DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment/Argument
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 01/07/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-7 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of an updated prior art search.
Applicant's arguments filed 01/07/2026 with respect to the rejections of claims 8-15 and 21-25 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The limitations amended in claims 8 and 21 do not overcome the broadest reasonable interpretation of reference US-12199025-B2 to Shen because molding compound Fig.2 216 separates underfill Fig.2 205 into two separate portions, even though both portions share the same reference numeral. By interpreting underfill 205 in this manner, the amended limitations can still be read upon by Shen, whether as a primary or secondary reference the rejections of record.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Method of Forming a Molded Semiconductor Package Structure and Redistribution Structures with Underfill.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen (US-12199025-B2) in view of Camenforte et al. (US- 20230170285 -A1 – hereinafter Camenforte).
Regarding claim 1, Shen teaches a method (Fig.13-19; col 11 line 64-66) comprising:
forming a first redistribution structure (Fig.2 100; col 6 line 38-41) over a carrier (Fig.13 400; col 12 line 1-5), wherein forming the first redistribution structure (100) comprises:
forming a plurality of first organic (col 5 line 50-55) polymer layers (Fig.14 112; col 12 line 15-20) over the carrier (400); and
forming a plurality of first conductive lines (Fig.14 114; col 12 line 15-25) in the plurality of first organic polymer layers (112);
attaching a first package structure (Fig.20-23; col 13 line 24-30) to the first redistribution structure (100), the first package structure comprising:
a first semiconductor die (Fig.2 D1; col 7 line 18-25);
dispensing a first underfill (Fig.2 205 top section; col 8 line 4-10) into a first gap between the plurality of first conductive lines (114) and the first package structure (D1);
bonding a substrate (Fig.2 204; col 7 line 14-20) to the first redistribution structure (100) using first conductive connectors (Fig.2 206; col 8 line 8), the substrate (204) being bonded to an opposing side of the first redistribution structure (100) as the first package structure (D1); and
dispensing a second underfill (Fig.2 205 bottom section; col 8 line 4-10) into a second gap between the substrate (204) and the first redistribution structure (100).
Shen does not teach a molding material that surrounds an entirety of a perimeter of the first semiconductor die in a top-down view, wherein a first portion of the molding material that is disposed on a first sidewall of the first semiconductor die has a first width, wherein a second portion of the molding material that is disposed on a second sidewall of the first semiconductor die has a second width, and wherein the first width is substantially equal to the second width; and
a second redistribution structure on bottom surfaces of the first semiconductor die and the molding material; and
wherein a bottommost surface of the molding material is in physical contact with the second redistribution structure, wherein the bottommost surface of the molding material overlaps a portion of the first underfill and a portion of the second underfill, and wherein an entirety of the first underfill is disposed above a topmost surface of the first redistribution structure.
Camenforte teaches a semiconductor package (Fig.1 100; ¶0037 of Camenforte) comprising a molding material (Fig.1 160; ¶0042 of Camenforte) that surrounds the perimeter of a die (Fig.1 104; ¶0042 of Camenforte) in a top down view, wherein the thickness of the molding material (160 of Camenforte) is substantially equal around all sides; and
a second redistribution structure (Fig.1 108; ¶0037 of Camenforte) on bottom surfaces of the first semiconductor die (104 of Camenforte) and the molding material (160 of Camenforte); and
wherein a bottommost surface of the molding material (160 of Camenforte) is in physical contact with the second redistribution structure (108 of Camenforte).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for the semiconductor package of Shen (D1 of Shen) to be the single die package structure taught by Camenforte (100 of Camenforte) to arrive at the claimed invention. Such a combination teaches the limitations wherein the bottommost surface of the molding material (160 of Camenforte) overlaps a portion of the first underfill (205 top section of Shen) and a portion of the second underfill (205 bottom section of Shen), and wherein an entirety of the first underfill (205 top section of Shen) is disposed above a topmost surface of the first redistribution structure (100 of Shen). A practitioner would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of providing single die encapsulation to the die (D1 of Shen and 104 of Camenforte) and for providing a configuration where the attached chip (D1 of Shen and 104 of Camenforte) needs its signals redistributed. This is a well-established practice in the art for applications involving complex chips, like logic chips.
