DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Species II (claims 1-2 and 5-9) in the reply filed on December 22, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 3-4 and 10-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species and invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-7, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maeta (U.S. 2021/0006182) in view of Mase et al. (U.S. 2019/0283212).
Referring to Figures 1-3 and paragraphs [0063]-[0070],[0096]-[0102], Maeta discloses an electrostatic chuck 1 for electrostatically attracting a substrate, comprising: a chuck body 2 formed of first ceramic particles and having a substrate-facing surface facing the substrate attracted to the electrostatic chuck (par. [0061]); and a plurality of convex portions 22 formed on the substrate-facing surface of the chuck body (par.[0069]), wherein each of the plurality of convex portions is formed of second ceramic particles.
Maeta is silent on ceramic particles having a major axis diameter of 50 mm or more and 1,000 mm or less.
Referring to Figure 6 and paragraphs [0051]-[0052], [0061], Mase et al. teach that it is conventionally known in the art for the ceramic particles of an electrostatic chuck to have a major axis diameter of 50 mm or more and 1,000 mm or less since it’s a conventionally known property used for a substrate suction surface of electrostatic chucks. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the convex portion of Maeta to have ceramic particles having a major axis diameter of 50 mm or more and 1,000 mm or less as taught by Mase et al. since it’s a conventionally known property used for a substrate suction surface of electrostatic chucks.
Maeta is silent on convex portions having a porosity of 0.1% or more and 1.0% or less.
Referring to column 13, lines 51-55 and column 14, lines 1-14, Kamitani et al. teach an electrostatic chuck wherein the chuck body has a porosity of 0.1% or more and 1.0% or less in order to prevent insulation breakdown from repetitive voltage impression. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the convex portion of Maeta to have a porosity of 0.1% or more and 1.0% or less as taught by Kamitani et al. in order to prevent insulation breakdown from repetitive voltage impression.
With respect to claim 2, the electrostatic chuck of Maeta further includes wherein a surface roughness of an endmost surface 22a of each of the plurality of convex portions 22 is 0.01 mm or less in terms of an arithmetic mean roughness (pars.[0096]-[0097]).
With respect to claim 5, the electrostatic chuck of Maeta in view of Mase et al. and Kamitani et al., wherein each of the plurality of convex portions, including the tip-side layer, is entirely formed of the second ceramic particles having the major axis diameter of 50 mm or more and 1,000 mm or less, and has the porosity of 0.1% or more and 1.0% or less (Mase et al.-par.[0061]), Kamitani et al.- col. 13, lines 51-55 and col. 14, lines 1-14).
With respect to claim 6, the electrostatic chuck of Maeta further includes wherein a surface roughness of the substrate-facing surface 11d of the chuck body is 0.01 mm or less in terms of an arithmetic mean roughness (par.[0202]).
With respect to claim 7, a substrate support comprising: the electrostatic chuck of Maeta; and further includes a base 3 having an upper surface on which the electrostatic chuck is provided (par.[0061]).
With respect to claim 9, referring to Figures 1-3 and paragraphs [0063]-[0070],[0096]-[0102], Maeta discloses an electrostatic chuck 1 for electrostatically attracting a substrate, comprising: a chuck body 2 formed of first ceramic particles and having a substrate-facing surface facing the substrate attracted to the electrostatic chuck (par.[0061]); and a plurality of convex portions 22 formed on the substrate-facing surface of the chuck body (par.[0069]), wherein the plurality of convex portions are formed by forming a layer of second ceramic particles on the substrate-facing surface of the chuck body, selectively irradiating portions of the layer of the second ceramic particles corresponding to the plurality of convex portions with light (par.[0192], i.e. laser) and subsequently removing unirradiated portions in the layer of the second ceramic particles (par.[0101]-[0102]).
Maeta is silent on ceramic particles having a major axis diameter of 50 mm or more and 1,000 mm or less.
Referring to Figure 6 and paragraphs [0051]-[0052], [0061], Mase et al. teach that it is conventionally known in the art for the ceramic particles of an electrostatic chuck to have a major axis diameter of 50 mm or more and 1,000 mm or less since it’s a conventionally known property used for a substrate suction surface of electrostatic chucks. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the irradiated portions of Maeta to have ceramic particles having a major axis diameter of 50 mm or more and 1,000 mm or less as taught by Mase et al. since it’s a conventionally known property used for a substrate suction surface of electrostatic chucks.
Maeta is silent on a porosity of the irradiated portions is set to 0.1% or more and 1.0% or less.
Referring to column 13, lines 51-55 and column 14, lines 1-14, Kamitani et al. teach an electrostatic chuck wherein the chuck body has a porosity of 0.1% or more and 1.0% or less in order to prevent insulation breakdown from repetitive voltage impression. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the irradiated portion of Maeta to have a porosity of 0.1% or more and 1.0% or less as taught by Kamitani et al. in order to prevent insulation breakdown from repetitive voltage impression.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maeta (U.S. 2021/0006182) in view of Mase et al. (U.S. 2019/0283212) and Kamitani et al. (U.S. 7,586,734) as applied to claims 1-2, 5-7, and 9 above, and further in view of Hayashi (U.S. 2015/0243541).
The teachings of Maeta in view of Mase et al. and Kamitani et al. have been discussed above. Specifically, Maeta discloses a substrate support. Maeta in view of Mase et al. and Kamitani et al. is silent on a processing chamber configured to be depressurized and accommodate the substrate support.
Referring to Figure 1 and paragraph [0034], Hayashi teaches that it is conventionally known in the art during substrate processing for a processing chamber to be configured to be depressurized and accommodate the substrate support. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Maeta in view of Mase et al. and Kamitani et al. to include a processing chamber configured to be depressurized and accommodate the substrate support as taught by Hayashi since it is a conventionally known component used in substrate processing under vacuum conditions.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new reference Mase et al. teach wherein each of the plurality of convex portions is formed of second ceramic particles having a major axis diameter of 50 mm or more and 1,000 mm or less.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Venkatraman et al.’592, Ito et al.’515, and Hiramatsu et al.’607 teach ceramic particles having a major axis diameter of 50 mm or more and 1,000 mm or less.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Michelle CROWELL/Examiner, Art Unit 1716
/SYLVIA MACARTHUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716