DETAILED ACTION
General Remarks
3. When responding to this office action, applicants are advised to provide the examiner with paragraph numbers in the application and/or references cited to assist the examiner in locating appropriate paragraphs.
4. Per MPEP 2111 and 2111.01, the claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation and the words of the claims are given their plain meaning consistent with the specification without importing claim limitations from the specification.
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant’s arguments, see Response to Rejections of Claims 1-11 and 14-19 Under 35 U.S.C. § 103, filed 2/20/2026, with respect to the rejections of Claims 1 and 14 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Camras, Michael D et al. (Pub No. US 20110062469 A1) (hereinafter, Camras) in view of Leung, Michael et al. (Pub No. US 20090224277 A1) (hereinafter, Leung) in view of Watanabe, Yusuke Shizuoka (Pub No. US 20150263239 A1) (hereinafter, Watanabe).
For above mentioned reasons, the rejection is deemed proper and considered final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1, 3, 5-8, 11 and 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Camras, Michael D et al. (Pub No. US 20110062469 A1) (hereinafter, Camras) in view of Leung, Michael et al. (Pub No. US 20090224277 A1) (hereinafter, Leung), and further in view of Watanabe, Yusuke Shizuoka (Pub No. US 20150263239 A1) (hereinafter, Watanabe).
Camras, Fig 2A: Molded lens with light emitter and lumiphoric layer
Re Claim 1, (Currently Amended) Camras teaches a solid state light emitting device (Figs 2A, 15), comprising:
at least one LED (LED die; 202; Fig 2A; ¶[0019]) mounted over a first surface (Upper surface; Fig 2A; ¶[0020]) of a submount (210; Fig 2A; ¶[0020]), with an outer surface (Upper and side surfaces of LED die 202; Fig 2A) of the at least one LED (LED die; 202; Fig 2A; ¶[0019]) being distal (Side and upper surfaces not contacting submount 210; Fig 2A) from the first surface;
a lumiphoric material layer (Window element; 222; Fig 2A; Per ¶[0034] also known as wavelength converting element) comprising lumiphoric material (Ceramic phosphor plate, i.e. luminiscent ceramics; ¶¶[0034,0035]), the lumiphoric material layer being arranged over an entirety of the outer surface (Spans entirety of LED die 202 outer surface; Fig 2A) of the at least one LED, wherein lateral edge surfaces (Side surfaces of LED die 202; Fig 2A) of the at least one LED are devoid of lumiphoric material, and
a fill material layer (Reflective underfill material; 1512; Fig 15; ¶[0095]) comprising fill material (Silicone filled with a reflective thermal grease, a metal film, reflective or scattering particles, or a combination thereof may also be used; ¶[0095]), and the fill material layer contacting the lateral edge surfaces (Side surfaces of LED die 202; Fig 15) of the at least one LED, the fill material comprising white or light-reflective particles (Reflective or scattering particles; ¶[0095]) dispersed in a binder (Silicone; ¶[0095]).
a scattering material layer (Second silicone; 232; Fig 2A; ¶[0046]) contacting lateral boundaries (Sides of window element 222; Fig 2A) of the lumiphoric material layer;
However, Camras does not teach the lumiphoric material layer being in contact with the outer surface of the at least one LED,
wherein a proximal surface of the lumiphoric material layer is arranged between an opposing, parallel distal surface of the lumiphoric material layer and the outer surface of the at least one LED,
and wherein the proximal surface of the lumiphoric material layer has a greater width than the distal surface; and
wherein a central portion of the lumiphoric material layer is arranged over the entirety of the outer surface of the at least one LED,
and an average thickness of a peripheral portion of the lumiphoric material is less than an average thickness of the central portion of the lumiphoric material.
wherein the lumiphoric material layer overlaps a portion of the fill material layer proximate to a perimeter of the outer surface of the at least one LED,
with the peripheral portion of the lumiphoric material layer being arranged over a portion of the fill material in a region around a perimeter of the outer surface of the at least one LED;
and wherein the scattering material layer conforms to lateral boundaries of the peripheral portion of the lumiphoric material layer,
with a portion of the scattering material layer overlapping the peripheral portion of the lumiphoric material layer.
