Detailed Correspondence
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicants’ submission, filed on 06/11/2026, addressing rejection of claims 1-10 and 21-32 from the final office action (01/28/2026), by amending claims 1, 11, and 24 and adding new claims 33 and 35-45 is entered and will be addressed below.
Claim Objections
The numbering of claims is not in accordance with 37 CFR 1.126 which requires the original numbering of the claims to be preserved throughout the prosecution. When claims are canceled, the remaining claims must not be renumbered. When new claims are presented, they must be numbered consecutively beginning with the number next following the highest numbered claims previously presented (whether entered or not).
Misnumbered claims 35-45 have been renumbered 34-44, respectively.
Applicants please kindly amend claims 36 and 37 as dependent on claim 35 (after renumbering) in the next submission.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 11-12 and 14-20 remain withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Interpretations
The previously added limitation ““wherein heights of the plurality of studs are based on at least one of thickness, height, and surface variations of at least one of the top plate and the baseplate” includes several interpretations. If “based on” as a design criteria, the design purpose if not part of the apparatus structure. If “based on” describes certain height relationship to “thickness, height, and surface variations“, this includes any relationship as the claim and SPEC does not have a clear definition of such relationship (e.g. height equals to the thickness, height, and surface variations, or any other proportional or non-proportional relationship). Note adhesive layer filling between two plates needs to fill the entire gap between two plates unless it is intentionally leaving air pockets for other purpose (which generally weakens the bonding).
The ”based on” or “based respectively on” of dependent claims have similar issue.
The “wherein a material of the studs is a same material as the bonding material” of claim 6, Applicants Specification describes the material of the stud is being cured ([0079], for example), therefore, at least for material before and after treatment is considered as being the same material. Even the treatment induces some composition change, such as polymerization, the starting material is still the same material.
The “a heating layer attached to a bottom surface of the top plate and in contact with the bonding layer” of claim 9, Applicants’ Specification describes “An example heating layer 910 is shown, which may include one or more heating elements” ([0059], 3rd sentence), therefore, the heating layer may include other element than the heating elements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 41 and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The newly added limitation “wherein the height of each of the plurality of studs is equal to a target overall thickness of the bonding layer minus a local thickness offset of the top plate at a corresponding one of the plurality of studs plus a local thickness offset of the baseplate at the corresponding one of the plurality of studs minus a corresponding local thickness of one or more non-studded bonding layers” of the renumbered claim 41, Applicants’ disclosure states that this is Step 1214 of the production process, which followed by curing, grinding, and pressing. As the final product by this process varied from this transient step, a person of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to determine the metes and bounds of this limitation.
Claim 41 will be examined as long as the final product/apparatus has the claim shape, it is considered reading into this limitation.
The newly added limitation “wherein local thickness, height, and surface variations of the top plate are independent of local thickness, height and surface variations of the baseplate” of claim 43, it is not clear what independent means. Applicants’ Specification does not have a description of independent. Two surfaces of different component does not have force on each other to alter the shape of one another. Or does this mean non-parallel?
Claim 43 will be examined inclusive BRI meaning of independent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 44 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by MAEDA et al. (JP 2019165184, from IDS, hereafter ‘184).
