Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 08/19/2025 has been entered. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 05/19/2025.
Claim Status
Claims 1-5, 7-10, 12-13, 15, and 17 are pending.
Claim 3 is currently withdrawn.
Claims 6, 11, 14, and 16 are cancelled.
Claims 1, 4, 5, 7, 9, 12, 15, and 17 are currently amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 12-13, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gohira (US 20190244829 A1), in view of Koiwa (US 20200273680 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Gohira teaches a substrate support assembly (Fig. 11, [0112], mounting table 116) comprising:
a base including a flow path for a temperature control medium formed therein (Fig. 11, [0123], coolant flows through path 117f formed in cooling table 117);
a substrate support including an electrode plate installed on the base and an electrostatic chuck installed on the electrode plate (Fig. 11, [0116]-[0117], electrostatic chuck 120 is comprised of attracting member 123/electrode 125 on base 121, sitting above cooling table 117), and configured to support a substrate ([0117], processing target W is placed on attracting member 123);
a heater configured to heat the substrate (Fig. 11, [0097], heaters 156-158 in attracting member 123);
an elastic member installed between the base and the electrode plate (Fig. 11, [0115] elastic member 196 is between base 121 and cooling table 117), configured to separate the substrate support from the base (Fig. 11, [0116], cooling table 117 and base 121 are spaced apart from each other by elastic members EM1, which includes elastic member 196), and configured to define a heat transfer space between the base and the electrode plate together with the base and the electrode plate (Fig. 11, [0116], elastic members space apart cooling table 117 and base 121 to define heat transfer spaces DSN), a heat transfer gas being supplied into the heat transfer space ([0116], heat transfer gas is supplied into heat transfer spaces DSN);
a tightening member configured to fasten the base and the electrode plate to each other (Fig. 11, [0105], fastening member 171 and screw 173 fastens base 121 to cooling table 117), with the elastic member sandwiched and supported between the base and the electrode plate (Fig. 11, [0116], elastic members space apart cooling table 117 and base 121);
a heat insulator configured to prevent heat transfer between the base and the electrode plate via the elastic member (Fig. 11, [0014], film 194 is made of an insulating ceramic, and is between base 121 and elastic member 196, which is in contact with cooling table 117), and
wherein one heat insulator is installed between the electrode plate and the elastic member (Fig. 11, [0014], film 194 is made of an insulating ceramic, and is between base 121 and elastic member 196).
Gohira fails to teach another heat insulator of two heat insulators is installed between the base and the elastic member, and wherein the two heat insulators are made of a material having a heat resistance of 300 degrees C or higher.
However, Koiwa teaches a heat insulator installed between the base and the elastic member, and wherein the other heat insulator of the two insulators is made of a material having a heat resistance of 300 degrees C or higher (Koiwa, Fig. 3, [0038], insulating film 181 formed by alumina is present between sealing member 26, and lower electrode 18 which has cooling channels 18f, Fig. 1, [0041], [0022]).
Koiwa is considered analogous art to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of semiconductor processing. It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated the insulating film as taught by Koiwa in between the elastic member and cooling table of Gohira as doing so would help prevent the surface of the element in contact with the elastic member from being exposed to the interior processing space of the chamber (Koiwa, [0038]).
While Gohira and Koiwa do not explicitly state that the insulators are made of a material having a heat resistance of 300 degrees C or higher, both teach that the insulators can be made from alumina (Gohira, [0114], film 194 may be aluminum oxide, Koiwa, Fig. 3, [0038], insulating film 181 formed by alumina). Aluminum oxide has a melting point of 2072 degrees C, thereby being capable of meeting the claim limitation. As well, paragraph [0048] of the instant specification lists alumina as an example of a material that could be used as the insulating material, and setting forth that the heat insulator must be made of a material that has a heat resistance of 300 degrees C or higher. When the structure recited in the prior art is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. See MPEP 2112.01(I).
To clarify the record, the limitation “configured to prevent heat transfer between the base and the electrode plate via the elastic member“ is merely an intended use and is given patentable weight to the extent that the prior art is capable of performing the intended use. The insulating film of Gohira is in place between the base, elastic member, and cooling table, and is capable of preventing heat from flowing through the components via the elastic member, thereby meeting the structural limitations of the claim. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2114(II).
