Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 1-18, filed 10/7/2025, with respect to the claims have been fully considered and are persuasive. The double patenting rejection has been withdrawn.
The rejection of the claims under 35 USC 102 and 103 has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, the claims are rejected under 35 USC 102 and 103, produced below.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2 appears to have a typographical error of an additional “and” at the end of the claim. In this action, it will be assumed there is no following limitation and should be removed.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-6, and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Breuer (US PGPub 2019/0013176, hereinafter Breuer).
Regarding claim 1, Breuer discloses a charged particle assessment tool (a charged particle beam device for inspection of a specimen, see abstract) comprising:
a plurality of beam columns (multi-column microscope 600 includes three charged particle beam devices 200, see Fig. 6 and paragraph [0073]), each beam column of the plurality of beam columns comprising:
a charged particle beam source configured to emit charged particles (charged particle beam device 200 includes a beam emitter 111 of the charged particle beam source 110, see Fig. 2 and paragraph [0062]; charged particle beam emitter 111 forms primary charged particle beam 14, see paragraph [0064]);
a plurality of condenser lenses configured to form charged particles emitted from the charged particle beam source into a plurality of charged particle beams and to focus the plurality of charged particle beams to a plurality of intermediate focuses (condenser lens assembly 220 includes one or more electrostatic or magnetostatic lenses, see paragraph [0035]; form a plurality of beams depicted by beam paths 14’ and 14’’, see Fig. 2 and paragraph [0038]; being focused on multi-aperture plate 113, see paragraph [0064]);
a plurality of objective lenses configured to be disposed down beam of the plurality of intermediate focuses and to project the plurality of charged particle beams onto a sample (objective lens assembly 230 located down beam of the multi-aperture plate and includes multiple individual lenses used to focus the beamlets onto the specimen, see Fig. 2 and paragraph [0045]); and
a plurality of aberration correctors configured to reduce one or more aberrations in the plurality of charged particle beams (aberration correction element 210 includes a plurality of quadrupoles 212, 214, 216, and 218, see Fig. 2 and paragraph [0038]; used to correct aberrations, see paragraph [0038]; of the plurality of beams depicted by beam paths 14’ and 14’’, see Fig. 2 and paragraph [0038]),
wherein the beam columns are arranged adjacent one another so as to project pluralities of charged particle beams onto adjacent regions of the sample (multi-column microscope 600 includes three charged particle beam devices 200, see Fig. 6 and paragraph [0073]).
Regarding claim 3, Breuer discloses the aberration correctors comprise focus correctors (aberration correction element can focus the primary charged particle beam, see paragraph [0053]).
Regarding claim 4, Breuer discloses the plurality of aberration correctors are field curvature correctors (the field curvature of a beamlet array may be corrected by controlling the corresponding chromatic and spherical aberrations, such as the aberration correction elements 212, see paragraph [0038]).
Regarding claim 5, Breuer discloses the beam columns are arranged in a rectangular array (the charged particle beam devices can be arranged in a 2 dimensional array, see paragraph [0073]).
Regarding claim 6, Breuer discloses the beam columns are arranged in a hexagonal array (aperture openings in the multi-aperture plate may be arranged in a 2D beamlet array such as a hexagonal, see paragraph [0079]).
Regarding claim 11, Breuer discloses wherein each aberration corrector of at least a subset of the aberration correctors is positioned directly adjacent to a respective one of the intermediate focuses (quadrupole 218 of aberration correction element 210 is directly adjacent the multi-aperture plate 113, see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 12, Breuer discloses one or more scanning deflectors for scanning the pluralities of charged particle beams over the sample (charged particle beam device 200 may include a scanning deflector 150 between the lens and the specimen stage 141, see Fig. 3 and paragraph [0052]).
Regarding claim 13, Breuer discloses one or more collimators (the condenser lens assembly collimates the primary charged particle beam as an optical configuration, see paragraph [0053]).
Regarding claim 14, Breuer discloses the one or more collimators is one or more collimator deflectors (the condenser lens assembly collimates the primary charged particle beam as an optical configuration, see paragraph [0053]).
