DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is in response to applicant’s amendment/response filed on 02/06/2026, which has been entered and made of record. Claims 1, 22, 25 have been amended. Claims 1, 3, 6, 8, 11, 14-15, 17-20, 22-23, 25-28 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments on 02/06/2026 have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6, 8, 11, 14-15, 18-20, 22-23, 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urbach et al. (US Pub 2017/0061700 A1) in view of Hariton (US Pub 2020/0349771 A1) and Bendersky (US Pub 2020/0364323 A1).
As to claim 1, Urbach discloses a virtual display arrangement (Fig.1, ¶0039) comprising an optical device (Fig. 5, ¶0061) and a controller (Fig. 5, ¶0061) configured to:
a) detect an optical pattern through the optical device, the optical pattern being associated with a virtual display and the optical pattern being arranged on an arbitrary surface (Fig. 4, Fig. 5, ¶0002, “detecting, by a processor in communication with a first display device, presence of a real-world object comprising a marker on a surface thereof. The processor identifies position and orientation of the real-world object in real 3D space relative to a user's eyes and renders a virtual object positioned and oriented in a virtual 3D space relative to the marker.” ¶0039, “The virtual object 104 is generated relative to a marker 110 visible or detectable in relation to a surface 112 of the real-world object 106. The virtual object 104 can be further anchored relative to the marker 110 so that any changes to the marker 110 in the real-world can cause a corresponding or desired change to the attributes of the virtual object 104 in the virtual world.” ¶0040-0042, ¶0056);
b) extract information regarding the associated virtual display (¶0056, “FIG. 4 shows a display 406 of the model 402 as seen by the user 102 in the virtual space or environment. In this case, the virtual object 404 comprises a virtual outer surface of a real-world object such as a car. The virtual object 404 comprising the virtual outer surface encodes real-world surface (diffuse, specular, caustic, reflectance, etc.) properties of the car object and a size of the virtual object can be the same as or can be substantially different than the model 402. If the size of the virtual surface is the same as the model 402, the user 102 will see a display which is the same size as the model 402.” ¶0079, “Their initial position and orientation can depend on the position/orientation of the real-world object 106/206 as seen by the user 102 from the display of the wearable device 108. The position of the virtual object 104/204 on the surface 112/212 of the computing device 206 will depend on the relative position of the marker 110/210 on the surface 112/212. Unlike the objects in the real 3D space such as the real-world object 104/204 or the marker 110/210 which are visible to users with naked eyes, the virtual object 104/204 rendered at 708 in virtual 3D space are visible only to the user 102 who wears the wearable device 108.”);
c) set up the virtual display to correspond to an area of a display; according to the extracted information associated with the optical pattern (¶0051, “display the marker 210 on the surface 212 of the computing device 206. As mentioned supra, the marker 210 can be an image, a QR code, a bar code and the like. Hence, the marker 210 can be configured so that it encodes information associated with the particular virtual object 204 to be generated. In some embodiments, the pre-processing module 250 can be configured to display different markers each of which can each encode information corresponding to a particular virtual object.”);
d) retrieve virtual content (VC) (¶0087, “display content streamed by the remote server on the display screen 1030. In this case the processor 1000 may merely display a received render. Such embodiments enable displaying high quality graphics on wearable devices even while mitigating the need to have powerful processors on board the wearable devices.” “virtual objects 104/204 or the virtual environment in which the virtual objects 104/204 are generated.”); and to
e) present the virtual content (VC) in the area of the display corresponding to the virtual display (Fig. 3, 4, 7, ¶0079, “At 708, one or more virtual object(s) 104/204 are rendered in the 3D virtual space. Their initial position and orientation can depend on the position/orientation of the real-world object 106/206 as seen by the user 102 from the display of the wearable device 108.” ¶0081.),
wherein the optical pattern is applied at least partially in the non-visible spectra (Urbach, ¶0039, “a marker 110 visible or detectable in relation to a surface 112 of the real-world object 106.” ¶0041, “the marker 110 can be any identifying indicia recognizable by the scene processing module” ¶0045);
and f) perform security checks by:
determining if the optical pattern is associated with a virtual display content provider (VDCP) (Urbach, ¶0058, “the QR code or the marker can be indicative of the user 102 purchase of a particular rendering. Hence, when the camera of the wearable device 108 scans the QR code, the appropriate rendering is retrieved by the wearable device 108 from the server (not shown) and projected on to the model 402. For example, a user that has purchased a rendering for a particular car model and color would see such rendering in the display 406 whereas a user who hasn't made a purchase of any specific rendering may see a generic rendering for a car in the display 406.”), and
