DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed October 02, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-3, 5-14, and 16-22 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8-10, 12, 19-20, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon et. al. (US 20200295310 A1), hereinafter Moon, in view of Chun et. al. (US 20190115559 A1), hereinafter Chun, in further view of Jung (US 20150102320 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Moon teaches a display device (Fig 1 display device, [0050]) comprising: a substrate (Fig 1 first substrate 100, [0050]) including a display area (Fig 1 display area DA, [0051]) and a peripheral area (Fig 1 peripheral area PA. [0051]); a driving element (Fig 4 driving thin film transistor T1, [0088]) disposed in the display area (Fig 4 display area DA, [0088]) on the substrate (Fig 4 first substrate 100, [0089]); a pixel electrode (Fig 4 pixel electrode 310, [0104]) disposed on (Fig 4) the driving element (Fig 4 driving thin film transistor T1, [0088]) and connected to (Fig 4) the driving element(Fig 4 driving thin film transistor T1, [0088]); and a pixel defining layer (Fig 4 pixel defining layer 119, [0105]) disposed on (Fig 4) the planarization layer (Fig 4 planarization layer 118, [0105]), wherein the pixel defining layer (Fig 4 pixel defining layer 119, [0105]) includes: a bank portion (Fig 4 portion of pixel defining layer 119 containing OP3), in which an opening (Fig 4 as an example OP3, [0105]) is defined to expose a portion of the pixel electrode (Fig 4 pixel electrode 310, [0104]).
Moon fails to teach a planarization layer including a first flat portion covering the driving element and a first protrusion portion protruding in a thickness direction from an upper surface of the first flat portion adjacent to the pixel electrode; and a spacer portion protruding in the thickness direction from an upper surface of the bank portion and spaced apart from the first protrusion portion when viewed in the thickness direction, wherein the bank portion includes: a second flat portion disposed on the planarization layer; and a second protrusion portion protruding in the thickness direction from an upper surface of the second flat portion overlapping the first protruding portion, wherein the opening of the bank portion is defined by a side surface of the second protrusion portion.
However, Chun teaches a planarization layer (Fig 1 insulating layer 180, [0023] corresponds to Moon: Fig 4 planarization layer 118, [0105]) including a first flat portion (Fig 1 first part 181, [0023]) covering the driving element (Fig 1 thin film transistor TFT, [0022] corresponds to Moon: Fig 4 driving thin film transistor T1, [0088]) and a first protrusion portion (Fig 1 second part 182, [0022]) protruding in a thickness direction (Fig 1) from an upper surface of the first flat portion (Fig 1 first part 181, [0023]) adjacent to the pixel electrode (Fig 1 first electrode 191, [0022] corresponds to Moon: Fig 4 pixel electrode 310, [0104]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Moon to incorporate the teachings of Chun by having a protrusion portion of the planarization layer protruding in a thickness direction from an upper surface of the first flat portion adjacent to a pixel electrode. This could be done to prevent damage to an emission layer of the light emitting device due to output gas released from other areas of the planarization area ([0024]).
Once Moon has been modified by Chun, Moon teaches a spacer portion (Fig 4 spacer 119s, [0109]) protruding in the thickness direction (Fig 4) from an upper surface of the bank portion (Fig 4 portion of pixel defining layer 119 containing OP3) and spaced apart (the spacer is located between pixel electrodes 310) from the first protrusion portion (the first protrusions would be located near opening OP3) when viewed in the thickness direction.
Moon and Chun fail to teach the bank portion includes: a second flat portion disposed on the planarization layer; and a second protrusion portion protruding in the thickness direction from an upper surface of the second flat portion overlapping the first protruding portion, wherein the opening of the bank portion is defined by a side surface of the second protrusion portion.