‘184 teaches all limitations of:
Claim (renumbered) 44: a plate-like sample such as a silicon wafer is fixed to an electrostatic chuck member having an electrostatic chuck function by electrostatic attraction (2nd last sentence, P1, includes the claimed “A substrate support comprising”):
As shown in FIG. 1, the electrostatic chuck device 1 includes a disk-shaped electrostatic chuck member 2, a disk-shaped temperature adjusting base member 3 that adjusts the electrostatic chuck member 2 to a desired temperature, And a bonding layer 4 for bonding and integrating the electrostatic chuck member 2 and the temperature adjusting base member 3 (4th paragraph, P3, includes the claimed “a baseplate; a top plate disposed above the baseplate and configured to contact and support a substrate during processing of the substrate; and a bonding layer bonding the top plate to the baseplate”),
A plurality of spacers 32 are arranged approximately regularly at a substantially constant density in the same plane (bottom of page 5), As shown in FIG. 3, the spacer 32 is provided on one surface (upper surface) 3 a of the temperature adjusting base member 3 via the adhesive layer 33 (P6, 2nd complete paragraph, the spacer 32 and the adhesive layer 33, together, reads into the claimed “wherein the bonding layer comprises a plurality of studs separating the top plate from the baseplate and contacting the baseplate”, note dividing as separating),
In the bonding layer 4, the thickness variation in the direction perpendicular to the bonding surface in the bonding surface with the electrostatic chuck member 2 and the bonding surface with the temperature adjusting base member 3 is the maximum value of the thickness (P9, 1st complete paragraph), To provide an electrostatic chuck device that suppresses variations in the thickness of a bonding layer that joins an electrostatic chuck member and a temperature adjustment base member (abstract, includes the claimed “wherein heights of the plurality of studs are based on at least one of thickness, height, and surface variations of at least one of the top plate and the baseplate”, there are several ways to interpret this limitation, as a design criteria is not part of the apparatus; or any relationship reads into “bases on thickness, height, and surface variations”, including being a constant thickness as a relationship, or because there is variation due to filler 34, making adhesive layer constant require variation in the spacers 32 and adhesive layer 33. See claim interpretations above),
As shown in FIG. 3, the spacer 32 is provided on one surface (upper surface) 3a of the temperature adjusting base member 3 via the adhesive layer 33. As shown in FIG. 3, the bonding layer 4 includes a filler 34 (2nd complete paragraph, page 6, includes the claimed “and a bonding material disposed in areas laterally surrounding the plurality of studs and located between the top plate and the baseplate” and Fig. 3 shows “wherein heights of the bonding layer in areas of the bonding material between the plurality of studs is based on the heights of the plurality of studs”).
Claim 44 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fujii et al. (JP 2003258072, from IDS, hereafter ‘072).
‘072 teaches all limitations of:
Claim 1: a ceramic electrostatic chuck is used as a susceptor and a heat treatment is performed while a semiconductor wafer is attracted to the susceptor ([0002], includes the claimed “A substrate support comprising”):
The metal member 7 of this example is a cooling flange having a cooling function ([0010], “a baseplate”);
The electrostatic chuck 1 includes a ceramic base 2 and an electrostatic chuck electrode 3 embedded in the base 2 ([0009], includes the claimed “a top plate disposed above the baseplate and configured to contact and support a substrate during processing of the substrate”);
In this apparatus 11, the bonding surface 2 b of the ceramic member 2 and the bonding surface 7 a of the metal member 7 are bonded by the bonding layer 27. The bonding layer 27 includes an adhesive portion 13 made of a cured product of the fluid adhesive composition 4 and spacer portions 15 and 15A made of resin ([0040], includes the claimed “and a bonding layer bonding the top plate to the baseplate, wherein the bonding layer comprises a plurality of studs separating the top plate from the baseplate and contacting the baseplate” and as shown in Fig. 4),
there is a possibility that the thickness of the adhesive becomes non-uniform or uneven for each product ([0004], reads into the claimed “wherein heights of the plurality of studs are based on at least one of thickness, height, and surface variations of at least one of the top plate and the baseplate”, see claim interpretation above, and Fig. 4 shows adhesive portion 13 surrounding the spacer portions 15 and 15A, includes the claimed “a bonding material disposed in areas laterally surrounding the plurality of studs and located between the top plate and the baseplate” and Fig. 3 shows “wherein heights of the bonding layer in areas of the bonding material between the plurality of studs is based on the heights of the plurality of studs”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6-8, 10, 21-26, 28-29, 32-33, 35-37, and 41-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujii et al. (JP 2003258072, from IDS, hereafter ‘072), in view of Maeta et al. (US 20140355169, hereafter ‘169), or as being unpatentable over ‘169, in view of ‘072.
First, ‘072 as the primary reference,
‘072 teaches some limitations of:
Claim 1: a ceramic electrostatic chuck is used as a susceptor and a heat treatment is performed while a semiconductor wafer is attracted to the susceptor ([0002], includes the claimed “A substrate support comprising”):
The metal member 7 of this example is a cooling flange having a cooling function ([0010], “a baseplate”);
The electrostatic chuck 1 includes a ceramic base 2 and an electrostatic chuck electrode 3 embedded in the base 2 ([0009], includes the claimed “a top plate disposed above the baseplate and configured to contact and support a substrate during processing of the substrate”);
In this apparatus 11, the bonding surface 2 b of the ceramic member 2 and the bonding surface 7 a of the metal member 7 are bonded by the bonding layer 27. The bonding layer 27 includes an adhesive portion 13 made of a cured product of the fluid adhesive composition 4 and spacer portions 15 and 15A made of resin ([0040], includes the claimed “and a bonding layer bonding the top plate to the baseplate, wherein the bonding layer comprises a plurality of studs separating the top plate from the baseplate and contacting the baseplate” and as shown in Fig. 4),
there is a possibility that the thickness of the adhesive becomes non-uniform or uneven for each product ([0004], reads into the claimed “wherein heights of the plurality of studs are based on at least one of thickness, height, and surface variations of at least one of the top plate and the baseplate”, see claim interpretation above, and Fig. 4 shows adhesive portion 13 surrounding the spacer portions 15 and 15A, includes the claimed “a bonding material disposed in areas laterally surrounding the plurality of studs and located between the top plate and the baseplate”).