Regarding claim 2, Gohira teaches wherein the heater is embedded in the electrostatic chuck (Fig. 11, [0097], heaters 156-158 are embedded in attracting member 123 of electrostatic chuck 120).
Regarding claim 4, while Gohira does not explicitly state wherein the heat insulator has a thermal conductivity equal to or less than 20W/mK, Gohira teaches that the insulating film 194 may be alumina. Paragraph [0048] of the instant specification lists alumina as an example of a low thermal conductivity material that could be used as the insulating material, and [0046] of the instant specification gives an example of 20 W/mK or less as a low thermal conductivity value. When the structure recited in the prior art is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. See MPEP 2112.01(I).
Gohira fails to teach another heat insulator of the two heat insulators has a thermal conductivity equal to or less than 20W/mK.
However, Koiwa teaches a heat insulator installed between the base and the elastic member (Koiwa, Fig. 3, [0038], insulating film 181 formed by alumina is present between sealing member 26, and lower electrode 18 which has cooling channels 18f, Fig. 1, [0041], [0022]).
While Koiwa does not explicitly state wherein the heat insulator has a thermal conductivity equal to or less than 20W/mK, Koiwa teaches that the insulating film 194 may be alumina. Paragraph [0048] of the instant specification lists alumina as an example of a low thermal conductivity material that could be used as the insulating material, and [0046] of the instant specification gives an example of 20 W/mK or less as a low thermal conductivity value. When the structure recited in the prior art is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. See MPEP 2112.01(I).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated the insulating film as taught by Koiwa in between the elastic member and cooling table of Gohira as doing so would help prevent the surface of the element in contact with the elastic member from being exposed to the interior processing space of the chamber (Koiwa, [0038]).
Regarding claim 5, Gohira teaches wherein the heat insulator is made of a material including at least one selected from a group consisting of a titanium-containing material, stainless steel, alumina, yttria, zirconia, glass ceramics, and polyimide (Fig. 11, [0114], insulating film 194 may be alumina).
Gohira fails to teach another heat insulator of the two heat insulators is made of a material including at least one selected from a group consisting of a titanium-containing material, stainless steel, alumina, yttria, zirconia, glass ceramics, and polyimide.
However, Koiwa teaches another heat insulator of the two heat insulators is made of a material including at least one selected from a group consisting of a titanium-containing material, stainless steel, alumina, yttria, zirconia, glass ceramics, and polyimide (Koiwa, Fig. 3, [0038], insulating film 181 formed by alumina).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated the insulating film as taught by Koiwa in between the elastic member and cooling table of Gohira as doing so would help prevent the surface of the element in contact with the elastic member from being exposed to the interior processing space of the chamber (Koiwa, [0038]).
Regarding claim 12, Gohira teaches wherein the elastic member is made of an elastomer or a metal ([0115], elastic member 196 may be an O-ring made of a perfluoroelastomer (FFKM)).
Regarding claim 13, Gohira teaches wherein the elastic member is made of at least one material selected from a group consisting of FFKM ([0115], elastic member 196 may be an O-ring made of a perfluoroelastomer (FFKM)), FKM, silicone, aluminum, SUS, and an Ni-based superalloy.
