Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6-8, 10-11, 13-15, 17, 19 and 20, 21-22, 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PARK (Pub. No.: US 2019/0292207) in view of Wrench (Pub. No.: US 2020/0373318).
Re claim 1, PARK, FIG. 12C [as shown above] teaches a method of forming a buried word line, the method comprising:
conformally depositing a metal nitride layer (324) directly on a substrate ([S], note that the substrate is now including the two spacers 342 and 312), the metal nitride layer consisting of lanthanum nitride (324, FIG. 12C, ¶ [0242], note that this lanthanum-containing film 324 could be lanthanum nitride film, [0180]), the substrate [S] comprising at least one feature having a bottom [B] and at least one sidewall [OS], and the metal nitride layer (324) being deposited on the bottom [B] and on the at least one sidewall [OS]; and
depositing a molybdenum conductor layer (326B+326A, [0250], note that Applicant did not specify how much content of Molybdenum is percentage wise) by an atomic layer deposition (ALD) process [0246] directly on the metal nitride layer (324) to fill the at least one feature.
Re claim 15, PARK, FIG. 12C teaches a method of forming a buried word line, the method comprising:
conformally depositing a first metal nitride liner layer (324) directly on a substrate [S], the first metal nitride liner layer consisting of lanthanum nitride (324), the substrate comprising at least one feature having a bottom [B] and at least one sidewall [OS], and the first metal nitride liner layer (324) being deposited on the bottom [B] and on the least one sidewall [OS];
depositing a second metal nitride liner layer (326A) directly on the first metal nitride liner layer (324); and
depositing a molybdenum conductor layer (326B) by an atomic layer deposition (ALD) process directly on the second metal nitride liner layer (326A).
In re claims 1 and 15, PARK fails to teach the molybdenum conductor layer consisting essentially of molybdenum having a thickness in a range of from 10 Å to 200 Å.
Wrench teaches the molybdenum conductor layer consisting essentially of molybdenum (“the metal layer consists essentially of molybdenum. As used in this regard, “consists essentially of” means that the metal layer is greater than or equal to about 80, 85, 90 or 95 atomic % of the specified component”, ¶ [0058]) having a thickness in a range of from 10 A to 200 Å (“followed by deposition of bulk tungsten (W) at thicknesses of about 100 Å to about 300 Å, ¶ [0064], note that “The metal layer can comprise any suitable metal. In some embodiments, the metal layer comprises one or more of tungsten or molybdenum”, [0058]).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include the above said teaching for the purpose of reducing stack resistivity while providing good barrier performance as taught by Wrench, [0003].
Re claim 6, PARK, FIG. 12C teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the ALD process is a thermal process [0226].
Re claim 7, PARK, FIG. 12C teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the molybdenum conductor layer (326B, [0250]) is deposited selectively on the metal nitride layer (326A+324).
Re claim 8, PARK, FIG. 12C teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the ALD process comprises exposing the substrate sequentially to a reactant and a molybdenum precursor (326B, [0250]).
Re claim 10, PARK, FIG. 12C teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the ALD process occurs at a temperature in a range of 350 °C to 550 °C [0226].
Re claim 11/21, in the combination, Wrench, FIG. 7 teaches the method of claim 1/15, wherein the buried word line has a resistance less than or equal to 20 µΩ-cm (note that “The electrical resistivity of molybdenum is approximately 5.7×10-8 Ω-m at room temperature”) at a total thickness of 100 Å (“deposition of bulk tungsten (W) at thicknesses of about 100 Å to about 300 Å”, [0064]).
Re claim 13, in the combination, Wrench, FIG. 7 teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the at least one feature has a width in a range of 10 nm to 12 nm (“deposition of bulk tungsten (W) at thicknesses of about 100 Å to about 300 Å”, [0064]).
Re claim 14, PARK, FIG. 12C teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the at least one feature is filled with the molybdenum conductor layer (326B in Y-Y’ view) in a bottom-up manner.
Re claim 17, PARK, FIG. 12C teaches the method of claim 15, wherein the second metal nitride liner layer comprises one or more of titanium nitride (TiN), tantalum nitride (TaN), yttrium nitride (YN), zirconium nitride (ZrN), hafnium nitride (HfN), and barium nitride (BaN) (326A, [0245]).
Re claim 19, PARK, FIG. 12C teaches the method of claim 15, wherein the ALD process is a thermal process [0226].
Re claim 20, PARK, FIG. 12C teaches the method of claim 15, wherein the molybdenum conductor layer (326B) is deposited selectively on the second metal nitride layer (326A).
Re claim 22, PARK, FIG. 12C teaches the method of claim 15, wherein the at least one feature is filled with the molybdenum conductor layer (326B in Y-Y’ view) in a bottom-up manner.
Re claim 23, PARK, FIG. 12C teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the molybdenum conductor layer (326B) is in contact with the metal nitride layer (324/326A) with no intervening layers between the molybdenum conductor layer and the metal nitride layer.