Regarding claim 2, the aforementioned combination of Shen in view of Camenforte from claim 1 teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the second redistribution structure (108 of Camenforte) comprises:
a second organic polymer layer (see Fig.1 of Camenforte, the portions of 160 that are within 108 can be considered an organic polymer layer) on the bottom surfaces of the first semiconductor die (104 of Camenforte) and the molding material (160 of Camenforte); and
a second conductive line (see Fig.1 of Camenforte, the portions of 108 that are metal make up a lead frame which is a second conductive line) in the second organic polymer layer (160 within 108 of Camenforte).
Regarding claim 3, the aforementioned combination of Shen in view of Camenforte from claim 2 teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the plurality of first organic polymer layers (the organic layers of Shen comprise polyimide; col 5 line 55-56 of Shen) and the second organic polymer layer (160 of Camenforte is a plastic; ¶0042. It would be obvious for 160 of Camenforte to be made of the same material as the organic layers of Shen (polyimide)) comprise polybenzoxazole (PBO), polyimide or benzocyclobutene (BCB).
Regarding claim 4, the aforementioned combination of Shen in view of Camenforte from claim 2 teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the first underfill (205 top section of Shen) is isolated (molding layer Fig.2 216 col 8 line 20-25 of Shen isolated underfill 205 of Shen into its upper and lower portions) from the second underfill (205 bottom section of Shen).
The aforementioned combination does not explicitly teach wherein the second redistribution structure comprises a thickness that is in a range from 2 μm to 50 μm.
However, it would have been obvious to form the redistribution structure within the claimed range, since it has been held by the Federal circuit that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. (In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984)).
Regarding claim 5, the aforementioned combination of Shen in view of Camenforte from claim 1 teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of first conductive lines (114 of Shen) comprises at least four redistribution layers (four redistribution layers can be seen in Fig.2 of Shen) in the plurality of first organic polymer layers (112 of Shen).
Regarding claim 6, the aforementioned combination of Shen in view of Camenforte from claim 1 teaches the method of claim 1.
The aforementioned combination does not explicitly teach wherein the first width and the second width are in a range from 10 μm to 500 μm.
However, it would have been obvious to form the molding material within the claimed range, since it has been held by the Federal circuit that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. (In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984)).
Regarding claim 7, the aforementioned combination of Shen in view of Camenforte from claim 1 teaches the method of claim 1 further comprising adhering a stiffener ring (Fig.2 218; col 8 line 33-40 of Shen) on the substrate (204 of Shen), wherein the stiffener ring (218 of Shen) encircles the first redistribution structure (100 of Shen) in a top view.
Claim(s) 8 and 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen in view of Lai et al. (US-20210233835-A1 – hereinafter Lai).
Regarding claim 8, Shen teaches a package structure (Fig.2 of Shen) having a second redistribution structure (Fig.2 100; col 6 line 38-41), a first package component (Fig.2 D1; col 7 line 18-25 of Shen) and a second package component (Fig.2 Dn; col 7 line 60-67 of Shen); and
after (Col 13 line 33-34) coupling the first package component (D1) and the second package component (Dn) to the second redistribution structure (100), dispensing an underfill (Fig.2 205 top section; col 8 line 4-10) into a second gap between the first package component (D1) and the second package component (Dn), and into a third gap between the first package component (D1) and the second redistribution structure (100), wherein an entirety of the underfill (205 top section) is disposed above a topmost surface of the second redistribution structure (100).
