DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on January 27, 2026 has been entered. No claim(s) has/have been canceled or added. Therefore, claim(s) 1-20 continue to be pending in the application with claims 2-4, 6-7 and 9-16 withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Chen et al. (US 2022/0238397, hereinafter “Chen”, previously cited under different interpretation from that previously used).
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches in Fig. 2A (shown below) and related text a semiconductor device, comprising:
a substrate (202, Fig. 2A and ¶[0043]);
an interconnect structure (204, Fig. 2A and ¶[0043]), disposed on the substrate;
a first passivation layer (210a, Fig. 2A, ¶[0043]), disposed on the interconnect structure (204, Fig. 2A);
a stress buffer layer (210b, Fig. 2A, ¶¶[0020] and [0043]), disposed on the first passivation layer (225, Fig. 2A);
a pad structure (211, 222, Fig. 2A and ¶[0044]), wherein the pad structure comprises:
a lower portion (211, Fig. 2A) embedded in the first passivation layer (210a, Fig. 2A) and the stress buffer layer (210b, Fig. 2A), and laterally wrapped by the first passivation layer and the stress buffer layer (Fig. 2A); and
an upper portion (222, Fig. 2A) disposed on the lower portion (211 Fig. 2A), wherein the upper portion (222, Fig. 2A) has a periphery laterally offset outward from a periphery of the lower portion (211, Fig. 2A), so that a bottom surface of the upper portion is in contact with a top surface of the stress buffer layer (230a, Fig. 2A), and the upper portion has a height greater than a height of the lower portion; and
a second passivation layer (230a, Fig. 2A, ¶¶[0030]-[0032] and [0044]), disposed on the stress buffer layer and laterally wrapping the upper portion of the pad structure.
Regarding claim 8 (1), Chen wherein the stress buffer layer (210b, Fig. 2A, ¶¶[0020] and [0043]) has a Young's modulus less than a Young's modulus of the first passivation layer (210a, Fig. 2A, ¶[0043]) and the second passivation layer (230a, Fig. 2A, ¶¶[0030]-[0032] and [0044], i.e. Chen teaches that the stress buffer layer is made of polyimide and first and second passivation layers are made, for example from SiN, which are the same materials as those disclosed by the applicant, and thus would satisfy the claimed relationship for the Young’s modulus).
Claim(s) 1 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Chen et al. (US 2014/0001645, hereinafter “Lin”).
Regarding claim 1, Lin teaches in Fig. 10C (shown below) and related text a semiconductor device, comprising:
a substrate (205, Fig. 10C and ¶[0014]);
an interconnect structure (213, Fig. 10C and ¶[0014]), disposed on the substrate;
a first passivation layer (215, Fig. 10C and ¶[0014]), disposed on the interconnect structure (213, Fig. 10C);
a stress buffer layer (1002, Fig. 10C and ¶[1002]), disposed on the first passivation layer (215, Fig. 10C);
a pad structure (1003, 217, Fig. 10C and ¶¶[0014] and [0026]-[0027]), wherein the pad structure comprises:
a lower portion (i.e. portion of 1003/217 up to the level of the upper surface of 1002, Fig. 10C) embedded in the first passivation layer (215, Fig. 10C) and the stress buffer layer (1002, Fig. 10C), and laterally wrapped by the first passivation layer and the stress buffer layer (Fig. 10C); and
an upper portion (i.e. portion of 1003, 217 above the upper surface of 1002, Fig. 10C) disposed on the lower portion, wherein the upper portion has a periphery laterally offset outward from a periphery of the lower portion (Fig. 10C), so that a bottom surface of the upper portion is in contact with a top surface of the stress buffer layer (1002, Fig. 10C), and the upper portion has a height greater than a height of the lower portion (Fig. 10C); and
a second passivation layer (221, Fig. 10C and ¶[0030]), disposed on the stress buffer layer and laterally wrapping the upper portion of the pad structure.
Regarding claim 5 (1), Lin teaches wherein a top surface of the pad structure (1003, 217, Fig. 10C) is substantially level with a top surface of the second passivation layer (221, Fig. 10C).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Chen et al. (US 2022/0238397, hereinafter “Chen”) in view of Chiu et al. (US 2022/0238454, hereinafter “Chiu”) and Usami (US 2019/0198468, hereinafter “Usami”).
