DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 6-8, 13-15 and 20-22 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 08/13/2025.
Applicant's election with traverse of Species B in the reply filed on 08/13/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that they are a similar subject matter and would identify similar art. This is not found persuasive because while the field of search for one group of claims may overlap with the field of search for the other group of claims, there is no reason to expect that said fields of search would be co-extensive. Specifically, the search is not directed only to 102-type anticipatory art, but also to 103-type art pointing to the obviousness of the claimed invention. The search for 103-type art for each group of claims would cause the fields of search to diverge, creating a serious burden on the Examiner to examine all of the claims together.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Objections
Claims 3 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities: quarts should be corrected to quartz. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
The edge temperature correcting element in claim 1, interpreted as heaters 302 and 402 [0040, 0043].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application No. 2015/0159272 to Yoon et al in view of United States Patent Application No. 2018/0272390 to Ulloa.
In regards to Claim 1, Yoon teaches a process kit 110, 130, 140, 300 Fig. 1-8 for use in a processing chamber 120, the process kit comprising: an inner liner 110 having: a plurality of first inlet holes 132 disposed on an injection side 130 of the inner liner and configured to be in fluid communication with a gas injection assembly 133 [0039] of a processing chamber; and a plurality of first outlet holes 142 disposed on an exhaust side 140 of the inner liner and configured to be in fluid communication with a gas exhaust assembly 143 of the processing chamber; a top plate (top of 110) and a bottom plate (bottom of 110, and 420) attached to an inner surface of the inner liner (as shown in Fig. 8B), the top plate and the bottom plate forming an enclosure together with the inner liner (as shown in Fig. 8); a cassette 300 disposed within the enclosure, the cassette comprising a plurality of shelves 330 configured to retain a plurality of substrates thereon [0031]; and an edge temperature correcting element (heat line/heater 121) [0050] disposed between the inner liner and an outer housing 120 [0028-0053].
Yoon does not expressly teach a first ring reflector disposed outside of the inner liner wherein the edge temperature correcting element is disposed between the inner liner and the first ring reflector.
Ulloa teaches a vertical processing apparatus processing chamber 110, with a plurality of first inlet holes 160 disposed on an injection side of the inner liner and configured to be in fluid communication with a gas injection assembly 140, 142, 145 of a processing chamber; and a plurality of first outlet holes 170 disposed on an exhaust side of the inner liner and configured to be in fluid communication with a gas exhaust assembly 155, 172 of the processing chamber; a top plate 122 and a bottom plate 124, the top plate and the bottom plate forming an enclosure together within 150; a cassette 120 disposed within the enclosure, the cassette comprising a plurality of shelves 250 configured to retain a plurality of substrates 200 thereon; a first ring reflector 220 disposed outside of the cassette 120; and an outer liner/chamber body 110and an edge temperature correcting element 210 (heating element which can be a resistive coil, lamp or ceramic heater [0029]) disposed on an inner circumference of reflector 220 (which is ring shaped as shown in 220 Fig. 2) which is mounted on an outer liner 110 [0018-0073].
The heater of Ulloa 210 is analogous to the edge temperature correcting element 121 of Yoon, which is mounted on an outer liner/outer housing 120, as it is a vertical heating element surrounding a cassette in a processing space to process wafers, which includes plasma treatment [0006].
It has been held that an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982). See MPEP 2144.06 II. Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to change the edge temperature correcting element and outer housing chamber structure in Yoon with that of Ulloa, which includes a ring reflector 210 on an outer circumference of heater 210, such that the ring reflector is disposed outside of the inner liner, as an art analogous structure for heating, chamber walls, and reflectors. See MPEP 2143 Motivation A.
The resulting apparatus fulfills the limitations of the claim.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application No. 2015/0159272 to Yoon et al in view of United States Patent Application No. 2018/0272390 to Ulloa, and in further view of United States Patent Application No. 2015/0013595 to Janzen et al.
The teachings of Yoon in view of Ulloa are relied upon as set forth in the above 103 rejection of Claim 1.
In regards to Claim 2, Yoon in view of Ulloa teach an outer liner (110 of Ulloa) outside of the first ring reflector but does not expressly teach the outer liner comprises opaque quartz or silicon carbide coated graphite.
Janzen teaches a chamber 1 Fig. 1, or outer liner, is made out of silicon carbide coated graphite [0033].