Shen does not explicitly teach a method comprising:
attaching a first die and a second die to a carrier substrate;
forming a molding material to fill in a gap between adjacent sidewalls of the first die and the second die, wherein the molding material surrounds an entirety of a perimeter of each of the first die and the second die;
forming a first redistribution structure over top surfaces of the first die, the second die and the molding material;
detaching the carrier substrate from the first redistribution structure;
performing a singulation process to form a first package component and a second package component, the first package component comprising the first die, and the second package component comprising the second die, wherein after the singulation process a first width of the molding material that surrounds and is in physical contact with the entirety of the perimeter of each of the first die and the second die is in a range from 10 μm to 500 μm.
Lai teaches a method comprising:
attaching a first die (Fig.3 left 50; ¶0025 of Lai) and a second die (Fig.3 right 50; ¶0025 of Lai) to a carrier substrate (Fig.3 106; ¶0024 of Lai);
forming a molding material (Fig.4 110; ¶0026 of Lai) to fill in a gap between adjacent sidewalls of the first die (left 50 of Lai) and the second die (right 50 of Lai), wherein the molding material (110 of Lai) surrounds an entirety of a perimeter of each of the first die (left 50 of Lai) and the second die (right 50 of Lai);
forming a first redistribution structure (Fig.5 112; ¶0027 of Lai) over top surfaces of the first die (left 50 of Lai), the second die (right 50 of Lai) and the molding material (110 of Lai);
detaching (Fig.8; ¶0041 of Lai) the carrier substrate (106 of Lai) from the first redistribution structure (112 of Lai);
performing a singulation process (¶0003 of Lai discloses a singulation process as an option) to form a first package component and a second package component, the first package component comprising the first die (left 50 of Lai), and the second package component comprising the second die (right 50 of Lai), wherein after the singulation process a first width of the molding material (110 of Lai) that surrounds and is in physical contact with the entirety of the perimeter of each of the first die (left 50 of Lai) and the second die (right 50 of Lai) is in a range from 10 μm to 500 μm (singulation would result in this limitation being met).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to employ the method taught by Lai to produce the first package component (D1 of Shen) and second package component (Dn of Shen) to arrive at the claimed invention.
A practitioner would be motivated to use this method because it is one of many reasonable options a practitioner of ordinary skill would find useful to fabricate the dies (D1 and Dn of Shen) in the process taught by Shen. Additionally, Shen explicitly teaches that both dies (D1 and Dn of Shen) can be fabricated using techniques well known to those skilled in the art (col 7 line 1-5).
Regarding claim 11, the aforementioned combination of Shen in view of Lai from claim 8 teaches the method of claim 8.
The aforementioned combination does not explicitly teach wherein the first redistribution structure has a thickness that is in a range from 2 μm to 50 μm.
However, it would have been obvious to form the first redistribution structure within the claimed range, since it has been held by the Federal circuit that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. (In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984)).
Regarding claim 12, the aforementioned combination of Shen in view of Lai from claim 8 teaches the method of claim 8, wherein the first redistribution structure (110 of Lai) and the second redistribution structure (100 of Shen) comprise organic polymers (col 5 line 50-55 of Shen).
Regarding claim 13, the aforementioned combination of Shen in view of Lai from claim 12 teaches the method of claim 12, wherein the second redistribution structure (110 of Shen) comprises at least four redistribution layers (Fig.2 114; col 12 line 15-20 of Shen).
Regarding claim 14, the aforementioned combination of Shen in view of Lai from claim 8 teaches the method of claim 8, wherein each of the first package component (D1 of Shen) and the second package component (Dn of Shen) comprise a first sidewall having a second width (a side of D1 in one direction) and a second sidewall having a third width (a second side of D1 in the other direction), wherein the second width is larger than the third width, wherein a fourth width of the second redistribution structure (100 of Shen) is larger than the second width (long sides of D1 and Dn), and wherein after coupling the first package component (D1 of Shen) and the second package component (Dn of Shen) to the second redistribution structure (100 of Shen) the first package component and the second package component are disposed such that the second sidewall of the first package component is adjacent to the second sidewall of the second package component (short sides of D1 and Dn are adjacent in Fig.2).