determining if the virtual display content provider (VDCP) is trusted (Urbach, ¶0078, “when the user of the computing device 206 is authorized to permanently or temporarily access a rendering due to a purchase from an online or offline vendor, as a reward, or other reasons, a marker associated with the rendering can be downloaded and stored in the marker store 682.” ¶0088, “Elements within the wearable device 108 and/or the computing device 206 which enable access to information/commercial sources such as websites can also enable the user 102 to make purchases of renders. In some embodiments, the user 102 can employ a browser comprised in the computing device 206 to visit the website of a vendor to purchases particular virtual objects. In some embodiments, virtual environments such as games, virtual book shops, entertainment applications and the like can include widgets that enable the wearable device 108 and/or the computing device 206 to contact the vendor server 1110 to make a purchase. Upon the user 102 completing the purchase transaction, the information such as the marker 110/210 associated with a purchased virtual object 104/204 is transmitted by the vendor server 1110 to a device specified by the user 102. When the user 102 employs the marker 110/210 to access the virtual object 104/204, the code associated with rendering of the virtual object 104/204 is retrieved from the storage server 1120 and transmitted to the wearable device 108 for rendering.” A user makes purchase from online or offline vendor, use a browser visiting the website of a vendor, contact the vendor to make a purchase and complete the transaction all require to verify the vendor is trusted. This is just part of the ordinary capabilities of a person of ordinary skill in the art and common sense.).
Urbach does not explicitly disclose the virtual content (VC) retrieved is based on content parameters related to information regarding a user of the virtual display arrangement, including one or more of: personal preferences, internet usage, search history, age sex, occupation, and indicated interests.
Hariton teaches the virtual content (VC) retrieved is based on content parameters related to information regarding a user of the virtual display arrangement, including one or more of: personal preferences, internet usage, search history, age sex, occupation, and indicated interests (Hariton, ¶0036, “The demographic information of user 302 may indicate user 302 is in age range 30-39 and occupation is carpenter. The user information of user 304 may indicate user 304 has a subscription to a gaming service in which new weapons are released every month. Virtual content 308 presented to user 302 may include various virtual content items based on the user information of user 302. Virtual content 308 may include advertisements for sales at a nearby hardware store, listings for needed carpentry, jobs advertisements, and/or other virtual content. Conversely, virtual content 310 presented to user 304 may include various virtual content items based on the user information of user 304. Virtual content 310 may include a new virtual tool that may be used within proximity of marker device 306 within the gaming service.”).
Urbach and Hariton are considered to be analogous art because all pertain to augmented reality. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Urbach with the features of “teaches the virtual content (VC) retrieved is based on content parameters related to information regarding a user of the virtual display arrangement, including one or more of: personal preferences, internet usage, search history, age sex, occupation, and indicated interests” as taught by Hariton. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to have virtual content presented to user include various virtual content items based on the user information of user (Hariton, ¶0036).
Urbach does not explicitly discloses determining if the optical pattern is associated with the VDCP comprises comparing an identifier of the optical pattern and/or VDCP with one or more previously trusted VDCPs.
Bendersky are further provided to teach f) perform security checks by: determining if the optical pattern is associated with a virtual display content provider (VDCP), wherein determining if the optical pattern is associated with the VDCP comprises comparing an identifier of the optical pattern and/or VDCP with one or more previously trusted VDCPs (Bendersky, abstract, “the generated machine-readable visual code can be decoded from the display medium to yield the data element and can be validated.” ¶0053, “Once the computing device 305 has accessed the signed data within the encoded visual code, computing device 305 may check whether the digital certificate used to sign the data (e.g., from certificate authority 302) is trusted. For example, computing device 305 may determine whether the signer (e.g., particular certificate authority) of the data is found in a list of trusted certificate authorities maintained on the computing device 305. In some embodiments, the list of trusted certificate authorities may be stored external to the computing device 305 but accessible to the computing device 305 (e.g., stored in a network location accessible to the computing device 305). The list of trusted certificate authorities may provide their identifying information, such as hostname, domain name, owner name, public key, serial number, signature algorithm, etc,” ¶0072, “the computing device that later decodes the code may verify whether the digital certificate or certificate authority is included in a list of trusted sources maintained by (or accessible to) the computing device. The computing device may maintain its list of trusted certificates or certificate authorities based on such information received by the server that generates or provides the machine-readable visual codes, from the certificate authority, or from another trusted source.” ¶0080, “Where the decoded contents include a token, the computing device may attempt to match the token (or a field or parameter of the token) with a known or trusted token.”), and
determining if the virtual display content provider (VDCP) is trusted (Bendersky, ¶0010, “compare the certificate authority source against a list of trusted certificate authority sources.” ¶0055, “On the other hand, if computing device 305 successfully determines that the content from the encoded visual image was signed by a trusted certificate authority, computing device 305 may allow further processing of the content.”).