Claim(s) 2, 16 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PARK/Wrench in view of CHANG (Pub. No.: US 2024/0249948).
Re claim 2/16/18, PARK/Wrench teaches all the limitation of claim 1/15.
PARK/Wrench fails to teach the limitation of claim 2/16/18.
CHANG teaches wherein the metal nitride layer has a thickness of less than 20 Å (claim 2); wherein the first metal nitride liner layer has a thickness of less than 20 Å (119’, FIG. 5/6, [0056]) (claim 2/16).
wherein the first metal nitride liner layer and the second metal nitride liner layer have a combined thickness in a range of from 15 Å to 30 Å (119’/122=123, FIG. 5/6, [0056]) (claim 18).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include the above said teaching in order to increasing production efficiency and lowering associated costs as taught by CHANG, [0002].
Claim(s) 1, 7-8, 15, 19 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PARK (Pub. No.: US 2019/0292207) in view of Kong (Pub. No.: US 2024/0347464) and further in view of Wrench.
Re claim 1, PARK, FIG. 12C [as shown above] teaches a method of forming a buried word line, the method comprising:
conformally depositing a metal nitride layer (324) directly on a substrate ([S], note that the substrate is now including the two spacers 342 and 312), the metal nitride layer consisting of lanthanum nitride (324, FIG. 12C, ¶ [0242], note that this lanthanum-containing film 324 could be lanthanum nitride film, [0180]), the substrate [S] comprising at least one feature having a bottom [B] and at least one sidewall [OS], and the metal nitride layer (324) being deposited on the bottom [B] and on the at least one sidewall [OS]; and
depositing a molybdenum conductor layer (326B+326A, [0250], note that Applicant did not specify how much content of Molybdenum is percentage wise) by an atomic layer deposition (ALD) process [0246] directly on the metal nitride layer (324) to fill the at least one feature.
Re claim 15, PARK, FIG. 12C teaches a method of forming a buried word line, the method comprising:
conformally depositing a first metal nitride liner layer (324) directly on a substrate [S], the first metal nitride liner layer consisting of lanthanum nitride (324), the substrate comprising at least one feature having a bottom [B] and at least one sidewall [OS], and the first metal nitride liner layer (324) being deposited on the bottom [B] and on the least one sidewall [OS];
depositing a second metal nitride liner layer (326A) directly on the first metal nitride liner layer (324); and
depositing a molybdenum conductor layer (326B) by an atomic layer deposition (ALD) process directly on the second metal nitride liner layer (326A).
In re claims 1 and 15, PARK fails to teach the molybdenum conductor layer consisting essentially of molybdenum.
Kong teaches the molybdenum conductor layer consisting essentially of molybdenum (162, FIG. 1N, ¶ [0077], note that the barrier layer may be lanthanum nitride material, which is directly contact with layer 162, [0044]).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include the above said teaching for the purpose of preventing the tier collapse during or after removal of portions of the tiers as taught by Kong, [0005].
Moreover, PARK/Kong fails to teach the molybdenum conductor layer having a thickness in a range of from 10 Å to 200 Å.
Wrench teaches the molybdenum conductor layer having a thickness in a range of from 10 A to 200 Å (“followed by deposition of bulk tungsten (W) at thicknesses of about 100 Å to about 300 Å, ¶ [0064], note that “The metal layer can comprise any suitable metal. In some embodiments, the metal layer comprises one or more of tungsten or molybdenum”, [0058]).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include the above said teaching for the purpose of reducing stack resistivity while providing good barrier performance as taught by Wrench, [0003].
Re claim 7, in the combination, Kong teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the molybdenum conductor layer is deposited selectively on the metal nitride layer (162, FIG. 1N, ¶ [0077], note that the barrier layer may be lanthanum nitride material, which is directly contact with layer 162, [0044]).
Re claim 8, in the combination, Kong teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the ALD process comprises exposing the substrate sequentially to a reactant and a molybdenum precursor [0013].
Re claim 19, in the combination, Kong teaches the method of claim 15, wherein the ALD process is a thermal process [0013].
Re claim 23, in the combination, Kong teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the molybdenum conductor layer is in contact with the metal nitride layer with no intervening layers between the molybdenum conductor layer and the metal nitride layer (162, FIG. 1N, ¶ [0077], note that the barrier layer may be lanthanum nitride material, which is directly contact with layer 162, [0044]).
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments with respect to claims 1-2, 6-8, 10-11 and 13-22 on the molybdenum (on 09/14/2026 have been considered but they are not persuasive because Wrench still reads on the molybdenum conductor layer consisting essentially of molybdenum (“the metal layer consists essentially of molybdenum. As used in this regard, “consists essentially of” means that the metal layer is greater than or equal to about 80, 85, 90 or 95 atomic % of the specified component”, ¶ [0058]), furthermore, it is subjected to new ground of rejection under PARK in view of Kong and further in view of Wrench.
Conclusion
/TONY TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893