However, Jung teaches a second flat portion (Fig 2 valley between sub spacer 275 and main spacer 277 corresponds to Moon: Fig 4 flat portion between spacer 119s and openings such as OP3); and a second protrusion portion (Fig 2 portions on either side of main spacer 277) protruding in the thickness direction from an upper surface of the second flat portion (Fig 2 valley between sub spacer 275 and main spacer 277 corresponds to Moon: Fig 4 flat portion between spacer 119s and openings such as OP3) overlapping the first protruding portion (Fig 2 second passivation layer 181 protrusion, [0035] corresponds to Chun: Fig 1 second part 182, [0022]). One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would modify Moon and Chun to using the teachings of Jung by having a second flat portion disposed on the planarization layer; and a second protrusion portion protruding in the thickness direction from an upper surface of the second flat portion overlapping the first protruding portion. This would allow for the display device to have better tolerance of external impacts by having two different kinds of spacers ([0026]). MPEP 2143(I)(G)
Once Moon and Chun have been modified by Jung, Moon and Chun teach the bank portion (Moon: Fig 4 portion of pixel defining layer 119 containing OP3)includes: a second flat portion (Moon: Fig 4 flat portion of pixel defining layer 119 between spacer 119s and openings such as OP3) disposed on the planarization layer Moon: Fig 4 planarization layer 118, [0105]; and a second protrusion portion (Jung: Fig 2 portions on either side of main spacer 277) protruding in the thickness direction from an upper surface of the second flat portion (Moon: Fig 4 flat portion of pixel defining layer 119 between spacer 119s and openings such as OP3) overlapping the first protruding portion (Chun: Fig 1 second part 182, [0022]), wherein the opening (Fig 4 as an example OP3, [0105]) of the bank portion (Moon: Fig 4 portion of pixel defining layer 119 containing OP3) is defined by a side surface of the second protrusion portion (Jung: Fig 2 portions on either side of main spacer 277).
Examiner notes the second protrusion portion of the pixel defining layer overlapping with the previous first protruding portion would have a side surface exposing a portion of the pixel electrode. As shown in Fig 2 of Jung, the overlapping area of the second protrusion extends past the first protrusion. This would make the side surface of the second protrusion the same as the side surface of the bank portion (Fig 4 portion of pixel defining layer 119 containing OP3) of Moon that had been modified by Chun and Jung.
Regarding claim 8, Moon as modified by Chun in claim 1 teaches the planarization layer (Moon: Fig 4 planarization layer 118, [0105]) includes an organic insulating material (Moon: [0102]).
Regarding claim 9, Moon as modified by Chun in claim 1 teaches the driving element (Moon: Fig 4 driving thin film transistor T1, [0088]) includes: an active layer (Moon: Fig 4 semiconductor layer A1, [0093]) disposed on the substrate (Moon: Fig 4 first substrate 100, [0089]); a gate electrode (Moon: Fig 4 gate electrode G, [0094]) disposed on the active layer (Moon: Fig 4 semiconductor layer A1, [0093]); and a source electrode (Moon: Fig 4 source electrode S1, [0073]) and a drain electrode (Moon: Fig 4 drain electrode D1, [0073]), which are disposed on (Fig 4) the gate electrode (Moon: Fig 4 gate electrode G, [0094]) and connected to (Fig 4) the active layer (Moon: Fig 4 semiconductor layer A1, [0093]).
Regarding claim 10, Moon as modified by Chun in claim 1 teaches a light emitting layer (Moon: Fig 4 organic emission layer 320, [0103]) disposed on the pixel electrode (Fig 4 pixel electrode 310, [0104]); and a common electrode (Moon: Fig 4 opposite electrode 330, [0103]) disposed on the pixel defining layer (Fig 4 pixel defining layer 119, [0105]) and the light emitting layer (Moon: Fig 4 organic emission layer 320, [0103]).
Regarding claim 12, Moon teaches a display device (Fig 1display device, [0050]) comprising: a substrate (Fig 1 first substrate 100, [0050]) including a display area (Fig 1 display area DA, [0051]) and a peripheral area (Fig 1 peripheral area PA. [0051]); a driving element (Fig 4 driving thin film transistor T1, [0088]) disposed in the display area (Fig 4 display area DA, [0088]) on the substrate (Fig 4 first substrate 100, [0089]); a pixel electrode (Fig 4 pixel electrode 310, [0104]) disposed on (Fig 4) the driving element (Fig 4 driving thin film transistor T1, [0088]) and connected to (Fig 4) the driving element(Fig 4 driving thin film transistor T1, [0088]); and a pixel defining layer (Fig 4 pixel defining layer 119, [0105]) disposed on (Fig 4) the planarization layer (Fig 4 planarization layer 118, [0105]), wherein the pixel defining layer (Fig 4 pixel defining layer 119, [0105]) includes: a bank portion (Fig 4 portion of pixel defining layer 119 containing OP3), in which an opening (Fig 4 as an example OP3, [0105]) is defined to expose a portion of the pixel electrode (Fig 4 pixel electrode 310, [0104]); and a spacer portion (Fig 4 spacer 119s, [0109]) disposed (Fig 4) on the bank portion (Fig 4 portion of pixel defining layer 119 containing OP3), including a same material (a spacer portion can be made at the same time as the bank portion, [0109]) as the bank portion (Fig 4 portion of pixel defining layer 119 containing OP3).
