DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species C in the reply filed on 08/11/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1/a2) as being anticipated by United States Patent Application No. 2019/0348263 to Okunishi.
In regards to Claim 1, Okunishi teaches a substrate support assembly 14 Fig. 1, 2, 7 comprising: a baseplate 50, 52, 54 to support at least one layer W to be disposed thereon; and a first printed circuit board 88 coupled to the baseplate by a plurality of mounting assemblies 89, 86, 87, 74 that allow the baseplate to move relative to the first printed circuit board (as the wires of 72 can be extended and flexes 89 while 88 remains connected [0024-0136]).
The Examiner notes that this limitation of relative movement is a functional limitation of the mounting assembly, which does not invoke 112(f) as the structural term of a “mounting assembl(y)” (See MPEP 2181 I A) and as such only needs to be capable of performing said function. It has been held that claims directed to apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959). Also, a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). MPEP 2115. As the apparatus of Okunishi is substantially the same as the claimed apparatus, the apparatus of Okunishi would be capable of fulfilling the limitations of the claim and thus be able to allow the baseplate to move relative to the first printed circuit board, there being no structural difference between the apparatus of Okunishi and that of the claim.
In regards to Claim 2, Okunishi teaches the mounting assemblies allow displacement of the baseplate relative to the first printed circuit board without transferring such displacement to the first printed circuit board, as the mounting assembly is flexible in 89, as per the rejection of Claim 1.
In regards to Claim 3, Okunishi teaches the baseplate comprises a plurality of heaters HT [0045]; and wherein the mounting assemblies allow expansion of the baseplate along at least one of X, Y, and Z axes due to heat while not allowing such expansion to transfer to the first printed circuit board, as broadly recited as Okunishi teaches the mounting assemblies holds the circuit board 88 while allowing flexing mounting assembly 89.
In regards to Claim 4, Okunishi teaches the baseplate comprises a plurality of cooling channels 50f [0037]; and wherein the mounting assemblies allow contraction of the baseplate along at least one of X, Y, and Z axes due to cooling while not allowing such contraction to transfer to the first printed circuit board, as 89 flexes as needed.
In regards to Claim 5, Okunishi teaches the baseplate comprises a plurality of heaters HT and cooling channels 50f; and wherein the mounting assemblies allow displacement of the baseplate along at least one of X, Y, and Z axes due to heating and cooling while not allowing such displacement to transfer to the first printed circuit 88 board, as the mounting assembly has a flexible 89 and thus flexes around 88.
In regards to Claim 6, Okunishi teaches a second printed circuit board 85 fixed to a facility plate 66 and connected to the first printed circuit board 88, wherein the mounting assemblies allow the baseplate to move while keeping the first and second printed circuit boards stationary relative to each other, as 89 is only connected to 88 and thus does not move 85 and 88 relative to each other.
In regards to Claim 14, Okunishi teaches a heating plate HT, 52 arranged on the baseplate, the heating plate including heating elements HT; wherein the first printed circuit board includes connections 89, 52t to the heating elements; and wherein the mounting assemblies allow expansion of the baseplate along at least one of X, Y, and Z axes due to heat while not allowing such expansion to transfer to the first printed circuit board, as 89 flexes.
In regards to Claim 15, Okunishi teaches the baseplate includes cooling channels 50f; and wherein the mounting assemblies allow contraction of the baseplate along at least one of X, Y, and Z axes due to cooling while not allowing such contraction to transfer to the first printed circuit board, as 89 flexes.
In regards to Claim 16, Okunishi teaches the baseplate includes cooling channels 50f; and wherein the mounting assemblies allow displacement of the baseplate along at least one of X, Y, and Z axes due to heating and cooling while not allowing such displacement to transfer to the first printed circuit board, as 89 flexes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10, 12, 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application No. 2019/0348263 to Okunishi in view of United States Patent Application No. 2008/0016684 to Olechnowicz.