Regarding claim 17, Gohira teaches a plasma processing apparatus (Fig. 3, [0041], plasma processing apparatus 10) comprising:
a chamber having at least one gas supply port and at least one gas discharge port (Fig. 3, [0039], chamber main body 12 has gas port 36c and gas exhaust 12e, [0046]);
a substrate support assembly arranged in the chamber (Fig. 3, [0041], mounting table 16); and
a plasma generator coupled to the chamber (Fig. 3, high frequency power supply 62 for plasma generation is connected to lower electrode 18),
wherein the substrate support assembly includes:
a base having a flow path for a temperature control medium formed therein (Fig. 11, [0123], coolant flows through path 117f formed in cooling table 117);
a substrate support including an electrode plate installed on the base and an electrostatic chuck installed on the electrode plate (Fig. 11, [0116]-[0117], electrostatic chuck 120 is comprised of attracting member 123/electrode 125 on base 121, sitting above cooling table 117), and configured to support a substrate ([0117], processing target W is placed on attracting member 123);
a heater configured to heat the substrate (Fig. 11, [0097], heaters 156-158 in attracting member 123);
an elastic member installed between the base and the electrode plate (Fig. 11, [0115] elastic member 196 is between base 121 and cooling table 117), configured to separate the substrate support from the base (Fig. 11, [0116], cooling table 117 and base 121 are spaced apart from each other by elastic members EM1, which includes elastic member 196), and configured to define a heat transfer space between the base and the electrode plate together with the base and the electrode plate (Fig. 11, [0116], elastic members space apart cooling table 117 and base 121 to define heat transfer spaces DSN), a heat transfer gas being supplied into the heat transfer space ([0116], heat transfer gas is supplied into heat transfer spaces DSN);
a tightening member configured to fasten the base and the electrode plate to each other (Fig. 11, [0105], fastening member 171 and screw 173 fastens base 121 to cooling table 117), with the elastic member sandwiched and supported between the base and the electrode plate (Fig. 11, [0116], elastic members space apart cooling table 117 and base 121);
a heat insulator configured to prevent heat transfer between the base and the electrode plate via the elastic member (Fig. 11, [0014], film 194 is made of an insulating ceramic, and is between base 117 and elastic member 196, which is in contact with cooling table 117), and
wherein one heat insulator is installed between the electrode plate and the elastic member (Fig. 11, [0014], film 194 is made of an insulating ceramic, and is between base 121 and elastic member 196).
Gohira fails to teach another heat insulator of two heat insulators is installed between the base and the elastic member, and wherein the two heat insulators are made of a material having a heat resistance of 300 degrees C or higher.
However, Koiwa teaches a heat insulator installed between the base and the elastic member, and wherein the other heat insulator of the two insulators is made of a material having a heat resistance of 300 degrees C or higher (Koiwa, Fig. 3, [0038], insulating film 181 formed by alumina is present between sealing member 26, and lower electrode 18 which has cooling channels 18f, Fig. 1, [0041], [0022]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated the insulating film as taught by Koiwa in between the elastic member and cooling table of Gohira as doing so would help prevent the surface of the element in contact with the elastic member from being exposed to the interior processing space of the chamber (Koiwa, [0038]).
While Gohira and Koiwa do not explicitly state that the insulators are made of a material having a heat resistance of 300 degrees C or higher, both teach that the insulators can be made from alumina (Gohira, [0114], film 194 may be aluminum oxide, Koiwa, Fig. 3, [0038], insulating film 181 formed by alumina). Aluminum oxide has a melting point of 2072 degrees C, thereby being capable of meeting the claim limitation. As well, paragraph [0048] of the instant specification lists alumina as an example of a material that could be used as the insulating material, and setting forth that the heat insulator must be made of a material that has a heat resistance of 300 degrees C or higher. When the structure recited in the prior art is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. See MPEP 2112.01(I).
To clarify the record, the limitation “configured to prevent heat transfer between the base and the electrode plate via the elastic member“ is merely an intended use and is given patentable weight to the extent that the prior art is capable of performing the intended use. The insulating film of Gohira is in place between the base, elastic member, and cooling table, and is capable of preventing heat from flowing through the components via the elastic member, thereby meeting the structural limitations of the claim. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2114(II).
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gohira (US 20190244829 A1) in view of Koiwa (US 20200273680 A1), as applied in claims 1-2, 4-5, 12-13, and 17, and further in view of Fukushima (JP 2017001943 A).
The limitations of claims 1-2, 4-5, 12-13, and 17 are set forth above.
Regarding claim 7, Gohira teaches the heat insulator is a porous ceramic such as alumina (Fig. 11, [0014], film 194 is made of an insulating ceramic such as alumina).
Gohira fails to teach another heat insulator of two heat insulators is installed between the base and the elastic member, and wherein each of the two heat insulators includes a porous material and a coating material covering a surface of the porous material.