Urbach, Hariton and Bendersky are considered to be analogous art because all pertain to content delivery. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Urbach with the features of “f) perform security checks by: determining if the optical pattern is associated with a virtual display content provider (VDCP), wherein determining if the optical pattern is associated with the VDCP comprises comparing an identifier of the optical pattern and/or VDCP with one or more previously trusted VDCPs, and determining if the virtual display content provider (VDCP) is trusted” as taught by Bendersky. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to securely transmitting data, application code, URLs, network addresses, contact information, secrets, credentials, and other information through machine-readable visual codes (Bendersky, ¶0004).
As to claim 3, claim 1 is incorporated and the combination of Urbach, Hariton and Bendersky discloses the controller is further configured to determine if the virtual display arrangement is directed at the virtual display, and based on determining that the virtual display arrangement is not directed at the virtual display, stop, pause, or reduce the retrieval of at least a portion of the virtual content (VC) (Urbach, ¶0045, “Based on the positioning of the user's 102 head or other body part, the camera or sensor can be made to receive as input image data associated with the real-world object 106 present in or proximate the user's 102 hands. In some embodiments, the sensor receives data regarding the entire surface 112 including the position and orientation of the marker 110. The received image data can be used with known or generated light field data of the virtual object 104 in order to generate the virtual object 104 at a position/orientation relative to the marker 110. In embodiments wherein a rendering of the virtual object 104 is received by the wearable device 108, the scene processing module 150 positions and orients the rendering of the virtual object 104 relative to the marker 110.” ¶0065, “The data from the wearable device camera is also analyzed to identify a marker, its position and orientation relative to the real-world object 106 that comprises the marker thereon. As discussed supra, one or more virtual objects can be generated and/or manipulated relative to the marker.” “Such data can be further processed to determine a AR/VR scene or changes that may be needed to existing virtual objects in a rendered scene. For example, the size of the virtual objects 104/204 may be increased or decreased based on the movement of the user's head 130 as analyzed by the camera processing module 542.” ¶0067, “Based on the positioning and/or motion of the computing device 206, changes may be effected in one or more of the visible and invisible attributes of the virtual object 204” ¶0083.).
As to claim 6, claim 1 is incorporated and the combination of Urbach, Hariton and Bendersky discloses the optical pattern is applied at least partially in the visible spectra (Urbach, ¶0042, “the marker can be an image or text or object displayed on the real-world object 106.” ¶0051, “the marker 210 can be an image, a QR code, a bar code and the like.”).
As to claim 8, claim 1 is incorporated and the combination of Urbach, Hariton and Bendersky discloses the optical pattern is applied to a surface through paint, a sticker, and/or a projection (Urbach, ¶0060, “the marker on the real-world model 402 can be a removable or replaceable marker. In some embodiments, the marker can be a permanent marker. The marker can be without limitation, printed, etched, chiseled, glued or otherwise attached to or made integral with the real-world model 402.”).
As to claim 11, claim 8 is incorporated and the combination of Urbach, Hariton and Bendersky discloses the surface that the optical pattern is applied to is a wall, a piece of garment, or an accessory (Urbach, ¶0060, “The real-world model 402 can be comprised of various metallic or non-metallic materials such as but not limited to paper, plastic, metal, wood, glass or combinations thereof In some embodiments” “the model 402 can be generated, for example, by a 3D printer.”).
As to claim 14, claim 1 is incorporated and the combination of Urbach, Hariton and Bendersky discloses the optical pattern is associated with a size and a location of the virtual display (Urbach, Fig. 2, ¶0005, “The virtual outer surface encodes real-world surface reflectance properties of the other object. The size of the virtual object can be substantially similar to the size of the 3D printed model.” ¶0041-0042, ¶0045-0046).