In regards to Claim 1, Okunishi teaches a substrate support assembly Fig. 1, 2 comprising: a baseplate 50, 52, 54 to support at least one layer W to be disposed thereon; and a first printed circuit board 89 coupled to the baseplate by a plurality of mounting assemblies 74 (as shown in Fig. 10, electrical terminals and electrical connectors [0069, 0024-0136]) but does not expressly teach the mounting assemblies that allow the baseplate to move relative to the first printed circuit board.
The Examiner notes that the structure of the mounting assemblies are found in Claim 7, which is the structural limitation that allows for the baseplate to move relative to the first printed circuit board. Although this is a functional limitation, as per the 102 rejection above, for the purposes of examining subsequent dependent claims and compact prosecution, functional limitation has been given structural weight as per the limitations found in Claim 7.
Olechnowicz teaches electrical terminals and electrical connectors that are corrosion resistant (Abstract, Fig. 6, 19 (generically relied upon, 20, 21) wherein the connector rod 210 and made of etch resistant materials forms a mounting assembly with spacers 404 and comprises a fastener having a first portion that passes through a hole in the first printed circuit board and a thread portion that screws into the baseplate (as broadly recited as it is threaded and thus implicitly when it goes through a hole it screws through and into said hole); a first spacer arranged around the first portion between the first printed circuit board and a first end of the fastener (as it fills the hole); and a second spacer arranged around the first portion between the first printed circuit board and the baseplate, as shown in the annotated copy of Fig. 21 below, wherein the mounting assemblies allow movement of the baseplate along at least one of X, Y, and Z axes while not allowing such movement to transfer to the first printed circuit board, as shown by the spacing and gaps of the fastener to the hole, the perimeters of the first and second spacers are greater than a perimeter of the hole in the first printed circuit board, as shown in the annotated copy of Fig. 21 below, wherein a length of the first spacer is less than a distance between the first printed circuit board and the first end of the fastener, and the first printed circuit board has a thickness; and a sum of the thickness of the first printed circuit board and lengths of the first and second spacers is less than a length of the first portion of the fastener, as the fastener exceeds the entire length as shown in Fig. 21 [0037-0115]. Olechnowicz teaches that these are art analogous electrical fasteners with the added benefit or corrosion resistances [0003-0015].
It has been held that an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982). See MPEP 2144.06 II. Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have substituted the generic electrical fasteners of Okunishi with the specific Olechnowicz electrical fasteners as art analogous electrical fasteners with the added benefit of being corrosion resistant. See MPEP 2143 Motivation A. The resulting apparatus fulfills the limitations of the claim and the gaps and spacings of the fasteners and spacers allows for wiggle room of thermal expansion/contraction of the base plate to not interfere with the circuit boards.
In regards to Claim 2, Okunishi in view of Olechnowicz teaches the mounting assemblies allow displacement of the baseplate relative to the first printed circuit board without transferring such displacement to the first printed circuit board, as per the gaps and structural features in the rejection of Claim 1 above.
In regards to Claim 3, Okunishi in view of Olechnowicz teaches the baseplate comprises a plurality of heaters; and wherein the mounting assemblies allow expansion of the baseplate along at least one of X, Y, and Z axes due to heat while not allowing such expansion to transfer to the first printed circuit board, as per the gaps and structural features in the rejection of Claim 1 above.
In regards to Claim 4, Okunishi in view of Olechnowicz teaches the baseplate comprises a plurality of cooling channels 50f [0037]; and wherein the mounting assemblies allow contraction of the baseplate along at least one of X, Y, and Z axes due to cooling while not allowing such contraction to transfer to the first printed circuit board, , as per the gaps and structural features in the rejection of Claim 1 above.
In regards to Claim 5, Okunishi in view of Olechnowicz teaches the baseplate comprises a plurality of heaters HT and cooling channels 50f; and wherein the mounting assemblies allow displacement of the baseplate along at least one of X, Y, and Z axes due to heating and cooling while not allowing such displacement to transfer to the first printed circuit 88 board, , as per the gaps and structural features in the rejection of Claim 1 above.
