DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
3. This action is in response to Applicant’s RCE dated 01/12/2026.
4. Claims 1-8, 10-12, and 14-21 are currently pending.
5. Claims 11-12 have been withdrawn.
6. Claims 1, 10, and 16 have been amended.
7. Claims 9 and 13 have been cancelled.
8. Claim 21 has been added.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claim(s) 1-8, 14-17, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamagishi et al (US 2004/0194709) in view of Sorensen et al (US 2010/0206483) and Wei (US 8,547,021).
Regarding claim 1:
Yamagishi teaches a substrate processing apparatus (apparatus depicted in figure 5) [fig 5 & 0060], comprising: a reaction chamber (reaction chamber, 2) [fig 5 & 0060]; a susceptor (susceptor, 3) positioned within the reaction chamber (2) to be constructed and arranged to support a substrate (9) [fig 5 & 0060]; a shower plate (bottom plate of 4) to be constructed and arranged to face the susceptor (3), wherein the shower plate (4) has a larger diameter than the susceptor (3) in a horizontal plane (see fig 5), wherein the susceptor (3) and the shower plate (bottom plate of 4) form a parallel plate structure (see fig 5) [fig 5 & 0060]; and an RF generator (radio-frequency power source, 8) electrically coupled to the shower plate (bottom plate of 4) via an RF transmission unit (22) and configured to apply RF power to the shower plate (bottom plate of 4), with the susceptor (3) electrically grounded (see fig 2) [fig 2, 5 & 0045]; wherein the RF transmission unit (22) is provided with a plurality of supply terminals (74-77) connected in parallel (see fig 2) such that each of the plurality of supply terminals (74-77) connects the RF generator (8) to a relay ring (flange of 4), wherein the plurality of supply terminals (74-77) and the relay ring (flange of 4) are disposed radially outward to the susceptor (3) in the horizontal plane (see fig 5), and wherein the relay ring (flange of 4) transmits the RF power to the shower plate (bottom plate of 4) [fig 2, 4-5 & 0045, 0060].
Yamagishi does not specifically teach the RF transmission unit provided with a plurality of supply terminals being an RF plate provided with a plurality of impedance adjusters.
Sorensen teaches an RF plate (43) is provided with a plurality of impedance adjusters (71/72) [fig 6-7 & 0029, 0032, 0036, 0063].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the RF transmission unit and plurality of supply terminals of Yamigishi with an RF ring and plurality of impedance adjusters, as in Sorensen, to reduce the inductance of the electrical connection between the RF input and the plasma chamber electrode [Sorensen – 0011] while providing an equal supply of RF power or producing a desired ratio of RF power supplied to the connection points [Sorensen – 0063]. Reduced inductance advantageously reduces the peak voltages within the RF circuitry. This helps reduce the risk of atmospheric arcing (i.e., electrical discharge) in the portions of the RF circuitry that are exposed to atmosphere, and it helps reduce the risk of failure of the capacitors within the RF circuitry [Sorensen – 0011].
Yamagishi modified by Sorensen does not specifically teach each of the plurality of impedance adjusters comprises an inductor, and wherein the plurality of impedance adjusters are resonance circuits.
Wei teaches each of the plurality of impedance adjusters (L1/L2) comprises an inductor (inductor) [fig 4-5 & col 6-7, lines 60-27], and wherein the plurality of impedance adjusters are resonance circuits (the distribution units could include both a capacitor and an inductor) [col 7, lines 18-22].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify each of the plurality of impedance adjusters of modified Yamagishi to comprise resonance circuits, as in Wei, because such a configuration allows the density and the intensity of plasma generated to be adjusted to increase the uniformity of plasma obtained [Wei - col 6-7, lines 60-27].
Regarding claim 2:
Modified Yamigishi teaches the RF plate (43) is a ring-shaped structure (single continuous conductor) [Sorensen - fig 6 & 0061].