Regarding claim 15, Breuer discloses an inspection method (a charged particle beam device for inspection of a specimen, see abstract) comprising:
emitting pluralities of charged particle beams towards a sample using a plurality of beam columns, each beam column comprising a charged particle beam source, a plurality of condenser lenses, a plurality of objective lenses, and a plurality of aberration correctors (charged particle beam device 200 includes a beam emitter 111 of the charged particle beam source 110, see Fig. 2 and paragraph [0062]; charged particle beam emitter 111 forms primary charged particle beam 14, see paragraph [0064]; condenser lens assembly 220 includes one or more electrostatic or magnetostatic lenses, see paragraph [0035]; form a plurality of beams depicted by beam paths 14’ and 14’’, see Fig. 2 and paragraph [0038]; being focused on multi-aperture plate 113, see paragraph [0064]; objective lens assembly 230 can include multiple individual lenses used to focus the beamlets onto the specimen, see Fig. 2 and paragraph [0045]; aberration correction element 210 includes a plurality of quadrupoles 212, 214, 216, and 218, see Fig. 2 and paragraph [0038]; used to correct aberrations, see paragraph [0038]), wherein the emitting comprises:
emitting charged particles using the charged particle beam source (charged particle beam device 200 includes a beam emitter 111 of the charged particle beam source 110, see Fig. 2 and paragraph [0062]; charged particle beam emitter 111 forms primary charged particle beam 14, see paragraph [0064]);
forming charged particles emitted from the charged particle beam source into a plurality of charged particle beams using the plurality of condenser lenses (condenser lens assembly 220 includes one or more electrostatic or magnetostatic lenses, see paragraph [0035]);
focusing the plurality of charged particle beams to a plurality of intermediate focuses using the plurality of condenser lenses (form a plurality of beams depicted by beam paths 14’ and 14’’, see Fig. 2 and paragraph [0038]; being focused on multi-aperture plate 113, see paragraph [0064]), wherein the plurality of objective lenses are configured to be down beam of the plurality of intermediate focuses (objective lens assembly 230 located down beam of the multi-aperture plate and includes multiple individual lenses used to focus the beamlets onto the specimen, see Fig. 2 and paragraph [0045]);
projecting the plurality of charged particle beams onto the sample using the plurality of objective lenses (objective lens assembly 230 located down beam of the multi-aperture plate and includes multiple individual lenses used to focus the beamlets onto the specimen, see Fig. 2 and paragraph [0045]);
reducing one or more aberrations in the plurality of charged particle beams using the plurality of aberration correctors (aberration correction element 210 includes a plurality of quadrupoles 212, 214, 216, and 218, see Fig. 2 and paragraph [0038]; used to correct aberrations, see paragraph [0038]; of the plurality of beams depicted by beam paths 14’ and 14’’, see Fig. 2 and paragraph [0038]);
wherein the projecting is based on the beam columns being arranged adjacent one another so as to project the pluralities of charged particle beams onto adjacent regions of the sample (multi-column microscope 600 includes three charged particle beam devices 200, see Fig. 6 and paragraph [0073]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Breuer in view of Hamaguchi et al. (US Pat. 6,703,624, hereinafter Hamaguchi).
Regarding claim 2, Breuer fails to disclose each beam column of the plurality of beam columns further comprises a plurality of detectors integrated into the plurality of objective lenses.
Hamaguchi discloses a backscattered electron detector 50 located on the electron lens 62 (backscattered electron detector 50, see Fig. 1 and col. 7, lines 47-52; electron lens 62 can function as an objective lens, see col. 7, lines 27-30). Hamaguchi teaches the backscattered electron detector assists in individual control exposure for each of the electron beams (see col. 7, lines 36-40).
Hamaguchi modifies Breuer by suggesting providing a backscattered electron detector with each objective lens.
Since both inventions are drawn to multibeam exposure devices, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date to modify Breuer by providing a backscattered electron detector with each objective lens for the purpose of assisting in individual control exposure for each of the electron beams as taught by Hamaguchi (see col. 7, lines 36-40).
Regarding claim 16, Breuer discloses a charged particle assessment tool (a charged particle beam device for inspection of a specimen, see abstract) comprising:
a plurality of beam columns, each beam column of the plurality of beam columns (multi-column microscope 600 includes three charged particle beam devices 200, see Fig. 6 and paragraph [0073]) comprising:
a charged particle beam source configured to emit charged particles (charged particle beam device 200 includes a beam emitter 111 of the charged particle beam source 110, see Fig. 2 and paragraph [0062]; charged particle beam emitter 111 forms primary charged particle beam 14, see paragraph [0064]);
a plurality of condenser lenses configured to form charged particles emitted from the charged particle beam source into a plurality of charged particle beams (condenser lens assembly 220 includes one or more electrostatic or magnetostatic lenses, see paragraph [0035]; form a plurality of beams depicted by beam paths 14’ and 14’’, see Fig. 2 and paragraph [0038]);
a plurality of objective lenses, each configured to project one charged particle beam of the plurality of charged particle beams onto a sample (objective lens assembly 230 located down beam of the multi-aperture plate and includes multiple individual lenses used to focus the beamlets onto the specimen, see Fig. 2 and paragraph [0045]); and
wherein the beam columns are arranged adjacent one another so as to project pluralities of charged particle beams onto adjacent regions of the sample (multi-column microscope 600 includes three charged particle beam devices 200, see Fig. 6 and paragraph [0073]).
