DETAILED ACTION
Status
Acknowledgment is made of the amendment filed on 2/23/2026, which amended claims 1, 8, 16, and 18. Claims 1-9, 11, 14-16, 18-19, 22-28 are currently pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 22 and 26-28 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 22, line 3, “removing the substrate from the lithographic process” should be changed to --removing the substrate-- to correct antecedence following from amendments to claim 18.
Claim 26, line 1, “the computer program product” should be changed to --the computer program product comprising the non-transitory computer-readable medium-- to improve clarity that the claim depends from a claim directed to a category of statutory subject matter and that claim 26 is itself directed to a category of statutory subject matter.
Claim 27, line 1, “the computer program product” should be changed to --the computer program product comprising the non-transitory computer-readable medium-- to improve clarity that the claim depends from a claim directed to a category of statutory subject matter and that claim 27 is itself directed to statutory subject matter.
Claim 27, lines 3-4, “removal of the substrate from the lithographic process” should be changed to --removal of the substrate-- to correct antecedence following from amendments to claim 18.
Claim 28, line 1, “the computer program product” should be changed to --the computer program product comprising the non-transitory computer-readable medium-- to improve clarity that the claim depends from a claim directed to a category of statutory subject matter and that claim 28 is itself directed to statutory subject matter.
Appropriate correction is required to place claims in better form.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a release mechanism” in lines 3-6 in claim 19; “a release mechanism” in lines 4-6 in claim 26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8, 9, 11, 14, 15, 16, 18, 19, 22-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Endo (US PGPub 2013/0258309) in view of Tian et al. (US PGPub 2020/0075389, Tian hereinafter).
Regarding claim 8, Endo discloses a stage positioning system (Figs. 1, 2, 5, 9-11, 16, and 19, paras. [0116]-[0117], [0131], [0136]-[0137], a substrate holding device 10, 60, 70, 110 holds a wafer W in a substrate stage 81 in an exposure apparatus 80, 90) comprising:
a substrate support system arranged to support a substrate (Figs. 1, 2, 5, 9-11, 16, and 19, paras. [0040], [0046], [0049], [0051], [0068], [0084]-[0085], [0089]-[0094], [0104], [0116]-[0117], [0131], [0136]-[0137], a substrate holding device 10, 60, 70, 110 holds a wafer W);
a clamping system arranged to hold the substrate on the substrate support (Figs. 1, 2, 5, 6, 9-11, 16, and 19, paras. [0040], [0046], [0049], [0054], [0076]-[0077], [0084]-[0093], [0117], [0130]-[0138], a vacuum evacuation system 11, electrostatic adsorption system, or magnetic adsorption system provides an adsorption force to the wafer W mounted on the chuck body 1 during exposure);
a processor (Figs. 1-5, 8-19, paras. [0040], [0046]-[0050], [0122]-[0127], [0129], [0130]-[0138], main control section 12); and either:
a) a sensor arranged to measure a time taken for a substrate to be removed from the substrate support, wherein the processor is arranged to compare the time measured by the sensor to a reference time, and to generate a signal when the measured time deviates from the reference time by more than a predetermined amount, or
b) a sensor (Figs. 1-5, 8-19, paras. [0046]-[0048], pressure sensors 15) arranged to measure a change in a pressure used by the clamping system to clamp the substrate to the substrate support (Figs. 1-5, 8-19, paras. [0040], [0046]-[0050], [0053]-[0060], [0071]-[0074], [0095]-[0102], [0105]-[0115], [0122]-[0127], [0129], [0130]-[0138], the pressure sensors 15 measure the pressure used to adsorb the wafer W to the surface of the chuck body 1). Endo does not appear to explicitly describe a) a sensor arranged to measure a time taken for a substrate to be removed from the substrate support, wherein the processor is arranged to compare the time measured by the sensor to a reference time, and to generate a signal when the measured time deviates from the reference time by more than a predetermined amount or b) in which the processor is arranged to: responsive to the measured pressure meeting or crossing a threshold pressure, compare a time that has elapsed from a start of the change in pressure until the measured pressure meets or crosses the threshold pressure with a threshold time associated with the threshold pressure, wherein times exceeding the threshold time indicate no deformation or defect associated with a substrate and times less than the threshold time indicate a deformation associated with a substrate, and generate a signal indicating that the substrate has an associated deformation or defect responsive to the comparison indicating that the elapsed time is less than or equal to the threshold time.
Tian discloses a sensor arranged to measure a time taken for the substrate to be removed from the substrate support, and arranged to compare the time measured by the sensor to a reference time, and to generate a signal when the measured time deviates from the reference time by more than a predetermined amount (Figs. 1-5, paras. [0028], [0030], [0035]-[0038], [0040]-[0050], [0054]-[0059], the pin lifter includes integrated sensors to monitor the operation of the lifter mechanism. If the pins are not indicated in the expected position within a predetermined time period, an alarm or annunciator signals an operator).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a sensor arranged to measure a time taken for the substrate to be removed from the substrate support, and arranged to compare the time measured by the sensor to a reference time, and to generate a signal when the measured time deviates from the reference time by more than a predetermined amount as taught by Tian with the processor in the stage positioning system as taught by Endo since including a sensor arranged to measure a time taken for the substrate to be removed from the substrate support, wherein the processor is arranged to compare the time measured by the sensor to a reference time, and to generate a signal when the measured time deviates from the reference time by more than a predetermined amount is commonly used to effectively monitor the dechuck process for the wafer and to determine if the wafer is broken (Tian, paras. [0016]-[0017], [0037]-[0038], [0050], [0054], [0057]-[0059]).
