DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status
The amendment filed 02/05/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-17 and 21-23 are pending. Claims 5, 7, and 13-14 remain withdrawn from consideration as being drawn to a nonelected species or invention. In the amendment filed 02/05/2026, claims 1 and 10 were amended, claims 21-23 were newly added, and claims 18-20 were canceled.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 5, 7, 13-14 remain withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 02/13/2025.
Claim Interpretation
The claims contain multiple references to portions of the showerhead being fluidly isolated. It is noted that the gas flows from the claimed “fluidly isolated” spaces into chamber space 233 (Fig 2A-C). It is noted that gas from chamber space 233 (Fig 2A-C) may reverse flow into the “fluidly isolated” space and gas from each of the “fluidly isolated” spaces is intended to mix within the chamber (Fig 2B). Therefore, “fluidly isolated” is interpreted inclusive of within the showerhead with the understanding that the gases may mix in the chamber and that in conditions in the chamber that allow for reverse flow, gas may flow between the sections if it is first flowed into the chamber. This interpretation is consistent with the text of specification paragraph [0042], and in particular line 19-25 of p15 of the specification.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“fastening mechanisms” in claims 1-4, 6, 8-12, 15-17, and 21-23 interpreted as screws, bolts, a clamp, [0051] and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 2004/0123800 of Schlottmann (prev cited not relied on in office action mailed 03/26/2025), hereinafter Schlottmann, in view of US Patent Application Publication 2012/0135609 of Yudovsky et al., hereinafter Yudovsky, Olgado (prev. presented US 2012/0234945), and Breiling (prev. presented US 2014/0235069).
Regarding claim 1, Schlottmann teaches a dual-channel showerhead (Fig 4, 5) [0040-0041], comprising: an upper plate (19 Fig 4,5) [0040-0041] that defines a first plurality of aperture (shown, not numbered as apertures through plate 19 Fig 4,5) [0040-0041]; a base comprising a lower plate (6 Fig 4,5) [0040-0041], the lower plate defining a second plurality of apertures (holes 9 that are connected to the through holes of plate 19 Fig 4,5) [0040-0041] and a third plurality of apertures (holes 9 in plate 6 that are not connected to the through holes of plate 19 Fig 4,5) [0040-0041], wherein: each of the first plurality of apertures is fluidly coupled with a respective one of the second plurality of apertures to define a fluid path extending from a top surface of the showerhead through a bottom surface of the showerhead (shown in Fig 4,5); there is a gas inlet (8A Fig 4,5) [0040-0041] that is that is fluidly coupled with the third plurality of apertures (third plurality of apertures are the through holes 9 of plate 6 that are not connected to the through holes of plate 19 Fig 4,5) [0040-0041] by a plenum (space above the third apertures). Schlottmann fails to teach the base defines a gas inlet, the base coupled with the upper plate using one or more fastening mechanisms, and fails to teach the bottommost end of compressible gasket forms a top end of the plenum. Regarding the bottommost end of compressible gasket forms a top end of the plenum, in the same field of endeavor of a dual channel showerheads (abstract), Yudovsky teaches the dual channel showerhead plates may be arranged so that the base plate is flat (156 Fig 3) and the top plate (150 Fig 3) has columns that protrude downward to interface with the base plate (Fig 3), which is the embodiment of Schlottmann, or alternatively the showerhead may have a base (180 Fig 2) with columns that protrude upward to interface with a flat upper plate (172 Fig 2) [0026]. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of the plate of Schlottmann, to include the lower plate having protrusions to project upward to meet the upper plate (shape of embodiment of Yudovsky Fig 2) instead of the current shape of the plates of Schlottmann (shape of embodiment of Yudovsky Fig 3) because Yudovsky teaches they are functional alternatives that achieve the same purpose of dual gas showerhead supply [0026]. Note that in this alternative shape arrangement, the gasket (15 or 16 Fig 4,5) of Schlottmann is positioned to interface with the flat lower surface of the upper plate and therefore is positioned such that a bottommost end of the gasket forms a top end of the plenum because this is where the interface of the two plates is positioned which is where the sealing gasket is required to be positioned.
Regarding the base coupled with the upper plate using one or more fastening mechanisms, in the same field of endeavor of dual-channel showerheads (abstract), Olgado teaches the base coupled with the upper plate using one or more fastening mechanisms (screws 312 Fig 3A, [0036]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Schlottmann to include the one or more fastening mechanisms because Olgado teaches the screws allow for coupling of the plates to attach and secure them and Schlottmann is silent as to how the plates are attached and secured.
