DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed December 4, 2025 is acknowledged. Claims 1 and 10-28 are pending in the application. Claims 2-9 have been cancelled. Claims 13-14 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 20 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 at line 2 recites “such as”. The phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the language following the phrase is part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Therefore, the scope of claim 20 is indefinite. For the purpose of the examination, the recitation of “a cooling enhancing compound, such as a compound selected from the group consisting of” (emphasis added) at lines 1-2 of the claim is interpreted as “a cooling enhancing compound selected from the group consisting of”.
Claim 26 at line 2 recites “such as”. The phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the language following the phrase is part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Therefore, the scope of claim 26 is indefinite. For the purpose of the examination, the recitation of “a cooling enhancing compound, such as a compound selected from the group consisting of” (emphasis added) at lines 1-2 of the claim is interpreted as “a cooling enhancing compound selected from the group consisting of”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 15-17, 21-23, 27, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chaturvedula et al. US 20160192684 (hereinafter “Chaturvedula”).
With respect to claim 1, Chaturvedula teaches a sweetener composition (Abstract).
Regarding the recitation of which comprises rebaudioside A, rebaudioside D, and rebaudioside M, wherein the weight ratio of rebaudioside A to rebaudioside M ranges from 6:1 to 7:1, and wherein the weight ratio of rebaudioside A to rebaudioside D ranges from 3:1 to 4:1 in claim 1, Chaturvedula teaches the sweetener composition comprises approximately 45-84% by weight of stevia leaf extract, which contains greater than about 50% rebaudioside A (reb A), and approximately 8-42% by weight of a mixture of rebaudioside D (reb D) and rebaudioside M (reb M) (50:50 to 98:2) (paragraphs [0029]-[0031] and [0053]). The ranges of Chaturvedula include the weight ratio of about 6-7.5:1 of reb A to reb M and the weight ratio of about 3-4.5:1 reb A to reb D and encompass the presently claimed weight ratios (about 22.5%-84% rebaudioside A in the sweetener composition calculated from 0.50 rebaudioside A x 45% stevia leaf extract and 1.00 rebaudioside A x 84% stevia leaf extract; about 5% reb D and about 3% reb M to about 28% reb D and about 14% reb M in the sweetener composition calculated from about 8-42% of a mixture of reb D and reb M at a ratio of about 64:36 to about 67:33; weight ratio of about 6-7.5:1 of reb A to reb M calculated from about 84% reb A: about 14% reb M to about 22.5% reb A:about 3% reb M; weight ratio of about 3-4.5:1 of reb A to reb D calculated from about 84% reb A:about 28% reb D to about 22.5% reb A:about 5% reb D). As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
With respect to claim 15, Chaturvedula teaches a flavored product (paragraph [0026]).
Regarding the recitation of which comprises a sweetening composition of claim 1 in claim 15, Chaturvedula teaches the flavored product comprises a sweetener composition and Chaturvedula is relied upon for the teaching of the claimed sweetening composition as addressed above in claim 1 (Abstract; and paragraphs [0026], 0048], [0049], [0052], and [0053]).
With respect to claim 16, Chaturvedula is relied upon for the teaching of the flavored product as addressed above in claim 15.
Regarding the recitation of wherein the flavored product is a food product, a beverage product, an oral care product, or a pharmaceutical product in claim 16, Chaturvedula teaches the flavored product is a food, beverage, or pharmaceutical (paragraphs [0024] and [0026]).
With respect to claim 17, Chaturvedula teaches a sweetener composition (Abstract).
Regarding the recitation of which comprises rebaudioside A, rebaudioside D, and rebaudioside M, wherein the weight ratio of rebaudioside A to rebaudioside M ranges from 3:1 to 1:3, and wherein the weight ratio of rebaudioside A to rebaudioside D ranges from 3.5:1 to 10:1 in claim 17, Chaturvedula teaches the sweetener composition comprises approximately 45-84% by weight of stevia leaf extract, which contains greater than about 50% rebaudioside A (reb A), and approximately 8-42% by weight of a mixture of rebaudioside M (reb M) and rebaudioside D (reb D) (50:50 to 98:2) (paragraphs [0029]-[0031] and [0053]). The ranges of Chaturvedula include the weight ratio of about 3:1 to about 1:2 of reb A to reb M and the weight ratio of about 3-22.5:1 reb A to reb D and encompass the presently claimed weight ratios (about 22.5%-84% rebaudioside A in the sweetener composition calculated from 0.50 rebaudioside A x 45% stevia leaf extract and 1.00 rebaudioside A x 84% stevia leaf extract; about 21% reb M and about 21% reb D to about 41% reb M and about 1% reb D in the sweetener composition calculated from about 42% of a mixture of reb M and reb D at a ratio of about 50:50 to about 98:2; weight ratio of about 3:1 to about 1:2 of reb A to reb M calculated from about 63% reb A: about 21% reb M to about 22.5% reb A:about 41% reb M; weight ratio of about 3-22.5:1 of reb A to reb D calculated from about 63% reb A:about 21% reb D to about 22.5% reb A:about 1% reb D). As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
With respect to claim 21, Chaturvedula teaches a flavored product (paragraph [0026]).
