The response of the applicant has been read and given careful consideration. Rejection of the previous action, not repeated below are withdrawn. Responses to the arguments of the applicant are presented after the first rejection they are directed to. The amendment to the specification is approved. In response to the arguments on page 21, The examiner agrees that Janssen et al. WO 2020126950 is not available under 35 USC 102(a)(1) due to the applicant’s priority document being in English. The statement of common ownership obviates the rejection under 35 USC 102(a)(2)
Claims 1-5,7,8,9,11,13,14 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being fully anticipated by Ichikawa et al. TW 202201115.
Ichikawa et al. TW 202201115 (machine translation attached) teaches an EUV reflective photomask in example 1, where the substrate is coated with a reflective Mo/Si multilayer (12), a Ru capping layer and an absorber layer made of 95% SnO and 5% Si. [0042-0050].
The Ru layer is the anchor layer, the SnO/Si layer is the top layer and one of the molybdenum layers of the reflective multilayer is the wetting layer. As the SnO/Si absorber is the topmost layer, it is also a non-volatile sacrificial material.
On page 8-9 of the response, the applicant argues that the applicant argues that the there is no disclosure that the SnO/Si layer comes self-terminates growth when in contact with an operative lithographic apparatus or plasma containing environment. The position of the examiner is that the SnO/Si absorber layer is the top layer of the photomask and so would be in contact with the (EUV) lithographic environment and includes an Sn oxide, which is among the materials described as useful top layer materials in the instant specification (see prepub at [0023]). The reference does not describe a pellicle, so no pellicle is present and while a pellicle is useful it is optional. See also claim 7,11 and 14 which specifically describe Sn, Si, SnOx and SiOx as top layer materials. The claims are to the article, not an EUV lithographic apparatus, so no plasma is present. When the mask is used in an EUV exposure apparatus, the EUV radiation passes through any pellicle.
As the formation of the SnO/Si absorber layer is described as being deposited by sputtering, it is held to be “deposited” using a plasma.
The rejection stands, noting that the claims do not exclude the optical element being a reflective photomask and that the applicant’s specification specifically describes a pellicle as optional component which “may” be used (see prepub at [0005, 0007]).
Claims 1-5,7,8,9,11,13,14 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being fully anticipated by Chan et al. EP 3454120.
Chan et al. EP 3454120 in example 1, teaches an EUV mirror formed of alternating Mo/Si layers, coated with a Ru layer and SiO2 layer. This is followed by an SoC layer and a photoresist layer [0091]. The intermediate or final product with the SiO2 layer as the top layer meets the claims.
The Ru layer is the anchor layer, the SiO2 layer is the top layer and one of the molybdenum layers of the reflective multilayer is the wetting layer. As the SiO2 layer is the topmost layer, it is also a non-volatile sacrificial material.
On page 9-10 of the response, the applicant argues that the applicant argues that the there is no disclosure that the SiO2 layer comes self-terminates growth when in contact with an operative lithographic apparatus or plasma containing environment. The position of the examiner is that the Si oxide absorber layer is the top layer of the photomask and so would be in contact with the (EUV) lithographic environment and includes an Si oxide, which is among the materials described as useful top layer materials in the instant specification (see prepub at [0023]). The reference does not describe a pellicle, so no pellicle is present and while a pellicle is useful it is optional. See also claim 7,11 and 14 which specifically describe Si and SiOx as top layer materials. The examiner notes that the SoC layer is stripped after patterning. The claims do not require the top layer to be continuous, only a layer which is exposed to the lithographic environment. The claims are to the article, not an EUV lithographic apparatus, so no plasma is present. When the mask is used in an EUV exposure apparatus, the EUV radiation passes through any pellicle.
As the formation of the SiO absorber layer is described as being deposited by atomic layer deposition, it is held to be “deposited” using a plasma.
The rejection stands, noting that the claims do not exclude the optical element being a reflective photomask and that the applicant’s specification specifically describes a pellicle as optional component which “may” be used (see prepub at [0005, 0007]).
