DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on (8/22/2022), is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims (1-20) were examined in a Non-Final on 1/28/2025. A Final office action in response to Applicants submission of 5/28/2025 was mailed on 7/15/2025. Claims 1-20 were examined. A Non-Final office action in view of a request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114 was mailed on 2/24/2026. Applicant's submission filed on 12/11/2025 was entered.
Response to Amendment and arguments
Applicants’ arguments related to the amendments are not persuasive in view of the present office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8, 10, 12-16, 18, 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Yicheng Li (US 7740705).
Li discloses a chamber suitable for processing semiconductor substrates, comprising: a chamber body (Fig 1A);
a chamber lid coupled to the chamber body to define a process volume (130);
a faceplate coupled to the chamber lid (144);
a pedestal (302) coupled to a stem (Fig 2A) disposed in the processing volume,
a pumping plate disposed concentric to the pedestal in the processing volume (304, 310);
a ground bowl (302) positioned in the processing volume, the ground bowl coupled to a lift system (Col 5 lines 51-58) separate from the pedestal, that moves the ground bowl between an elevated processing position and a lowered processing position; and
a ground bowl conductor (306, 314, 320) coupled to the ground bowl, the ground bowl conductor contacting the pumping plate when the ground bowl is in the elevated processing position.
Regarding claim 2, a vertical stem is attached to 302.
Regarding claim 3, Li discloses RF source (150) connected to an electrode through a match network (Col 9 lines 39-54) in support 302.
Regarding claim 4 and 16 ground bowl conductor (306, 314 or 320) is in a compressed state when ground bowl is elevated.
Regarding claims 5, 12 and 15 ground bowl conductor could be a bellow (Fig 5 and description).
Regarding claim 6 ground bowl ground bowl conductor (306, 320) would be spaced from the pumping plate (304, 310).
Regarding claims 8, 10, 18, 20 bellows 320 is constituted by stainless steel (Col 15 lines 31-36).
Regarding claims 13-14 with the interpretation of surface area as above it is noted that since Li discloses the claimed structure, claimed surface area for RF to propagate is also disclosed.
Regarding claim 21 the ground bowl conductor (306, 314, 320) is disposed over the bottom plane of pedestal just like in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 9, 11 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yicheng Li (US 7740705) in view of Baiei Kawano (US 7267725).
Regarding claims as above, Yicheng Li do not disclose lift pin and other limitations related to claims as mentioned above.
Kawano discloses a chamber suitable for processing semiconductor substrates, comprising: a chamber body (Fig 1,1);
a chamber lid coupled to the chamber body to define a process volume (11);
a faceplate coupled to the chamber lid (10);
a pedestal (4) disposed in the processing volume,
a pumping plate disposed concentric to the pedestal in the processing volume (7);
a ground bowl (4) positioned in the processing volume, the ground bowl coupled to a lift system that moves the ground bowl between an elevated processing position and a lowered processing position; and
a ground bowl conductor (8) coupled to the ground bowl, the ground bowl conductor contacting the pumping plate when the ground bowl is in the elevated processing position (As noted in Col 10 lines 36-43 the bellows 8 could be attached to the step 14).
Regarding the amendment, the ground bowl conductor is around the pedestal 4 or between the pedestal and ground bowl end at 14.
Regarding claim 7 lift pins (9) are disclosed.
Claims 9, 11 and 17 are rejected with claim 1 as ground bowl conductor bellows is disclosed to be constituted of aluminum or nickel-based alloy (Col 10 lines 11-17).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yicheng Li (US 7740705) in view of Baiei Kawano (US 7267725) and Yudovsky (US 20150236566).
Regarding claim 19, Yudovsky discloses a semiconductor processing apparatus using plasma in vacuum and being analogous of ground bowl and bellows being of stainless steel (Para 56 and 66).
Since stainless steel is corrosion resistant having this as a ground bowl would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Daisuke Toriya (US 20140130743) discloses a chamber where a pedestal 34 supporting a substrate, lifts to contact a pumping plate (51) using a bellows (Fig 2).
Einosuke Tsuda (US 20100310772) discloses a chamber where a pedestal 34 supporting a substrate, lifts to contact a pumping plate (26) using a bellows (Fig 1).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
RAM N. KACKAR
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1716
/RAM N KACKAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716