Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Examiner notes that in the instant application:
-Claims 1-14 and 21-26 are pending.
-Claims 15-20 are cancelled.
-Claims 1, 8, and 21 are amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and arguments filed December 3, 2025 have been fully considered and are persuasive, the rejection has been updated to address the newly amended limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 and 21-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by of Huang et al. (U.S. Pub. 2019/0371781), hereinafter Huang, in view of Lee et al. (U.S. Pub. 2012/0193779), hereinafter Lee, and Zhang et al. (U.S. Pub. 2021/0384113), hereinafter Zhang.
Regarding, Claim 1, Huang teaches a semiconductor structure (‘package structure’ (10); Fig. 1l, Paragraph [0043]), comprising:
-a package ((10b); Fig. 1l, Paragraph [0043]) comprising a redistribution structure ((132); Fig. 1l, Paragraph [0031]) and at least one die (die (100); Fig. 1l, Paragraph [0027]), wherein the at least one die (100) is disposed on a first side (e.g. the top side, relative to the vertical) of the redistribution structure (148);
-an electrical device (passive device (110); Fig. 1l, Paragraph [0034]) disposed on a second side (e.g. the bottom side, relative to the vertical) of the redistribution structure (132), wherein the electrical device (110) has a top surface (e.g. relative to the vertical) and a bottom surface (e.g. relative to the vertical) opposite to each other and has a side wall (e.g. relative to the horizontal) connected between the top surface and the bottom surface, and the top surface faces the redistribution structure (132); and
-wherein a distance from the bottom surface (of 110) to the second side (of (132)) along a direction perpendicular to the bottom surface (i.e. the vertical direction) is greater than the thickness of the redistribution structure (132) along the direction (See Fig. 1l).
Huang does not explicitly recite:
-an underfill material disposed between the top surface and the redistribution structure and extending along the side wall toward the bottom surface, wherein the underfill material has an end surface corresponding to the bottom surface, and the end surface is a flat surface
Lee teaches a method of forming underfill material around an electrical device within the context of a stacked package, wherein:
-an underfill material ((28); Fig. 2, Paragraph [0047]) disposed between the top surface (surface of (20) facing (11b); Fig. 2, Paragraphs [0047] and [0050]) and the redistribution structure ((115) formed on (11b), See Paragraphs [0050] and [0056], and Fig. 4) and extending along the side wall (side surface of (20)) toward the bottom surface (surface (21a); Fig. 2, Paragraph [0069]), wherein the underfill material (28) has an end surface (e.g. (28a) or (28b); Fig. 2, Paragraph [0069]) corresponding to the bottom surface (being coplanar with (21a)), and the end surface is a flat surface (e.g. (28a) or (28b), See Fig. 2)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Lee into the device of Huang such that an underfill material is disposed between the top surface and the redistribution structure and extending along the side wall toward the bottom surface, wherein the underfill material has an end surface corresponding to the bottom surface, and the end surface is a flat surface. This would be due to the fact that doing so would protect the electrical device from external moisture and more rigidly fix it to the redistribution structure (Lee, Paragraph [0058]). For clarity, a simple interpretation of Fig. 1l of Huang following the incorporation of the teachings of Lee is annotated and provided below, hereinafter “Fig. A”.
Neither Huang nor Lee explicitly disclose:
-wherein a thickness of the electrical device along the direction is greater than a thickness of the at least one die along the direction.
Zhang teaches a semiconductor structure comprising a package ((100); Fig. 2, Paragraph [0016]) with a die ((110); Fig. 2, Paragraph [0019]) on one side of a redistribution structure ((130); Fig. 2, Paragraph [0018]) with an electrical device (e.g. center (140); Fig. 2, Paragraph [0021]) on the other side, wherein:
-a thickness of the electrical device (center (140)) along the direction (i.e. vertical) is greater than a thickness of the at least one die (110) along the direction. (As is readily apparent in Fig. 2)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Zhang into the device of Huang as modified by Lee such that a thickness of the electrical device along the direction is greater than a thickness of the at least one die along the direction. This would be due to the fact that doing so would produce the predictable results of either integrating a desired passive device which is thicker than the die (Zhang, e.g. sensors or inductors, Paragraph [0021]) or reduce the overall z-height (vertical) of the package by utilizing a thinner die (Zhang, Paragraph [0004]).
