DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status
The amendment filed 07/29/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 4-14, and 21-26 are pending. In the amendment filed 07/29/2026, claim 1 was amended, claim 15-18 were canceled, and claims 23-26 were newly added. Claims 1, 4-14, and 21-26 are under examination on the merits.
Drawings
The correct drawings were received on 07/29/206. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Interpretation
The limitation of a “sealing system” in claim 1 is not interpreted under 35 U.S.C 112(f) because the claim contains sufficient structure in lines 9-14 that the sealing system comprises a spacer plate, a flow control ring, and a spring.
The limitation “continuous” in claims 23 and 25 is interpreted consistent with the instant specification as inclusive of the structure extends in a continuous manner around the substrate support and/or flow control ring such that it forms a ring, annular shape, or other enclosing shape. It is noted that the claims do not support extending continuously in a linear direction (e.g. a “web” type shape), a radial direction (because the structures are open to surround the substrate and/or substrate support) or continuously over time (because no discussion of wear or repeated use is provided).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 21-22 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 21 and 22, the portion of the instant specification that discusses the spring being disposed in a recess of either the flow control ring (claim 21) or the spacer plate (claim 22) is directed to the embodiment of Fig 3a-3b (see specification paragraph [0044] and there is no indication that such a feature is to be combined with the embodiment of Fig 4. As indicated above, the embodiment of Fig 3a-3b does not support the limitations of amended claim 1 and cannot support such limitations even when a broader limitation is suggested because no portion of the flow control ring of the embodiment of Fig 3a-3b is disposed over the spacer plate. Additionally, the difference in arrangement between the two embodiments appears to result in different structures for the sealing spring. It is noted that the embodiment of Fig 4 relies on the spring providing a pressing force on each surface and it is not immediately clear that such an arrangement would require or benefit from a recess whereas the embodiment of Fig 4 forms the seal by pressing the rings together and the recess allows for holding the spring when the rings are separated or providing space for the spring to occupy when the rings are pressed together as shown in the drawings. The difference in the positional and sealing arrangement renders unclear as to whether applicant intended at the time of filing to incorporate these features together as applicant’s claims currently recite. Therefore, the inclusion of features in a dependent claim that are only directed to the embodiment of Fig 3a-3b represents new matter because it represents combining features of the two embodiments in a manner which was not disclosed in the instant specification as originally filed. Applicant is kindly requested to consider canceling claims 21 and 22 or amending them to be dependent from an independent claim that is not limited to an embodiment that excludes the embodiment of Fig 3a-3b. For purpose of compact prosecution on the merits, the claims will be examined as if they are not new matter. This is not an indication that support for the new claims as dependent from current claim 1 is present in the instant application. For purposes of compact prosecution on the merits, the claims will be examined as if the limitations do not represent new matter. This is not an indication that support for the amendments is present.
Regarding claim 26, the claim recites that the flow control ring is monolithic. It is noted that the instant specification does not recite this arrangement and the drawings appear to show lines separating portions of the structure such that it is not immediately clear that applicant, had at the time of filing, an arrangement in which the ring is monolithic. It is further noted that providing the flow control ring as a monolithic structure would require the flow control ring to be machined together with the spacer plate or be made of a flexible material (or the space plate be made of a flexible material) because otherwise the flow control ring cannot be installed within the diameter of the spacer plate as the flow control ring includes structures above and below that have a larger diameter than the spacer plate. Because of the lines shown in the drawing, the lack of statement regarding the structure being monolithic, and the required alternative arrangements necessary for the structure to be monolithic (e.g. being machined together or one of the structures being flexible), there is not sufficient support to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. For purposes of compact prosecution on the merits, the claims will be examined as if the limitations do not represent new matter. This is not an indication that support for the amendments is present.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, 11-14, 21-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Satyavolu (prev. presented US2021/0375650).