Leung, Fig 17B: Lumiphoric layer disposed over LED
In the same field of endeavor, Leung teaches wherein a proximal surface (Convex lower surface; 19B; Fig 17B; ¶[0100]) of the lumiphoric material layer (Luminescent conversion element; 19; Fig 17B; ¶[0100]) is arranged between an opposing, parallel distal surface (Convex upper surface; 19A; Fig 17B; ¶[0100]; Note: The upper surface 19A has a portion parallel to lower surface 19B) of the lumiphoric material layer and the outer surface (Outer surface of LED 103a) of the at least one LED (LED; 103a; Figs 2/17B; ¶[0003]),
and wherein the proximal surface of the lumiphoric material layer has a greater width (Greater width on the parallel portions of 19B than 19A; Fig 17B) than the distal surface; and
wherein a central portion (Central portion of 19; Fig 17B) of the lumiphoric material layer is arranged over the entirety of the outer surface of the at least one LED,
and an average thickness of a peripheral portion (Vertical thickness of outer portions of 19; Fig 17B) of the lumiphoric material is less than an average thickness (Vertical thickness of central portions of 19; Fig 17B) of the central portion of the lumiphoric material.
wherein the lumiphoric material layer overlaps a portion of the fill material layer (Encapsulant material; 14; Fig 17B; ¶[0079]) proximate to a perimeter (Perimeter of LED 103a; Figs 2/17B) of the outer surface of the at least one LED,
with the peripheral portion of the lumiphoric material layer being arranged over a portion (Portion of encapsulant 14 surrounding LED 103a; Figs 2/17B) of the fill material in a region around a perimeter (Region around perimeter of LED 103a; Fig 17B) of the outer surface of the at least one LED.
and wherein the scattering material layer (Third encapsulant material; 17; Fig 17B; ¶[0105]) conforms to lateral boundaries of the peripheral portion (Side surfaces of peripheral portion of luminescent conversion element 19; Fig 17B) of the lumiphoric material layer,
with a portion (Portions of encapsulant 17 on periphery of luminescent conversion element 19; Fig 17B) of the scattering material layer overlapping the peripheral portion of the lumiphoric material layer.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Light Emitting Device as disclosed by Camras by using a lumiphoric material layer comprising of a proximal portion having a greater width than a parallel to a distal portion of the lumiphoric material layer, a central portion of the lumiphoric material layer to be arranged over the entirety of the outer surface of the at least one LED, and an average thickness of a peripheral portion of the lumiphoric material is less than an average thickness of the central portion of the lumiphoric material, wherein the lumiphoric material layer overlaps a portion of the fill material layer proximate to a perimeter of the outer surface of the at least one LED, with the peripheral portion of the lumiphoric material layer being arranged over a portion of the fill material in a region around a perimeter of the outer surface of the at least one LED; and wherein the scattering material layer conforms to lateral boundaries of the peripheral portion of the lumiphoric material layer, with a portion of the scattering material layer overlapping the peripheral portion of the lumiphoric material layer, as disclosed by Leung.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification such that substantially all emissions of at least one LED may be absorbed by one or more lumiphoric materials, due to the shape and thickness of the lumiphoric material having a design such that all emissions are captured and a desired perceived color is obtained.
Further, the light travelling through the lumiphoric material which has a proximal surface of greater width than the distal surface would take much shorter time passing through the material by being refracted in a direction closer to the normal of the tangent line along the surface, as suggested by Leung (¶[0093]).
Further, the efficiently coupling the light emitted from the LED to the scattering material layer, it is possible to improve the utilization efficiency of the light emitted from the LED.
Finally, the luminescent conversion element 19 may be chosen or altered to offset and control the path length difference of light rays emitted from the LED which travels through first encapsulant material 14, and the luminescent conversion element 19 must be disposed over the fill material layer proximate to the outer surface of the LED, as the fill material layer defines the lower sidewall 6 of reflector 4 that encompasses the first encapsulant material transmitting the light rays from the LED, as suggested by Leung (¶[0108]).
However, Camras in view of Leung does not teach the lumiphoric material layer being in contact with the outer surface of the at least one LED.