Regarding claim 9, Endo discloses a processor (Endo, Figs. 1-5, 8-19, paras. [0040], [0046]-[0050], [0122]-[0127], [0129], [0130]-[0138], main control section 12), but Endo does not appear to explicitly describe the sensor arranged to measure a time taken, wherein the processor is arranged to compare the time measured, wherein the clamping system is arranged to hold the substrate in a support plane, and wherein the sensor is arranged to measure the time taken for the substrate to be moved from the support plane to a position separated from the support plane.
Tian discloses the sensor arranged to measure a time taken, wherein the processor is arranged to compare the time measured, wherein the clamping system is arranged to hold the substrate in a support plane, and wherein the sensor is arranged to measure the time taken for the substrate to be moved from the support plane to a position separated from the support plane (Figs. 1-5, paras. [0028], [0030], [0035]-[0038], [0040]-[0050], [0054]-[0059], the integrated sensors monitor the operation of the lifter mechanism for moving the wafer 101 to a position above the support surface. If the pins are not indicated in the expected position within a predetermined time period, an alarm or annunciator signals an operator).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the sensor arranged to measure a time taken, wherein the processor is arranged to compare the time measured, wherein the clamping system is arranged to hold the substrate in a support plane, and wherein the sensor is arranged to measure the time taken for the substrate to be moved from the support plane to a position separated from the support plane as taught by Tian with the processor in the stage positioning system as taught by Endo since including the sensor arranged to measure a time taken, wherein the processor is arranged to compare the time measured, wherein the clamping system is arranged to hold the substrate in a support plane, and wherein the sensor is arranged to measure the time taken for the substrate to be moved from the support plane to a position separated from the support plane is commonly used to effectively monitor the dechuck process for the wafer and to determine if the wafer is broken (Tian, paras. [0016]-[0017], [0037]-[0038], [0050], [0054], [0057]-[0059]).
Regarding claim 11, Endo as modified by Tian discloses the sensor arranged to measure a time taken and wherein the sensor arranged to measure a time taken is a pressure sensor or a thermal sensor (Endo, Figs. 1-5, 8-19, paras. [0040], [0046]-[0050], [0053]-[0600], [0096]-[0115], the pressure sensors 15 measure the pressure information, including pressure changes over time).
Regarding claim 14, Endo as modified by Tian discloses wherein the stage positioning system is further arranged to, if the signal is generated, remove the substrate from the stage positioning system (Endo, Figs. 1-5, 8-19, paras. [0054]-[0055], [0060]-[0061], [0065]-[0068], [0070]-[0075], [0100]-[0105], [0111], [0113]-[0124], [0129]-[0138], the status information of the wafer W upon adsorption to the substrate stage is generated, and when the status of the wafer is “substrate deformation” or “substrate anomaly” the main control section 12 outputs the status to the display. The transport device 82 additionally changes the speed and acceleration for removing the wafer W from the substrate stage 81 when the status is classified as “substrate deformation” or “substrate anomaly” to prevent mishandling the wafer).
Regarding claim 15, Endo as modified by Tian discloses a lithographic apparatus comprising the stage positioning system according to claim 8 (see claim 8 rejection above, Figs. 1-5, 8-19, paras. [0040], [0040], [0046], [0049], [0054], [0116]-[0125], [0130]-[0138], the wafer W is mounted on the chuck body 1 during exposure in an exposure apparatus).
Regarding claim 16, Endo discloses a processor (Endo, Figs. 1-5, 8-19, paras. [0040], [0046]-[0050], [0122]-[0127], [0129], [0130]-[0138], main control section 12), but Endo does not appear to explicitly describe comprising the sensor arranged to measure a time taken for the substrate to be removed from the substrate support, and wherein the processor is arranged to compare the time measured by the sensor to a reference time, and to generate a signal when the measured time deviates from the reference time by more than a predetermined amount.
Tian discloses comprising the sensor arranged to measure a time taken for a substrate to be removed from the substrate support, and arranged to compare the time measured by the sensor to a reference time, and to generate a signal when the measured time deviates from the reference time by more than a predetermined amount (Figs. 1-5, paras. [0028], [0030], [0035]-[0038], [0040]-[0050], [0054]-[0059], the pin lifter includes integrated sensors to monitor the operation of the lifter mechanism. If the pins are not indicated in the expected position within a predetermined time period, an alarm or annunciator signals an operator).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included comprising the sensor arranged to measure a time taken for a substrate to be removed from the substrate support, and arranged to compare the time measured by the sensor to a reference time, and to generate a signal when the measured time deviates from the reference time by more than a predetermined amount as taught by Tian with the processor in the stage positioning system as taught by Endo since including comprising the sensor arranged to measure a time taken for a substrate to be removed from the substrate support, and wherein the processor is arranged to compare the time measured by the sensor to a reference time, and to generate a signal when the measured time deviates from the reference time by more than a predetermined amount is commonly used to effectively monitor the dechucking process for the wafer and to determine if the wafer is broken (Tian, paras. [0016]-[0017], [0037]-[0038], [0050], [0054], [0057]-[0059]).