Claim 24: a ceramic electrostatic chuck is used as a susceptor and a heat treatment is performed while a semiconductor wafer is attracted to the susceptor ([0002], includes the claimed “A substrate support comprising”):
The metal member 7 of this example is a cooling flange having a cooling function ([0010], “a baseplate”);
The electrostatic chuck 1 includes a ceramic base 2 and an electrostatic chuck electrode 3 embedded in the base 2 ([0009], includes the claimed “a top plate disposed above the baseplate and configured to contact and support a substrate during processing of the substrate”);
In this apparatus 11, the bonding surface 2 b of the ceramic member 2 and the bonding surface 7 a of the metal member 7 are bonded by the bonding layer 27. The bonding layer 27 includes an adhesive portion 13 made of a cured product of the fluid adhesive composition 4 and spacer portions 15 and 15A made of resin ([0040], includes the claimed “and a bonding layer bonding the top plate to the baseplate, wherein the bonding layer comprises a plurality of studs separating the top plate from the baseplate” ),
there is a possibility that the thickness of the adhesive becomes non-uniform or uneven for each product ([0004], reads into the claimed “wherein heights of the plurality of studs are based on at least one of thickness, height, and surface variations of at least one of the top plate and the baseplate”, see claim interpretation above, and Fig. 4 shows adhesive portion 13 surrounding the spacer portions 15 and 15A, includes the claimed “a bonding material disposed in areas laterally surrounding the plurality of studs and located between the top plate and the baseplate”).
‘072 does not teach the other limitation of:
Claim 1: (a plurality of studs separating the top plate from the baseplate and contacting the baseplate, wherein heights of the plurality of studs are) different and (based on at least one of thickness, height, and surface variations of at least one of the top plate and the baseplate).
Claim 24: wherein heights of the plurality of studs are different and at least one of (i) based respectively on corresponding local thickness offsets of the baseplate, and (ii) based respectively on corresponding local thickness offsets of the top plate,
the local thickness offsets of the baseplate refer to variations in distances between a reference plane and top or bottom surfaces of the baseplate, and
the local thickness offsets of the top plate refer to variations in distances between a reference plane and top or bottom surfaces of the top plate.
Claim 29: wherein the heights of the plurality of studs are different.
‘169 is analogous art in the field of ELECTROSTATIC CHUCK DEVICE (title), including an organic adhesive layer 4 which bonds and integrates the electrostatic chuck section 2 and the base section for cooling 3 (Fig. 1, [0053). ‘169 teaches that the placement plate 11 and the support plate 12 configuring principal sections of the electrostatic chuck section 2 have disk shapes in which the shapes of overlapping surfaces are the same, and are configured by a ceramic ([0058]), The organic adhesive layer 4 is for bonding and integrating the electrostatic chuck section 2 bent such that the entirety has a concave surface shape with a central portion as a basal plane and the base section for cooling 3 while the upper end portion 21a of the annular projection portion 21 and the upper end portions 22a of the plurality of projection portions 22 maintain the shape and the position of the concave surface 23 ([0093], Fig. 1 shows the heights of the adhesive layer 4 equal to ”the local thickness offsets of the top plate refer to variations in distances between a reference plane and top or bottom surfaces of the top plate”), for the purpose of no concern of deformed plate ([0019]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have changed the shape of the ceramic member 2 and the metal member 7 of ‘072 to the shape of the placement plate 11 and the support plate 12 of ’169, for the purpose of purpose of no concern of deformed plate ([0019]) and/or for obvious of changing the shape. A change of shape is generally recognized as being within the ordinary level of skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2nd 669, 149 USPQ 1966.