Moon fails to teach a planarization layer including a first flat portion covering the driving element and a first protrusion portion protruding in a thickness direction from an upper surface of the first flat portion adjacent to the pixel electrode; and a spacer portion spaced apart from the first protrusion portion when viewed in the thickness direction, wherein the bank portion includes: a second flat portion disposed on the planarization layer; and a second protrusion portion protruding in the thickness direction from an upper surface of the second flat portion overlapping the first protruding portion, wherein the opening of the bank portion is defined by a side surface of the second protrusion portion.
However, Chun teaches a planarization layer (Fig 1 insulating layer 180, [0023] corresponds to Moon: Fig 4 planarization layer 118, [0105]) including a first flat portion (Fig 1 first part 181, [0023]) covering the driving element (Fig 1 thin film transistor TFT, [0022] corresponds to Moon: Fig 4 driving thin film transistor T1, [0088]) and a first protrusion portion (Fig 1 second part 182, [0022]) protruding in a thickness direction (Fig 1) from an upper surface of the first flat portion (Fig 1 first part 181, [0023]) adjacent to the pixel electrode (Fig 1 first electrode 191, [0022] corresponds to Moon: Fig 4 pixel electrode 310, [0104]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Moon to incorporate the teachings of Chun by having a protrusion portion of the planarization layer protruding in a thickness direction from an upper surface of the first flat portion adjacent to a pixel electrode. This could be done to prevent damage to an emission layer of the light emitting device due to output gas released from other areas of the planarization area ([0024]).
Once Moon has been modified by Chun, Moon teaches a spacer portion (Fig 4 spacer 119s, [0109]) spaced apart (the spacer is located between pixel electrodes 310) from the first protrusion portion (the first protrusions would be located near opening OP3) when viewed in the thickness direction.
Moon and Chun fail to teach the bank portion includes: a second flat portion disposed on the planarization layer; and a second protrusion portion protruding in the thickness direction from an upper surface of the second flat portion overlapping the first protruding portion, wherein the opening of the bank portion is defined by a side surface of the second protrusion portion.
However, Jung teaches a second flat portion (Fig 2 valley between sub spacer 275 and main spacer 277 corresponds to Moon: Fig 4 flat portion between spacer 119s and openings such as OP3); and a second protrusion portion (Fig 2 portions on either side of main spacer 277) protruding in the thickness direction from an upper surface of the second flat portion (Fig 2 valley between sub spacer 275 and main spacer 277 corresponds to Moon: Fig 4 flat portion between spacer 119s and openings such as OP3) overlapping the first protruding portion (Fig 2 second passivation layer 181 protrusion, [0035] corresponds to Chun: Fig 1 second part 182, [0022]). One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would modify Moon and Chun to using the teachings of Jung by having a second flat portion disposed on the planarization layer; and a second protrusion portion protruding in the thickness direction from an upper surface of the second flat portion overlapping the first protruding portion. This would allow for the display device to have better tolerance of external impacts by having two different kinds of spacers ([0026]). MPEP 2143(I)(G)
Once Moon and Chun have been modified by Jung, Moon and Chun teach the bank portion (Moon: Fig 4 portion of pixel defining layer 119 containing OP3)includes: a second flat portion (Moon: Fig 4 flat portion of pixel defining layer 119 between spacer 119s and openings such as OP3) disposed on the planarization layer Moon: Fig 4 planarization layer 118, [0105]; and a second protrusion portion(Jung: Fig 2 portions on either side of main spacer 277) protruding in the thickness direction from an upper surface of the second flat portion (Moon: Fig 4 flat portion of pixel defining layer 119 between spacer 119s and openings such as OP3) overlapping the first protruding portion (Chun: Fig 1 second part 182, [0022]), wherein the opening (Fig 4 as an example OP3, [0105]) of the bank portion (Moon: Fig 4 portion of pixel defining layer 119 containing OP3) is defined by a side surface of the second protrusion portion (Jung: Fig 2 portions on either side of main spacer 277).