Regarding claim 18, Endo discloses a method (Figs. 1, 2, 5, 9-11, 16, and 19, paras. [0116]-[0117], [0131], [0136]-[0138], a substrate holding device 10, 60, 70, 110 holds a wafer W in a substrate stage 81 in an exposure apparatus 80, 90 to expose a wafer), the method comprising:
clamping a substrate to a support structure (Figs. 1, 2, 5, 6, 9-11, 16, and 19, paras. [0040], [0046], [0049], [0054], [0076]-[0077], [0084]-[0093], [0117], [0130]-[0138], a vacuum evacuation system 11, electrostatic adsorption system, or magnetic adsorption system provides an adsorption force to the wafer W mounted on the chuck body 1 during exposure);
processing the clamped substrate (Figs. 1, 16, 19, paras. [0040], [0046], [0049], [0054], [0076]-[0077], [0084]-[0093], [0116]-[0117], [0130]-[0138], the wafer W is exposed to a projected image of the pattern on the reticle while the substrate is clamped); and
removing the substrate from the support structure (Figs. 1, 16, 19, paras. [0040], [0046], [0049], [0054], [0076]-[0077], [0084]-[0093], [0116]-[0118], [0121]-[0138], the wafer W is removed from the substrate stage in the lithography apparatus),
either:
a) measuring a time taken to remove the substrate from the support structure, comparing the measured time to a predetermined reference time, and responsive to the measured time deviating from the reference time by more than a predetermined amount, generating a signal, or
b) measuring a change in a pressure used to clamp the substrate to the support structure during the clamping (Figs. 1-5, 8-19, paras. [0040], [0046]-[0050], [0053]-[0060], [0071]-[0074], [0095]-[0102], [0105]-[0115], [0122]-[0127], [0129], [0130]-[0138], the pressure sensors 15 measure the pressure used to adsorb the wafer W to the surface of the chuck body 1). Endo does not appear to explicitly describe a) measuring a time taken to remove the substrate from the support structure, comparing the measured time to a predetermined reference time, and responsive to the measured time deviating from the reference time by more than a predetermined amount, generating a signal or in b), responsive to the measured pressure meeting or crossing a threshold pressure, comparing a time that has elapsed from a start of the change in pressure until the measured pressure meets or crosses the threshold pressure with a threshold time associated with the threshold pressure, wherein times exceeding the threshold time indicate no deformation or defect associated with a substrate and times less than the threshold time indicate a deformation associated with a substrate, and generating a signal indicating that the substrate has an associated deformation or defect responsive to the comparison indicating that the elapsed time is less than or equal to the threshold time.
Tian discloses measuring a time taken to remove the substrate from the support structure, comparing the measured time to a predetermined reference time, and responsive to the measured time deviating from the reference time by more than a predetermined amount, generating a signal (Figs. 1-5, paras. [0028], [0030], [0035]-[0038], [0040]-[0050], [0054]-[0059], the pin lifter includes integrated sensors to monitor the operation of the lifter mechanism. If the pins are not indicated in the expected position within a predetermined time period, an alarm or annunciator signals an operator).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included measuring a time taken to remove the substrate from the support structure, comparing the measured time to a predetermined reference time, and responsive to the measured time deviating from the reference time by more than a predetermined amount, generating a signal as taught by Tian in the method as taught by Endo since including measuring a time taken to remove the substrate from the support structure, comparing the measured time to a predetermined reference time, and responsive to the measured time deviating from the reference time by more than a predetermined amount, generating a signal is commonly used to effectively monitor the dechuck process for the wafer and to determine if the wafer is broken (Tian, paras. [0016]-[0017], [0037]-[0038], [0050], [0054], [0057]-[0059]).
Regarding claim 19, Endo does not appear to explicitly describe comprising the measuring the time taken and wherein the measuring the time taken measures the time taken for a release mechanism to move from a first position in which the mechanism is not contacting the substrate to a second position in which the mechanism is contacting the substrate and holding the substrate in a position removed from the support structure.
Tian discloses the measuring the time taken and wherein the measuring the time taken measures the time taken for a release mechanism to move from a first position in which the mechanism is not contacting the substrate to a second position in which the mechanism is contacting the substrate and holding the substrate in a position removed from the support structure (Figs. 1-5, paras. [0028], [0030], [0035]-[0038], [0040]-[0050], [0054]-[0059], the integrated sensors monitor the operation of the lifter mechanism for moving the wafer 101 from a position in contact with the support surface in which the tips of the lift pins do not contact the wafer (para. [0018]) to a position above the support surface. If the pins are not indicated in the expected position within a predetermined time period, an alarm or annunciator signals an operator).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the measuring the time taken and wherein the measuring the time taken measures the time taken for a release mechanism to move from a first position in which the mechanism is not contacting the substrate to a second position in which the mechanism is contacting the substrate and holding the substrate in a position removed from the support structure as taught by Tian in the method as taught by Endo since including the measuring the time taken and wherein the measuring the time taken measures the time taken for a release mechanism to move from a first position in which the mechanism is not contacting the substrate to a second position in which the mechanism is contacting the substrate and holding the substrate in a position removed from the support structure is commonly used to effectively monitor the dechuck process for the wafer and to determine if the wafer is broken (Tian, paras. [0016]-[0017], [0037]-[0038], [0050], [0054], [0057]-[0059]).
Regarding claim 22, Endo as modified by Tian discloses further comprising detecting whether the signal is generated, and if the signal is generated, removing the substrate from the lithographic process (the limitation “detecting whether the signal is generated, and if the signal is generated, removing the substrate from the lithographic process” is a contingent limitation in a method claim. The broadest reasonable interpretation requires “only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met.” See MPEP 2111.04(II). In this instance, the claimed invention may be practiced without generating the signal; therefore the broadest reasonable interpretation also does not require the substrate removal from the lithographic process. Endo, Figs. 1-5, 8-19, paras. [0054]-[0055], [0060]-[0061], [0065]-[0068], [0070]-[0075], [0100]-[0105], [0111], [0113]-[0124], [0129]-[0138], the status information of the wafer W upon adsorption to the substrate stage is generated, and when the status of the wafer is “substrate deformation” or “substrate anomaly” the main control section 12 outputs the status to the display. The transport device 82 additionally changes the speed and acceleration for removing the wafer W from the substrate stage 81 when the status is classified as “substrate deformation” or “substrate anomaly” to prevent mishandling the wafer).
