer 203 (see annotated Fig. 8: 207, 203, 05, 06, P2, paragraph 0074).
Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have combined the teachings of Eom et al. with the teachings of Yang et al. in order to have a light blocking pattern disposed on a surface of the optical layer facing the circuit board in the second region of the optical layer. Doing so would reduce the chromatic difference between the non-display area and the display area, as well as shield the backlight light in the non-display area and thereby prevent light leakage in the non-display area, as recognized by Yang et al. (paragraph 0074).
Regarding Claim 3, Yang et al. teaches the display device according to claim 2, wherein the light blocking pattern 207 is at least one of a printed light blocking pattern, painted light blocking pattern, and anodized light blocking pattern (paragraph 0075).
Regarding Claim 5, Eom et al. teaches the display device according to claim 1, wherein a surface of the optical layer 50, 60 facing the circuit board 40 in the second region TDR of the optical layer 50, 60 includes a step (see Fig. 8: 40, 50, 60, TDR, paragraph 0124).
Annotated Fig. 8 of Yang et al. (US 20230056588 A1)
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eom et al. (US 2000285338 A1), in view of Yang et al. (US 20230056588 A1), as applied to Claim 2 above, further in view of Moon et al. (US 20200295310 A1).
The combination of Eom et al. and Yang et al. fails to teach the display device according to claim 2, wherein the light blocking pattern includes at least one of a ceramic, a metal, an organic layer, and an inorganic layer.
However, Moon et al. teaches a display device comprising a light blocking pattern 510, wherein the light blocking pattern 510 includes at least one of a ceramic, a metal, an organic layer, and an inorganic layer (Fig. 4: 510, paragraph 0022, 0086).
Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have combined the teachings of Eom et al., Yang et al. with the teachings of Moon et al. in order to have the light blocking pattern include at least one of a ceramic, a metal, an organic layer, and an inorganic layer. Doing so would shield the light emitted from the emission area into the non-emission area, as recognized by Moon et al. (paragraph 0086).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eom et al. (US 2000285338 A1), in view of Yang et al. (US 20230056588 A1), as applied to Claim 5 above, further in view of Chang (US 20050019990 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Eom et al. and Yang et al. fails to teach the display device according to claim 5, wherein the step of the optical layer is a lasered portion or an etched portion of the second region of the optical layer.
However, Chang teaches a method of forming thin films, wherein a step of an optical layer 306 is a lasered portion or an etched portion of the second region 306b of the optical layer 306 (Fig. 3B-3C: 306, 306b, paragraph 0031).
Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have combined the teachings of Eom et al. with the teachings of Chan in order to have the step of the optical layer be a lasered portion or an etched portion of the second region of the optical layer. Doing so would create a step in the optical layer, allowing the accommodation of the circuit board of Yang et al. in the second region corresponding to the non-display area, as recognized by Yang et al. (paragraph 0093).
Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eom et al. (US 2000285338 A1), in view of Yang et al. (US 20230056588 A1), as applied to Claim 5 above, further in view of Riegel et al. (WO 2016146438 A1).
Regarding Claim 7, Eom et al. fails to teach the display device according to claim 5, wherein the optical layer comprises:
an anti-reflection layer;
a support layer disposed below the anti-reflection layer that supports the anti- reflection layer;
and an adhesive layer 50 disposed below the support layer (paragraph 0092),
wherein the adhesive layer is removed in the second region of the optical layer.
Yang et al. teaches, wherein the optical layer 203 comprises: an anti-reflection layer 2012, a support layer (a triacetate cellulose TAC layer according to paragraph 0077); and an adhesive layer 211 disposed below the support layer (Fig. 10A: 211, paragraph 0079).
While Yang et al. fails to explicitly teach that the support layer is disposed below the anti-reflection layer 2012 and that it supports the anti- reflection layer 2012, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the support layer can be easily disposed below the anti-reflection layer 2012 so as to support the anti- reflection layer 2012.
Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have combined the teachings of Eom et al. with the teachings of Yang et al. in order to have the optical layer comprise an anti-reflection layer, a support layer disposed below the anti-reflection layer that supports the anti- reflection layer, and the adhesive layer disposed below the support layer. By doing so, the anti-reflection layer would minimize reflections from the display surface, as recognized by Yang et al. (paragraph 0065), and the support layer would reinforce the anti-reflection layer, thereby preventing cracking or deforming during repeated folding of the display device.
