DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Arguments
Claim(s) 6-11, 13, 19 was/were withdrawn.
Claim(s) 1-3, 15 is/are amended; claim(s) 20 is/are newly added.
Applicant's arguments filed 12/04/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues regarding the 112 (b) rejection, that the specification may be cited to assist in construction of a claim, but cannot be the basis for contradicting the plain meaning of a claim.
Examiner disagrees and notes that Applicant has noted their own error (via amendment) despite their argument and remedied the claim to recite what actually is in the specification. Examiner was correct in that there was no embodiment with two RF filters and a variable passive element. The RF filters include the variable passive element(s), which Applicant has amended to now state.
Regarding Applicant’s remaining arguments, they are moot in light of the amended claims with change in scope. Due to the explanations above, Applicant’s arguments are rendered not persuasive.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Driving device (lifter pin, driving source, para. [0080]) in at least claims 1-18.
Variable passive element (coil/inductor, condenser/capacitor, diode, para. [0079]) in claims 1-14.
Driving source (motor, para. [0082]) in claims 2-11.
Conductive membrane (metallic membrane, para. [0129]) in claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190333785 to Tanikawa in view of US 20200194240 to Sasaki and further in view of KR 20200071009A to Koshimizu.
Claims 1, 15: Tanikawa discloses a plasma processing apparatus comprising: a plasma processing chamber (10 [chamber], Fig. 1); a substrate support (12 [disc shaped stage]) disposed in the plasma processing chamber (10), and including a lower electrode (12, para. [0020]), an electrostatic chuck (36 [electrostatic chuck]), and an edge ring (38 [edge ring]) disposed to surround a substrate (w [wafer]) mounted on the electrostatic chuck (36, para. [0034]);
a driving device (200 [actuation mechanism]) configured to move the edge ring (38) in a vertical direction (para. [0036]); an upper electrode (51 [shower head]) disposed above the substrate support (12); a source RF power supply (57 [high frequency power source]) configured to supply source RF power to the upper electrode (51) or the lower electrode to generate plasma from gas in the plasma processing chamber (10, para. [0029]); a bias RF power supply (30 [ second high frequency power source]) configured to supply bias RF power to the lower electrode (12, para. [0023]); at least one conductor (37 [contacting member], Fig. 5A) contacting with the edge ring (38); and a controller (74 [control unit]) configured to control the driving device (para. [0057]).
However Tanikawa does not disclose a DC power supply configured to apply negative-polarity DC voltage to the edge ring via the at least one conductor; and an RF filter electrically connected between the at least one conductor and the DC power supply, and including a first variable passive element and a second variable passive element; and a controller configured to control the driving device and the first and second variable passive elements, and to adjust an incident angle of an ion in the plasma with respect to an edge area of the substrate mounted on the electrostatic chuck.
Sasaki discloses a DC power supply (99 [DC power source], Fig. 3) capable to be configured to apply negative-polarity DC voltage to the edge ring (FR [focus ring]) via the at least one conductor (59/27 [conductive member]/[connecting member]) for the purpose of applying a negative voltage to the focus ring to adjust the plasma sheath above the focus ring (para. [0087]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the power supply as taught by Sasaki with motivation to apply a negative voltage to the focus ring to adjust the plasma sheath above the focus ring.
Koshimizu discloses a DC power supply (61/62, para. [0009], Fig. 6) configured to apply negative-polarity DC voltage to the edge ring (FR [focus ring]); and an RF filter (82a, 82b, Fig. 3) electrically connected between the at least one electrode (73) and the DC power supply (61/62), and including a first variable passive element (82a [variable impedance circuit]) and a second variable passive element (82b [variable impedance circuit]); and a controller (MC [control unit]) configured to control the driving device and the first and second variable passive elements (para. [0056]), and to adjust an incident angle of an ion in the plasma with respect to an edge area of the substrate mounted on the electrostatic chuck (para. [0065], [0079]) for the purpose of becoming possible to reduce the difference between the etching rate at the edge of the substrate and the etching rate of the substrate inside the edge (para. [0008]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the RF Filter having first and second variable passive elements as taught by Koshimizu with motivation to become possible to reduce the difference between the etching rate at the edge of the substrate and the etching rate of the substrate inside the edge.
Claim 14: The apparatus of Tanikawa in view of Sasaki, Koshimizu discloses wherein the edge ring (38, Fig. 5A, Tanikawa) is conductive (para. [0073, 0076]).