Regarding claim 3:
Modified Yamagishi teaches the plurality of impedance adjusters (71/72 of Sorensen are provided on supply terminals 45/46) are provided every 90 degrees on the RF plate (74-77 are combined in rotationally symmetrical positions) [Sorensen - fig 7 & 0063 and Yamagishi - fig 4 & 0033, 0060].
Regarding claim 4:
Modified Yamagishi teaches at least one of the plurality of impedance adjusters (71/72) comprises a capacitor (first and second capacitors) comprising an adjustable capacitance (the capacitors can be adjustable) [Sorensen - fig 2, 6-7 & 0036, 0063, 0080].
Regarding claim 5:
Yamagishi teaches the shower plate (bottom plate of 4) comprises a plurality of portions (see fig 5) [fig 5].
Although taught by the prior art, the claim limitations “wherein the plurality of impedance adjusters are configured such that each impedance adjuster is configured to adjust an electric field around a corresponding portion of the plurality of portions” are merely intended use and are given weight to the extent that the prior art is capable of performing the intended use. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
Regarding claim 6:
Modified Yamagishi teaches each of the impedance adjusters (71/72) comprises a capacitor comprising an adjustable capacitance (the capacitors can be adjustable) [Sorensen - fig 2, 6-7 & 0036, 0063, 0080].
Regarding claim 7:
Yamagishi teaches the shower plate (4) is provided with a plurality of holes (80) for supplying gas to the substrate [fig 5 & 0060].
Regarding claim 8:
Modified Yamagishi teaches a matching box (10 of Yamagishi / 34 of Sorensen) disposed between the RF generator (8 of Yamagishi / 32 of Sorensen) and the RF plate (22 of Yamagishi / 43 of Sorensen) [Yamagishi – fig 2 & 0045 and Sorensen - fig 2 & 0033].
Regarding claim 14:
Modified Yamagishi teaches the plurality of impedance adjusters (71/72 of Sorensen are provided on supply terminals 45/46) are provided every 60 degrees on the RF plate (six transmission systems may be uniformly branched out) [Sorensen - fig 7 & 0063 and Yamagishi - fig 4 & 0033].
Regarding claims 15-16:
The claim limitations “wherein the RF generator is configured to supply a high frequency power with a frequency of 13.56 MHz or greater” and “the apparatus is configured to adjust an electrical field around the shower plate by adjusting an impedance of an impedance adjuster” are merely intended use and are given weight to the extent that the prior art is capable of performing the intended use. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
Regarding claim 17:
Modified Yamagishi teaches each impedance adjustor (L1/L2) comprises an adjustable inductor (L1 and L2 are adjustable inductors), wherein an impedance of each impedance adjuster is independently adjustable (L1 and L2 are adjustable inductors) [Wei - fig 4-5 & col 6-7, lines 60-27].
Regarding claim 19:
Modified Yamagishi teaches each impedance adjustor (respective distributing units) comprises an adjustable capacitor (C1 and C2 are adjustable capacitors) and an adjustable inductor (L1 and L2 are adjustable inductors), wherein an impedance of each impedance adjuster is independently adjustable (C1/L1 and C2/L2 are adjustable) [Wei - fig 4-5 & col 6-7, lines 60-27].
Regarding claim 20:
Modified Yamagishi teaches each impedance adjustor comprises an inductor and a capacitor in series (distribution units could include both a capacitor and an inductor) [Wei - fig 4-5 & col 6-7, lines 60-27].
12. Claim(s) 10 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawahara et al (US 2017/0029947) in view of Yamagishi et al (US 2004/0194709), Sorensen et al (US 2010/0206483), and Wei (US 8,547,021).
