DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the
Wherein the second surface of the second metal layer is grooved according to a predefined pattern, wherein the predefined pattern comprises a first predefined pattern and a second predefined pattern, different from the first predefined pattern that is arranged on individual features of the first predefined pattern, wherein the second surface of the second metal layer comprises radial grooves, as in claim 11
Wherein the second surface of the second metal layer is grooved according to a predefined pattern, wherein the predefined pattern comprises a first predefined pattern and a second predefined pattern, different from the first predefined pattern that is arranged on individual features of the first predefined pattern, wherein the second surface of the second metal layer comprises parallel grooves, as in claim 12
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 11 recites, “Wherein the second surface of the second metal layer is grooved according to a predefined pattern, wherein the predefined pattern comprises a first predefined pattern and a second predefined pattern, different from the first predefined pattern that is arranged on individual features of the first predefined pattern (Cl. 9)…wherein the second surface of the second metal layer comprises radial grooves (Cl. 11)” which is new matter not supported by the originally filed written description and drawings. As per the above drawing objection, the originally filed drawings do not appear to show the above-noted limitations of claim 11. Further, the originally filed written description does not appear to explicitly support the above-mentioned limitations.
It appears claim 11 should be amended to exclude the recitations to the radial grooves.
Claim 12 recites, “Wherein the second surface of the second metal layer is grooved according to a predefined pattern, wherein the predefined pattern comprises a first predefined pattern and a second predefined pattern, different from the first predefined pattern that is arranged on individual features of the first predefined pattern (Cl. 9)…wherein the second surface of the second metal layer comprises parallel grooves (Cl. 12)” which is new matter not supported by the originally filed written description and drawings. As per the above drawing objection, the originally filed drawings do not appear to show the above-noted limitations of claim 12. Further, the originally filed written description does not appear to explicitly support the above-mentioned limitations.
It appears claim 11 should be amended to exclude the recitations to the parallel grooves.
Claim Interpretation
The term, “a second surface is….textured” in claims 1 and 9 is interpreted to mean that the second surface has increased surface area (As compared to a planar surface) to more effectively radiate or conduct thermal energy to surroundings and can be, for example, grooves or channels in the surface (See ¶ 0005 of the present application written description, see also Figs 2-7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-10, 14-15, 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hochstein (US 5,857,767) in view of Lin et al. (US 6,864,513 – hereinafter, “Lin”) in view of Yan et al. (CN 202228982 – hereinafter, “Yan”) in view of Li (US 11,632,878) and further in view of Xu et al. (US 10,224,268 – hereinafter, “Xu”).
With respect to claim 1, Hochstein teaches (In Figs 2 and 4) a metal core printed circuit board, comprising: a first metal layer (18, Col. 5, ll. 1-8) with one or more circuit components (20) mounted on a first surface thereof (See Fig 4); a dielectric layer (16, Col. 4, ll. 20-22) bonded to a second surface of the first metal layer (18), opposite the first surface (See Fig 4); and a second metal layer (12, Col. 4, ll. 15-20) bonded to the dielectric layer (16), wherein a first surface of the second metal layer is bonded to the dielectric layer (See Fig 4), and a second surface of the second metal layer, opposite the first surface, is textured (See Fig 4, the second surface of the second metal layer has protrusions which creates grooves or channels), wherein the second surface of the second metal layer is grooved according to a predefined pattern (See Fig 2, the second surface of 12 has predefined grooves between the fins).
Hochstein fails to specifically teach or suggest that the first metal layer is one of copper or a copper alloy and that the metal core printed circuit board comprises a plurality of holes through a portion of the second surface of the second metal layer that is textured, the plurality of holes configured to accept screws or fasteners, wherein each hole of the plurality of holes is threaded, wherein the plurality of holes are embossed to provide a raised surface on which the metal core printed circuit board can abut an apparatus being fastened thereon so that the apparatus does not damage the second surface of the second metal layer, and wherein the predefined pattern comprises a first predefined pattern and a second predefined pattern, different from the first predefined pattern that is arranged on individual features of the first predefined pattern.
Lin, however, teaches a printed circuit board with a first metal layer (100) is made of copper (Col. 2, ll. 4-6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lin with that of Hochstein, such that the first metal layer is copper, as taught by Lin, since doing so would allow for the first metal layer to be made of a material which is highly thermally and electrically conductive, easy to manufacture, and low in cost.
Furthermore, it is noted that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination1 and it is respectfully submitted that copper is a suitable material for use as a trace material.