Claim(s) 2-5, 7, 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanikawa in view of Sasaki, Koshimizu as applied to claims 1, 14-15 above, and further in view of US 20200219706 to Koshimizu’706.
Claims 2, 16: The apparatus of Tanikawa in view of Sasaki, Koshimizu discloses wherein the driving device (200, Fig. 1, Tanikawa) includes a lifter pin (102 [lift pin]) configured to support the edge ring (38), and a driving source (101 [piezo actuator]) configured to move the lifter pin (102) in the vertical direction (para. [0036]).
However the apparatus of Tanikawa in view of Sasaki, Koshimizu does not disclose the liter pin penetrates the electrostatic chuck.
Koshimizu’706 teaches (Fig. 5, 7) different options for a lifter pin (74b [shaft]) to penetrate either a chuck (20 [electrostatic chuck]) or an insulating region (27) for the purpose of having the option of adjusting the plasma sheath via one focus ring (FR1) or the other focus ring (FR2, para. [0072], [0079]).
It is noted that regarding the placement of the lifter pin, the courts have held that the mere rearrangement of parts which does not modify the operation of a device is prima facie obvious. MPEP 2144.04 VI (C).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the option of placements of the lifter pin as taught by Koshimizu’706 with motivation to have the option of adjusting the plasma sheath via one focus ring or the other focus ring.
Claims 3, 17: The apparatus of Tanikawa in view of Sasaki, Koshimizu discloses wherein the surface of the lifter pin (102, Fig. 1, Tanikawa) is at least made of an insulating material (para. [0045]).
Claims 4, 18: The apparatus of Tanikawa in view of Sasaki, Koshimizu discloses wherein the at least one conductor (37, Fig. 5A, Tanikawa) includes a conductive wire (37 [spring]) which at least partially extends in the vertical direction in the lifter pin (102), and one end of the conductive wire (37) is in contact with the edge ring (38, Fig. 5a, 8).
Claim 5: The apparatus of Tanikawa in view of Sasaki, Koshimizu discloses wherein the at least one conductor (37, Fig. 5A, Tanikawa) includes a conductive elastic member (37) which is in contact with the edge ring (38).
Claim 6: (Withdrawn).
Claim 7: The apparatus of Tanikawa in view of Sasaki, Koshimizu discloses wherein the conducive elastic member (37, Fig. 5A, Tanikawa) is disposed between the edge ring (38) and the electrostatic chuck (36).
Claims 8-11, 13, 19: (Withdrawn).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanikawa in view of Sasaki, Koshimizu as applied to claims 1, 14-15 above, and further in view of US 20170018411 to Sriraman.
Claim 12: The apparatus of Tanikawa in view of Sasaki, Koshimizu does not disclose wherein the edge ring has at least one conductive membrane contacting with the at least one conductor.
Sriraman discloses wherein the edge ring (210 [edge ring], Fig. 2D) has at least one conductive membrane (202 [annular electrode]) contacting with the at least one conductor (209/208 [connector]/[contact]) for the purpose of mating and providing suitable surface to surface contact between a power supply and annular electrode (abstract).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the conductive membrane as taught by Sriraman with motivation to mate and provide surface to surface contact between a power supply and annular electrode.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanikawa in view of Sasaki, Koshimizu as applied to claims 1, 14-15 above, and further in view of US 20160351404 to Aramaki.
Claim 20: The apparatus of Tanikawa in view of Sasaki, Koshimizu does not disclose wherein the at least one variable passive element is electrically connected to the at least one conductor.
Aramaki discloses wherein the at least one variable passive element (133/135/134 or 200, Fig. 7C, 3) is electrically connected to the at least one conductor (153 [conductor film]) for the purpose of being possible to enhance control robustness (para. [0058]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitations above as taught by Aramaki with motivation to be possible to enhance control robustness.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20230091584 discloses a conductive structure (201, Fig. 22-25) and a conductive member (202, para. [0243]) under an edge ring (14). US 20210343503 discloses a conductive structure (201, Fig. 10-15) and a conductive member (202, para. [0133]) under an edge ring (14). US 20100000970 discloses the current-feeding portions (electrodes) of the focus ring (5, Fig. 7A, 7B1, 7B2); the electrode bar (32) is configured so that it can be inserted into and removed from the focus ring (5, para. [0069]).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Charlee J. C. Bennett/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718