However, Koiwa teaches a heat insulator installed between the base and the elastic member, and wherein the other heat insulator of the two insulators is made of alumina (Koiwa, Fig. 3, [0038], insulating film 181 formed by alumina is present between sealing member 26, and lower electrode 18 which has cooling channels 18f, Fig. 1, [0041], [0022]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated the insulating film as taught by Koiwa in between the elastic member and cooling table of Gohira as doing so would help prevent the surface of the element in contact with the elastic member from being exposed to the interior processing space of the chamber (Koiwa, [0038]).
Gohira modified by Koiwa fails to further teach wherein each of the two heat insulators includes a porous material and a coating material covering a surface of the porous material.
However, Fukushima teaches a ceramic that includes a porous material and a coating material covering a surface of the porous material (Fukushima, L53-57, porous body comprised of an inorganic compound having a bulk portion and a surface layer portion formed so as to cover the whole surface of the bulk portion).
Fukushima is considered analogous art to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of material processing. It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have chosen a porous alumina material with a sealed surface as taught by Fukushima for the alumina insulated layers of Gohira and Koiwa as doing so would provide increased bending strength of the insulating layer while still maintaining the benefits of having an insulated material (Fukushima, L50-51).
Regarding claim 8, Gohira teaches wherein the porous material includes an alumina oxide, a titanium oxide, or zirconia (Fig. 11, [0014], film 194 is made of an insulating ceramic such as alumina).
Gohira fails to teach another heat insulator of two heat insulators is installed between the base and the elastic member, and wherein the porous material of the other heater insulator of the two insulators includes an alumina oxide, a titanium oxide, or zirconia.
However, Koiwa another heat insulator of two heat insulators is installed between the base and the elastic member, and wherein the porous material of the other heater insulator of the two insulators includes an alumina oxide, a titanium oxide, or zirconia (Koiwa, Fig. 3, [0038], insulating film 181 formed by alumina is present between sealing member 26, and lower electrode 18 which has cooling channels 18f, Fig. 1, [0041], [0022]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated the insulating film as taught by Koiwa in between the elastic member and cooling table of Gohira as doing so would help prevent the surface of the element in contact with the elastic member from being exposed to the interior processing space of the chamber (Koiwa, [0038]).
Regarding claim 9, Gohira teaches the heat insulator is a porous ceramic such as alumina (Fig. 11, [0014], film 194 is made of an insulating ceramic such as alumina).
Gohira fails to teach another heat insulator of two heat insulators is installed between the base and the elastic member, and wherein each of the heat insulators is a porous material having a sealing layer on a surface thereof.
However, Koiwa teaches a heat insulator installed between the base and the elastic member, and wherein the other heat insulator of the two insulators is made of alumina (Koiwa, Fig. 3, [0038], insulating film 181 formed by alumina is present between sealing member 26, and lower electrode 18 which has cooling channels 18f, Fig. 1, [0041], [0022]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated the insulating film as taught by Koiwa in between the elastic member and cooling table of Gohira as doing so would help prevent the surface of the element in contact with the elastic member from being exposed to the interior processing space of the chamber (Koiwa, [0038]).
Gohira modified by Koiwa fails to further teach wherein each of the heat insulators is a porous material having a sealing layer on a surface thereof.
However, Fukushima teaches a ceramic that includes a porous material having a sealing layer on a surface thereof (Fukushima, L77-79, surface layer portion of porous body is covered with a layer made of the same material as the bulk portion and/or a different material than the bulk portion, where the material used to form the layer could be aluminum or titanium, L218-220).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have chosen a porous alumina material with a sealed surface as taught by Fukushima for the alumina insulated layers of Gohira and Koiwa as doing so would provide increased bending strength of the insulating layer while still maintaining the benefits of having an insulated material (Fukushima, L50-51).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gohira (US 20190244829 A1) in view of Koiwa (US 20200273680 A1) and Fukushima (JP 2017001943 A), as applied in claims 7-9, and further in view of Montes (US 20180237906 A1).
The limitations of claims 7-9 are set forth above.
