DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lai et al., US 2009/0294065.
Lai et al. shows the invention as claimed including a substrate processing system, comprising: a processing chamber 100 including a window 152; a substrate support 112 arranged inside the processing chamber to support a substrate 114 during plasma processing; a first array including E inductive coils 154 arranged adjacent to and outside of the processing chamber, where E is an integer greater than three; and a second array including D RF direct drive circuits 170/174a/174b configured to output RF power to the first array, where D is an integer greater than three, and to generate plasma inside of the processing chamber (see, for example, Figs. 1 and 7-8, and their descriptions, especially paragraph 0025, Figs. 1 and 7 are shown below).
With respect to claims 4-5, it should be noted that Lai et al. discloses that the E inductive coils have one of a circular outer shape and a hexagonal outer shape, and that the E inductive coils are arranged in one of a rectangular array and a hexagonal array (see, for example, Figs. 7-8 and their descriptions, especially paragraph 0023).
Concerning claims 11-14, it should be noted that in the apparatus of Lai et al. the window is made of a dielectric material and includes a frame portion 152a defining E cavities, wherein the E inductive coils in the first array are arranged in the E cavities of the frame portion; E windows 152b are arranged in a substrate-facing opening of the E cavities; and the dielectric window is arranged on a substrate-facing side of the frame portion; (see, for example Fig. 1 and its description).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 and 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lai et al., US 2009/0294065.
With respect to the claimed distance between a top surface of the substrate support and a bottom surface of the window (claims 2-3), Lai et al. discloses that the distance between the bottom surface of the window and a top surface of the substrate support is in a range of 1/20 and 1/5 of the distance between the top surface of the substrate and the bottom surface of the ceiling of the chamber in order to ensure that the coil is effectively immersed in the plasma (see, for example, paragraph 0018). Therefore, a prima facie case of obviousness still exists because it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant claimed invention to optimize the distance between a top surface of the substrate support and a bottom surface of the window during routine experimentation depending upon, for example, the desired coil immersion in the chamber and the desired plasma characteristics, and such limitation would not lend patentability to the instant application absent the showing of unexpected results.
Regarding the claimed outer diameter of the inductive coils (claims 6-7), Lai et al. discloses that the inductive coils have a cylindrical diameter that is a fraction of the workpiece diameter and/or a fraction of the diameter of the gas distribution plate (see, for example, paragraph 0013 and claims 2 and 12). Therefore, a prima facie case of obviousness still exists because it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant claimed invention to optimize the outer diameter of the inductive coils during routine experimentation depending upon, for example, the desired plasma characteristics, and such limitation would not lend patentability to the instant application absent the showing of unexpected results.
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lai et al., US 2009/0294065 in view of Park et al., US 2012/0061022.
Lai et al. is applied as above but does not expressly disclose wherein the first array further includes F inductive coils having at least one of a size and a shape that is different than the E inductive coils, where F is an integer greater than two; and wherein each of the E inductive coils includes a first inductive coil arranged inside of a second inductive coil. Park et al. discloses a substrate processing system comprising an array of E and F inductive coils 701,702 / 703,704 / 705,706 / 707,708,709 having a first inductive coil arranged inside of a second inductive coil, wherein the coils have at least one of a different size and a different shape, wherein the inductive coils is an integer greater than two (see, for example, Fig. 7 and its disclosure, Fig. 7 is shown below).
Therefore, in view of this disclosure, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Lai et al. as to comprise the claimed E and F inductive coils because such configuration is known and used in the art as a suitable configuration to effectively and efficiently control ion density and/or achieve uniformity of the plasma ion density.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lai et al., US 2009/0294065 in view of Collins, US 6,361,644 or Lo et al., US 2014/0273537 and Koshimizu, US 2010/0243162.
Lai et al. is applied as above but does not expressly disclose that the E inductive coils include a first inductive coil inter-wound with a second inductive coil. Collins discloses a substrate processing system having coils 800,810/820,830/840a,840b,840c interwound/connected to each other (see, for example, Figs. 32-34 shown below and their descriptions).
Also, Koshimizu discloses a substrate processing system comprising coils 120b1, 120b2 interwound/connected to coils 120c1, 120c2 through conductive wires 125c1 and 125c2, respectively (see, for example, Figs. 11A and 11B shown below and their descriptions).