Examiner notes the second protrusion portion of the pixel defining layer overlapping with the previous first protruding portion would have a side surface exposing a portion of the pixel electrode. As shown in Fig 2 of Jung, the overlapping area of the second protrusion extends past the first protrusion. This would make the side surface of the second protrusion the same as the side surface of the bank portion (Fig 4 portion of pixel defining layer 119 containing OP3) of Moon that had been modified by Chun and Jung.
Regarding claim 19, Moon as modified by Chun in claim 12 teaches the planarization layer (Moon: Fig 4 planarization layer 118, [0105]) includes an organic insulating material (Moon: [0102]).
Regarding claim 20, Moon as modified by Chun in claim 12 teaches a light emitting layer (Moon: Fig 4 organic emission layer 320, [0103]) disposed on the pixel electrode (Fig 4 pixel electrode 310, [0104]); and a common electrode (Moon: Fig 4 opposite electrode 330, [0103]) disposed on the pixel defining layer (Fig 4 pixel defining layer 119, [0105]) and the light emitting layer (Moon: Fig 4 organic emission layer 320, [0103]).
Regarding claim 22, Moon teaches an electronic device comprising a display device (Fig 1 display device, [0050]), wherein the display device comprises: a substrate (Fig 1 first substrate 100, [0050]) including a display area (Fig 1 display area DA, [0051]) and a peripheral area (Fig 1 peripheral area PA. [0051]); a driving element (Fig 4 driving thin film transistor T1, [0088]) disposed in the display area (Fig 4 display area DA, [0088]) on the substrate (Fig 4 first substrate 100, [0089]); a pixel electrode (Fig 4 pixel electrode 310, [0104]) disposed on (Fig 4) the driving element (Fig 4 driving thin film transistor T1, [0088]) and connected to (Fig 4) the driving element(Fig 4 driving thin film transistor T1, [0088]); and a pixel defining layer (Fig 4 pixel defining layer 119, [0105]) disposed on (Fig 4) the planarization layer (Fig 4 planarization layer 118, [0105]), wherein the pixel defining layer (Fig 4 pixel defining layer 119, [0105]) includes: a bank portion (Fig 4 portion of pixel defining layer 119 containing OP3), in which an opening (Fig 4 as an example OP3, [0105]) is defined to expose a portion of the pixel electrode (Fig 4 pixel electrode 310, [0104]).
Moon fails to teach a planarization layer including a first flat portion covering the driving element and a first protrusion portion protruding in a thickness direction from an upper surface of the first flat portion adjacent to the pixel electrode; and a spacer portion protruding in the thickness direction from an upper surface of the bank portion and spaced apart from the first protrusion portion when viewed in the thickness direction, wherein the bank portion includes: a second flat portion disposed on the planarization layer; and a second protrusion portion protruding in the thickness direction from an upper surface of the second flat portion overlapping the first protruding portion, wherein the opening of the bank portion is defined by a side surface of the second protrusion portion.
However, Chun teaches a planarization layer (Fig 1 insulating layer 180, [0023] corresponds to Moon: Fig 4 planarization layer 118, [0105]) including a first flat portion (Fig 1 first part 181, [0023]) covering the driving element (Fig 1 thin film transistor TFT, [0022] corresponds to Moon: Fig 4 driving thin film transistor T1, [0088]) and a first protrusion portion (Fig 1 second part 182, [0022]) protruding in a thickness direction (Fig 1) from an upper surface of the first flat portion (Fig 1 first part 181, [0023]) adjacent to the pixel electrode (Fig 1 first electrode 191, [0022] corresponds to Moon: Fig 4 pixel electrode 310, [0104]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Moon to incorporate the teachings of Chun by having a protrusion portion of the planarization layer protruding in a thickness direction from an upper surface of the first flat portion adjacent to a pixel electrode. This could be done to prevent damage to an emission layer of the light emitting device due to output gas released from other areas of the planarization area ([0024]).