In the same field of endeavor, Watanabe teaches the lumiphoric material layer (Phosphor layer; 52; Fig 26; ¶[0069]) being in contact with the outer surface (Upper surface of LED 1; Fig 26) of the at least one LED (LED Device; 1; Fig 26; ¶[0067]).
Watanabe, Fig 26: Phosphor layer disposed directly over LED in light-emitting apparatus
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Light Emitting Device as disclosed by Camras in view of Leung by using the lumiphoric material layer being in contact with the outer surface of the at least one LED, as disclosed by Watanabe.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification such that light leakage from the LED can be mitigated from laterally emitted light, due to the phosphor layer being directly disposed over the LED, such that the entire radiated light may be transmitted through the phosphor layer, as suggested by Watanabe (¶[0010]).
Re Claim 3, (Currently Amended) Camras teaches the solid state light emitting device of claim 1, wherein the scattering material layer (Second silicone; 232; Fig 2A; ¶[0046]) comprises a maximum height (Height of second silicone 232; Fig 2A) substantially equal to a maximum height (Height of window element 222; Fig 2A) of the lumiphoric material layer (Window element; 222; Fig 2A; ¶[0034]).
Camras, Fig 15: Light emitter with reflective fill material
Re Claim 5, (Currently Amended) Camras teaches the solid state light emitting device of claim 1, wherein the fill material (Reflective underfill material; 1512; Fig 15; ¶[0095]) is compositionally identical (May both be silicone; ¶¶[0046,0095]) to the scattering material layer (Second silicone; 232; Fig 2A; ¶[0046]).
Re Claim 6, (Currently Amended) Camras does not teach the solid state light emitting device of claim 1, wherein the lumiphoric material layer overlaps less than an entirety of the fill material layer.
In the same field of endeavor, Leung teaches the solid state light emitting device of claim 1, wherein the lumiphoric material layer (Luminescent conversion element; 19; Fig 17B; ¶[0100]) overlaps less than an entirety (Referring to Fig 17B encapsulant material 17 surrounding periphery of lumiscent conversion element 19) of the fill material layer (Encapsulant material; 14/17; Fig 17B; ¶¶[0067, 0103]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Light Emitting Device as disclosed by Camras by making the lumiphoric material layer overlap a portion of the fill material layer proximate to a perimeter of the outer surface of the at least one LED, and the lumiphoric material layer overlaps less than an entirety of the fill material layer, as disclosed by Leung, One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to have emissions reflect on the concave surface such as to direct emissions in one or more desired directions and/or generate one or more desired beam patterns.
Re Claim 7, (Currently Amended) Camras does not teach the solid state light emitting device of claim 1, wherein:
the peripheral portion of the lumiphoric material layer is arranged over a portion of the fill material in a region around the entire perimeter of the outer surface of the at least one LED; and
In the same field of endeavor, Leung teaches the solid state light emitting device of claim 6, wherein:
the peripheral portion (Outer portions of 19; Fig 17B) of the lumiphoric material layer is arranged over a portion of the fill material (Encapsulant material; 14; Fig 17B; ¶[0103]) in a region around the entire perimeter of the outer surface of the at least one LED; and
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Light Emitting Device as disclosed by Camras by making the peripheral portion of the lumiphoric material layer is arranged over a portion of the fill material in a region around a perimeter of the outer surface of the at least one LED, as disclosed by Leung.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification such that substantially all emissions of at least one LED may be absorbed by one or more lumiphoric materials, due to the shape and thickness of the lumiphoric material having a design such that all emissions are captured and a desired perceived color is obtained.
Re Claim 8, (Previously Presented) Camras does not teach the solid state light emitting device of claim 1, wherein the peripheral portion of the lumiphoric material layer comprises a non-uniform thickness.
In the same field of endeavor, Leung teaches the solid state light emitting device of claim 7, wherein the peripheral portion (Outer portions; Fig 17B) of the lumiphoric material layer (Luminescent conversion element; 19; Fig 17B; ¶[0100]) comprises a non-uniform thickness (Changing thickness over space; Fig 17B).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Light Emitting Device as disclosed by Camras by changing the peripheral portion of the lumiphoric material layer to comprise a non-uniform thickness, as disclosed by Leung. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification such that substantially all emissions of at least one LED may be absorbed by one or more lumiphoric materials, due to the shape and thickness of the layers of lumiphoric material having a design such that all emissions are captured and a desired perceived color is obtained.