Therefore, in view of these disclosures, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Lai et al. so that the E inductive coils have a first inductive coil inter-wound with a second inductive coil because such configuration is known and used in the art as a suitable configuration to effectively and efficiently supply power to plural inductive coils to generate inductive plasma, control the plasma coupling, and change the plasma distribution.
Claim(s) 15-19, 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lai et al., US 2009/0294065 in view of Long et al., US 2019/0385821.
Lai et al. is applied as above but does not expressly disclose the claimed RF direct drive circuit. Long et al. discloses a substrate processing system comprising a RF direct drive circuits including: a clock generator 120 to generate a clock signal at a first frequency; a gate driver 122 to receive the clock signal; a bridge circuit 138 including: a first switch 140 with a control terminal connected to the gate driver, a first terminal and a second terminal; a second switch 142 with a control terminal connected to the gate driver, a first terminal connected to the second terminal of the first switch and an output node, and a second terminal; a first DC supply 410 to supply a first voltage potential to the first terminal of the first switch; and a second DC supply 420 to supply a second voltage potential to the second terminal of the second switch (see, for example, Figs. 1-2, 4 and 6-7, and their descriptions, Fig. 7 is shown below).
Therefore, in view of this disclosure, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Lai et al. as to further comprise the claimed RF direct drive circuit because such means is known and used in the art as a suitable means for effectively and efficiently supplying a desired power at a desired frequency.
Concerning claims 16-18, Long et al. further discloses wherein the first voltage potential and the second voltage potential have opposite polarity and are approximately equal in magnitude (see, for example, paragraph 0044); wherein the second voltage potential is ground (see, for example, paragraph 0040); a current sensor 640 to sense current at the output node 130 and to generate a current signal; a voltage sensor 642 to sense a voltage at the output node and to generate a voltage signal; and a controller 644 including a phase offset calculator 646 to calculate a phase offset between the voltage signal and the current signal; and a clock adjuster 648 to adjust the first frequency based on the phase offset (see, for example, Figs. 6-7 and their descriptions, especially paragraphs 0006, 0014, 0051, 0055); and wherein the clock adjuster increases the first frequency when the current leads the voltage and decreases the first frequency when the voltage leads the current (see, for example, Figs. 6-7 and their descriptions, especially paragraphs 0006-0007, 0014-0015).
Regarding claim 24, Long et al. further discloses a controller 54/644 configured to control the RF drive circuits; and S sensors 640/642 configured to sense operational parameters corresponding to the RF drive circuit, respectively, where S is an integer greater than three, wherein the controller is configured to alter operation of the RF direct drive circuits based on the operational parameters sensed by the S sensors, respectively; (see, for example, Figs. 1 and 6-7, their descriptions, especially paragraphs 0014, 0037, 0051, 0055, 0060-0062). Therefore, in view of this disclosure, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Lai et al. as to further comprise the claimed controller and sensors means because such means are known and used in the art as suitable means for effectively and efficiently monitor and control the RF power supplied and thereby control and optimize the method performed within the apparatus.
Claim(s) 20-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lai et al., US 2009/0294065 in view of Raymond et al., US 2019/0007004.
Lai et al. is applied as above but does not expressly disclose the claimed RF direct drive circuit. Raymond et al. discloses a substrate processing system comprising
a RF direct drive circuit including a first inductor L1 including a first end and a second end; a second inductor L2 including a first end in communication with the first end of the first inductor and a second end; a first switch 110 including a first terminal, a second terminal and a control terminal; a second switch 112 including a first terminal, a second terminal and a control terminal; a first capacitor C1 including a first end and a second end, wherein the first end of the first capacitor is in communication with the second end of the first inductor and the first terminal of the first switch; and a second capacitor C2 including a first end and a second end, wherein the second end of the second capacitor is in communication with the second end of the second inductor and the second terminal of the second switch, wherein the second terminal of the first switch communicates with the first terminal of the second switch, the second end of the first capacitor and the first end of the second capacitor (see, for example, Figs. 1A, 6, 8, and 13 and their descriptions, Figs. 1A and 6 are shown below).