It has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2144.07. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). Therefore, because it is known to make an outer liner/chamber analogous to that of Yoon in view of Ulloa out of SiC coated graphite, as taught by Janzen, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to do so. The resulting apparatus would fulfill the limitations of Claim 2.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application No. 2015/0159272 to Yoon et al in view of United States Patent Application No. 2018/0272390 to Ulloa, and in further view of United States Patent Application No. 2016/0348240 to Burrows et al and United States Patent Application No. 2009/0004405 to Merry et al.
The teachings of Yoon in view of Ulloa are relied upon as set forth in the above 103 rejection of Claim 1.
In regards to Claim 3, Yoon in view of Ulloa do not expressly teach the inner liner comprises material selected from clear quartz and silicon-carbide (SiC) coated graphite, and the top plate and the bottom plate comprise material selected from clear quartz, opaque quartz, silicon-carbide (SiC) coated graphite.
Burrows teaches an inner liner 202 Fig. 2A, 2B can be made of SiC coated graphite [0021].
It has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2144.07. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). Therefore, because it is known to make an inner liner analogous to that of Yoon in view of Ulloa out of SiC coated graphite, as taught by Burrows, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to do so.
Merry teaches a cassette/boat/susceptor 168 Fig. 1 can be made out of silicon coated graphite [0034].
It has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2144.07. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). Therefore, because it is known to make a cassette analogous to that of Yoon in view of Ulloa out of SiC coated graphite, as taught by Merry, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to do so.
The resulting apparatus fulfills the limitations of the claim.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application No. 2015/0159272 to Yoon et al in view of United States Patent Application No. 2018/0272390 to Ulloa, and in further view of United States Patent Application No. 2007/0095289 to Arami et al and United States Patent Application No. 2009/0004405 to Merry et al.
The teachings of Yoon in view of Ulloa are relied upon as set forth in the above 103 rejection of Claim 1.
In regards to Claim 4, Yoon in view of Ulloa do not expressly teach the first ring reflector comprises material selected from opaque quartz or silicon- carbide (SiC) coated graphite, and the plurality of shelves comprises silicon-carbide (SiC) coated graphite.
Arami teaches a reflector plate 102 Fig. 6, 7 can be made of opaque quartz [0064].
It has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2144.07. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). Therefore, because it is known to make a reflector analogous to that of Yoon in view of Ulloa out of opaque quartz, as taught by Arami, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to do so.
Merry teaches a cassette/boat/susceptor 168 (and thus also shelves) can be made out of silicon coated graphite [0034].
It has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2144.07. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). Therefore, because it is known to make a cassette (and thus also the shelves) analogous to that of Yoon in view of Ulloa out of SiC coated graphite, as taught by Merry, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to do so.
The resulting apparatus fulfills the limitations of the claim.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application No. 2015/0159272 to Yoon et al in view of United States Patent Application No. 2018/0272390 to Ulloa, and in further view of United States Patent Application No. 2016/0348240 to Burrows et al.
The teachings of Yoon in view of Ulloa are relied upon as set forth in the above 103 rejection of Claim 1.
In regards to Claim 5, Yoon in view of Ulloa do not expressly teach the edge temperature correcting element comprises two graphite heaters surrounding the inner liner.
Burrows teaches heating elements 204 Fig. 2A, 2B can be made of silicon carbide coated graphite [0022].
It has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2144.07. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). Therefore, because it is known to make the edge temperature correcting element analogous to that of Yoon in view of Ulloa out of SiC coated graphite, as taught by Burrows, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to do so.
The resulting apparatus fulfills the limitations of the claim.
Claims 9, 12, 16 and 19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application No. 2015/0159272 to Yoon et al in view of United States Patent Application No. 2018/0272390 to Ulloa and United States Patent Application No. 2016/0348240 to Burrows et al.