Regarding, Claim 2, Huang as modified by Lee and Zhang teaches a semiconductor structure (‘package structure’ (10); Fig. 1l, Paragraph [0043]) of Claim 1, wherein:
- the underfill material (Lee, (28)) extends (Huang, e.g. downwards, towards the bottom surface of (110); Fig. A) without creeping onto the bottom surface (of (110)).
Regarding, Claim 3, Huang as modified by Lee and Zhang teaches a semiconductor structure (‘package structure’ (10); Fig. 1l, Paragraph [0043]) of Claim 1, wherein:
- the end surface (Lee, of (28), e.g. (28a) or (28b)) and the bottom surface (of (110)) are coplanar (Lee, Paragraph [0069] and Fig. 2, also see Fig. A).
Regarding, Claim 4, Huang as modified by Lee and Zhang teaches a semiconductor structure (‘package structure’ (10); Fig. 1l, Paragraph [0043]) of Claim 1, wherein:
- the electrical device (110) is an integrated passive device (IPD) (Huang, Paragraph [0034]. Also Zhang, Paragraph [0021]).
Regarding, Claim 5, Huang as modified by Lee and Zhang teaches a semiconductor structure (‘package structure’ (10); Fig. 1l, Paragraph [0043]) of Claim 1, further comprising:
a plurality of conductive components (Huang, ‘conductive connectors’ (138); Fig. 1l, Paragraph [0034]), wherein the conductive components (138) are disposed on the second side of the redistribution structure (Huang, bottom side of (132), wherein the conductive components (138) comprises a ball grid array (BGA) or a plurality of controlled collapse chip connection (C4) bumps (Paragraph [0035]).
The limitation “for being connected to a substrate, such that the electrical device is located between the substrate and the redistribution structure without contacting the substrate” directs to intended use of the plurality of conductive components. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See MPEP § 2114, subsection II.
Regarding, Claim 6, Huang as modified by Lee and Zhang teaches a semiconductor structure (‘package structure’ (10); Fig. 1l, Paragraph [0043]) of Claim 1, further comprising:
- another package (Huang, (10c); Fig. 1l, Paragraph [0042]) stacking on the package (10b) to form a package-on-package (POP) structure (i.e. package (10) as a whole).
Regarding, Claim 7, Huang as modified by Lee and Zhang teaches a semiconductor structure (‘package structure’ (10); Fig. 1l, Paragraph [0043]) of Claim 1, wherein:
- the package (Huang, 10b) comprises a multi-die package (Huang, See Paragraph [0026] ‘one or more die are placed’, see also Fig. 5J as an example).
Regarding, Claim 8, Huang teaches a semiconductor structure (‘package structure’ (10); Fig. 1l, Paragraph [0043]), comprising:
-a package ((10b); Fig. 1l, Paragraph [0043]) comprising a redistribution structure ((132); Fig. 1l, Paragraph [0031]) and at least one die (die (100); Fig. 1l, Paragraph [0027]), wherein the at least one die (100) is disposed on a first side (e.g. the top side, relative to the vertical) of the redistribution structure (148);
-an electrical device (passive device (110); Fig. 1l, Paragraph [0034]) disposed on a second side (e.g. the bottom side, relative to the vertical) of the redistribution structure (132), wherein the electrical device (110) has a top surface (e.g. relative to the vertical) and a bottom surface (e.g. relative to the vertical) opposite to each other, and the top surface faces the redistribution structure (132); and
-wherein a distance from the bottom surface (of 110) to the second side (of (132)) along the direction (perpendicular to the bottom surface (i.e. the vertical direction)) is greater than the thickness of the redistribution structure (132) along the direction (See Fig. 1l).
