DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 06/26/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-4, 7-11, and 13-20 are pending. Claims 9-11 remain withdrawn as being drawn to a non-elected invention. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/17/2025. In the amendment filed 06/26/2026, claim 1 was amended, claim 12 was canceled, and claim 20 was newly added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-8, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR 20150091769 A, using previously attached English machine translation), and further in view of Zhang (US 20170323768 A1) and Singh (US 20030005943 A1).
Regarding claim 1 and 20, Kim teaches a CVD apparatus, comprising (Kim, Fig. 2, L102-118, substrate processing apparatus 1000):
a chamber (Kim, Fig. 2, L102-118, substrate processing apparatus 1000);
a cleaning gas supply pipe that supplies a cleaning gas to the chamber comprising a first valve (Kim, Fig. 2, L102-118, first cleaning gas pipe 510 supplies a first cleaning gas to chamber 100 via valve 512);
a gas supply pipe that supplies a second cleaning gas to the chamber comprising a second valve (Kim, Fig. 2, L102-118, second cleaning gas pipe 520 supplies a second cleaning gas, Ar, to chamber 100 via valve 522); and
a controller (Kim, L253-257, control unit 600) configured to clean the chamber by:
opening the first valve to supply the cleaning gas to the inside of the chamber (Kim, L253-257, control unit 600 opens first cleaning valve 512 to deliver first cleaning gas to the chamber);
closing the first valve to stop supply of the cleaning gas inside of the chamber; and opening the second valve to supply the oxygen-containing gas to the inside of the chamber with the first valve closed (Kim, L253-257, control unit 600 opens second cleaning valve 522 to deliver second cleaning gas to the chamber, sequentially after delivering first cleaning gas), and
wherein the cleaning gas is a fluorine-containing gas (Kim, L216, first cleaning gas is NF3).
While Kim teaches a controller that is configured to control first and second valves of separate cleaning gas pipes to sequentially provide a first cleaning gas and a second cleaning gas to the chamber, Kim fails to explicitly teach wherein the gas supply steps are discrete such that the second supply time occurs when the first valve is closed and wherein the second cleaning gas is an oxygen-containing gas. Kim also fails to teach wherein the oxygen concentration of the oxygen-containing gas is in the range of 40% by volume or more and 60% by volume or less. Note that the specific chemicals and volume percentage of oxygen are directed to the contents of the apparatus during operation. Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim. Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App. 1969). Note that there is no identified structural difference to the supply pipes due to the intended contents of the pipe and “that supplies cleaning/oxygen-containing gas” is intended use of the pipe. Applicant may wish to claim a source containing the specific gas if applicant intends to include the gas as part of the apparatus. Note this analysis remains for claim 20 which is directed to additional contents of the apparatus.
However, Zhang teaches a dual step byproduct removal method (Zhang, Fig. 2, [0029], method 200) executed by a controller (Zhang, [0026]-[0028], controller 110 controls the process sequence and regulates the gas flows from the gas panel 193) during which panel 193 flows gases to system 132, where a fluorine based gas is introduced into the chamber during operation 202 (Zhang, Fig. 2, [0031]-[0032]). After completion of operation 202 in which the fluorine based gas is flowed, operation 204 executes where an oxygen based gas is flowed into the chamber (Zhang, [0032]-[0043], operation 204 contains plasma treatment gas mixture of at least one hydrogen containing gas and/or an oxygen containing gas). Further, Zhang teaches wherein the oxygen concentration of the oxygen-containing gas is in the range of 40% by volume or more and 60% by volume or less (Zhang, [0032]-[0043], plasma treatment process 204 contains plasma treatment gas mixture of at least one hydrogen containing gas and/or an oxygen containing gas, which may be individually supplied with inert gas such as Ar (for claim 20) or He, and where the inert gas can be supplied in a range of 100 sccm to 8000 sccm, such as 500 sccm, and the oxygen containing gas can be supplied in a flow range of 50 sccm to 50000 sccm, such as 500 sccm). When the prior art discloses a point within the claimed range, the prior art anticipates the claim. See MPEP 2131.03(I).