Regarding claim 1, Satyavolu teaches a reaction chamber (160a Fig 2A-3B and Fig 5-6A), comprising: a reaction chamber volume enclosed within the reaction chamber (see volume enclosed in chamber 160a in Fig 2A-3B and 5); a susceptor (224a-b Fig 2A-3B and 5 [0041], [0069], 624a Fig 6A [0134], note that support chuck is a susceptor) configured to support a substrate disposed in the reaction chamber volume [0041], [0069], [0134], the susceptor being configured to translate between a lowered position and a raised position along an axis within the reaction chamber [0137], [0141] (see also Fig 2A-2B or 3A-3B which show the corresponding structure being raised (2A, 3A) or lowered (2B, 3B); a reaction space above the susceptor within the reaction chamber volume (278 Fig 2A-3B and 5); a lower chamber space below the susceptor within the reaction chamber volume (Fig 2B, 3B unlabeled space below 230 or space 236 Fig 5); and a sealing system (250 Fig 2A-3B, 5 or 650 Fig 6A) causing the reaction space and the lower chamber space to be at least partially fluidly separate [0065-0068], [0133-0142], wherein the sealing system comprises: a spacer plate surrounding the susceptor (interpretation (i) 605 Fig 6A or interpretation (ii) 605, 272, and 608 Fig 6A, note plate is not required to be completely flat consistent with the instant specification in which the plate 370 in Fig 3 is not completely flat), a flow control ring (602 and 611a Fig 6) disposed around the susceptor and between the susceptor and the spacer plate [0135], and a spring (bellows 612 Fig 6A see teaching of spring constant [0098] regarding corresponding structure bellows 412 and disclosure that bellows 612 is similar to bellows 412 in [0135]) disposed between an upward-facing surface of (upward-facing surface of portion 616 of the flow control ring portion 602 Fig 6A) the flow control ring (602 and 611a Fig 6A) and a downward-facing surface of a portion of (spring 612 at downward facing portion of portion 605 of the spacer plate) the spacer plate (Fig 6A and [0135]) wherein the spring has a spring bias toward a compressed position or an extended position [0135-0136], such that the spring bias facilitates creation of at least a partial seal between the flow control ring and the susceptor [0135-0136] (see also [0095] and sealing surface 420 and 422 Fig 6A), causing at least partial fluid separation between the reaction space and the lower chamber space as the susceptor moves up and down within the reaction chamber [0135-0136], wherein a portion of the flow control ring (portion of 611a which is a portion of the flow control ring Fig 6A) is disposed directly over the portion of the spaced plate having the downward-facing surface (Fig 6A) which prevents the portion of the flow control ring from translating below the portion of the spacer plate (portion 611a is prevented from translating below the portion of the spacer plate 605 Fig 6A) wherein the susceptor is configured to translate relative to the flow control ring, and is configured to contact the flow control ring in response to translating toward the raised position [0135-0141].
Regarding claim 4, Satyavolu teaches the spring is biased toward the extended position, such that a downward force from the spring is applied to the flow control ring, which creates a downward force on the susceptor, such that at least a partial seal is formed between the flow control ring and the susceptor, forming the at least partial fluid separation between the reaction space and the lower chamber space [0135-0141] (Fig 6A).
Regarding claim 5, Satyavolu teaches the spring forms at least a partial seal between the spring and the spacer plate, and between the spring and the flow control ring (Fig 6A and [0135-0136]).
Regarding claim 6, Satyavolu teaches the spring is fixedly coupled (welded) to at least one of the spacer plate or the flow control ring [0136].
Regarding claim 11 and 12, Satyavolu teaches the spring comprises a metal or metal alloy and specifically at least one of stainless steel or nickel alloy ([0136], note Inconel is a nickel alloy).
Regarding claim 13, Satyavolu teaches reactor system comprising the reaction chamber of claim 1 (see Fig 1A-B which has the chamber of Fig 2A-3B, 5, and 6).
Regarding claim 14, Satyavolu teaches a vacuum source in fluid communication with the lower chamber space (see 518 Fig 5 [0123]).
Regarding claim 21, Satyavolu teaches the flow control ring comprises a recess, wherein the spring is disposed in the recess between an upward-facing surface of the recess and the spacer plate (spring 612 is in recess of portion 616 of 602 Fig 6A).
Regarding claim 22, Satyavolu teaches the spacer plate comprises a recess, wherein the spring is disposed in the recess between a downward-facing surface of the recess and the flow control ring (spring 612 is in recess of portion 605 Fig 6A).
Regarding claim 23, Satyavolu teaches the spacer plate is continuous (interpretation (i) 605 Fig 6A or interpretation (ii) 605, 272, and 608 Fig 6A, note plate is not required to be completely flat consistent with the instant specification in which the plate 370 in Fig 3 is not completely flat; see [0051] that teaches 272 is annular and [0135-0136] which teaches 605 is a ring shape).
Regarding claim 24, Satyavolu teachers the spacer plate is monolithic (interpretation (i) 605 Fig 6A).
Regarding claim 25, Satyavolu teaches the flow control ring (602 and 611a Fig 6A) is continuous (note [0095] teaches annular surface 420, the annular surface is continuous).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Satyavolu in view of Amos (prev. presented US 2004/0066005).
Regarding claim 7-8, Satyavolu remains as applied to claim 5 above. Satyavolu teaches the spring surrounds the susceptor (Fig 6A, see spring 612) but fails to teach the spring comprises a cross-sectional shape having at least one curl. Addressing the same problem of sealing between two metallic structures (abstract, note the chamber components are metallic), Amos teaches a bellows may be formed of an e-ring seal [0006] having at least one curl (Fig 1-2) and specifically 3 curls (Fig 1-2). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the bellows spring seal of Satyavolu to include the bellows E-ring seal taught by Amos because Amos teaches this is a commercially available seal for the same purpose of sealing between two surfaces [0006] (abstract).
Regarding claim 9, Satyavolu remains as applied to claim 1 above and the combination of Satyavolu in view of Amos remains as applied to claims 7-8 above. Amos as part of teaching the seal, teaches the seal may be split into a plurality of segments to form the circular seal [0023]. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the bellows seal of Satyavolu to include a plurality of segments such as 4 segments such that two segments form the spring and the other two form a second spring and the force on the susceptor resulting from the spring occurs at multiple points because Amos teaches this arrangement is a functional alternative to providing one continuous bellows seal.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Satyavolu in view of Kawano (prev. presented US 2004/0221808).