Regarding claim 23, Endo as modified by Tian discloses a computer program product comprising a non-transitory computer-readable medium having computer-readable instructions therein, which instructions, when run on suitable computer apparatus, cause the computer apparatus to cause at least performance of the method of claim 18 (see claim 18 rejection above, Endo, Figs. 1, 2, 5, 9-11, 16, and 19, paras. [0040], [0049]-[0055], [0070], [0116]-[0117], [0131], [0136]-[0138], the main control section 12 controls the overall exposure apparatus and is a computer that includes programs and a memory and hardware to control the operation of the programs of the exposure apparatus).
Regarding claim 24, Endo does not appear to explicitly describe comprising the measuring the time taken and wherein the comparing comprises comparing the time taken measured by the sensor to a reference time, and the generating the signal comprising generating the signal when the measured time deviates from the reference time by more than a predetermined amount.
Tian discloses the measuring the time taken and wherein the comparing comprises comparing the time taken measured by the sensor to a reference time, and the generating the signal comprising generating the signal when the measured time deviates from the reference time by more than a predetermined amount (Figs. 1-5, paras. [0028], [0030], [0035]-[0038], [0040]-[0050], [0054]-[0059], the pin lifter includes integrated sensors to monitor the operation of the lifter mechanism. If the pins are not indicated in the expected position within a predetermined time period, an alarm or annunciator signals an operator).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the measuring the time taken and wherein the comparing comprises comparing the time taken measured by the sensor to a reference time, and the generating the signal comprising generating the signal when the measured time deviates from the reference time by more than a predetermined amount as taught by Tian in the method as taught by Endo since including the measuring the time taken and wherein the comparing comprises comparing the time taken measured by the sensor to a reference time, and the generating the signal comprising generating the signal when the measured time deviates from the reference time by more than a predetermined amount is commonly used to effectively monitor the dechucking process for the wafer and to determine if the wafer is broken (Tian, paras. [0016]-[0017], [0037]-[0038], [0050], [0054], [0057]-[0059]).
Regarding claim 25, Endo as modified by Tian discloses comprising measuring the time taken and wherein the sensor arranged to measure the time taken is a pressure sensor or a thermal sensor (Endo, Figs. 1-5, 8-19, paras. [0040], [0046]-[0050], [0053]-[0600], [0096]-[0115], the pressure sensors 15 measure the pressure information, including pressure changes over time).
Regarding claim 26, Endo does not appear to explicitly describe comprising wherein the instructions are configured to cause the computer apparatus to cause measurement of the time taken and wherein the measurement of the time taken measures the time taken for a release mechanism to move from a first position in which the mechanism is not contacting the substrate to a second position in which the mechanism is contacting the substrate and holding the substrate in a position removed from the support structure.
Tian discloses measurement of the time taken and wherein the measurement of the time taken measures the time taken for a release mechanism to move from a first position in which the mechanism is not contacting the substrate to a second position in which the mechanism is contacting the substrate and holding the substrate in a position removed from the support structure (Figs. 1-5, paras. [0028], [0030], [0035]-[0038], [0040]-[0050], [0054]-[0059], the integrated sensors monitor the operation of the lifter mechanism for moving the wafer 101 from a position in contact with the support surface in which the tips of the lift pins do not contact the wafer (para. [0018]) to a position above the support surface. If the pins are not indicated in the expected position within a predetermined time period, an alarm or annunciator signals an operator).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the measuring the time taken and wherein the measuring the time taken measures the time taken for a release mechanism to move from a first position in which the mechanism is not contacting the substrate to a second position in which the mechanism is contacting the substrate and holding the substrate in a position removed from the support structure as taught by Tian in the method performed as taught by Endo since including the measuring the time taken and wherein the measuring the time taken measures the time taken for a release mechanism to move from a first position in which the mechanism is not contacting the substrate to a second position in which the mechanism is contacting the substrate and holding the substrate in a position removed from the support structure is commonly used to effectively monitor the dechuck process for the wafer and to determine if the wafer is broken (Tian, paras. [0016]-[0017], [0037]-[0038], [0050], [0054], [0057]-[0059]).
Regarding claim 27, Endo as modified by Tian discloses wherein the instructions are further configured to cause the computer apparatus to cause detection of whether the signal is generated and, if the signal is generated, cause removal the substrate from the lithographic process (Endo, Figs. 1-5, 8-19, paras. [0054]-[0055], [0060]-[0061], [0065]-[0068], [0070]-[0075], [0100]-[0105], [0111], [0113]-[0124], [0129]-[0138], the status information of the wafer W upon adsorption to the substrate stage is generated, and when the status of the wafer is “substrate deformation” or “substrate anomaly” the main control section 12 outputs the status to the display. The transport device 82 additionally changes the speed and acceleration for removing the wafer W from the substrate stage 81 when the status is classified as “substrate deformation” or “substrate anomaly” to prevent mishandling the wafer).
Regarding claim 28, Endo as modified by Tian discloses comprising wherein the instructions are configured to cause the computer apparatus to cause measurement of the time taken and the instructions are configured to cause the computer apparatus to cause measurement of the time taken using a pressure sensor or a thermal sensor (Endo, Figs. 1-5, 8-19, paras. [0040], [0046]-[0050], [0053]-[0600], [0096]-[0115], the pressure sensors 15 measure the pressure information, including pressure changes over time).