Second, ‘169 as the primary reference,
‘169 teaches some limitations of:
Claim 1: FIG. 1 is a cross-sectional view showing an electrostatic chuck device ([0052], includes the claimed “A substrate support comprising”):
a base section for cooling 3 ([0053], includes the claimed “a baseplate”);
The electrostatic chuck section 2 is configured to include a placement plate (a base material) 11, the upper surface (one principal surface) of which is a placement surface on which a plate-shaped sample W such as a semiconductor wafer is placed, a support plate 12 which is integrated with the placement plate 11 and supports the placement plate 11 ([0054], [0054], includes the claimed “a top plate disposed above the baseplate and configured to contact and support a substrate during processing of the substrate”);
With respect to the thickness of the organic adhesive layer 4, since the electrostatic chuck section 2 is bent, it is necessary to make a central portion thin and make a peripheral border portion thick ([0094], includes the claimed “and a bonding layer bonding the top plate to the baseplate”).
Claim 24: FIG. 1 is a cross-sectional view showing an electrostatic chuck device ([0052], includes the claimed “A substrate support comprising”):
a base section for cooling 3 ([0053], includes the claimed “a baseplate”);
The electrostatic chuck section 2 is configured to include a placement plate (a base material) 11, the upper surface (one principal surface) of which is a placement surface on which a plate-shaped sample W such as a semiconductor wafer is placed, a support plate 12 which is integrated with the placement plate 11 and supports the placement plate 11 ([0054], [0054], includes the claimed “a top plate disposed above the baseplate and configured to contact and support a substrate during processing of the substrate”);
With respect to the thickness of the organic adhesive layer 4, since the electrostatic chuck section 2 is bent, it is necessary to make a central portion thin and make a peripheral border portion thick ([0094], includes the claimed “and a bonding layer bonding the top plate to the baseplate”).
Claim 29: wherein the heights of the plurality of studs are different.
‘169 does not teach the other limitations of:
Claim 1: wherein the bonding layer comprises
a plurality of studs separating the top plate from the baseplate and contacting the baseplate, wherein heights of the plurality of studs are different and based on at least one of thickness, height, and surface variations of at least one of the top plate and the baseplate, and
a bonding material disposed in areas laterally surrounding the plurality of studs and located between the top plate and the baseplate.
Claim 24: wherein the bonding layer comprises
a plurality of studs separating the top plate from the baseplate, and
a bonding material disposed in areas laterally surrounding the plurality of studs and located between the top plate and the baseplate,
wherein
heights of the plurality of studs are different and at least one of (i) based respectively on corresponding local thickness offsets of the baseplate, and (ii) based respectively on corresponding local thickness offsets of the top plate,
the local thickness offsets of the baseplate refer to variations in distances between a reference plane and top or bottom surfaces of the baseplate, and
the local thickness offsets of the top plate refer to variations in distances between the reference plane and top or bottom surfaces of the top plate.
‘072 is analogous art in the field of a ceramic electrostatic chuck is used as a susceptor and a heat treatment is performed while a semiconductor wafer is attracted to the susceptor ([0002]), The metal member 7 of this example is a cooling flange having a cooling function ([0010]), The electrostatic chuck 1 includes a ceramic base 2 and an electrostatic chuck electrode 3 embedded in the base 2 ([0009]). ‘072 teaches that In this apparatus 11, the bonding surface 2 b of the ceramic member 2 and the bonding surface 7 a of the metal member 7 are bonded by the bonding layer 27. The bonding layer 27 includes an adhesive portion 13 made of a cured product of the fluid adhesive composition 4 and spacer portions 15 and 15A made of resin ([0040]), for the purpose of maintaining high airtightness between the ceramic member and the metal member even after application ([0005]). Fig. 4 shows the spacer portions filled the entire space between the metal member 7 and the ceramic member 2.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have added spacer portion 15, 15A of ‘072, to the entire thickness of the adhesive layer 4 of ‘169 based on local thickness of the adhesive layer 4, for the purpose of maintaining high airtightness between the ceramic member and the metal member even after application, as taught by ‘072 ([0005]).
‘072 further teaches the limitations of:
Claim 4: Here, as shown in FIG. 5, the spacer portions 15 have a substantially circular shape, and are regularly arranged on the bonding surface 7 with a substantially constant density ([0040], includes the claimed “wherein the plurality of studs are arranged in a symmetric pattern relative to one or more radially extending centerlines of the baseplate”).
Claim 6: an adhesive part made of a cured product of the adhesive composition and a spacer part made of a resin ([0006]), the resin which comprises a spacer part is not specifically limited ([0024], same as Applicants’ same starting material yet differ in curing, includes the claimed “wherein a material of the studs is a same material as the bonding material”).