Claims 1-5,7,8,9,11,13,14 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being fully anticipated by Matsuo et al. 20120021344
Working Example 2:Manufacturing of a Reflective Photomask Blank First, a multi-layered reflection film including 40 pairs of Mo (with a thickness of 2.8 nm) and Si (with a thickness of 4.2 nm) was formed on a low thermal expansion glass substrate using an ion beam sputtering method. Further, on top of this, a dual purpose film having a thickness of 11 nm including Si was formed using a magnetron sputtering method. Thus, a measurement of an EUV reflectance was performed for a high reflection part. Next, on top of the dual purpose film, an Ru film having a thickness of 21.5 nm was formed. Here, Ru was the target. A magnetron sputtering method was used in which an Ar gas is discharged. Next, on top of the Ru film, an SnO film having a thickness of 17 nm was formed. Here, Sn was the target. A magnetron sputtering method was used in which an oxygen gas was added to the Ar gas. In this way, a half tone type reflective photomask blank according to the present invention was manufactured. A measurement of an EUV reflectance of a low reflection part (half tone part) was performed for the half tone type reflective photomask blank manufactured as described above. The reflectance was approximately 5.7% with reference to a high reflection part. Thus, the reflectance was a preferable value for a half tone type mask. Further, a measurement of a spectral reflectance was performed. As a result, the spectral reflectance was less than or equal to 10% in the wavelength range of 190 nm to 260 nm used in a defect inspection. Thus, a sufficient low reflection was achieved [0157-0160].
The Ru layer is the anchor layer, the SnO layer is the top layer and one of the molybdenum layers of the reflective multilayer is the wetting layer. As the SnO is the topmost layer, it is also a non-volatile sacrificial material.
On page 10-11 of the response, the applicant argues that the applicant argues that the there is no disclosure that the SnO layer comes self-terminates growth when in contact with an operative lithographic apparatus or plasma containing environment. The position of the examiner is that the SnO absorber layer is the top layer of the photomask and so would be in contact with the (EUV) lithographic environment and includes an Sn oxide, which is among the materials described as useful top layer materials in the instant specification (see prepub at [0023]). The reference does not describe a pellicle, so no pellicle is present and while a pellicle is useful it is optional. See also claim 7,11 and 14 which specifically describe Sn and SnOx as top layer materials.
As the formation of the SnO absorber layer is described as being deposited by magnetron sputtering, it is held to be “deposited” using a plasma.
The rejection stands, noting that the claims do not exclude the optical element being a reflective photomask and that the applicant’s specification specifically describes a pellicle as optional component which “may” be used (see prepub at [0005, 0007]).
Claims 1-5,7,8,9,11 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being fully anticipated by Shih et al. 20150064611.
In embodiments, the method of fabricating the EUV mask further includes an operation of forming a buffer layer 230 over the reflective ML coating before forming the absorber layer 240. A buffer layer (not shown) may be formed over the capping layer 230. which may be made of SiC or Ru. The buffer layer may act later as an etch stop layer for patterning of the overlying absorber 240. Furthermore, the buffer layer may also serve later as a sacrificial layer for focused ion beam (FIB) repair of defects in the absorber 240. The buffer layer may have a thickness of about 20-60 ran. The buffer layer may be formed from Silicon Dioxide (SiO.sub.2). For example, the buffer layer may a Ru capping layer formed at the top of the ML coating 220 to prevent oxidation of Mo by exposure to the environment. The buffer layer 230 may be Silicon Dioxide (SiO.sub.2), such as low temperature oxide (LTO), or other materials, such as Silicon Oxynitride (SiOxNy) or Carbon (C) [0043].
The examiner holds that the reflective ML coated with Ru and SiO2 or SiC anticipates the claims.
On page 11-12 of the response, the applicant argues that the applicant argues that the there is no disclosure that the SiO2 layer comes self-terminates growth when in contact with an operative lithographic apparatus or plasma containing environment. The position of the examiner is that the Si oxide absorber layer is the top layer of the photomask and so would be in contact with the (EUV) lithographic environment and includes an Si oxide, which is among the materials described as useful top layer materials in the instant specification (see prepub at [0023]). The reference does not describe a pellicle, so no pellicle is present and while a pellicle is useful it is optional. See also claim 7,11 and 14 which specifically describe Si and SiOx as top layer materials. After patterning, a portion of the buffer layer is exposed to the lithographic environment.
Claims 1-5,78,9,11 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being fully anticipated by Lee et al. 20130236818.