In regards to Claim 9, Yoon teaches a processing chamber 120, comprising a housing structure comprising a housing structure 120 having a first side wall (left 120) and a second side wall (right of 120) opposite the first side wall in a first direction (see arrows of Fig. 7, a horizontal direction); a gas injection assembly 133 coupled to the first side wall (see bottom of 120); a gas exhaust assembly 143 coupled to the second side wall (see opposite arrangement of 133, 143 and bottom of 120); a chamber (interior housing body of 120) disposed within the housing structure; a process kit/cassette disposed within the chamber 300 Fig. 1-8, the process kit comprising a cassette having a plurality of shelves 330, 331 configured to retain a plurality of substrates thereon; a plurality of heating 121 modules disposed on a first side of the chamber and configured to provide radiative heat to the plurality of substrates; a plurality of lamp modules disposed on a second side of the chamber opposite the first side in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction and configured to provide radiative heat to the plurality of substrates; and a lift-rotation mechanism 410 configured to move the cassette in the second direction and rotate the cassette about the second direction [0033],wherein the process kit further comprises :an inner liner 110 having: a plurality of first inlet holes 132 disposed on an injection side of the inner liner and configured to be in fluid communication with the gas injection assembly 130; and a plurality of first outlet holes 142 disposed on an exhaust side of the inner liner and configured to be in fluid communication with the gas exhaust assembly 140; a top plate 310 and a bottom plate attached to an inner surface of the inner liner 420 (as it forms the bottom and top of the liner), the top plate and the bottom plate forming an enclosure together with the inner liner, the cassette being disposed within the enclosure (as shown in Fig. 8); and an edge temperature correcting element (heat line/heater 121) [0050] disposed between the inner liner and an outer housing 120 [0028-0053].
Yoon does not expressly teach a first ring reflector disposed outside of the inner liner wherein the edge temperature correcting element is disposed between the inner liner and the first ring reflector.
Ulloa teaches a vertical processing apparatus processing chamber 110, with a plurality of first inlet holes 160 disposed on an injection side of the inner liner and configured to be in fluid communication with a gas injection assembly 140, 142, 145 of a processing chamber; and a plurality of first outlet holes 170 disposed on an exhaust side of the inner liner and configured to be in fluid communication with a gas exhaust assembly 155, 172 of the processing chamber; a top plate 122 and a bottom plate 124, the top plate and the bottom plate forming an enclosure together within 150; a cassette 120 disposed within the enclosure, the cassette comprising a plurality of shelves 250 configured to retain a plurality of substrates 200 thereon; a first ring reflector 220 disposed outside of the cassette 120; and an outer liner/chamber body 110and an edge temperature correcting element 210 (heating element which can be a resistive coil, lamp or ceramic heater [0029]) disposed on an inner circumference of reflector 220 (which is ring shaped as shown in 220 Fig. 2) which is mounted on an outer liner 110 [0018-0073].
It has been held that an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982). See MPEP 2144.06 II. Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to change the edge temperature correcting element and outer housing chamber structure in Yoon with that of Ulloa, which includes a ring reflector 210 on an outer circumference of heater 210, such that the ring reflector is disposed outside of the inner liner, as an art analogous structure for heating, chamber walls, and reflectors. See MPEP 2143 Motivation A.
Yoon does not expressly teach a plurality of upper lamp modules and a plurality of lower lamp modules.
The heater of Ulloa 210 is analogous to the edge temperature correcting element 121 of Yoon, and are made out of lamps, the lamps being modules that are mounted on an outer liner/outer housing 120, as it is a vertical heating element surrounding a cassette in a processing space to process wafers, which includes plasma treatment, arranged on an upper and lower side of the quartz chamber perpendicularly as they are arranged along the vertical processing chamber and opposite to each other as they are arranged on upper and lower sides as broadly recited in the claim [0006].
It has been held that an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982). See MPEP 2144.06 II. Thus it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention before the effective filing date to have changed the generic heating elements of Yoon with the lamps of Ulloa, as art analogous heating elements. The resulting structure would form upper and lower lamp modules, as broadly recited in the claim as it would form upper and lower areas of lamps along the vertical axis of the processing chamber.
Yoon in view of Ulloa do not expressly teach the chamber is a quartz chamber.
Burrows teaches an inner liner 2252 Fig. 2A, 2B can be made of quartz [0021].
It has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2144.07. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). Therefore, because it is known to make an inner liner analogous to that of Yoon in view of Ulloa out of SiC coated graphite, as taught by Burrows, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to do so.
In regards to Claim 12, Yoon in view of Ulloa do not expressly teach the edge temperature correcting element comprises two graphite heaters surrounding the inner liner.
Burrows teaches heating elements 204 Fig. 2A, 2B can be made of silicon carbide coated graphite [0022].
It has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2144.07. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). Therefore, because it is known to make the edge temperature correcting element analogous to that of Yoon in view of Ulloa out of SiC coated graphite, as taught by Burrows, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to do so.
The resulting apparatus fulfills the limitations of the claim.