Regarding the limitations requiring a plurality of holes through a portion of the second surface of the second metal layer that is textured, the plurality of holes configured to accept screws or fasteners, wherein each hole of the plurality of holes is threaded, Yan teaches (In Fig 3) a plurality of threaded holes (6) through a portion of a second surface (Bottom surface) of a metal core printed circuit board (2) that is textured (See Fig 3), the plurality of holes (6) configured to accept screws or fasteners (“In the utility model embodiment, shown in Figure 3, substrate and a radiating plate or back plate of the printed circuit board is respectively corresponding to each other is provided with a threaded hole 6, screw hole 6 for screwing screw for fixing metal core printed circuit board and the radiating plate or backboard.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yan with that of modified Hochstein, such that Hochstein includes a plurality of threaded holes through a portion of the second surface of the second metal layer that is textured, the plurality of holes configured to accept screws or fasteners, as taught by Yan, since doing so would allow for the metal core printed circuit board of Hochstein to be affixed to another structure.
Regarding the limitations that, wherein the plurality of holes are embossed to provide a raised surface on which the metal core printed circuit board can abut an apparatus being fastened thereon so that the apparatus does not damage the second surface of the second metal layer; Li teaches (In Fig 2A) a heat dissipation plate (5) which comprises a plurality of holes (Holes associated with 532 and 539) through at least one layer that accept screws or fasteners (632), and wherein the plurality of holes are embossed (532) to provide a raised surface on which the heat dissipation plate can abut an apparatus being fastened thereon so that the apparatus does not damage a second surface of the heat dissipation plate (See Fig 2A).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Li with that of modified Hochstein, such that, in modified Hochstein, the plurality of holes are embossed to provide a raised surface on which the metal core printed circuit board can abut an apparatus being fastened thereon so that the apparatus does not damage the second surface of the second metal layer, as taught by Li, since doing so would allow the metal core printed circuit board of Hochstein to be mounted to a housing to protect the metal core printed circuit board.
Regarding the limitations that wherein the predefined pattern comprises a first predefined pattern and a second predefined pattern, different from the first predefined pattern that is arranged on individual features of the first predefined pattern, Xu teaches (In Fig 6) a layer (606) wherein a predefined pattern comprises a first predefined pattern (Pattern of trenches 610) and a second predefined pattern (Pattern of pyramid structures 614), different from the first predefined pattern that is arranged on individual features of the first predefined pattern (See Fig 6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Xu with that of modified Hochstein such that, in modified Hochstein the predefined pattern comprises a first predefined pattern and a second predefined pattern, different from the first predefined pattern that is arranged on individual features of the first predefined pattern, as taught by Xu, since doing so would achieve higher emissivity for enhanced radiation heat transfer on the second metal layer of Hochstein (Xu: Col. 9, ll. 30-31).
With respect to claim 2, Hochstein further teaches that the second metal layer (12) is exposed to air (Col. 6, ll. 57-62).
With respect to claim 3, Hochstein further teaches that the textured second surface of the second metal layer (12) facilitates improved thermal energy transfer to a heat sink (The increased surface area caused by the texture in Hochstein facilitates improved thermal energy transfer to a heat sink, as taught by Applicant in ¶ 0055 of the present written description (“The increased surface area of the textured MCPCB 100 can increase the surface area in which the thermal paste 708 is in contact, thus improving the heat transfer in this traditional use of a heatsink and MCPCB.”)).
With respect to claim 7, even though the claims are limited and defined by the recited process, the determination of patentability of the product is based on the product itself, and does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process2. In the present case, the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as the product disclosed by Hochstein Figs 2 and 4 and thus how the textured surface is made is immaterial to patentability.
With respect to claim 8, Hochstein further teaches that the second metal layer (12) is at least one of copper or aluminum (Col. 4, ll. 15-20).
With respect to claim 9, Hochstein teaches (In Figs 2 and 4) an assembly (10), comprising: a metal core printed circuit board comprising: a first metal layer (18) with one or more circuit components (20) mounted on a first surface thereof; a dielectric layer (16) bonded to a second surface of the first metal layer, opposite the first surface; and a second metal layer (12) bonded to the dielectric layer, wherein a first surface of the second metal layer is bonded to the dielectric layer (See Fig 4), and a second surface of the second metal layer, opposite the first surface, is textured (With grooves or channels, see Figs 2 and 4), and a housing (28) mounted to the metal core printed circuit board, and at least partially covering the first surface of the first metal layer (See Figs 1-2), wherein the second surface of the second metal layer is grooved according to a predefined pattern (See Fig 2, the second surface of 12 has predefined grooves between the fins).