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen in view of Lai, and further in view of Chen et al. (US-11088086-B2 – hereinafter Shih).
Regarding claim 9, the aforementioned combination of Shen in view of Lai from claim 8 teaches the method of claim 8.
The aforementioned combination does not teach wherein after dispensing the underfill, a top surface of the underfill is level with a top surface of the first die and a top surface of the molding material that surrounds the first die.
Shih teaches chips (Fig.1A 130; col 6 line 5-13 of Shih) and an underfill portion (Fig.1A 152; col 6 line 5-13 of Shih) where the top surface of the chips (130 of Shih) are level with the top surface of the underfill (152 of Shih).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to implement the underfill configuration of Shih (152 of Shih) to the prior art combination of Shen in view of Lai to arrive at the claimed invention. A practitioner of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of allowing adequate heat dissipation off the tops of the dies.
Regarding claim 10, the aforementioned combination of Shen in view of Lai, and further in view of Shih from claim 9 teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the molding (Primary reference Shen also teaches a molding material 216 having all of the required characteristics of the molding material 110 of Lai to effectively teach the claimed subject matter) material (Fig.2 216; col 8 line 20-25 of Shen) comprises first filler particles in a first base material (col 8 line 4-20 of Shen), wherein the underfill comprises second filler particles in a second base material (col 8 line 4-20 of Shen), and wherein the first base material is different from the second base material (the molding material can comprise silica and the underfill material can comprise an epoxy polymer and filler).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen in view of Lai, and further in view of Lin et al. (US-10790158-B2 – hereinafter Lin)
Regarding claim 15, the aforementioned combination of Shen in view of Lai from claim 14 teaches the method of claim 14. Additionally, with the second package component of Shen being labeled as Dn instead of D2 (col 7 line 1 of Shen), this suggests more dies may be added to the method of Shen in view of Lai.
The aforementioned combination does not teach coupling a third die and a fourth die to the second redistribution structure, wherein the third die and the fourth die are adjacent to the first sidewall of the first package component; and
coupling a fifth die and a sixth die to the second redistribution structure, wherein the fifth die and the sixth die are adjacent to the first sidewall of the second package component.
Lin teaches a multi-die device comprising dies of a variety of sizes (Fig.1 of Lin).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include a third through sixth die to the structure of Lai in view of Lin having a smaller size (depicted in Fig.1 of Lin) to arrive at the claimed invention.
A practitioner would be motivated to make this modification to meet the requirements of different device applications where at least 6 dies are required. Simply adding more IC die components is does not patentably distinguish claim 15 over claim 14 when the primary reference suggests the presence of additional dies and the teaching reference depicts at least 6 IC dies.
Claim(s) 21-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen in view of Newlin (US-20220351901-A1 – hereinafter Newlin), and further in view of Chen, and further in view of Duong.
Regarding claim 21, Shen teaches a method comprising:
forming (Fig.13-19; col 11 line 64-66) a first redistribution structure (Fig.2 100; col 6 line 38-41) over a carrier (Fig.13 400; col 12 line 1-5), wherein the first redistribution structure (100) comprises:
a plurality of first insulating layers (Fig.14 112; col 12 line 15-20) over the carrier (400); and
a plurality of first conductive lines (Fig.14 114; col 12 line 15-25) in the plurality of first insulating layers (112);
attaching a first package structure (Fig.20-23; col 13 line 24-30) and a first semiconductor die (Fig.2 D1; col 7 line 18-25) to a first side of the first redistribution structure (100) using first conductive connectors (Fig.2 210; col 7 line 60-67), wherein the first package structure (Fig.20-23) comprises:
a second semiconductor die (Fig.2 Dn; col 7 line 10-25); and
encapsulating each of the first package structure (Fig.20-23) and the first semiconductor die (D1) with an encapsulant (Fig.2 216; col 8 line 20-25) wherein the encapsulant (216) overlaps outer regions of the first redistribution structure (100) and wherein the entirety of the encapsulant (216) is disposed over the outer regions of the first redistribution structure (100); and
bonding a substrate (Fig.2 205; col 8 line 4-10) to a second side of the first redistribution structure (100) using second conductive connectors (Fig.2 206; col 8 line 8), wherein the first side of the first redistribution structure (100) and the second side of the first redistribution structure (100) are opposite sides of the first redistribution structure (100).
