DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) s 1-4, 6 and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lenz [US 20160097127] in view of Shimizu [US 20200312680] and Hyon [US 20170372929].
Claim 1: Lenz teaches a system for supplying precursor gas to a processing chamber (gas distribution assembly) [abstract] comprising: a MFC (mas flow controller), a line from the MFC to an ampoule, a second line from the MFC to a controller and redirected to the main line (of providing carrier gas and precursor gas to the chamber); a third line from the ampoule to the main line [Fig. 3a]. However, Lenz does not appear to teach providing a flow ratio controller (FRC) and a mass flow controller (MFC) to control a flow of gas into the FRC. Shimizu is provided.
Shimizu, also directed to CVD processing [0002], teaches providing a MFC and a FRC [0024], wherein the MRF is used to control the total flow rate of the fluid to a FRC [0024]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a MFC to a FRC as taught by Shimizu so as to increase the flexibility for complex mixtures of process fluids and allow for more uniform supply of the process fluids to the process chamber [0002].
However, the prior art does not appear to teach providing a mass flow meter coupled to the main line and a feedback line from the mass flow meter to the FRC bypassing the MFC. Hyon is provided.
Hyon teaches a multiple gases providing method [title[, where a mass flow meter is provided at least one main line [Fig. 2] wherein at least one feedback line is directly connected from the mass flow meter to controller (FRC) that bypasses the MFC and provides a closed feedback loop [Fig. 2; 0023; 0036]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a feedback line that connects the MFM to the FRC as taught by Hyon for the advantage capable of sufficiently controlling total flow [0036].
Claim 2: Lenz teaches the ampoule comprises of precursors gases such as tungsten hexachloride. It would be interpreted that tungsten hexachloride is considered as a low vapor pressure precursor, since tungsten hexachloride has a vapor pressure lower than tungsten pentachloride.
Claims 3-4: Lenz teaches the precursor could be solid or liquid [0032].
Claim 6: Hyon teaches that based upon each branch line, a controller monitors the flow and compares to a predetermined value which in turn sends an action to adjust the control valve based upon findings (sending control signal) [0030] which then adjust according to each branch [0026-0027], where one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized by making adjustment on any one of the branch lines would have changed the ratio of the gas flown.
Claim 9: Shimizu teaches using MFC(s) to control the flow into the FRC [0024].
Claim 10: Hyon teaches the reaction gases are flow into a chamber using a plurality of branch lines and controlling the gas flow ratio among the respective branch lines [0002] wherein a mass flow meter (MFM) is coupled to each of the branch lines flowing into a processing chamber [Fig. 1].
Claim 11: Lenz teaches the gas distribution assembly is suitable for CVD and ALD [0033].
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lenz in view of Shimizu and Hyon as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kutney [US 20210088367].
Teaching of the prior art is aforementioned, but does not appear to teach the mass flow meter is temperature controlled. Kutney is provided.
Claims 7-8: Kutney teaches the mass flow meter is a thermal mass flow meter that is heated (temperature controlled) [0006], which can be heated to a temperature of 40-60 degrees C (up to approximately 150 degrees C) [claim 12, 0041], where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (See MPEP 2144.05.I). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to provide a thermal mass flow meter that is heated to the claimed range, so as to better control and minimize decomposition of the gases [0002] while passing through the MFM.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks filed 08/17/2026, specifically with Ambrosina providing feeding information forward (feed forward) to the controller 24, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-4, 6-8 and 10-20 under 103 rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the reference Hyon.
Conclusion
/MANDY C LOUIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718