Once Moon has been modified by Chun, Moon teaches a spacer portion (Fig 4 spacer 119s, [0109]) protruding in the thickness direction (Fig 4) from an upper surface of the bank portion (Fig 4 portion of pixel defining layer 119 containing OP3) and spaced apart (the spacer is located between pixel electrodes 310) from the first protrusion portion (the first protrusions would be located near opening OP3) when viewed in the thickness direction.
Moon and Chun fail to teach the bank portion includes: a second flat portion disposed on the planarization layer; and a second protrusion portion protruding in the thickness direction from an upper surface of the second flat portion overlapping the first protruding portion, wherein the opening of the bank portion is defined by a side surface of the second protrusion portion.
However, Jung teaches a second flat portion (Fig 2 valley between sub spacer 275 and main spacer 277 corresponds to Moon: Fig 4 flat portion between spacer 119s and openings such as OP3); and a second protrusion portion (Fig 2 portions on either side of main spacer 277) protruding in the thickness direction from an upper surface of the second flat portion (Fig 2 valley between sub spacer 275 and main spacer 277 corresponds to Moon: Fig 4 flat portion between spacer 119s and openings such as OP3) overlapping the first protruding portion (Fig 2 second passivation layer 181 protrusion, [0035] corresponds to Chun: Fig 1 second part 182, [0022]). One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would modify Moon and Chun to using the teachings of Jung by having a second flat portion disposed on the planarization layer; and a second protrusion portion protruding in the thickness direction from an upper surface of the second flat portion overlapping the first protruding portion. This would allow for the display device to have better tolerance of external impacts by having two different kinds of spacers ([0026]). MPEP 2143(I)(G)
Once Moon and Chun have been modified by Jung, Moon and Chun teach the bank portion (Moon: Fig 4 portion of pixel defining layer 119 containing OP3)includes: a second flat portion (Moon: Fig 4 flat portion of pixel defining layer 119 between spacer 119s and openings such as OP3) disposed on the planarization layer Moon: Fig 4 planarization layer 118, [0105]; and a second protrusion portion(Jung: Fig 2 portions on either side of main spacer 277) protruding in the thickness direction from an upper surface of the second flat portion (Moon: Fig 4 flat portion of pixel defining layer 119 between spacer 119s and openings such as OP3) overlapping the first protruding portion (Chun: Fig 1 second part 182, [0022]), wherein the opening (Fig 4 as an example OP3, [0105]) of the bank portion (Moon: Fig 4 portion of pixel defining layer 119 containing OP3) is defined by a side surface of the second protrusion portion (Jung: Fig 2 portions on either side of main spacer 277).
Examiner notes the second protrusion portion of the pixel defining layer overlapping with the previous first protruding portion would have a side surface exposing a portion of the pixel electrode. As shown in Fig 2 of Jung, the overlapping area of the second protrusion extends past the first protrusion. This would make the side surface of the second protrusion the same as the side surface of the bank portion (Fig 4 portion of pixel defining layer 119 containing OP3) of Moon that had been modified by Chun and Jung.
Claims 2 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon et. al. (US 20200295310 A1), hereinafter Moon, in view of Chun et. al. (US 20190115559 A1), hereinafter Chun, in further view of Jung (US 20150102320 A1), in further view of Yang et. al. (US 20170373124 A1), hereinafter Yang.
Regarding claim 2, Moon as modified by Chun in claim 1 fails to teach each of the bank portion and the spacer portion includes a black pigment.
However, Yang teaches each of the bank portion (Fig 1 first bank layer, [0123] corresponds to Moon: Fig 4 portion of pixel defining layer 119 containing OP3) and the spacer portion (Fig 1 second bank layer 142, [0123] corresponds to Moon: Fig 4 spacer 119s, [0109]) includes a black pigment ([0123]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Moon and Chun to incorporate the teachings of Yang by having the bank portion and the spacer portion including a black pigment. This would suppress color mixing from adjacent pixels ([0123]).