Lee et al. 20130236818 teaches a photomask with a capping layer is Si or Ru or a laminate of these and a buffer layer of SiO2, Al2O3, Cr or CrN [0072]
The examiner holds that one reading this reference would immediately envision the EUV mask with a Ru buffer layer and a SiO2 or Al2O3 buffer layer.
On page 12-13 of the response, the applicant argues that the applicant argues that the there is no disclosure that the SiO2 layer comes self-terminates growth when in contact with an operative lithographic apparatus or plasma containing environment. The position of the examiner is that the Si oxide absorber layer is the top layer of the photomask and so would be in contact with the (EUV) lithographic environment and includes an Si oxide, which is among the materials described as useful top layer materials in the instant specification (see prepub at [0023]). The reference does not describe a pellicle, so no pellicle is present and while a pellicle is useful it is optional. See also claim 7,11 and 14 which specifically describe Si and SiOx as top layer materials. After patterning, a portion of the buffer layer is exposed to the lithographic environment.
Claims 1-5,78,9,11,13,14 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being fully anticipated by Charpin-Nicolle 20090191469
Charpin-Nicolle 20090191469 exemplifies, a reflective coating on the substrate by ion beam sputtering. Sputtered onto the substrate are several tens of pairs of transparent layers, for example 40 pairs, each pair comprising a molybdenum layer and a silicone layer. The total thickness of each pair is about 6.9 nanometers for optimum reflection at a wavelength of about 13.8 nanometers. The reflection coefficient then exceeds 60% and may even reach 75%. The pairs of layers may also be molybdenum/beryllium or ruthenium/beryllium pairs. The substrate may be a silicon wafer or a glass or quartz plate 200 mm in diameter. The flatness of the substrate must be high and it is preferable for the flatness imperfections not to exceed 0.4 microns for a wafer of this diameter. The sputtered deposition is preferably carried out at a temperature of about 50.degree. C.; deposition of an aluminum oxide (Al.sub.2O.sub.3) buffer layer with a thickness of about 20 nanometers on the reflective coating [0047-0049].
On page 13-14 of the response, the applicant argues that the applicant argues that the there is no disclosure that the aluminum oxide layer comes self-terminates growth when in contact with an operative lithographic apparatus or plasma containing environment. The position of the examiner is that the absorber layer is the top layer of the photomask and so would be in contact with the (EUV) lithographic environment and includes an Sn oxide, which is among the materials described as useful top layer materials in the instant specification (see prepub at [0023]). The reference does not describe a pellicle, so no pellicle is present and while a pellicle is useful it is optional. See also claim 7 and 14 which specifically describe Al as top layer materials. The claims are to the article, not an EUV lithographic apparatus, so no plasma is present. When the mask is used in an EUV exposure apparatus, the EUV radiation passes through any pellicle.
As the formation of the aluminum oxide layer is described as being deposited by sputtering, it is held to be “deposited” using a plasma.
Claims 16,17,19-21 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being fully anticipated by Wolf et al. DE 102019117964.
Wolf et al. DE 102019117964 (machine translation attached) teaches a pellicle with a silicon layer with gold, aluminum or zinc particles which are able to alloy with the silicon [0045,0062]. The use of this in EUV systems is disclosed (abstract)
On page 17, the applicant argues that there is no disclosure of the alloys of zinc, gold or aluminum with silicon being sacrificial layers. The examiner points out that the pellicle is disclosed as between the mask and the tin plasma/lithographic environment and protects the mask from this (see abstract) and is clearly sacrificed to protect the mask. The examiner notes that other metals are disclosed and recited in the claim 19 as non-volatile sacrificial materials
Claims 16,17,19-21 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being fully anticipated by Nagata et al. JP 05-005982.
Nagata et al. JP 05-005982 (machine translation attached) teaches a nitrocellulose pellicle having a 30 nm Au layer (300 angstrom) [0014]. The use of this pellicle with wavelengths of less than 500 nm is disclosed [0001]
At pages 17-18, the applicant argues that there is no disclosure of the silver layer being sacrificial layers. The examiner points out that the 300 angstroms of metal on the pellicle is gold not silver [0014] and it is described as a pellicle, which protects the mask and is clearly sacrificed to protect the mask. The examiner notes that other metals are disclosed and gold is recited in the claim 19 as non-volatile sacrificial materials
Claims 16,17,19-21 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being fully anticipated by Cusano et al. 5124834.