Therefore, in view of this disclosure, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Lai et al. as to further comprise the claimed RF direct drive circuit because such means is known and used in the art as a high-performance suitable means for effectively and efficiently supplying a desired power at a desired frequency.
Concerning claim 21, it should be noted that Raymond et al. discloses a third capacitor Cb1 including a first end in communication with the first end of the first capacitor; and a fourth capacitor Cb2 including a first end in communication with the second end of the second capacitor (see, for example, Fig. 6 and its description). It should be noted that the third capacitor and the fourth capacitor of the apparatus of Lai et al. modified by Raymond et al. would comprise a second end in communication with a first end of at least one of the E inductive coils, and a second end in communication with a second end of the at least one of the E inductive coils, respectively. Therefore, the apparatus of Lai et al. modified by Raymond et al. would comprise the claimed structure.
With respect to claim 22, Raymond et al. further discloses a voltage source 105 having one end connected to the first end of the first inductor and the first end of the second inductor and a second end connected to the second terminal of the first switch and the first terminal of the second switch (see, for example, Figs. 1A, 6, 8, and 13 and their descriptions). Therefore, the apparatus of Lai et al. modified by Raymond et al. would comprise the claimed structure.
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lai et al., US 2009/0294065 in view of Park et al., US 2012/0061022 or Lo et al., US 2014/0273537 or Tomioka et al., US 5,897,713.
Lai et al. is applied as above but does not expressly disclose that an inductive coil surrounds the first array. Park et al. discloses a substrate processing system comprising an array of inductive coils 701,702 / 703,704 / 705,706 / 707,708,709 having an inductive coil surrounding a second inductive coil (see, for example, Fig. 7 and its disclosure, Fig. 7 is shown below).
Also, Lo et al., discloses a substrate processing system comprising an array of inductive coils 203/205/207 wherein an inductive coil surrounds a second inductive coil (see, for example, Fig. 2 and its disclosure, Fig. 2 is shown below).
Additionally, discloses a substrate processing system comprising an array of inductive coils 134, 135, 136, 137, 138 wherein an inductive coil surrounds a second inductive coil (see, for example, Fig. 14 and its disclosure, Fig. 14 is shown below).
Therefore, in view of this disclosure, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Lai et al. as to comprise an inductive coil surrounding the first array because such configuration is known and used in the art as a suitable configuration to effectively and efficiently control ion density and/or achieve uniformity of the plasma ion density within the chamber.
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lai et al., US 2009/0294065 in view of Ishii, US 5,529,657 or Tomioka et al., US 5,897,713 or Chu et al., US 6,051,073 or Collins, US 6,361,644.
Lai et al. is applied as above and it further discloses that the processing chamber includes side walls 102 but does not expressly disclose the claimed one or more inductive coils. Ishii discloses a substrate processing system comprising a chamber 2 including side walls and one or more inductive coils 125 each including one or more turns wound around an upper portion of the side walls, and wherein a first inductive coil 7 is arranged in a first plane above the window and the one or more inductive coils are arranged below the first plane (see, for example, Fig. 16 and its description).
Also, Tomioka et al. discloses a substrate processing system comprising a chamber including side walls and one or more inductive coils 55d/138 each including one or more turns wound around an upper portion of the side walls, and wherein inductive coils 55a-55c/134-137 are arranged in a first plane above the window and the one or more inductive coils are arranged below the first plane (see, for example, Figs. 12 and 14 and their descriptions, Figs. 12 and 14 are shown below).
Additionally, Chu et al. discloses a substrate processing system comprising a chamber including side walls and one or more inductive coils (bottom coils 40) each including one or more turns wound around an upper portion of the side walls, and wherein inductive coils (top coils 40) are arranged in a first plane above the window and the one or more inductive coils are arranged below the first plane (see, for example, Figs. 1 and 5 and their descriptions, Figs. 1 and 5 are shown below).
Furthermore, Collins discloses a substrate processing system comprising a chamber including side walls and one or more inductive coils 220 each including one or more turns wound around an upper portion of the side walls, and wherein inductive coils 145/235 are arranged in a first plane above the window and the one or more inductive coils are arranged below the first plane (see, for example, Figs. 10 and 15 and their descriptions, Figs. 1 and 5 are shown below).
