DETAILED ACTION
Amendment to the claims was submitted on 10/29/2025.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2, 4-12, and 15-23 are under consideration
Claims 3 and 13-14 are canceled
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-9, 12, 15-17, 19, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nardi (WO 2021/067632, equivalent to US 2022/0365434, IDS 11/22/2022) as evidenced by Luo (Review of recent advances in inorganic photoresists, Chaoyun Luo, Chanchan Xu, Le Lv, Hai Li, Xiaoxi Huang, and Wei Liu, RSC Adv., 2020, 10, 8385-8395).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakagawa (US2020/0310244) as evidenced by Luo (Review of recent advances in inorganic photoresists, Chaoyun Luo, Chanchan Xu, Le Lv, Hai Li, Xiaoxi Huang, and Wei Liu, RSC Adv., 2020, 10, 8385-8395).
Regarding claims 1-2, 5-9, 12, 15-17, 19, and 23, the rejections filed 08/29/2025 are expressly incorporated herein.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/29/2025 regarding the rejections to claims 1 and 23 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Claim 1, Applicant argued that the absorber layer does not comprise metal halide. Examiner noted that a metal halide may be used when forming the absorbing layer [0129]. Further, surface modification using elements such as I, F, Sn, Bi, Sb, and Te ; I and F with any of the metals would generate metal halides at this surface of the absorber layer [0173].
Regarding Claims 23, Applicant argued that the proposed amendment now forms a device structure and suggests this places the prior art outside the scope of Nakagawa. However, Nakagawa discloses a reflective mask of their embodiment may be used to manufacture semiconductor devices on which desired electronic circuits are formed, reading on the instant “forming a structure in the manufacture of an electronic device”. The instant claim 23 as written does not require that the structure is a portion of the electronic device, but rather a structure in the manufacture of an electronic device. Examiner notes that Nardi discloses in Fig. 8 photoabsorption cross section properties for various metals. Nardi discloses Fe, Co, Ni Cu, Zn as selected metals with similar photoabsorption coefficient properties; other metals listed such as Ge and Mg have very similar photoabsorption coefficients based on the Figure 8. It would be obvious to substitute in other metals having similar photoabsorption properties.
Applicant’s arguments and claim amendments filed 10/29/2025 with respect to the rejections to claims 4, 9-11, 18, and 20-22 have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the new claim amendments. The rejections have been withdrawn.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-11, 20, and 22 are allowed.
Claims 4, 9, 18, and 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Independent claim 20 and dependent claims 18 and 21 have been amended to further require the capping layer to comprise of a metal oxycarbide.
Dependent claim 4 has been amended to require the reactant to be one of HF, TiF4, and HFac.
Dependent claim 9 has been amended require the absorber layer to contain two or more elements selected from the group consisting of AI, Mg, Ti, Y, La, Sr, Tb, Yb, Ge or Ir.
A search did not find the claimed invention.
The closest prior art Nardi et al. teaches the limitations disclosed in the office action filed 08/29/2025.
However, Nardi fails to teach a capping layer comprising of a metal oxycarbide. Nardi also fails to teach a reactant which is one of HF, TiF4, and HFac, or an absorber layer containing at least two elements selected from the group of AI, Mg, Ti, Y, La, Sr, Tb, Yb, Ge or Ir.
Neither Nardi nor the prior art in general provide sufficient motivation to make it obvious to modify their methods or structures to arrive at the instantly claimed invention.
Claims 10-11 and 22 depend on allowable independent claim 20.
Conclusion
/A.N.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1737
/JONATHAN JOHNSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1734