Cusano et al. 5124834 teaches a silicone/polycarbonate self-supporting pellicle coated with a gold layer and a silver layer (abstract, col. 2/lines 33-63)
At pages 17-18, the applicant argues that there is no disclosure of the silver layer being sacrificial layers. The examiner holds that it is described as a layer of a pellicle, which protects the mask from the lithographic environment and is clearly sacrificed to protect the mask. The examiner notes that other metals are disclosed and gold and silver are recited in the claim 19 as non-volatile sacrificial materials
Claims 16,17,19-21 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being fully anticipated by Reid et al. 3438694.
Reid et al. 3438694 teaches at nitrocellulose pellicle coated with tellurium or germanium to form a pellicle beam splitter (2/22-26). The coating of the pellicle film with other metals including gold, germanium, lead, potassium bromide, sodium chloride, lead fluoride, bismuth oxide and antimony oxide is also disclosed (4/27-33).
At pages 18-19, the applicant argues that there is no disclosure of the silver gold, germanium, lead, potassium bromide, sodium chloride, lead fluoride, bismuth oxide and antimony oxide layers being sacrificial layers. The examiner holds that it is described as a layer of a pellicle, which protects the mask from the lithographic environment and is clearly sacrificed to protect the mask. The examiner notes that various metals are disclosed as sacrificial materials and tellurium, silver and gold, are recited in the claim 19 as non-volatile sacrificial materials. The applicant is claiming the pellicle/optical element, irrespective of how it is used and is not limited to this being part of an EUV exposure apparatus.
Claims 1-5,7,8,9,11,13,14 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or 102(a)(2) as being fully anticipated by Lin et al. 20190332005
Lin et al. 20190332005 teaches the pellicle structure of figure 21, where the silicon wafer (10) has been etched to form the frame. The membrane (20) is an etch stop layer of SiC, SiGe, Ge or the like, the core (30) is one or more layers of semiconductor material, such as Si, SiC, SiGe, metal alloys, such as silicide (WSi, NiSi, TiSi, CoSi, MoSi, etc.), or dielectric material, such as silicon nitride, the cover layer (40) is one or more layers of silicon nitride and SiC, in some embodiments. In other embodiments, the cover layer 40 is formed by implanting impurities in the Si core layer, the first metallic layer (120) is Mo, Zr, Nb and Ti, B or other suitable material, the second metallic layer 130 includes a Ru layer. In some embodiments, a Ru layer 130 formed on a Mo layer 120 is used. In other embodiments, a Ru layer 130 formed on a Zr layer 120 is used and a protection layer (50) includes one or more layers of dielectric material, such as silicon oxide, silicon nitride and silicon oxynitride. This is then coated with a hardmask (70) and patterned to form the frame [0051-0060].
The embodiments where the core layer (30) is the substrate, protective dielectric (50) is SiO, SiN, SiON is the top layer, the second metallic layer (130) is Ru is the anchor layer and the first metallic layer (120) is Mo, Zr, Nb and Ti is the wetting layer. The Mo layers of the reflective multilayer also meet the wetting layer limitations.
In the response at pages 14-15, the applicant argues that the self-termination is not described. The position of the examiner is that the SiO, SiN, SiON inherently meet the limitation of the claims, noting that the specification describes Si and it’s oxides as a useful materials (see prepub at 0023,0031] and claims 7 and 14
The SiO, SiN, SiON protection layer 50 can be formed by CVD, PVD, ALD, MBE and any other suitable film formation methods [0044] which is held to mee the plasma limitation. The rejection stands.
