DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
This action is responsive to the following communications: the Amendment filed December 31, 2025.
Claims 1-8 are pending. Claims 1 and 5 are amended. Claims 1 and 5 are independent.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114 After Final Rejection
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on November 7, 2025. These IDSs have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jiang et al. (U.S. 2016/0099070; hereinafter “Jiang”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Jiang discloses a method comprising:
programming an analog neural non-volatile memory cell in an array to a target value representing one of N different values, where N is an integer and the N different values are all possible values the analog neural non-volatile memory cell will be programmed to during operation (“one or more targets data states of threshold voltage ranges,” see page 5, par. 0070);
verifying that a respective one of the N different values stored in the analog neural non-volatile memory cell within an acceptable window of values set by an upper threshold and a lower threshold (see Figs. 10C-10E: the plurality of number of cells store different states and each state is set by an upper threshold and a lower threshold, for example, S1 has a starting threshold Vv1 and an ending threshold before Vv2, S2 has a starting threshold at Vv2 and an ending threshold before Vv2) around the respective target value (“several verify pulses between each program pulse to test for different program states,” see page 6, par. 0072);
repeating the programming and verifying for all other values within the N values (a plurality of program pulse are applied, i.e. programming is repeated, and between each program pulse, verify pulses are applied to test for different program states, i.e. N values, see page 6, par. 0072), wherein the acceptable window of values is different in size for two or more of the N values (From Figure 10C to 10E the acceptable window of values is different in size), wherein the size is the difference between the upper threshold and the lower threshold for the acceptable window of values (Figs. 10C-10E: during the repetition of the programming and verifying, the size of the acceptable window varies from 10C to 10E. For example: the difference between Vv1’ and Vv2’ of Fig. 10C varies from the difference between Vv1 and Vv2 of Fig. 10E); and
identifying the analog neural non-volatile memory cell as bad if any of the verifying indicates the respective one of the N different values stored in the cell is not within the acceptable window of values around the respective target value (see page 6, par. 0073).
Regarding claim 2, Jiang discloses wherein the analog neural non-volatile memory cell is a stacked-gate flash memory cell (see page 2, par. 0044).
Regarding claim 3, Jiang discloses wherein the analog neural non-volatile memory cell is a split-gate flash memory cell (see page 2, par. 0044).
Regarding independent claim 5, Jiang discloses a system (Fig. 7) comprising:
an array of analog neural non-volatile memory cells (Fig. 7: 700); and
test control logic to:
program a selected analog neural non-volatile memory cell in the array to a respective target value representing one of N different values, where N is an integer and the N different values are all possible values the analog neural non-volatile memory cell will be programmed to during operation (“one or more targets data states of threshold voltage ranges,” see page 5, par. 0070);
verify that a respective one of the N different values stored in the selected analog neural non-volatile memory cell is within an acceptable window of values set by an upper threshold and a lower threshold (see Figs. 10C-10E: the plurality of number of cells store different states and each state is set by an upper threshold and a lower threshold, for example, S1 has a starting threshold Vv1 and an ending threshold before Vv2, S2 has a starting threshold at Vv2 and an ending threshold before Vv2) around the respective target value (“several verify pulses between each program pulse to test for different program states,” see page 6, par. 0072);
repeat the programming and verifying for all other values within the N values (a plurality of program pulse are applied, i.e. programming is repeated, and between each program pulse, verify pulses are applied to test for different program states, i.e. N values, see page 6, par. 0072), wherein the acceptable window of values is different in size for two or more of the N values (From Figure 10C to 10E the acceptable window of values is different in size), wherein the size is the difference between the upper threshold and the lower threshold for the acceptable window of values (Figs. 10C-10E: during the repetition of the programming and verifying, the size of the acceptable window varies from 10C to 10E. For example: the difference between Vv1’ and Vv2’ of Fig. 10C varies from the difference between Vv1 and Vv2 of Fig. 10E); and
identify the selected analog neural non-volatile memory cell as bad if any of the verifying indicates the respective one of the N different values stored in the cell is not within the acceptable window of values around the respective target value (see page 6, par. 0073).
Regarding claim 6, Jiang discloses wherein the selected analog neural non-volatile memory cell is a stacked-gate flash memory cell (see page 2, par. 0044).
Regarding claim 7, Jiang discloses wherein the selected analog neural non-volatile memory cell is a split-gate flash memory cell (see page 2, par. 0044).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang et al. (U.S. 2016/0099070; hereinafter “Jiang”) in view of Lai et al. (U.S. 2020/0202941; hereinafter “Lai”).
Regarding claim 4, Jiang discloses the limitations with respect to claim 1.
However, Jiang is silent with respect to the array is part of a neural network.
Similar to Jiang, Lai teaches programming operation in an array of non-volatile memory cell (see Abstract).
Furthermore, Lai teaches wherein the array is part of a neural network (see page 1, par. 0019-0020).
Since Lai and Jiang are from the same field of endeavor, the teachings described by Lai would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Jiang.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Lai with the teachings of Jiang for the purpose of provide save circuit area, see Lai’s page 4, par. 0050.
Regarding claim 8, Jiang discloses the limitations with respect to claim 5.
However, Jiang is silent with respect to the array is part of a neural network.
Similar to Jiang, Lai teaches a system (Fig. 1) comprising test control logic (Fig. 1: PE1) to perform programming operation in an array of non-volatile memory cell (see Abstract).
Furthermore, Lai teaches wherein the array is part of a neural network (see page 1, par. 0019-0020).
Since Lai and Jiang are from the same field of endeavor, the teachings described by Lai would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Jiang.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Lai with the teachings of Jiang for the purpose of provide save circuit area, see Lai’s page 4, par. 0050.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed with respect to claims 1 and 5 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to claims 1 and 5, Applicant asserts that Jiang does not disclose performing programming and verifying for all N values by determining if the programmed cell is within an acceptable window of values around the target values, where the window is set by an upper threshold and a lower threshold for each target value, and where the acceptable window of values is different in size for at least two of the N values, where the size is the difference between the upper threshold and the lower threshold of the windows, see Applicant’s Remarks page 6. This particular remark is not considered persuasive.
Jiang shows in Figures 10A-10E that multiple verify levels are tested, see also paragraph 0072 as described in the rejection above. Furthermore, the acceptable window of values between Figures 10C and 10E is different in size. For example: the size of the window of values shown in Figure 10C for a plurality of states is wider than the window of values shown in Figure 10E.
For the above reason, the applied rejection is considered proper and maintained.
Conclusion
/Alfredo Bermudez Lozada/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2825