Re Claim 11, (Previously Presented) Camras teaches the solid state light emitting device of claim 1, further comprising a lens material (Lens; 714/1414; Figs 7/15; ¶[0078]) arranged in contact with the lumiphoric material layer (Window element; 222; Figs 7/15; ¶[0034]) and overlying at least a portion of the fill material layer (Reflective underfill material; 1512; Fig 15; ¶[0095]).
Re Claim 14, (Currently Amended) Camras teaches a solid state light emitting device, comprising:
at least one LED (LED die; 202; Fig 2A; ¶[0019]) mounted over a first surface (Upper surface; Fig 2A; ¶[0020]) of a submount (210; Fig 2A; ¶[0020]), with an outer surface (Upper and side surfaces of LED die 202; Fig 2A) of the at least one LED (LED die; 202; Fig 2A; ¶[0019]) being distal (Side and upper surfaces not contacting submount 210; Fig 2A) from the first surface;
a lumiphoric material layer (Window element; 222; Fig 2A; Per ¶[0034] also known as wavelength converting element) comprising lumiphoric material (Ceramic phosphor plate, i.e. luminiscent ceramics; ¶¶[0034,0035]) applied over an entirety of the outer surface (Spans entirety of LED die 202 outer surface; Fig 2A) of the at least one LED, wherein lateral edge surfaces (Side surfaces of LED die 202; Fig 2A) of the at least one LED are devoid of lumiphoric material; and
a scattering material layer (Second silicone; 232; Fig 2A; ¶[0046]) contacting lateral boundaries (Edges of window element 222; Fig 2A; ¶[0046]) of the lumiphoric material layer (Window element; 222; Fig 2A; ¶[0034]).
However, Camras does not teach the lumiphoric material layer being in contact with the outer surface of the at least one LED,
wherein a proximal surface of the lumiphoric material layer is arranged between an opposing, parallel distal surface of the lumiphoric material layer and the outer surface of the at least one LED,
and wherein the proximal surface of the lumiphoric material layer has a greater width than the distal surface; and
wherein a central portion of the lumiphoric material layer is arranged over the entirety of the outer surface of the at least one LED,
and an average thickness of a peripheral portion of the lumiphoric material is less than an average thickness of the central portion of the lumiphoric material.
wherein the scattering material layer conforms to lateral boundaries of the peripheral portion of the lumiphoric material layer,
with a portion of the scattering material layer overlapping the peripheral portion of the lumiphoric material layer.
In the same field of endeavor, Leung teaches wherein a proximal surface (Convex lower surface; 19B; Fig 17B; ¶[0100]) of the lumiphoric material layer (Luminescent conversion element; 19; Fig 17B; ¶[0100]) is arranged between an opposing, parallel distal surface (Convex upper surface; 19A; Fig 17B; ¶[0100]; Note: The upper surface 19A has a portion parallel to lower surface 19B) of the lumiphoric material layer and the outer surface (Outer surface of LED 103a) of the at least one LED (LED; 103a; Figs 2/17B; ¶[0003]),
and wherein the proximal surface of the lumiphoric material layer has a greater width (Greater width on the parallel portions of 19B than 19A; Fig 17B) than the distal surface; and
wherein a central portion (Central portion of 19; Fig 17B) of the lumiphoric material layer is arranged over the entirety of the outer surface of the at least one LED,
and an average thickness of a peripheral portion (Vertical thickness of outer portions of 19; Fig 17B) of the lumiphoric material is less than an average thickness (Vertical thickness of central portions of 19; Fig 17B) of the central portion of the lumiphoric material.