Claim 7: The electrostatic chuck 1 includes a ceramic base 2 ([0009], Fig. 4 shows the claimed “wherein the top plate is a ceramic layer in contact with the bonding layer”).
Claim 8: when an electrostatic chuck electrode is provided inside the substrate, the ceramic member can be used as an electrostatic chuck. Further, when a resistance heating element is provided inside the substrate, this holding member can be used as a ceramic heater ([0011], includes the claimed “wherein the top plate comprises one or more heating layers”).
Claim 10: The metal member 7 of this example is a cooling flange having a cooling function ([0010], includes the claimed “wherein the baseplate comprises coolant channels”).
Claims 28 and 35-36: Fig. 4 shows the claimed “wherein the plurality of studs contact the top plate and the baseplate” of claim 28, “wherein the plurality of studs contact a top surface of the baseplate” of (renumbered) claim 35, and “wherein the plurality of studs contact a bottom surface of the top plate” of claim (renumbered) 36.
Claim 32: The metal member 7 of this example is a cooling flange having a cooling function ([0010], includes the claimed “the baseplate comprises coolant channels”);
when an electrostatic chuck electrode is provided inside the substrate, the ceramic member can be used as an electrostatic chuck. Further, when a resistance heating element is provided inside the substrate, this holding member can be used as a ceramic heater ([0011], includes the claimed “and the top plate comprises heating elements “).
Claim (renumbered) 37: Fig. 4 shows adhesive portion 13 surrounding the spacer portions 15 and 15A (includes the claimed “wherein: the bonding material covers the plurality of studs; and the heights of the plurality of studs are based on thicknesses of the bonding material between the top plate and the plurality of studs”).
By changing the shape of the ceramic member 2 and the metal member 7 of ‘072 to the shape of the support plate 12 and the cooling base 11 of ‘169, or by adding spacer 14, 15A of ‘072 to the adhesive layer 4 of ‘169, the combination of ‘072 and ‘169 further reads into the limitations of:
Claim 21: wherein: heights of the plurality of studs are at least one of (i) based respectively on corresponding local thickness offsets of the baseplate, and (ii) based respectively on corresponding local thickness offsets of the top plate; and
the local thickness offsets of the top plate refer to variations in distances between a reference plane and top or bottom surfaces of the top plate.
Claims 22 and 25: wherein: the heights of the plurality of studs are based respectively on corresponding local thickness offsets of the baseplate; and
the local thickness offsets of the baseplate refer to variations in distances between a reference plane and top or bottom surfaces of the baseplate.
Claims 23 and 26: wherein: the heights of the plurality of studs are based respectively on corresponding local thickness offsets of the baseplate; and
the local thickness offsets of the top plate refer to variations in distances between a reference plane and top or bottom surfaces of the top plate.
Claim 33: wherein the heights of the plurality of studs are based on local thickness, height and surface variations of the top plate and the baseplate.
Claim 41: wherein the height of each of the plurality of studs is equal to a target overall thickness of the bonding layer minus a local thickness offset of the top plate at a corresponding one of the plurality of studs plus a local thickness offset of the baseplate at the corresponding one of the plurality of studs minus a corresponding local thickness of one or more non-studded bonding layers (see also 112(b) rejection above).
Claim 42: wherein the heights of the plurality of studs are based on at least one of local thickness variations of at least one of the top plate and the baseplate.
Claim 43: wherein local thickness, height, and surface variations of the top plate are independent of local thickness, height and surface variations of the baseplate (see also 112(b) rejection above).
In case Applicants argue that “wherein heights of the plurality of studs are based on at least one of thickness, height, and surface variations of at least one of the top plate and the baseplate” of claim 1, heights of studs have to be equal to one of thickness, height, and surface variations, the combination of ‘072 and ‘169 clearly teaches this.
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘072 and ‘169, as being applied to claim 24 rejection above, further in view of Ito et al. (US 20180068883, hereafter ‘883). (Chang US 20060197891, hereafter ‘891, is evidenced for the mound shape of resin after dropping and curing).
The combination of ‘072 and ‘169 does not teach the limitations of:
Claim 27: wherein each of the plurality of studs are mounded.