Regarding the base defines a gas inlet, the gas inlet is shown as being routed through the upper plate (19 Fig 4,5) in Schlottmann. However moving the inlet to be routed through the base lower plate represents a mere rearrangement of parts. Mere rearrangement of parts which does not modify the operation of a device is prima facie obvious. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975). Additionally, the modification as applied above of Schlottmann in view of Yudovsky to change the shape of the plates renders obvious having the gas inlet at the lower plate when the shape is changed to have the plenum in the lower plate. Additionally, in the same field of endeavor of a dual channel showerhead (Fig 1A-4B and [0060]), Breiling teaches the base defines a gas inlet that is fluidly coupled with the third plurality of apertures (shown as inlet in 103 Fig 1A and 248 Fig 2A [0067], see also 448 Fig 4A ) from a side gas entrance. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Schlottmann to include the gas inlet is from a side of the base of the showerhead because this represents a mere rearrangement of parts and because Breiling demonstrates this arrangement works to provide gas to lower holes of the showerhead.
Regarding claim 2, Schlottmann teaches each of the third plurality of apertures (third plurality of apertures are holes 9 that are not connected to the through holes of plate 19, Fig 4,5) is fluidly isolated from the first plurality of apertures and the second plurality of apertures [0040-0041].
Regarding claim 3, Schlottmann teaches the plenum (see annotated Fig 5 above) fluidly couples the gas inlet (8A Fig 4,5) with each of the third plurality of apertures (third plurality of apertures are the holes 9 that are not connected to the through holes of plate 19, Fig 4,5).
Regarding claim 6, Schlottmann fails to teach the gasket comprises polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE). Schlottmann teaches a variety of materials may be used [0038]. Olgado teaches the seal between plates of the showerhead may be made of polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) [0040]. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the gasket of Schlottmann to be formed of polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) because Olgado demonstrates this material may be used in a dual channel shower head for separating the two zones [0040].
Regarding claim 21 and 22, Schlottmann teaches the compressible gasket defines a fourth plurality of apertures that are axially aligned with the first plurality of apertures and the second plurality of apertures (Fig 4,5 and [0040-0041]). Regarding a lower surface of the compressible gasket defines a solid body that is axially aligned with and extends over the third plurality of apertures, in the modification as applied in the rejection of claim 1 above in which the gasket forms the upper surface of the plenum because the change in shape of the showerhead plate, the gasket (15 or 16 Fig 4,5) of Schlottmann does not need holes for the third plurality of apertures because the gas does not need to flow through the gasket to the third plurality of apertures and therefore the gasket having a solid body that is axially aligned with and extends over the third plurality of apertures and does not have apertures in the gasket positioned above the third apertures is an obvious result of the modification as applied to claim 1.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schlottmann in view of Yudovsky, Olgado, and Breiling as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Noorbakhsh (prev. presented US 2011/0162800).
Regarding claim 4, the combination remains as applied to claim 3 above. The combination as applied to claim 3 fails to teach the base defines a recursive flow path that fluidly couples the gas inlet with the plenum because Schlottmann teaches a single inlet (8A Fig 4,5). In the same field of endeavor of a showerhead (abstract), Noorbakhsh teaches an outer annular gas delivery plenum using recursive flow (Fig 4B-4C) [0039]. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the plenum of Schlottmann to include the recursive flow plenum of Noorbakhsh because Noorbakhsh teaches this provides a more uniform gas distribution [0039].
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schlottmann in view of Yudovsky, Olgado, and Breiling as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Choi (prev. presented US 2004/0206305).
Regarding claim 8, the combination remains as applied to claim 1 above. The combination as applied to claim 1 fails to teach the lower plate is detachably coupled with the base using one or more fasteners because Schlottmann and Olgado teach a unibody base and lower plate (see Olgado [0038] teaches the plates are brazed or welded). In the same field of endeavor of showerheads (gas distribution plate) (abstract), Choi teaches the lower gas distribution plate may be a single piece (158 Fig 2 or 300 Fig 3) or may be formed of a lower plate (506 Fig 5, 654 Fig 6) attached to an upper plate (504 Fig 5, 652 Fig 6) using a fastener (544 Fig 5, 602 Fig 6). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the base of Schlottmann to include a lower plate attached using a fastener in place of the single body plate (or base formed by brazing or welding plates) because Choi teaches this is a functional alternative [0046-0048] and teaches the separation of the plates reduces fabrication costs [0048].
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schlottmann in view of Yudovsky, Olgado, and Breiling as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of White (prev. presented US 2014/0103145).
Regarding claim 9, the combination remains as applied to claim 1 above. The combination as applied to claim 1 fails to teach the gasket has a thickness that decreases as a radial distance from a center of the gasket increases. In the same field of endeavor of showerheads (abstract), White teaches a cavity (52 Fig 8-9) for supplying a second gas to the chamber [0036] and teaches it may be shaped such that the thickness decreases as a radial distance from a center of the showerhead increases (see Fig 8 and [0040]. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Schlottmann to include the space between the plates is shaped such that the thickness decreases as a radial distance from a center of the showerhead increases because White teaches this is a functional alternative to having the surfaces be flat (embodiment of Schlottmann and Olgado) and teaches it may provide better flow characteristics and limit pocket formation [0040]. In the combination as applied the space between the plates has a thickness that decreases as a radial distance from a center of the showerhead increases and therefore the gasket of Schlottmann must be modified to have a thickness that decreases as a radial distance from a center of the gasket increases to maintain the desired sealing effect of the gasket.