and wherein the scattering material layer (Third encapsulant material; 17; Fig 17B; ¶[0105]) conforms to lateral boundaries of the peripheral portion (Side surfaces of peripheral portion of luminescent conversion element 19; Fig 17B) of the lumiphoric material layer,
with a portion (Portions of encapsulant 17 on periphery of luminescent conversion element 19; Fig 17B) of the scattering material layer overlapping the peripheral portion of the lumiphoric material layer.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Light Emitting Device as disclosed by Camras by using a lumiphoric material layer comprising of a proximal portion having a greater width than a parallel to a distal portion of the lumiphoric material layer, a central portion of the lumiphoric material layer to be arranged over the entirety of the outer surface of the at least one LED, and an average thickness of a peripheral portion of the lumiphoric material is less than an average thickness of the central portion of the lumiphoric material, as disclosed by Leung.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification such that substantially all emissions of at least one LED may be absorbed by one or more lumiphoric materials, due to the shape and thickness of the lumiphoric material having a design such that all emissions are captured and a desired perceived color is obtained.
Further, the light travelling through the lumiphoric material which has a proximal surface of greater width than the distal surface would take much shorter time passing through the material by being refracted in a direction closer to the normal of the tangent line along the surface, as suggested by Leung (¶[0093]).
Further, the efficiently coupling the light emitted from the LED to the scattering material layer, it is possible to improve the utilization efficiency of the light emitted from the LED.
However, Camras in view of Leung does not teach the lumiphoric material layer being in contact with the outer surface of the at least one LED.
In the same field of endeavor, Watanabe teaches the lumiphoric material layer (Phosphor layer; 52; Fig 26; ¶[0069]) being in contact with the outer surface (Upper surface of LED 1; Fig 26) of the at least one LED (LED Device; 1; Fig 26; ¶[0067]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Light Emitting Device as disclosed by Camras in view of Leung by using the lumiphoric material layer being in contact with the outer surface of the at least one LED, as disclosed by Watanabe.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification such that light leakage from the LED can be mitigated from laterally emitted light, due to the phosphor layer being directly disposed over the LED, such that the entire radiated light may be transmitted through the phosphor layer, as suggested by Watanabe (¶[0010]).
Re Claim 15, (Previously Presented) Camras teaches the solid state light emitting device of claim 14, wherein the scattering material layer (Second silicone; 232; Fig 2A; ¶[0046]) comprises a maximum height (Height of second silicone 232; Fig 2A) substantially equal to a maximum height (Height of window element 222; Fig 2A) of the lumiphoric material layer (Window element; 222; Fig 2A; ¶[0034]).
Re Claim 16, (Currently Amended) Camras teaches the solid state light emitting device of claim 14, further comprising a fill material layer (Reflective underfill material; 1512; Fig 15; ¶[0095]) contacting the lateral edge surfaces (Side surfaces of LED die 202; Fig 15) of the at least one LED (LED die; 202; Fig 15; ¶[0019]), the fill material layer comprising white or light-reflective particles (Reflective or scattering particles; ¶[0095]) dispersed in a binder (Silicone; ¶[0095]).
However, Camras does not teach wherein the scattering material layer is arranged over at least a portion of the fill material layer.
In the same field of endeavor, Leung teaches wherein the scattering material layer (First encapsulant material; 14/17; Fig 18A; Per ¶[0017] may include scattering material) is arranged over at and contacts least a portion (Lower sidewall; 6; Fig 18A; ¶[0111]) of the fill material layer (Reflector; 4; Figs 18A; ¶[0111]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Light Emitting Device as disclosed by Camras by making the scattering material layer arranged over at least a portion of the fill material layer, as disclosed by Leung. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to obtain a distinct convex meniscus of the encapsulant material 14 around reflector 4, and the incidence of doming failure may be reduced. Furthermore, a provided meniscus control may reduce the difficulty of lens placement at a desired depth and/or angle, reduce lens wicking or squeeze-out of encapsulant material onto the top of the lens and/or allow for configuration of the optical characteristics of the packaged light emitting device, as suggested by Leung (¶¶[0069]).
Re Claim 17, (Previously Presented) Camras does not teach the solid state light emitting device of claim 16, wherein a portion of the lumiphoric material layer overlaps a portion of the fill material layer proximate to a perimeter of the outer surface of the at least one LED.