As to claim 15, claim 14 is incorporated and the combination of Urbach, Hariton and Bendersky discloses the optical pattern is associated with an angle of the virtual display (Urbach, Fig. 2, ¶0005, “The virtual outer surface encodes real-world surface reflectance properties of the other object. The size of the virtual object can be substantially similar to the size of the 3D printed model.” ¶0041-0042, ¶0045-0046).
As to claim 18, claim 1 is incorporated and the combination of Urbach, Hariton and Bendersky discloses the controller is configured to:
b) extract information regarding the associated virtual display from a remote server (Urbach, ¶0002, 0032-0037, 0043-44, ¶0062).
As to claim 19, claim 1 is incorporated and the combination of Urbach, Hariton and Bendersky discloses a memory arranged to store a local server (VDCP), wherein the controller is configured to:
b) extract information regarding the associated virtual display from the local server in the memory (Urbach, ¶0002, 0032-0037, 0043-44, ¶0062).
As to claim 20, claim 1 is incorporated and the combination of Urbach, Hariton and Bendersky discloses the virtual display arrangement is a smartphone, a tablet computer, or an optical see-through device (Urbach, ¶001, ¶0043, ¶0048, Fig. 10. ¶0084.)
As to claim 22, the combination of Urbach, Hariton and Bendersky discloses a method for providing a virtual display using a virtual display arrangement comprising an optical device, the method comprising:
a) detecting an optical pattern through the optical device, the optical pattern being associated with a virtual display and the optical pattern being arranged on an arbitrary surface;
b) extracting information regarding the associated virtual display;
c) setting up the virtual display to correspond to an area of a display according to the extracted information associated with the optical pattern;
d) retrieving virtual content (VC), wherein the virtual content (VC) retrieved is based on content parameters related to information regarding a user of the virtual display arrangement, including one or more of: personal preferences, internet usage, search history, age sex, occupation, and indicated interests; and
e) presenting the virtual content (VC) in the area of the display corresponding to the virtual display, wherein the optical pattern is applied at least partially in the non-visible spectra
and f) performing security checks by: determining if the optical pattern is associated with a virtual display content provider (VDCP), wherein determining if the optical pattern is associated with the VDCP comprises comparing an identifier of the optical pattern and/or VDCP with one or more previously trusted VDCPs, and determining if the virtual display content provider (VDCP) is trusted. (See claim 1 for detailed analysis.).
As to claim 23, the combination of Urbach, Hariton and Bendersky discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium carrying computer instructions that when loaded into and executed by a controller of a virtual display arrangement enables the virtual display arrangement to implement the method according to claim 22 (See claim 1 for detailed analysis.).
As to claim 25, the combination of Urbach, Hariton and Bendersky discloses a virtual display arrangement comprising an optical device and comprising circuitry providing a virtual display, the virtual display arrangement further comprising:
a) circuitry for detecting an optical pattern through the optical device, the optical pattern being associated with a virtual display;
b) circuitry for extracting information regarding the associated virtual display;
c) circuitry for setting up the virtual display to correspond to an area of a display according to the extracted information associated with the optical pattern;
d) circuitry for retrieving virtual content (VC), wherein the virtual content (VC) retrieved is based on content parameters related to information regarding a user of the virtual display arrangement, including one or more of: personal preferences, internet usage, search history, age sex, occupation, and indicated interests; and
e) circuitry for presenting the virtual content (VC) in the area of the display corresponding to the virtual display, wherein the optical pattern is applied at least partially in the non-visible spectra;
and f) circuitry for performing security checks by: determining if the optical pattern is associated with a virtual display content provider (VDCP), wherein determining if the optical pattern is associated with the VDCP comprises comparing an identifier of the optical pattern and/or VDCP with one or more previously trusted VDCPs, and determining if the virtual display content provider (VDCP) is trusted. (See claim 1 for detailed analysis.).