In regards to Claim 16, Yoon teaches a processing chamber 120, comprising a housing structure comprising a housing structure 120 having a first side wall (left 120) and a second side wall (right of 120) opposite the first side wall in a first direction (see arrows of Fig. 7, a horizontal direction); a gas injection assembly 133 coupled to the first side wall (see bottom of 120); a gas exhaust assembly 143 coupled to the second side wall (see opposite arrangement of 133, 143 and bottom of 120); a chamber (interior housing body of 120) disposed within the housing structure; a process kit/cassette disposed within the chamber 300 Fig. 1-8, the process kit comprising a cassette having a plurality of shelves 330, 331 configured to retain a plurality of substrates thereon; a plurality of heating 121 modules disposed on a first side of the chamber and configured to provide radiative heat to the plurality of substrates; a plurality of lamp modules disposed on a second side of the chamber opposite the first side in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction and configured to provide radiative heat to the plurality of substrates; and a lift-rotation mechanism 410 configured to move the cassette in the second direction and rotate the cassette about the second direction [0033],wherein the process kit further comprises :an inner liner 110 having: a plurality of first inlet holes 132 disposed on an injection side of the inner liner and configured to be in fluid communication with the gas injection assembly 130; and a plurality of first outlet holes 142 disposed on an exhaust side of the inner liner and configured to be in fluid communication with the gas exhaust assembly 140; a top plate 310 and a bottom plate attached to an inner surface of the inner liner 420 (as it forms the bottom and top of the liner), the top plate and the bottom plate forming an enclosure together with the inner liner, the cassette being disposed within the enclosure (as shown in Fig. 8); and an edge temperature correcting element (heat line/heater 121) [0050] disposed between the inner liner and an outer housing 120 [0028-0053].
Yoon does not expressly teach a first ring reflector disposed outside of the inner liner wherein the edge temperature correcting element is disposed between the inner liner and the first ring reflector.
Ulloa teaches a vertical processing apparatus processing chamber 110, with a plurality of first inlet holes 160 disposed on an injection side of the inner liner and configured to be in fluid communication with a gas injection assembly 140, 142, 145 of a processing chamber; and a plurality of first outlet holes 170 disposed on an exhaust side of the inner liner and configured to be in fluid communication with a gas exhaust assembly 155, 172 of the processing chamber; a top plate 122 and a bottom plate 124, the top plate and the bottom plate forming an enclosure together within 150; a cassette 120 disposed within the enclosure, the cassette comprising a plurality of shelves 250 configured to retain a plurality of substrates 200 thereon; a first ring reflector 220 disposed outside of the cassette 120; and an outer liner/chamber body 110and an edge temperature correcting element 210 (heating element which can be a resistive coil, lamp or ceramic heater [0029]) disposed on an inner circumference of reflector 220 (which is ring shaped as shown in 220 Fig. 2) which is mounted on an outer liner 110 [0018-0073].
It has been held that an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982). See MPEP 2144.06 II. Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to change the edge temperature correcting element and outer housing chamber structure in Yoon with that of Ulloa, which includes a ring reflector 210 on an outer circumference of heater 210, such that the ring reflector is disposed outside of the inner liner, as an art analogous structure for heating, chamber walls, and reflectors. See MPEP 2143 Motivation A.
Yoon does not expressly teach a plurality of upper lamp modules and a plurality of lower lamp modules.
The heater of Ulloa 210 is analogous to the edge temperature correcting element 121 of Yoon, and are made out of lamps, the lamps being modules that are mounted on an outer liner/outer housing 120, as it is a vertical heating element surrounding a cassette in a processing space to process wafers, which includes plasma treatment, arranged on an upper and lower side of the quartz chamber perpendicularly as they are arranged along the vertical processing chamber and opposite to each other as they are arranged on upper and lower sides as broadly recited in the claim [0006].
It has been held that an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982). See MPEP 2144.06 II. Thus it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention before the effective filing date to have changed the generic heating elements of Yoon with the lamps of Ulloa, as art analogous heating elements. The resulting structure would form upper and lower lamp modules, as broadly recited in the claim as it would form upper and lower areas of lamps along the vertical axis of the processing chamber.
Yoon does not expressly teach a transfer robot configured to transfer the plurality of substrates into and from the process kit disposed in the processing chamber.
Ulloa teaches a transfer mechanism (not shown) that transfer the substrates into the processing chambers and the cassette in the form of a robot, thus transferring substrates more efficiently [0035].
As it is known to provide a transfer robot in a processing system, as taught by Ulloa, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Yoon as taught by Ulloa to include the transfer robot. One would be motivated to do so in order to move substrates as needed efficiently. See MPEP 2143, Exemplary Rationales A.
Yoon in view of Ulloa do not expressly teach the chamber is a quartz chamber.