In regards to Claim 6, Okunishi in view of Olechnowicz teaches a second printed circuit board 85 fixed to a facility plate 66 and connected to the first printed circuit board 88, wherein the mounting assemblies allow the baseplate to move while keeping the first and second printed circuit boards stationary relative to each other, as per the gaps and structural features in the rejection of Claim 1 above.
In regards to Claim 7, Okunishi in view of Olechnowicz teaches each mounting assembly comprises: a fastener having a first portion that passes through a hole in the first printed circuit board and a thread portion that screws into the baseplate; a first spacer arranged around the first portion between the first printed circuit board and a first end of the fastener; and a second spacer arranged around the first portion between the first printed circuit board and the baseplate, as per the gaps and structural features in the rejection of Claim 1 above.
In regards to Claim 8, Okunishi in view of Olechnowicz teaches the mounting assemblies allow movement of the baseplate along at least one of X, Y, and Z axes while not allowing such movement to transfer to the first printed circuit board. , as per the gaps and structural features in the rejection of Claim 1 above.
In regards to Claim 9, Okunishi in view of Olechnowicz teaches perimeters of the first and second spacers are greater than a perimeter of the hole in the first printed circuit board, as per the gaps and structural features in the rejection of Claim 1 above.
In regards to Claim 10, Okunishi in view of Olechnowicz teaches a length of the first spacer is less than a distance between the first printed circuit board and the first end of the fastener, as per the gaps and structural features in the rejection of Claim 1 above.
In regards to Claim 12, Okunishi in view of Olechnowicz teaches the first printed circuit board has a thickness; and a sum of the thickness of the first printed circuit board and lengths of the first and second spacers is less than a length of the first portion of the fastener, as per the gaps and structural features in the rejection of Claim 1 above.
In regards to Claim 14, Okunishi in view of Olechnowicz teaches a heating plate HT, 52 arranged on the baseplate, the heating plate including heating elements HT; wherein the first printed circuit board includes connections 52t to the heating elements; and wherein the mounting assemblies allow expansion of the baseplate along at least one of X, Y, and Z axes due to heat while not allowing such expansion to transfer to the first printed circuit board, as per the gaps and structural features in the rejection of Claim 1 above.
In regards to Claim 15, Okunishi in view of Olechnowicz teaches the baseplate includes cooling channels 50f; and wherein the mounting assemblies allow contraction of the baseplate along at least one of X, Y, and Z axes due to cooling while not allowing such contraction to transfer to the first printed circuit board, as 89 flexes.
In regards to Claim 16, Okunishi in view of Olechnowicz teaches the baseplate includes cooling channels 50f; and wherein the mounting assemblies allow displacement of the baseplate along at least one of X, Y, and Z axes due to heating and cooling while not allowing such displacement to transfer to the first printed circuit board, as per the gaps and structural features in the rejection of Claim 1 above.
In regards to Claim 17, Okunishi in view of Olechnowicz teaches a heating plate HT, 52 arranged on the baseplate, the heating plate including heating elements HT; and the first printed circuit board comprises a first connector 52t including connections to the heater, the substrate support assembly further comprising: a facility plate FD to receive power from a power supply HC; and a second printed circuit board 85 fixed to the facility plate and including a second connector 86 that is mated to the first connector to supply the power to the first printed circuit board (through 87, 88, 89), wherein the mounting assemblies allow the baseplate to expand along at least one of X, Y, and Z axes due to heat while keeping the second connector mated to the first connector, as per the gaps and structural features in the rejection of Claim 1 above.
In regards to Claim 18, Okunishi in view of Olechnowicz teaches the baseplate includes cooling channels 50f; and the mounting assemblies allow the baseplate to expand and contract along at least one of X, Y, and Z axes due to heating and cooling while keeping the second connector mated to the first connector, as per the gaps and structural features in the rejection of Claim 1 above.