Claims 8, 16, 18, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Endo in view of Heo (US PGPub 2005/0274207)
Regarding claim 8, Endo discloses a stage positioning system (Figs. 1, 2, 5, 9-11, 16, and 19, paras. [0116]-[0117], [0131], [0136]-[0137], a substrate holding device 10, 60, 70, 110 holds a wafer W in a substrate stage 81 in an exposure apparatus 80, 90) comprising:
a substrate support system arranged to support a substrate (Figs. 1, 2, 5, 9-11, 16, and 19, paras. [0040], [0046], [0049], [0051], [0068], [0084]-[0085], [0089]-[0094], [0104], [0116]-[0117], [0131], [0136]-[0137], a substrate holding device 10, 60, 70, 110 holds a wafer W);
a clamping system arranged to hold the substrate on the substrate support (Figs. 1, 2, 5, 6, 9-11, 16, and 19, paras. [0040], [0046], [0049], [0054], [0076]-[0077], [0084]-[0093], [0117], [0130]-[0138], a vacuum evacuation system 11, electrostatic adsorption system, or magnetic adsorption system provides an adsorption force to the wafer W mounted on the chuck body 1 during exposure);
a processor (Figs. 1-5, 8-19, paras. [0040], [0046]-[0050], [0122]-[0127], [0129], [0130]-[0138], main control section 12); and either:
a) a sensor arranged to measure a time taken for a substrate to be removed from the substrate support, wherein the processor is arranged to compare the time measured by the sensor to a reference time, and to generate a signal when the measured time deviates from the reference time by more than a predetermined amount, or
b) a sensor (Figs. 1-5, 8-19, paras. [0046]-[0048], pressure sensors 15) arranged to measure a change in a pressure used by the clamping system to clamp the substrate to the substrate support (Figs. 1-5, 8-19, paras. [0040], [0046]-[0050], [0053]-[0060], [0071]-[0074], [0095]-[0102], [0105]-[0115], [0122]-[0127], [0129], [0130]-[0138], the pressure sensors 15 measure the pressure used to adsorb the wafer W to the surface of the chuck body 1). Endo does not appear to explicitly describe a) a sensor arranged to measure a time taken for a substrate to be removed from the substrate support, wherein the processor is arranged to compare the time measured by the sensor to a reference time, and to generate a signal when the measured time deviates from the reference time by more than a predetermined amount or b) in which the processor is arranged to: responsive to the measured pressure meeting or crossing a threshold pressure, compare a time that has elapsed from a start of the change in pressure until the measured pressure meets or crosses the threshold pressure with a threshold time associated with the threshold pressure, wherein times exceeding the threshold time indicate no deformation or defect associated with a substrate and times less than the threshold time indicate a deformation associated with a substrate, and generate a signal indicating that the substrate has an associated deformation or defect responsive to the comparison indicating that the elapsed time is less than or equal to the threshold time.
Heo discloses a sensor arranged to measure a time taken for a substrate to be removed from the substrate support, wherein the processor is arranged to compare the time measured by the sensor to a reference time, and to generate a signal when the measured time deviates from the reference time by more than a predetermined amount (Figs. 3-7, paras. [0023], [0027], [0030], [0033]-[0038], the controller starts an internal timer to detect the elapsed time for the piston to reach the first sensor 20. If the elapsed time has exceeded a pin holder up alarm determination time limit, the controller sounds an alarm).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a sensor arranged to measure a time taken for a substrate to be removed from the substrate support, wherein the processor is arranged to compare the time measured by the sensor to a reference time, and to generate a signal when the measured time deviates from the reference time by more than a predetermined amount as taught by Heo in the in the processor in the stage positioning system as taught by Endo since including a sensor arranged to measure a time taken for a substrate to be removed from the substrate support, wherein the processor is arranged to compare the time measured by the sensor to a reference time, and to generate a signal when the measured time deviates from the reference time by more than a predetermined amount is commonly used to automatically detect a lift error in a semiconductor tool (Heo, paras. [0008]-[0010]).
Regarding claim 16, Endo discloses a processor (Endo, Figs. 1-5, 8-19, paras. [0040], [0046]-[0050], [0122]-[0127], [0129], [0130]-[0138], main control section 12), but Endo does not appear to explicitly describe comprising the sensor arranged to measure a time taken for the substrate to be removed from the substrate support, and wherein the processor is arranged to compare the time measured by the sensor to a reference time, and to generate a signal when the measured time deviates from the reference time by more than a predetermined amount.
Heo discloses the sensor arranged to measure a time taken for the substrate to be removed from the substrate support, and wherein the processor is arranged to compare the time measured by the sensor to a reference time, and to generate a signal when the measured time deviates from the reference time by more than a predetermined amount (Figs. 3-7, paras. [0023], [0027], [0030], [0033]-[0038], the controller starts an internal timer to detect the elapsed time for the piston to reach the first sensor 20. If the elapsed time has exceeded a pin holder up alarm determination time limit, the controller sounds an alarm).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the sensor arranged to measure a time taken for the substrate to be removed from the substrate support, and wherein the processor is arranged to compare the time measured by the sensor to a reference time, and to generate a signal when the measured time deviates from the reference time by more than a predetermined amount as taught by Heo in the processor in the stage positioning system as taught by Endo since the sensor arranged to measure a time taken for a substrate to be removed from the substrate support, and wherein the processor is arranged to compare the time measured by the sensor to a reference time, and to generate a signal when the measured time deviates from the reference time by more than a predetermined amount is commonly used to automatically detect a lift error in a semiconductor tool (Heo, paras. [0008]-[0010]).