Zhang is considered analogous art to the claimed invention because it is in the same filed of semiconductor processing. It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have flowed the fluorine containing gas in a first step and oxygen containing gas in a second step utilizing the flow rates taught by Zhang as doing so would clean chamber components or inner wall/structures in the system via the fluorine containing gas (Zhang, [0031]), and subsequently passivate the surfaces of chamber components so as to prevent the surface of the chamber components from further damage or attack via the oxygen containing gas (Zhang, [0040]).
Regarding wherein the first supply time is between 2 and 10 times longer than the second supply time, Kim teaches wherein the controller is configured to open the first valve for a first supply time (Kim, L253-257, control unit 600 opens first cleaning valve 512 to deliver first cleaning gas to the chamber), and wherein the controller is configured to open the second valve for a second supply time (Kim, L253-257, control unit 600 opens second cleaning valve 522 to deliver second cleaning gas to the chamber, sequentially after delivering first cleaning gas).
Kim fails to teach wherein the first supply time is between 2 and 10 times longer than the second supply time.
However, Singh teaches wherein the first supply time is between 2 and 10 times longer than the second supply time (Singh, Table 4, step 2 time in which fluorine containing gas is flowed can be 20 sec, step 3 time in which only oxygen containing gas is flowed can be 5 sec). Note that step 3 of Singh may be consider the second step because valves are typically closed between steps to allow for pumping of the chamber between steps and because, even if the oxygen valve is not closed after step 2 of Singh, changing the flow volume from 20 sccm to 50 sccm requires opening the flow control valve more which is within the broadest reasonable interpretation of “opening”.
Singh is considered analogous art to the claimed invention because it is in the same filed of semiconductor processing. When the prior art discloses a point within the claimed range, the prior art anticipates the claim. See MPEP 2131.03(I).
Regarding claim 2, Kim teaches a source gas supply pipe that supplies a source gas to the chamber (Kim, Fig. 2, L179-180, first reaction gas supply pipe 210 supplies a first reaction gas to chamber 100), wherein the source gas supply pipe, the cleaning gas supply pipe, and the oxygen- containing gas supply pipe are each connected to the chamber via a gas supply pipe (Kim, Fig. 2, L179-180 first reaction gas supply pipe 210, L102-118, first cleaning gas pipe 510 and second gas cleaning gas pipe 520 are connected to chamber 100 via supply pipe 413).
Regarding claim 3, Kim teaches wherein the cleaning gas supply pipe and the oxygen-containing gas supply pipe include a remote plasma unit (Kim, Fig. 2, L102-118, remote plasma generating unit 410 is located on supply pipe 413 downstream from first and second cleaning gas pipes 510 and 520).
Regarding claim 4, Kim fails to teach wherein the oxygen-containing gas contains oxygen and an inert gas.
However, Zhang teaches wherein the oxygen-containing gas contains oxygen and an inert gas (Zhang, [0032]-[0043], plasma treatment process 204 contains plasma treatment gas mixture of at least one hydrogen containing gas and/or an oxygen containing gas, which may be individually supplied with inert gas such as Ar or He).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have flowed the fluorine containing gas in a first step and oxygen containing gas in a second step utilizing the flow rates taught by Zhang as doing so would clean chamber components or inner wall/structures in the system via the fluorine containing gas (Zhang, [0031]), and subsequently passivate the surfaces of chamber components so as to prevent the surface of the chamber components from further damage or attack via the oxygen containing gas (Zhang, [0040]).
Regarding claim 7, Kim teaches wherein the fluorine-containing gas contains a fluorine compound gas (Kim, L216, first cleaning gas is NF3).
Kim fails to teach wherein the fluorine-containing gas contains an inert gas.