‘883 is analogous art in the field of ELECTROSTATIC CHUCK DEVICE (title), a first adhesion layer which contains spacers and a silicone adhesive (abstract). ‘883 teaches that the ratio (φS/D) of the average particle diameter φS of the spacers 22 to the layer thickness D in the first adhesion layer 20 is in a range of 0.1 to 1.0, and therefore, the silicone adhesive 24 can be sufficiently included in the first adhesion layer 20, and thus a decrease in the adhesive force of the first adhesion layer 20 can be suppressed ([0026], last sentence, Fig. 1 shows φS = D, or spacer filled the entire adhesive layer).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have changed the shape of the spacer portions of ‘072, to a round shape spacer of ‘833, as taught by ‘833, for the purpose of adhesive force, as taught by ‘833 ([0026]).
Furthermore, the examiner considers the shape of the columnar bodies 22 in Figs. 4A-4C is for presentation. Laying down a resin layer is more like a mound in entire height than a mound at the top on a straight cylinder. This is evidenced by ‘891 which teaches “Then a heating apparatus 50 is used for hard baking the drops on the planarized layer 10 to solidify and shape the resin drops 30 for forming bumps 40, as shown in FIG. 2(b). After solidification, the bumps 40 obtained from resin drops 30 will be cured and have a shape with concave surface”. Therefore, even after grinding in Fig. 4B of ‘236, the bumps 40 is still mound shaped.
Claims 2-3, 5, 9, 34, and 39-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘072 and ‘169, as being applied to claims 23 and 1 rejection above, further in view of Iijima et al. (US 20200395236, hereafter ‘236).
‘072 further teaches some limitations of:
Claim 2: the fluid adhesive compositions 4A and 4B are provided on one or both of the adhesive surface 2b of the ceramic member 1 and the adhesive surface 7a of the metal member 7 according to a predetermined pattern (Fig. 3, [0015], includes the claimed “wherein the bonding layer comprises: a first bonding layer, and a second bonding layer disposed on the first bonding layer and comprising the plurality of studs”).
Claim 3: Fig. 3 shows the claimed “wherein: the first bonding layer is in contact with the baseplate; and the second bonding layer is in contact with the top plate”.
The combination of ‘072 and ‘169 does not teach the limitations of:
Claim 2: (a first bonding layer) void of studs.
Claim 5: wherein the plurality of studs are arranged in concentric circles.
Claim 9: further comprising a heating layer attached to a bottom surface of the top plate and in contact with the bonding layer.
Claim (renumbered) 34: wherein the plurality of studs comprise:
a radially inner ring of studs; and
a radially outer ring of studs,
wherein the radially inner ring of studs and the radially outer ring of studs are arranged symmetrically about two centerlines of the baseplate, the two centerlines extending perpendicular to each other.
Claim (renumbered) 39: wherein a bottom surface of the top plate increases in height from a first end of a diameter of the top plate to a second end of the diameter of the top plate and relative to a bottom surface of the baseplate.
Claim (renumbered) 40: wherein a top surface of the baseplate increases in height from a first end of a diameter of the baseplate to a second end of the diameter of the baseplate and relative to a bottom surface of the baseplate.
‘236 is analogous art in the field of SUBSTRATE FIXING APPARATUS (title). ‘236 teaches that With reference to FIG. 1, the substrate fixing apparatus 1 has a base plate 10, an adhesive layer 20, support column structure bodies 21 and an electrostatic adsorption member 50, as main constituent elements ([0017]), a silicone resin, an epoxy resin, an acrylic resin and a polyimide resin are listed as the materials of the adhesive layer 12, the adhesive layer 20 and the support column structure bodies 21 ([0058], 2nd sentence, note the adhesive layer is void of the support column structure bodies), As shown in FIG. 6C, the support column bodies 21 may be disposed on the center point of the base plate 10 and on the circumferences of two concentric circles each whose center corresponds to the center point of the base plate 10 ([0057], i.e. concentric circles with two orthogonal centerlines), the heating portion 30 has an insulating layer 31, and heat generating elements 32 which are built in the insulating layer 31 ([0022], i.e. in contact with the bonding layer), for the purpose of a satisfactory uniform temperature characteristic ([0004]). Note Fig. 5A shows the bottom surface of plate 10 increases in height from one end to another, and the top surface of page 41 increases in height from one end to another.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have omitted the spacers in the fluid adhesive composition 4B in Fig. 3 of ‘072, arranged the spacers in two concentric circles with two orthogonal centerlines, and arranged the heater layer in contact with the fluid adhesive composition 4A in Fig. 3 of ‘072, and to have changed the shape of chuck 1 and metal member 7 to the shape of plates 10 and 41 in Fig. 5A of ‘236, for the purpose of a satisfactory uniform temperature characteristic ([0004]).