Huang does not explicitly recite:
- an underfill material disposed between the top surface and the redistribution structure and extending toward the bottom surface, wherein the underfill material has an end surface corresponding to the bottom surface, and a distance between the end surface and the bottom surface along a direction perpendicular to the bottom surface is less than 5 micrometers,
Lee teaches a method of forming underfill material around an electrical device within the context of a stacked package, wherein:
-an underfill material ((28); Fig. 2, Paragraph [0047]) disposed between the top surface (surface of (20) facing (11b); Fig. 2, Paragraphs [0047] and [0050]) and the redistribution structure ((115) formed on (11b), See Paragraphs [0050] and [0056], and Fig. 4) and extending toward the bottom surface (surface (21a); Fig. 2, Paragraph [0069]), wherein the underfill material (28) has an end surface (e.g. ‘first upper surface’ (28a); Fig. 2, Paragraph [0069]) corresponding to the bottom surface (being coplanar with (21a)), and a distance between the end surface (28a) and the bottom surface (21a) along a direction perpendicular (the vertical direction) to the bottom surface (21a) is less than 5 micrometers (In this case the distance would be zero, as the two surfaces are coplanar (Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Lee into the device of Huang such that an underfill material is disposed between the top surface and the redistribution structure and extending toward the bottom surface, wherein the underfill material has an end surface corresponding to the bottom surface, and a distance between the end surface and the bottom surface along a direction perpendicular to the bottom surface is less than 5 micrometers. This would be due to the fact that doing so would protect the electrical device from external moisture and more rigidly fix it to the redistribution structure (Lee, Paragraph [0058]). Examiner again references the simple interpretation of the incorporation as shown in Fig. A above.
Neither Huang nor Lee explicitly disclose:
-wherein a thickness of the electrical device along the direction is greater than a thickness of the at least one die along the direction.
Zhang teaches a semiconductor structure comprising a package ((100); Fig. 2, Paragraph [0016]) with a die ((110); Fig. 2, Paragraph [0019]) on one side of a redistribution structure ((130); Fig. 2, Paragraph [0018]) with an electrical device (e.g. center (140); Fig. 2, Paragraph [0021]) on the other side, wherein:
-a thickness of the electrical device (center (140)) along the direction (i.e. vertical) is greater than a thickness of the at least one die (110) along the direction. (As is readily apparent in Fig. 2)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Zhang into the device of Huang as modified by Lee such that a thickness of the electrical device along the direction is greater than a thickness of the at least one die along the direction. This would be due to the fact that doing so would produce the predictable results of either integrating a desired passive device which is thicker than the die (Zhang, e.g. sensors or inductors, Paragraph [0021]) or reduce the overall z-height (vertical) of the package by utilizing a thinner die (Zhang, Paragraph [0004]).
Regarding, Claim 9, Huang as modified by Lee and Zhang teaches a semiconductor structure (‘package structure’ (10); Fig. 1l, Paragraph [0043]) of Claim 8, wherein:
- the underfill material (Lee, (28)) extends (Huang, e.g. downwards, towards the bottom surface of (110); Fig. A) without creeping onto the bottom surface (of (110)).
Regarding, Claim 10, Huang as modified by Lee and Zhang teaches a semiconductor structure (‘package structure’ (10); Fig. 1l, Paragraph [0043]) of Claim 8, wherein:
- the end surface (Lee, of (28), e.g. (28a) or (28b)) and the bottom surface (of (110)) are coplanar (Lee, Paragraph [0069] and Fig. 2, also see Fig. A).
Regarding, Claim 11, Huang as modified by Lee and Zhang teaches a semiconductor structure (‘package structure’ (10); Fig. 1l, Paragraph [0043]) of Claim 8, wherein:
- the electrical device (110) is an integrated passive device (IPD) (Huang, Paragraph [0034] Also Zhang, Paragraph [0021]).
Regarding, Claim 12, Huang as modified by Lee and Zhang teaches a semiconductor structure (‘package structure’ (10); Fig. 1l, Paragraph [0043]) of Claim 8, further comprising:
a plurality of conductive components (Huang, ‘conductive connectors’ (138); Fig. 1l, Paragraph [0034]), wherein the conductive components (138) are disposed on the second side of the redistribution structure (Huang, bottom side of (132), wherein the conductive components (138) comprises a ball grid array (BGA) or a plurality of controlled collapse chip connection (C4) bumps (Paragraph [0035]).