Hochstein fails to specifically teach or suggest that the first metal layer is one of copper or a copper alloy and that the metal core printed circuit board comprises a plurality of holes through a portion of the second surface of the second metal layer that is textured, the plurality of holes configured to accept screws or fasteners, wherein each hole of the plurality of holes is threaded, and wherein the plurality of holes are embossed to provide a raised surface on which the metal core printed circuit board can abut an apparatus being fastened thereon so that the apparatus does not damage the second surface of the second metal layer, and wherein the predefined pattern comprises a first predefined pattern and a second predefined pattern, different from the first predefined pattern that is arranged on individual features of the first predefined pattern.
Lin, however, teaches a printed circuit board with a first metal layer (100) is made of copper (Col. 2, ll. 4-6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lin with that of Hochstein, such that the first metal layer is copper, as taught by Lin, since doing so would allow for the first metal layer to be made of a material which is highly thermally and electrically conductive, easy to manufacture, and low in cost.
Furthermore, it is noted that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination1 and it is respectfully submitted that copper is a suitable material for use as a trace material.
Regarding the limitations requiring a plurality of holes through a portion of the second surface of the second metal layer that is textured, the plurality of holes configured to accept screws or fasteners, wherein each hole of the plurality of holes is threaded, Yan teaches (In Fig 3) a plurality of threaded holes (6) through a portion of a second surface (Bottom surface) of a metal core printed circuit board (2) that is textured (See Fig 3), the plurality of holes (6) configured to accept screws or fasteners (“In the utility model embodiment, shown in Figure 3, substrate and a radiating plate or back plate of the printed circuit board is respectively corresponding to each other is provided with a threaded hole 6, screw hole 6 for screwing screw for fixing metal core printed circuit board and the radiating plate or backboard.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yan with that of modified Hochstein, such that Hochstein includes a plurality of threaded holes through a portion of the second surface of the second metal layer that is textured, the plurality of holes configured to accept screws or fasteners, as taught by Yan, since doing so would allow for the metal core printed circuit board of Hochstein to be affixed to another structure.
Regarding the limitations that the plurality of holes are embossed to provide a raised surface on which the metal core printed circuit board can abut an apparatus being fastened thereon so that the apparatus does not damage the second surface of the second metal layer; Li teaches (In Fig 2A) a heat dissipation plate (5) which comprises a plurality of holes (Holes associated with 532 and 539) through at least one layer that accept screws or fasteners (632), and wherein the plurality of holes are embossed (532) to provide a raised surface on which the heat dissipation plate can abut an apparatus being fastened thereon so that the apparatus does not damage a second surface of the heat dissipation plate (See Fig 2A).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Li with that of modified Hochstein, such that, in modified Hochstein, the metal core printed circuit board comprises a plurality of holes through at least one of the second metal layer and the dielectric layer, that accept screws or fasteners, and wherein the plurality of holes are embossed to provide a raised surface on which the metal core printed circuit board can abut an apparatus being fastened thereon so that the apparatus does not damage the second surface of the second metal layer, as taught by Li, since doing so would allow the metal core printed circuit board of Hochstein to be mounted to a housing to protect the metal core printed circuit board.
Regarding the limitations that wherein the predefined pattern comprises a first predefined pattern and a second predefined pattern, different from the first predefined pattern that is arranged on individual features of the first predefined pattern, Xu teaches (In Fig 6) a layer (606) wherein a predefined pattern comprises a first predefined pattern (Pattern of trenches 610) and a second predefined pattern (Pattern of pyramid structures 614), different from the first predefined pattern that is arranged on individual features of the first predefined pattern (See Fig 6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Xu with that of modified Hochstein such that, in modified Hochstein the predefined pattern comprises a first predefined pattern and a second predefined pattern, different from the first predefined pattern that is arranged on individual features of the first predefined pattern, as taught by Xu, since doing so would achieve higher emissivity for enhanced radiation heat transfer on the second metal layer of Hochstein (Xu: Col. 9, ll. 30-31).
With respect to claim 10, Hochstein as modified by Lin teaches the limitations of claim 9 as per above and Hochstein further teaches that the second surface can be cooled by circulating air (Col. 6, ll. 59-62) but fails to specifically teach or suggest a fan configured to blow air over the second surface of the second metal layer.
