DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ma et al (2020/0096870).
Ma et al disclose a device stack comprising a substrate 234 having a resist underlayer 250 and an EUV resist layer coated thereon, wherein the resist is implanted with a to increase EUV sensitivity (figure 1, [0036]) which the element implanted is uniformly dispersed throughout the resist layer (instant claims 1 and 2). The element is preferably Xe, and while the reference is silent with respect to the isotope, those listed in claim 3 are common for ion implantation, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use any common Xe isotope used in ion implantation (instant claims 1-3). The resist preferably comprises an organometallic resist comprising SN, C, H, and O ([0029]-[0031]).
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Maes et al (2019/0163056 US equivalent of JP2019-095794 as cited by applicant).
Maes et al disclose a resist stack comprising a substrate and a EUV resist sensitized by first and second precursor materials. The precursor is permeated into the resist (throughout the resist uniformly to increase the sensitivity of the unexposed resist layer, [0020]-[0024]), and the precursor includes a tin iodide or stannous iodide ([0045]; instant claims 1-3). The material further includes an organometallic material such as a metal alkylamide ([0046]-[0048]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As amended, the claim requires the organometallic material to have an iodine-substituted alkyl group. Neither of the references fairly teach or suggest an additive in addition to the sensitizer to have a iodine substituent.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/5/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant has amended the claims to include the limitation of claim 6 wherein the resist material comprises organometallic material, and further limited claim 6 to now require that the material includes an iodo-substituted alkyl group to limit the amended claim 1.
In response, the rejections over Shiobara have been withdrawn upon reconsideration of the teachings of the reference.
Applicant argues that the Ma et al reference fails to fairly teach an organometallic material, and argues that an organometallic material must have a carbon-metal (M-R) bond. However, the claims and specification broad, and organometallic material in the art is broad enough to include material comprising both organic and metallic components, not limited to an organometallic compound having a M-R bond.
It is known in the art for metal complexes having M(-OR) bonds are also referred to broadly as organometallic, wherein the compounds include elements such as carbon, oxygen, hydrogen, nitrogen, and a metal, but wherein there is no carbon-metal bond. For example, 2022/0317572 includes compounds wherein the metal is bonded to R groups, wherein at least one R group is a polymerizable group, which includes methacrylate and methacrylamide, wherein the bond would include O-M or N-M, and further teaches that the R groups are separated from the metal by an -O-, -S-, -C-, -CO-, -SO, thus teaching that organometallic resists are broad and do not specifically require an M-R bond. Additional references including organotin compounds include 2017/0146909, 2022/0299877, 2024/0045332, KR20220155111, and 2021/0063871, as examples which broadly demonstrate that organometallic is used broadly in the art for resists comprising metal and organic components.
That said, with respect to Ma et al, the reference teaches a metal-based photoresist comprising metal-oxides (which are known in the art and as seen in examples above) to comprise M-OR groups, thus including carbon groups as one of ordinary skill in the art would have understood, with the further teaching of implanting carbon into the resist, further leading to a resist comprising metal and organic components ([0003]-[0006], [0023], [0029]), an detaches wherein tin can be implanted into a CAR resist. Both are be resist comprising organic and metallic components, and would comprise a stack having a resist layer comprising a sensitizer and a resist comprising organometallic components.
Regarding Maes et al, applicant has argued that the reference only teaches thew tin iodide, but as noted above, the reference clearly teaches an organomeallic resist material ([0048]) such as triethylaluminum, tetraethyltin, and more which clearyl comprises a M-R bond. Therefore the rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AMANDA C. WALKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722