DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the Amendment filed on 07 November 2025. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Election/Restrictions
In the previous Office action, the restriction requirement as set forth in the Office action mailed on 11 April 2025 was withdrawn. Therefore, contrary to Applicant’s arguments, claims 14-20 are not withdrawn. Claims 14-20 were fully examined for patentability in the previous Office action. Accordingly, the status identifiers of claims 14-20 as “withdrawn” is incorrect and should be “currently amended”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
In light of Applicant’s Amendment, the previous rejection of claims 14-20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) has been withdrawn.
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Independent claim 1 has been amended to require a “p-dipole layer”. It is unclear what this is intended to mean or require within the context of the claim. The only mention of a “p-dipole” (not a p-dipole layer) is in paragraph [0035] of Applicant’s originally-filed specification: “Embodiments of the new class of material can be used for p-dipole without EOT increase.”. It is unclear what this means, is a p-dipole layer a dipole layer for a p-FET? Is a p-dipole layer, a dipole layer which comprises a p-dipole element?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Chu et al., US 2021/0366783, of record
With respect to claim 14, Chu et al. disclose an electronic device, shown in Fig. 4A, comprising:
an interfacial layer 280 on a top surface of a channel 215 located between a source and a drain 260 on the substrate 202, see Figs. 2B, 2C, and 3 and paragraph [0024];
a high-k dielectric layer 282 on the interfacial layer 280, see Fig. 3 and paragraph [0024];
a dipole layer 410 on the high-k dielectric layer 282, the dipole layer 410 comprising one or more of strontium (Sr), yttrium (Y), ytterbium (Yb), antimony (Sb), or tellurium (Te), see Fig. 4A and paragraphs [0025]-[0026]; and
optionally, a capping layer 290 on the dipole layer 410, as shown in Fig. 4B
With respect to claim 15, in the electronic device of Chu et al., the interfacial layer comprises a dielectric material selected from one or more of silicon (Si), silicon oxide (SiOx), doped silicon, doped silicon oxide, or spin-on dielectrics, see paragraph [0024].
With respect to claim 16, in the electronic device of Chu et al., the interfacial layer has a thickness in a range of from 0.2 nm to 0.8 nm, see paragraph [0024]: “the interfacial layer 280 has a thickness of about 0.5 nm to about 3 nm”.
With respect to claim 17, in the electronic device of Chu et al., the high-k dielectric layer comprises one or more of hafnium oxide (HfOx), zirconium oxide (ZrOx), or hafnium zirconium oxide (HfZrOx), see paragraph [0024].
With respect to claim 18, in the electronic device of Chu et al., the high-k dielectric layer has a thickness in a range of from 1 nm to 2 nm, see paragraph [0024]: “the high-k dielectric layer 282 has a thickness of about 1 nm to about 3 nm”.
With respect to claim 19, in the electronic device of Chu et al., the dipole layer 410 has a thickness in a range of from 0.3 nm to 1.5 nm, see paragraph [0026]: “the dipole layer 410 is deposited to a substantially uniform thickness about 0.5 nm or less to about 1 nm”.
With respect to claim 20, the electronic device of Chu et al. comprises a capping layer 430 (shown in Fig. 8B) and the capping layer has a thickness in a range of from 0.5 nm to 2 nm, see paragraph [0037]: “layer 430 has a thickness of about 2 nm to about 5 nm”.
Claims 1-5, 9-10, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu et al., US 2021/0366783, in view of Puurunen, both of record.
With respect to claim 1, Chu et al. disclose a method of manufacturing an electronic device, the method comprising:
depositing an interfacial layer 280 on a top surface of a channel 215 located between a source and a drain 260 on a substrate 202, see Figs. 2B, 2C, and 3 and paragraph [0024];
depositing a high-k dielectric layer 282 on the interfacial layer 280, see Fig. 3 and paragraph [0024];
depositing a p-dipole layer 410 on the high-k dielectric layer 282 by exposing the substrate to alternating cycles of a metal precursor and a nitrogen-containing reactant, the metal precursor comprising one or more of strontium (Sr), yttrium (Y), ytterbium (Yb), antimony (Sb), or tellurium (Te), see Fig. 4A and paragraphs [0025]-[0026] (Paragraph [0026]: “ the dipole layer 410 may include an oxide or a nitride of the dipole elements. For example, the dipole layer 410 may include La.sub.2O.sub.3, Y.sub.2O.sub.3, SrO, LaN, YN, Sr.sub.3N.sub.2”. Since Chu et al. disclose yttrium and strontium, Chu et al. disclose a p-dipole layer.); and
annealing the substrate 202 at a temperature of less than or equal to 1050 *C to drive atoms from the dipole layer into the high-K dielectric layer, see paragraph [0035].
