DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/21/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues that 52 of Nagaiwa is not clamped down mechanically but through an adhesive and that rings 52 and 55 cannot be combined is not considered persuasive.
The Examiner notes that even though 52 is not directly clamped down by screw 56a, the presence of 64 (which is analogous to clamp frame 18 and outer cover 24 by how it clamps down on focus ring 12) shows another mechanism for clamping down the focus ring (as shown in Fig. 2 and Fig. 8. [0051]). As such there is a mechanical clamping separate from the screw that fulfills this claim.
Furthermore, the argument that rings 52 and 55 cannot be considered a focus ring is not considered persuasive. Specifically, there are no specifics in the claim that would limit the edge ring from being a two part ring- as the ring is simply recited as an edge ring and not a single body or unitary body ring. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., a single body edge ring) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
The Applicant argues that Endoh and Moriya do not expressly teach “mechanical clamping” as they teach “electrostatic clamping.” The Examiner respectfully disagrees, because Endoh and Moriya do teach an electrical clamping device- which is a form of a machine/machinery. The definition from Merriam-Webster of mechanical, machinery, and machine expressly support that electrostatic chucking is a mechanical mechanism as a machine can include electrically operated device. The Examiner further notes that there is no definition of mechanical in the specification or in the claims that would limit the interpretation of “mechanical” to exclude electrostatic devices. The Applicant appears to assume mechanical clamping to a screw or similar device, but this is not expressly defined as mechanical in the specification nor is there any recitation of the word “mechanical” to identify or bound the scope of the claims to a screw, for instance.
For the reasons above, the scope of the rejection below is maintained and the rejection is maintained and made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 8, 9 10, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1/a2) as being anticipated by United States Patent Application No. 2002/0029745 to Nagaiwa et al.
In regards to Claim 1, Nagaiwa teaches a substrate support 50 Fig. 8 for a substrate processing chamber 2 Fig. 1, the substrate support comprising: a baseplate 51 Fig. 8; an edge ring 52, 55 mechanically clamped (via screw 56a [0088], or 52 clamped via 64, which is clamped by 24 and 18) to the baseplate; a seal arrangement 51e located between the edge ring and the baseplate (between as the seal implicitly would protrude slightly higher than the top surface to be compressed by the ring to form said seal), wherein the seal arrangement is configured to define an interface 51D between the edge ring and the baseplate; and at least one channel 51C in fluid communication with the interface and configured to supply a heat transfer gas to the interface [0035-0093].
In regards to Claim 2, Nagaiwa expressly teaches the interface comprises a gap/recess 51D between a lower surface of the edge ring and an upper surface of the baseplate [0089-0090].
In regards to Claim 4, Nagaiwa teaches the seal arrangement includes first and second annular seals and the interface is defined between the first and second annular seals, as shown in the two 51E and 51D in between in Fig. 8.
In regards to Claim 8, Nagaiwa teaches a support ring 64 configured to bias the edge ring downward toward the interface, as it pushes down via gravity in Fig. 8.
In regards to Claim 9, Nagaiwa teaches the at least one channel 51C is provided through the baseplate, as shown in Fig. 8.
In regards to Claim 10, Nagaiwa teaches a heat transfer gas source configured to supply the heat transfer gas to the interface via the at least one channel, as shown in Fig. 8.
In regards to Claim 27, Nagaiwa teaches a plurality of fasteners configured to mechanically clamp the edge ring to the substrate support [0088].
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 9-13, 16, 17 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1/a2) as being anticipated by United States Patent Application No. 2004/0261946 to Endoh et al.
In regards to Claim 1, Endoh teaches a substrate support 11, 25 Fig. 1, 6, 7a, 7b for a substrate processing chamber 10, the substrate support comprising: a baseplate 11, 25; an edge ring 30 mechanically clamped to the baseplate (through the mechanism of electrostatic clamping of 25d, wherein mechanically is defined as through the mechanics of the electrostatic clamp); a seal arrangement (in the form of the physical contact between 30 and 25) located between the edge ring and the baseplate, wherein the seal arrangement is configured to define an interface (space of 44) between the edge ring and the baseplate; and at least one channel 46b in fluid communication with the interface and configured to supply a heat transfer gas [0137] to the interface [0094-0243].