Regarding claim 18, Endo discloses a method (Figs. 1, 2, 5, 9-11, 16, and 19, paras. [0116]-[0117], [0131], [0136]-[0138], a substrate holding device 10, 60, 70, 110 holds a wafer W in a substrate stage 81 in an exposure apparatus 80, 90 to expose a wafer), the method comprising:
clamping a substrate to a support structure (Figs. 1, 2, 5, 6, 9-11, 16, and 19, paras. [0040], [0046], [0049], [0054], [0076]-[0077], [0084]-[0093], [0117], [0130]-[0138], a vacuum evacuation system 11, electrostatic adsorption system, or magnetic adsorption system provides an adsorption force to the wafer W mounted on the chuck body 1 during exposure);
processing the clamped substrate (Figs. 1, 16, 19, paras. [0040], [0046], [0049], [0054], [0076]-[0077], [0084]-[0093], [0116]-[0117], [0130]-[0138], the wafer W is exposed to a projected image of the pattern on the reticle while the substrate is clamped); and
removing the substrate from the support structure (Figs. 1, 16, 19, paras. [0040], [0046], [0049], [0054], [0076]-[0077], [0084]-[0093], [0116]-[0118], [0121]-[0138], the wafer W is removed from the substrate stage in the lithography apparatus),
either:
a) measuring a time taken to remove the substrate from the support structure, comparing the measured time to a predetermined reference time, and responsive to the measured time deviating from the reference time by more than a predetermined amount, generating a signal, or
b) measuring a change in a pressure used to clamp the substrate to the support structure during the clamping (Figs. 1-5, 8-19, paras. [0040], [0046]-[0050], [0053]-[0060], [0071]-[0074], [0095]-[0102], [0105]-[0115], [0122]-[0127], [0129], [0130]-[0138], the pressure sensors 15 measure the pressure used to adsorb the wafer W to the surface of the chuck body 1). Endo does not appear to explicitly describe a) measuring a time taken to remove the substrate from the support structure, comparing the measured time to a predetermined reference time, and responsive to the measured time deviating from the reference time by more than a predetermined amount, generating a signal or in b), responsive to the measured pressure meeting or crossing a threshold pressure, comparing a time that has elapsed from a start of the change in pressure until the measured pressure meets or crosses the threshold pressure with a threshold time associated with the threshold pressure, wherein times exceeding the threshold time indicate no deformation or defect associated with a substrate and times less than the threshold time indicate a deformation associated with a substrate, and generating a signal indicating that the substrate has an associated deformation or defect responsive to the comparison indicating that the elapsed time is less than or equal to the threshold time.
Heo discloses measuring a time taken to remove the substrate from the support structure, comparing the measured time to a predetermined reference time, and responsive to the measured time deviating from the reference time by more than a predetermined amount, generating a signal (Figs. 3-7, paras. [0023], [0027], [0030], [0033]-[0038], the controller starts an internal timer to detect the elapsed time for the piston to reach the first sensor 20. If the elapsed time has exceeded a pin holder up alarm determination time limit, the controller sounds an alarm).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included measuring a time taken to remove the substrate from the support structure, comparing the measured time to a predetermined reference time, and responsive to the measured time deviating from the reference time by more than a predetermined amount, generating a signal as taught by Heo in the method as taught by Endo since including measuring a time taken to remove the substrate from the support structure, comparing the measured time to a predetermined reference time, and responsive to the measured time deviating from the reference time by more than a predetermined amount, generating a signal is commonly used to automatically detect a lift error in a semiconductor tool (Heo, paras. [0008]-[0010]).
Regarding claim 24, Endo does not appear to explicitly describe comprising the measuring the time taken and wherein the comparing comprises comparing the time taken measured by the sensor to a reference time, and the generating the signal comprising generating the signal when the measured time deviates from the reference time by more than a predetermined amount.
Heo discloses comprising the measuring the time taken and wherein the comparing comprises comparing the time taken measured by the sensor to a reference time, and the generating the signal comprising generating the signal when the measured time deviates from the reference time by more than a predetermined amount (Figs. 3-7, paras. [0023], [0027], [0030], [0033]-[0038], the controller starts an internal timer to detect the elapsed time for the piston to reach the first sensor 20. If the elapsed time has exceeded a pin holder up alarm determination time limit, the controller sounds an alarm).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the measuring the time taken and wherein the comparing comprises comparing the time taken measured by the sensor to a reference time, and the generating the signal comprising generating the signal when the measured time deviates from the reference time by more than a predetermined amount as taught by Heo in the method as taught by Endo since including the measuring the time taken and wherein the comparing comprises comparing the time taken measured by the sensor to a reference time, and the generating the signal comprising generating the signal when the measured time deviates from the reference time by more than a predetermined amount is commonly used to automatically detect a lift error in a semiconductor tool (Heo, paras. [0008]-[0010]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-7 are allowed.
Regarding claim 1, the prior art of record, either alone or in combination, fails to teach or render obvious a moveable part, the moveable part moveable between a retracted position, in which a top end of the moveable part is below the support plane, and an extended position, in which the top end of the moveable part is above the support plane, such that the top end contacts the bottom surface of the substrate supported by the support part when moving between the retracted and extended positions and supports the bottom surface of the substrate above the support plane in the extended position; and one or more processors configured to compare a time taken for the moveable part to move from the retracted position to the extended position, with a reference time, and to generate a signal when the measured time is less than the reference time. These limitations in combination with the other limitations of claim 1 render the claim non-obvious over the prior art of record.
The dependent claims are likewise allowable by virtue of their dependency upon an allowable independent claim as stated above.