The limitation “for being connected to a substrate, such that the electrical device is located between the substrate and the redistribution structure without contacting the substrate” directs to intended use of the plurality of conductive components. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See MPEP § 2114, subsection II.
Regarding, Claim 13, Huang as modified by Lee and Zhang teaches a semiconductor structure (‘package structure’ (10); Fig. 1l, Paragraph [0043]) of Claim 8, further comprising:
- another package (Huang, (10c); Fig. 1l, Paragraph [0042]) stacking on the package (10b) to form a package-on-package (POP) structure (i.e. package (10) as a whole).
Regarding, Claim 14, Huang as modified by Lee and Zhang teaches a semiconductor structure (‘package structure’ (10); Fig. 1l, Paragraph [0043]) of Claim 8, wherein:
- the package (Huang, 10b) comprises a multi-die package (Huang, See Paragraph [0026] ‘one or more die are placed’, see also Fig. 5J as an example).
Regarding, Claim 21, Huang teaches a semiconductor structure (‘package structure’ (10); Fig. 1l, Paragraph [0043]), comprising:
-a package ((10b); Fig. 1l, Paragraph [0043]) comprising a redistribution structure ((132); Fig. 1l, Paragraph [0031]) and at least one die (die (100); Fig. 1l, Paragraph [0027]), wherein the at least one die (100) is disposed on a first side (e.g. the top side, relative to the vertical) of the redistribution structure (148);
-an electrical device (passive device (110); Fig. 1l, Paragraph [0034]) disposed on a second side (e.g. the bottom side, relative to the vertical) of the redistribution structure (132), wherein the electrical device (110) has a top surface (e.g. relative to the vertical) and a bottom surface (e.g. relative to the vertical) opposite to each other, and the top surface faces the redistribution structure (132); and
-wherein a distance from the bottom surface (of 110) to the second side (of (132)) along the direction (perpendicular to the bottom surface (i.e. the vertical direction)) is greater than the thickness of the redistribution structure (132) along the direction (See Fig. 1l).
Huang does not explicitly recite:
-an underfill material comprises a main part and an extending part, wherein the main part is disposed between the top surface and the redistribution structure, the extending part extends toward the bottom surface and has an end surface corresponding to the bottom surface, and the extending part does not overlap the bottom surface along a direction perpendicular to the bottom surface,
Lee teaches a method of forming underfill material around an electrical device within the context of a stacked package, wherein:
-an underfill material ((28); Fig. 2, Paragraph [0047]) comprises a main part (portion of (28) within the area of between (d2) and (d4); Fig. 2, Paragraphs [0058] and [0072]) and an extending part (portion of (28) within the area of (d2); Fig. 2, Paragraph [0058] and [0072]), wherein the main part ((28) between (d2) and (d4) is disposed between the top surface (surface of (20) facing (11b); Fig. 2, Paragraphs [0047] and [0050]) and the redistribution structure ((115) formed on (11b), See Paragraphs [0050] and [0056], and Fig. 4), the extending part ((28) within (d2)) extends towards the bottom surface (surface (21a); Fig. 2, Paragraph [0058]) and has an end surface ((28a); Fig. 2, Paragraph [0069]) corresponding to the bottom surface (being coplanar with (21a)), and the extending part ((28) within (d2)) does not overlap (being instead adjacent to) the bottom surface (21a) along a direction perpendicular (the vertical direction) to the bottom surface (21a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Lee into the device of Huang such that it includes an underfill material comprises a main part and an extending part, wherein the main part is disposed between the top surface and the redistribution structure, the extending part extends toward the bottom surface and has an end surface corresponding to the bottom surface, and the extending part does not overlap the bottom surface along a direction perpendicular to the bottom surface. This would be due to the fact that doing so would protect the electrical device from external moisture and more rigidly fix it to the redistribution structure (Lee, Paragraph [0058]). Examiner again references the simple interpretation of the incorporation as shown in Fig. A above.
Neither Huang nor Lee explicitly disclose:
-wherein a thickness of the electrical device along the direction is greater than a thickness of the at least one die along the direction.
