DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) s 1-4, 6 and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lenz [US 20160097127] in view of Shimizu [US 20200312680] and Ambrosina [US 20030130807].
Claim 1: Lenz teaches a system for supplying precursor gas to a processing chamber (gas distribution assembly) [abstract] comprising: a MFC (mas flow controller), a line from the MFC to an ampoule, a second line from the MFC to a controller and redirected to the main line (of providing carrier gas and precursor gas to the chamber); a third line from the ampoule to the main line [Fig. 3a]. However, Lenz does not appear to teach providing a flow ratio controller (FRC) and a mass flow controller (MFC) to control a flow of gas into the FRC. Shimizu is provided.
Shimizu, also directed to CVD processing [0002], teaches providing a MFC and a FRC [0024], wherein the MRF is used to control the total flow rate of the fluid to a FRC [0024]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a MFC to a FRC as taught by Shimizu so as to increase the flexibility for complex mixtures of process fluids and allow for more uniform supply of the process fluids to the process chamber [0002].
However, the prior art does not appear to teach providing a mass flow meter coupled to the main line and a feedback line from the mass flow meter to the FRC bypassing the MFC. Ambrosina is provided.
Ambrosina teaches a gas distribution system [abstract], wherein a mass flow meter is provided in the main line [0028; Fig. 1] and a ratio system that has an interface for receiving a desired flow ratio and a controller (FRC) is tied to that mass flow meter [0028-0029; Fig. 1], wherein a feedback line (Fig. 1) is directly connected from the mass flow meter to the FRC that bypasses the MFC (114) [0009, 0029-0032; Fig. 1]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to provide a MFM to the main line and a feedback line that connects from the MFM to the FRC bypassing the MFC as taught by Ambrosina so as to provide contaminant free and precisely metered quanties of gases to the process chambers [0001].
Claim 2: Lenz teaches the ampoule comprises precursors gases such as tungsten hexachloride. It would be interpreted that tungsten hexachloride is considered as a low vapor pressure precursor, since tungsten hexachloride has a vapor pressure lower than tungsten pentachloride.
Claims 3-4: Lenz teaches the precursor could be solid or liquid [0032].
Claim 6: Ambrosina teaches generating signals to the flow controller that makes adjustments to the gas flown into the second line [0028; Fig. 1]. Since Ambrosina teaches making adjustments to the flow ratio, such as by changing gas flow in second lines [0028], one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the ratio between the first line and second line would have changed.
Claim 9: Shimizu teaches using MFC(s) to control the flow into the FRC [0024].
Claim 10: Ambrosina teaches the outlet mass flow meter (MFM) is coupled to a processing chamber [Fig. 1].
Claim 11: Lenz teaches the gas distribution assembly is suitable for CVD and ALD [0033].
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lenz in view of Shimizu and Ambrosina as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kutney [US 20210088367].
Teaching of the prior art is aforementioned, but does not appear to teach the mass flow meter is temperature controlled. Kutney is provided.
Claims 7-8: Kutney teaches the mass flow meter is a thermal mass flow meter that is heated (temperature controlled) [0006], which can be heated to a temperature of 40-60 degrees C (up to approximately 150 degrees C) [claim 12, 0041], where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (See MPEP 2144.05.I). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to provide a thermal mass flow meter that is heated to the claimed range, so as to better control and minimize decomposition of the gases [0002] while passing through the MFM.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/13/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s argues that the prior art failed to teach mainly “a flow ratio controller (FRC), a mass flow controller (MFC) to control a flow of gas into the FRC, a mass flow meter coupled to the main line and a feedback line directly from the mass flow meter to the FRC” on pages 6-7 of filed remarks. Examiner argues that Lenz teaches a system that comprises a MFC (154) that is coupled to a Controller (40); the Controller is coupled to the Ampoule (160) and coupled with multiple lines to the mainline that supplies the carrier gas and precursor gases (Fig. 3A); the Controller also is coupled to a (pressure) sensing system (169) which feedbacks to the Controller (Fig. 3a) where the controller can be used as a control process device, control gas delivery as well as a monitoring device [0050]; whereas Shimizu is relied upon to teach it is well known in the art to combine a MFC and Flow Ratio Controller (FRC) as complimentary control systems [0024] so as to increase the flexibility for complex mixtures of process fluids and uniform supply [0002], therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the controller of Lenz to be a FRC to increase flexibility of gas distributions. As for a mass flow meter being coupled to a main line and coupled to a controller such as a FRC by a feedback line, Ambrosina teaches a system where a Mass Flow Meter (MFM) is coupled to a mainline and has a feedback line to a FRC (Fig. 1), where the system is able to not disturb the performance of any upstream mass flow controllers [0007]. Regarding applicant’s arguments that Ambrosina feeds information forward to the controller (feedforward) rather than a feeding information back (feedback) based upon being located upstream, examiner argues that Ambrosina teaches the control system uses a PID system which is a feedback type of control loop.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MANDY C LOUIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1715