Tian et al. (US PGPub 2020/0075389, Tian hereinafter) discloses a substrate support system (Figs. 1, 3, 5, a substrate holder holds a substrate), comprising: a support part (Figs. 1, 5, paras. [0018]-[0023], [0049], [0053], [0057]-[0058], ESC 103), the support part configured to support a bottom surface of a substrate on a support plane (Figs. 1, 5, paras. [0018]-[0023], [0049], [0053], [0057]-[0058], ESC 103 supports wafer 101 on a plane formed by the upper surface of the ESC 103); a moveable part (Figs. 1, 3, 5, paras. [0018], [0021]-[0022], [0028]-[0034], [0036]-[0047], [0050]-[0060], multiple substrate lifting mechanisms (pins)), the moveable part moveable between a retracted position, in which a top end of the moveable part is below the support plane, and an extended position, in which the top end of the moveable part is above the support plane (Figs. 1, 3-5, paras. [0018], [0021]-[0022], [0028]-[0034], [0036]-[0047], [0050]-[0060], the pins are moved from below the upper surface of the ESC 103 (see position 111A and para. [0018], for example) to a raised position in which the tops of the pins are above the upper surface of the ESC 103 (see positions 111B and 111C in Figs. 1B-C and 5B-C, for example), such that the top end contacts the bottom surface of the substrate supported by the support part when moving between the retracted and extended positions and supports the bottom surface of the substrate above the support plane in the extended position (Figs. 1, 3-5, paras. [0018], [0021]-[0022], [0028]-[0034], [0036]-[0047], [0050]-[0060], the pins contact the bottom of the wafer 101 when moving between the lower and raised positions and the pins support the bottom of the wafer above the upper surface of the ESC 103 in the raised position); and measuring a time taken for the moveable part to move from the retracted position to the extended position, to compare the measured time with a reference time, and to generate a signal when the measured time deviates from the reference time by more than a predetermined amount (Figs. 1-5, paras. [0028], [0030], [0035]-[0038], [0040]-[0050], [0054]-[0059], the pin lifter includes integrated sensors to monitor the operation of the lifter mechanism. If the pins are not indicated in the expected position within a predetermined time period, an alarm or annunciator signals an operator). Although Tian discloses one or more processors (paras. [0041], [0050], [0051], [0055]), Tian does not describe or render obvious one or more processors configured to compare a time taken for the moveable part to move from the retracted position to the extended position, with a reference time, and to generate a signal when the measured time is less than the reference time
Heo (US PGPub 2005/0274207) discloses one or more processors (Figs. 3-7, paras. [0023], [0027]-[0034], a controller 30) configured to compare a time taken for the moveable part to move from the retracted position to the extended position, with a reference time, and to generate a signal when the measured time deviates from the reference time by more than a predetermined amount (Figs. 3-7, paras. [0023], [0027], [0030], [0031], [0033]-[0038], the controller starts an internal timer to detect the elapsed time for the piston to reach the first sensor 20. If the elapsed time has exceeded a pin holder up alarm determination time limit, the controller sounds an alarm). Heo fails to describe or render obvious one or more processors configured to compare a time taken for the moveable part to move from the retracted position to the extended position, with a reference time, and to generate a signal when the measured time is less than the reference time.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pages 11-14 that Endo in combination with the teachings of Tian fails to teach or suggest the limitations of “a) a sensor arranged to measure a time taken for a substrate to be removed from the substrate support, wherein the processor is arranged to compare the time measured by the sensor to a reference time, and to generate a signal when the measured time deviates from the reference time by more than a predetermined amount, or b) a sensor arranged to measure a change in a pressure used by the clamping system to clamp the substrate to the substrate support, wherein the processor is arranged to: responsive to the measured pressure meeting or crossing a threshold pressure, compare a time that has elapsed from a start of the change in pressure until the measured pressure meets or crosses the threshold pressure with a threshold time associated with the threshold pressure, wherein times exceeding the threshold time indicate no deformation or defect associated with a substrate and times less than the threshold time indicate a deformation associated with a substrate, and generate a signal indicating that the substrate has an associated deformation or defect responsive to the comparison indicating that the elapsed time is less than or equal to the threshold time” as recited by claim 8 and as similarly recited in claim 18. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Although Endo discloses a substrate support system arranged to support a substrate (Figs. 1, 2, 5, 9-11, 16, and 19, paras. [0040], [0046], [0049], [0051], [0068], [0084]-[0085], [0089]-[0094], [0104], [0116]-[0117], [0131], [0136]-[0137], a substrate holding device 10, 60, 70, 110 holds a wafer W); a clamping system arranged to hold the substrate on the substrate support (Figs. 1, 2, 5, 6, 9-11, 16, and 19, paras. [0040], [0046], [0049], [0054], [0076]-[0077], [0084]-[0093], [0117], [0130]-[0138], a vacuum evacuation system 11, electrostatic adsorption system, or magnetic adsorption system provides an adsorption force to the wafer W mounted on the chuck body 1 during exposure); a processor (Figs. 1-5, 8-19, paras. [0040], [0046]-[0050], [0122]-[0127], [0129], [0130]-[0138], main control section 12); and
b) a sensor (Figs. 1-5, 8-19, paras. [0046]-[0048], pressure sensors 15) arranged to measure a change in a pressure used by the clamping system to clamp the substrate to the substrate support (Figs. 1-5, 8-19, paras. [0040], [0046]-[0050], [0053]-[0060], [0071]-[0074], [0095]-[0102], [0105]-[0115], [0122]-[0127], [0129], [0130]-[0138], the pressure sensors 15 measure the pressure used to adsorb the wafer W to the surface of the chuck body 1), Endo does not appear to explicitly describe a) a sensor arranged to measure a time taken for a substrate to be removed from the substrate support, wherein the processor is arranged to compare the time measured by the sensor to a reference time, and to generate a signal when the measured time deviates from the reference time by more than a predetermined amount. However, Tian is relied upon as disclosing a sensor arranged to measure a time taken for the substrate to be removed from the substrate support, and arranged to compare the time measured by the sensor to a reference time, and to generate a signal when the measured time deviates from the reference time by more than a predetermined amount (Figs. 1-5, paras. [0028], [0030], [0035]-[0038], [0040]-[0050], [0054]-[0059], the