Although Chu et al. disclose YN or SrN2 as the dipole material 410 and that the dipole material is deposited by ALD, Chu et al. do not specifically disclose that the dipole layer 410 is deposited by exposing the substrate to alternating cycles of a metal precursor and a nitrogen-containing reactant, the metal precursor comprising one or more of strontium (Sr), yttrium (Y), ytterbium (Yb), antimony (Sb), or tellurium (Te). However, this is the actual definition of ALD, see section IIA of Puurunen, “Basic Characteristics of ALD”. Puurunen disclose a reaction cycle in Fig. 2, and further disclose that this reaction cycle is repeated until the desired amount of material has been deposited. Puurunen also discloses that metal nitrides can be deposited from a metal precursor and a nitrogen-containing precursor, such as NH3 or N2/NH3, see the top of the second column on page 121301-4 of the Puurunen article. Since Chu et al. disclose YN and SrN2 as dipole materials, it would have been obvious to the skilled artisan that alternating cycles of a metal precursor (Y or Sr) and a nitrogen-containing reactant (NH3 or N2/NH3) would be in the ALD of Chu et al.
With respect to claim 2, in the method of Chu et al., the interfacial layer comprises a dielectric material selected from one or more of silicon (Si), silicon oxide (SiOx),doped silicon, doped silicon oxide, or spin-on dielectrics, see paragraph [0024].
With respect to claim 3, in the method of Chu et al., the high-k dielectric layer comprises one or more of hafnium oxide (HfOx), zirconium oxide (ZrOx), or hafnium zirconium oxide (HfZrOx), see paragraph [0024].
With respect to claims 4 and 5, Chu et al. discloses YN or SrN2, however, Chu et al. does not disclose the specific metal precursors recited in dependent claims 4 and 5.. However, Puurunen discloses that reactants used in ALD are either inorganic or metalorganic, and the organometallic reactants can include cyclopentadienyls and amidinate, see section. ALD processes, 2. Classes of metal reactants used. Therefore, in light of the disclosure of Puurunen, it would have been obvious that the metal precursor used in the ALD of YN or SrN2 could comprise one or more of strontium imidazole, strontium amidinate, strontium bisamidinate, strontium cyclopentadienyl, or Bis(tri-isopropylcyclopentadienyl) strontium, or one of yttrium formamidinate, Tris(N,N'-di-i-propylformamidinato) yttrium (III), yttrium triscyclopentadienyl, tris(butylcyclopentadienyl) yttrium, tris(methlycyclopentadienyl) yttrium, or tris(n-propylcyclopentadienyl) yttrium.
With respect to claim 9, in the method of Chu et al. in view of Puurunen, Chu et al. disclose YN and SrN2 as dipole materials, and Puurunen discloses that metal nitrides can be deposited from a metal precursor and a nitrogen-containing precursor, such as NH3 or N2/NH3, see the top of the second column on page 121301-4 of the Puurunen article. Therefore, it would have been obvious to the skilled artisan that the metal precursor comprises one or more of strontium (Sr), yttrium (Y), ytterbium (Yb), antimony (Sb) and the nitrogen-containing reactant comprises one or more of nitrogen (N2), ammonia (NH3), hydrazine (N2H4), or a co-flow of nitrogen radicals (N2*) and hydrogen radicals (H2*).
With respect to claim 10, Chu et al. teach the p-dipole layer 410 is deposited on the high-k dielectric layer 282 by atomic layer deposition (ALD), see paragraph [0026]. Chu et al. do not disclose the temperature and pressure at which the ALD is performed. However, these processing parameters would have been obvious in light of the disclosure of Puurunen and ascertainable through routine experimentation. Requiring the atomic layer deposition (ALD) deposition of p-dipole layer 410 at a temperature of less than or equal to 500 *C and at a pressure of less than or equal to 50 Torr is not deemed to patentably distinguish Applicant’s claimed method from that of Chu et al..
With respect to claim 12, the method of Chu et al. further comprises depositing a capping layer 430 on the p-dipole layer 410, see Fig. 8B and paragraph [0037].
With respect to claim 13, in the method of Chu et al., the capping layer 430 comprises one or more of amorphous silicon, a metal, a metal carbide, a metal nitride, or a metal oxide, see paragraph [0037].
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu et al., US 2021/0366783, in view of Puurunen, as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Guha et al., US 2009/0302370, all of record.
Chu et al. and Puurunen are applied as above. Although Chu et al. teach that dipole layer 410 can comprise strontium and yttrium, Chu et al. lack anticipation of the dipole layer 410 comprising ytterbium (Yb). However, in the same field of endeavor, that is, a method for modulating the threshold voltage of a transistor, Guha et al. disclose that the dipole material can comprise a metal nitride, and specifically discloses ytterbium, see paragraphs [0015], [0028]-[0030] and Table I. In light of the disclosure of Guha et al., it would have been obvious that a metal nitride dipole layer comprising ytterbium could have been used in the known method of Chu et al. Puurunen discloses that metal nitrides can be deposited from a metal precursor and a nitrogen-containing precursor, such as NH3 or N2/NH3, see the top of the second column on page 121301-4 of the Puurunen article. Puurunen also discloses that reactants used in ALD are either inorganic or metalorganic, and the organometallic reactants can include cyclopentadienyls and amidinate, see section. ALD processes, 2. Classes of metal reactants used. Therefore, in light of the disclosure of Puurunen, it would have been obvious to the skilled artisan that the metal precursor used in the known method of Chu et al. could comprise one or more of ytterbium formamidinate, Tris(N,N'-di-i-propylformamidinato) ytterbium(III) or ytterbium cyclopentadienyl.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu et al., US 2021/0366783, in view of Puurunen, as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Li et al., CN 105826188, all of record.
