DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to applicant submission dated March 9, 2026. Any objections and/or rejections made in previous actions and not repeated below are hereby withdrawn.
Claims 1, 2, 4-7, 10, 12, 14, 15, and 18-23 are pending. Claims 1, 6, 7, 12, 14, 15, 18, and 19 remain withdrawn.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 1 recites “in which the water in the slurry changes a phase from a liquid to a solid” does not need the article “a” preceding the term “phase” and should read “in which the water in the slurry changes phase from a liquid to a solid”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4, 5, 10, and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cavallini et al. (US 2006/0204644 A1) in view of Deo et al. (US 9826768 B2) and Lotzbeyer et al. (WO 2016/150960 A1).
Translation for WO 2016/150960 A1 provided by Espace.net and provided with the current office action.
With respect to Claim 2, Cavallini et al. teaches a method of producing a vegetable analog base [0003] comprising a methyl cellulose slurry. [0023] Cavallini et al. teaches that the methyl cellulose slurry comprises 1-3% methyl cellulose and 45-65% water/ice mix. [0032] Methyl cellulose and ice would result in a frozen methyl cellulose slurry, reading on the limitation recited in claim 2 of freezing the methyl cellulose slurry.
Cavallini et al. is silent to a thawing of the frozen slurry wherein the slurry is retained in a temperature zone of from 0-5°C.
Deo et al. teaches a method for preparing a methyl cellulose slurry comprising an aqueous solution and methyl cellulose wherein powdered methylcellulose is added to water and mixed until homogenous at low temperatures. [Example 1] Deo et al. teaches a specific embodiment of the composition wherein the methylcellulose is present at 2.0% and the mixture is cooled to 0.5°C while mixing. [Example 3] Additionally, the resulting mixture is then stored for 24 hours at 4°C. [Table 3] This reads on retaining a methyl cellulose slurry in a temperature range between 0-5°C for 10 hours or longer.
Both references are silent to the water in the slurry changing from a liquid to a solid.
Lotzbeyer et al. teaches a method for preparing a food composition comprising texturizing agents, [0002] preferably methylcellulose, [0045] wherein the method comprises a step of processing the food composition with a heating step, followed by a cooling step to solidify the food composition below 5°C. [0054] Additionally, the method taught by Lotzbeyer et al. comprises a step of freezing and thawing in order to increase the shape stability. [0110] This reads on freezing the composition in order to solidify the mixture.
Cavallini et al., Deo et al., and Lotzbeyer et al. exist within the same field of endeavor in that they teach methyl cellulose slurries. Where Cavallini et al. teaches a methyl cellulose slurry comprising up to 3% methyl cellulose that is mixed in ice water, Deo et al. teaches a methyl cellulose slurry that is prepared at low temperature and thaws over 24 hours, and Lotzbeyer et al. teaches a step of freezing and thawing the methylcellulose mixture in order to increase the shape stability of the product. Additionally, Deo et al. teaches that the methyl cellulose slurry prepared by this method provides greater satiety while reducing caloric intake. [Col. 9, Ln. 40-42]
The methyl cellulose slurry produced by Cavallini et al. in view of Deo et al. and Lotzbeyer et al. teaches methyl cellulose slurry comprising water and methyl cellulose, wherein the method comprises freezing the slurry solid and thawing the slurry, wherein the slurry is retained in a 0-5°C temperature range while thawing for 24 hours. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to have used the teachings of Cavallini et al. in view of Deo et al. and Lotzbeyer et al. to produce a methyl cellulose slurry by the process of mixing methyl cellulose with water, freezing the slurry, thawing the slurry, wherein during freezing and thawing the slurry is retained in a temperature zone of from 0-5°C, thereby rendering claim 2 obvious.
With respect to Claim 4, Cavallini et al. in view of Deo et al. and Lotzbeyer et al. teaches the method recited in claim 2, as described above. Additionally, Deo et al. teaches a final product with a temperature of 0.5°C. [Example 3] Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to have used the teachings of Cavallini et al. in view of Deo et al. and Lotzbeyer et al. to produce a methyl cellulose slurry through the process recited in claim 4, wherein the methyl cellulose slurry product is 10°C or lower.
With respect to Claim 5, Cavallini et al. in view of Deo et al. and Lotzbeyer et al. teaches the method recited in claim 2, as described above. Additionally, Cavallini et al. teaches that the methyl cellulose slurry comprises 1-3% methyl cellulose. [0032] Therefore, Cavallini et al. renders claim 5 obvious.
With respect to Claim 10, Cavallini et al. in view of Deo et al. and Lotzbeyer et al. teaches the method recited in claim 4, as described above. Additionally, Cavallini et al. teaches that the methyl cellulose slurry comprises 1-3% methyl cellulose. [0032] Therefore, Cavallini et al. in view of Deo et al. and Lotzbeyer et al. renders claim 10 obvious.
With respect to Claims 20 and 21, Cavallini et al. in view of Deo et al. and Lotzbeyer et al. teaches the invention recited in claims 5 and 10, as described above. Additionally, Cavallini et al. teaches that the methyl cellulose slurry comprises 1-3% methyl cellulose [0032], an amount that overlaps with the range recited in claims 20 and 21. According to MPEP 2144.05 I, “In the case where claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists”. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to have used the teachings of Cavallini et al. in view of Deo et al. and Lotzbeyer et al. to produce a methyl cellulose slurry by the processes recited in claims 5 and 10 respectively, wherein the methyl cellulose slurry comprises 3-3.5% methyl cellulose, thereby rendering claims 20 and 21 obvious.
With respect to Claims 22 and 23, Cavallini et al. in view of Deo et al. and Lotzbeyer et al. teaches the method recited in claim 2, as described above. Additionally, Lotzbeyer et al. teaches cooling the composition in order to solidify the composition below 5°C [0054] and then freezing the composition below 0°C, [0110] for about 4 hours. [0157] Then the thawing step taught in Deo et al. occurs for 24 hours at 4°C. [Table 3] This combination reads on the freezing step being shorter than the thawing step with regards to passing through a zone of 0-5°C.
Additionally, applicant provides a definition for the limitation “rapid freezing” on Page 5, Par. 3 of the remarks as “rapidly cooling materials to preserve quality by minimizing ice crystal formation” and “to freeze (food) for preservation so rapidly that ice crystals formed are too small to rupture the cells and the natural juices and flavor are preserved”. Lotzbeyer et al. teaches that the food composition after thawing exhibits no significant syneresis. [0110] This reads on the limitation recited because a lack of syneresis would be due to a lack of cells rupturing during the freezing process.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to have used the teachings of Cavallini et al. in view of Deo et al. and Lotzbeyer et al. to produce a methylcellulose slurry composition wherein the freezing and thawing pass through a step of 0-5°C and the thawing step is longer than the freezing step and at least 10 hours, and the freezing is rapid, thereby rendering claim 22 obvious.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed October 8, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 2, 4, 5, 10, 20, and 21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection relies on the new reference Lotzbeyer et al. with regard to any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/J.C.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1791
/Nikki H. Dees/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1791