Regarding claim 10, Satyavolu remains as applied to claim 1 above. Satyavolu teaches a gas introduction structure (520, 528 Fig 5) but fails to teach a gas distribution device disposed above the susceptor in the reaction space, wherein the spring allows adjustment of a distance between the susceptor and the gas distribution device to be adjustable by up to nine millimeters while still maintaining the at least partial fluid separation between the reaction space and the lower chamber space. Kawano teaches a gas distribution device disposed above the susceptor in the reaction space (6 Fig 1A-B) [0048]. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Satyavolu to include the showerhead (6 Fig 1A-B) of Kawano because Kawano teaches this enables the introduction of reaction gas into the chamber to process a substrate [0048]. This represents a simple substitution of one known element (gas introduction of Satyavolu) for another (gas introduction of Kawano). Regarding the spring allows adjustment of a distance between the susceptor and the gas distribution device to be adjustable by up to nine millimeters while still maintaining the at least partial fluid separation between the reaction space and the lower chamber space, Satyavolu has taught a variety of bellows with different spring force may be used [0098]. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to choose a spring that enables the desired adjustability of the susceptor height to while allowing for maintaining the seal because the space between the susceptor and the gas distribution device (showerhead) because Satyavolu teaches the bellows may be selected to have different spring force. Further, Kawano teaches that a vertical gap above the spacer plate and an upper structure may be chosen to be up to 10 mm [0056] indicating that adjustability of a gap up to 10 mm is a known range within which an apparatus may need to be adjustable.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Satyavolu in view of Kato (prev. presented US 2015/0126044).
Regarding claim 10, Satyavolu remains as applied to claim 1 above. Satyavolu teaches a gas introduction structure (520, 528 Fig 5) but fails to teach a gas distribution device disposed above the susceptor in the reaction space, wherein the spring allows adjustment of a distance between the susceptor and the gas distribution device to be adjustable by up to nine millimeters while still maintaining the at least partial fluid separation between the reaction space and the lower chamber space. Kato teaches a gas distribution device disposed above the susceptor in the reaction space (31-33 Fig 2, 34 Fig 4). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Satyavolu to include the gas distribution device of Kato because Kato teaches this enables the introduction of reaction gas into the chamber to process a substrate [0039-0044]. This represents a simple substitution of one known element (gas introduction of Satyavolu) for another (gas introduction of Kato). Regarding the spring allows adjustment of a distance between the susceptor and the gas distribution device to be adjustable by up to nine millimeters while still maintaining the at least partial fluid separation between the reaction space and the lower chamber space, Satyavolu has taught a variety of bellows with different spring force may be used [0098]. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to choose a spring that enables the desired adjustability of the susceptor height to while allowing for maintaining the seal because the space between the susceptor and the gas distribution device (showerhead) because Satyavolu teaches the bellows may be selected to have different spring force. Further, Kato teaches that a vertical gap above the spacer plate and an upper structure may be changeable between 20-120 mm [0055] while maintaining the bellows seal [0055-0056] indicating that adjustability of a gap up to 9 mm is a known range within which an apparatus may need to be adjustable.
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Satyavolu.
Regarding claim 24, Satyavolu remains as applied to claim 1 above. Satyavolu fails to teach the flow control ring is monolithic because Satyavolu teaches two rings that are not integral. However, combining them to be an integral monolithic structure is an obvious modification. "[T]he use of a one piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in [the prior art] would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice." In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues (reply p12) that the new matter rejection of claims 21 and 22 is not proper because the language is supported in the text discussing Fig 3 (now Fig 3a-3b) and that there is language that modifications may be made. Initially it is noted that there is no clear indication that features from the embodiment of Fig 3 were intended to be combined with the features of the embodiment of Fig 4. As noted above, in Fig 3 the spacer plate and flow control ring appear to be shown contacting each other with the spring positioned entirely within the recess whereas such a configuration would not work in Fig 4. Therefore, combining features from the two embodiments requires one to select which features from each embodiment should be used and then design how to combine them. It is not readily apparent that applicant envisaged this specific combination of features from different embodiments as now claimed when the application was filed and therefore the combination of limitations represents new matter.
Applicant argues (reply p13-14) that Satyavolu cannot have portion 611a as part of the flow control ring because it does not prevent the flow control ring from translating below the space plate. It is noted that it prevents the portion of the flow control ring (specifically portion 611a) from translating below. The claim requires only a portion to be prevented from being translated below and does not prevent the entire flow control ring from translating below because the instant application does not support such an interpretation as explained in prior office actions when “prevent the flow control ring” was used as the claim language instead of “prevent a portion of the flow control ring” (the current claim language). Therefore, the arguments are not persuasive as to the allowability of the instant claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2012/0315404 teaches a sealing spring (Fig 5).
/MARGARET KLUNK/Examiner, Art Unit 1716
/Jeffrie R Lund/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716