Regarding claim 13, Moon and Chun as modified in claim 12 fail to teach each of the bank portion and the spacer portion includes a black pigment.
However, Yang teaches each of the bank portion (Fig 1 first bank layer, [0123] corresponds to Moon: Fig 4 portion of pixel defining layer 119 containing OP3) and the spacer portion (Fig 1 second bank layer 142, [0123] corresponds to Moon: Fig 4 spacer 119s, [0109]) includes a black pigment ([0123]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Moon and Chun to incorporate the teachings of Yang by having the bank portion and the spacer portion including a black pigment. This would suppress color mixing from adjacent pixels ([0123]).
Claims 3 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon et. al. (US 20200295310 A1), hereinafter Moon, in view of Chun et. al. (US 20190115559 A1), hereinafter Chun, in further view of Jung (US 20150102320 A1), with support from Spruell (“Photosensitive Polyimides – Critical for Advanced Semiconductor Packaging,” https://www.halocarbon.com/photosensitive-polyimides-critical-for-advanced-semiconductor-packaging/, 2020).
Regarding claim 3, Moon as modified by Chun in claim 1 fails to teach each of the bank portion and the spacer portion includes a negative photosensitive material.
Regarding the bank portion and the spacer portion including a negative photosensitive material. Moon teaches the bank portion (Fig 4 portion of pixel defining layer 119 containing OP3) and the spacer portion (Fig 4 spacer 119s, [0109]) can be made at the same time ([0109]). Further, Moon teaches the materials that the bank portion can be made from ([0106]). Moon is silent on whether the materials are positive or negative photosensitive. Spruell shows that one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have known that polyimide (from the list of Moon, [0106]) could be a positive or negative photosensitive material. One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize the use of either positive or negative photosensitive materials to produce the features of Moon. MPEP 2144.06(II)
Regarding claim 14, Moon as modified by Chun in claim 12 fails to teach each of the bank portion and the spacer portion includes a negative photosensitive material.
Regarding the bank portion and the spacer portion including a negative photosensitive material. Moon teaches the bank portion (Fig 4 portion of pixel defining layer 119 containing OP3) and the spacer portion (Fig 4 spacer 119s, [0109]) can be made at the same time ([0109]). Further, Moon teaches the materials that the bank portion can be made from ([0106]). Moon is silent on whether the materials are positive or negative photosensitive. Spruell shows that one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have known that polyimide (from the list of Moon, [0106]) could be a positive or negative photosensitive material. One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize the use of either positive or negative photosensitive materials to produce the features of Moon. MPEP 2144.06(II)
Claims 11 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon et. al. (US 20200295310 A1), hereinafter Moon, in view of Chun et. al. (US 20190115559 A1), hereinafter Chun, in further view of Lee et. al. (US 20200285337 A1), hereinafter Lee.
Regarding claim 11, Moon as modified by Chun in claim 10 teaches an encapsulation structure (Moon: Fig 4 thin film encapsulation layer 400, [0061]) disposed on the common electrode (Moon: Fig 4 opposite electrode 330, [0103]), wherein the encapsulation structure (Moon: Fig 4 thin film encapsulation layer 400, [0061]) includes an organic layer (Moon: Fig 4 organic encapsulation layer 420, [0061]) and an inorganic layer (Moon: Fig 4 first inorganic layer 410, [0111]); a light blocking layer (Moon: Fig 4 light blocking pattern 510, [0086]) disposed on the encapsulation structure (Moon: Fig 4 thin film encapsulation layer 400, [0061]) and overlapping the pixel defining layer (Fig 4 pixel defining layer 119, [0105]).
Moon and Chun fail to teach a reflection control layer disposed on the encapsulation structure and covering the light blocking layer.
However, Lee teaches a reflection control layer (Fig 3 polarization layer POL, [0053]) disposed on the encapsulation structure (Fig 3 encapsulation layer ENL, [0050] corresponds to Moon: Fig 4 thin film encapsulation layer 400, [0061]) and covering the light blocking layer (Fig 3 light blocking pattern BML, [0052] corresponds to Moon: Fig 4 light blocking pattern 510, [0086]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Moon and Chun to incorporate the teachings of Lee by having a reflection control layer disposed on the encapsulation structure and covering the light blocking layer. This would reduce the reflection of external light ([0053]).