Claim(s) 10-11 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schlottmann in view of Yudovsky, Olgado, Breiling, and White.
Regarding claim 10, the combination remains as applied to the analogous limitations of claim 1 above and of claim 9 above.
Regarding claim 11, the combination remains as applied to claim 10 above. White further teaches the base (36 Fig 13) defines a seat that receives the upper plate (plate 34) (Fig 13). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the base defines a seat that receives the upper plate because White demonstrates this as a functional alternative for the coupling of the plates of a showerhead.
Regarding claim 15, Schlottmann teaches the first and second apertures are generally cylindrical (Fig 3-5).
Claim(s) 12 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schlottmann in view of Yudovsky, Olgado, Breiling, and White as applied to claim 10-11 above, and further in view of Hur (prev. presented US 2005/0103267).
Regarding claim 12, the combination remains as applied above to claim 11. White demonstrates an outer region of the seat widens upward toward a periphery of the seat (see portion around 106 Fig 13). However, the combination fails to teach the peripheral edge of the bottom surface of the upper plate includes a taper and fails to demonstrate the degree of taper of the outer region of the seat matches a degree of taper of the peripheral edge of the bottom surface of the seat. It is noted that the claimed limitation merely represents a change of shape of the interface surfaces of the upper plate and the seat of the base. It is further recognized that a change of shape is generally considered to be within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art, there being no evidence to suggest any unexpected results due to the shape of the peripheral edge of the seat and the upper plate. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). Additionally, in the same field of endeavor of a plasma processing apparatus (abstract), Hur teaches that the interface surface between two structures of the chamber (portions 42 and 41 of ring 40 Fig 10) includes a tapered interface (Fig 11) or a stepped interface (Fig 14). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the shape of the outer region of the seat and the peripheral edge of the upper plate because Hur teaches a tapered interface is a functional alternative to a stepped interface (Fig 11 and 14).
Regarding claim 16, the combination remains as applied above to claim 10. Schlottmann teaches an inner wall of each of the third plurality of apertures tapers inward to a choke point (Fig 4,5) but fails to teach the choke point is disposed within a medial portion of the respective aperture. Hur teaches an inner wall of each of the third plurality of apertures tapers inward to a choke point disposed within a medial portion of the respective aperture (Fig 7). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the third plurality of apertures to include an inner wall of each of the third plurality of apertures tapers inward to a choke point disposed within a medial portion of the respective aperture because Hur teaches this prevents the lower end of the gas passage from being etched by the process gas [0047].
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schlottmann in view of Yudovsky, Olgado, Breiling, and White as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Liang (prev. presented US 2019/0244792).
Regarding claim 17, the combination remains as applied above to claim 10. Schlottmann is silent about heating. Olgado teaches the base comprises a heating fluid at least extending partially about a circumference of the base (337 Fig 3A [0039]) but fails to teach the base comprises a heating coil extending at least partially about a circumference of the base. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Schlottmann to include the heating system because Olgado teaches this helps regulate the temperature of the showerhead [0031]. In the same field of endeavor of a dual channel showerhead (abstract), Liang teaches the base comprises a heating coil extending at least partially about a circumference of the base (recess 342 Fig 3A-B to hold a heating element [0041]) and teaches this as an alternative to a heat exchange fluid [0042]. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Schlottmann to include a heating element because Liang teaches this is an alternative to a heat exchange fluid (embodiment of Olgado) (see Liang [0042]) and teaches it enables maintaining the temperature of the showerhead [0042].
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schlottmann in view of Yudovsky, Olgado, and Breiling as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hur.
Regarding claim 23, Schlottmann teaches the first and second apertures are generally cylindrical (Fig 3-5) and an inner wall of each of the third plurality of apertures tapers inward to a choke point (Fig 4-5). Schlottmann fails to teach the choke point is disposed within a medial portion of the respective aperture. Hur teaches an inner wall of each of the third plurality of apertures tapers inward to a choke point disposed within a medial portion of the respective aperture (Fig 7). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the third plurality of apertures to include an inner wall of each of the third plurality of apertures tapers inward to a choke point disposed within a medial portion of the respective aperture because Hur teaches this prevents the lower end of the gas passage from being etched by the process gas [0047].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 02/05/2026, hereinafter reply, have been fully considered but are not persuasive in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Applicant argues that Olgado in view of Breiling (reply p6-7) fails to teach the amended limitations regarding the gasket and plenum position in claims 1 and 10. This is moot in view of the new ground of rejection including Schlottmann and Yudovsky which render obvious the recited position.
The arguments regarding the dependent claims rely on the alleged failing of the art to address the independent claims (reply p 7-8) which has been addressed above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2004/0227304 teaches ptfe as an alternative or a combination with an elastomer for sealing [0014]. US 5,415,729 teaches Teflon or elastomeric material as a seal for a vacuum treatment apparatus (col 9, ln 1-10). US 2006/0021703 teaches a dual gas showerhead with fasteners (Fig 1).
/MARGARET KLUNK/Examiner, Art Unit 1716
/KEATH T CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716