As to claim 26, claim 1 is incorporated and the combination of Urbach, Hariton and Bendersky discloses the optical pattern is associated with a preset angle at which the virtual display is to be presented (Urbach, Fig. 2-3, ¶0046, “When the user 102 makes a change to an attribute (position or otherwise) of the real-world object 106 in the real-world, the change is detected by the camera on the wearable device 108 and provided to the scene processing module 150. The scene processing module 150 makes the corresponding changes to one of the virtual object 104 or a virtual scene surrounding the virtual object 104 in the virtual world. For example, if the user 102 displaces or tilts the real-world object such information is obtained by the camera of the wearable device 108 which provides the obtained information to the scene processing module 150. Based on the delta between the current position/orientation of the real-world object 106 and the new position/orientation of the real-world object 106, the scene processing module 150 determines the corresponding change to be applied to the virtual object 104 and/or the virtual scene in which the virtual object 104 is generated in the virtual 3D space. A determination regarding the changes to be applied to one or more of the virtual object 104 and virtual scene can be made based on the programming instructions associated with the virtual object 104 or the virtual scene.”).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urbach et al. (US Pub 2017/0061700 A1) in view of Hariton (US Pub 2020/0349771 A1), Bendersky (US Pub 2020/0364323 A1) and Rangaprasad et al. (US Pub 2024/0062030 A1).
As to claim 17, claim 1 is incorporated and Urbach does not explicitly disclose the optical pattern is associated with a brand and/or company.
Rangaprasad teaches the optical pattern is associated with a brand and/or company (Rangaprasad, ¶0028, “use visual markers or to manage and coordinate a computer-generated reality (CGR) environment for the user.” ¶0136, “the visual marker 1400 includes a central area 1430. In some implementations, the central area 1430 is used for decoration (e.g., a company logo).”)
Urbach and Rangaprasad are considered to be analogous art because all pertain to augmented reality. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Urbach with the features of “the optical pattern is associated with a brand and/or company” as taught by Rangaprasad. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to create visual markers that are used by a CGR application that is configured to present virtual content (e.g., 3D content) that will be used as part of CGR environments for one or more users (Rangaprasad, ¶0046).
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urbach et al. (US Pub 2017/0061700 A1) in view of Hariton (US Pub 2020/0349771 A1), Bendersky (US Pub 2020/0364323 A1) and Fiala (US Pub 2017/0249745 A1).
As to claim 27, claim 1 is incorporated and Urbach does not explicitly disclose a boundary of the virtual display aligns with a boundary of the optical pattern.
Fiala discloses a boundary of the virtual display aligns with a boundary of the optical pattern (Fiala, Fig. 36-37, Fig. 49, ¶0254.).
Urbach and Fiala are considered to be analogous art because all pertain to augmented reality. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Urbach with the features of “a boundary of the virtual display aligns with a boundary of the optical pattern” as taught by Fiala. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to improve the marker detection, by a decrease the processing time (Fiala, ¶0136).
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urbach et al. (US Pub 2017/0061700 A1) in view of Hariton (US Pub 2020/0349771 A1), Bendersky (US Pub 2020/0364323 A1) and Xie (US Patent 9,461,878 B1).
As to claim 28, claim 1 is incorporated and Bendersky disclose determining if the VDCP is trusted comprises: as a result of determining that the VDCP is not one of the one or more previously trusted VDCPs, prompting the user of the virtual display arrangement (Bendersky, ¶0054, “If computing device 305 determines that the signed data was signed with an unknown or untrusted digital certificate, computing device 305 may take measures to prevent interaction with or use of the signed data. Similarly, if the data from the encoded visual code lacks any signature, such measures may be taken. For example, computing device 305 may determine to quarantine the content from the encoded visual image (e.g., in an isolated or sandboxed memory), report the content to a security server (e.g., policy server 303 or server associated with computing device 305), generate an alert regarding the content on the computing device 305 itself or an external device” ¶0068, “On the other hand, if the token from the decoded visual code does not match a trusted token, computing device 604 may determine to apply a control action to the data. The control action may result in the content being, for example, blocked, quarantined, deleted, included in a report or alert, identified in a report or alert, or otherwise prevented from being interacted with by computing device 604.”).
Bendersky does not disclose a security question.
Xie discloses determining if the VDCP is trusted comprises: as a result of determining that the VDCP is not one of the one or more previously trusted VDCPs, prompting the user of the virtual display arrangement with a security question (Xie, Fig. 1B, Col 2, lines 62-66, “a notification page as depicted in FIG. 1B that prompts the user of client 104 to accept or decline the server response.” Col 3, lines 42-46, “a notification page is sent to client 104 for a user to verify the download.”).
Urbach, Hariton, Bendersky and Xie are considered to be analogous art because all pertain to content delivery. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Urbach with the features of “prompting the user of the virtual display arrangement with a security question” as taught by Xie. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to let the user of client consent to the download and/or selects an option to decline the download via the notification page (Xie, Col 2, lines 62-66).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YU CHEN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2613