Lin, however, teaches (In Fig 3) a fan (60) configured to blow air over a second surface of a second conductive layer (30).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lin with that of Hochstein, such that Hochstein includes a fan configured to blow air over the second surface of the second metal layer, as taught by Lin, since doing so would provide extra cooling to the metal core printed circuit board of Hochstein.
With respect to claim 14, Hochstein further teaches that the one or more circuit components (20) comprise one or more light emitting diode chips (Col. 6, l. 30, “Common, surface mount LEDs 20”).
With respect to claim 15, Hochstein further teaches that the assembly (10) comprises a light fixture (Col. 4, ll. 11-14).
With respect to claim 17, even though the claims are limited and defined by the recited process, the determination of patentability of the product is based on the product itself, and does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process2. In the present case, the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as the product disclosed by Hochstein Figs 2 and 4 and thus how the textured surface is made is immaterial to patentability.
With respect to claim 18, Hochstein teaches (In Figs 1-4) a light emitting diode device (10), comprising: a light emitting diode chip (20); a metal core printed circuit board (12, 16, 18) comprising a first metal layer (18) and a second metal layer (12) on which the light emitting diode chip (20) is mounted on a top surface of the first metal layer thereof (See Fig 2), wherein a bottom surface of the second metal layer of the metal core printed circuit board is textured with one or more of grooves (Grooves between fins 14) or etching; and a housing (28), mounted to the metal core printed circuit board, and at least partially covering the top surface of the metal core printed circuit board (See Figs 1-2), wherein the housing (28) does not cover the bottom surface of the metal core printed circuit board (See Fig 2).
Hochstein fails to specifically teach or suggest that the first metal layer is one of copper or a copper alloy and that the metal core printed circuit board comprises a plurality of holes through a portion of the second surface of the second metal layer that is textured, the plurality of holes configured to accept screws or fasteners, wherein each hole of the plurality of holes is threaded, and wherein the plurality of holes are embossed to provide a raised surface on which the metal core printed circuit board can abut an apparatus being fastened thereon so that the apparatus does not damage the bottom surface of the second metal layer, wherein the one or more of grooves or etching comprises an additional predefined pattern formed thereon.
Lin, however, teaches a printed circuit board with a first metal layer (100) is made of copper (Col. 2, ll. 4-6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lin with that of Hochstein, such that the first metal layer is copper, as taught by Lin, since doing so would allow for the first metal layer to be made of a material which is highly thermally and electrically conductive, easy to manufacture, and low in cost.
Furthermore, it is noted that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination1 and it is respectfully submitted that copper is a suitable material for use as a trace material.
Regarding the limitations requiring a plurality of holes through a portion of the second surface of the second metal layer that is textured, the plurality of holes configured to accept screws or fasteners, wherein each hole of the plurality of holes is threaded, Yan teaches (In Fig 3) a plurality of threaded holes (6) through a portion of a second surface (Bottom surface) of a metal core printed circuit board (2) that is textured (See Fig 3), the plurality of holes (6) configured to accept screws or fasteners (“In the utility model embodiment, shown in Figure 3, substrate and a radiating plate or back plate of the printed circuit board is respectively corresponding to each other is provided with a threaded hole 6, screw hole 6 for screwing screw for fixing metal core printed circuit board and the radiating plate or backboard.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yan with that of modified Hochstein, such that Hochstein includes a plurality of threaded holes through a portion of the second surface of the second metal layer that is textured, the plurality of holes configured to accept screws or fasteners, as taught by Yan, since doing so would allow for the metal core printed circuit board of Hochstein to be affixed to another structure.
Regarding the limitations that the plurality of holes are embossed to provide a raised surface on which the metal core printed circuit board can abut an apparatus being fastened thereon so that the apparatus does not damage the bottom surface of the second metal layer; Li teaches (In Fig 2A) a heat dissipation plate (5) which comprises a plurality of holes (Holes associated with 532 and 539) through at least one layer that accept screws or fasteners (632), and wherein the plurality of holes are embossed (532) to provide a raised surface on which the heat dissipation plate can abut an apparatus being fastened thereon so that the apparatus does not damage a surface of the heat dissipation plate (See Fig 2A).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Li with that of modified Hochstein, such that, in modified Hochstein, the metal core printed circuit board comprises a plurality of holes through at least one of the second metal layer and the dielectric layer, that accept screws or fasteners, and wherein the plurality of holes are embossed to provide a raised surface on which the metal core printed circuit board can abut an apparatus being fastened thereon so that the apparatus does not damage the bottom surface of the second metal layer, as taught by Li, since doing so would allow the metal core printed circuit board of Hochstein to be mounted to a housing to protect the metal core printed circuit board.