In the same field of endeavor, Leung teaches the solid state light emitting device of claim 16, wherein a portion of the lumiphoric material layer (Luminiscent conversion element; 19; Figs 18A-18C; ¶[0110]) overlaps a portion (Lower sidewall; 6; Figs 18A-18C; ¶[0111]) of the fill material layer (Reflector; 6; Figs 18A-18C; ¶[0111]) proximate to a perimeter of the outer surface (Near edges of LED 103; Figs 3A/18A) of the at least one LED (Light emitting device; 103; Figs 3A/18A; ¶[0003]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Light Emitting Device as disclosed by Camras by making the scattering material layer arranged over at least a portion of the fill material layer, as disclosed by Leung. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification such that luminescent conversion element 19 may be chosen or altered to offset and control the path length difference of light rays emitted from the LED which travels through first encapsulant material 14. Furthermore, the luminescent conversion element 19 must be disposed over the fill material layer proximate to the outer surface of the LED, as the fill material layer defines the lower sidewall 6 of reflector 4 that encompasses the first encapsulant material transmitting the light rays from the LED, as suggested by Leung (¶[0108]).
Re Claim 18, (Previously Presented) Camras teaches the solid state light emitting device of claim 14, further comprising lens material (Lens; 714; Fig 7; ¶[0078]) arranged in contact with the lumiphoric material layer (Window element; 222; Fig 2A; ¶[0034]) and at least a portion (Upper surface of 232; Fig 2A) of the scattering material layer (Second silicone; 232; Fig 2A; ¶¶[0044, 0046]; Per ¶[0044] heat sink 224 of Fig 2A is optional, such that the lens 214 is in contact with second silicone 232).
Re Claim 19, (Currently Amended) Camras does not teach the solid state light emitting device of claim 16, wherein:
the peripheral portion of the lumiphoric material layer is arranged over a portion of the fill material in a region around a perimeter of the outer surface of the at least one LED; and
In the same field of endeavor, Leung teaches the solid state light emitting device of claim 16, wherein:
the peripheral portion (Outer portions of 19; Fig 17B) of the lumiphoric material layer is arranged over a portion of the fill material (Encapsulant material; 17; Fig 17B; ¶[0103]) in a region around an entire perimeter of the outer surface of the at least one LED; and
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Light Emitting Device as disclosed by Camras by making the peripheral portion of the lumiphoric material layer is arranged over a portion of the fill material in a region around a perimeter of the outer surface of the at least one LED, as disclosed by Leung.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification such that substantially all emissions of at least one LED may be absorbed by one or more lumiphoric materials, due to the shape and thickness of the lumiphoric material having a design such that all emissions are captured and a desired perceived color is obtained.
8. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Camras, Michael D et al. (Pub No. US 20110062469 A1) (hereinafter, Camras) in view of Leung, Michael et al. (Pub No. US 20090224277 A1) (hereinafter, Leung) and Watanabe, Yusuke Shizuoka (Pub No. US 20150263239 A1) (hereinafter, Watanabe) as applied to claims 2 and 7 above, and further in view of Sano, Masahiko et al. (Pub No. JP 2022093483 A) (hereinafter, Sano).
Re Claim 4, (Previously Presented) Camras teaches the solid state light emitting device of claim 1, further comprising a lens material (Lens; 714; Fig 7; ¶[0078]) arranged in contact with the lumiphoric material layer (Window element; 222; Fig 7; ¶[0078]).
However, Camras in view of Leung and Watanabe does not teach a lens in contact with at least a portion of the scattering material layer.
In the same field of endeavor, Sano teaches a lens (Sealing member/optical lens; 80; Fig 8; ¶[0062]) in contact with at least a portion of the scattering material layer (Covering member; 40; Fig 8; ¶[0013]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Light Emitting Device as disclosed by Camras in view of Leung and Watanabe by making a lens in contact with at least a portion of the scattering material layer, as disclosed by Sano. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification such that covering member 40 reflects the light of the sealing member 80 on the surface of the covering member 40 to the outside. Furthermore, by efficiently taking out the light and making the surface of the covering member 40 on the light emitting side a concave surface inclined from the side surface of the light transmitting member 20 toward the substrate 50, the light is diffused and the emitted light of the light emitting device can be oriented in a wide range, as suggested by Sano (¶[0062]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.E.D./
Examiner
Art Unit 2817
/ELISEO RAMOS FELICIANO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2817