Breuer fails to disclose a detector configured to face the sample.
Hamaguchi discloses a backscattered electron detector 50 located on the electron lens 62 facing the sample (backscattered electron detector 50, see Fig. 1 and col. 7, lines 47-52; electron lens 62 can function as an objective lens, see col. 7, lines 27-30). Hamaguchi teaches the backscattered electron detector assists in individual control exposure for each of the electron beams (see col. 7, lines 36-40).
Hamaguchi modifies Breuer by suggesting providing a backscattered electron detector that faces the sample.
Since both inventions are drawn to multibeam exposure devices, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date to modify Breuer by providing a backscattered electron detector for the purpose of assisting in individual control exposure for each of the electron beams as taught by Hamaguchi (see col. 7, lines 36-40).
Regarding claim 17, Breuer discloses aberration correctors configured to reduce one or more aberrations in the plurality of charged particle beams (aberration correction element 210 includes a plurality of quadrupoles 212, 214, 216, and 218, see Fig. 2 and paragraph [0038]; used to correct aberrations, see paragraph [0038]; of the plurality of beams depicted by beam paths 14’ and 14’’, see Fig. 2 and paragraph [0038]).
Regarding claim 18, Breuer discloses the aberration correctors comprise focus correctors (aberration correction element can focus the primary charged particle beam, see paragraph [0053]).
Regarding claim 19, Breuer discloses a plurality of condenser lenses are further configured to focus the plurality of charged particle beams to a plurality of intermediate focuses (condenser lens assembly 220 includes one or more electrostatic or magnetostatic lenses, see paragraph [0035]; form a plurality of beams depicted by beam paths 14’ and 14’’, see Fig. 2 and paragraph [0038]; being focused on multi-aperture plate 113, see paragraph [0064]).
Regarding claim 20, Breuer discloses the plurality of objective lenses are configured to be down beam of the plurality of intermediate focuses (objective lens assembly 230 located down beam of the multi-aperture plate, see Fig. 2 and paragraph [0045]).
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Breuer.
Regarding claim 6, Breuer discloses the beam columns are arranged in a 2 dimensional array (see paragraph [0073]). While Breuer does not explicitly disclose the beam columns are arranged in a hexagonal array, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to arrange the beam columns to any desirable shape, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 7, Breuer discloses the number of beam columns may have more than 5 charged particle beam devices (see paragraph [0073]). While Breuer does not explicitly disclose the number of beam columns within the claimed range, it would have been obvious at the time of invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to exceed the recited 5 devices, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 8, Breuer discloses the condenser lens assembly 220 includes one or more electrostatic or magnetostatic lenses (see paragraph [0035]). While Breuer does not explicitly disclose the number of condenser lenses within the claimed range, it would have been obvious at the time of invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to exceed the recited 5 devices, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Breuer in view of Frosien 10,453,645, hereinafter Frosien).
Regarding claim 10, Breuer fails to disclose the condenser lenses and/or the objective lenses are formed as MEMS devices.
Frosien teaches deflectors (such as multipole elements) can be MEMS devices (see col. 9, lines 1-10). Frosien discloses MEMS devices are advantageous for ease of wiring of electrodes (see col. 9, lines 1-10).
Frosien modifies Breuer by suggesting the electrostatic lens of the condenser lens are formed as MEMS devices.
Since both inventions are drawn to multi-beam inspection devices, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date to modify Breuer by providing the electrostatic lens of the condenser lens are formed as MEMS devices for the purpose of simplifying installation by the ease of wiring of electrodes in a MEMS as taught by Frosien.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 9, the prior art of record either singularly or in combination, does not teach or disclose the condenser lenses of each beam column of the plurality of beam columns are arranged in a respective array having a pitch in the range of from 50 to 500 μm.
Conclusion
Hanway Chang
/HC/ Examiner, Art Unit 2878
/GEORGIA Y EPPS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2878