Regarding the limitations that wherein the one or more of grooves or etching comprises an additional predefined pattern formed thereon, Xu teaches (In Fig 6) one or more of grooves (610) or etching comprises an additional predefined pattern (614) formed thereon (See Fig 6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Xu with that of modified Hochstein such that, in modified Hochstein the one or more of grooves or etching comprises an additional predefined pattern formed thereon, as taught by Xu, since doing so would achieve higher emissivity for enhanced radiation heat transfer on the second metal layer of Hochstein (Xu: Col. 9, ll. 30-31).
With respect to claim 19, Hochstein further teaches that the metal core printed circuit board comprises grooves of at least one of a radial pattern, a parallel groove pattern (The grooves in Hochstein are parallel, see Fig 2), a cross-hatch pattern, or a spiral pattern.
With respect to claim 20, Hochstein further teaches that the metal core printed circuit board is textured with grooves (See Fig 2). With respect to claim 20 reciting “etching”, even though the claims are limited and defined by the recited process, the determination of patentability of the product is based on the product itself, and does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process2. In the present case, the product in the product-by-process limitation in claim 20 is the same as the product disclosed by Hochstein Figs 2 and 4 and thus how the textured surface is made is immaterial to patentability.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hochstein in view of Lin in view of Yan in view of Li in view of Xu and further in view of Mira (US 5,661,638).
With respect to claim 11, as best understood by the Examiner, Hochstein as modified by Lin, Yan, Li and Xu teaches the limitations of claim 10 as per above but fails to specifically teach or suggest wherein the second surface of the second metal layer comprises radial grooves, and wherein the fan is mounted such that the fan blows air perpendicular to the second surface of the second metal layer.
Mira, however, teaches wherein a second surface (Top surface of base 20) of a metal layer comprises radial grooves (Radial grooves created by radial fins 22) and wherein a fan (28) is mounted such that the fan blows air perpendicular to the second surface of the metal layer (Fan blows air downward perpendicular to the top surface of the base 20, Col. 4, ll. 50-67).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Mira with that of Hochstein as modified by Lin such that the second surface of the second metal layer comprises radial grooves and the fan is mounted such that it blows air perpendicular to the second surface of the second metal layer, as taught by Mira, since doing so would provide a heat sink unit or assembly which provides substantial surface area without substantially slowing or restricting the flow of coolant air across the surface of the heat sink unit or assembly (Mira: Col. 2, ll. 22-26).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hochstein in view of Lin in view of Yan in view of Li in view of Xu and further in view of Tang et al. (US 2019/0327854 – hereinafter, “Tang”).
With respect to claim 12, as best understood by the Examiner, Hochstein as modified by Lin, Yan, Li, and Xu teaches the limitations of claim 10 as per above and Hochstein further teaches that the second surface of the second metal layer comprises parallel grooves (See Fig 2) but fails to specifically teach or suggest a fan is mounted such that the fan blows air parallel to parallel grooves.
Tang, however, teaches (In Fig 1) a fan (110) which is mounted such that the fan blows air parallel to parallel grooves (Fig 1, parallel grooves created by parallel fins 140. See also ¶ 0036).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tang with that of Hochstein, such that a fan is mounted such that the fan blows air parallel to parallel grooves, as taught by Tang, since doing so would increase heat transfer from the second surface to the atmosphere.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hochstein in view of Lin in view of Yan in view of Li in view of Xu and further in view of Hsu (US 2009/0180289).
With respect to claim 13, Hochstein as modified by Lin, Yan, Li, and Xu teaches the limitations of claim 9 as per above but fails to specifically teach or suggest a heatsink mounted to the metal core printed circuit board to dissipate thermal energy from the second surface of the second metal layer; and thermal paste between the heatsink and the second surface of the second metal layer.
Hsu, however, teaches (In Figs 1-2) a heatsink (2215 + 227) mounted to a substrate (210) to dissipate thermal energy from a second surface (2102) of the substrate; and thermal paste (grease, wherein the broadest reasonable interpretation of the term, “thermal paste” includes a thermal grease) between the heatsink and the second surface of the second metal layer (¶ 0025, “The first heat-conducting fins 214 are interleaved with the second heat-conducting fins 227, and in thermal contact with the heat-conducting bottom plate 2215. A thermal grease 203 can be applied at an interface between the neighboring first and second heat-conducting fins 214, 227, and at an interface between the first heat-conducting fins 214 and the heat-conducting bottom plate 2215.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hsu with that of Hochstein, such that a heatsink is mounted to the metal core printed circuit board to dissipate thermal energy from the second surface of the second metal layer; and thermal paste is provided between the heatsink and the second surface of the second metal layer, as taught by Hsu, since doing so would provide for additional heat dissipation capacity to the metal core printed circuit board of Hochstein.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hochstein in view of Lin in view of Yan in view of Li in view of Xu and further in view of Gohara et al. (US 2014/0043765 – hereinafter, “Gohara”).