Therefore, in view of this disclosure, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Lai et al. as to comprise the claimed inductive coil around an upper portion of the side walls because such configuration is known and used in the art as a suitable configuration to effectively and efficiently control ion density and/or achieve uniformity of the plasma ion density within the chamber.
Claim(s) 26-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lai et al., US 2009/0294065 in view of Park et al., US 2012/0061022, as applied to claims 8-9 above, and further in view of Collins, US 6,361,644 or Lo et al., US 2014/0273537 and Tomioka et al., US 5,897,713 and Koshimizu, US 2010/0243162.
Lai et al. and Park et al. are applied as above but do not expressly disclose that the inductive coils are embedded within the window. Collins discloses a substrate processing apparatus wherein the inductive coil 145 is embedded within the window 147 (see, for example, Figs. 1, 25A, 26-29, 37A, and their descriptions, Figs. 26-29 are shown below).
Also, Lo et al. discloses a substrate processing apparatus wherein the inductive coils 127,131,135/203,205,207 are embedded within the window 121/201 (see, for example, Figs. 1-2, and their descriptions, Figs. 1-2 are shown below).
Therefore, in view of these disclosures, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed inventio to modify the apparatus of Lai et al. modified by Park et al. as to comprise the inductive coils embedded within the window because such configuration is known and used in the art as a suitable configuration to effectively and efficiently hold, support and protect the inductive coil.
With respect to the F inductive coils being an integer greater than three, it should be noted that Park et al. discloses an embodiment wherein the two coils 708 and 709, which read on the F coils, surround a coil 707, which read on the E coils (see, for example, Fig. 7d). Therefore, in the apparatus of Lai et al. modified by Park et al. the F inductive coils would be more than three. Also, Tomioka et al. discloses a substrate processing apparatus comprising more than three inductive coils (see, for example, Fig. 14). Therefore, in view of this disclosure, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Lai et al. modified by Park et al., as to comprise more than three inductive coils because such configuration is known and used in the art as a suitable configuration to effectively and efficiently generate uniform inductive plasma, control ion density and/or achieve uniformity of the plasma ion density within the chamber. Additionally, a prima facie case of obviousness still exists because it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the number of F inductive coils during routine experimentation depending upon, for example, the desired plasma characteristics and/or plasma density, and such limitation would not lend patentability to the instant application absent the showing of unexpected results.
With respect to the E inductive coils delivering RF energy to the F inductive coil, it should be noted that Collins discloses embodiments in which coils 800,810/820,830/840a,840b,840c are connected to each other (see, for example, Figs. 32-34 shown below and their descriptions).
Also, Koshimizu discloses a substrate processing system comprising coils 120b1, 120b2 delivering RF energy to coils 120c1, 120c2 through conductive wires 125c1 and 125c2, respectively (see, for example, Figs. 11A and 11B shown below and their descriptions).
Therefore, in view of these disclosures, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Lai et al. modified by Park et al., so that the E inductive coils deliver RF energy to the F inductive coils because such configuration is known and used in the art as a suitable configuration to effectively and efficiently supply power to plural inductive coils to generate inductive plasma, control the plasma coupling, and change the plasma distribution.
With respect to claims 27-28, it should be noted that in the apparatus of Lai et al. modified by Park et al., the E inductive coils (coil 701, 703, 705 and 707) of the first array are larger than the F inductive coils (702, 704, 706, 708-709) of the third array (see, for example, Figs. 7a-d of Park et al.). Additionally, in the embodiment of Fig. 7d, F would be greater (in number/quantity) than E since the embodiment shows two F coils (708-709) for one E coil (707). Furthermore, it should be noted that the teachings could also be interpreted as the inductive coils 701, 703, 705 and 707 reading on the F inductive coils while the coils 702, 704, 706, 708-709 could read on the E inductive coils, and thereby the F coils would be greater (in size) than the E coils (see, for example, Figs. 7a-d of Park et al.).