Claims 1-5,7-8,12,16,17,21,27 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being fully anticipated by Shin et al. 20180259844
Shin et al. 20180259844 teaches with respect to figure 18 a cross-section of the pellicle film where a cross sectional view of a pellicle P15 for photomask of FIG. 18 according to some example embodiments of the invention. Referring to FIG. 18, the pellicle P15 can comprises a pellicle membrane M15. a pellicle film M15 may include a carbon-based material. the carbon-based material can include 2D carbon structure or based on nano-material of carbon. For example, the carbon-based material may include at least one member selected from the following: graphene, nanometer crystal graphene, rGO, CNT, fullerenes, and amorphous carbon. surface membrane P15 can include at least one passivation component PS15 on the surface and PS25 surface membrane M15 of at least one. FIG. 18 illustrates wherein on a pellicle film M15 of the lower part surface is provided with a first upper surface of passivation component PS15 and condition M15 set on the surface membrane of the second passive component PS25. passivation component PS15 and PS25 each can include an inorganic material. For example, the inorganic material may comprise selected from at least one of the following: metal, oxide, nitride, semiconductor, and metal chalcogenide-based material. first and second passive components PS15 and PS25 can be respectively corresponding to FIG. 1 of the first and second passive components PS10 and PS20. The surface film P15 of this exemplary embodiment may further include a setting on the surface of the first passive component PS15 of the first protective layer PL15 and is disposed on a surface of the second passive component PS25 of at least one of the second protection layer PL25. first passivation member PS15 may be disposed between the first protective layer PL15 and the pellicle membrane M15. a second passive component PS25 can be disposed between the second protective layer PL25 and the pellicle film M15. the first protective layer PL15 and the first passive component PS15 may comprise different materials or material similar or the same. Similarly, the second protective layer PL25 and the second passivation member PS25 may comprise different materials or similar or the same material. inorganic material can include an inorganic material, and said inorganic material can with the passivation component PS15 or PS25 of at least one of the first and second protective layers PL15 and PL25 are the same or similar. Moreover, at least one of the first and second protective layers PL15 and PL25 may include at least one selected from the group consisting of: metal chalcogenide-based material, silicon or its derivative, and a metal oxide. material can include, for example, the metal chalcogenide-based transition metal chalcogenide (TMD). As a specific example, the material of the metal-based chalcogenide may include one kind of metal element selected from Mo, W, Nb, V, Ta, Ti, Zr, Hf, Tc, Re, Cu, Ga, In, Sn, Ge, and Pb, and is selected from a chalcogen element of S, Se, and Te. when the first and the second protective layer PL15 and PL25 comprises the material based on the metal chalcogenide, can ensure excellent uniformity and transmittance. In particular, the TMD may have several nanometer or less of surface roughness and can has greater about 90% or a high transmission for EUV light. Moreover, the first and the second protective layers PL15 and PL25 may comprise other materials in addition to the material of the metal chalcogenide-based. For example, the first and second protective layers PL15 and PL25 can include silicon or a derivative thereof or a metal oxide. the silicon derivative may include, for example, at least one selected from SiOx or SixNy. SiOx can be SiO2, and SixNY can be Si3N4. the metal oxide may include, for example, selected from the group consisting of Hf, Al, Mg, Zr, Cu, Ni, Zn, and Ti, at least one kind of metal element and oxygen (O) atoms. Moreover, the first and the second protective layers PL15 and PL25 may include metal, metal compound, or 2D material. a pellicle film M15, first and second passive component PS15 and PS25, and first and second protective layers PL15 and PL25 can form a film ML15. surface membrane P15 may not include at least one of first and second protective layers PL15 and PL25 [0149-0152].
Inorganic material of passive components PS10 and PS20 can be for short wavelength light such as EUV light with high transmissivity and the material of tolerance and excellent durability. Moreover, the inorganic material may be a material with relatively excellent strength and uniformity and by relatively simple method of preparation. For example, the inorganic material may comprise selected from at least one of the following: metal, oxide, nitride, semiconductor, and metal chalcogenide-based material. As a specific example, the metal may include at least one selected from the group consisting of Mo, Ti, and Ru. The oxide can be a metal oxide and may include, for example, molybdenum oxide (MoOx). the nitride can be metal nitride or metal nitride and may include, for example, at least one selected from titanium nitride (TiN) and silicon nitride (SiNx). the semiconductor may include, for example, selected from at least one of Ge and zirconium silicide (e.g., ZrSi2). the material of the chalcogenide-based metal can comprises a transition metal chalcogenide, and the transition metal chalcogenides may include transition metal chalcogenide disulfide (TMD). the material for short wavelength light such as EUV light may have high transmittance and excellent resistance and durability and also can have excellent strength and uniformity. However, the specific material and the type of inorganic material is not limited to those described above and can change. For example, the metal may further include Zr, etc., and the semiconductor may further comprise Si and so on. For the passive components PS10 and PS20, can be applied to all kinds of other materials. passivation component PS10 and PS20 can comprise the same material or may comprise at least one of different materials from each other [0089].