Claim 38, and alternatively, claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘072 and ‘169, as being applied to claim 1 rejection above, further in view of Tsukamoto et al. (US 20080083723, previously cited, hereafter ‘723).
In case Applicants argue that ‘072 and ‘169 does not teach different heights of studs.
The combination of ‘072 and ‘169 does not teach the limitations of:
Claim (renumbered) 38: wherein a top surface of the top plate extends parallel to a bottom surface of the baseplate.
‘723 is analogous art in the field of Temperature Controlled Substrate Holder With Non-uniform Insulation Layer For A Substrate Processing System (title). ‘723 teaches that The thermal insulator 140 can comprise an adhesive made of polymer, plastic or ceramic. The thermal insulator 140 may include an organic or an inorganic material. For example, the thermal insulator 140 can comprise a room-temperature-vulcanizing (RTV) adhesive, a plastic such as a thermoplastic, a resin such as a thermosetting resin or a casting resin (or pourable plastic or elastomer compound), an elastomer, etc. In addition to providing a thermal resistance between the substrate support 130 and the temperature-controlled support base 120, the thermal insulator 140 may provide a bond layer or adhesion layer between the substrate support 130 and the temperature-controlled support base 120 (Fig. 2A, [0024]), a thermal insulator 240 disposed between the substrate support 230 and the temperature-controlled support base 220 … The thermal insulator 240 comprises a non-uniform thickness (Fig. 3, [0031], 2nd sentence), for controlling the temperature of a substrate ([0006]). Note the top of the substrate support 230 and the bottom of the temperature-controlled support base 220 are parallel.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have re-arranged the bonding layer 27 of ‘072 to non-uniform thickness with parallel top and bottom as shown in Fig. 3, as taught by ‘723, for the purpose of controlling the temperature of a substrate, as taught by ‘723 ([0006]).
Claims 30-31 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘072 and ‘169, as being applied to claim 1 rejection above, further in view of Miyamoto et al. (US 20180155847, hereafter ‘847).
The combination of ‘072 and ‘169 does not teach the limitations of:
Claim 30: wherein: thicknesses of the baseplates are not uniform and a top surface of the baseplate have varying heights relative to a horizontal reference plane; and
the top surface of the baseplate is generally planar with surface variations in distances between the top surface of the baseplate and the horizontal reference plane.
Claim 31: wherein: thicknesses of the top plate are not uniform and a bottom surface of the top plate have varying heights relative to a horizonal reference plane; and
the bottom surface of the top plate is generally planar with surface variation in distances between the bottom surface of the top plate and the horizontal reference plane.
Claim (renumbered) 38: wherein a top surface of the top plate extends parallel to a bottom surface of the baseplate.
‘847 is analogous art in the field of SUBSTRATE HOLDER, PLATING APPARATUS, AND METHOD FOR MANUFACTURING SUBSTRATE HOLDER (title), a semiconductor ware ([0002]). ‘847 teaches that FIG. 28A to FIG. 28D show another examples of a configuration where a distance between the movable base 412 and the support base 411 at a portion where the elastic body 413 is disposed varies depending on place (a region or a position on a movable base) ([0168], note Fig. 28A shows both movable base 412 and the base 411 are varying heights relative to a horizonal reference plane), for the purpose of biasing against fluid pressure ([0166], 3rd sentence). Note Fig. 24 shows “a top surface of the top plate extends parallel to a bottom surface of the baseplate”.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have re-arranged the bonding layer 27 of ‘072 to non-uniform thickness while maintaining parallel of top and bottom of the assembly, as shown in Fig. 24 and 28A of ‘847, for the purpose of biasing against fluid pressure ([0166], 3rd sentence). Note this combination also teaches the limitation of claim 29.
Claims 29-31 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘072 and ‘169, as being applied to claim 1 rejection above, further in view of KURIBAYASHI et al. (US 20210233785, hereafter ‘785).
The combination of ‘072 and ‘169 does not teach the limitations of:
Claim 30: wherein: thicknesses of the baseplates are not uniform and a top surface of the baseplate have varying heights relative to a horizontal reference plane; and
the top surface of the baseplate is generally planar with surface variations in distances between the top surface of the baseplate and the horizontal reference plane.
Claim 31: wherein: thicknesses of the top plate are not uniform and a bottom surface of the top plate have varying heights relative to a horizonal reference plane; and
the bottom surface of the top plate is generally planar with surface variation in distances between the bottom surface of the top plate and the horizontal reference plane.