With respect to claim 16, Hochstein as modified by Lin, Yan, Li and Xu teaches the limitations of claim 9 as per above but fails to specifically teach or suggest a water-cooling system configured to pump water over the second surface of the second metal layer.
Gohara, however, teaches (In Fig 2 and ¶ 0066) a water-cooling system configured to pump water over a bottom surface and fins (2C) of a metal layer (2B).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gohara with that of Hochstein, such that Hochstein includes a water-cooling system configured to pump water over the second surface of the second metal layer, as taught by Gohara, since doing so would allow for higher heat removal from the second surface since convectively flowing a liquid over the second surface will remove more heat than convectively flowing a gas, such as air, over the second surface.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
With respect to claim 5, the allowability resides in the overall structure of the device as recited in dependent claim 5 and at least in part because claim 5 recites, “wherein the first predefined pattern is a cross-hatch pattern comprising open areas surrounded by walls, and wherein the second predefined pattern is a microtexture formed by etching or sandblasting on the open areas”.
The aforementioned limitations in combination with all remaining limitations of claim 5 are believed to render said claim 5 patentable over the art of record.
While Hochstein, Lin, Yan, Li and Xu teach many of the limitations of claim 5 as per the above rejection to claim 1, neither Hochstein nor Lin nor Li nor Xu, nor any other art of record – either alone or in combination – teach or suggest the above-mentioned limitations of claim 5.
Response to Arguments
With respect to the Applicant’s remarks to claim 1 that, “As clarified in the amendment to claim 1, however, the second predefined pattern is one that is different from the first predefined pattern and is arranged on individual features of the first predefined pattern. Since Hochstein does not show a pattern that is different from the first pattern, and also does not show that the second pattern is formed on features of the first pattern, Hochstein does not disclose wherein the second surface of the second metal layer is grooved according to a predefined pattern, wherein the predefined pattern comprises a first predefined pattern and a second predefined pattern, different from the first predefined pattern that is arranged on individual features of the first predefined pattern and Lin, Yan, and Li fail to teach or suggest at least these features too. (Present remarks page 7) the Examiner agrees and notes that the previous 103 rejection to claim 1 in view of Hochstein, Lin, Yan and Li has been withdrawn. However, a new grounds rejection is provided above to claim 1 in view of Hochstein, Lin, Yan, and Li and Xu where Xu explicitly teaches (In Fig 6) patterned grooves of a heat sink which have a second predefined pattern thereon, which is believed to resolve any potential deficiencies in Hochstein, Lin, Yan, and Li.
Accordingly, claim 1 is believed to be prima facie obvious in view of Hochstein, Lin, Yan, Li, and Xu.
With respect to the Applicant’s additional remarks to claim 5 that, “Furthermore claim 5, as amended, recites: wherein the first predefined pattern is a cross-hatch pattern comprising open areas surrounded by walls, and wherein the second predefined pattern is a microtexture formed by etching or sandblasting on the open areas. The rejection to claim 5 cites to Hochstein also, which shows in Figure 2 a parallel groove pattern. Hochstein does not show, however, a cross-hatch pattern comprising open areas surrounded by walls, and wherein the second predefined pattern is a microtexture formed by etching or sandblasting on the open areas and so Hochstein, Lin, Yan, and Li also fail to teach or suggest at least these recited elements of claim 5. Since the prior art fails to teach or suggest at least these elements of claims 1 and 5, withdrawal of the rejection to claims 1 and 5 is respectfully requested.” (Present remarks pages 7-8) the Examiner agrees and notes that the previous rejection thereto has been withdrawn and claim 5 noted as allowable.
With respect to the Applicant’s additional remarks to independent claims 9 and 18 (Present remarks page 8) the Examiner notes that claims 9 and 18 are believed to also be prima facie obvious in view of Hochstein, Lin, Yan, Li, and Xu for similar reasons as described above with respect to claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZACHARY PAPE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841
1 MPEP 2144.07
2 In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).