Chu et al. and Puurunen are applied as above. Although Chu et al. teach that dipole layer 410 can comprise strontium and yttrium, Chu et al. lack anticipation of the dipole layer 410 comprising antimony (Sb). However, Li et al. disclose that a dipole layer can comprise antimony. In light of this disclosure, it would have been obvious to the skilled artisan that the dipole layer 410 of Chu et al. could comprise antimony. Chu et al. disclose that the dipole layer can be a metal nitride. Puurunen disclose that antimony pentachloride can be used as a metal precursor in the ALD of antimony-containing layers, see page 121301-14 of the Puurunen article. Therefore, in light of these references, it would have been obvious to the skilled artisan that the dipole of Chu et al. could comprise antimony nitride deposited by exposing the substrate to alternating cycles of a metal precursor and a nitrogen-containing reactant, the metal precursor comprising antimony (Sb) and the metal precursor comprising one or more of antimony trichloride, antimony pentachloride, or antimony tris(trimethylsilane).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu et al., US 2021/0366783, in view of Puurunen, as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Martin, Chapter 3:Surface Preparation for Film and Coating Deposition Processes, PP 93-134, all of record.
Chu et al. and Puurunen are applied as above. Chu et al. lack anticipation of performing a radical treatment to remove carbide, nitride, or oxide from the dipole layer. However, in light of the disclosure of Martin, it would have been obvious to the skilled artisan to perform a radical treatment to remove carbide, nitride, or oxide from the dipole layer by using a plasma, thereby cleaning the surface of the dipole layer 410 to remove contaminants and to achieve optimal bonding of the capping layer 430.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: None of the references of record teach the method of clam 1 in which a dipole layer is deposited on the high-k dielectric layer by exposing the substrate to alternating cycles of a metal precursor and a nitrogen-containing reactant, the metal precursor comprising tellurium (Te), wherein the metal precursor comprises one or more of tellurium bis(trimethylsilane) or di(tert-butyl) telluride.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07 November 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Independent claim 1 has been amended to require a “p-dipole layer”. Claim 1 requires metal precursors for depositing the p-dipole layer to be one or more of strontium (Sr), yttrium (Y), ytterbium (Yb), antimony (Sb), or tellurium (Te). In Paragraph [0026] of Chu et al., it is disclosed that the dipole layer 410 may include La.sub.2O.sub.3, Y.sub.2O.sub.3, SrO, LaN, YN, Sr.sub.3N.sub.2. Since Chu et al. disclose yttrium and strontium, two of the metal precursors required in claim 1, Chu et al. disclose a “p-dipole layer”.
Applicant has argued that Chu et al. teach away from the limitation of amended claim 1 wherein strontium and/or yttrium is used in depositing a p-dipole layer. Clearly, claim 1 sets forth that a p-dipole layer can be used be used to deposit a p-dipole layer. Chu et al. clearly teach yttrium and strontium can be used to deposit dipole layer 410, therefore, Chu et al. must necessarily teach a p-dipole layer, in accordance with amended claim 1.
However, Applicant has further argued that Chu discloses where the transistor is an n-type transistor, the dipole elements may be lanthanum, yttrium, strontium, or some other chemical elements and "where the transistor is ap-type transistor, the dipole elements may be aluminum, titanium, niobium, or scandium". Therefore, Applicant argues by listing yttrium and strontium as potential dipole elements for n-type transistors while identifying different elements for use in p-type transistors, Chu teaches away from the limitation of amended claim 1 wherein strontium and/or yttrium is used in depositing a p-dipole layer. However, the claim does not require the claimed method for fabricating a p-type transistor. Amended claim 1 only requires depositing a p-dipole layer by using a metal precursor comprising strontium and/or yttrium. This is clearly taught in paragraph [0026] of Chu et al. Hence, Chu et al. clearly teach a p-dipole layer, as required in amended claim 1. Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claim 1 as to n-type or p-type transistors are confusing, since these arguments are not commensurate in scope with amended claim 1, as presently written, since amended claim 1 is not limited to a p-type transistor. In light of Applicant’s remarks, what is actually required by amending claim 1 to require a p-dipole layer is unclear. Hence, the rejection above with respect to claims 1-13 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MARY A. WILCZEWSKI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2898
/MARY A WILCZEWSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898