Regarding claim 17, Chen teaches in Figs. 2A and 2B (Fig. 2A shown above and Fig. 2B shown below) and related text a package structure, comprising:
a first die (200, Figs. 2A, 2B and ¶[0042]) comprising:
a first pad structure (242, Figs. 2A, 2B and ¶[0044]); and
a first protection structure (225, 230a, 230b, 230c, Figs. 2A, 2B and ¶¶[0028]-[0044]) laterally wrapping the first pad structure, wherein the first protection structure comprises a first stress buffer layer (230a (e.g. polymer), Figs. 2A, 2B, ¶¶[0030] and [0044]) sandwiched between a first passivation layer (225 (e.g. SiN), Figs. 2A, 2B ¶¶[0028] and [0044]) and a second passivation layer (230c (e.g. SiN), Figs. 2A, 2B, ¶¶[0032] and [0044]), and the first stress buffer layer has a Young's modulus less than a Young's modulus of the first passivation layer and the second passivation layer (i.e. Chen teaches that the stress buffer layer is made of a polymer and first and second passivation layers are made of SiN, where Young’s modulus of a polymer is known to be lower than that of SiN due to the more flexible molecular structure of the polymer, allowing it to undergo significant elastic deformation under applied stress, and thus providing stress relieving function) which would satisfy the claimed characteristics); the first pad structure (242, Figs. 2A, 2B) comprises: a lower portion embedded in the first passivation layer (225, Figs. 2A, 2B and the first stress buffer layer (230a, Figs. 2A, 2B); and
an upper portion disposed on the lower portion and laterally wrapped by the second passivation layer (230c, Figs. 2A, 2B),
a second die (200’, Fig. 2B and ¶[0052]) comprising a second pad structure (242, Fig. 2B and ¶[0044]), wherein the first die and the second die are bonded together by directly contacting the first pad structure with the second pad structure (Fig. 2B, ¶[0053]).
Alternatively, assuming that Chen does not explicitly teach that the disclosed polymer layer is a stress buffer layer, Chiu in a similar field of endeavor, teaches in Fig. 9A and related text that the polymer layer (e.g. 220, Fig. 9A and ¶[0019]), such as that disclosed by Chen (i.e. a polymer layer 220 surrounding a pad structure 230, 240, 245, Fig. 9A) can be, for example, polyimide, benzocyclobutene (BCB) or polybenzoxazole (PBO) (¶[0019]), which are some of the same material disclosed by the applicant as stress buffer layer materials (¶[0019] of the instant application as published).
Thus, since the prior art teaches all of the claim elements, using such elements would lead to predictable results and as such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a polymer material disclosed by Chiu for the polymer disclosed by Chen, as doing so would amount to nothing more than using a known material for its intended purpose.
Chen, or alternatively Chen and Chiu, do not explicitly teach, however, that the upper portion of the first pad structure has a height greater than a height of the lower portion. Nonetheless, changing dimensions of the first pad structure so that the height of the upper portion is greater than a height of the lower portion, would have been with capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art, as it would amount to nothing more than changing dimensions of known elements in order to meet specific design requirements, as evidenced by Usami. Specifically, Usami, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches in Fig. 2 and related text a similar pad structure (PF1, PF2, Fig. 2) to that disclosed by Chen or Chen and Chiu, that includes lower and upper portions with the lower portion embedded in a first passivation layer (IF1, Fig. 2 and ¶[0052]) and a stress buffer layer (PIQ1, Fig. 2 and ¶[0053]) can have a height that is smaller than the height of the upper portion embedded in a second passivation layer (PIQ2, Fig. 2 and ¶[0059]) in order to meet specific design requirements for the device, including specific thickness requirements for the insulating and stress buffer layer.
Accordingly, since the prior art teaches all of the elements of the claim using such elements would lead to predictable results, and as such it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the first contact pad structure disclosed by Chen, or in the alternative, Chan and Chiu, so that the upper portion of the firs pad structure has a height greater than a height of the lower portion, as disclosed by Usami, in order to meet specific design requirements for the device.
Regarding claim 18 (17), Chen and Usami or, in the alternative, Chen, Chiu and Usami disclose(s) wherein the second die (Chen, 200’, Fig. 2B and ¶[0053]) further comprises a second protection structure (Chen, 225, 230a, 230b, 230c, Figs. 2A, 2B and ¶¶[0028]-[0044]), and the second protection structure comprises a second stress buffer layer (Chen, 230a (e.g. polymer), Figs. 2A, 2B, ¶¶[0030] and [0043]) sandwiched between a third passivation layer (Chen, 225, Fig. 2B) and a fourth passivation layer (Chen, 230c (e.g. SiN), Fig. 2B, ¶[0032] and [0044]).
Regarding claim 19 (18), Chen and Usami or, in the alternative, Chen, Chiu and Usami disclose(s) wherein the first protection structure (Chen i.e. 225, 230a, 230b, 230c of 200, Figs. 2A, 2B) is in direct contact with the second protection structure (Chen, i.e. 225, 230a, 230b, 230c of 200’, Figs. 2A, 2B).
Regarding claim 20 (17), Chen and Usami or, in the alternative, Chen, Chiu and Usami disclose(s) wherein
the upper portion has a periphery laterally offset outward from a periphery of the lower portion (Chen, Figs. 2A and 2B), so that a bottom surface of the upper portion is in contact with a top surface of the first stress buffer layer (Chen, 230a, Figs. 2A and 2B).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.B.C/Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/SUE A PURVIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893