DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-10 and 12 are pending.
Claims 8-10 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claim 11 is cancelled.
Status of Objections and Rejections
The previous objection to claim 7 is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment.
All other rejections from the previous Office action stand.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3 December 2025 was filed after the mailing date of the Non-Final Office action on 21 July 2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ono et al. (US 2020/0087233) in view of Eckert et al. (DE 102018206568).
Regarding claim 1, Ono discloses a carbon dioxide electrolytic method (= a method of protecting a nonoperation CO2 electrolysis stack from corrosion) including a refresh operation of the electrolysis cell (2), the method comprising:
At the time of a refresh operation, the anode solution and the cathode solution are discharged to the waste solution collection system (600) so that the anode (11), the anode flow path (12), the cathode (22), the cathode flow path (21) are exposed from the anode solution and cathode solution [0048] (= at least partly emptying the electrolyte from parts of at least the first electrolysis cell);
A refresh material source including a gas (e.g. carbon dioxide) source to supply a gaseous substance to the at least one flow path (e.g. 21), additionally a rinse solution supplied to the flow paths and the gaseous refresh material contains a part of a liquid substance (abstract, [0048]-[0049]) (= wherein the electrolyte which is removed by the at least partial emptying is exchanged for a mixture comprising an inert gas and liquid droplets present, wherein the inert gas is CO2).
The second paragraph of claim 1 includes a listing of five scenarios of which only one option is required.
The preamble of claim 1 appears to recite structure to the claim including an electrolysis stack with a first and second electrolysis cell.
Ono fails to disclose the electrolysis cell as part of a stack.
In the same or similar field of CO2 electrolysis, Eckert discloses wherein electrolysis cells can be formed as an electrolysis stack, the cells being connected electrically and geometrically in series in order to set a predetermined total voltage [0003], [0024].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce a method comprising a stack of a first electrolysis cell and a second electrolysis cell because Eckert discloses that electrolysis cells can be connected in series as a stack to produce a predetermined total voltage. The use of known techniques such as providing cells in stacks to improve similar devices would have been an obvious engineering design choice to improve performance.
Regarding claim 2, Ono discloses wherein at the at least one feed is emptied [0048], Figure 1. Flow paths are refreshed and therefore electrolyte is removed from the feed and drain flow paths. Moreover, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to refresh any one of the flow paths to recover the anode and cathode [0025].
Regarding claims 3-5 and 12, Ono does not explicitly state the degree of emptying, however, Ono clearly indicates that the flow paths are refreshed with a gaseous substance and liquid substance and therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a refresh operation would refresh the entire flow path by removing the electrolyte. Regarding the entire stack being filled with inert gas, Ono discloses the supply of the inert carbon dioxide gas to the various flow paths. Supply of inert gas to the entire stack would have been an obvious engineering design choice in view of the combination of Ono in view of Eckert in order to refresh the entire stack. As to claim 12, Ono discloses wherein the anode solution and cathode solution are discharged to the waste solution collection system such that the anode flow path and the cathode flow path are exposed from the anode solution and the cathode solution [0048]. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that flow paths being exposed from a solution would indicate that at least 50% by volume of the solution would not be present.
Regarding claim 7, Ono discloses applying current during refresh [0072], [0089].
Claim(s) 1-7 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ono et al. (US 2020/0087233) in view of Ono et al. (US 2020/0002822).
Regarding claim 1, Ono discloses a carbon dioxide electrolytic method (= a method of protecting a nonoperation CO2 electrolysis stack from corrosion) including a refresh operation of the electrolysis cell (2), the method comprising:
At the time of a refresh operation, the anode solution and the cathode solution are discharged to the waste solution collection system (600) so that the anode (11), the anode flow path (12), the cathode (22), the cathode flow path (21) are exposed from the anode solution and cathode solution [0048] (= at least partly emptying the electrolyte from parts of at least the first electrolysis cell)
A refresh material source including a gas (e.g. carbon dioxide) source to supply a gaseous substance to the at least one flow path (e.g. 21), additionally a rinse solution supplied to the flow paths and the gaseous refresh material contains a part of a liquid substance (abstract, [0048]-[0049]) (= wherein the electrolyte which is removed by the at least partial emptying is exchanged for a mixture comprising an inert gas and liquid droplets present, wherein the inert gas is CO2).
The second paragraph of claim 1 includes a listing of five scenarios of which only one option is required.
The preamble of claim 1 appears to recite structure to the claim including an electrolysis stack with a first and second electrolysis cell.
Ono fails to disclose the electrolysis cell as part of a stack.
In the same or similar field of CO2 electrolysis, Ono (‘822) discloses wherein electrolysis cells can be formed as an electrolysis stack [0103], Figure 16. Ono (‘822) discloses wherein the stacked cells may be connected in parallel and provided with a sensor for detecting a crossover amount, a leak for each cell, etc. [0103].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce a method comprising a stack of a first electrolysis cell and a second electrolysis cell because Ono (‘822) discloses that electrolysis cells can be connected in parallel. The use of known techniques such as providing cells in stacks to improve similar devices would have been an obvious engineering design choice to improve performance.
Regarding claim 2, Ono discloses wherein at the at least one feed is emptied [0048], Figure 1. Flow paths are refreshed and therefore electrolyte is removed from the feed and drain flow paths. Moreover, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to refresh any one of the flow paths to recover the anode and cathode [0025].
Regarding claims 3-5 and 12, Ono does not explicitly state the degree of emptying, however, Ono clearly indicates that the flow paths are refreshed with a gaseous substance and therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a refresh operation would refresh the entire flow path. Regarding the entire stack being filled with inert gas, Ono discloses the supply of the inert carbon dioxide gas to the various flow paths. Supply of inert gas to the entire stack would have been an obvious engineering design choice in view of the combination of Ono in view of Ono (‘822) in order to refresh the entire stack. As to claim 12, Ono discloses wherein the anode solution and cathode solution are discharged to the waste solution collection system such that the anode flow path and the cathode flow path are exposed from the anode solution and the cathode solution [0048]. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that flow paths being exposed from a solution would indicate that at least 50% by volume of the solution would not be present.
Regarding claim 6, Ono (‘822) discloses wherein the cells are in plurality and the flow path (e.g. 23) is located at an edge (Figure 16). It would have been obvious that the emptying would be at an edge given the combination of Ono and Ono (‘822) to refresh the flow paths.
Regarding claim 7, Ono discloses applying current during refresh [0072], [0089].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3 October 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The argument presented on pages 6-8 is directed towards the claimed mixture comprising an inert gas and liquid droplets and that Ono et al. (‘233) fails to disclose the claimed mixture. The Examiner respectfully disagrees with this analysis. The following portion of (‘233) indicates that the gaseous substance from the refresh material source (e.g. carbon dioxide, [0049]) contains liquid substance of the rinse solution [0048].
[0048] (‘233)
Further, it would have been obvious that liquid rinse substance would be present when the gas is supplied since the gas is present to dry the rinse refresh material substance away. The instant claim language does not exclude the interpretation of Ono. A mixture is present since the gas contains a liquid substance as unambiguously disclosed by Ono.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Stefanie S Wittenberg/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795