However, Zhang teaches wherein the fluorine-containing gas contains an inert gas (Zhang, [0032], cleaning gas mixture in operation 202 includes at least a fluorine containing gas and an inert gas).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have flowed the fluorine containing gas in a first step and oxygen containing gas in a second step utilizing the flow rates taught by Zhang as doing so would clean chamber components or inner wall/structures in the system via the fluorine containing gas (Zhang, [0031]), and subsequently passivate the surfaces of chamber components so as to prevent the surface of the chamber components from further damage or attack via the oxygen containing gas (Zhang, [0040]).
Regarding claim 8, Kim teaches wherein a gas outlet is arranged along the inner wall surface of the chamber (Kim, Fig. 2, L122-127, exhaust pump 140 is connected to open port in chamber 100).
Regarding claim 13, Kim fails to teach wherein the first supply time is between 20 seconds and 300 seconds.
However, Singh teaches wherein the first supply time is between 20 seconds and 300 seconds (Singh, Table 4, step 2 time in which fluorine containing gas is flowed can be 20 sec). When the prior art discloses a point within the claimed range, the prior art anticipates the claim. See MPEP 2131.03(I).
Regarding claim 14, Kim fails to teach wherein the cleaning gas is supplied to the inside of the chamber at a first flow rate, wherein the oxygen-containing gas is supplied to the inside of the chamber at a second flow rate, and wherein the second flow rate is between 2 and 10 times greater than the first flow rate.
However, Zhang teaches wherein the cleaning gas is supplied to the inside of the chamber at a first flow rate (Zhang, [0031]-[0034], the fluorine containing gas supplied in the cleaning gas mixture may be supplied into the processing chamber at a flow rate between about 1 sccm and about 12000 sccm, such as 100 sccm) wherein the oxygen-containing gas is supplied to the inside of the chamber at a second flow rate (Zhang, [0032]-[0043], the oxygen containing gas can be supplied in a flow range of 50 sccm to 50000 sccm, such as 500 sccm), and wherein the second flow rate is between 2 and 10 times greater than the first flow rate (Zhang, [0031]-[0034], fluorine containing gas can be supplied at 100 sccm, and the oxygen containing gas can be supplied at 500 sccm). When the prior art discloses a point within the claimed range, the prior art anticipates the claim. See MPEP 2131.03(I).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have flowed the fluorine containing gas in a first step and oxygen containing gas in a second step utilizing the flow rates taught by Zhang as doing so would clean chamber components or inner wall/structures in the system via the fluorine containing gas (Zhang, [0031]), and subsequently passivate the surfaces of chamber components so as to prevent the surface of the chamber components from further damage or attack via the oxygen containing gas (Zhang, [0040]).
Regarding claim 15, Kim fails to teach wherein the first flow rate is between 0.1 and 10 slpm.
However, Zhang teaches wherein the first flow rate is between 0.1 and 10 slpm (Zhang, [0031]-[0034], the fluorine containing gas supplied in the cleaning gas mixture may be supplied into the processing chamber at a flow rate between about 1 sccm and about 12000 sccm). When the prior art discloses a point within the claimed range, the prior art anticipates the claim. See MPEP 2131.03(I).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have flowed the fluorine containing gas in a first step and oxygen containing gas in a second step utilizing the flow rates taught by Zhang as doing so would clean chamber components or inner wall/structures in the system via the fluorine containing gas (Zhang, [0031]), and subsequently passivate the surfaces of chamber components so as to prevent the surface of the chamber components from further damage or attack via the oxygen containing gas (Zhang, [0040]).
Regarding claim 16, Kim teaches a susceptor (Kim, L119-121, substrate holding portion 110 is within chamber 100 located in lower half of the chamber, where the surface of the substrate holding portion is on the same plane as the gate valve 130), wherein the controller is configured to clean the chamber with the susceptor in a lowered position and wherein the lowered position is configured to allow a substrate to be transferred into or out of the chamber (Kim, Fig. 2, L221-226, controller 600 performs the cleaning process of the substrate processing apparatus 1000 after the substrate deposition process is performed).