The embodiments of figure 18, where the core (M15) is the substrate, the first passivation member (PS25) corresponds to the anchor layer, the protective layer (/PL25) is the top layer and PS15 is the wetting layer. The protective layer materials disclosed include metal oxides such as SiO [0152], the core can be carbon nanotubes (CNT, [0150]). The passivation layers can be a metal, an oxide, a nitride, a semiconductor, and a metal chalcogenide-based material. As a specific example, the metal chalcogenide-based material may include one metal element selected from the group consisting of Mo, W, Nb, V, Ta, Ti, Zr, Hf, Tc, Re, Cu, Ga, In, Sn, Ge, and Pb and the chalcogens S, Te and Se [0151-0152]
In response to the arguments on pages 19-20, the protective layer is silicon dioxide which is among the materials disclosed as self-terminating and recited in claims 7,11, and 14. The passivation layer is equivalent to the wetting or sacrificial layers noting that metals Mo and Ti are recited in claim 8 as a wetting layer materials and the metals are there to protect the underlying carbon nanotubes and the underlaying mask as are scarified to protect the mask.
Claims 1-5,78,9,11,13,14 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or 102(a)(2) as being fully anticipated by Lin et al. 20200073230.
Lin et al. 20200073230 teaches pellicle with structures shown in figures 23 and 37,
Where 20 is the first capping layer, (30/170) is the matrix (core/pellicle film) 40 is the second capping layer and 100 is a metallic layer [0047-0055]. The second capping layer 40 is formed over the matrix layer 30, as shown in FIG. 4. The second capping layer 40 includes one or more layers of semiconductor material, such as SiC, SiGe, Ge; or dielectric material, such as silicon oxide, silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride and SiCN; or any other suitable material. The thickness of the second capping layer 40 is in a range from about 0.5 nm to about 40 nm in some embodiments, and is in a range from about 1 nm to about 20 nm in other embodiments. The second capping layer 40 can be formed by CVD, PVD, ALD, MBE and any other suitable film formation methods. The material of the second capping layer 40 can be the same as or different from the material of the first capping layer 20 [0050]. The stable layer 140 is formed over the matrix layer 30. The stable layer 140 includes one or more layers of Nb, Mo, Zr, MoSi, boron and carbon, and their alloy in some embodiments. The carbon layer can be an amorphous carbon. The stable layer 140 prevents metal diffusion between the matrix layer 30 and the second capping layer 40. The thickness of the stable layer 140 is in a range from about 0.5 nm to about 50 nm in some embodiments, and in a range from about 2 nm to about 5 nm in other embodiments. In some embodiment, the stable layer is two layers, such as Nb/Mo (a Nb layer on a Mo layer), Nb/Zr, Mo/MoSi or Mo/C. The thicknesses of each of the two layers is in a range from about 0.5 nm to about 30 nm in some embodiments. The stable layer 140 can be formed by CVD, PVD, ALD and any other suitable film formation methods [0060] . Alloy layer 160 by an annealing operation. In some embodiments, the alloy layer 160 is a silicide layer, such as MoSi, NbSi, ZrSi, RuSi, etc. Compared with directly forming a silicide layer as the matrix layer 30, forming a silicide layer over the substrate can improve a surface roughness (smoother surface) and suppress phase separation, which would otherwise be caused by a subsequent high temperature process [0071]. A second matrix layer 180 includes a silicide, such as WSi, NiSi, TiSi, CoSi, MoSi, NbSi, ZrSi, NbZrSi or etc. In certain embodiments, the second matrix layer 180 includes a MoSi layer or a ZrSi layer. In some embodiments, the silicide layer is subjected to a nitridation operation or an oxidation operation to form, for example, MoSiN, ZrSiN, MoSiO or ZrSiO. The thickness of the second matrix layer 180 is in a range from about 10 nm to about 50 nm in some embodiments, and is in a range from about 20 nm to about 40 nm in other embodiments [0080].