In regards to Claim 2, Endoh teaches the interface comprises a gap 44 between a lower surface of the edge ring and an upper surface of the baseplate, as shown in Fig. 6.
In regards to Claim 4, Endoh teaches wherein the seal arrangement includes first and second annular seals and the interface is defined between the first and second annular seals, as per the annotated copy of Fig. 6 below.
In regards to Claim 5, Endoh teaches the seal arrangement includes a third annular seal arranged between the first annular seal and the second annular seal, and wherein the third annual seal divides the interface into a first region and a second region, as per the annotated copy of Fig. 6 above.
In regards to Claim 7, Endoh teaches the seal arrangement includes two or more azimuthal seals (protrusions that form 44c) extending in a radial direction between the first and second annular seals, wherein the two or more azimuthal seals divide the interface into two or more azimuthal zones 44c configured to separately receive the heat transfer gas.
In regards to Claim 9, Endoh teaches the at least one channel 46b is provided through the baseplate (as shown in Fig. 6).
In regards to Claim 10, Endoh teaches a system Fig. 1 comprising the substrate support of claim 1, as per the rejection of Claim 1 above under Endoh, and further comprising a heat transfer gas source 35 configured to supply the heat transfer gas to the interface via the at least one channel 46b.
In regards to Claim 11, Endoh teaches a controller 43 configured to control the supply of the heat transfer gas to the interface to adjust a temperature of the edge ring [0103, 0141, 0142, 0159].
In regards to Claim 12, Endoh teaches a substrate support 11, 25 Fig. 1, 6, 7a, 7b for a substrate processing chamber 10, the substrate support comprising: a baseplate 25a, 11; an edge ring 30 mechanically clamped to the baseplate (through the mechanism of electrostatic clamping of 25d, wherein mechanically is defined as through the mechanics of the electrostatic clamp), wherein a lower surface of the edge ring includes first 44a and second 44b annular grooves; and a first seal arranged in the first annular groove (as it in parts forms said groove, the seal being the physical contact between the ring and the baseplate); and a second seal arranged in the second annular groove (as it in parts forms said groove, the seal being the physical contact between the ring and the baseplate), wherein the first and second seals define an interface (gas groove space of 44) between the edge ring and the baseplate, wherein the interface is in fluid communication with a heat transfer gas source 46b [0094-0243].
In regards to Claim 13, Endoh teaches at least one channel 46b in fluid communication with the interface and configured to supply a heat transfer gas to the interface from the heat transfer gas source [0140-0142].
In regards to Claim 16, Endoh teaches a system Fig. 1 comprising the substrate support of claim 12, as per the rejection of Claim 12 under Endoh above, and further comprising the heat transfer gas source 35.
In regards to Claim 17, Endoh teaches a controller 43 configured to control a supply of the heat transfer gas 35 to the interface to adjust a temperature of the edge ring [0103, 0141, 0142, 0159].
In regards to Claim 32, Endoh teaches the sealing arrangement includes two or more azimuthal seals (ring portions from 30 that divide 44a, 44b in between) extending in a radial direction between the first and second annular seals, wherein the two or more azimuthal seals divide the interface into two or more azimuthal zones 44c configured to separately receive respective heat transfer gases, as shown in Fig. 7a, 7b, as broadly recited in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application No. 2002/0029745 to Nagaiwa et al in view of United States Patent Application No. 2018/0308737 to Moriya et al.
The teachings of Nagaiwa are relied upon as set forth in the above 102 rejection.
In regards to Claim 3, Nagaiwa does not expressly teach the gap has a depth of less than 25 microns.
Moriya teaches a substrate support 1 Fig. 1 comprising a baseplate 1, 2 with an edge ring 30 that is mechanically clamped to the baseplate via lift pin 39 and a lift pin drive device 37 that behaves as a drive/actuator device to lift the ring for substrate transfer, and to fix the ring against the interface 40 [0033-0037], which has a gap 40 that has a depth most preferably of 10µm-12µm [0042-0043].
It has been held that an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982). See MPEP 2144.06 II. Thus it would be obvious to make the gap of Nagaiwa have a depth of 10-12µm, which is a depth less than 25µm, as an art analogous depth teaching for the gap. See MPEP 2143 Motivation A.