Zhang teaches a semiconductor structure comprising a package ((100); Fig. 2, Paragraph [0016]) with a die ((110); Fig. 2, Paragraph [0019]) on one side of a redistribution structure ((130); Fig. 2, Paragraph [0018]) with an electrical device (e.g. center (140); Fig. 2, Paragraph [0021]) on the other side, wherein:
-a thickness of the electrical device (center (140)) along the direction (i.e. vertical) is greater than a thickness of the at least one die (110) along the direction. (As is readily apparent in Fig. 2)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Zhang into the device of Huang as modified by Lee such that a thickness of the electrical device along the direction is greater than a thickness of the at least one die along the direction. This would be due to the fact that doing so would produce the predictable results of either integrating a desired passive device which is thicker than the die (Zhang, e.g. sensors or inductors, Paragraph [0021]) or reduce the overall z-height (vertical) of the package by utilizing a thinner die (Zhang, Paragraph [0004]).
Regarding, Claim 22, Huang as modified by Lee and Zhang teaches a semiconductor structure (‘package structure’ (10); Fig. 1l, Paragraph [0043]) of Claim 21, wherein:
- the underfill material (Lee, (28)) extends (Huang, e.g. downwards, towards the bottom surface of (110); Fig. A) without creeping onto the bottom surface (of (110)).
Regarding, Claim 23, Huang as modified by Lee and Zhang teaches a semiconductor structure (‘package structure’ (10); Fig. 1l, Paragraph [0043]) of Claim 21, wherein:
- the end surface (Lee, of (28), e.g. (28a) or (28b)) and the bottom surface (of (110)) are coplanar (Lee, Paragraph [0069] and Fig. 2, also see Fig. A).
Regarding, Claim 24, Huang as modified by Lee and Zhang teaches a semiconductor structure (‘package structure’ (10); Fig. 1l, Paragraph [0043]) of Claim 21, wherein:
- the electrical device (110) is an integrated passive device (IPD) (Huang, Paragraph [0034] Also Zhang, Paragraph [0021]).
Regarding, Claim 25, Huang as modified by Lee and Zhang teaches a semiconductor structure (‘package structure’ (10); Fig. 1l, Paragraph [0043]) of Claim 21, further comprising:
a plurality of conductive components (Huang, ‘conductive connectors’ (138); Fig. 1l, Paragraph [0034]), wherein the conductive components (138) are disposed on the second side of the redistribution structure (Huang, bottom side of (132), wherein the conductive components (138) comprises a ball grid array (BGA) or a plurality of controlled collapse chip connection (C4) bumps (Paragraph [0035]).
The limitation “for being connected to a substrate, such that the electrical device is located between the substrate and the redistribution structure without contacting the substrate” directs to intended use of the plurality of conductive components. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See MPEP § 2114, subsection II.
Regarding, Claim 26, Huang as modified by Lee and Zhang teaches a semiconductor structure (‘package structure’ (10); Fig. 1l, Paragraph [0043]) of Claim 21, further comprising:
- another package (Huang, (10c); Fig. 1l, Paragraph [0042]) stacking on the package (10b) to form a package-on-package (POP) structure (i.e. package (10) as a whole).
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Sunohara (U.S. Pub. 2011/0080713): a semiconductor structure comprising a package wherein an electrical device ((2); Fig. 4) is thicker than a die ((1); Fig. 4).
Zhai et al. (U.S. Pub. 2016/0260684): a semiconductor structure comprising a package wherein an electrical device ((116); Fig. 16) is thicker than a die (e.g. (110) or (150); Fig. 16).
Lee et al. (U.S. Pub. 2017/0179039): a semiconductor structure comprising a package wherein an electrical device ((104); Fig. 8) is thicker than a die ((102); Fig. 8).
Chen et al. (U.S. Pub. 2017/0317058): a semiconductor structure comprising a package wherein an electrical device ((140); Fig. 1A) is thicker than a die ((122a); Fig. 1A).
Sandstrom et al. (U.S. Pub. 2022/0173067): a semiconductor structure comprising a package wherein an electrical device ((90); Fig. 2D) is thicker than a die ((14); Fig. 2D).
Conclusion
/D.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/DAVIENNE N MONBLEAU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812