Burrows teaches an inner liner 2252 Fig. 2A, 2B can be made of quartz [0021].
It has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2144.07. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). Therefore, because it is known to make an inner liner analogous to that of Yoon in view of Ulloa out of SiC coated graphite, as taught by Burrows, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to do so.
In regards to Claim 12, Yoon in view of Ulloa do not expressly teach the edge temperature correcting element comprises two graphite heaters surrounding the inner liner.
Burrows teaches heating elements 204 Fig. 2A, 2B can be made of silicon carbide coated graphite [0022].
It has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2144.07. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). Therefore, because it is known to make the edge temperature correcting element analogous to that of Yoon in view of Ulloa out of SiC coated graphite, as taught by Burrows, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to do so.
The resulting apparatus fulfills the limitations of the claim.
In regards to Claim 19, Yoon in view of Ulloa do not expressly teach the edge temperature correcting element comprises two graphite heaters surrounding the inner liner.
Burrows teaches heating elements 204 Fig. 2A, 2B can be made of silicon carbide coated graphite [0022].
It has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2144.07. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). Therefore, because it is known to make the edge temperature correcting element analogous to that of Yoon in view of Ulloa out of SiC coated graphite, as taught by Burrows, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to do so.
The resulting apparatus fulfills the limitations of the claim.
Claims 10 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application No. 2015/0159272 to Yoon et al in view of United States Patent Application No. 2018/0272390 to Ulloa and United States Patent Application No. 2016/0348240 to Burrows et al, and in further view of United States Patent Application No. 2015/0013595 to Janzen et al.
The teachings of Yoon in view of Ulloa and Burrows are relied upon as set forth in the above 103 rejection of Claim 1.
In regards to Claims 10 and 17, Yoon in view of Ulloa and Burrows teach an outer liner (110 of Ulloa) outside of the first ring reflector but does not expressly teach the outer liner comprises opaque quartz or silicon carbide coated graphite.
Janzen teaches a chamber 1 Fig. 1, or outer liner, is made out of silicon carbide coated graphite [0033].
It has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2144.07. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). Therefore, because it is known to make an outer liner/chamber analogous to that of Yoon in view of Ulloa and Burrows out of SiC coated graphite, as taught by Janzen, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to do so. The resulting apparatus would fulfill the limitations of Claim 2.
Claims 11 and 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application No. 2015/0159272 to Yoon et al in view of United States Patent Application No. 2018/0272390 to Ulloa and United States Patent Application No. 2016/0348240 to Burrows et al, and in further view of United States Patent Application No. 2009/0004405 to Merry et al and United States Patent Application No. 2007/0095289 to Arami et al.
The teachings of Yoon in view of Ulloa and Burrows are relied upon as set forth in the above 103 rejection of Claim 1.
In regards to Claims 11 and 18, Yoon in view of Ulloa and Burrows do not expressly teach the inner liner comprises material selected from clear quartz and silicon-carbide (SiC) coated graphite, the top plate and the bottom plate comprise material selected from clear quartz, opaque quarts, silicon-carbide (SiC) coated graphite, the first ring reflector comprises material selected from opaque quartz or silicon- carbide (SiC) coated graphite, and the plurality of shelves comprises silicon-carbide (SiC) coated graphite.
Burrows teaches an inner liner 202 Fig. 2A, 2B can be made of SiC coated graphite [0021].
It has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2144.07. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). Therefore, because it is known to make an inner liner analogous to that of Yoon in view of Ulloa out of SiC coated graphite, as taught by Burrows, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to do so.
Merry teaches a cassette/boat/susceptor 168 Fig. 1 can be made out of silicon coated graphite [0034] such that the top and bottom plates are made out of SiC coated graphite as are the shelves.
It has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2144.07. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). Therefore, because it is known to make a cassette analogous to that of Yoon in view of Ulloa out of SiC coated graphite, as taught by Merry, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to do so.
Arami teaches a reflector plate 102 Fig. 6, 7 can be made of opaque quartz [0064].
It has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2144.07. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). Therefore, because it is known to make a reflector analogous to that of Yoon in view of Ulloa out of opaque quartz, as taught by Arami, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to do so.
The resulting apparatus fulfills the limitations of the claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. United States Patent Application No. 2019/0228982 to Chen et al (which teaches a cassette) and United States Patent Application No. 2002/0005400 to Gat, which teaches lamp modules on the top and bottom of a quartz chamber.
/TIFFANY Z NUCKOLS/Examiner, Art Unit 1716 /Jeffrie R Lund/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716