Claim (renumbered) 38: wherein a top surface of the top plate extends parallel to a bottom surface of the baseplate.
‘785 is analogous art in the field of HOLDING DEVICE (title), The electrostatic chuck 100 is a device which attracts and holds an object (e.g., a wafer W) by electrostatic attraction force and is used, for example, to fix the wafer W in a vacuum chamber of a semiconductor manufacturing apparatus ([0027]). ‘785 teaches that The bonding portion 30 contains an adhesive such as a silicone-based resin, an acrylic-based resin, or an epoxy-based resin and joins the ceramic member 10 and the base member 20 together ([0034]), As shown in FIG. 2, FIG. 4(B), and FIG. 5, the joining portion 30 includes a constant thickness part 32 and a thickness varying part 34 ([0036]), for the purpose of controlling the temperature distribution ([0003]). Note the bottom of the ceramic member 10 in Fig. 2 is considered generally planar. Various Figures shows “wherein a top surface of the top plate extends parallel to a bottom surface of the baseplate”.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have re-arranged the bonding layer 27 of ‘072 to non-uniform thickness while maintaining parallel of top and bottom of the assembly, as shown in Fig. 2 of ‘785, for the purpose of controlling the temperature distribution ([0003]). Note in Claim 30, it is merely reversing the direction of the thickness varying part 34. Note this combination also teaches the limitation of claim 29.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argue that it is not obvious to combine Fujii ‘072 and Maeta ‘169 because ‘072’s spacer having a uniform thickness and ‘169 does not include any spacers/studs and there is no reason to include the spacer part of ‘072, see the middle of page 13.
This argument is found not persuasive.
‘192’s adhesive layer 4 has a non-uniform thickness. When Applying the adhesive portion and the spacer portions 15, 15A of ‘072 as the adhesive layer, a person of ordinary skill would have known the adhesive has to fill the space between the bottom of the support plate 12 and the top of the cooling baseplate 3 of ‘169.
The motivation to combine is either for the purpose of purpose of no concern of deformed plate ([0019]) and/or for obvious of changing the shape. A change of shape is generally recognized as being within the ordinary level of skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2nd 669, 149 USPQ 1966 when changing the shape of ‘072. Alternatively, for the purpose of maintaining high airtightness between the ceramic member and the metal member even after application, when adding spacer portion 15, 15A of ‘072 to the adhesive layer 4 of ‘169.
In regarding to claim interpretation, Applicants argue “heights of the plurality of studs are based on at least one of thickness, height, and surface variations of at least one of the top plate and the baseplate” is stated in [0071], [0035]-[0036] [0068]-[0071], [0073], [0077], which is clearly defined the height relation between the thickness, height, and surface variations of the top plate and the baseplate, see the middle of page 14 to page 15.
This argument is found not persuasive.
This is similar argument as of 11/13/2025, referring to Fig. 12, the process of forming the apparatus. Applicants is reminded that the apparatus is examined as the final product/apparatus produced by the process, not the process of making the product/apparatus.
For example, given everything else being the same, how can one tell the heights of the plurality of studs should be different if the thickness of the top plate is doubled. This would have been a 112(b) rejection if this relationship is really part of the claimed structure. The examiner considers these are not of the apparatus structure therefore, 112(b) rejection was not applied. If Applicants insist and convinced that examiner that this is a structure relationship of the final apparatus, the examiner may consider adding 112(b) rejection.
The examiner also notices Applicants added new claims using various forms of “based on”, which has similar issues of what relationship is based on if it is final structure of the apparatus. However, as these are design criteria, 112(b) is not applied to these new claims too.
Applicants argue 35 USC 102 rejection does not apply to the amended claims 1 and 24, see the bottom of page 15 to the top of page 17.
The examiner notices new claim 44 is previous claim 1 plus a “based on” design criteria and still rejectable under 35 USC 102.
In regarding to 35 USC 103 rejection, Applicants summarily assert that none of the secondary reference remedy the deficiencies, see the bottom of page 17.
This argument is found not persuasive.
The examiner disagrees, each of the ‘169, ‘723, ‘847, and ‘785 teaches non-uniform thickness of the bonding layer. The spaces 15 and 15A of ‘072 has to fill the space between the top plate and the baseplate.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20130026720 is cited for bonding layer 40 + 50 varying in thickness (Fig. 1C).
US 20240128062 is cited for “the heating element is affixed to the ceramic base via an adhesive material” ([0105]).
/KEATH T CHEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716