The resulting apparatus fulfills the limitations of the claim.
Claims 3, 28 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application No. 2004/0261946 to Endoh et al in view of United States Patent Application No. 2018/0308737 to Moriya et al.
The teachings of Endoh are relied upon as set forth in the above 102 rejection.
In regards to Claim 3, Endoh does not expressly teach the gap has a depth of less than 25 microns.
Moriya teaches a substrate support 1 Fig. 1 comprising a baseplate 1, 2 with an edge ring 30 that is mechanically clamped to the baseplate via lift pin 39 and a lift pin drive device 37 that behaves as a drive/actuator device to lift the ring for substrate transfer, and to fix the ring against the interface 40 [0033-0037], which has a gap 40 that has a depth most preferably of 10µm-12µm [0042-0043].
It has been held that an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982). See MPEP 2144.06 II. Thus it would be obvious to make the gap of Endoh have a depth of 10-12µm, which is a depth less than 25µm, as an art analogous depth teaching for the gap. See MPEP 2143 Motivation A.
The resulting apparatus fulfills the limitations of the claim.
In regards to Claims 28 and 30, Endoh does not expressly teach a plurality of actuators coupled to the edge ring, wherein the actuators are configured to pull down the edge ring to the baseplate.
Moriya teaches a substrate support 1 Fig. 1 comprising a baseplate 1, 2 with an edge ring 30 that is mechanically clamped to the baseplate via lift pin 39 and a lift pin drive device 37 that behaves as a drive/actuator device to lift the ring for substrate transfer, and to fix the ring against the interface 40 [0033-0037], which has a gap 40 that has a depth most preferably of 10µm-12µm [0042-0043].
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified the apparatus of Endoh, to have added the lift pin actuator as per the teachings of Moriya. One would be motivated to do so for the predictable result of to be able to lift the ring for substrate transfer as desired. See MPEP 2143 Motivation A.
The resulting apparatus fulfills the limitations of the claims.
Claims 5, 6, 11-17, 29 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application No. 2002/0029745 to Nagaiwa et al in view of United States Patent Application No. 2004/0261946 to Endoh et al.
The teachings of Nagaiwa are relied upon as set forth in the above 102 rejection.
In regards to Claim 5, Nagaiwa does not expressly teach a seal arrangement includes a third annular seal arranged between the first annular seal and the second annular seal, and wherein the third annual seal divides the interface into a first region and a second region.
Endoh expressly teaches that there can be two channels, as shown in 44a, 44b Fig. 6.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to duplicate the channels, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). MPEP 2144.04 VI-B.
Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to duplicate the number of interfaces and channels, as per the teachings of the Endoh to have two interfaces would result in Nagaiwa to have two interfaces and two channels. The resulting apparatus fulfills the limitations of the claim, as by duplicating the interfaces, a third seal in between the two interfaces would be formed.
In regards to Claim 6, Nagaiwa in view of Endoh teach at least one channel includes a first channel in fluid communication with the first region and a second channel in fluid communication with the second region, and wherein the first channel and the second channel are configured to separately receive the heat transfer gas, as it teaches two separate channels and two separate interface regions.
In regards to Claim 11, Nagaiwa does not expressly teach a controller configured to control the supply of the heat transfer gas to the interface to adjust a temperature of the edge ring.
Endoh teaches a controller 43 configured to control the supply of the heat transfer gas to the interface to adjust a temperature of the edge ring [0103, 0141, 0142, 0159].
Because it is known to provide a controller to a heat transfer gas to the interface, as taught by Endoh, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the supply of the heat transfer gas to the interface as taught by Nagaiwa to include the controller. One would be motivated to do so in order to adjust a temperature of the edge ring as well as giving control the processing procedures. See MPEP 2143, Exemplary Rationales A.
The resulting apparatus fulfills the limitations of the claim.
In regards to Claim 12, Nagaiwa teaches a substrate support 50 Fig. 8 for a substrate processing chamber 2 Fig. 1, the substrate support comprising: a baseplate 51 Fig. 8; an edge ring 52, 55 mechanically clamped (via screw 56a [0088], or 52 clamped via 64, which is clamped by 24 and 18) to the baseplate; wherein a lower surface of the edge ring defines an interface 51D between the edge ring the baseplate; and at least one channel 51C in fluid communication with the interface and configured to supply a heat transfer gas to the interface [0035-0093].