pin lifter includes integrated sensors to monitor the operation of the lifter mechanism. If the pins are not indicated in the expected position within a predetermined time period, an alarm or annunciator signals an operator), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a sensor arranged to measure a time taken for the substrate to be removed from the substrate support, and arranged to compare the time measured by the sensor to a reference time, and to generate a signal when the measured time deviates from the reference time by more than a predetermined amount as taught by Tian with the processor in the stage positioning system as taught by Endo since, as suggested by Tian, including a sensor arranged to measure a time taken for the substrate to be removed from the substrate support, wherein the processor is arranged to compare the time measured by the sensor to a reference time, and to generate a signal when the measured time deviates from the reference time by more than a predetermined amount is commonly used to effectively monitor the dechuck process for the wafer and to determine if the wafer is broken (Tian, paras. [0016]-[0017], [0037]-[0038], [0050], [0054], [0057]-[0059]). Applicant’s arguments on this point have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pages 11-13 and 14-15 that Endo in combination with the teachings of Heo fails to teach or suggest the limitations of “a) a sensor arranged to measure a time taken for a substrate to be removed from the substrate support, wherein the processor is arranged to compare the time measured by the sensor to a reference time, and to generate a signal when the measured time deviates from the reference time by more than a predetermined amount, or b) a sensor arranged to measure a change in a pressure used by the clamping system to clamp the substrate to the substrate support, wherein the processor is arranged to: responsive to the measured pressure meeting or crossing a threshold pressure, compare a time that has elapsed from a start of the change in pressure until the measured pressure meets or crosses the threshold pressure with a threshold time associated with the threshold pressure, wherein times exceeding the threshold time indicate no deformation or defect associated with a substrate and times less than the threshold time indicate a deformation associated with a substrate, and generate a signal indicating that the substrate has an associated deformation or defect responsive to the comparison indicating that the elapsed time is less than or equal to the threshold time” as recited by claim 8 and as similarly recited in claim 18. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Although Endo discloses a substrate support system arranged to support a substrate (Figs. 1, 2, 5, 9-11, 16, and 19, paras. [0040], [0046], [0049], [0051], [0068], [0084]-[0085], [0089]-[0094], [0104], [0116]-[0117], [0131], [0136]-[0137], a substrate holding device 10, 60, 70, 110 holds a wafer W); a clamping system arranged to hold the substrate on the substrate support (Figs. 1, 2, 5, 6, 9-11, 16, and 19, paras. [0040], [0046], [0049], [0054], [0076]-[0077], [0084]-[0093], [0117], [0130]-[0138], a vacuum evacuation system 11, electrostatic adsorption system, or magnetic adsorption system provides an adsorption force to the wafer W mounted on the chuck body 1 during exposure); a processor (Figs. 1-5, 8-19, paras. [0040], [0046]-[0050], [0122]-[0127], [0129], [0130]-[0138], main control section 12); and b) a sensor (Figs. 1-5, 8-19, paras. [0046]-[0048], pressure sensors 15) arranged to measure a change in a pressure used by the clamping system to clamp the substrate to the substrate support (Figs. 1-5, 8-19, paras. [0040], [0046]-[0050], [0053]-[0060], [0071]-[0074], [0095]-[0102], [0105]-[0115], [0122]-[0127], [0129], [0130]-[0138], the pressure sensors 15 measure the pressure used to adsorb the wafer W to the surface of the chuck body 1), Endo does not appear to explicitly describe a) a sensor arranged to measure a time taken for a substrate to be removed from the substrate support, wherein the processor is arranged to compare the time measured by the sensor to a reference time, and to generate a signal when the measured time deviates from the reference time by more than a predetermined amount. Heo is relied upon for disclosure of a sensor arranged to measure a time taken for a substrate to be removed from the substrate support, wherein the processor is arranged to compare the time measured by the sensor to a reference time, and to generate a signal when the measured time deviates from the reference time by more than a predetermined amount (Figs. 3-7, paras. [0023], [0027], [0030], [0033]-[0038], the controller starts an internal timer to detect the elapsed time for the piston to reach the first sensor 20. If the elapsed time has exceeded a pin holder up alarm determination time limit, the controller sounds an alarm), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a sensor arranged to measure a time taken for a substrate to be removed from the substrate support, wherein the processor is arranged to compare the time measured by the sensor to a reference time, and to generate a signal when the measured time deviates from the reference time by more than a predetermined amount as taught by Heo in the processor in the stage positioning system as taught by Endo since including a sensor arranged to measure a time taken for a substrate to be removed from the substrate support, wherein the processor is arranged to compare the time measured by the sensor to a reference time, and to generate a signal when the measured time deviates from the reference time by more than a predetermined amount is commonly used to automatically detect a lift error in a semiconductor tool (Heo, paras. [0008]-[0010]). Applicant’s arguments on this point have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 15 against the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) interpretation as “none of the claims recite means or step or a means for or step for” language. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Claim 19 recites “a release mechanism” in lines 3-6, and claim 26 recites “a release mechanism” in lines 4-6. Although the limitations do not use the term “means,” the term “mechanism” is a generic placeholder that does not have a sufficiently definite meaning as the name for a structure that performs the function, and the Applicant does not provide specific arguments or evidence that one of ordinary skill in the art would have understood this term to have a sufficiently definite meaning as the name for structure. See MPEP 2181, subsection I(A). Additionally, the mechanism is modified by functional language and is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. See MPEP 2181, subsections I(B) and I(C). Therefore, the identified claim limitations meet the 3-prong analysis and are interpreted as invoking 35 U.S.C. 112(f). Applicant’s arguments on this point have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTINA A RIDDLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882