Shen does not teach the second semiconductor die having a molding material disposed on sidewalls of the second semiconductor die.
Newlin teaches a chip package (Fig.6; ¶0021 of Newlin) having a chip (Fig.6 41; ¶0021) encapsulated by a mold (Fig.6 61; ¶0021).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to individually encapsulate the second semiconductor die (Dn of Shen) with the mold of Newlin (61 of Newlin) to arrive at the claimed invention.
A practitioner would be motivated to make this modification for the benefit of protecting the second semiconductor die (Dn of Newlin) from the outside environment (¶0021 of Newlin).
Shen in view of Newlin does not teach a second redistribution structure disposed below the second semiconductor die and the molding material, the second redistribution structure being electrically connected to the second semiconductor die.
Chen teaches a die (Fig.1E SC2; ¶0023 of Chen) having a redistribution structure (Fig.1E 202; ¶0023 of Chen).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include a redistribution structure for only an individual die (202 of Chen), as taught by Chen on the second semiconductor die of Shen (Dn of Shen).
A practitioner would be motivated to make this modification for a configuration where the attached die (Dn of Shen) needs its signals redistributed. This is a well-established practice in the art and any practitioner could employ this to suit the respective device application.
Shen in view of Newlin, and further in view of Chen does not teach wherein a height of the molding material is equal to a height of the second semiconductor die, and wherein a topmost surface of the second semiconductor die is level with a topmost surface of the molding material.
Duong teaches a molding material (Fig.2A 141; ¶0040 of Duong) surrounding a die (Fig.2A 114; ¶0040 of Duong) where the top surface of the die (114 of Duong) is level with the top surface of the molding material (141 of Duong).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to implement the molding material configuration of Duong (141 of Duong) to the prior art combination of Shen in view of Newlin, and further in view of Chen to arrive at the claimed invention. A practitioner of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of allowing adequate heat dissipation off the tops of the dies.
Regarding claim 22, the aforementioned combination of Shen in view of Newlin, and further in view of Chen, and further in view of Duong from claim 21 teaches the method of claim 21, wherein the plurality of first insulating layers (112 of Shen) comprise an organic polymer (col 5 line 50-55 of Shen).
Regarding claim 23, the aforementioned combination of Shen in view of Newlin, and further in view of Chen, and further in view of Duong from claim 22 teaches the method of claim 22, wherein the organic polymer comprises polybenzoxazole (PBO), polyimide or benzocyclobutene (BCB) (the organic layers comprise polyimide; col 5 line 55-56 of Shen).
Regarding claim 24, the aforementioned combination of Shen in view of Newlin, and further in view of Chen, and further in view of Duong from claim 21 teaches the method of claim 21 further comprising adhering a stiffener ring (Fig.2 218; col 8 line 33-40 of Shen) on the substrate (205 of Shen), wherein the stiffener ring (218 of Shen) encircles the first redistribution structure (100 of Shen) in a top view.
Regarding claim 25, the aforementioned combination of Shen in view of Newlin, and further in view of Chen, and further in view of Duong from claim 21 teaches the method of claim 21.
The aforementioned combination does not explicitly teach wherein a width of a first portion of the molding material that is disposed on a first sidewall of the second semiconductor die is in a range from 10 μm to 500 μm.
However, it would have been obvious to form the molding material within the claimed range, since it has been held by the Federal circuit that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. (In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984)).
Conclusion
/T.J.K./ Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/ELISEO RAMOS FELICIANO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2817