In regards to Claim 19, Okunishi teaches a system Fig. 1 comprising: a subsystem Fig. 2 subjected to at least one of heating and cooling; a first printed circuit board 85 coupled to the subsystem by a plurality of mounting assemblies 80a and including a first connector (electrical connectors of 80a); a second printed circuit board (82 Fig. 3) mounted on a fixed object 80 and including a second connector 80b that is inserted into the first connector, as they are all the same line [0069, 0024-0136].
Okunishi teaches each mounting assembly includes a fastener having a first portion that passes through a hole in the first printed circuit board and a thread portion that screws into the subsystem; a first spacer arranged around the first portion between the first printed circuit board and a first end of the fastener; and a second spacer arranged around the first portion between the first printed circuit board and the subsystem, wherein perimeters of the first and second spacers are greater than a perimeter of the hole in the first printed circuit board, and wherein a sum of a thickness of the first printed circuit board and lengths of the first and second spacers is less than a length of the first portion of the fastener.
The Examiner notes that the structure of the mounting assemblies are found in Claim 7, which is the structural limitation that allows for the baseplate to move relative to the first printed circuit board. Although this is a functional limitation, as per the 102 rejection above, for the purposes of examining subsequent dependent claims and compact prosecution, functional limitation has been given structural weight as per the limitations found in Claim 7.
Olechnowicz teaches electrical terminals and electrical connectors that are corrosion resistant (Abstract, Fig. 6, 19 (generically relied upon, 20, 21) wherein the connector rod 210 and made of etch resistant materials forms a mounting assembly with spacers 404 and comprises a fastener having a first portion that passes through a hole in the first printed circuit board and a thread portion that screws into the baseplate (as broadly recited as it is threaded and thus implicitly when it goes through a hole it screws through and into said hole); a first spacer arranged around the first portion between the first printed circuit board and a first end of the fastener (as it fills the hole); and a second spacer arranged around the first portion between the first printed circuit board and the baseplate, as shown in the annotated copy of Fig. 21 below, wherein the mounting assemblies allow movement of the baseplate along at least one of X, Y, and Z axes while not allowing such movement to transfer to the first printed circuit board, as shown by the spacing and gaps of the fastener to the hole, the perimeters of the first and second spacers are greater than a perimeter of the hole in the first printed circuit board, as shown in the annotated copy of Fig. 21 below, wherein a length of the first spacer is less than a distance between the first printed circuit board and the first end of the fastener, and the first printed circuit board has a thickness; and a sum of the thickness of the first printed circuit board and lengths of the first and second spacers is less than a length of the first portion of the fastener, as the fastener exceeds the entire length as shown in Fig. 21 [0037-0115]. Olechnowicz teaches that these are art analogous electrical fasteners with the added benefit or corrosion resistances [0003-0015].
It has been held that an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982). See MPEP 2144.06 II. Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have substituted the generic electrical fasteners of Okunishi with the specific Olechnowicz electrical fasteners as art analogous electrical fasteners with the added benefit of being corrosion resistant. See MPEP 2143 Motivation A. The resulting apparatus fulfills the limitations of the claim and the gaps and spacings of the fasteners and spacers allows for wiggle room of thermal expansion/contraction of the base plate to not interfere with the circuit boards.
In regards to Claim 20, Okunishi in view of Olechnowicz teaches the mounting assemblies allow displacement of the subsystem along at least one of X, Y, and Z axes due to heating and cooling while not allowing such displacement to transfer to the first printed circuit board and while keeping the first and second connectors firmly connected to each other, as per the rejection of claim 20 above wherein 80a and 80b are connected to each other.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record, whether it be alone or in combination, does not expressly teach a length of the second spacer is less than a distance between the first printed circuit board and the baseplate or that the thickness of the first printed circuit board and the lengths of the spaces is less than a shoulder length of the shoulder screw.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. United States Patent Application No. 2021/0313202 to Takahashi et al, which teaches a plurality of circuit boards an connections therein.
/TIFFANY Z NUCKOLS/Examiner, Art Unit 1716
/Jeffrie R Lund/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716