The combination of Eom et al. and Yang et al. fails to explicitly teach wherein the adhesive layer 211 is removed in the second region of the optical layer.
However, Riegel et al. teaches a display device comprising an optical layer 312 and an adhesive layer 202, wherein the adhesive layer 202a is removed in the second region of the optical layer 312b (Fig. 4A-4C: 312, 202, 302b, Abstract).
Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have combined the teachings of Eom et al. and Yang et al. with the teachings of Riegel et al. in order to have the adhesive layer removed in the second region of the optical layer. Doing so would provide space to accommodate the circuit board of Yang et al. in the second region corresponding to the non-display area, as recognized by Yang et al. (paragraph 0093).
Regarding Claim 8, while Yang et al. fails to explicitly teach the display device according to claim 7, wherein a portion of the support layer (a triacetate cellulose TAC layer according to paragraph 0077) is removed in the second region of the optical layer, it does teach that some of the additional layers of the optical layer 203 are removed during subsequent processing (paragraph 0077).
Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that a portion of the support layer can be removed in the second region of the optical layer. Doing so would provide space to accommodate the circuit board of Eom et al. in the second region corresponding to the non-display area, as recognized by Yang et al. (paragraph 0093).
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Eom et al. and Yang et al. teaches the display device according to claim 8, wherein the optical layer 50 comprises a reinforcing layer 70 disposed below the support layer (as taught by Yang et al in paragraph 0077) in the second region TDR of the optical layer 50 (as taught by Eom et al. in Fig. 2: 70, 50, TDR, paragraph 0057).
Note that the support layer (the triacetate cellulose TAC layer according to paragraph 0077) is attached to the optical layer 203 and when the reinforcing layer 212 is disposed on the optical layer 203, it could be positioned below the support layer depending on the spatial orientation of the device. i.e., whether positioned upright or upside down.
Regarding Claim 10, Teaches et al. teaches the display device according to claim 9, wherein the reinforcing layer 70 is a hard- coated reinforcing layer and absorbs an external impact applied to the optical layer 50 (Fig. 2: 70, paragraph 0057, 0058).
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eom et al. (US 2000285338 A1), in view of Yang et al. (US 20230056588 A1), as applied to Claim 1 above, further in view of Maeng et al. (US 20200218399 A1).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Endo et al. and Yang et al. fails to teach the display device according to claim 1, further comprising: a protective layer disposed between the circuit board and the second region of the optical layer and covering a portion of the circuit board and the display panel.
However, Maeng et al. teaches a display device comprising a protective layer 185 disposed between the circuit board 170 and the second region of the optical layer 150, 100, 50 and covering a portion of the circuit board 170 and the display panel 360 (Fig. 6: 185, 170, 150, 100, 50, 360, paragraphs 0088, 0089, 0091).
Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have combined the teachings of Endo et al. and Yang et al. with the teachings of Maeng et al. in order to have a protective layer disposed between the circuit board and the second region of the optical layer and covering a portion of the circuit board and the display panel. Doing so would prevent the delamination/separation of the circuit board even when the circuit board is severely bent, as recognized by Maeng et al. (paragraph 0091).
Regarding Claim 12, Maeng et al. teaches wherein the protective layer 185 includes a resin between the circuit board 170 and the second region of the optical layer 150, 100, 50 (paragraph 0072).
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Yang et al. and Maeng et al. teaches the display device according to claim 1, further comprising: a reflective layer 2072 disposed between the optical layer 203 (as taught by Yang et al., Fig. 9: 2072, 203, paragraph 0085) and the protective layer 185 (as taught by Maeng et al., Fig. 6: 185, paragraphs 0091) in the second region P2 of the optical layer 203 (as taught by Yang et al., Fig. 9: 2072, 203, P2).
Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have combined the teachings of Endo et al. and Yang et al. with the teachings of Maeng et al. in order to have a reflective layer disposed between the optical layer and the protective layer in the second region of the optical layer. Doing so would enable the reflective layer to shield the gate driving circuit, as recognized by Yang et al. (paragraph 0085).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eom et al. (US 2000285338 A1), in view of Yang et al. (US 20230056588 A1), as applied to Claim 1 above, further in view of Luo et al. (US 20200183523 A1).
The combination of Eom et al. and Yang et al. fails to teach the display device according to claim 1, wherein the second region of the optical layer protrudes outward from the display panel in a plan view.