Regarding claim 21, Moon as modified by Chun in claim 20 teaches an encapsulation structure (Moon: Fig 4 thin film encapsulation layer 400, [0061]) disposed on the common electrode (Moon: Fig 4 opposite electrode 330, [0103]), wherein the encapsulation structure (Moon: Fig 4 thin film encapsulation layer 400, [0061]) includes an organic layer (Moon: Fig 4 organic encapsulation layer 420, [0061]) and an inorganic layer (Moon: Fig 4 first inorganic layer 410, [0111]); a light blocking layer (Moon: Fig 4 light blocking pattern 510, [0086]) disposed on the encapsulation structure (Moon: Fig 4 thin film encapsulation layer 400, [0061]) and overlapping the pixel defining layer (Fig 4 pixel defining layer 119, [0105]).
Moon and Chun fail to teach a reflection control layer disposed on the encapsulation structure and covering the light blocking layer.
However, Lee teaches a reflection control layer (Fig 3 polarization layer POL, [0053]) disposed on the encapsulation structure (Fig 3 encapsulation layer ENL, [0050] corresponds to Moon: Fig 4 thin film encapsulation layer 400, [0061]) and covering the light blocking layer (Fig 3 light blocking pattern BML, [0052] corresponds to Moon: Fig 4 light blocking pattern 510, [0086]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Moon and Chun to incorporate the teachings of Lee by having a reflection control layer disposed on the encapsulation structure and covering the light blocking layer. This would reduce the reflection of external light ([0053]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7 and 16-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 5 and 16, Moon, Chun and Jung fail to teach a first thickness of the second protrusion portion, which is a distance from an upper surface of the first protrusion portion to an upper surface of the second protrusion portion, is smaller than a second thickness of the second flat portion, which is a distance from the upper surface of the first flat portion to the upper surface of the second flat portion, in a cross-sectional view.
Regarding claims 6 and 17, Moon, Chun and Jung fail to teach an upper surface of the spacer portion and an upper surface of the second protrusion portion are located at different levels from each other in a cross-sectional view.
Regarding claims 7 and 18, Moon, Chun and Jung fail to teach the upper surface of the spacer portion is located at a higher level than the upper surface of the second protrusion portion in the cross- sectional view.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see 35 USC §112 section, filed October 02, 2025, with respect to amendments to claim 12 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC §112 rejection of 12 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments, see 35 USC §103 section beginning on the bottom of page 10, filed October 02, 2025, with respect to Moon in view of Chun not teaching the second protrusion portion and the opening of the bank portion being defined by a side surface of the second protrusion portion, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant's arguments, see 35 USC §103 section beginning at the top of page 11, filed October 02, 2025, with respect to Jung not curing the deficiencies of Moon and Chun, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Further, Jung teaches a second protrusion overlapping a first protrusion portion was formed in the same halftone regions that formed the bank region around Fig 2 emission layer 300 (Jung: [0034]), demonstrating the pixel definition layer 271 follows the contours of the underlying layer. A first protrusion (Jung: [0034]) was not formed near the emission layer 300. However, Chun teaches a first protrusion was formed in a planarization layer near the emission layer (Chun: Fig 5 emission layer 370, [0022]) under the pixel definition layer similar to Jung (Jung: [0035]). The partition wall (Chun: Fig 5 partition wall 361, [0023]) of Chun was thick enough to provide a flat portion over the entire surface but the thickness of the pixel definition film of Jung is such that the first protrusion causes a secondary protrusion upon the application of the pixel definition film 271. Further, Chun teaches the side surface (Fig 5) of the partition wall is the opening of a bank region (bank region is not defined but it is the opening for the emission area).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bang et. al. (US 20180366524 A1) teaches protrusions formed of the pixel definition layer with the protrusion defining an opening of a bank region. The protrusions aid in improving display quality.
Jeon (US 20150179708 A1) teaches protrusions formed of the pixel definition layer with the protrusion defining an opening of a bank region. The protrusions aid in improving display quality.
/ALVIN L LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2813
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813