Regarding claim 17, Kim fails to explicitly teach wherein opening the first valve to supply the cleaning gas to the inside of the chamber is configured to remove deposits on an inner surface of the chamber and forms a metal fluoride on the inner surface of the chamber.
However, Zhang teaches wherein opening the first valve to supply the cleaning gas to the inside of the chamber is configured to remove deposits on an inner surface of the chamber (Zhang, [0031], operation 202 cleans chamber components or inner wall/structures in the plasma processing system 132) and forms a metal fluoride on the inner surface of the chamber (Zhang, [0035], residuals such as aluminum fluoride are formed after operation 202).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have flowed the fluorine containing gas in a first step and oxygen containing gas in a second step utilizing the flow rates taught by Zhang as doing so would clean chamber components or inner wall/structures in the system via the fluorine containing gas (Zhang, [0031]), and subsequently passivate the surfaces of chamber components so as to prevent the surface of the chamber components from further damage or attack via the oxygen containing gas (Zhang, [0040]).
Regarding claim 18, Kim fails to explicitly teach wherein opening the second valve to supply the oxygen-containing gas to the inside of the chamber with the first valve closed is configured to oxidize the metal fluoride.
However, Zhang teaches wherein opening the second valve to supply the oxygen-containing gas to the inside of the chamber with the first valve closed is configured to oxidize the metal fluoride (Zhang, [0040], oxygen elements from the oxygen containing gas may then react with the active metal contaminants to form metal oxide).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have flowed the fluorine containing gas in a first step and oxygen containing gas in a second step utilizing the flow rates taught by Zhang as doing so would clean chamber components or inner wall/structures in the system via the fluorine containing gas (Zhang, [0031]), and subsequently passivate the surfaces of chamber components so as to prevent the surface of the chamber components from further damage or attack via the oxygen containing gas (Zhang, [0040]).
Regarding claim 19, Kim fails to explicitly teaches a passivation film on an inner surface of the chamber, wherein the passivation film is formed by oxidation of the metal fluoride.
However, Zhang teaches a passivation film on an inner surface of the chamber, wherein the passivation film is formed by oxidation of the metal fluoride (Zhang, [0040], oxide layer is formed on surfaces of the chamber components).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have flowed the fluorine containing gas in a first step and oxygen containing gas in a second step utilizing the flow rates taught by Zhang as doing so would clean chamber components or inner wall/structures in the system via the fluorine containing gas (Zhang, [0031]), and subsequently passivate the surfaces of chamber components so as to prevent the surface of the chamber components from further damage or attack via the oxygen containing gas (Zhang, [0040]).
Response to Arguments
The arguments filed 06/26/2026, hereinafter reply, have been fully considered but are no persuasive.
Applicant argues (reply p5-6) that Singh teaches oxygen is supplied during the second step of table 4 also. This is not persuasive because the claims do not exclude oxygen from being flowed at the same time as the cleaning gas. The claims merely require that the “second supply time” is a time in which the first valve (cleaning gas) is closed. As noted above, the oxygen supply valve is likely closed at step 2 and reopened for step 3 of Singh; however, even if the oxygen supply valve is not closed at the end of step 2, the opening of the valve to increase the flow from 20 sccm to 50 sccm is within the broadest reasonable interpretation of “opening”.
Regarding claim 20 (reply p6), as explained above the limitation is directed to the contents of the apparatus during intended operation. Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim. Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App. 1969). Therefore, this argument is not persuasive as to the allowability of the instant claims. Where prior citations to the contents were made, the citations have been maintained in the event applicant wishes to amend to claim a source of the gas as part of the apparatus. However, this is not an indication that the contents of the apparatus have been given patentable weight.
For all of these reasons, the arguments are not persuasive as to the allowability of the instant claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US 2003/0192856 teaches using oxygen and argon for a second chamber cleaning step [0031].
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARGARET KLUNK/Examiner, Art Unit 1716
/Jeffrie R Lund/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716