DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references/or references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Specifically, the Applicant has amended the claims to 1-8, such that the scope of the claims has changed, thus requiring further search and consideration. The resulting rejection, based on United States Patent Application No. 2015/0377571 to Hiroki is presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 5, 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1/a2) as being anticipated by United States Patent Application No. 2015/0377571 to Hiroki.
In regards to Claim 1, Hiroki teaches a baseplate 4, 6 Fig. 1-6 of a substrate support assembly comprising: a cavity between an upper region, a lower region, and sidewalls of the baseplate (space within 4, AS, that is occupied by 6); a plurality of pillars 22, 24 arranged in the cavity between the upper and lower regions (top of 6/bottom of 2 and bottom of 6/top of 8), wherein the pillars extend from a bottom of the cavity to a top of the cavity (as it is the space bounded by the top of 6 and the bottom of 6; an inlet 26 to supply a liquid to the cavity [0042]; and an outlet 28 to vent vapor of the liquid [0029-0106].
In regards to Claim 3, Hiroki teaches the cavity is cylindrical and a height of the cavity is less than a diameter of the cavity, as shown in 6 Fig. 2.
In regards to Claim 4, Hiroki teaches the pillars are cylindrical, as shown in Fig. 3.
In regards to Claim 5, Hiroki teaches the pillars are cylindrical and extend vertically from a bottom of the cavity to a top of the cavity, as shown in Fig. 2
In regards to Claim 6, Hiroki teaches the baseplate and the cavity are cylindrical and wherein the cavity extends radially along a diameter of the baseplate, as shown in Fig. 2.
In regards to Claim 7, Hiroki teaches the inlet is smaller in size than the outlet, as 20 forms part of the outlet and is larger than 22a,b Fig. 4a-4c.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application No. 2015/0377571 to Hiroki in view of United States Patent Application No. 2019/0249911 to Yamaguchi et al.
The teachings of Hiroki are relied upon as set forth in the above 102 rejection.
In regards to Claim 2, Hiroki does not expressly teach the pillars are coated with a wicking material, but does teach that 6 is made of metal [0039].
Yamaguchi teaches a baseplate 18a, 18b Fig. 11 of a substrate support assembly CS Fig. 11 comprising: a cavity VP between an upper region (in blue), a lower region (in yellow), and sidewalls (in red) of the baseplate; a plurality of pillars PP arranged in the cavity between the upper and lower regions; an inlet RT and JO to supply a liquid to the cavity; and an outlet RK and DLu, DLd to vent vapor of the liquid, [0034-0154].
Yamaguchi teaches the pillars are coated with a wicking material, as the pillars and 18b are made out of aluminum [0040], which is supported by the instant application [0100], which teaches the wicking material can be aluminum, the outer aluminum surface of PP is considered suitable material for the pillar coating.
It has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2144.07. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). Therefore, because it is known to make a pillar analogous to that of Hiroki out of wicking coated pillars, as taught by Yamaguchi, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to do so. The resulting apparatus would fulfill the limitations of Claim 2.
In regards to Claim 8, Hiroki teaches the inlet is adjacent to a bottom of the cavity and but does not expressly teach wherein the outlet is adjacent to a top of the cavity.
Yamaguchi teaches the inlet JO is adjacent to a bottom of the cavity and wherein the outlet DLu is adjacent to a top of the cavity, as shown in Fig. 11.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975). MPEP 2144.04-VI (c). Thus it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified the apparatus of Hiroki to place the outlet on the top, as per the teachings of Yamaguchi. See MPEP 2143 Motivation A.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TIFFANY Z NUCKOLS/Examiner, Art Unit 1716
/Jeffrie R Lund/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716