Claim(s) 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lai et al., US 2009/0294065 in view of Park et al., US 2012/0061022 and Collins, US 6,361,644 or Lo et al., US 2014/0273537 and Tomioka et al., US 5,897,713 and Koshimizu, US 2010/0243162, as applied to claims 26-28 above, and further in view of Weldon et al., US 6,108,189 or Takayuki et al., JP 2010-010417 and Shannon et al., US 2009/0298287.
Lai et al., Park et al., Collins, Lo et al., Tomioka et al., and Koshimizu are applied as above but do not expressly disclose the claimed G electrode array. Weldon et al. discloses a substrate processing system comprising an array of G electrodes 110 embedded in the substrate support, wherein G is an integer greater than three; and RF circuit 120 to output RF power to the electrodes; (see, for example, Figs. 2 and 13d, and their descriptions, Figs. 2 and 13d are shown below).
Also, Takayuki et al. discloses a substrate processing system comprising an array of G electrodes 18 and 19 embedded in the substrate support, wherein G is an integer greater than three; and RF circuits 10A and 10B to output RF power to the electrodes; (see, for example, Figs. 2-6C, and their descriptions, Figs. 4 and 6A are shown below).
Therefore, in view of these disclosures, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Lai et al. modified by Park et al. and Collins or Lo et al. and Tomioka et al. and Koshimizu, so as to comprise the claimed electrodes embedded in the substrate because such structure is known and used in the art as a suitable configuration to effectively and efficiently control and/or change the thickness of the ion sheath of the plasma above the substrate and thereby optimize the apparatus and the method performed within the apparatus.
With respect to the claimed fourth array of RF direct drive circuits to output power to the electrodes being greater than three, Shannon et al. discloses a substrate processing system comprising electrodes embedded in the substrate support and more than three RF drive circuits 170d/170e/170f/180/185 to output RF power to the electrodes (see, for example, Figs. 12A and 12B and their descriptions, Fig. 12 A is shown below).
Therefore, in view of this disclosure, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Lai et al. modified by Park et al. and Collins or Lo et al. and Tomioka et al. and Koshimizu and Weldon et al. or Takayuki et al., so as to comprise the claimed number of RF drive circuits because such structure is known and used in the art as a suitable configuration to effectively and efficiently control the supply of a desired power to the electrodes, thereby optimizing the apparatus and the method performed within the apparatus.
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lai et al., US 2009/0294065 in view of Weldon et al., US 6,108,189 or Takayuki et al., JP 2010-010417 and Shannon et al., US 2009/0298287.
Lai et al. is applied as above but does not expressly disclose the claimed G electrode array. Weldon et al. discloses a substrate processing system comprising an array of G electrodes 110 embedded in the substrate support, wherein G is an integer greater than three; and RF circuit 120 to output RF power to the electrodes; (see, for example, Figs. 2 and 13d, and their descriptions, Figs. 2 and 13d are shown below).
Also, Takayuki et al. discloses a substrate processing system comprising an array of G electrodes 18 and 19 embedded in the substrate support, wherein G is an integer greater than three; and RF circuits 10A and 10B to output RF power to the electrodes; (see, for example, Figs. 2-6C, and their descriptions, Figs. 4 and 6A are shown below).
Therefore, in view of these disclosures, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Lai et al. so as to comprise the claimed electrodes embedded in the substrate because such structure is known and used in the art as a suitable configuration to effectively and efficiently control and/or change the thickness of the ion sheath of the plasma above the substrate and thereby optimize the apparatus and the method performed within the apparatus.
With respect to the claimed fourth array of RF direct drive circuits to output power to the electrodes being greater than three, Shannon et al. discloses a substrate processing system comprising electrodes embedded in the substrate support and more than three RF drive circuits 170d/170e/170f/180/185 to output RF power to the electrodes (see, for example, Figs. 12A and 12B and their descriptions, Fig. 12 A is shown below).
Therefore, in view of this disclosure, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Lai et al. modified by Weldon et al. or Takayuki et al., so as to comprise the claimed number of RF drive circuits because such structure is known and used in the art as a suitable configuration to effectively and efficiently control the supply of a desired power to the electrodes, thereby optimizing the apparatus and the method performed within the apparatus.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wang et al. (US 6,527,968) is cited for its teachings of multiple electrodes embedded within the substrate support.
/LUZ L ALEJANDRO MULERO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716
January 21, 2026