Regarding claim 10:
Kawahara teaches a substrate processing apparatus comprising: one or more reaction chamber modules process module, 300), each reaction chamber module (300) comprising two or more reaction stations (310/311) [fig 16 & 0112]; a susceptor (320/321) positioned within each reaction station (310/311) to be constructed and arranged to support a substrate (substrate) [fig 16 & 0112]; a shower plate (330/331) positioned within each station (310/311) to be constructed and arranged to face each susceptor (320/321), respectively, wherein the shower plate (330/331) has a larger diameter than the susceptor (320/321) in a horizontal plane (see fig 16) [fig 16 & 0112]; wherein the susceptor (320/321) and the shower plate (330/331) form a parallel plate structure (see fig 16) [fig 16 & 0112].
Kawahara does not specifically teach an RF generator electrically coupled in RF power providing communication to each shower plate via an RF transmission unit, with the susceptor electrically grounded; wherein the RF transmission unit is provided with a plurality of supply terminals connected in parallel such that each of the plurality of supply terminals connects the RF generator to a relay ring, wherein the relay ring is disposed radially outward to the susceptor in the horizontal plane, and wherein the relay ring transmits the RF power to the shower plate.
Yamagishi teaches an RF generator (radio-frequency power source, 8) electrically coupled in RF power providing communication to each shower plate (bottom plate of 4) via an RF transmission unit (22), with the susceptor (3) electrically grounded (see fig 2) [fig 2, 5 & 0045]; wherein the RF transmission unit (22) is provided with a plurality of supply terminals (74-77) connected in parallel such that each of the plurality of supply terminals (74-77) connects the RF generator (8) to a relay ring (flange of 4), wherein the relay ring (flange of 4) is disposed radially outward to the susceptor (3) in the horizontal plane (see fig 5), and wherein the relay ring (flange of 4) transmits the RF power to the shower plate (bottom plate of 4) [fig 2, 4-5 & 0045, 0060].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify each shower plate of Kawahara to be supplied RF power with an RF generator electrically coupled to an RF transmission unit provided with a plurality of supply terminals, as in Yamagishi, to achieve a substantially equal impedance characteristic to decrease processing non-uniformity [Yamagishi – 0051, 0083].
Kawahara modified by Yamagishi does not specifically teach the RF transmission unit provided with a plurality of supply terminals being an RF plate provided with a plurality of impedance adjusters.
Sorensen teaches an RF plate (43) is provided with a plurality of impedance adjusters (71/72) [fig 6-7 & 0029, 0032, 0036, 0063].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the RF transmission unit and plurality of supply terminals of Yamigishi with an RF ring and plurality of impedance adjusters, as in Sorensen, to reduce the inductance of the electrical connection between the RF input and the plasma chamber electrode [Sorensen – 0011] while providing an equal supply of RF power or producing a desired ratio of RF power supplied to the connection points [Sorensen – 0063]. Reduced inductance advantageously reduces the peak voltages within the RF circuitry. This helps reduce the risk of atmospheric arcing (i.e., electrical discharge) in the portions of the RF circuitry that are exposed to atmosphere, and it helps reduce the risk of failure of the capacitors within the RF circuitry [Sorensen – 0011].
Kawahara modified by Yamagishi and Sorensen does not specifically disclose each of the plurality of impedance adjusters comprises an inductor, and wherein the plurality of impedance adjusters are resonance circuits.
Wei teaches each of the plurality of impedance adjusters (L1/L2) comprises an inductor (inductor) [fig 4-5 & col 6-7, lines 60-27], and wherein the plurality of impedance adjusters are resonance circuits (the distribution units could include both a capacitor and an inductor) [col 7, lines 18-22].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify each of the plurality of impedance adjusters of modified Kawahara to comprise resonance circuits, as in Wei, because such a configuration allows the density and the intensity of plasma generated to be adjusted to increase the uniformity of plasma obtained [Wei - col 6-7, lines 60-27].
Regarding claim 18:
Modified Yamagishi teaches the at least one of the plurality of impedance adjustors comprises the inductor and a capacitor in series (distribution units could include both a capacitor and an inductor) [Wei - fig 4-5 & col 6-7, lines 60-27].
13. Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sorensen et al (US 2010/0206483) in view of Wei (US 8,547,021).
Regarding claim 21:
Sorensen teaches a substrate processing apparatus (apparatus depicted in figure 2) [fig 2, 6-7 & 0025-0026], comprising: a reaction chamber (plasma chamber) [fig 2, 6-7 & 0025-0026]; a susceptor (susceptor, 12) positioned within the reaction chamber (plasma chamber) to be constructed and arranged to support a substrate (workpiece 10) [fig 2, 6-7 & 0026]; a shower plate (showerhead, 22) to be constructed and arranged to face the susceptor (12) [fig 2, 6-7 & 0028]; and an RF generator (RF power supply, 32) electrically coupled to the shower plate (22) via an RF plate (RF bus conductor, 43) and configured to apply RF power to the shower plate (22), with the susceptor electrically grounded (see fig 2) [fig 2, 6-7 & 0032-0033, 0038]; wherein the RF plate (43) is provided with a plurality of impedance adjusters (71/72) connected in parallel (see fig 7) such that the plurality of impedance adjusters (71/72) electrically connects the RF generator (32) to a relay ring (manifold back wall, 20), and wherein the relay ring (20) transmits the RF power to the shower plate (22) [fig 2, 6-7 & 0029, 0032, 0036, 0063].
Sorensen does not specifically teach each of the plurality of impedance adjusters (L1/L2) consists of an adjustable inductor (L1 and L2 are adjustable inductors) [fig 5 & col 6-7, lines 60-10].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify each of the plurality of impedance adjusters of Sorensen to consist of an adjustable inductor, as in Wei, because such a configuration allows the density and the intensity of plasma generated to be adjusted to increase the uniformity of plasma obtained [Wei - col 6-7, lines 60-27].
Response to Arguments
14. Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 12/15/2025, with respect to the objection of claim(s) 10 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of claim(s) 10 has been withdrawn in view of the amendments to claim 10.
15. Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 12/15/2025, with respect to the rejection of claim(s) 10 and 18 under 35 USC 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claim(s) 10 and 18 under 35 USC 112(b) has been withdrawn in view of the amendments to claim 10.
16. Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 12/15/2025, with respect to the rejection of claim(s) 16 under 35 USC 112(d) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claim(s) 16 under 35 USC 112(d) has been withdrawn in view of the amendments to claim 16.
17. Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 12/15/2025, with respect to the rejection of claim(s) 1-8, 10, and 14-20 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Wei teaches away from the use of a parallel plate structure and teaches away from the parallel plate structure of claim 1.
This is a blatant mischaracterization of Wei. The parallel plate structure disclosed as prior art in Wei is a conventional parallel plate structure with a single RF feed connected to the upper electrode [Wei – fig 1]. The parallel plate structure of Sorensen (AND Yamagishi AND that of the instant claims) is a parallel plate structure with multiple RF feeds connected to the upper electrode. Nowhere does Wei “criticize, discredit, or otherwise discourage the solution claimed [i.e. a single electrode with multiple RF feeds] …." In re Fulton, 391 F.3d 1195, 1201, 73 USPQ2d 1141, 1146 (Fed. Cir. 2004). Moreover, Sorensen teaches that either a single electrode or an electrode divided into segments may be used [0078]. Thus, the obviousness rejection is maintained because the disclosure of more than one alternative does NOT constitute a teaching away from any of these alternatives.
The remainder of applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the combination of references being used in the current rejection.
The teachings of Yamagishi et al (US 2004/0194709) remedy anything lacking in the combination of references as applied above to the amended claims. It is noted that although Yamagishi was previously used to reject claims 3 and 14, applicant only broadly asserted that “Yamagishi does not teach the configuration of impedance adjusters of claim 1”. Examiner disagrees for the reasons set forth in the body of the rejection above.
Conclusion
/Benjamin Kendall/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896