Nagaiwa does not expressly teach the lower surface of the edge ring includes first and second annular grooves, with first and second seals that define the interface.
Endoh teaches a substrate support 11, 25 Fig. 1, 6, 7a, 7b for a substrate processing chamber 10, the substrate support comprising: a baseplate 11, 25; an edge ring 30 mechanically clamped to the baseplate (through the mechanism of electrostatic clamping of 25d, wherein mechanically is defined as through the mechanics of the electrostatic clamp); a seal arrangement (in the form of the physical contact between 30 and 25) located between the edge ring and the baseplate, wherein the seal arrangement is configured to define an interface (space of 44) between the edge ring and the baseplate; and at least one channel 46b in fluid communication with the interface and configured to supply a heat transfer gas [0137] to the interface [0094-0243].
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to have modified the edge ring of Nagaiwa to make the interface formed in the edge ring, through grooves in the edge ring, as per the teachings of Endoh. It has been held that an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982). See MPEP 2144.06 II. Thus, by making the recess in the edge ring instead of the base as an art analogous interface structure, grooves would be obvious in the lower surface of the edge ring.
Nagaiwa does not expressly teach first and second grooves.
Endoh expressly teaches that there can be two channels, as shown in 44a, 44b Fig. 6.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to duplicate the channels, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). MPEP 2144.04 VI-B.
Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to duplicate the number of interfaces and channels, as per the teachings of the Endoh to have two interfaces would result in Nagaiwa to have two interfaces and two channels and thus two grooves in the lower surface of the edge rings. The resulting apparatus fulfills the limitations of the claim, as by duplicating the interfaces, a third seal in between the two interfaces would be formed.
The resulting apparatus fulfills the limitations of the claim.
In regards to Claim 13, Nagaiwa in view of Endoh teach at least one channel in fluid communication with the interface and configured to supply a heat transfer gas to the interface from the heat transfer gas source, as per the rejection of Claim 12 above.
In regards to Claim 14, Nagaiwa teaches the first and second seals comprise O-rings, as Nagaiwa teaches the interfaces has O-rings 51e that seal the interfaces, and thus would be applied to the duplicated grooves.
In regards to Claim 15, Nagaiwa teaches the first and second seals comprise an elastomer material dispensed within the grooves, as Nagaiwa teaches the interfaces has O-rings 51e that seal the interfaces, and would thus be applied to the duplicated grooves.
In regards to Claim 16, Nagaiwa in view of Endoh teaches a system Fig. 1 comprising the substrate support of claim 12 (as per the rejection of Claim 1 above) and further comprising the heat transfer gas source, Endoh [0058].
In regards to Claim 17, Nagaiwa does not expressly teach a controller configured to control the supply of the heat transfer gas to the interface to adjust a temperature of the edge ring.
Endoh teaches a controller 43 configured to control the supply of the heat transfer gas to the interface to adjust a temperature of the edge ring [0103, 0141, 0142, 0159].
Because it is known to provide a controller to a heat transfer gas to the interface, as taught by Endoh, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the supply of the heat transfer gas to the interface as taught by Nagaiwa to include the controller. One would be motivated to do so in order to adjust a temperature of the edge ring as well as giving control the processing procedures. See MPEP 2143, Exemplary Rationales A.
The resulting apparatus fulfills the limitations of the claim.
In regards to Claim 29, Nagaiwa teaches a plurality of fasteners configured to mechanically clamp the edge ring to the substrate support [0088].
In regards to Claim 31, Nagaiwa in view of Endoh teach the at least one channel includes a first channel in fluid communication with the first region and a second channel in fluid communication with the second region, and wherein the first channel and the second channel are configured to separately receive respective heat transfer gases, as would be the result of duplicating the interfaces and channels of Nagaiwa and the rejection of Claim 5 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. United States Patent Application No. 2021/0020488 to Jiong, which teaches an edge ring 123, fasteners 221, and a gas space beneath it.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TIFFANY Z NUCKOLS/Examiner, Art Unit 1716
/Jeffrie R Lund/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716