Regarding claim 10, modified Gohira fails to explicitly teach wherein the sealing layer has a thickness equal to or greater than 1 mm from the surface of the porous material.
However, Montes teaches wherein the sealing layer has a thickness equal to or greater than 1 mm from the surface of the porous material (Montes, Fig. 3B, [0046]-[0049], sheet 32 may be made from alumina and deposition layer 34 on surface of sheet 32 may be aluminum or titanium, and the thickness of deposition layer 34 may be 1000um). A specific example in the prior art which is within a claimed range anticipates the range. See MPEP 2131.03(I).
Montes is considered analogous art to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of semiconductor processing. It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have applied the fabrication method and parameters of Montes to create the insulator of modified Gohira as doing so would provide for the option to impart a bonding texture to the insulators, thereby potentially reducing contact area with the bonding surfaces and enabling lower heat transfer amongst mating surfaces, increasing insulating properties (Montes, [0053]).
Claim 15 is under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gohira (US 20190244829 A1) in view of Koiwa (US 20200273680 A1), as applied in claims 1-2, 4-5, 12-13, and 17, and further in view of Kuibira (US 20040182321 A1).
The limitations of claims 1-2, 4-5, 12-13, and 17 are set forth above.
Regarding claim 15, Gohira teaches wherein one heat insulator is installed between the electrode plate and the elastic member (Fig. 11, [0014], film 194 is made of an insulating ceramic such as alumina, and is between base 121 and elastic member 196).
Gohira fails to teach another heat insulator of two heat insulators is installed between the base and the elastic member, and wherein each of the heat insulators is made of a metal.
However, Koiwa teaches a heat insulator installed between the base and the elastic member, and wherein the other heat insulator of the two insulators is made of alumina (Koiwa, Fig. 3, [0038], insulating film 181 formed by alumina is present between sealing member 26, and lower electrode 18 which has cooling channels 18f, Fig. 1, [0041], [0022]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated the insulating film as taught by Koiwa in between the elastic member and cooling table of Gohira as doing so would help prevent the surface of the element in contact with the elastic member from being exposed to the interior processing space of the chamber (Koiwa, [0038]).
While modified Gohira teaches the insulators can be made from alumina (Gohira, [0114], film 194 may be aluminum oxide, Koiwa, Fig. 3, [0038], insulating film 181 formed by alumina), it fails to explicitly teach wherein each of the heat insulators is made of a metal.
However, Kuibira teaches a CVD processing apparatus with a supporting member that is disposed in the reaction space and exposed to the interior of the processing space, and is preferably made from a material consisting of stainless steel, titanium, or aluminum oxide because such materials have good corrosion resistance, heat resistance, insulation and low thermal conductivity (Kuibira, Fig. 1, [0035]). Similarly, Gohira teaches wherein the insulating film, made from alumina and exposed to the processing space, is disposed on the base to both suppress breakdown of the base it is covering and also provide insulative properties along with the elastic member (Gohira, [0120]). Koiwa teaches wherein the insulating film is made from alumina and is exposed to the processing space, and is disposed on the lower electrode in order to prevent exposure of the lower electrode to the interior of the processing space (Koiwa, [0038]).
Kuibira is considered analogous art to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of semiconductor processing. Therefore, substituting the material of alumina as taught by modified Gohira with the metal as taught by Kuibira would be obvious as both alumina and metal are disclosed as equivalents known for the same purpose. See MPEP 2144.06(II).
Response to Arguments
In the Applicant’s response filed 8/19/2025, the Applicant asserts that none of the cited prior art, particularly Gohira and Komino, teach the claim limitations “two heat insulators configured to prevent heat transfer between the base and the electrode plate via the elastic member, wherein one of the two heat insulators is installed between the electrode plate and the elastic member, and the other of the two heat insulators is installed between the base and the elastic member, and wherein each of the heat insulators is made of a material having a heat resistance of 300 degrees C or higher” of independent claims 1 and 17 as newly amended. In response to the amendments, the Examiner has newly rejected the claims in the “Claims Rejections” sections above, thereby rendering the arguments moot.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TODD M SEOANE/Examiner, Art Unit 1718 /GORDON BALDWIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1718