In the response at pages 15-16, the metallic layer (100) is held to be the top/outer layer, the metallic layer (100) is Mo, Zr, Nb, B, Ti, Ru, MoSi, ZrSi, NbSi or NiZrSi, or other suitable material and serves to protect the underlying layers from the plasma/hydrogen of the EUV lithographic environment.. The metallic layer 100 can be respectively formed by CVD, PVD, ALD and the like [0055,0066,0077] which meets the plasma deposition limitation. The rejection stands.
Claims 16,17,19-21 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being fully anticipated by Okubo et al. JP 2020160345.
Okubo et al. JP 2020160345 (machine translation attached) in example 1 forms a carbon nanotube film/membrane on a isodecyl methacrylate layer via spin coating [0070]. Examples 2 and 3 are formed similarly, but coated a gold layer on the isodecyl methacrylate layer before coating the carbon nanotube layer [0071-0072]. Further, the carbon nanotube film 120 described above may be a composite film with another film. For example, the carbon nanotube film 120 may be a two-layer film with a metal film (gold, ruthenium, etc.) or an inorganic film (SiN, SiO, etc.), or a three-layer film sandwiched between them. In this case, after the sacrificial layer 115 is formed, the metal film or the inorganic film is formed on the sacrificial layer 115 in advance, then the carbon nanotube film 120 to be the pellicle film is formed, and if necessary, the film is formed on the sacrificial layer 115. Form. With such a film structure, the carbon nanotube film 120 is reinforced and the risk of film rupture is reduce [0039]. Next, as shown in FIGS. 3 (A) and 3 (B), the carbon nanotube film 120 and the frame-shaped member 130 (also referred to as the first frame-shaped member) are connected. A material different from that of the substrate 110 is used for the frame-shaped member 130. For example, stainless steel is used for the frame-shaped member 130. The frame-shaped member 130 is not limited to stainless steel, but is limited to brass, aluminum, aluminum alloys (5000 series, 6000 series, 7000 series, etc.), metal materials such as copper, and organic resins such as fluorine resin, acrylic resin, and epoxy resin. Materials, ceramic materials such as boron nitride, silicon nitride, aluminum oxide and graphite may be used. Further, the frame-shaped member 130 has a frame shape when viewed from above. At this time, as shown in FIG. 3A, the frame-shaped member 130 may be, for example, rectangular, polygonal, or annular [0040].
The gold layer is the sacrificial layer of the instant claims.
In the response of 2/4/2026 on page 19, the applicant argues that gold is not disclosed as sacrificial. The examiner holds that the gold layer is part of a pellicle and protects the underlying isodecyl methacrylate layer and the mask form the lithographic exposure environment. Gold is recited in claim 19 as a non-volatile sacificial materials in claim 19.
Claims 1-5,7,8,9,11,13,14,16,17,19-21,27 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over one of Ichikawa et al. TW 202201115, Chan et al. EP 3454120 or Charpin-Nicolle 20090191469, combined with Wolf et al. DE 102019117964.
Ichikawa et al. TW 202201115, Chan et al. EP 3454120 or Charpin-Nicolle 20090191469 teach EUV photomasks with the top layer/anchor layer composite and a Mo wetting layer, but do not teach a pellicle including a non-volatile material.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the teachings of one of Ichikawa et al. TW 202201115, Chan et al. EP 3454120 or Charpin-Nicolle 20090191469 by providing the EUV masks with an EUV pellicle such as those exemplified or rendered obvious by Wolf et al. DE 102019117964 to protect the mask surface from dust and the like and keep any dust, particles or the like outside the image plane of the mask with a reasonable expectation of success on forming a useful EUV mask/pellicle composite.
In response to the arguments, Claim 1 only requires that the radiation or plasma contact the first layer of the optical element. In the case of Ichikawa et al. TW 202201115, Chan et al. EP 3454120 or Charpin-Nicolle 20090191469, the mask is the optical element which the EUV is incident upon as the pellicle is transparent to EUV and the absorber layer is the topmost layer and the EUV is directly incident upon the absorber layer, which is the top layer in the stack. The addition of Wolf et al. DE 102019117964 adds a pellicle to the optical element which addresses the added limitations of claims 16,17,19-21 27 and 30. The claims are open to the pellicle being added to a photomask as the claims never require that the “optical element” be a pellicle. The examiner relies upon the responses above to address the arguments previously raised by the applicant.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MARTIN J. ANGEBRANNDT
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1737
/MARTIN J ANGEBRANNDT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737 March 23, 2026