However, Luo et al. teaches a display device, wherein the second region 21 of the optical layer 22 protrudes outward from the display panel in a plan view (Fig. 7: 21, 22, paragraphs 0057, 0061).
Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have combined the teachings of Eom et al. with the teachings of Luo et al. in order to have the second region of the optical layer protrude outward from the display panel in a plan view. Doing so would cover and protect portion of the circuit board protruding from the display panel, as recognized by Luo et al. (paragraph 0061, 0062).
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eom et al. (US 2000285338 A1), in view of Yang et al. (US 20230056588 A1), as applied to Claim 1 above, further in view of Kuwana et al. (US 20200264461 A1).
Regarding Claim 16, Eom et al. and Yang et al. fails to teach the display device according to claim 1,
wherein the display panel comprises: a display element layer including a light emitting element (paragraph 0045);
and a light conversion pattern layer disposed on the display element layer and changing a wavelength of light emitted from the light emitting element using a quantum dot, and the light conversion pattern layer is formed through a successive process on a base surface provided by the display element layer.
However, Kuwana et al. discloses a display device 1000A comprising the following limitations not disclosed in Eom et al. or Yang et al.:
and a light conversion pattern layer 9 disposed on the display element layer 100A and changing a wavelength of light emitted from the light emitting element L using a quantum dot (Fig. 1: 9, paragraph 0117), and the light conversion pattern layer 9 is formed through a successive process on a base surface provided by the display element layer 100A (paragraph 0049).
Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have combined the teachings of Yang et al. with the teachings of Kuwana et al. in order to come up with the claimed invention. Doing so would enable the emission of various wavelengths of light using a single light-emitting element.
Regarding Claim 17, The combination of Eom et al. and Yang et al. fails to teach the display device according to claim 1, wherein the light emitting element includes an inorganic light emitting diode.
However, Kuwana et al. teaches wherein the light emitting element includes an inorganic light emitting diode (paragraph 0045).
Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have combined the teachings of Yang et al. with the teachings of Kuwana et al. in order to have the light emitting element include an inorganic light emitting diode. Doing so would enable precise color control of the display device.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eom et al. (US 2000285338 A1), in view of Yang et al. (US 20230056588 A1) and Maeng et al. (US 20200218399 A1).
Regarding Claim 18, Eom et al. teaches a method of manufacturing a display device, the method comprising:
attaching an optical layer 50 to a display panel 80 to cover a circuit board 40 bonded to at least a surface of the display panel 80 (see Fig. 2: 50, 80, paragraph 0046, 0043, 0092),
applying a resin solution between the optical layer and the display;
and forming a protective layer between the optical layer and the circuit board by curing the resin solution,
wherein the optical layer 50 includes:
a first region TAR having a first thickness t1 (Fig. 8: TAR, t1, paragraph 0112);
and a second region TDR having a second thickness t2 less than the first thickness t1 of the first region TAR of the optical layer 50 (see Fig. 8: TAR, TDR, t1, t2, paragraph 0112),
and a step between the first region TAR and the second region TDR (see Fig. 8: TAR, TDR, paragraph 0124),
wherein the second region TDR of the optical layer 50 overlaps the bonded portion of the circuit board 40 in a plan view (see Fig. 1: 50, 40, TDR, Fig. 2: 50, 40, TDR).
wherein the circuit board 40 extends into the step between the first region TAR and the second region TDR of the optical layer 50 (Fig. 2: 50, 40, TDR, paragraph 0124),
wherein the second region TDR of the optical layer 50 is spaced apart from the circuit board 40 (see annotated Fig. 8: TDR, 50, 40).
wherein the circuit board 40 is folded along a side surface of the display panel 80 from an upper surface of the display panel 80 and extends to a rear surface of the display panel 80 (Fig. 2: 40, 80, paragraph 0072),
wherein the display area DAR of the display panel 80 overlaps the first region TAR of the optical layer 50 and the non-display area DDR of the display panel overlaps the second region TDR of the optical layer 50 (see Fig. 2: DAR, DDR, TAR, TDR),
and wherein the circuit board 40 extends into a gap between a surface of the non-display area DDR of the display panel 80 facing the second region TDR of the optical layer 50 and a surface of the second region TDR of the optical layer 50 facing the non-display area DDR of the display panel 80 (Fig. 8: 40, 50, 80, TAR, TDR, DAR, DDR, paragraph 0124).
Yang et al. teaches a method of manufacturing a display device comprising the following limitation not disclosed in Eom et al.:
wherein the second region P2 of the optical layer 01, 204 is spaced apart from the circuit board 05, 06 (see annotated Fig. 8: 01, 204, 05, 06, P2).
Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have combined the teachings of Eom et al. with the teachings of Yang et al. in order to have the second region of the optical layer spaced apart from the circuit board. Doing so would reduce mechanical damage to the optical layer during bending of the circuit board, as well as prevent contact, scratching or deformation of the optical layer, thereby improving the reliability and durability of the display device.
Maeng et al. teaches a method of manufacturing a display device, the method comprising the following limitations not disclosed in Eom et al.:
applying a resin solution between the optical layer 150 and the display panel 360;
and forming a protective layer 185 between the optical layer 150 and the circuit board 170 by curing the resin solution (Fig. 6: 185, 170, 150, 360, paragraph 0084, 0112).
Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have combined the teachings of Eom et al. with the teachings of Maeng et al. in order to come up with the claimed invention. Doing so would prevent the delamination/separation of the circuit board even when the circuit board is severely bent in flexible device applications, as recognized by Maeng et al. (paragraph 0091).
Furthermore, Endo et al. teaches a display device, wherein the circuit board 22 extends into the step between the first region P1 and the second region P2 of the optical layer (see annotated Fig. 3: 22, P1, P2, see Claim 1, column 3, lines 7-18).
Note that an electrooptic layer sandwiched between the substrates 23 and 24 not shown in Fig. 3 will have a step between first region P1 and second region P2 (see Claim 1, column 3, lines 7-18, column 6, lines 43-40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have combined the teachings of Yang et al. and Endo et al. in order to have the circuit board extend into the step between the first region and the second region of the optical layer. Doing so would ensure the circuit board is embedded within the step, thereby realizing thin display devices, as recognized by Endo et al. (column 5, lines 30-34).
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eom et al. (US 2000285338 A1), in view of Yang et al. (US 20230056588 A1) and Maeng et al. (US 20200218399 A1), as applied to Claim 18 above, further in view of Riegel et al. (WO 2016146438 A1).
Regarding Claim 19, Unlike Eom et al., Yang et al. teaches the method according to claim 18, wherein the optical layer 203 comprises: an anti-reflection layer 2012, a support layer (a triacetate cellulose TAC layer according to paragraph 0077); and an adhesive layer 211 disposed below the support layer (Fig. 10A: 211, paragraph 0079).
While Yang et al. fails to explicitly teach that the support layer is disposed below the anti-reflection layer 2012 to support the anti- reflection layer 2012, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the support layer can be easily disposed below the anti-reflection layer 2012 so as to support the anti- reflection layer 2012.
Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have combined the teachings of Eom et al. with the teachings of Yang et al. in order to have the optical layer comprise an anti-reflection layer, a support layer disposed below the anti-reflection layer that supports the anti- reflection layer, and the adhesive layer disposed below the support layer. By doing so, the anti-reflection layer would minimize reflections from the display surface, as recognized by Yang et al. (paragraph 0065), and the support layer would reinforce the anti-reflection layer, thereby preventing cracking or deforming during repeated folding of the display device.
The combination of Yang et al., Eom et al. and Maeng et al. fails to explicitly teach wherein the adhesive layer is removed in the second region of the optical layer.
However, Riegel et al. teaches a display device comprising an optical layer 312 and an adhesive layer 202, wherein the adhesive layer 202a is removed in the second region of the optical layer 312b (Fig. 4A-4C: 312, 202, 302b, Abstract).
Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have combined the teachings of Eom et al., Yang et al., Maeng et al. and Riegel et al. in order to have the adhesive layer removed in the second region of the optical layer. Doing so would provide space to accommodate the circuit board in the second region corresponding to the non-display area, as recognized by Yang et al. (paragraph 0093).
Regarding Claim 20, the combination of Eom et al., Yang et al., Maeng et al., and Riegel et al. fails to explicitly teach the method according to claim 19, wherein a portion of the support layer is removed in the second region of the optical layer.
However, Yang et al. does teach that some of the additional layers of the optical layer 203 are removed during subsequent processing (paragraph 0077).
Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that a portion of the support layer can be removed in the second region of the optical layer. Doing so would provide space to accommodate the circuit board of Eom et al. in the second region corresponding to the non-display area, as recognized by Yang et al. (paragraph 0093).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HAMNA FATHIMA IQBAL/Examiner, Art Unit 2817 08/17/2026
/Kretelia Graham/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2817