Regarding the recitation of which comprises a sweetening composition of claim 17 in claim 21, Chaturvedula teaches the flavored product comprises a sweetener composition and Chaturvedula is relied upon for the teaching of the claimed sweetening composition as addressed above in claim 17 (Abstract; and paragraphs [0026], 0048], [0049], [0052], and [0053]).
With respect to claim 22, Chaturvedula is relied upon for the teaching of the flavored product as addressed above in claim 21.
Regarding the recitation of wherein the flavored product is a food product, a beverage product, an oral care product, or a pharmaceutical product in claim 22, Chaturvedula teaches the flavored product is a food, beverage, or pharmaceutical (paragraphs [0024] and [0026]).
With respect to claim 23, Chaturvedula teaches a sweetener composition (Abstract).
Regarding the recitation of which comprises rebaudioside A, rebaudioside D, and rebaudioside M, wherein the weight ratio of rebaudioside A to rebaudioside M ranges from 1:1 to 2.5:1, and wherein the weight ratio of rebaudioside A to rebaudioside D ranges from 3:1 to 10:1 in claim 23, Chaturvedula teaches the sweetener composition comprises approximately 45-84% by weight of stevia leaf extract, which contains greater than about 50% rebaudioside A (reb A), and approximately 8-42% by weight of a mixture of rebaudioside M (reb M) and rebaudioside D (reb D) (50:50 to 98:2) (paragraphs [0029]-[0031] and [0053]). The ranges of Chaturvedula include the weight ratio of about 3-1:1 of reb A to reb M and the weight ratio of about 3-41:1 reb A to reb D and encompass the presently claimed weight ratios (about 22.5%-84% rebaudioside A in the sweetener composition calculated from 0.50 rebaudioside A x 45% stevia leaf extract and 1.00 rebaudioside A x 84% stevia leaf extract; about 21% reb M and about 21% reb D to about 41% reb M and about 1% reb D in the sweetener composition calculated from about 42% of a mixture of reb M and reb D at a ratio of about 50:50 to about 98:2; weight ratio of about 3-1:1 of reb A to reb M calculated from about 63% reb A: about 21% reb M to about 41% reb A:about 41% reb M; weight ratio of about 3-41:1 of reb A to reb D calculated from about 63% reb A:about 21% reb D to about 41% reb A:about 1% reb D). As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
With respect to claim 27, Chaturvedula teaches a flavored product (paragraph [0026]).
Regarding the recitation of which comprises a sweetening composition of claim 23 in claim 27, Chaturvedula teaches the flavored product comprises a sweetener composition and Chaturvedula is relied upon for the teaching of the claimed sweetening composition as addressed above in claim 23 (Abstract; and paragraphs [0026], 0048], [0049], [0052], and [0053]).
With respect to claim 28, Chaturvedula is relied upon for the teaching of the flavored product as addressed above in claim 27.
Regarding the recitation of wherein the flavored product is a food product, a beverage product, an oral care product, or a pharmaceutical product in claim 28, Chaturvedula teaches the flavored product is a food, beverage, or pharmaceutical (paragraphs [0024] and [0026]).
Claims 10, 18, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chaturvedula et al. US 20160192684 (hereinafter “Chaturvedula”) as applied to claims 1, 17, and 23 above and in further view of Purkayastha et al. US 20140017378 (hereinafter “Purkayastha”).
With respect to claims 10, 18, and 24, Chaturvedula is relied upon for the teaching of the sweetening composition as addressed above in claims 1, 17, and 23, respectively.
Regarding the recitation of further comprising glucosylated natural steviol glycosides in claims 10, 18, and 24, Chaturvedula teaches the sweetener composition further comprises glycosylated steviol glycosides (paragraph [0020]).
However, Chaturvedula does not expressly disclose the sweetener composition further comprises glucosylated natural steviol glycosides.
Purkayastha teaches a combination of steviol glycosides and glucosylated steviol glycosides. The steviol glycosides may be rebaudioside A, rebaudioside D, and rebaudioside M, and the glucosylated natural steviol glycosides are steviol glycosides extracted from the Stevia rebaudiana plant that have been glycosylated with glucose molecules (paragraphs [0008]-[0011], [0017]-[0018], and [0025]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, given the teachings of Purkayastha, to select the glucosylated natural steviol glycosides in the sweetener composition of Chaturvedula based in their suitability for their intended purpose with the expectation of successfully preparing a functional product. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Purkayastha and Chaturvedula similarly teach compositions comprising rebaudioside A, rebaudioside D, rebaudioside M, and glycosylated steviol glycosides, Purkayastha teaches the glucosylated steviol glycoside can contribute to the modification of sweetness profiles and is a taste improver and flavor modifier (paragraphs [0009] and [0037]), Chaturvedula teaches the sweetener composition has a modified and enhanced taste profile (paragraph [0007]), and said modification would amount to the use of a known element for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish entirely expected results. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success with said modification. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. (“Reading a list and selecting a known compound to meet known requirements is no more ingenious than selecting the last piece to put in the last opening in a jig-saw puzzle.” Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) See also In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (selection of a known plastic to make a container of a type made of plastics prior to the invention was held to be obvious)) (MPEP 2144.07).
