DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-8, 11, 13-15, 18, 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mandia [US 20250038003] in view of Na [US 20240047269].
Claim 1: Mandia teaches a molybdenum deposition assisted by silicon containing reactants [title], wherein the method comprises forming a nucleation layer on a substrate surface by exposing the substrate surface to a molybdenum containing precursor and a nucleation reactant (silicon containing reactant modify the surface of the substrate to facilitate subsequent nucleation) [0174], the substrate surface includes a metal surface and dielectric surfaces/layers (on-metal and on-dielectric) [abstract]. Mandia further teaches the dielectric surface can be an oxide, silicon nitride and etc. [0160]. Mandia further teaches conforming depositing a molybdenum film on the nucleation layer [0160-0161], wherein the conformally depositing of the molybdenum film comprises exposing the nucleation layer to molybdenum containing precursor and molybdenum film reactant (precursor and reducing agent) [0039], wherein the precursor and molybdenum reactant can be different from nucleation reactant [0517; 0561-0562].
However, Mandia does not appear to teach the substrate surface includes titanium silicide or tungsten titanium silicide. Na is provided.
Na teaches a molybdenum deposition in features [title], wherein a conformal thin layer of protective Mo layer enables Mo fill using molybdenum oxyhalide precursors without oxidation of the oxygen sensitive surface such as Si, Silicon germanium, titanium, titanium nitride, and titanium silicide (TiSi2) [0067]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the substrate to also have surfaces containing titanium silicide since Na teaches filling with Molybdenum onto these features comprising titanium, titanium nitride or titanium silicide is well known in the art.
Claim 2: Mandia teaches molybdenum pentachloride can be used as a precursor [0174], Na also teaches alternative operable Mo precursors such as molybdenum oxychloride [0021].
Claim 3: Mandia teaches the nucleation reactant such as silane, disilane or diborane [0012].
Claim 4: Mandia teaches the films are deposited at relatively low temperatures between 100-500 degrees C [abstract], and also between 200-450 degrees C and etc. [0159]. Although the prior art does not explicitly teach the nucleation layer is performed in the claimed temperature range, since Mandia teaches that the entire deposition process is performed between 100-500 degrees or 200-450 degrees C it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the nucleation deposition is included in the deposition process therefore would also be performed in the taught temperature range. The claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (See MPEP 2144.05.I). Mandia also teaches the pressure during deposition can be between 10 torr to about 100 torr [0159]. The claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (See MPEP 2144.05.I).
Claim 7: Mandia teaches using ALD or CVD [0159].
Claim 8: Mandia teaches the molybdenum film comprises hydrogen [0013].
Claim 11: Mandia teaches forming a nucleation layer directly on a dielectric region within the feature exposing the dielectric region to a molybdenum containing precursor and a nucleation reactant, the feature comprising at least one surface defining a via, the via comprising a bottom and two sidewalls comprising the dielectric region, the bottom including one or more titanium silicide or tungsten titanium silicide alloy and the dielectric region comprising one or more tantalum nitride, unclean silicon, oxide and silicon nitride of hafnium oxide [Fig. 1; 0160-0174]; and conforming depositing a molybdenum film on the nucleation layer to fill the feature, wherein conformally depositing the molybdenum film comprises exposing the nucleation layer to the molybdenum containing precursor and a molybdenum film reactant that is different from the nucleation reactant [abstract Fig. 1; 0160-0174], and the conformally deposited molybdenum film is substantially free of seams and voids [Fig. 1, 0038].
Claim 13: Mandia teaches molybdenum pentachloride can be used as a precursor [0174], Na also teaches alternative operable Mo precursors such as molybdenum oxychloride [0021].
Claim 14: Mandia teaches the nucleation reactant such as silane, disilane or diborane [0012].
Claim 15: Mandia teaches the films are deposited at relatively low temperatures between 100-500 degrees C [abstract], and also between 200-450 degrees C and etc. [0159]. Although the prior art does not explicitly teach the nucleation layer is performed in the claimed temperature range, since Mandia teaches that the entire deposition process is performed between 100-500 degrees or 200-450 degrees C it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the nucleation deposition is included in the deposition process therefore would also be performed in the taught temperature range. The claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (See MPEP 2144.05.I). Mandia also teaches the pressure during deposition can be between 10 torr to about 100 torr [0159]. The claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (See MPEP 2144.05.I).
Claim 18: Mandia teaches using ALD or CVD [0159].
Claim 22: Mandia teaches a method of depositing a molybdenum film directly on a substrate surface [abstract] by exposing the substrate surface to a molybdenum containing precursor comprising one or more molybdenum pentachloride [0174], and a reactant comprising hydrogen [0013], the substrate surface comprising a first material and a second material, the first material including tungsten (W) [0017], and second material including silicon nitride [0160], and the molybdenum film forming selectively on the first material over the second material [abstract; 0018].
Claim(s) 9, 21 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mandia in view of Na as applied to claim 1, 11 and 22 above, and further in view of Wright [US 2020/0199743].
Teaching of the prior art is aforementioned, but does not appear to disclose the dielectric layer is of tantalum nitride. Wright is provided.
Claims 9, 21 and 23: Wright teaches that tantalum nitride is a suitable alternative to silicon nitride or hafnium oxide dielectric [0043].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to use tantalum nitride as suggested by Wright as a suitable alternative dielectric material to the silicon nitride of Mandia.
Claim(s) 10 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mandia in view of Na as applied to claim 1, 11 and 22 above, and further in view of Kim [US 20230160057].
Teaching of the prior art is aforementioned, but does not appear to teach the resistivity is less than the claimed range. Kim is provided.
Claims 10 and 19: Kim teaches a molybdenum deposition method [abstract] as a gap film [0067] wherein the resistivity of the film is less than 10 .mu.OMEGA.-cm [0067]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the resistivity within the claimed range since Kim teaches lower effective electrical resistivity for interconnects is desirable in logic applications [0031]. Kim further teaches the thickness of the molybdenum affects the resistivity value; therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the layers within the gap fill features as a result effective variable through routine experimentation to minimize the electrical resistivity.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see arguments, filed 02/06/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-4, 7-11, 13-15, 18-19 and 21-23 under Zope in view of Zope and Wright2 and Ganguli have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Mandia and Na.
Conclusion
/MANDY C LOUIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718