Claims 11, 19, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chaturvedula et al. US 20160192684 (hereinafter “Chaturvedula”) as applied to claims 1, 17, and 23 above and in further view of Crespo et al. US 20170071242 (hereinafter “Crespo”).
With respect to claims 11, 19, and 25, Chaturvedula is relied upon for the teaching of the sweetening composition as addressed above in claims 1, 17, and 23, respectively.
Regarding the recitation of further comprising hesperitin, naringenin, phloretin, rhoifolin, or any combination thereof in claims 11, 19, and 25, Chaturvedula does not disclose this limitation.
Crespo teaches enhancing the sweetness of sweeteners. Naringenin, an antioxidant, is combined with sweeteners, such as rebaudioside A, rebaudioside D, and rebaudioside M, to enhance the sweetness thereof (paragraphs [0002], [0029], and [0034]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, given the teachings of Crespo, to select the naringenin in the sweetener composition of Chaturvedula based in its suitability for its intended purpose with the expectation of successfully preparing a functional product. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Crespo and Chaturvedula similarly teach sweetener compositions comprising rebaudioside A, rebaudioside D, and rebaudioside M, Crespo teaches naringenin is an antioxidant and provides sweetness enhancement to the sweetener (paragraphs [0002] and [0029]), Chaturvedula teaches the sweetener composition may further comprise functional additives such as a potentiate and the sweetener composition has an enhanced taste profile (paragraphs [0007] and [0024]), and said modification would amount to the use of a known element for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish entirely expected results. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success with said modification. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. (“Reading a list and selecting a known compound to meet known requirements is no more ingenious than selecting the last piece to put in the last opening in a jig-saw puzzle.” Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) See also In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (selection of a known plastic to make a container of a type made of plastics prior to the invention was held to be obvious)) (MPEP 2144.07).
Claims 12, 20, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chaturvedula et al. US 20160192684 (hereinafter “Chaturvedula”) as applied to claims 1, 17, and 23 above and in further view of Priest et al. US 20130324557 (hereinafter “Priest”).
With respect to claims 12, 20, and 26, Chaturvedula is relied upon for the teaching of the sweetening composition as addressed above in claims 1, 17, and 23, respectively.
Regarding the recitation of further comprising a cooling enhancing compound selected from the group consisting of the listed compounds in claim 12, 20, and 26, Chaturvedula does not expressly disclose this limitation.
Priest teaches ingestible compositions. The compositions comprise one or more sweeteners and compounds used as modulators of the TRPM8 receptor, such as N-ethyl-N-(thiophen-2-ylmethyl)-2-(p-tolyloxy)acetamide and 2-((2,3-dihydro-1H-inden-5-yl)oxy)-N-(1H-pyrazol-3-yl)-N-(thiophen-2-ylmethyl)- acetamide (paragraphs [0003], [0012], [0042], [0096], [0099], [0125], [0150], and [0150]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, given the teachings of Priest, to select the modulating compounds in the sweetener composition of Chaturvedula based in their suitability for their intended purpose with the expectation of successfully preparing a functional product. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Priest and Chaturvedula similarly teach sweetener compositions, Priest teaches the modulating compounds are useful in the flavoring industry because they can induce/generate a cooling or cold sensation (paragraph [0097]), Chaturvedula teaches the sweetener composition may further comprise additives such as flavoring ingredients (flavorant) and/or functional additives to obtain a sweetener composition with desired organoleptic properties (paragraphs [0007]-[0009], [0023], and [0024]), and said modification would amount to the use of a known element for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish entirely expected results. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success with said modification. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. (“Reading a list and selecting a known compound to meet known requirements is no more ingenious than selecting the last piece to put in the last opening in a jig-saw puzzle.” Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) See also In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (selection of a known plastic to make a container of a type made of plastics prior to the invention was held to be obvious)) (MPEP 2144.07).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks filed December 4, 2025 are acknowledged.
Due to the amendment to claim 12, the 35 USC 112 rejection as well as the 35 USC 102 rejection of claims 1, 11, 15, and 16 over Nattress and claims 1, 15, and 16 over Chaturvedula in the previous Office Action have been withdrawn (P6). However, the 35 USC 112 rejection above is necessitated by newly added claims 20 and 26.
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered, but they are unpersuasive.
Applicant agues Chaturvedula does not disclose the combination of ratio ranges. Purkayastha, Crespo, and Priest do not cure the deficiencies of Chaturvedula (P6-P7).
Examiner disagrees. The ratios of independent claims 1, 17, and 23 are obvious in view of Chaturvedula as addressed above in the rejection. While Purkayastha, Crespo, and Priest do not disclose all the features of the presently claimed invention, Purkayastha, Crespo, and Priest are used as teaching references for the dependent claims, and therefore, it is not necessary for these secondary references to contain all the features of the presently claimed invention, In re Nievelt, 482 F.2d 965, 179 USPQ 224, 226 (CCPA 1973), In re Keller 624 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871, 881 (CCPA 1981).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.L.M/Examiner, Art Unit 1793
/EMILY M LE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1793